Greed: The Mad Scientist

Greed: The Mad Scientist

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(447.63 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A world famous scientist Dr. Ralph Goodwin promises to unveil a miracle drug able to cure almost all types of diseases. But just one day before his press conference a mysterious explosion destroys his research laboratory. With the lab destroyed, the cure seems lost forever. You have to investigate the case with the help of a young girl named Sara. As Sara searches through the lab, she unravels the dark events of her own past. Among mad scientists and ruthless assassins will you ever be able to find the cure? Find out in Greed: The Mad Scientist!

  • Immersive sci-fi atmosphere
  • Elaborate storyline with many twists
  • Unique mini games

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 805 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Greed: The Mad Scientist

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(447.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Greed: The Mad Scientist is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this will be a buy for me just finished the trial and I will purchase this game. hint button works great and takes you to where you need to go. there seems to be a map but it wasn't working yet in the trial, will have to see what happens when I buy it. don't use sound so can't rate that but over all an interesting story line, good games, challenging but not impossible to get through.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing game with compelling story Based on the free trial I will definitely buy. A modern sci-fi setting for those of us tired of medieval, Victorian and fantasy. No witches or fairies. Fully fleshed out characters involved in an exciting mystery/adventure.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grown up game with good challenge level! I really enjoyed the beta version of this game, and based on the demo few changes were needed. This is a SE game only (why are there so few of these?) with achievements. I played it on the hard level, and thought the challenge level was just right. Good, original story, with no elves or furry companions, Lots of small challenges along the way, and some genuine surprises.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventure Gamers Will LOVE this Sci-Fi Gem of a Game I am sold; hook, line and sinker. Where to even begin? We've been asking for unique, logical and original game for a long time and here is finally a game that delivers on all fronts. First of all, if you are looking for a game that is heavy on the hidden object scenes, you might be disappointed. This is first and foremost an ADVENTURE game and should be reviewed as such. I see some reviews that are a bit unfair as this game is being reviewed as a HOPA when in reality it really isn't. As far as Adventure games go, I was immediately drawn in and disappointed when the demo was over. Immediate buy for me; zero hesitation. The story is "original." FINALLY! We have a conspiracy here involving scientists, a corrupt Pharmaceutical Industry, a cure for a disease, a massive cover-up and a 'monster' that was once human but exposed to heavy doses of radiation that pops up every once in awhile to keep you on your toes. The storyline is deep, and as you move along you find out more by collecting evidence, hacking into computers, collecting notes and paperwork, etc. As far as 'detective' games go; this one is a winner. The graphics are excellent and wide-screen users will be happy to know that there is wide-screen correction without any black bars along the sides. Graphics are clean and VERY crisp. The only issue with graphics that I noticed was a bit of choppy transitioning between cut-scenes but that could well be due to my graphics card and not the game. There are 3 modes of difficulty that actually provide the promised 'extra' challenge if you so choose. Items and achievement objects will be harder to find depending on which of the three modes you choose from. If you want a difficult experience locating items and achievement objects, you'll get one on the hardest mode; you can play on casual and have all the help you need and items and achievement objects are easier to spot; or you can go with moderately difficult where items and achievement objects are only a bit harder to find. Completely customizable=happy gaming experience to suit everyone's' needs. As this is a Sci-Fi game, the world created is top-notch. The laboratory looks and feels hi-tech, with gadgets and gizmos, high-security clearance check-points, high-end PC's, modern furnishings and futuristic elements. There are also many additional items to collect along the way and I have a feeling that I only saw the tip of the iceberg when it comes to 'collectibles'. In the demo there are radioactive objects to collect as well as awards for the Chief Scientist that you are investigating. There are plenty of inventory objects to collect as this is mostly an Adventure game and the items are used in a logical sequence without a lot of back and forth which is a huge plus in my book. I encountered only 2 Hidden Object Scenes during the demo and while they are not interactive, you actually pick up more than one item at a time. The 2nd HO scene I came away with 3 inventory items that I already knew I needed. That is also a major bonus with this game. You don't just pick up random objects. First, you find out what you need in order to complete a task and then you search for those items. This makes for a very LOGICAL flow that is lacking in most games. Because it flows so logically, it makes the game feel all the more realistic. The puzzles I encountered were not just there for the sake of being there; they were actual tasks that needed to be completed, staying true to the "Sci-Fi" theme. For example, hacking into high-security doors or terminals, using complex codes to get to the next room, etc. There are no wasted actions in this game. Everything you do has a PURPOSE to move the game forward which is such a nice change of pace from completing unnecessary tasks. Major props to the devs for this. You have a case-file which includes the following tabs: Summary, Evidence, Map, Tasks, and Diary. The map does not appear to be interactive; however, I did not find that to be an issue as there is not a lot of back-tracking. You also have a 'side-kick' so to speak and it is not a furry little animal. She is a part of this mystery and is not only there to give you hints; she also gives you valuable information along the way concerning the storyline. The voice-overs are fantastic; the characters lips move in sync with the voice actors (love that) and there are plenty of interactive scenes and cut-scenes to keep the story moving forward. Did I mention that we finally have an ORIGINAL storyline here? That alone makes this game worth every penny. I HIGHLY recommend giving this game a try, especially if you are tired of rescuing princesses or relatives, dressing up cute animals, combing through endless junk piles of hidden object scenes, solving puzzles that don't make sense, and picking up objects before you know you need them. All in all, I am a VERY happy gamer today and cannot wait to get back to it. While I cannot speak to length; it is my impression that this game will not be a short one. In the one hour demo I just barely started to collect evidence and notes about the case and was still in the first few rooms of a very large map. This game has so much to offer. I hope other developers take note of what is offered here, especially when it comes to "meaningful" tasks, "logical" progression, "logical" use of objects and "necessary" and "realistic" puzzles and tasks. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS UNIQUE ADVENTURE GAME!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice game, a great stand-alone SE! Actually, I would give this game 4,5 stars, but I rounded up to 5, because it is certainly worth more than the 3 stars it's getting right now! The storyline grabs you right from the first second, and nails you to your chair. The cut-scenes are not very spectacular, but very well done and informative with real good voice-overs. I find this story intruiging and finally something different from the same ol' same ol'. And, yippie, no fairytale or cutesy! The game runs smoothly and has a good pace. The HOS are good and have a unique feature, they are skippable! They are quite far apart, which I find very nice. It tends to be more of an adventure game than only HOS. Puzzles are a bit easy, but very well done and there are plenty! The hint is great and gives you the opportunity to jump to the scene where action is needed. There are 2 series of collectibles #yes, in a SE!!#, which is wonderful!! I bought this game with a free credit and think I have done a super-deal! A great game for free! yay! But I do think it is fully worth it's full price, you won't be disappointed! Give it a try and enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FIND THAT CURE Review of completed game. This is a pretty good game and I enjoyed it. There is: * Normal, Hard and Detective modes of play; * Voiceovers; * Journal; * Collect 14 radio-active items; and * Collect 7 Dr Goodwin's Awards. I played on Detective mode and found that to be a good challenge. The graphics are actually very good and clear. I had no trouble at all trying to decipher what items were. The hidden object games were from easy to medium. A couple had me stumped for a while trying to locate an item. But there were no tiny or obscure items to find. The mini-games are fun - not too hard but there is no hand holding either. I enjoyed these. There is an info button that you can press if you need instructions. You also have to find 14 radio-active items and 7 Dr Goodwin Awards - which are so laughably easy to find that I wonder why they were actually included in the game in the first place. Maybe the developers thought that because everyone else is doing it, that they should do it too. But come on - hide them well and give us a challenge! Overall the game took me about 4 hours to play, which filled in a horrible rainy Sunday afternoon. After I finished the game, I started again and tried out the hint button. It tells you what you need to do and also takes you to the location to do it. I thought that was quite cool. I definitely recommend this game - it has a good challenge, nice graphics and plenty to do to keep all you fishies out of trouble.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game The main thing I like about this game is that it isn't a fairy tale involving an evil witch. I almost wept with joy! This is a good old fashioned mystery that is well told with an excellent journal. Game play is the usual with standard HOS (none of those annoying IA HOS) and OK puzzles. There is a map, but it isn't IA and doesn't give any info - basically useless. The HINT button tells you exactly what to do and offers an opportunity to jump to the location. I thought the length of the game was right on. All in all, this is just a fun and interesting game.
Date published: 2013-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT TOO SHABBY... I TOTALLY ENJOYED THIS GAME..WISH IT WAS A CE..SO WE COULD GO DEEPER INTO THE STORY...GREAT GAME IF YOU HAVE A FREEBIE CODE..I DON'T THINK I WOULD ACTUALLY BUY IT...BUT I DO RECOMMEND THIS GAME!!!
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good adventure game Kudos to a developer I'm not familiar with. Crisp graphics, nothing fancy but still atmospheric enough with details that made sense for the locations. VOA was fine; I feel like a lone voice (no pun intended) in the wilderness because I keep saying this but the young woman assistant's voice was like fingernails on a blackboard - she sounded ten years old. Don't get why this is so appealing for men, don't want to get it because it creeps me out. But she was a young woman, not a girl - there is actually a difference between those two people, or should be, imho. Anyway. The game was interesting, the puzzles were integral to the gameplay - solve a lock to open a door; fix various things to access them; get past this security system or that. Nothing completely pointless, at least in a game context. The HO scenes were skippable, but I enjoyed them. It was actually refreshing to have nothing interactive (can't believe I said that), and though the scenes were slightly junk pile -- some more so than others -- the objects were often truly hidden. By color, by shape. A nod to Ye Olde School of HO games. I liked. Though the game was linear, and tasks were given, figuring out what to do to accomplish those tasks was sometimes a challenge. I know I'm fairly fried right now from real life, but I'm pretty good at these games, and I was stumped a few times and had to rely on a hint. Unfortunately, the hints were not hints, they were given solutions. That was my only real disappointment. I miss good hint systems - seems devs used to be better in this regard. I played in the middle mode, 'Hard,' if that's the term they used. My only other disappointment was that it was a bit shorter than I was expecting. But, overall, I didn't mind that too much because it was a good game, enough challenge to keep me engaged. I look forward to these devs' next offering. (I recommend contemplating a better title, next time, however - 'Greed, The Mad Scientist' was applicable, but I almost passed it up because the title seemed silly, and the game is not silly at all.)
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good, Sci-fi HOL Game I truly appreciated the beta form of this amusement, and dependent upon the demo not many progressions were required. This is a SE diversion just with accomplishments. I played it on the hard level, and thought the test level was just right. Exceptional, unique story, with no mythical people or textured associates, Lots of little tests along the way, and some authentic astounds.
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game I enjoyed this game very much. Graphics were clear and well done and easy on the eyes. Play was linear so there is no confusion about moving through the game. There is a map but does not provide jumps to location. Hints are pretty descriptive and provide jumps to locations. Cut scenes are well done. Overall this is a very good game without any real surprises. I rated with f 4 stars because of the challenge level and the game play is short.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REVIEW BASED ON COMPLETED GAME: GREAT FUN FOR BEGINNERS BASED ON COMPLETED GAME ON HARDEST LEVEL WITHOUT HINTS PROS: Original story line that kept me interested Very straight forward story which is easy to understand Linear progression of the story Classically simple graphics which are uncluttered HOS are easy with clear visuals Games are easy to somewhat challenging, all doable Get to collect several types of items Voice overs are nicely done Satisfying conclusion Characters are believable Easy to read map (was not a jump map on highest level) Minimal backtracking Hints tell you exactly what to do next even on hardcore level Comprehensive diary/map/clue/etc "journal" which keeps very detailed notes for you Logical use of items CONS: Short game Not enough challenge for intermediates and experts The bad guy is pretty scary looking (kids might be scared)
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice SE... No story review, just game play. The graphics are cartoon like, but very well done. Game play is nice and smooth, no glitches for me. Voice overs are well done. Almost too much dialoge, which cannot be clicked through. You can skip it, but you may miss part of the story if you do. I read faster than they talk, so really need to be able to hurry it along a bit. Inventory bar does not lock in place..very annoying jumping up and down. Music not too bad. Nice sound FX. HOGs are not many, but items you find are used within the game...very nice. They are fairly clean and easy to find items. You can also skip them if you like...very different addition. Hint system is helpful and allows you to jump to the location you need next, if you choose...also a very nice addition, since there is no jump map, and you are not penalized by using up the hint meter. Hint refills at about the usual time frame as other games. Skip fill is very long. You have collectibles, which are not at all difficult to find, and achievements. Puzzles are not difficult either. I don't know what it is about this game, but I really like it. Not extremely challenging, but fun and I find that I need to keep playing to see where it goes with the story line. This is a very nice SE for a change and one that I am using a credit to purchase. This most definitely is not geared to the children in the house...YES, about time! As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not A Bad Game Not too bad of a game, though as others have mentioned it's a very familiar story. The devs seem to be out of fresh ideas for new games & just rehash the old games over & over again. The graphics aren't bad, the HOG's are the usual messy junk piles but the hint button is the best ever. None of "there's nothing to do here now" but actual useable hints. The voice overs/lip synch need some work. The story moves along quite nicely & actually has me wondering what is going to happen next. This will be a coupon buy for me.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Greed is good" Just finished playing half of demo and like it. As someone mentioned, lately there have been way too many (although some good) fairy tale games. This game seems interesting. There are collectibles (which a lot of people find important - although not me, as it takes away from what you are trying to accomplish). Graphics are good, music not too annoying. Hints are different. Didn't see any HOS (though am tired am may have missed them). All around a good game.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Greed: The Mad Scientist This was one of the most relaxing games I have played in a long time. Game must be for beginners as there really wasn't any challenge at all. Hint button gives you all the help you need. Still I enjoyed playing the game, stress level zero.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Never Pays to be Greedy!! As a stand alone, non ex-CE game, I think this is great. No, it does not have small animal helpers or terrific music. Yes, the graphics and movements of the characters are a bit stilted. However, the storyline is good. The plot is good. The challenge level is good. I played on medium mode (you have a choice of 3 modes) and found I really needed to think about what to do and how to solve the puzzles. There are few HOS, and the ones I did do were strictly list. I don't mind this at all. Items were not difficult to find nor were the scenes dark. You have a journal which contains a map (which is not a jump or task map), evidence, tasks, and a diary. The hint button will jump you to the location where a task is needed. There are a few things to collect. Possibly more in the full version. Despite not being loaded down with morphing objects and all the bells and whistles, I actually enjoyed this game and it will be a buy for me. It does look to be on the short side.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Change! This game surprised me, I went into it skeptically but the further I got the more involved I became. While it lacks the sophistication of a lot of the newer games out there, it does have its own appeal. Graphics are crisp, voice overs/lip sync well done, good story line and not just a bunch of HO scenes. Mini puzzles were nothing special or new, but they still required some thinking and were fun! You needed to collect 14 radio active items and 17 Dr. Goodwin awards. There was a summary, evidence, task list. diary and map (only helpful as part of the hint system by allowing you to jump to the location in question). You as the detective must get into Pontoon Laboratories and investigate the cause of the explosion, ascertain whether the alleged cure for most diseases still exits and if so retrieve it. Also you must search for any survivors of the explosion and remove the radioactive items. Once you are inside the lab you are chased by a weird human monster who is the result of an experiment gone wrong...or could he possibly be Dr. Barwick, assistant to Dr. Goodwin who was perhaps trying to sabotage the cure? The story has lots of adventure and suspense to it, you need to use your thinking cap, rely on your logic and memory as you weave your way into finding the solution to your investigation. A nice welcoming change. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Greedy Mad Scientist - Review Of Completed Game Story: You take on the role of a detective and must help Sara find a miracle cure for her ailing brother Sam. Game Features: 3 play modes: Normal, Hard, Detective. I played hard mode. There are black bar tips. HOS and puzzles can be skipped. Hint outside of HOS will bring up a box telling you what to do and then you can click to take you to the location if you aren't in the correct one. There's also collectibles to find throughout the game. You can also chose to take the tutorial or not. I chose no and that worked for me as it didn't make me take it. Case File: This holds summary, evidence, task(s) which also pop up on the screen, map which is not transporter, and diary which is notes and some are used for puzzles. HOS: All found by word list and they are not interactive. Seemed to be a bit on the Sanford & Son junkyard pile side to me however I had no difficulty finding anything. Puzzles: The usual run of the mill as I didn't come across anything new from the many offerings here at the Big Fish. I found them doable. Overall impression: Wow! I must say I about lost hope in the Big Fish! LOL! I'm so glad to see they have taken a break from the "cutesy" dress up animal games. This here is right up my alley as it's a Sci-Fi. I was hooked to this right from the get go and held my interest to the very end. Some twist/turns to the story which I really liked though I will have to agree with the review that stated this ended a bit abrupt. Yes it ended satisfactory meaning no kind of cliff hanger but just a bit abrupt. This for me was more on the adventure side than HOS and puzzles. The graphics, cut scenes and voice overs a very well done for me especially for a game that is a stand alone SE. A 4 stars from me. This was also just right for me as far as game length 4 hours and a punch code coupon well spent! Thanks Big Fish and Developer. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Miracle Cure - or Is It? As the game begins we see cutscene of a research facility that is burning out of control after a devastating explosion. We learn that the fire is listed as suspicious since the lead scientist of the lab, Dr. Ralph Goodwin, was soon to announce the development of a miraculous new drug that would cure almost every known illness. Of course, there were no survivors so the cure has been lost forever, or has it? Three days after the fire, we meet Sarah who tells us that Dr. Goodwin had been treating her brother Sam, and she knows that Dr. Goodwin has hidden the formula in the lab. Sarah asks us to help her find the formula since Sam’s life, as well as the lives of countless others, depends on finding the cure. But, all is not as it seems and someone is out to stop you! Will you be able to overcome the challenges and find the cure? You will have to go on this exciting adventure to solve the mystery and find out who is behind all the mystery at Pontoon Research. The graphics in general are very good but where the graphics become iffy is in the cutscenes as they appear to be quite “grainy”. The voiceovers are very good as is the rest of the sound package. The background music subtle and adds a touch of spookiness game. On the lower left of your screen you will find your case file. The file includes several tabs for evidence, notes, a map and your diary. Although there is a map, it is not interactive and is quite useless. The best thing I can say about the map is that it is included as a basic directional tool. The rest of the items in the case file do have some value and can be helpful. The HOS are the standard list type BUT after a period of time a skip button will appear so you may choose to skip the rest of the HOS if you wish to do so. The mini games are fairly standard with nothing too unique but they were enjoyable and none of them were too difficult or frustrating to solve. Because there are collectibles in the game, I think the developer might have intended it as CE release. However, without an interactive map and some other features the developer probably decided to go ahead with the SE release instead. Overall, I was quite surprised because I didn’t think this would be a good game but I was so wrong. Greed: The Mad Scientist is an excellent SE game that I found quite enjoyable. After fifteen minutes of the demo I had to stop and buy the game. Although I am not too familiar with this developer, they did an excellent job with this game and I will look forward to more games from them in the future. As always, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everybody Knows That Gamma Is Bad Stuff! I wasn't expecting this to be a decent game, turns out I was wrong. The graphics aren't the most detailed but they are clear so I'm okay with that because it has a pretty good story line. Dr. Goodwin has invented a cure for that, and by that I mean it cures everything! Problem is the lab has been blown up, is it an accident or sabotage? Now we are searching for survivors and hopefully find the formula for the cure, and we run into a slight glitch....a monster with super human strength, is it Dr. Goodwin? Is it his assistant? As you investigate the lab you will find a ton of mini-games. Most of the games are the kind where you move one piece and it also moves several other pieces but they are doable and most are fun. The HOS are far and few between and they are just list finds. You get to collect 14 radioactive items as well as 7 Dr. Goodwin awards, there may be more in the full version! This is a good value in my opinion for a standard release only game, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Greed: The Mad Scientist Good fun game with great mini puzzzles was going good until it came time to find the gas mask in the reception floor guess what no gas mask. Other wise great game.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on completed game The storyline of the game is quite good, but unfortunately the end is a bit abrupt. The map does not help much as it just shows the different locations, but nor where to go next and you cannot jump. To jump to another location you need to use the hint !!!! Graphics are good and clear, Hog's are not too overloaded and parts are good to find. To my opinion the game is a bit too short, but I liked it.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good, Actually BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS SO good to see a new story! Yes, we want to save the little brother, but with medication, not derring-do! The intro to the game is not bad. The cut-scenes are, throughout the game, not of the highest quality, but this opening does give you a good understanding of the story. There are, for my liking, a few too many cut-scenes. If they had been a bit more ‘high impact’, I probably wouldn’t’ve minded them. SIGHTS & SOUNDS This is a modern-day adventure with sci-fi overtones so, appropriately, the graphics are pseudo-realistic. I don’t particularly like this style, and many would call it outdated, but if you can’t be ‘pseudo-realistic in a sci-fi, when could you? I think the graphic style is mandated by the subject matter. The sound track is well done. The special effects work, the background ‘music’ is minimalist electronica played only faintly and far away. The voiceovers are good. There is an attempt at lip sync that I feel gets close enough. WHAT’S HAPPENING A famous scientist has spent years since the loss of his wife and children (how is not yet known) developing a cure for cancer and many other ‘incurable’ diseases. On the night before the announcement to the world that he would be releasing this drug free of charge to the world an explosion and resulting fire destroys the lab. It is unknown if there are any survivors, but you meet a young woman whose brother was a special patient of the doctor/scientist. She is looking for the cure, from clues left to her by the scientist. As well, we must deal with a savage half man/ half monster, who is not happy to see us, but it seems as if he may be a product of an experiment gone wrong. What has been going on in this laboratory? MAKING PROGRESS A straightforward adventure, liberally sprinkles with fairly easy puzzles, this game treats the few HOPs scenes as puzzles as well. In other words, you can skip them altogether. I am sure that will appeal to some! For those who like HOPs, there are not as many as usual, and they are all interactive lists, but the graphics are clear and sharp and the objects are fairly relevant to time and place. There are a few surprises in the ‘peripherals’ as well. The hint button gives you an actual hint, AND allows you to choose to jump to the spot. This is good, because the map is not at all interactive. The journal contains Summary, Evidence, Map, Tasks, and Diary. There are also achievements – more than one set! First there are 14 green glowing easy-to-spot radioactive parts. And Dr Goodwin’s awards – whatever they might be – I caught a couple but I’ve no idea how. All the way through this game you are collecting mini-collections of one thing or another that have no immediate place in the story. It’s just that sort of game. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I always judge stand-alone SE games more generously than ex-CE standard editions, and on that basis, this is a good game. The graphics are not of a high enough quality for a CE, so it can’t compete with them. But an excellent punchcard coupon game.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from " It's A Mad, Mad World We Live In!!" Review based one demo play time only: There is a fire in Pontoon Laboratories where a Professor Goodwin (Who is Head of the Lab)is trying to discover a cure for all sorts of diseases. He had just made an announcement three days earlier that he thought he had found the cure all when - Poof! Dissapears in all the carnage! Yes again, we are an investigator assigned to to find out what happened at Pontoon. Once you arrive you are met by the sister of one of Dr. Goodwin's patients he was helping, so she volunteers in any way she can to help. Now the need to know information: 1.) 3 Play Modes- Normal, Hard and Detective 2.) The music is classically orchestrated. 3.) The Voice overs are crisp and clear. The Intro seems very realistic. 4.) Movement is a bit stiff 5.) We are given a case file with sections for evidence, a map, tasks, a diary and finally, a summary. 6.) * You do get to collect green radiations spots that have leaked from the explosion ( a little plus) and all 8 of Dr, Goodwin's awards. 7.) My biggest disapointment that thus far I haven't found and interactive HOS game! As a parting small cliffhanger - once you get inside of the gates of The Lab grounds you are met by a hideous creature! So now, the rest of the story line is up to you fellow fishies! If by now your interest has been a bit peaked, try the demo and remember you can use your punch card on the game before it expires! Well time's up. Have fun investigating!
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brain Power Required Don't get me wrong, I am not complaining too much but I was getting a bit sick of the latest trend of Fairy tales and cute creatures. Finally, a story for grown ups that takes place in an abandoned medical research lab. A world famous scientist Dr. Ralph Goodwin has promised to unveil a miracle drug able to cure almost all types of diseases known to mankind. Suddenly right before his press conference a mysterious explosion destroys his research laboratory and it seems that the cure is lost forever. A young girl named Sara asks for your help. It appears that her brother is a patient of the good doctor and with her help, you begin your adventure and investigate the case searching through the lab, looking for clues and discovering that there is much more than meets the eye with Sara. By the way, there is also a very creepy looking humanoid that is trying to stop you. So the graphics are a bit dated and art work is a bit drab but seriously, they did a fantastic job with the lip sync and voice-overs. An excellent HOPA game that will have hard core players pleased as punch as you will soon note that the use of some gray cells is required. There are four modes of difficulty and I chose the hardest, Detective mode during the demo trial. Game features include a file that holds your journal, a summary, evidence, a task list and a map that really is quite useless, no travelling so prepared to run around. Sara acts as your hint and depending on what level you choose to play, you will have the option to skip HO scenes if you like. An excellent HOPA game with crowded Hidden Object scenes that involved a list of items to find. No interaction, just straight forward seek and find. Brings back fond memories of past HO games we use to have. Mini-games are fairy simple but some do require patience or a good memory which you will also need during your adventure. The challenge is that as you begin to roam through the building, you find your inventory is getting full and you have to figure out where to use what. I paticularily enjoyed figuring that out without any hand holding. There are also collectables that are referred as achivements but since there is no extras mentionned in the main menu, I am curious as to why we need to collect them. I liked the story, I liked the adventure and I really liked the fact that I had to use my memory and some logic. The game may be dated and definitely lacking in substance when compared to the newer CE games we have seen, but it's simplicity and lack of bells and whistles in this case make it an entertaining adventure game that I really enjoy, plus I really need to wean myself off the overly sacharrine themes and tap into my dark side a bit. I do miss a good scary tale with a goul chasing me thru a creepy building.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not A Bad Little Game I purchased this game with a free game coupon, but if I had to pay full price for the game I still think it would have been worth it. Graphics are pretty sharp and clear for the most part, however, the cut scenes can be somewhat fuzzy at times. There are no morphing objects as far as I can tell; there are seven Doctor Goodwin Awards and fourteen radioactive items to collect. The inventory bar does not lock- something that I find to be a bit irritating. There is a map that does not allow you to jump from location to location, however, the hint button (which provides a player with text hints) does have a function which allows you to jump to various locations... though I wish the developer had used a jump map instead. The hint button recharges very quickly (almost instantly). The skip function works with puzzles (which don't seem to be that difficult) but it also works with HO scenes as well. If you prefer adventure and would like to pass up on the HOS allowing a player to skip them comes in handy. The voice overs in the game are pretty decent- mouth movement is pretty much in synch with them. I'm not a game expert and so I don't know how challenging this game would be for players that are. For me this game is good entertainment and so I'll leave it at that. As always, it's best if you try before you buy.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just ok Another game where the location was recently devastated by a fire/explosion that killed everyone, yet somehow the interior of the building now has only minor damage so that the gamer can explore all the rooms, closets, cabinets, etc. Makes no sense. The game play was fairly easy and the hints told you exactly what to do. There was even a skip option on the hidden object scenes. As for the puzzles, almost all of them in the demo (I didn't buy the game) involved moving dials, rings, sliders, whathaveyou in order to arrive at a particular pattern but, of course every item you move affects some other item and moves it too in a way you don't want it to move. I find these particular types of puzzles really annoying and always skip them, so I skipped a lot of puzzles. Overall, I wasn't particularly drawn into the story and was glad when the 60 minutes were up.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game Nice surprise this game is. Ran out of free play just as someone shot at me. Wow that worked well for a cliff hanger. Nice journal with map. Not too hard of a game. Some might find it boring.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very, Very Short This game would be good for beginners. There is a map, but it is basic. The storyline is good, but could be followed up better. Mostly, however, the game is exceedingly short. Had I known, I would not have bought it.
Date published: 2013-11-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_11, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_19875, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Greed: The Mad Scientist

As Sara tries to find a miracle cure for her ailing brother, she unravels the dark events of her own past.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.