Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun

Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun

PC

Also available on

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(75.34 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel to the Edo period in Japan and help Satsu and Miyamoto in an epic adventure to preserve ancient Japan. Prove your skills in Challenge mode with limited moves. Experience the excitement of building an ancient Japanese village in this engaging Match 3 game. See the beautiful scenery while listening to relaxing music inspired by this period in Japanese history. Dive into an epic story of honor and courage and help a Geisha and a Samurai save the day in Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun!

  • Three game play modes: swap, pop, chain
  • Can you win in challenge mode?
  • Rotate the board make the best matches

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 87 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(75.34 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Match 3 In All Respects! There have been quite a few Match 3 games appearing of late, but this one blitzes them all! We have here a game which excels in all respects: Excellent game play, superb graphics, colourful and distinctive tiles, pleasant ambient music, two modes of play...in fact I could not find anything to fault this game at all. The two modes are 'Challenge' and 'Relaxed'. The Challenge mode is the real 'meat' in this game and will give any seasoned player a 'run for their money'. In this mode, rather than a timer, you have only a limited number of moves to complete the required tasks.The Relaxed mode has no limit on moves, so would suit folk who just like to enjoy the game without pressure. The story is fairly typical in that you earn gold as you play, and you have to construct a village from resources etc. etc. There are power ups which become available as you play, but to make them available again after use, take quite a time to recharge. Shuffle is available, but again is slow to recharge. What makes this game more distinctive and interesting however, is that there is an option to swivel the board any time you like, making more moves available. There are 3 types of match mode as well: Swap/Group/Chain. I do not hesitate to recommend this Match 3 to anyone who likes the genre, it was a real pleasure to play.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Oriental Themed Match-3 Since I love oriental themed games, I'm having a really good time with this one! Lovely graphics and relaxed oriental music. In the Challenge Mode you have limited moves what gives a extra challenge to the game. But you can play in the Relaxed mode too. This is a game that gets more difficult at just the right rate. And you can rotate the board making best strategy to your game. It's definitely a win!!!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Entertaining Match 3 Game! I initially played this game expecting to be bored! Quite the contrary; it is most entertaining, and the challenge level is most unique! I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TALES OD THE ORIENT THE RISING SUN I LIVE THIS GAME IT IS GREAT JUST LIKE HEROS OF THE PAST JOAN OF ARC MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE MORE OF THIS KIND PLEASE
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Something different - Loved this game - don't get confused at the beginning, it is not your ordinary M3. I found it very amusing and challenging without being too difficult. Give this one a try!
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Geishas Once I started playing this wonderful M3 I could not stop! The music and sound affects are very soothing. There are game levels for all players and you can pick from 3 modes of (chain, pop and swap)play.The graphics are very clear and so are your objectives.game play is smooth.I will have to get this game for my collection.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!! Very fun match 3 game! You really have to plan your moves, so it is not just another match 3 game. Try it out.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME no story line jus match 3 game it was pretty cool kept the kids quite for awhile and they were having fun while I did some work around the house. I play for about 5 minutes then they wanted back on
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun I found this game fun to play because it was based on the Orient for a change and the more I played it the more it made me think about moves and to use the powerups to get rid of things to progress. I don't often find matching games where building is involved. These sort of games I enjoy for example the Cradle series where I get to learn about the history of countries this was similar
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Relaxing This game is lovely, in terms of graphics design and display quality. Also, the music is so beautiful… Japanese-influenced, very melodic and calming [5 stars for the music!]. Considering that my favorite games are what I would call more action-type Match 3s or Shooters (Luxor, Treasures of Montezuma, 4 Elements), I find that I enjoy this game immensely despite it's slower pace. Scratch that… SLOW pace. This is not a beat-the-clock game. It is a limited-moves game. So you can take your time and strategize. Three match modes are available: Swap Mode, Pop Mode [click on groups] and Chain Mode. All 3 options are presented at the beginning of each board along with your "tasks" for that level. I have tried all play modes and Swap works best for me, but obviously that would be a matter of preference as I don't think one mode would have any advantage over another. 100 Levels, each consisting of one game board. THE TWIST: …and it's a good one: the board can rotate! This is the first game I've tried that does that and what a help! Not only does it help you to see Moves that you may have missed, but once you swap, blank spaces and tiles are often opened up in the corners, making any more possible matches in those areas impossible. The board-rotation will fill all those in. Not only that, but while "filling in", matches are often made (and tiles cleared) inadvertently so you don't have to use a Move. Since Moves are limited, that's a good thing. TASKS: In addition to the usual clearing of wood crates and collecting golden tiles, there are additional fulfillments necessary before the level is complete, like making a minimum number of matches of a particular type of Token. SHUFFLE: It takes some time to power up but once available, Shuffling not only presents new available matches, but can also make matches inadvertently without using a Move. I use Shuffle a lot and will try that before using a move that won't break any tiles just to get things moving on the board and open up match possibilities. TOOLS: There are 4 Tools (each works differently) and they are powered up by making matches of particular Tokens. This takes a while, so Tools need to be used sparingly. However, they are carried over from Level to Level so you don't have to start from scratch each each time. DRAWBACK: Rebuilding and fortifying the village. Yes, it's one of those. So many games do this, and I frankly don't get it. I find nothing challenging or interesting about it but at certain points, you are forced to select buildings to buy, then wait while the villagers madly go to work and viola, Village! But the story and the actual game don't seem to have much to do with one another, other than the obvious representations used for Tokens and Tools. But until story and gameplay are truly integrated in the conceptual sense in any game, this will always be a complaint from me.
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Match 3 - Fun Features I use Match 3 to unwind and this one does the job. It was some neat features (moveable screen, neat bonuses), but wears itself out with no challenge. Pros: Game sounds are fun and graphics are beautiful (except for some icons which are hard to distinguish - the little giesha's sorta look like pink race cars). Bonus bombs fill up fast, and the little cartoony village is cute - though not interactive. Shuffle also refills fast. It's nice there is a male and a female character to speak to you. Cons: The game is to controlled and offers not reward for creative or skill. The gold is ONLY collected by breaking gold tiles. There are a certain number of gold tiles per screen. So you get x amount of gold per tile. There's no extra bonuses to earn, or anything by being creative or fast with your time. It's just Gold box = gold. Some icons are indistinct. Music gets annoying quickly. It says it's based on ancient music - but sounds more like basic electro-pop. Overall - its a great game for a few screens each day of "Shut up, Brain".
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun match 3 with a good story I do enjoy match 3 when I want a relaxed gaming moment. You can play the challenge version which gives you limited moves if you want more of a thinking game. There are 3 modes which you can change for each stage if you choose, and you can spin the board. Power-ups to earn and extra moves to earn. All in all a nice game for all the family.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BUILD A COLORFUL VILLAGE You earn money in 100 levels to build a Japanese city. You can play challenge or relaxed; swap, chain or group. I suggest relaxed as the challenge allows you so many moves per board and the higher you go, of course, the harder the boards. A unique feature are the two top arrows that allow you to rotate the boards so you can clear all the corners. There are also four powerups that you earn my clearing certain tokens and a shuffle key. Great game.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's about time This is the best match-3 game I've seen in a while. It's challenging. It's not just making matches; it makes you think. You have to best determine what moves to make because success is based on the number of moves, not on a time limit. Different goals are required to pass each level. The supporting interface elements are good. If you play it right, you can use the rotation feature to your advantage. Memory management is good. I could care less about building a village, or empire, or whatever. I just want match-3 fun that holds my interest, and this game definitely delivers. Well done.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems pretty good I have a video review of this game in the forum section. I'm not allowed to post url's here, but you can visit the forum for a link. I'm about 5 or 6 from the top I think. Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Rotating Board I never get tired of the many variations developers come up with for the match-3 games. This one can be played in the relaxed mode, for hours of stress-less activity. At first I was put off by the Limited Moves option, but after a couple of run throughs, I find that it is a gently stimulating challenge for me. You have to be thrifty, and strategic with your counted moves, often planning them to create as many chain reactions as possible. The board rotation feature is a great way to get different perspectives, and to dislodge pieces. The shuffle refill is generous as well, and I like that the bonuses carry over from one level to the next. If the story is interesting, that is usually a bonus to me, as with the music, so those features were not a distraction. Overall, I go back to this match-3 for relaxing fun, and a little mental challenge.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok M3... This game is beautifully put together, and runs smoothly. I played relax mode, although devs recommend you start in challenge mode. Can choose between 3 different game play modes, and can turn the board to rearrange the tiles. Also a 'shuffle' button. It's very similar to another M3 with similar tiles and game play, and if by same devs, it's not been changed much. You build your town for the starving people, but don't need to do any more than click on a button. Was hoping it would get a bit more exciting, but after an hour it didn't. There are power ups etc, but I like M3s with whizz bangs! I'm sure some will like it, if they just want to while away a few hours without much of a challenge.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing Really Special I practice daily meditation and find that it helps to rid my mind and body of unnecessary stress and helps me to focus better during the day. I find that at times a Match 3 game is also a good way to meditate. After everyone has retired, if I am too tired to retreat into a good HOPA game, I will elect to unload my brain and what better way than to zone out with a great Match 3 game. What I do look for in a Match 3 game is simplicity, swap challenge and soothing zen music in the background. I do also enjoy the occasional building or planting or decorating which is why Fishdom series are amongst my favorite. In tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun you have most of these elements, plus option to play timed or relax mode, three types of M3 games, swap, chain or pop challenges, all put together with clear graphics and soothing music in the background. Albeit artwork could have been a bit better as tokens are somewhat small and animations are blurry, but at least I was able to differentiate tiles and tokens. Our storyline is simple, your quest takes you to the Edo period in Japan where your quest is to help Satsu and Miyamoto rebuild and preserve ancient Japan. You have the option to play in Challenge mode with limited moves or Relax mode where there is no pressure. Each level has goals which involve purchasing a group of buildings with coins collected and there are a set of tasks to achieve in order to progress. Once the Task bar is filled, you move toward the next board. If you opt to play the Challenge Mode, there is limited number of moves for every board and if you are unable to clear all the tokens, you can get a power-up bonus that allows for 5 extra moves. Also you can rotate the board with arrows to avoid empty tiles and make the best matches which makes for a more challenging game that requires a bit of strategic thinking on your part. This game is not exactly a game I would choose to zone out with because it does require some concentration on your part. As you progress, the boards do get more challenging and bonus power-ups become very useful. I enjoyed the demo but to be honest, I have played better and I don’t think that hard core players of M3 games will find this game overtly challenging. This really wasn’t a game that I would rush out to buy but nevertheless, I do recommend that if you are a lover of M3 games try the demo and decide for yourself. The music is relaxing, game-play is easy to comprehend and there are no bombs or flashing lights or lasers to distract you. I am a bit on the fence on this and will probably use a credit or buy it at a very good sale price. Nothing really special here!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wanted to love it, but........... Although I love M3 games, especially the ones with lots of dazzle, I've discovered that I detest the ones with a limited number of moves. Takes the relaxation out and adds a frustration factor that just won't quit. Dumped before the end of the test drive.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bored to tears I have never played a worse match 3 game. I felt like I was matching up Emojis, the graphics weren't smooth and flowing and pleasing to the eye like in other games i've played. And I can't stand games that give you limited moves instead of limited time. I like a challenge, but limited moves is the only option for that. Also, the music is horrible and down right annoying. Overall: YUCK!
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Another 3 Match I know it's Easter vacation but couldn't you just once put an adult game out too!!!!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun Boring. Did not find the game to be fun. Would not buy it. Just not my type of game. I more enjoy the hidden object games that have a bit of a challenge to them
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Game changed to junk This was one of my most frequently enjoyed games, it makes, made me think and use my brain. Last night in the middle of a level I found I no longer need to move the pieces around, now it requires only clicking on the appropriate combination! Some of us enjoy thinking, not just pointing and clicking - stop messing with what is good!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring This is not my usual type of game, but I thought I'd give it a go, as it looked a bit different. I didn't really like it. I couldn't get off the first level before I got bored! I didn't realise, at first, that in order to get rid of the gold squares, you have to surround them with swaps. But if one swap is missing (ie a symbol next to it) is missing - you CANNOT win. So if you make one "mistake", so the symbol next to it (usually for me, at the top right or left) was gone, you were finished. End of. No way out. I don't know if this was my inexperience (which I suspect was part of it), or if this game is just annoying, because once I realised this, I STILL couldn't finish.....okay, I could have gone into relax mode, but I couldn't be bothered, I could have played the level again (for the 5th time), but I couldn't be bothered. I'm not playing a game where the instructions/game play is so hard I can't get off the first level after 4 tries. I am sure more experienced players will have more luck, but not for me. I just got irritated.
Date published: 2014-04-15
  • y_2020, m_1, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_20928, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Tales of the Orient: The Rising Sun

Dive into an epic story of honor and courage to help preserve ancient Japan in this Match-3 adventure.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.