Call of the Ages

Call of the Ages

PC

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(190.89 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Calendar of Ages, that kept the world running, has been destroyed. Embark on an exciting journey across eight countries and eight epochs to collect mighty artifacts! Complete 90 unique Match 3 levels as you witness key events of world history and save the world in Call of Ages.

  • Enjoy over 90 unique levels
  • Activate an additional challenge mode
  • Unlock over 40 achievements

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 211 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Call of the Ages

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(190.89 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Call of the Ages is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the best This one of the best match 3 game I have played so far "this game is brill" it is fast and furious
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome three match I like it very much fun easy my granddaughter love all big fish games so do I keep up the good work..
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has Relaxed Mode! I've played the other Match Three games by this developer and was hooked on this one right away. Very enjoyable and re-playable game.Thanks yet again Big Fish!
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantasic call of the ages game is an interesting game that you do not want to stop after starting the game.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call of the ages I just love this game. There is another game like this that I played for years. I was so happy to see this game come out and I would buy any new game like this.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gosh darn it I play only relaxed games. I love this game. With my shaky arm I can't beat the darn sand. Why do developers put junk like that on a game? It grows faster than I can move my arm. I wouldn't mind if it went slower! For me I wasted a free game.
Date published: 2014-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from UNEXPECTED CHALLENGES AAA +++ I've been bored . Loved all Match 3 but ,,,well I aced all pretty fast yawn. Until now...I know this style BUT some very fun twists ..no spoilers here ..but play on and BAM. Loved it. Story ..don't care .Its the twists & adjustable challenge level.FUN Trophies appeal as well. If you like straight forward match and don't need to hunt & perform tasks just to get to the matching ..this is for you. Even the music was exciting to me lol. ENJOY! for me....A BUY FOR SURE!
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging Match 3 Other gamers have explained the format, so I won't go into that. For me the game started out easy, but as you progress to higher levels you run into obstacles like sand, chains, ticking bombs and walls. You do obtain an amulet which lets you destroy cells and there are other power-ups. I really enjoyed the challenge of the higher levels. .
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will keep you up all weekend! Playrix has a way of putting out some fun and addictive match 3 games, and this Kyodai-style swap-tile game is just one of many. If you ever played Atlantis Quest back in the days of early casual gaming, then you will find that Call of the Ages is very similar, but broadens your search to a much larger and more timely area as you are put in charge of finding various artifacts in history in a worldwide hunt. Your first search starts in the U.S. during the Colonial Period where you are to look for an Iroquois peace pipe, and it goes from there to just about everywhere. You bring down tiles, swapping until the pieces of the artifact fall into place. You gain bombs, lightning bolts and other magical tools along the way, but it is best to hold off on using those until you reach the end of a puzzle, and that on little stubborn piece won't come loose. If you are into the 7 Wonders series, or other artifact hunts, then Call of the Ages is exactly what you are looking for, but try not to get too disappointed when your one hour trial runs out. Take advantage of the BFG sales going on and get the full version right away, because this is one game that will keep you up all weekend long.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 'A Bit Tame' I bought this game as it was sufficiently different to The Rise of Atlantis which has the same game play, but found that overall it was a bit too tame. It didn't seem to have quite the same level of difficulty in normal mode, as TROA. On 1 level the game jammed the whole of my computer and I had to do ctrl alt del to get it going again. Its a shame as the loading of the game is very slow and the refilling of tiles slow and laborious as well as being a bit choppy at the end of each level. Having said all that I'm still glad that I bought this as now having played the whole game in 'relaxed' mode I have now moved onto the 'challenge' mode and will then play it in 'untimed' mode, so good value for money despite the difficulties
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice M3 It is a nice game, as others like this. No news, simple game, power ups, that we already know like bombs and rays, but the sand... it made me crazy. You clean one spot and seems that in the same time another two, three or more appears... sometimes you can´t make a match beside the sand and it becomes a nightmare... I like and recommend for those who wants simple games.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game If you like call of Atlantis you will like this game . I like call of Atlantis so I gave this one a try . I really like it. Great m3 game the levels get harder as you get farther into the game but it is quite enjoyable. You do get tools that will help you along the way. If you enjoy m3 games you should give this game a try.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another great Playrix Game! Review is based on the trial version. Great graphics, very colorful, nice and big for those of us with "older" eyes lol. Easy to play but does get more challenging as game progresses. The only thing that stops me from giving it a 5 star rating is the fact you have to wait until the tiles stop cascading before you can click on another, a bit irritating but I can live with it. There is a relaxed and a timed mode, I tried both and do like relaxed modes (as a rule dislike anything timed) but appears the timed mode is decent but makes you think about your next moves, nothing wrong with that, just adds to the challenge. Also gives you snippets of ancient history which is interesting. Overall great game and in my humble opinion one of the better M3 games out there. Have played some that were terrible. A great buy and with today's sale I snapped it up! Looking forward to the more challenging levels!
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An almost perfect Match 3... First, it's a beautiful game. All the things I want in a match 3. Even a story which is usually a bonus and often weak, but not in this case. Nothing unusual really. You're gathering pieces of artifacts from all over the world, each level yielding a new section of the artifact. A little history lesson, stunning graphics and a clever set up make this one of the nicer Match 3's of late. There's only one problem and it may keep me from buying it. When you make a match, you have to wait for it to complete before you can move another tile. It's really too bad because that's enough to make me crazy. I much prefer being able to keep moving even while the tiles match and drop. Just sitting there watching them makes the game feel clunky somehow. If this doesn't matter to you, I think you'll find it a very enjoyable game, but if like me, you want the action to move faster, you could be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic Style This is another game from the makers of Royal Envoy, Gardenscapes, 4 Elements, Fishdom Call of Atlantis and more. It is a match three games were various artifacts are restored by having fragments moved to the bottom of playing boards. You can play timed or relaxed. There are several things that can be used to assist in the game such as bombs lightning and an amulet. If you are familiar to this developer you will recognize the tile falling sounds right away. Also familiar is the bright jewel tone colors used in most of this developers games.There are 8 artifacts to be restored and in the 42 minutes I played I did the first 2. I have a feeling though that they will probably become increasingly difficult so I'm sure the future ones are going to take more time. I enjoyed playing this and have bought the game.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 8 Countries 8 Time Periods 8 Artifacts This is a match 3 game with 90 levels that travel through 8 countries each of a different time period. The goal is to restore the ancient calender of ages by traveling the world. This is a good match 3 game BUT, there were a few aspects of the game I didn't like. One of the biggest things that annoyed me was that once you made a large match you couldn't match any tiles until all the new tiles were done falling which in my opinion made the game play too slow. There are 40 achievements to earn but because this game is easy to play, it should not be hard to earn all of them. The goal on each level is the same, to drop pieces of the artifact off the board by making a match 3 under them. You power up an amulet by making large matches and you want to use that as soon as it's charged to destroy random tiles, it resets after each level. You also earn bonuses such as bombs etc. but they are available for use on any level if you don't use them. One thing I really liked about this game was the unique tiles they used for each country you are in at the time. There is an un-timed setting for a relaxing match 3 and I think that once you get into the higher levels it will become more challenging, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Game For All Ages The Calander of Ages has been destroyed and historical artifacts are spread out through time. You need to collect pieces of each artifact in order to repair the calander and save the world from chaos. Graphics are sharp along with relatively good artwork although animation scenes were a bit amateurish. You go through time and with each artifact, a short historical fact starts off a game of a standard Swap Match 3 game whereby you need to drop peices of the artifact to the bottom of your board. You have the option of playing relaxed or time mode which can be changed via your option menu at any time. You travel through each country, trying to put together a historical artifact. There is a golden amulet at the bottom right hand of your screen that when filled up will destroy several tiles for you. You also get bonus power ups as you move along. At first the game was too easy to play but as you move along, the game begins to get more challenging. There are achivements as well and a challenge mode to play once it is unlocked. The demo trial flew by quickly as I had already retrieved two artifacts. At first there was some slight tedium in the gameplay but it did get interesting by the time I arrived to Japan. A great game for kids and for Match 3 gamers. Not as intricate or challenging as some of the more complexed games out there what with only one style of Swapping tiles. Nevertheless I found it relaxing and not overly frustrating to play. Interesting historical factoids as well. I bet like me most of you have free game credits on hand that havent been used, a decent game to spend one on if you are a M3 Fan. I
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay I'm playing in the relaxed mode as my hands are not that fast anymore. Loved the game but, hated the sand. Seems to me once you cleared the sand in one spot it just kept coming back. This was the NOT FUN part for me.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New Words, Same Tune Playrix has done an excellent puzzle game again. The again factor is what kept it from all 5 ratings. The graphics (crisp and colorful) and sounds (voiceover is excellent) are different and the goal of restoring orderly time is different. But in all other respects this is a rerun of Call of Atlantis and their other matching/restoration games. The play mechanics are good and if you've never played another of their m3's I recommend you give it a try. If you want a reissue of previous games with new story, sounds and graphics it will also fill the bill. But for me, the novelty is gone. If they had added new ways to match, different powerups or the like it would've been an instant buy. As it is I`ll wait until the happy memories of their past games dim a bit more.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from call of the ages played game for half hour enjoyed it very similar to call of atlantis, timed or untimed which is a bonus not sure if levels get more difficult further on in game so I will buy it and see.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on the 1 hour trial If you liked Call of Atlantis, you will like this. Basically the same type of game with different obstacles, a M3 of the easiest kind
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great match 3 game I love match 3 games. And this one is another I will add to my collection. The only this i dislike is that you have to wait till all the blocks are finished falling before you can continue. I found it very relaxing to play in the relaxed mode.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Untimed should be untimed! I've almost finished the game, and altho I usually love Playrix games, this is definitely an exception. I won't buy any game that doesn't have an untimed mode. I play to relax, not to get tense. This game has an untimed mode, but one of the major obstacles they throw in your way is a timed playing piece! I could handle all the other obstacles, but when the timed pieces are coming at you fast and thick, it's almost impossible (for me at least) to get them all before one of them blows up. Then it's game over, try again. Boooo! This game doesn't have enough to recommend it to make me try so hard to win. It's just straight M3 with no extras besides the story.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best this developer has done. Have others by developer and like them very much. Should have played the whole trial, but did not. Don't like the necessity of two distinct movements to change objects between squares. Also do not care for having to wait for all movement to halt before making a move. Becomes almost impossible later in game when 'tricky' squares need to be handled quickly and you cannot move quickly.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from May not be worth the frustration. Pros: timed/untimed modes, nice graphics, variety of challenges Cons: becomes extremely difficult even in relaxed mode, challenge mode appears to be an exercise in frustration, can't make moves all the time Call of the Ages is a swap M3 in which fragments of a target item must be dropped to the bottom of the board. Be warned that although the initial boards start out extremely easy, the difficulty ramps up to near insane levels. I finished the timed mode, but just barely...some boards took 10-15 attempts near the end of the game, and many boards had to be restarted at least 1-2 times by the midpoint. Although there's an option to shut the timer off at any point in the game, there are obstacles in some boards which still make them "timed" in another sense (take too long and the board is automatically forfeited, or becomes too blocked to do anything#. I enjoyed the crisp, clear graphics and the soundtrack was generally OK. Did notice that the music and tile sets began to repeat by about the fifth of the eight countries though. The storyline shown in videos in between countries was passable. Once a country is completed, the player has the option to replay the boards there in either regular #improve your score or collect powerups you missed the first time# or "challenge" mode #solve the boards with a specific goal to earn a gold star). The challenge mode wasn't a challenge in the first two countries, but by the third it rapidly became ridiculously hard and left me wondering if the developer really expects anyone to get the gold stars in every game board. As of this writing I have not been able to complete enough of the challenge mode to unlock the bonus boards. It's definitely NOT an easy game, so I wouldn't recommend this to anyone looking for a game to relax to. I am a little on the fence as to how much I will continue to play it myself, and I typically enjoy challenging M3s. Strongly encourage playing the demo first to see if the game concept is to your liking, and don't let the first dozen boards fool you!
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not enjoy this one :( i found this particular match3 to be tedious and annoying. The tutorial kept coming up so I disabled it, but then I started collecting "power ups" and evidently info on those is part of the tutorial - all or nothing, right? So I just did what I do best, wing it... try it to see what it does... and found that I didn't really need any extra info at all. The boards are relatively small and reminiscent of Jewel Quest. There are wooden boxes to bust and 'tumbleweeds' to toss, chained pieces to release and artifact pieces to move off the bottom of the board. The graphics are up to par, the music is okay, but you have to wait for all the matches to clear and the board to settle down before you can click on the next match - not great for overactive players like me who like to click, click, click the pieces away. The cut scenes were nicely done and the narration was wonderful, but in all - I simply did not enjoy this game.
Date published: 2013-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Call of the Ages? I shouldn’t have answered the phone! Although my review is based on the Collector’s Edition that I purchased elsewhere, I would still like to put in my 2 cents on this version. My review is based on the game in general rather than the specifics of the CE edition. Anything that does relate to the CE edition will be noted as such. I found the demo portion of the game (first two countries) to be extremely easy. Once past that, it became extremely difficult for me in timed mode so I switched to relaxed. Fortunately it does keep game progress so I didn’t have to start over from scratch. So I don’t feel that demoing the game really is a good representation of how the game will play. It gives the impression that the game will be relaxing and enjoyable when in fact it is not. At least for me it wasn’t. Had the demo portion of the game been representative of the whole game, I would not have purchased it. I thought the tokens would be representative of each country but some were repeated in the later countries that did not apply. Also, the music was reused in some countries and did not seem appropriate to that country. I think the term “relaxed” is misleading. There are still things that cause the game to not be relaxing. For example, there are timed tokens that have to be matched before the timer on that token runs out. Otherwise you have to replay the level. And as others have mentioned, the sands are a real pain. Even though they don’t relate to time, they can still lead to replaying the level. What I found that worked best on the regular sands (not the sandstorms) is to just get rid of them in the beginning of the level with bombs because invariably the tokens didn’t fall correctly to keep them at bay. Yes, it is very similar to Call of Atlantis and other games by this developer. What I think is new in this game is that you can replay the levels to earn a star in CHALLENGE mode. CHALLENGE modes vary with the level and can be completing in x number of moves, a specified time limit, not using bonuses, etc. Again, the first two countries were easy, third I completed more than half but that was all the stars I could earn. Collector’s Edition only: It has bonus levels but in order to play those, you must earn the stars in the Challenge levels. Since I was only able to earn enough stars to play the first 10 bonus rounds, that’s all I could play. So I felt the Collector’s Edition was a waste of money for me. For those of you who are undecided… If you are going to buy this game because it is fun and relaxing in the demo, it quickly changes to something much more challenging and you should reconsider. But if you are not going to buy it because the demo is too easy, definitely consider buying the full game. I doubt that you will find the rest of the game as mild.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs improvement! This could be very good, but the main drawback is that you can't make a match while the tokens are still falling...an aspect I really HATE in M3 games. If you try to play the timed mode with this happening, it is very frustrating. This dev does make really good games usually and the graphics are always great, but, in this instance, we have already seen this same exact scenario where you have to collect the pieces of an artifact in another of their games; can't remember which one. Even the power up sun thing is the same as before. Also, while I enjoy and understand the cartoon nature of the artwork, there are some that might be offended by the stereotypical representation of Native Americans. Nevertheless, the story is well written and interesting. Just not enough to make me buy it...sorry.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating You can't make a move while items are still falling ! I play Match 3 games pretty fast so for me it's very frustrating.
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from match 3 I like the game but the one annoying thing is when matches are made, you have to wait until all tiles stop falling before you can continue your matches.
Date published: 2013-10-23
  • y_2020, m_11, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_19787, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Call of the Ages

Embark on an exciting journey through time to save the world from destruction in this unique Match 3 game.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.