Hope Lake

Hope Lake

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(551.87 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Hope Lake Boarding School was abandoned long ago when one of its teachers drowned by accident and the school was closed. Today, all of the girls who attended Hope Lake have gone missing. Who's taking these girls and was the teacher's death really an accident?

As a detective, you must investigate the strange events which took place on the shore of the lake and within the walls of the boarding school. Emily Lynch was the last girl to go missing – this isn't much of a lead, but something is better than nothing. Visit the abandoned and ill-boding boarding school to uncover the truth about these mysteries. Unraveling the intricacies of this difficult case is going to be hard work. Are you up for the challenge!

  • 48 beautiful detailed locations
  • 18 hidden object scenes and 26 unique minigames
  • An interactive map to help your investigation
  • 6 hours of gameplay!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1951 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hope Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(551.87 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hope Lake is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent story. Kept me busy a couple of hours. Lots of puzzles in every scene. I like this kind of puzzle game. Highly recommend for a good time.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... And The Longest I've Found For A Long Time ... Great Graphics, Sound, Voice & Video Bits, Story & Game Length ... I Had Nothing To Play And Went Digging Around Through Games Released Long Before I Joined Big Fish ... And I Found This Little Number ... Wow, This Game Looked Like It Was Never Going To End ... Sensational Value For Money ... And Very Enjoyable ...
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game - enjoyed playing Not too complicated, but also not too easy. Nice Story line an graphics.
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good mystery It is a dark story so maybe not for the younger player, but I enjoyed the story line and the graphics that were perfect for an eerie mystery, Since I played it in casual mode, I appreciated the fairly quick hint button.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging but FUN! Thoroughly enjoyed this game. Although frustrated at first because I had hard time finding ladle, but I continue with game. I love a challenge and this game provided me with that and more. FUN! FUN! FUN! Enjoy fellow gamers.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Fun Game I really liked this game as it was long and had many different puzzles and HOGS. Story line was interesting too. I really liked the map on this game as it made it easier to get to scenes where there was some activity to do.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love it Hope to find more games like this
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, almost as long as an SE. it was a good storyline, well done. HOS were darker than I liked, definitions were really odd, but it was a great game. the map helped a lot. Graphics were good, all in all, well done!
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Expected! I'm surprised this Game got some bad reviews, since there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. The Story line is great, the Graphics are creepy which I love. I definitely recommend you give it a go!
Date published: 2014-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GO FOR IT!! As all the other reviewers have really said it all, I'll just say: I THOROUGHLY enjoyed this game!!!!
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and long detective story It is the longest detective game that I had to play. The graphics and music are at an excellent level. Intrigue maintained until the end of story.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short but fun game :) After playing a bunch of duds, it was nice to play this little gem. Its a bit easy and a bit short but there is a lot of things to do, a great map, interactive hidden object scenes and an eerie atmosphere to go with it. I liked the story line and although we have seen it before, I thought it was well done...however the ending is abrupt, the mini games are wayyy too easy and the hidden object scenes were like click everywhere and you get the object. But for a stand alone standard edition game, I liked it! I liked the eeriness of the game. Its at an old boarding school for girls. You are the detective assigned to the case to figure out who is kidnapping all the girls years later. Kind of reminded me of the bad horror movie Valentine but I liked the overall feeling of the game. I thought the notes along the way really made the story stand out and gave it some dimension. I see some reviewers complaining of the darkness but I liked that angle. It reminded me of older, spookier games instead of these light and bright fantasy games we keep getting. There is an in game flashlight and sometimes it helped in the hidden object scenes but the hidden object scenes were so bare that if you clicked anything, it was usually the item. I give this game 3.5 stars but I rounded up because it kept my interest. It took me 2.5 hours to play it and I finished it in one sitting. It kept my interest the entire time and had the ending not been so abrupt, I probably would have given it higher marks. Some games are just meant to be little fillers inbetween bigger, longer games and I enjoyed this one very much. Kudos devs!
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game The game was great. Worth the money because it was long but kept my interest the entire time! There was a good mix of hidden object scenes and different types of puzzles. I would have given this game a 5 because I really enjoyed it, but there were a couple of times where it would ask to find something like a key, when they were really looking for a wrench. Also, one of the last games glitched for me, so I had to skip it. Other than that, it was a great game, one of the best I have played in awhile!
Date published: 2015-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too shabby I didn't expect much from this game. I'd gotten it a few weeks ago as a free game giveaway. Aside from a misspelled word or two it was very interesting, good detective story, almost believable and while it's never scary it does leave you intrigued and wanting to finish the whole game in one sitting.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stuck - Far into the game Love the game. However, I ended up with just a few map scenes left to unlock, and NO hints (exclamation marks on scenes). I had several items that I could not find uses for, such as the empty gas can, hose, and about 3 or 4 others. I revisited every scene carefully, and looked for exits to other scenes to no avail. Did anyone else get stuck, as I did? I would love to play it through, but there is not a walkthrough that I could find. Disappointed, since it is such a great game!
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very nice story, solid SE I've just finished playing this game, it took me a good 5 hours, very decent for an SE, and I had a lot of fun with it. I liked the storyline. It unfolds very nicely as the game progresses, and I got more and more involved. Gameplay seems a bit clunky and overeasy in the beginning, but gets a bit more challenging and flows better after a while, as the amount of tasks pile up, and you get to solve more puzzles. There are a lot of HOS, most visited twice, but with different objects, and objects that were there the first time, are removed. Puzzles vary from redicously simple to very challenging. I think it's a great game and if you can get it on a PCC or DD you can do a fantastic deal! Have fun everybody!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BAD GIRLS !! GOOD GAME!! I REALLY LIKED IT !!GOTA LAUGH OUT OF SOME MISNAMED HIDDEN OBJECTS DIDNT TAKE AWAY FROM THE GOOD TIME I HAD THO MAP WAS AWESOME STORY TOO !! I WOULD PLAY THIS KIND OF GAME ALL ALL DAY LONG !! GOOD JOB GUYS!!!
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy Hidden Object Adventure The creep factor is very high in this one. In the first few seconds of the game we see the body of a young woman, still alive and struggling, being dragged through the woods by a hooded figure. We learn that it is the second kidnapping and both young women attended the infamous Lake Hope Boarding School. A detective sets out on her own to find clues to the kidnappings and to try to rescue the young woman, if she is still alive. It is only a short time later that the shadowy hooded figure disables the detective's car in the deep woods where she is now stranded. The sound is great in the beginning, intense with a promise of things to come, but after awhile it is so redundant and repetitive I had to shut it off. Voiceovers were realistic and very well done. Graphics were excellent. Everything appeared realistic. Hidden object games were fun and a little challenging, with well hidden objects that blended into the background. They were the list type, some interactive. Minigames were fun and challenging. You have to first find the correct objects necessary to begin the puzzle. To assist in gameplay there is a hint button, a journal, an interactive map, and a briefcase to store the clues that you find.
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, Solid Hidden Object Thriller Ok admittedly, the music is repetitive, the scenes usually a bit dark (I had the torch on almost all the time) and the movement from one scene to the next was a bit clunky. However, for once one of these games has a solid, intriguing story with a good, conclusive, although sudden ending. Personally I liked the aspect of evidence collecting in the suitcase. I also quite liked the fact that there is only one map for the entire game rather than several chapters. Yes, it's a bit unoriginal but at least its got good, fairly long, enjoyable game play and, whats's most important to me, a fairly satisfying and conclusive ending.
Date published: 2014-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game. I liked the game and found it fun. There was just the issue with them calling wrenches keys and keys wrenches. After you get that figured out, all is great.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Developers Take Note - No Walkthrough, No Buy I really liked this game , but there are so many out there to choose from these days . I just finished a game with no walkthrough and I felt I had been transported back in time when WT's didn't exist. It took alot longer than I generally want to invest in a standard edition game. It wouldn't be so bad if there was an active forum to help with the rough spots, but that's gone by the wayside as well. So I am sorry to say I won't be buying Hope Lake even though if forced to rate it I would give it 4 stars
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT QUITE BUT ALMOST A WOW SUMMARY: An interesting story that appears to be in the 1950s or 1960s with monochromatic scenery and a lot of black bar tips (don't read unless you want help). Easy and somewhat slow gameplay. Occasional HOS and mini-games but plenty of little puzzles needing you to find something in order to get something. It just misses that WOW factor that I need in order to buy, since I have so many games with no time to play them all. STORY: You play a detective searching for who is abducting girls, a couple of whom are from the same boarding school. The girls were mistreated by the headmistress and you will also be searching for more information on the relationship between her son and the girls. A cloaked man figures into the mystery at the lake. Game will list your objectives for areas you enter. GRAPHICS: Scenes are monochromatic; but if you turn the flashlight on, it will make some things more visible and help keep you focused. MUSIC: Jaunty but the same very short track played repeatedly and began getting on my nerves. HINTS: Recharged rapidly on casual play and pointed you to what needed to be done. If it just shows that you need to change locations, you aren't charged with a hint. MAP: Interactive. HOS: Very cluttered. You will likely need to use the flashlight to highlight areas due to the monotones. Not heavy on the number of HOS. PUZZLES & MINI-GAMES: Not a large number of mini-games, but there are a lot of puzzles where you have to find something to progress. DIFFICULTY: Played on casual. Very easy. There are many black bar tips when you click on anything that needs action. Such as you click on a wooden bird nest and the black bar says that you can lure the raven to it if you find it something to eat. The black bars even tell you how to solve some problems, such as when you click on a locked door, it will say that the key appears to be stuck in the keyhole and you need a piece of paper to put under the door and push the key out.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game Clear, easy to follow. Hints were helpful. Not too complicated. Great Story line.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, shame about the light I enjoyed this game, although as someone with poor vision I found the "dark and creepy" aspect difficult at time, although I was aware that it added to the story and atmosphere. I did find myself using the torch option all the time, but I wouldn't let it put you off buying the game. Review based on 1 hour demo only.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed playing this game!! A basic S.E. which I have come to enjoy better than some of the other games coming out lately. No bling, no pets, some puzzles and a little too many HOS for my taste, but they are not every time you turn around. A lot of places and rooms to explore. You have a map which tells you where something can be done and it will teleport you to that location. I did not find myself getting bored. Enough of a challenge where I felt I could exercise my brain cells, but not the hardest game I have ever played.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this game Hope Lake was a decent game. Not a major challenge, but sometimes it's nice to have a good game to meander through.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Play the demo and decide for yourself. I think this is a game that folks should play as much of the demo as they can before making their decision. Yes, it was dark, not so dark you cannot see objects and details...and I have trouble with my eyes. The flashlight, once you acquire it is a really big help. The darkness fit well with the theme...and so did the music, which I turned down so it was less obtrusive. The jump map shows where you are, and where there are actions to be made, something that some CE's do not bother to give us....to their shame, IMHO. I found the games to be somewhere between easy and challenging....and overall, found this to be a relaxing sort of game to play, one without a lot of bells and whistles, but I certainly do not feel I have either wasted my pcc or my time and am glad I took the time to play the demo and decide for myself, in light of all the negative reviews.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What has happened at Hope Lake? I am reviewing this game for what it is: a simple SE with no frills attached. As a detective assigned to catch a serial killer, you find yourself at an abandoned boarding school where strange things have happened in the past. The game has an interactive jump map, 2 modes of play, a journal which lists your notes and tasks. You do get a flashlight to help out in the darker areas. This is a dark natured game and I found the dimness appropriate. There IS a click penalty for rapid clicking... I really dislike that. The puzzles, to me, were odd, in that I didn't quite understand what they wanted the player to do. I had no problem located objects in the HOS. There is quite a bit of adventure in the game. You do get sparkles in both modes and hints. It's an easy game, but I'm a sucker for dark, creepy games. I am interested enough after playing the demo to want to find out what happened and who the cloaked figure is. I had no tech problems. There is a very small delay when you change screens, but it isn't horrendous. I think this developer, if this is their first effort, did a good job on this. I would have liked more story, but perhaps that is learned along the way. I do recommend
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good overall game except for music Played the demo and enjoyed it but the music was the same over and over again. Had to turn it down. Graphics were fairly good and easy to see HO. Other than the repetitive music, I thought it was a good game.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy Game..liked it! Game has a great, creepy feel to it...Graphics aren't the best, but because the game is "dreary" feeling, it's not bad at all...HO's are pretty easy, mini games #not very many during trial mode# are easy---my only drawback is that when you go one place and have to go back, it's delays about 10 seconds...Other than that it's a pretty good game!
Date published: 2014-05-21
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_21130, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hope Lake

Visit a boarding school abandoned after a terrible accident. Unravel the mystery of the loss of its former students.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.