Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby

Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(358.09 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Detective Ashley Clark is puzzled by a series of mysterious kidnappings. The only connection between these unusual disappearances is a brilliant, red ruby pendant. Could someone be using this sparkling ornament to send a clandestine message, or could this be the handiwork of an underground cult? Follow the clues to discover the ancient secrets held by the ruby pendant, and uncover the truth behind the bizarre kidnappings!

  • Highly interactive storyline and gameplay
  • Exciting mini-games
  • Intriguing plot with twists and turns
  • Wide range of difficulty levels

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1038 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(358.09 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly entertaining and engrossing. I originally tried this game because I enjoyed Crossroad Mysteries: Broken Deal, which was developed by the same Company. Notwithstanding their unpromising titles, both games are really enjoyable. Let's get the negatives over to being with: the game play is rather lumpy and feels pretty old-fashioned these days. The game occasionally stalls while it has a "think" about what to load next. Voice overs frequently don't work and you end up having to read the dialogue, rather than listening to it. Other than those quibbles, I thought this was great fun. The story is no worse than several others and a good deal better than many. I also liked that there was a logic to the hidden object items and mini-games, which were often imaginative and ingenious. You also got heaps of game for your money - this really did feel like a Collector's Edition offering for the price of a standard game. The game tries to do something original which occasionally backfires for the best possible motives: it doesn't lead you by the hand and you are occasionally left at sea wondering what to do next. With the best will in the world, I think getting through the whole thing without any hints in "Expert" mode is all but impossible. Also, certain items only become "collectable" into your inventory when they become relevant to the story. This is only a bit frustrating because items I assumed weren't collectable (because they really weren't at one point) inexplicably become collectable without warning. The result can leave a feeling of having been a bit duped, hunting about aimlessly for something in front of your very nose. Once you realise this niggle, though, and become more trigger-happy, clicking on pretty much anything that looks conceivable for your needs, things hot up agreeably. This is certainly not everyone's cup of tea, but I must say I really enjoyed it, in spite of all its little quirks. Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby has the same cute charm as playing Monopoly or Cluedo at Christmas - surprisingly addictive and enjoyable once you enter into the spirit of things.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 23 PUZZLES (replayable) & also LOTS of HOPS (not replayable) in this HOPA – review on completed game- A nice, relaxing game. You play as detective Ashley Clark. People have been disappearing and you need to figure out what the heck is happening. So, off you go into a different universe, naturally, to a time that is quite medieval looking. Quite a long HOPA game with all those puzzles. Starts great, plateaus half way, and picks up again ¾ onward. Note: no BFG walkthrough. GRAPHICS: Nice, clear graphics. I used the aspect ratio adjustment. HOPS: LOTS, clear, but some very well hidden: wordlists and silhouettes. PUZZLES: 23 REPLABLE PUZZLES – MOST OF THEM NOT EASY- Option to skip available. SOUNDS: Music and sound. HINT: To begin with you have limited hints. You start at 5. You can also pick up RED GEMS which will give you instant recharge or add one hint. Once you find all parts of the red ruby gem you get unlimited hints, which take about 15 second to recharge on casual. Since there’s no BFG walkthrough, I had to use alternative walkthrough a couple of times, eg YouTube. DIFFICULTY LEVELS: 4 choices and interchangeable from options once you start playing. MAP: YES, jump map (the small compass in the lower left)! Wow, I played ¾ of this game not realizing… INVENTORY: Visible at all times. JOURNAL: Journal, objectives and map are together in lower left corner. CHARACTERS: I liked the ghostly characters that you come across. There are some voice-overs done for each character, but you must also read at time.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good SE game. Liked it a lot! Good SE game, had a lot of fun with it. Very long game, some collectables in the form of gems, which give you extra hints. Very good storyline, it's what grabbed me from the beginning and kept me playing. Graphics a bit oldfashioned, but I don't really mind that. No widescreen. Try it, it's a good game! Have fun!
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad SE game As a detective, you are called to the crime scene of a probable kidnapping, with strange complications. About your only clue is a red stone amulet found at the scene being held by a stone hand. You find out that there have been a series of similar crimes dating back to 1790! When the ruby amulet begins to glow and you take a closer look by handling it, you teleported back in time into a completely different world. You now have to figure out what has happened and how and why this amulet has been causing the problems. During your investigation you meet many stranded spirits who provide help after you solve their problems and track down the kidnapper. The story is easy to follow and interesting although the conversations can be quite long at times. Although the game is not linear, there are some activities that must be completed before progressing to other tasks. You see many items while moving through scenes that you know will be needed somewhere later but you can't gather them until you finally reach the area they will be needed so you have to go back and get them. You start with some hints that do recharge and can find others by collecting rubies in the scenes so you are never out of hints. The graphics are good with easy to spot items in the HO scenes though quite small at times. The HOS are the interactive list & silhouettes types. The dialogue had some problems throughout the game. It was very long and would cut out to print, leaving something of a comic book feeling. Sometimes what was said and what was written didn't match but the gist of what was said was there. Many reviewers indicated it was a beginner game but i feel it can be interesting to any level for the story.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Gauge of Skills! I took a chance on this game and was glad I did. Quite fun. And it took quite awhile to play since I had to figure many things out on my own. I had gotten used to a lot of bells and whistles and this game is more like the ones of old. Good storyline. The music is of high quality although there are periods where there is none, which was fine. The HOGS scenes are varied and some quite challenging with small and obscure items. There is a jump map which helps towards the end when finding clues which you notice at first but start to ignore because you can't use them until later! I think the funnest challenge was that there was no strategy guide and no walkthrough so I was left to my own grey cells . There are hidden roses which you can accumulate and use as hints. My biggest frustration was the puzzles, many of which were difficult. The "directions" were often not complete enough to know what the rules were to solve the puzzle and there really wasn't a hint. But one could always skip. The dialogue also if very long would cut out to print, leaving something of a comic book feeling. Still fun and worth a coupon!
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME BUT..... THIS WAS A GOOD GAME..THE ONLY THING THAT WAS BAD WAS THE VOICE OVERS..THEY WOULD SPEAK BUT THE VOICE CUT OF THROUGH MID SENTENCE..THEN YOU BASICALLY HAD TO READ THE REST..& IN SOME CASES IT WAS A FEW PARAGRAPHS NOT SENTENCES LOL..BUT ALL IN ALL IT WAS A GOOD STORY..IF YOU GET A FREE GAME CODE THEN I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GAME..LIKE I DID..ENJOY!
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game This is based on the demo. There are four levels of gameplay - easy, normal, hard and nightmare. (pretty sure about the "hard" one). The game starts out in modern times and jumps back to 1790. Puzzles are varied and fairly easy, mostly, but still interesting. HOS are different, from standard to match images, and are partially interactive. I found this to be an enjoyable game. A bit different than might be expected.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jumble of Things The story was excellent. Some of the repeated demands by one character was a little over done. The characters talk was leaning on the edge of annoying. Good graphics, Nice and easy everything. HO's and Puzzles. Had plenty to do and deeper into the story the more interesting it got. I almost thought I was not going to like the game. All and all a pretty nice game.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME BUT i really wish i could give this a better score ... the graphics are very good ... the beginning of the game thru me off ... didn't think i would spend time with it, but after getting thru the intro i started to play ... HOs are challenging in that there is sooooo much stuff and some of the items are really TINY and disproportionate ... ok if you like to spend that much time ... my biggest problem is that you cannot gather items anytime BEFORE you get to part/area of the game ... i saw items that i knew i would use in the future, but couldn't gather them ... very distracting from my "journey" ... the puzzles are also challenging in that i know i could solve them if i spent a lot of time, which i didn't ... got bored ... and there is no music! ... i LIKE having music, it carries me into and through the game ... i really like the ART though ... and the characters ... most of the problems i have with games are the gameplay, continuity, and interaction ... this game is ok but not the best in these categories ... i used a free game to purchase this game ... because i was intrigued by the story ... wish the programmers/devs put a little more work into the game movement and interaction ... some will enjoy, some will not ...
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME IS YOU DON'T LIKE TO BE HAND-HELD I really liked this game. Intriguing story and the gameplay developments kept me interested throughout. 4 modes of difficulty - I played on the 2nd. There were few directions on what to do or where to go next, so I really felt smart when I figured it out. Since I play so many HOG/adventure games, it wasn't that difficult to determine what might work. Although game is not linear, there are some activities that must be completed before progressing to other tasks. Not too many HOS, but that's okay. I did not find them dark or too shadowy, nor where they too busy. Objects were nicely detailed and not too small to see. Plenty of unique, fun and interesting puzzles - had to search for the answers or additional pieces for the puzzles (usually elsewhere). Takes some problem solving to find the clues or missing pieces of the puzzle. Challenge was moderate to high - but all were quite enjoyable. Don't know if there was a tutorial on the casual mode, but there wasn't any in the 2nd mode. Start with 3 hints - was down to my last and became concerned that I might be permanently stuck when I used it. But I found out (accidentally) there are roses hidden in some of the scenes and collecting them adds a hint. Sure hope there are enough roses. Conversations with characters were interesting. They usually needed help with something. Voice overs were generally good. Liked how the characters disappeared when done with their story. One thing that I didn't like was having to actually close the dialogue box before I could continue. I think it should close automatically. If you don't like a game to constantly point you in the right direction, you might well like this game. I you like direction, try it on the easiest mode. 4 1/2 stars.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice The initial cut-scenes are very gloomy, but the game is quite another. The graphics are very colorful, made in vintage-style. There are a lot of humor and interesting moments. A lot of mini-games, same of them are quite hard, I couldn't pass, skipped them. It seems that game was made with the soul
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just The Thing For Punchcard Monday! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS I am so often disappointed by stand alone SE games, that I am very happy to find a good one. This is not the flashiest game you’ll ever see – the budget is clearly too low for that – but it’s got all the essentials, and they’re done well. The opening cut scenes are very like 3D adventure games, and the game world is done in old fashioned pseudo-realism, but don’t let that fool you, there is more to this game than there seems at first glance. WHAT’S HAPPENING Initially, we have a typical cop/crime mystery game with the expected visuals to go with it, based in the real world and fairly ordinary. We have been called out to the crime scene of a probable kidnapping, with strange complications. We find out that there have been a series of similar crimes dating back to 1790! Then we take a good look at the ruby amulet found at the scene, and are thrown into a completely different world. Personally I thought we took that pretty casually, for a street smart cop and all. With the guidance of stranded spirits, we track down our kidnapper, who doesn't seem all that formidable, but, hey *somebody* dragged me into this time zone/dimension - whatever. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Once we leave behind our present day reality, the graphics become mostly water colour hand drawn in style. Good colour and clarity. The cut scenes still hark back to earlier time, but the HO scenes in particular look great. No matter which style of graphics is being used at any moment, it is all well done. The voiceovers, when there are some (characters will go from VO to print when the dialogue is long), are very good, even though sometimes the pronunciation is off. We can interact and talk with the characters we meet, and that plus the cut scene graphics give the game the feel of an adventure game, so expect a little more talk than usual. MAKING PROGRESS The gameplay is well balanced between HO games (interactive list & silhouettes) and puzzles. The puzzles were almost all new for me, and a couple were a little confusing, so a bit more difficult than the norm. The adventure gameplay was pretty logical, and plenty of guidance from characters meant, not overly difficult. There is a directional hint and skip is quick in the easiest of 3 levels. The map was a transporter, but not interactive. We collect rubies for additional hints. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I ran out of time because I was too engrossed in the story to pay attention, always a good sign. This one is definitely on my buy list.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT TOO SHABBY! I was amazingly surprised to find out that this game didn't suck. Usually games that are released in SE only aren't that good. You won't get bells and whistles, but you will get some out of the box thinking, whether lack of instructions or simply a challenge, I kind of enjoyed it! You will come across items that open and close or can be dragged etc. that you have to think about what to do with that item. The hint button will show you where to go without using a hint but you must collect hidden roses one for each extra hint. The HOS are interactive and surprisingly well done and some of the items are really well hidden. There are lot's of mini games, some new, some really frustrating and I can admit that I skipped the one where you had to light up all the lights! All in all there is a value of entertainment with this game that in my opinion is worth playing or using a credit, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One to buy I enjoyed this game the level of challenge is very good. The HOG are also a challenge. The graphics are good and easy to spot items. The music is not over powering and enjoyable. The hint button is useful, and it refills quickly. On the whole I find it a nice relaxing game and everything I expect from a good HOG. The story is very much the same as a lot of these games but still easy to follow and interesting
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Solid SE I really enjoyed this SE. The story was interesting - I was surprised that the time of the demo had flown by. Visual aspects of game were good (and not too dark). I enjoyed that there were rubies to collect during the game to add to your hint count. The HO scenes were clear but the items were hidden well. Some of the puzzles were challenging. I did not like that you had to close the dialogue box on the top of the screen before you could take the next action. Overall I was really happy to find a good solid SE and this goes on my TO BUY list!!!
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable hidden object game I enjoyed the game,although some of the puzzles are so easy that I had to stop myself from making them more difficult! The graphics are reasonably good. Hidden objects scenes are standard. I will use a game credit to purchase.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good surprise factor in beginning Not bad for a low-budget game. Storyline was easy to follow, and when you ran out of hints and couldn't find any rubies right away, the hint recharged like most other games. It lacked a walkthrough, and it's my understanding BFG doesn't post one unless there is a CE edition. A kind-hearted fellow player posted one on YOUTUBE, which was a big help.
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solid game. Interesting, good graphics, nice and long and lots of different scenes to interact with. Mini game were good also. The game met all my criteria.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was fun. I really enjoyed the story. Although I feel there was almost to much story and not enough items or puzzles. Overall a good game.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A long puzzle/HO game light on story This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game on Normal difficulty. This is a primarily a puzzle game with some HO scenes and just a smattering of story. It's main redeeming feature is its length: the game took me about 6 hours to complete, even with skipping a few puzzles. There are four difficulty levels, I played on the second (no sparklies, but hints and skips normal). You have a limited number of hints, but can get more by finding 'collectible' type objects. The hint is directional if nothing is in your scene, and using it that way doesn't use up your hint, so you can use it to find out where to go next without worry. The HO scenes vary between lists and silhouettes. There is a minor misclick penalty. THE GOOD: The puzzles are varied and challenging. Some of them I haven't seen before, or only rarely, others are variations on themes. This is the game's strong point, and together with its length is why the game gets three stars and not two. THE BAD: Directions for some of the puzzles are not clear, and others have alternate solutions that weren't accounted for. HO scene quality varies. The game starts off in our world, with realistic graphics and very clear scenes, then switches quickly to another place with more 'normal' HOPA style graphics. As the game goes on the HO become more cluttered and less clear - objects hidden in shadows, that sort of thing. The story starts off with a great hook, then suddenly vanishes as you go from scene to scene and puzzle to puzzle. The ending tries to pull everything back together, but doesn't quite succeed. Ultimately, I'd sum it up as 'boring'. THE UGLY: Dialog varies between voiced and not almost randomly. Misspelled words, poorly formatted lines, and just plain wrong words in places. BOTTOM LINE: If you don't mind not having a story, this is a fair puzzle/HO game. It's long enough to justify it's existence, especially as a DD or CotW. There's nothing really special about it though to elevate it to the level of the four and five star games available. Could be a good punch card filler, but there's not enough for me to recommend it as a regular purchase.
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very basic Might be good for beginners but I found some of the hidden object scenes dark and the items were hard to see. I'm not against the older style games but I'd like them to work right and I do like to be able to see the items I need, I will say that I recommend the game but only for newbies or if you like the older style games
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reminded me of older ho games Review of finished game: -Pros- -nice but dated graphics -challenging puzzles -has a map interactive map -hint refills but you can collect more hints as you go and it tells you where you need to go after it refills unless you collected alot of hints.(red rubys) -music not bad -vos but not on everything -characters are well done -storyline is different -cons- -map does not show you what of if there is anything you can do...it is strictly for transportation -alot of back and forth and runnning about -it does tend to feel slow at times -personal thought- this game is almost a throw back which is not a bad thing. we hardly ever get stand a lone games anymore unless they r tms, or kid types...so this was quite refreshing and i had a free game coming :) i did think the game was a bit draggy and slow over all but i did like it alot...it actually gets a 3.5 stars i would have given it more but the vo's did not keep up with dialogue. in fact after a few lines the vo's stopped and you had to read blah blah blah... it may not be the best game out there but it still has some nice game play in it and it is a good rainy day game ^^
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Too Bad Based on demo: I actually liked this game in lieu of the "dreck" that BF games has been coming out with lately. Artwork is good & not cartoonish as some games have been lately. VO's are character appropriate & the music isn't overpowering. Hint button seems to fill up quickly. The HO screens are still junk piles but you can find everything....eventually! The puzzles are somewhat different than the usual connect electrical wires or slide bolts to move an object outside of the box. The storyline is still similar too sooooo many others. It seems the devs have a dozen or so storylines that they just revamp over & over again. How about some originality with the storylines??? Perhaps a contest among the devs who can think "outside the box" & come up with a game that does NOT include witches, demons, lost/dead people or time-travel etc. Just want to encourage the devs to think creatively!
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for the beginner... Graphics are fairly clear and bright, game play is nice. Voice overs are good, but few and far between. HOGs have easy to find items, although a few are a bit dark. Games are not easy and do take some thought to complete. Hint system filled at the usual rate and was helpful. There is a click penalty, something we have not seen for quite some time. This seems to send this one back in time a bit. Speaking of back in time, this is another game that does just that. Pick up the amulet and you are transported back...again. Nothing new here. There were a number of typos in the written dialogue as well...words running together. This was not a particularly challenging game for me. You have to find a ruby to get more hints, and they are not all that easy to see (very dark areas). That seems to be the only extra in this game and that isn't much. This game is more for the beginner than anyone else, and I'm sure a beginner would find it fun. The game is quite quiet, even with music turned up. Needs some sound FX or something. I recommend for beginners, but not for the advanced or expert player, so no buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This would have gotten rave reviews four years ago Not a bad game. The puzzles are a bit different and more challenging than usual. Story line fairly non-existent. The problem is that there was no wow factor after the opening cut scene. The HO scenes harkened back to the old days. Graphics in game were OK, not great. Maybe we're spoiled by some of the great games being offered today. But I got bored after about 30 minutes of the trial and deleted. If you need one more punch this month, you might want it. But I'll wait for this to be a DD.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to standards of today I didn't have to go far into the demo to see that this game just wasn't up to the quality level of HOS games we have been spoiled to play now. I'm sure for some gamers it's just fine but for me not so. Since I only played for a few minutes, I can't give a fair review so just see for yourself.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Too Many Puzzles! There is NO excuse for Games having Spelling Errors or Spacing Errors like this - inthe - in them these days, none whatsoever! The fact that they forgot to space the words correctly in this Game and that some words were joined together incorrectly was totally inexcusable and showed POOR workmanship in the making of this Game. The Graphics were quite nice but there were way too many Puzzles in the Game. In every scene there was at least one Puzzle if not more, and the Puzzles were not very interesting either. If it wasn't for these two things, I would have bought this Game, but as it is, NO SALE.
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This Game Needed More Work Everything about this game is mediocre. It just doesn't satisfy on any level. Some of the mini games are very vague on instructions and were frustrating. The portions on the recipes were impossible to figure out without looking it up on a walk through. There was a long pause in the music loop that left you wondering what happened to the music. One of the best parts about these games is the music and its irritating when it isn't there. I felt this game was too long because I wasn't really enjoying it.
Date published: 2014-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmmm, had the key, had the safe, yet couldn't find the hotspot... Maybe it was me, but after 5 minutes of trying, still could not make the key work in the safe. Called uncle and walked away.
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been an ok game I gave this 2 stars because there was no way to finish this game. I got to the part where the gardner wants to ask a question but he never does; one cannot go on until this requirement is fulfilled. Awful! What a waste of money.
Date published: 2014-09-02
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_19247, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ashley Clark: Secret of the Ruby

Help detective Ashley Clark uncover the truth behind a series of mysterious kidnappings, and reveal the secrets of the ruby pendant!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.