Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(339.22 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Race to uncover an ancient secret in Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers! The night started out like any other. A local collector was complaining about paranormal activity in her mansion, and the authorities called you to get to the bottom of things. But it turns out that the pit of bizarre activity was bottomless. Now you find yourself lost in a living nightmare brimming with strange creatures, comatose colleagues, and mysterious tentacles reaching out around every corner! Can you find the source of the happenings and destroy it before it's too late? Find out in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Travel into the mind of the villain in the bonus game
  • Replayable mini-games and hidden-object puzzles
  • Exciting screensavers, wallpapers, and concept art
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 767 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(339.22 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A LOAD OF FUN...... This game has it all......I was so into it that the hour went by quickly......I loved everything about it.....The characters are great. Voice overs are in sync and ironically, the voice seems to match the characters....The music is typical of ERS, so it is not irritating at all......It has match 3, interactive HO, puzzles and loads more of game playing fun...I will be purchasing this as soon as I finish my review.....I liked this game so much that I had to boast about it.....Of course, try it for yourself....But I think you will be buying it too.....
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Much Fun!!! I loved this game, ERS, you've done it again! One of the best graphic styles and character developments that I have come across ever in any of these games. The story takes us to the home of psychologist Dr. Gauss who has recently had a break in and a crystal skull has been stolen. As a result the skull belonging to Morpheus, the God of Dreams is now awake, and the nightmare has begun with paranormal phenomenon happening all around the place, many of which are bizarre. For eg: you press the intercom button and your finger oozes blood and then giant octopus tentacles envelope the gate! You receive goggles designed by the secret service lab which are to be used to decode unusual symbols you find within the scenes. Once decoded there is a message such as: "Flamingos are afraid of loud sounds, scare them if you want to proceed." There is quite the variety of critters involved in the story as well as collections.There is a crab that helps untie knots and take out stitches, a frog wearing a bib that eats a red hot chili pepper causing fire in his mouth which melts wax on the top of a wine bottle. Once wine is opened and poured into a glass you later find a straw so that the frog can sip the wine. Just too crazy but so fun!!! You also collect 20 vials of different origins, eg: 5 love vials, 5 anger vials Ho scenes are interactive eg: cotton pad dipped in nail polish remover takes nail polish off of the lid of a box so that it can be opened. Once open it contains a hand with painted fingernails all except for 1, you find a brush that is dipped in nail polish and complete the painted nails. Another fun character is a moose head that talks and asks you to turn on the TV so he can watch a soccer game. He also has an annoying chameleon who is hiding in his horn. A tea cup that hops around like a little bull and then later on you lasso its legs. It just goes on and on!!! Mini games are different with enough challenge to entertain you, such as directing a mouse through a maze of lasers and matching video tape covers to the video story. I only played the demo but there was so much there that I know I will be buying this one. Another favorite for me! See what you think.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An octopus, a skull and psychic phenomena! This game has everything. You don't need to have played the previous games in the series to really enjoy this one. Agent Lloyd has contacted you as the paranormal phenomena specialist to assist with finding a stolen crystal skull from the psychologist Dr. Gauss. Detective Lloyd even brings donuts and coffee to the crime scene for you. The crystal skull is definitely connected to snakes or tentacles or both. Dr. Gauss tells you the skull belonged to Morpheus, the god of dreams, who turns dreams into reality. The whole house layout changes and you have to find the skull. But Dr. Gauss also entraps Agent Lloyd in his own scary dreams, so all is not as innocent as it appears! There are four game modes, including custom. There is a teleporting map with objectives marked, and a notebook for clues. The achievements you earn populate a dream world. There is a zoo for all the animals you find -- hamster, frog, bird, cat, flamingo and more. Each animal is portrayed with a psychic problem. You gather four 5-part potions of love, anger, joy, and sadness which seem to be connected to the hamster. It appears you may be able to purchase items for the hamster, but I did not find anything during the demo. Lloyd gives you the Secret Service Goggles that lets you decode psychic symbols along the way, that give you hints about the animals. The one HOS in the demo was a silhouette that you used each item found to get the next item. The mini-games are clever and based on the theme of the game -- lead the mouse to the exit, match the skull xrays, follow a story to destroy the skull. The graphics are clean and clear, the music appropriate, the voice overs excellent. Rushing to buy this now!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't See That One Coming! I'm a huge fan of Haunted Halls and even Dr. Blackmore! This game doesn't disappoint, there's plenty of creepy, eerie, weird and plain ole paranormal going on, wrap it all up with some slimy tentacles and you've got yourself an awesome adventure. You are called into an investigation by a detective who doesn't have any paranormal experience, and when you arrive, you probably wish you didn't either. The owner of the house Dr. Gauss, may not be who she seems and when your fellow investigator is found hogtied and hypnotized we know something ain't quite right! You receive special goggles that allow you to decipher codes which in fact is a series of mini games. You are given several pairs of codes and you must place them in boxes side by side with the last symbol matching the first symbol on the next pair and when complete will reveal a message. The graphics are the usual white washed pastels that this series has perfected and I have to point out that they have done one of the best jobs of making the characters lip movements appear to match the words, that I have seen. There aren't a lot of HOS but they are interactive and progressive where you find the first item as shown as a silhouette and use that item in the scene to receive the next item and so forth. The whole place is filled with zoo animals which are displayed in your "zoo" but I really have no idea what the point of it is and you will come across several vials such as love vials to collect and there are 5 vials of 4 different potions.This is a solid and entertaining game that you will enjoy even if you haven't played any of the other Haunted Halls. Hopefully you will solve this mystery and avoid Morpheus the god of dreams and the evil Dr. Blackmore the half man half octopus creepy guy, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH BOY! Now this is what I call an excellent game. Passes all others recently by a mile. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I stopped reviewing CEs some time back. I thought the fault was mine, that I had become rather jaded, or had burn-out, because none of them were moving me at all. They were all palling and failing to impress. Therefore, I thought it unfair to review any of them, since the fault was mine. This morning changed all that. It had not been me, it had been the games. 10 minutes into the demo of this game my mind was going "Knock your socks off, clear out of the ballpark, over the hill and far away" terrific! The ingenuity, creativity and originality of this game is awesome. It was delightful, funny, charming, creepy and at times just straight up laugh-out-loud. The fun/entertainment factor is huge and it never quits. I always used to say about ERS game that the main game took 4 hrs and the BC 1 hr, every time. This game carried me along for 6 hrs all inclusive and I could easily have carried on indefinitely. Many devs are capable for great graphics. Not many are capable of such outstanding graphics. There are twists and turns in this game that made me go "Wow, how do they come up with this stuff!". There is a jump map and great music, a story in conjunction with the prequels, and really good puzzles. The iHOS are varied, clear and very, very fun. But the best parts are the little extra delights that show up all the way through. Not necessarily integral to the game, but thing that made me grin. Widely. A word about the major beef that some folk have and that is the cutesy, fluffy creatures. Yes, they are there. But, they are not in-game. They are found in the game but they play no role. They are part of the extras and it is entirely optional whether one wants to deal with the zoo or the hamster, or not. If not, ignore them, they are not relevant. There are no "adorable" critters in the game as helpers. As to the special glasses "puzzles", they are so easy and quick I cannot understand why this is an issue. Just skip them. On one can choose how fast or slow one wants one's skip button to fill and one can change this continually throughout the game as desired. I do think personally, that there is a certain tendency to review a developer rather than a game and I feel this really unfair. A game is not bad or good because a particular developer made it. I also noted that some also had problems with the tentacled aspect of the villain. All these game have ridiculously unbelievable villains. Peter Parker as Spiderman took on spider abilities in that hit movie series. Superman is another case in point. Without these attributes we would have no villains or heroes and this genre would fall flat. I think it would be a terrible shame if people shunned a game as brilliantly presented as this one, simply because it is made by ERS. If one plays the entire one hour demo and is not impressed, fair play. But to miss out on this experience because people are using these negatives like "cutesy, boring, same old same old", etc, is extremely misleading. I have played some ERS game that have not impressed. Not many, but some. This is not one of them. It is a cut above and I had a wonderful day with it. Not had one of those in a long time. Ta, ERS. If you put out a dud, I will be the first to let you know. Not this time.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best in the series so far! I loved the beta for this game, and judging from the demo the final version is terrific! Fun storyline, great graphics, and lots of extras in this CE, including collections of achievements. animals, and potions. And just when you're having fun, tentacles slither onto your path! This is my favourite in the series.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game AND Lots of Fun Wow, the game literally starts off with a bang. There is a break in at the home of a local collector and a crystal skull is stolen. You are called in to help investigate by Agent Lloyd who needs the help of a paranormal investigator, and yes that is definitely you. Others have done a great job of listing the game’s technical aspects so I won’t go into those except to mention that my favorite developer has now jumped on board with others who offer customized gameplay settings. I love being able to customize a game and play in a way that suits me. As is the case with all games from this developer, the graphics are excellent. The artwork is wonderful and very colorful. The sound is very good but I did have to turn it down a bit as it was quite loud. Some sounds were a bit annoying such as the metronome that I couldn’t stop. Even though the music is nothing new and is the ERS standard theme for Haunted Halls it adds to the game. When you arrive on scene you will receive a pair of special goggles from Agent Lloyd who tells you that they will help you decipher mysterious symbols that you may come across. The game begins with a mini puzzle where you will use the goggles to decipher symbols. You will use the goggles throughout the game when you encounter paranormal activity. As in the other Haunted Halls games we have a video diary, which contains your notes as well as an interactive map. The iHOP scenes are of different types. Some are list and some are the progressive silhouette type. One thing that is new to ERS games is that we now have the option to switch to playing a match 3 type game if we don’t want to look for items or if we get stuck. Since I hate using hints, I just switched to the match 3 game when I couldn’t find an item. The puzzles were fun and some were new but I didn’t find any of them to be overly challenging, which was fine since I was enjoying the game and didn’t need a frustrating puzzle to solve or skip. Throughout the game we will find twenty vials that will create four different potions that we will use for the animals we collect, presumably to cure their various neuroses, some of which are hysterically funny. IMHO, this is a true CE with a ton of extras included. I can hear it now, many of you will hate the way ERS has changed the Haunted Halls franchise with this light-hearted, fanciful twist but IMHO, I think this is the best of the series. It is funny and has all sorts of interesting twists and turns. Then again, I don’t like creepy games so Nightmare Dwellers is just right for me. I enjoyed every minute I played and can recommend the game without any hesitation. As always, I do think you should try the game for yourself because you will either love it or hate it.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Haunted Halls By Far! I love games by ERS! They always develop the greatest games. I have all of the Haunted Halls series and I think this was the best one of all. Not only were the graphics beautifully done (as usual) but there's so much to say about everything. Good and fun storyline with a bit of scariness to it, variety of HOS including silhouette that is interactive and a fun HOS that looks like a bunch of stamps and coins that is also interactive and the mini games are fun and slightly challenging. You get to collect animals that go into your zoo each with particular characteristics and you get goggle glasses that when used on the "eye" symbols brings up a "match the symbols" game. This game is just chocked full of things to do and is worthy to be called a CE.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr Blackmore’s Back! In Our Dreams? BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Oh man... I am so weirded out by this game! In the best of all possible ways of course. It’s bad enough that Dr Blackmore is apparently alive and strutting his tentacles, now he has a fond ‘admirer’! Who has lured us into her extremely creepy home, captured our fellow investigator, and left us to fend for ourselves among a zooful of insane animals. This has always been an excellent and creepy series, but it went ballistic for this game. As well as the signature aspects of the series, the betentacled doctor, the electronic gadgets and a uniquely surreal game world, ERS has introduced blatant magic for the first time. I literally could write a treatise on all this game has going for it, even after just one hour of playing it, but I’ll spare you. HIGHPOINTS IN BRIEF (as I noticed them) *perhaps the most dramatic opening of any ERS game *highly customizable – many choices on all types of options *ERS signature art, but much lighter than any other game of theirs I’ve seen. Combines beauty and creepy very cleverly *lip sync’d voiceover *cute guy as our partner *an awesome level of weirdness in the story and gameplay (E.g., put the frog in the vase and feed him a chilli pepper to melt the wax.) *special secret service goggles designed to see supernatural activity. Associated with a mini-game to reveal a game tip *choice to play the hard or the easy version of INDIVIDUAL puzzles, inside the game, as well as fully customisable difficulty level from the menu *many more puzzles/mini-games than HOPs. Only HOP I did was a find and use silhouette HOP, visited twice *(but there’s sure to be more, because) I didn’t get to the halfway point of the demo (according to the SG) before my hour was up *there are oodles of animals, but they are for the most part not very friendly. Those that are, are not very cute. I didn’t even like the cat *good interactive map, journal, directional hint *more bling! than you can count CE BLING! *bonus chapter: seeing into the enemy’s mind (Dr Blackmore’s? Cuz that would be really scary), *accessible SG (this actually didn’t look all that useful to me, it was light on information), *excellent interface in keeping with the game for accessing wallpapers, videos, concepts, screensavers, music, replayable puzzles and mini-games. *achievements in a dream room in a night time sky *collections – 5 vials each of 4 different potions *zoo – collection of all the animals you come across in the game *hamster (who thinks he’s a merchant) BOTTOM LINE Truly a stupendous game, particularly if you are a fan of the series. If you don’t know the series, your enjoyment of this game won’t suffer, but you’ll be wanting the previous games before the bundle sale is up!!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A worthy CE. Loved it... This game was really entertaining, and although the main game took almost 3 hours to complete with a few puzzle skips, the bonus chapter took about an hour to finish. Wish game had been longer, but still felt I'd got my monies worth with the quality of this CE. The game had various levels of difficulty, including a custom mode which is always welcome. After all, we buy the games, and therefore it's right that the devs allow us to play the game the way we want to. The mode could be changed during the gameplay. Graphics were superb, and music was pleasant. A bit too much hand holding but the level of challenge was great if you clicked off the black bar tips. The game ran really smoothly on my Mac, and no pickiness with the cursor when picking up objects. The HOPs started off being quite unusual and fun, but as happens all too often they decline into junk pile with a bit of interaction which is a shame. So refreshing to have new ways to play these puzzles. I really enjoyed the mini games. They were beautifully done, different and challenging but not impossible. My only criticism was the glasses you picked up early in the game, which were used to crack some kind of code. It got quite monotonous and boring when the glasses were needed over and again. I felt this added nothing to the game. Luckily the skip button could be adjusted to skip this quickly. The map and hint system were excellent and I didn't need to consult the SG.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS has done it again! Well the bunny team is back with another wonderful game from the series Haunted Halls. Look like we are going to have a little hamster companion with us on our journey. Looks like it will be and interesting adventure and one I am truly looking forward to. Side note: Those doughnuts looked awesome. I would of loved to reach in the box and take one lol. Story: Starts out about some lady complaining about paranormal activity and so she called for us to see what the problem is and to take care of the situation. Our detective thought it would be get rid of the ghosts and call it a night when our detective ran into comatose colleagues, strange creatures and those tentacles again. Dr. Blackmore in the house? Out to reach havoc once again. Well I am going to go see what happens with today's episode of "Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers. Graphics: The team did a wonderful job in giving it that creepy look. Adds to the factor do I really want to go into the next room seeing how this one looks. Music: Very nicely done to where at some points you can feel the hairs on the back of your neck start to crawl. Mini games: Done just right again. No problem here. H0GS: From what I seen one was the type where you use one object on another object until you get the item you need for your inventory. Map: Jump map. Save the detective from some walking. All in all another great game from the bunny team. Kudos for a job well done!
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Are The dwellers of My Mind. Ba Ha Ha Great game. Had a bit of everything. Not as scary as the first few. Still a wonderful game. I can hardly wait to own it.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUPER CREEPY, DEFIES REALITY, CAN BE CHALLENGING BASED ON COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS GAME ON HARD LEVEL WITHOUT HINTS OR SKIPS BOTTOM LINE: This is a very imaginative, super creepy, journey into a deranged mind that can be very challenging at times (without hints.) PROS: -The map! Without the map this game would drive me crazy with all of the backtracking. The map is a jump map that indicates where you can accomplish something AND it tells you when you have completed a section. -The graphics. They are easy on the eyes and well drawn -The voice overs. The acting is superb and the lip sync almost perfect. -The creep level. This game is full of creepy, dream-induced scenery that felt like I was having a nightmare (the intention of the devs) -The strange creatures. For the same reason as the creep level. -The story. The story will take you into other peoples' nightmares and when it does, it throws all of reality out the window. There are no holds barred as they play with your senses. Really cool, scary and may make you question your own sanity. -Many different scenes No chance you'll get bored with the scenery as you get to go into so many different ones. -HOs. I personally like silhouette HOGs because they are more of a challenge. Some are also just interactive. They are easy to see and although some objects are cleverly hidden, there are no dirty tricks. -MINI GAMES. Wow. There were a LOT of new games in this some of which I found quite challenging on the hard level. I wasn't bored with any of them. NEUTRALS (for me) VIALS. You get to collect vials but after you collect them all, there is nothing to use them for. I guess it's just an achievement. ACHIEVEMENTS. They were way too easy to earn, so I wasn't a fan, but you may like them. ZOO. After you help the odd animals, they go to your zoo, but the zoo has no purpose other than "storing" your animals. CONS: -Music was boring -There were some unrealistic uses for tools that may lead you to be frustrated (clue: try everything in your inventory, you may be surprised at what the scene wants you to use) -VERY PRECISE CLICKING REQUIRED. If you don't click on the EXACT part of an object, it will reject your tool and you may think you have it wrong. I don't like that and I think it could be discouraging for beginners. -The extra chapter was a BIG let down. It's a chapter about Dr. Blackmore's childhood and supposedly explains why he's so crazy, but it doesn't do an adequate job of it. You won't be missing anything to wait for the SE. Hope my description helps! Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ERS LETS LOOSE ZANY DARK HUMOR ON GAMERS!! Ah! Since I wasn't REALLY looking forward to yet another Haunted Halls sequel--and I am submitting a tad late, I did wish to share my review for other BFG gamers who may think the same. Best way to describe HH: Nightmare Dwellers is to add the usual Haunted Halls dark humor, mix in Twilight Phenomena type zany characters; add more zany characters, a dash of the old classic "Alice in Wonderland" backwards logic and blend well with generous amounts of straight up humor. With lots to see and do, the game is definitely fun and different with no need to try and describe any realistic plot as there is none. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo only review! Overall this was a pretty good game. A different story line with some twists and turns. You are requested to assist as a "paranormal" investigator and you join two detectives on a case to figure out who stole a crystal skull from a collector's home. You find out that this crystal skull has the ability to turn your nightmares into reality. You have to get the skull back to return everything back to normal. That said, there is a twist, the bad guy is supposedly in love with the collector. But that is as far as the demo goes. The graphics are quite stunning, although a little cartoonish. In the CE you have many side items you are looking for as well as your main goal. There are 20 vials you are looking for and each time you meet a new animal it gets added to your collection. The collection of animals tells you how to handle each animal. So far there isn't an abundance of hidden object scenes but the ones that are there vary in style such as find an object to unlock another object and also your garden variety find the object. If you want there is also a match three game you can play in each scene to clear the hidden objects. There is also an interactive map that tells the player where there are objectives and also allows the jump to scene feature. I played the game on casual mode, and the puzzles that I played are relatively easy but you can alter each puzzle to hard mode for a challenge. The sound was done well with music that does not distract or annoy, and there are voice overs as well. I liked this game, it had a lot to do and kept the player interested with trying to figure out what to do next.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dr Blackmore is back! Not a bad sequel at all. I enjoyed it. Not an all singing/dancing CE but good storyline which kept me interested, decent puzzles and a good spread of HOs.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ERS HAS DONE IT ONCE AGAIN!!! I'm a huge fan of Haunted Halls and even Dr. Blackmore! This game doesn't disappoint, there's plenty of creepy, eerie, weird and plain ole paranormal going on, wrap it all up with some slimy tentacles and you've got yourself an awesome adventure. You are called into an investigation by a detective who doesn't have any paranormal experience, and when you arrive, you probably wish you didn't either. The owner of the house Dr. Gauss, may not be who she seems and when your fellow investigator is found hogtied and hypnotized we know something ain't quite right! You receive special goggles that allow you to decipher codes which in fact is a series of mini games. You are given several pairs of codes and you must place them in boxes side by side with the last symbol matching the first symbol on the next pair and when complete will reveal a message. The graphics are the usual white washed pastels that this series has perfected and I have to point out that they have done one of the best jobs of making the characters lip movements appear to match the words, that I have seen. There aren't a lot of HOS but they are interactive and progressive where you find the first item as shown as a silhouette and use that item in the scene to receive the next item and so forth. The whole place is filled with zoo animals which are displayed in your "zoo" but I really have no idea what the point of it is and you will come across several vials such as love vials to collect and there are 5 vials of 4 different potions.This is a solid and entertaining game that you will enjoy even if you haven't played any of the other Haunted Halls. Hopefully you will solve this mystery and avoid Morpheus the god of dreams and the evil Dr. Blackmore the half man half octopus creepy guy, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun game Had lots of fun playing this hidden object game.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Departure from others in the series. I reviewed the last in this franchise at the time of the release and said in that review that I hope they didn't make any more of the series as it had become slightly 'strained'. This 'sequel' has not changed my mind. The elements of the previous games are there including the familiarity over the map and hint etc., but the actual gameplay has taken a side-step and I am not sure whether it is side-step good or side-step bad. The only clue to the previous games was that the pendent early on seemed to be that of Dr Blackmore, and if I had played further into the game #this review is based on the hour demo#, then obviously more of the story would be revealed. If I am taking this game as a stand-alone on merit, then it is from what I have played thus far a very good game. I particularly like the 'logic style' side game when you need to use the googles, I can presume that the combinations get harder as you progress within the game. Other good elements to the gameplay were that the hidden object games were not the usual 'junkpiles' but were progressive style HO games, by this I mean that each of the objects interacted with others and you had to use one to access another, eg. a key to unlock a lock, thus opened into another. This was another element I liked. Obviously with this being a CE then there was a VO, the music and graphics were good and as good as others in the series. But that brings me to the final point, is this part of the series as such or is it too much of a departure to be actually part of the series, maybe I am just being cynical but it could be that they released this to try and sell more of three other games from this publisher, I don't know. I think they ought to have stated that whilst this had elements of previous Haunted Halls games, this game was loosely connected. Again it may have been more so as the game went on. I am not sure whether this was a true sequel, but saying that as I stated in my last review of the series that would have been like flogging a very near to death horse. So yes this brings new life into the franchise and for what it is it is a good, crime, psychological, paranormal game, that if and when it comes out as a SE or if there is a sale on CE games I may buy. If you are expecting more of the same as before then you may very well be disappointed, however if you want to see how the developers have developed the series onwards then you may very well like it. From my point of view I can recommend the game as the story-line is shaping up to be a good one and one that is involving and engaging.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure ** i dislike totally the silhouettes. Glad to see CE today. I played the trial. Went through quite a bit before game over. One at least a regular HO sort of stamps. I know it's hard coming up with new stuff for us. I''m still debating on this one. The price is to high for this. Today would be a good day for price cut.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nightmares Become Reality! Based on demo. Someone has stolen the Crystal Skull of Morpheus and is turning nightmares into reality. A Detective has asked for your help based on your experience with the paranormal. You arrive at a mansion owned by a strange Dr. Gauss and filled with unusual animals and animated objects. Is this a dream or reality? This is the fourth game in the Haunted Halls series. The artwork is of the same quality---colorful and fun. The evil scientist is back and so are his creepy tentacles. And there's an additional evil scientist named Dr. Gauss who has a mysterious connection to Tentacle Man! The animated objects are fun and creative and I like all the animals in the game: makes the game more light-hearted. And you get to decode messages with special goggles. The graphics and artwork are well done. The VOs and cut scenes add to the game and help develop the story. There are interactive silhouette HOSs that are pretty easy to solve. The puzzles and games are of medium difficulty. This CE has achievements to earn and potions to find. There is a journal to record important information and help you solve the game. You even get to buy things for your pet hamster. The villains are not too scary and the overall atmosphere of the game is pretty mild. Enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the CE price I should have learned by now: this developer puts out a great game like Green Hills Sanitarium, but then each sequel gets less and less like the first; more sloppily put together, and less fun. I'm getting a little tired of the octopus-man villian, he gets "beat" in every game but keeps coming back. This game has the usual HOGS and minigames, same old, same old. The collector's edition is NOT worth buying, as the collectibles are worthless and no challenge, there is also a mime hamster that is somewhat disturbing, not cute or funny. The bonus game plot is obviously copied from a Ravenhearst game, and not nearly as well done. If you've never played a Haunted Halls game, play the first 2, the others aren't up to par.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not one of the best It's not just me, I thought it was, but it isn't… this is another game that is so lacking in logic that you would be lucky to manage to follow it through without contestant hints. the hint button alone barely gives you any real understanding of where the story is going and just when you think you have a handle on it, it goes off at another tangent that leaves you feeling lost again. The scenes are good, the graphics are great, but there is nothing here i find the least bit inspiring, which is sad.
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the other series:( I usually love to play the other "Haunted Halls" Series.However not so much this one.It was just okay for me
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I've dreamt this dream before. Time for a new one. Thanks to BFG for removing my original review, at my request, so I could write another one and tell you what I really think. Nightmare Dwellers CE is an excellent game, brought to us by the same team that produced Green Hills Sanitarium, Escape from GHS, Fears From Childhood and more. As per usual, in the great tradition of this series, Nightmare Dwellers is technically superior and fun to play. These halls are not really haunted, though. And the dreams aren't nightmares unless you're 5 years old. In the main section of the game you get what you can reliably count on from this developer: first class visuals and sound with a fun story line and puzzles and HOGs that you're sure to enjoy. Because it's a CE you also get: Bonus Chapter Achievements and Collections Re-playable Mini-Games and Hidden-Object Puzzles Exciting Screensavers, Wallpapers and Concept Art Integrated Strategy Guide That's it. There's really nothing more to say about the game. Like a novelist who's figured out the winning formula and has re-written the first book 25 times over with different characters' names and backgrounds and a slightly different crime and an oh-so-minor shift in thrilling outcome, the substance of Nightmare Dwellers is the same as everything that came before it. If this is among the first games you are playing, you are sure to love it. If this is exactly the style of game you prefer with lots of fun and little intensity, it is a five star game. So I heartily recommend it to you. I enjoyed the game. It was a lot of fun. If, however, you find what thrilled you before is no longer thrilling, this is definitely NOT the game for you: There is neither the unique approach to storytelling nor the incredible creativity of the puzzles and HOS found in Nevertales (is there anything else out there like it today?). There is not the amazing depth of storyline and incomparable attention to detail as in Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes (Talk about haunting! Down to the background music of what sounds like chanting monks and special effects that give new meaning to the word special Stolen Runes is in a class by itself!!). In all fairness, this is a review of what Nightmare Dwellers is, not what it isn't. There is nothing wrong with it at all and a lot that's great. As a break from some of the intensity of other games, this is a welcome relief and a good bit of fun. It's simply not how I like my arsenic served anymore.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Time to move on to another story.... I have 3 of the Haunted Halls games and really enjoyed them all. This has the standard very nice ERS graphics and game play. Colors are very clear. Music not too bad, but gets annoying after a while. Nice voice overs, well done. I did not use the jump map, but there is a tremendous amount of running back and forth for one thing or another...a lot of unnecessary returns. Hint system was helpful and I liked the fact that you could customize the length of time you wanted for it to recharge. SG was the usual ERS as well...nicely done. I too am getting tired of animals in everything. They don't really do much for the game at all. Didn't run across much in the way of "extras," except to collect animals. Did not care for the glasses either. The puzzle that accompanied their use was extremely simple and rather childish. The only HOG I ran across was extremely simple as well. I was very disappointed in this game, as there really isn't anything new or different. It was not challenging at all and I found it almost too simple even for a beginner. I think it is time for the devs to drop the "series" and move on to something more challenging and fun. Unless there is an exceptional special coming up in the near future, I do not believe I will purchase this game. However, I have been known to change my mind once I have played it again...usually when the SE comes out. Will have to wait and see. Definitely do not see that it is CE worthy right now. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you wanted. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What has happened here? I must say Haunted Halls is one of my favorite series of HOPA games. Until this one. First, yes, you can choose your level of difficulty, including custom. The graphics are good with good background music. We see glimpses of tentacles of the old Dr. Blackmore. The HOS are mostly silhouette. The puzzles were childish. Very easy. You get a pair of goggles to investigate paranormal activity, and each time you do this, you need to solve the same sort of puzzle over and over. This I did not like at all. The gameplay was linear, however, it was absurd. The items found that matched where the item was needed was ridiculous. Here, we have a series of games called Haunted. Not Cute Haunted. Haunted. However, we get little animal helpers that can be dressed. We get a zoo for goodness sake. The CE does include the SG which isn't very necessary and some collectibles. It seems more like an SE with some fluff thrown in to make it a CE. I realize I am totally against the grain of the vote here, but I absolutely disliked the game. And it's a shame because I really enjoyed the first 3 games of this series. :(((
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really silly! Have thoroughly enjoyed series. While more recent editions have not been favorites, earlier renditions were definitely there. So when I needed to pick a second collectors at a discount I went with this because I would probably not regret it. I really regret it. Waste of the 5-6 dollars or whatever. This is the silliest game I've ever played. Totally filled with mindless obvious stuff....fillers. They went beserk with the cutesy animal stuff. Played about 30 minutes and uninstalled a paid for collectors' edition. I have no interest in ever finishing that game. I'll never be that desperate!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So disappointing! I absolutely loved the Haunted Halls series until now. Well actually until the last one. The first and second of the series was great! Good creepy storylines that were interesting. Now it's completely ruined with cute creatures. I also just played Twilight Menagerie and it felt like the same game! I used to be a huge fan of ERS but now only buy one of their games with a coupon or not at all.
Date published: 2013-11-23
  • y_2019, m_5, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_19956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Halls: Nightmare Dwellers Collector's Edition

You thought this would be just like any other investigation. But now you find yourself lost in a mysterious mansion brimming with strange creatures, comatose colleagues, and mysterious tentacles around every corner…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.