Botanica: Earthbound
Exclusive

Botanica: Earthbound

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.84 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Play as two characters in this gripping hidden object puzzle adventure! Terror strikes the land of Botanica as a volcano erupts, threatening to destroy everything in its path. Play as Ellie Wright, a botanist looking for her father who disappeared 20 years ago. And play as Ian Garrett, a scientist who is trying to get back to his daughter on Earth. Follow their journey as they try to find their way back to Earth, a move that leads them straight into the volcano's path. Can you save everyone and get back home before it's too late? Find out in Botanica: Earthbound!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 581 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Botanica: Earthbound

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.84 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Botanica: Earthbound is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Overall but a word of comment and caution Interesting approach with a dual path of game play (2 different characters involved in multiple segments). There was a wide range of puzzle types including logic, HOGs, and object assembly, some of which were interactive while some were just straight solution. They varied significantly in terms of complexity and methods of solution. Some were very easy to solve while others somewhat difficult, some were sensible while some were sort of off the wall thus the game certainly presents a wide variation of challenges. There was an acceptable level of scene interaction (back and forth) but once you leave a segment, you never return to that segment. The story line was cohesive albeit somewhat typical of such games. The ending wasn't as contrived and short sighted as others I've encountered so there was a modicum of closure. My only complaint involved 1) a couple of scenes where the action didn't seem sensible for the situation (e.g. shooting a lever with a gun when you couldn't reach it to activate it) and 2) a couple of puzzles which proved impossible to solve given the configuration I was provided, thus the Skip button or referral to a walk-through guide was required to move the game forward. One puzzle involved a wiring connection puzzle where all nodes were to be lit but 4 of the nodes were designated as 0 connections so it was not possible to solve the puzzle. A second puzzle required ordering liquid containers lightest to heaviest where a means of weighing the containers was provided, however, all containers checked showed they were of equal weight, thus solution was achievable only by a lengthy process of elimination or some other means. I chose to discover the correct sequence via a walk-through guide. All-in-all, it was a fun game to play despite the idiosyncrasies I encountered. Whether those idiosyncrasies were unique to my downloaded copy or generic for the game itself, I have no way of knowing.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sequel Second game from Botanica series by Boom Zap. ------------------------------------------------------------------- The story continues from where it left off from the first game. It is recommended that you play the first game first but if you don't, you will be able to know a bit anyway since they start the second game with the ending cutscene of the first game. But if you want to play the first game after this one to know the background of the story, you might have the whole 1st game ruined for you as they showed what really ends in the first game. You will play as Ellie and Ian, two main characters of the game in every other chapter. The image, as usual of BZ, is crisp but a little bit cartoony. They are nice to look at but I have problem with the cursor being so small it's quite difficult to see. The music is soothing, very island, tropical atmosphere. The game is easy, you practically don't have to use SG, the map is very helpful, it shows where actions are available, and the hint also can point you directly to the location. The puzzles are random, some are easy, some are not. I am not a puzzle fan and had to skip many of the puzzles because I am too lazy to solve them. The HOG are combination of simply hidden objects to fragments and objective scenes (combine stuff to get certain objects). Quite diverse. Even if you don't love plants, this game doesn't have that many plants/ science thingie like the first one. In fact, there are more weird animals in this game than plants. I think the clawcrab is the cutest creature in this game. As many other BZ games, I expect there will be lots of proceeding games after this one although the ending looks like it finally ends but I see how it went with Awakening that I think this will be the last of the Botanica game I will buy.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over all a great game I finally finished this game and that is why I gave it a Rating of four not five. it is a great story line and of course you save dad and all is good. games are good and interesting. lots of fun stuff although some of the games are challenging and I skipped many. the only complaint I have is how long it took to finish. often I know people complain games are too short but this one I found a bit too long. took longer than I expected. but overall a great game. I don't use sound so can't rate that but I do recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from it seems it was a sequel but i don't remember the first game played casual, low sound. skips/hints charge fairly fast. hints will take you where you need to go and then show you where you need to interact. there is an interactive map, and a journal. you are looking for your father who went missing a long time ago and you are helped by your friend, ian, and you play as the main character then as ian off and on in the game. could be a sequel. mini games are not too hard, i just couldn't do them all.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hidden object game Like the illustration, though the story line is almost the same as others. But, overall I liked the game.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on Demo This sequel was better than the first one, in my opinion, based on the demo. The visuals had improved, and the characters looked less "wooden." I still wasn't enamored with the storyline of the game, as I think it's just not my thing, but from what I've read/heard, the epilogue should satisfy many who do love this series. :) I'd recommend it for those who love the firs game, Botany, or just a change from creepy/spooky games.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great hidden objects! The best part about this game is the hidden object scenes! They are very interactive which makes it a little harder and more fun than usual!
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ellie finds her father, another portal has been found, Ian misses his daughter and a volcano is about to errupt and Kassandra helps evacuate a village You, Ellie, and Ian have found the blossom portal in a cave and are about to use it when Queen Kassandra arrives and stops you. Suddenly, Gustav appears and tells Queen Kassandra that she does not deserve to have the portal and that he wants it for himself and shoots her wounding her in the arm. The bullet ricochets and hits the bloosom portal activating it and sending everyone to another place but still in Botanica. Ian has been injured and you revive him and the two of you explore the area where you find a wrecked tanker on the shore and you see Gustav jump into a small boat and row toward an island with a volcano. On the tanker, you find a video feed showing your father is alive and apparently inside a cave on the volcano and there is a blossom portal plant there. As you leave the tanker by boat, Ian falls through a portal and lands in another part of Botanica and you are now playing as him. You, Ian, are now at an ancient temple where you see Kassandra on a pedestal surrounded by two tigers. You find a way to rescue her and the two of you find and repair a submarine and leave the temple but are then swallowed by a whale. The game switches again and you are now playing as Ellie again and the boat has crashed and you have washed up on the shore of the temple area where you find an old man with an injured bird. After treating the bird, the old man lets you use the bird to fly toward the volcano. The game switches again and you are back to Ian inside the submarine inside the whale and the submarine was damaged and needs repair. After repairing the submarine, you make it to the shore of the island with the volcano where Kassandra collapses as she is injured worse than you thought. A native woman tells you she is a nurse and can help Kassandra but you need to make a potion. After she is cured, you leave her there to help evacuate the village and you find a diving suit and enter the water. Guess what? The game switches again back to Ellie who rides the bird to the island with the volcano where Gustav tries to shoot you but misses. Landing on the island, you find Ian in a cave as he emerges from the water in the diving suit. Back together again, you must find Ellie's father, save him from Gustav who blames him for his father's death, and decide who will use the portal to return to Earth. There is one more switch at the end of the game where the decision is made on who uses the portal. The graphics in the first episode were much better and depicted a much prettier Botanica. I found them less appealing and darker with scenes more cluttered. I did not find it as enjoyable to play as the first game. Animations felt less active and engaging with videos appearing at odd times giving it a feel that the developers decided that something was needed in that spot and put one there giving it a disjointed feel. You play from the perspective of the two main characters, Ellie and Ian, switching back and forth with each having their own things to do and inventory to use with each finally reaching the final locations toward the end to finish the game. The story flow in the first game kept you interested but this one had a lot, and I mean a lot, of inventory puzzles and minigames that slowed the story down so much that I lost interest in it and found it hard to keep track of what the two characters were doing each time they switched. The journal is more a picture album than a journal as there is no text recorded at all. There is an objectives tab and the Encyclopedia Botanica from the first game that gives details about plants and animal life encountered. There is a jump map with action areas indicated. Voice acting was good with unmemorable music. As mentioned above, there are a lot of inventory puzzles and minigames, even in the hidden object scenes, so you are doing something every step of the way almost on the verge of annoyance. Most have been seen before but presented to fit the story setting and were of medium difficulty. In this game, as you play two different characters, a botanist and a chemist, you use two kits, one for each, you play minigames to make potions and medicine needed to help various characters met along the way. The hidden object scenes were the highlight for me and were well done and enjoyable. Almost every object to be found required some sort of interaction from silhouettes, find pieces and combine, find objects corresponding to words in phrases, many with mini puzzles inside them, as well as the usual move this to find that kind. Some were fairly challenging. Not as good as the first in the series but will give most a few hours of diversion.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Moderately fun Lots of bugs where part of the screen was totally white. Sort of tedious.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't understand the good ratings! Wow, I couldn't even finish the demo this game was so awkward and boring. Not a smooth flowing game and appeared to be a bit "dated" to me. Even on the easy mode the hint and skip refreshed slow enough to make it a finger-tapper which hampered the game even more if you weren't into tedious puzzles. HOS were blurry and confusing and you had to click in exactly the right spot or it didn't work and items were small. Got really tired of all the puzzles...so many of the HOS an puzzles that the adventure part got lost. Although the game was colorful, it was not crisp...always seem a bit blurry which got to the eyes after awhile. Basically I found my mind wandering and finally realized it was just too plain boring, slow and awkward that it just wasn't holding my interest...definitely not a "gripper". So "no sale" even at a discount.
Date published: 2016-02-08
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_20368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Botanica: Earthbound

Play as both Ellie and Ian, two scientists stranded on Botanica. Can you save your friends and find your way home?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.