9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek
Exclusive

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(128.03 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A paranormal private investigator receives a frantic call from her reporter friend Helen, who pleas in a terrified voice for her to leave immediately for the coastal town of Serpent Creek. Urged by her friend's desperate request, the detective arrives at her destination only to find no trace of Helen. Strangely enough, no one from the sleepy town seems to remember seeing the blonde reporter. Weirder still, the town's streets are crawling with snakes, the citizens seem to be sleepwalking through life, and the ground shakes with violent tremors. Can the detective save her friend, reveal the corruption and hidden agendas of the town's citizens, and stop an evil plot to bring the Snake God back to our world?

  • Mysterious crime storyline set in 1950s America
  • Clever mini-games and breathtaking plot twists
  • Unique Detective Mode and Detective's Journal

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 559 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(128.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 103.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please Don't Give Away Game Surprises! This is a fun game, a mystery, detective game, who-dunnit-type game. While writing reviews, please remember that some of us read the reviews PRIOR to playing the game and would like to find out for ourselves any game surprises or endings. A HOPA-- hidden object, part adventure which I find humor in the fact that hog lovers don't especially like to have to hunt down the hidden objects which is the whole basis of hidden object scenes--emphasis on the word "hidden". Anyway, gamers can fly through these as the objects are large and in plain view so as to not to annoy getting on with the real gameplay and that is finding out what exactly is going on in Serpent Creek by following the clues so cleverly created and left by Tap It Games. Was an immediate purchase for this gamer especially as a standard version! I actually gave the 5th star for review(s) with too much information! Thank you BFG! Thank you Devs! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Clue Is: A Wonderful, Fun Game! For the first time in awhile I've been excited about a game from the time I started playing it, especially a SE. Essentially it's because of the "basics", the storyline and gameplay, and not the extras. While playing the 9 Clues demo the hour mark snuck up and it shut off on me and I said, "What, NO!". Lol. THAT hasn't happened for awhile either. :) You are a paranormal private investigator that is going to save your reporter friend. When you show up in the town you encounter serpent-looking entities and humans that are just not......right. Your friend is missing, so you begin your search. You have a map that is not interactive but tells you where new areas and objectives are, there are 3 modes of play, and the hint is helpful. Or it was to me, I was playing on Advance. There is a journal at the bottom that keeps track of the people you meet, and the objectives you must reach. There are the normal HO scenes. Then, and this is what I thought was really cool, there are scenes where you pick out what objects were used in the commission of a crime. Your character then "investigates". The puzzles did not seem to be too hard. Visually the graphics were ok. When characters talk to you they do not pause, you do not click to get them to continue. I found if you click on them you will miss something because you will click through their speech. So be careful! Your character does not talk back. I turn off the music when I play so I cannot remark upon that. I think that this game is well formed and thought out especially for a SE. As always try it yourself first to see if you like it! Happy Gaming! Thank you BigFish for a different storyline!
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun! This game is a lot of fun! Storyline is nothing new, with the "rescue" theme, but still quite enjoyable. There's a type of diary, with notes on clues, characters met so far, objectives, and a map, which is interactive - just mouse over to get names of locations, and click to transport to that location. I enjoyed the storyline so far, completing the demo in under an hour - but I used the "Casual" setting which made things quite easy. I was tempted to change the difficulty level, but didn't because I wanted to see if there was a limit to the demo [besides the time-limit]. Well, now I know! The game would be great for beginners to the HOPA genre, since the Casual setting spells things out readily; the Hint feature works outside of the Hiddent Object scenes also. I found the graphics to be a bit simplistic - I like more detail - but they were ok. The HO scenes had easy-to-find items [list type], with a couple interactive items thrown in. These were easy also. I doubt these scenes would be made any more difficult in the other two difficulty levels - just misclick penalties, longer time for Hint to re-charge, etc. Overall, seems like it will be a fun game to complete! The other games by this same developer can be looked up thru this game - I was surprised how many of the others I had played and greatly enjoyed; I just didn't realize they were from the same developer. Since I have most of those games, and have really had fun with them, looks like this one will be a great addition to the family! Speaking of family: there are snakes to eliminate, but so far nothing any more "scary" than that, if you don't care for snakes! No black magic, etc., and the snakes are easily sidetracked. Spoiler: one is chased away by a mechanical mouse you need to assemble, which was a different puzzle than I had ever completed before - quite creative! Thanks to the developer, and BFG, for bringing another great HOPA game to us....
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Gem from the makers of Nightmares of the Deep From the makers of Nightmares of the Deep comes this gem. This game was awesome, absolutely awesome. I bought this game from the devs and I don't regret it in the least. I enjoyed this game from the beginning to the end. Story: This investigator gets a call from her friend Helen who is a news reporter saying something weird is going on in the town of Serpent Creek and Helen needs her friend's help to get her out of dodge. As she arrives at the hotel, some alien looking dude hits her car and naturally wonders what that heck that was. Then the manager of the hotel is also acting strangely. After the investigator checks in she goes to her room and that same alien dude leaves her a note, "Don't drink the Mamba". The hotel manager comes into her room and asks what went on and gives the investigator a gate key and kicks her out of her room. She goes looking around and sees everyone is a zombie like state and the story continues... Graphics: Awesome! This team does have a top notch art team. Music: Beautifully done. I enjoyed the music. Fit the game just right and in fact I let the credits roll a little bit just to listen to it. Mini Games: Not too hard or easy just right. Hint System: Awesome. I didn't use it in the H0GS, but when I need it on the outside it was great. You don't need a walkthrough with this game. Map: Jump map. This was very useful especially later on in the game. Kudos again to this team for a job superbly done!
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY ENJOYABLE GAME I loved this game. It has an interesting story line, great graphics, and was kind of creepy too. Voice overs were very good . Not too challenging but challenging enough for me. This is a buy for me! A reporter need help in a strange town because something is not right in Serpent Creek. It is a thrilling story that kept me hooked right from the start.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SE Game Fantastic mystery game. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Wonderful HINT system.....walkthrough is not needed. Good mix of HO Scenes and Mini Games.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME Outstanding! What wonderful creepy fun. Marvelous graphics, especially in the iHOS, where everything is so clear and easy to find. The dialogue runs smooth as silk and is excellent - quite hard hitting and really well written. The navigation is top notch. Not a lag in sight. Really good music. A jump map with action indicators. Voice overs are brilliant. 4.5 hrs of really good entertainment. The story, though ludicrous, is so well presented that I got pulled in and engrossed to find out what happened next. Of course, we never suspected the Mayor, did we now? No, of courssse not! Nevertheless, the content and inclusions in the story are well thought out and interesting. Do not know these devs, or been so long cannot remember them, but their hint of a sequel pleases me and I look forward to it immensely. Well done.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun and campy game! I actually enjoyed THIS game more than the newest Nightmares from the Deep CE from the same developers !! Certainly not the longest game but long doesn't always mean fun. It was a bit of a challenge, too and found I had to resort to the hint system to help me out of a tight spot or two. Sometimes it's just fun to go back to the cartoon style "campy" games.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 star all the way! Review of completed game. I played on hardest mode. I enjoyed the storyline, characters, hogs and mini games. Didn't skip a thing! More like this!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of snakes but funny! Although the game is full of snakes, the storyline and the dialogs are funny. The graphics are a bit cartoonish but clear, and the voices are very accurate... There are 3 game modes; I played in Expert mode and there were no sparkles. There are not many HOS but they are not cluttered and the objects are easy to find. The mini-games are also very easy. There is a journal and a map, allowing you to jump to a location. The game is very logical, so you always know where to use a clue you found. In some scenes you have to find clues for what happened; also an original idea. The game is rather short; without skipping it took me a bit more than 2 hours. So, ok it's very easy but I had fun and hope there will be a sequel. I recommend it to all those who do not fear snakes.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun! I just finished playing this game and had a great time! My only complaint is that it is too short, I didn't want the fun to end!
Date published: 2015-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First review because of this game! This game was a great deal of fun. I was bored all day and tried to find a game I would like. I began to play 9 Clues and got sucked in the game right away. Fun Factor The game is a lot of fun with just the right amount of puzzles and cutscenes. Visual/Sound The visuals and sounds are well done. There are small sounds that make this game complete. The voices aren't anoying for me, they really make you want to listen to the cutscene. The visuals were just right for my (not to good) laptop. Level of Challenge There are three different levels of challenge in this game. You can pick just the challenge that you would like! Storyline The storyline in this game is great. You get a call from an old friend and get sucked in the game right away. All the things you do make sense. You book yourself a room, but strange things happen. Note: What I really like about this game, is that every person is a suspect! I suspected everyone and did not trust anybody. I also really like the "Detective mode" where you have to find clues. I truly recommend this game to anybody! Have fun.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 Clues.The Secret of Serpent Creek Thourghly enjoyed this game. Have played all but one of the games from this group of great people. Have loved them all and can't wait for more. Not too hard but not too easy. Finished in about six hours and for me that is a first.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The storyline is all This developer knows how to tell a story. It is a story with mysteries, twists,and turns. You are given enough information in the voiceovers and comments so that you barely need to hit the hint button. The HOS are easy to solve, everything is kept apart, and well defined. The minigames are easy enough. Evidently the developers know that when the story is gripping enough if the puzzles do not solve easily, the gamers get cranky. The story is all, and the games and HOS are to move it along, and do not become a hindrance. (of course, if you are allergic to snakes, do not buy this game).
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No secret, this is a fun game! 1. Kept my interest by interesting storyline 2. Lots of HO's with some racing around to find items needed to unlock things, but it was not hard or frustrating! 3. I like games that do not require a lot of brain usage and this one was perfect. 4. Relaxing game and very fun!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Captivating, Entertaining & Fun Game I've Played The storyline was really intriguing, and I loved the detective scenes! It's a relatively creepy game, which made it pretty intense. I never review, but this game was absolutely excellent all around!
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Any "red herrings" anyone? Played casual mode and hint button was a good guide. Game keeps your interest right on through and has you guessing who the real culprit is. Lots of twists and turns. A very good murder mystery even if done in a cartoon-type of presentation. Lots of snakes, if you are a snake-lover.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gripping Game! This was a gripping game that, with intra-personal dialogue added, could easily become another Nancy Drew-type series! I congratulate Artifex Mundi for a wonderful effort that brought us clear HOS, good graphics and sound and a decent story. If I were the developer, I would get rid of the HINT BUTTON and make the player think everything out for himself. And, if the player REALLY GETS STUCK, then he can consult a walkthrough. The same thing would apply to the many very interesting puzzles that appeared throughout the game. KILL the SKIP BUTTON and make the player work out everything on his/her own. I think that would really make things much more interesting! Again, congratulations on bringing us a very good game!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone is involved And that made me want to keep going until the end! Great for a non-CE. Ending hinted there'd be a sequel, but I'm not sure how the developer would do it.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Entertaining A mystery/science fiction story that is quite different. The game is fast-paced and the graphics are quite clear and very well done. Nothing really hard. A walkthrough is not needed. Fast hint button.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sounds, Effects, Story, Video & Voice Bits ... A Great All Round Bit Of Entertainment ... An SE Worthy Of CE Money ? I Got My Game On A Deal So Only A Small Price Paid For A Very Good Game ...
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game I was hooked from the get go with this game. It's an easy HO game, but even though the story line is familiar, you know trying to find someone who is missing I liked the story line and the characters, especially the mayor who is really creepy. There are 3 modes of play. The HO scenes are far from being junky. It's easy to follow, almost like common sense game where you know what to do next. I think this would be a good game for beginners, but as I said there are three modes of play. If you like HO games and are looking for a relaxing type, this would be it. Good playing,fishies!
Date published: 2013-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game but it's far from Enigmatis or Nightmares from the Deep I'm used to cool Artifex Mundi games like I hinted in title, but this one is weaker than others. I had problems with navigating (finding police station omg...). Some characters make me more laugh than fear (Voldemort guy is awesome :D) f.e. alien in the begginig. I didn't understand some actions or minigames so it's not 5/5, sorry guys. But keep up the good work! But overall after survey I expected CE, so as for SE it's pretty good game.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mighty Fine Game! I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The hints were right-on and the map was interactive. I only skipped a couple of the mini-games because they annoyed me but the rest of them were just right, not too hard and not too easy. The HOPs were not as aggravating as in some other hidden object games; the pieces were big enough and relatively easy to find. And, the HOPs were not in every scene; they were spaced apart nicely. I liked the music. It was game appropriate and not at all exasperating. I didn't even have to lower the volume. If I were to have any negative points about this game I'd say that the mild profanity surprised and disappointed me. This is not a good example for the kiddies. Nor was the smoking even though it was the 50's and most people smoked; not a good example for anyone!
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snakes alive This was a fun game and not overly difficult to figure out. It is a good quality game for being just a SE. It was fairly easy though, so seasoned players may find it too easy. i did like the story line and the characters in the game. The IHO scenes were good and not grainy or had miniscule objects to find. The hint button was helpful although I did not need it. I would say try it and see what you think. It was a buy for me.
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get this game ! Love it!! HOS aren't too hard. Graphics are clear. Not so much back-tracking as many other games. My favorite hidden object game so far.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I, Loved it! This was a very fun game. I kinda new who was at the bottom of this all. But I loved how the clues went over what happened. Very exciting game.
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Game I really did like this game. The storyline was easy to follow too. I am glad I did buy this game as it was easy to play & it did last a long time. So if you have not tried out to play this game yet, please do so. You will not regret it at all. Even the music was very nice to listen too. I think that they will make another one of these games in the part 2 version as the way the game ended. I hope the publishers do make another one & if so I can't wait to play that game. So have fun everyone of playing this game, I sure did,
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oldie But Goody Great older game. Plot is interesting. Kept me guessing more than some new games. Worth the buy!
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serpent Creek The first installment in the 9 clues series is primitive and unlike today's HOPA games in the fact it is very unique and fun! It is very good at providing a dark and mysterious atmosphere, and has a great storyline. Some scenes can be challenging but easily overcome with the help of the map and the hint button!
Date published: 2018-11-29
  • y_2020, m_1, d_25, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_19068, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

Crack codes, pick locks, comb crime scenes for clues and solve clever puzzles in this thrilling retro detective drama!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.