New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia
Exclusive

New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(352.90 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

New York, 1955. It's become dangerous in the city. The mafia is trying to seize power. But recently, a new force appeared. A far more terrible force. Over the last few days, five mafia bosses have disappeared in mysterious circumstances. A strange liquid and a butterfly were found at the scenes of the disappearances. But this isn't what scared the citizens... Children started to disappear in the city. All of them drew exactly the same butterflies before they disappeared. This forced detectives and journalists alike to start their investigations.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 650 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(352.90 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME!!! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME I loved it. The only regret I have is that I wish I'd bought the CE. I'm all about the story and in this one the story was very interesting. It hooked me 10 minutes into the demo. I bought it right away and played the whole game through! It's set in New York in the 1950s and mixes mafia gangsters and spiritual intrigue - that was a different angle! There were just a few oddities that probably wouldn't register if the developers aren't American. i.e. There was a female night desk clerk/security person in one of the scenes - no way in the 50s - and some of the characters (including the main character and the night desk clerk) were dressed in modern day clothing instead of 50s era clothing. There was also a scene where there was a reference to JFK who wouldn't become president until the 1960s not the 50s. But those are minor issues that you can overlook because they don't take away from the gaming experience itself. The puzzles were challenging yet not frustratingly difficult. Some new twists on old favorites made them a delight to complete. The HOS were exceptionally well done. I'm not a fan of HOS at all, they annoy me, so I prefer FROGs and any variation that strays from the junkpile. The HOS in this game were completely interactive - no lists, no piles. Each piece found had to be used to do something else to lead you to the object of the HOS which made it a continuation of the adventure. Well done. I actually enjoyed them. The cut scenes and voice overs were well done with realistic voices and acting. The graphics were nicely rendered, a bit grainy but nicely done. I think that was supposed to add to the 50s feel. All together a great gaming experience. I hope they make a series of this game as I enjoyed it so much. This is now my current favorite!
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Can't recommend this game enough. Excellent storyline, very engaging puzzles that aren't too easy or too hard, with unique takes on many of them. Fantastic graphics, a wonderful game all around. A must play!
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Has Everything! This is a winner! And it's a long one! Liked everything about it. I won't go into detail because others have already done that, but if you're looking for a nice game that's fun, challenging (in some places) and has some different types of puzzles, this is it. I didn't want it to be over. You won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite game, Loved it Great straightforward smooth game with a nice map, easy and not too easy mini games, nice lenght, great graphics, helpful hints, fast recharge of skipping puzzle and hints and for once a woman with a more average shape figure ,
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it. finally a game that lasts more than 6 hours. I found the level of challenge on the games excellent. I even had to skip two puzzles. Much better than the same old same old games that are thrown into every HOG. The voice overs and the lips on the characters were great. I definitely would recommend this game. 2014
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Missing Children, the Mafia and Butterflies...hmmmmm This was one of the most fascinating, intriguing mystery games I've enjoyed playing the demo of in a long while. I purchased the CE version, however, due to the number of games I have my Game Manager fairly groans when I turn it on - so I haven't played the full game yet - lol. I did want to see if the SE version followed the same flow of the game as the CE - yes, it most certainly does. Storyline: It's the mid 1950's. The five main mafia bosses who are trying to wage a war and win control of the City have disappeared. Left behind is a green liquid. What is it? And a butterfly is left behind. Why? Now, innocent children are also starting to go missing, after having seen or drawn the same butterfly. Why the children? What is the significance of the butterfly, the green goop and the missing Mafia to the children. Mystery upon mystery upon mystery. And the questions only continue. You have been hired by a man who has awakened from a 10 year coma and gone to the museum searching for members of a secret order he belonged to only to find them gone. Why the museum? That's where the last mafia boss disappearance occurred. But why did he bring you in? Aren't the police working this case? He believes you are a good detective as well as an excellent journalist. Not only does he want you to write an amazing article about everything, but he wants to bring you into the Secret Order with him. And so off you go, sleuthing around the museum. Where will your investigating take you? Where are the children? Are they still alive? Who has really taken them? All these questions and more will be answered during the game play. Graphics: Amazing. great HD quality. A bit on the dark and dreary side, but considering the atmosphere I suppose that's to be expected. Sound: Tuned out the music - sorry. But, lip syncing throughout the demo. I LOVE IT. So many games these days stop the lip syncing after the intro to the game. Not so here and it is much appreciated. Game Play: As indicated in the "Storyline" above, you have been hired to not only write an article about the mob boss and innocent children disappearances, but to join a Secret Order. (See "Storyline" above). HOGs: Silhouette objects need to be found. Interactive - find one item, use it to gain another item, and so on and so on until you find the last item which goes into your inventory. Did not find any of them difficult. Mini Games: Thought provoking. I wouldn't call them easy so much as I would call them thought provoking. You need to really think about what you need to do. In one instance, the instructions were not really clear enough for me to understand HOW to do what was needed. Skip button worked fine. There are 3 modes of difficulty - easy, normal and hard. You are equipped for a journal which takes REAL notes and keeps information that will definitely be handy. It doesn't just keep redundant and repetitive notes. There is also a task list, a hint button that recharges fairly quickly and a jumpable map. I LOVE this map. It doesn't just pop you into the next place you need to be. When you look at it, there may be 3/4 places you could go to to complete an objective. Again, thinking power. There is also a tutorial you can choose to turn off. This is a game of mystery and intrigue. I hope you will play the demo. It's only an hour of your time and it's FREE. Then, I believe you will be just as hooked on the game as I was and want to find the answers to the this huge mystery - really, a mystery within a mystery. Happy Gaming.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Loved It This game had a lot of the "different" mini games I know I've been asking for. Some were a bit too difficult, and I skipped them, but I was glad to have a different kind of mini game to work on. It was long too. I loved that. I loved how the map marked if I had found the collectibles. I also liked how things I found in one room sometimes weren't used until several screens later. This is my favorite type of adventure/hidden object game. Bravo!!
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Say Hello To My ...Favorite Game There are only a handful of games that can stand the test of time, games that are as exciting to play today as they were a week ago, a month ago and even a year later, this is one of them. This game has superior quality in every aspect, from the high quality graphics and voiceovers to the detail and freshness of the puzzles themselves. The year is 1955 and 5 mob bosses have disappeared, a strange green fog appears out of nowhere and poof! Nothing left but green goo and a butterfly, even stranger is the fact that children have disappeared at that exact moment leaving behind a drawing of the same butterfly as found at the scene of the mob bosses! You play the role of Laura James, a journalist and experienced detective, who has been summoned to the American Museum of Natural History where mob boss Don Luigi had just disappeared. Things take an unexpected turn, you discover a series of tunnels under the city and what appears to be an abandoned operations center. This is the first of many twists in this enthralling mysterious and secretive story. I won't deny that the Collector's Edition has enough bells and whistles to please any player, the story is the backbone of this game but there are 9 collectible briefcases, 9 ties, 9 statues of liberty, and 9 poker chips hidden throughout the game as well as 35 phantom morphing objects available with the Collector's Edition, you can't go wrong with either edition. The Hidden Object Scenes are progressive silhouetted items to find. You find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape and use that item in the scene to retrieve the next item such as finding a box knife and then using the box knife to cut open a package that will reveal the next useful item. Each HOS has a mini game inside such as finding clues of how much water to place into 5 different glasses and finding the order to play music on the filled glasses, after you figure out how to correctly pour the measured amount of water into each glass, you then tap the correct glass from 1-5. The mini games were fresh and entertaining such as placing a frame over the correct pictured items in each row that would be used to make the item that is shown at the top left and right and repeating that process for each item. There were puzzle type games such as placing masks on 3 shelves in the correct order with only a few clues towards their placement. My favorite mini game involved two large discs, one on the left the other on the right, with 4 tokens on each disc of different objects like fish, bears, trees or birds. There were also 2 smaller discs between the larger discs which are used to exchange the tokens between discs until all tokens were in their correct spots. The only decision you need to make is whether to purchase the Collector's Edition or the Standard Edition. Don't let this one slip through the virtual cracks, it is the game to stand any test of time, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good of a buy as it gets! I first played the demo CE version that came out and I loved it but I was not able to purchase it at the time. I recently had a game credit to use but I kept waiting for the right opportunity to come along and this was it! I LOVE this game! I have purchased well over a hundred in this genre and I have enjoyed them all...but a few of them stand above all of the rest and this is one in my honest opinion! I thought the graphics, story line, games and audio were all done very well. I feel the proof is in the pudding and before I finished the SE of this game I purchased it. I am not sorry I did. I just finished and I truly considered my time and money well spent. I very seldom repeat games or watch movies over and over but the few I do are well worth it. This is one! It's another winner at least for me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. :)
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game hidden under the streets of New York As a frequent gamer I enjoyed this game. The story and graphics were well done. Even though the hidden object scenes were shape finding, they were well done.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Story, Wonderful Characters Just finished, and what a great, quality game. Very lengthy, too; it took me three sessions of at least two hours each. Everything that had to be done was logical and helped further the quest(s); there were no morphing objects to click or certain items to find everywhere or funny little characters to help you or other silly distractions. This is straight-forward mystery solving and you'll need to use your brain. The hidden object scenes are interactive; silhouettes of the items to be found are shown and you can usually only find one or two just lying about. The rest are found by using the items already in hand, such as putting a handle on a door or inserting a key. I thoroughly enjoyed the well-thought-out characters and smart, challenging puzzles. As well, I appreciate it so much when a developer goes to the trouble to hire a good proofreader! Nothing throws me off a game more than frequent typos or misspellings and I didn't see a one. I grant you, a couple of items were not labeled correctly (a wire cutter labeled as a pliers, for instance), but these were but minor flaws in a very well done and enjoyable game. The ending was also very satisfying (and rather sweet!). Highly recommend!
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! Good story and great gameplay for many hours.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mafia and Secret Societies in Subterranean New York Hmmm, mafia and butterflies! It sounds like we are in for a treat with this new game from a developer who gave us the exciting Lost Lands, Dark Overlord earlier this year. This time we are off to solve the disappearances of several mafia bosses and children who have all vanished under mysterious circumstances. The only clues are a green slime and butterflies left behind at the crime scenes. Of course you play the game as a renowned investigative reporter/detective who can solve virtually any mystery that comes your way. The graphics for the game are very good and at least for me are exceptionally clear and crisp. The game has lip-synced voiceovers that are generally very good. The rest of the soundtrack with music and ambient sounds is very good and creates just the right air of mystery as we move through the game. I am having a bit of confusion though regarding time period since there is one thing I noticed in the game that doesn’t quite seem to fit in with the time-period. That being said, game developers often take liberties with time-period appropriate incidences in games – lol. Sometimes the items jump out at me as this one did but in other games they often go unnoticed. We have the standard set of tools in the game, a diary or journal and a tag that shows our objectives. We have an interactive transporter type map that can be customized to show the location of the collectibles. It is rather nice to be able to customize the game to include the things we want and it seems that more developers are moving in this direction. The game has great HOPs and it doesn’t seem as if it is top-heavy with them. Because the HOPs are very interactive and are sort of mini-puzzles, I certainly don’t find them tedious or boring to complete. I love having to think about what to do and what to use in order to get through an HOP scene and it is nice to have the extra challenge. All of the HOPs I encountered in the demo are the progressive silhouette type but I can’t say for certain that they will all be like that in the remainder of the game but I hope so. Outside of the HOPs we have puzzles that we encounter on our adventure. I guess that the trend now is for developers to incorporate the normal very easy (almost mind numbing) puzzles in their games to placate those who don’t care for the challenge of a difficult puzzle. I am hoping that as I progress further into the game the puzzles will present at least some progressive level of difficulty. I’ve mentioned it before and will do so again (hopefully the developer reads the reviews), that the games have a skip button for those who are not up to the challenge, so please include some difficult and challenging puzzles in your games. I purchased the CE of the game and it was a compelling storyline that kept me guessing until the very end. The gameplay was very enjoyable and provided almost two days of great entertainment. I loved the game and have no hesitation in recommending it as a great play. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No junk piles to search At last a game without a junk pile to search, instead the few scenes where you search for items, you have to utilise the items.Like games where the actions are clear and can work out what to do.
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bonus Puzzles Enjoyed the game especially the puzzles in the Bonus chapter. Played the game in Hard mode which made it very enjoyable.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to spend a Sunday! really enjoyed this game and the bonus! Great graphics and a very good story line.
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from an interesting game It takes place in New York City. There are three different game levels you can choose from. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best game to me i really like the game but needs a little work
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NY search Yea I know it is a old game but when they came out with the new one I checked to see if I missed one from this series. Some reason I did and this was the one. I did like the other games. A good game that was longer than most new Collector games with the bonus game so well worth the money spent. One does search for many items in this so if that bothers you this may not be for you. There are a large amount of scenes so one does go back and forth but the map makes it easier. Lot of puzzles also with couple I skip because it was getting to me even. Story line was good and like most older games not much talking in this game. Graphic's were a little dark but I figure that makes it harder to find things even though I found most fairly quick. If you like Mystery Adventure this is a good game.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good game this game one of my favourite!!
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging One of the best games I ever played.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game I enjoyed playing this game. The story line, music, and graphics were all great. I felt that some of the puzzles were more for time consumption then for anything else. I found myself skipping several puzzles. But over a great game.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Long Little Game This is being posted after completing the entire game. I just finished playing NYM and wanted to post this before I forgot all I wanted to tell you. This game had such possibilities, but fell short in so many ways. To say it was fun.. it was okay. I got my anticipation up when I saw the CE version come out and couldn't wait until the SE made its appearance. This game was okay, but to say it lived up to my expectations, it did not. It just missed out on something and to be honest with you, I can't tell you what it was. I just wanted to finish it. The sound was excellent as were the graphics. The characters were drawn, but very well so. The music was bland, but the voice overs were fantastic. I did have a little trouble seeing the hidden objects, but eventually got them. No complaints whatsoever with the sound or graphics. Where I did have a bit of a problem was in the level of challenge. I didn't count them, but there seemed to be an over abundance of mini games. I know there are those who love them. I do not an these were extremely difficult at times, well most times, some hard to understand and do, and most we have seen before. I never could get some of them to work. I'm not the brightest bulb in the box, I know, so don't put too much credence in my opinion of the mini games. The hidden objects were all silhouette where they give you a shape and you have to find it to unlock another part of the scene to continue. I've played these before, but I have to tell you these were the most challenging I have met. You have an interactive map which makes it a snap figuring out where to go next or where there were things to do. You can set up how long or fast you want the skip (that was a blessing) and the hint button to recharge. The story was decent. It baffled me how in the world the writers were going to blend the Mafia and a the supernatural, but they did it. The ending was as expected and a job well done to the detective/journalist for solving the problems and saving the day. All in all this was a good game. I would have done some things differently, but that's what makes these games so darn good. A little bit of something for everybody.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game - Liked the Mysteries I played the entire game with bonus in the CE version & loved it. Updated murder/kidnapping mystery to solve. The graphics weren't too bad & the characters had some body & lip sync movement. These things are an upgrade from the cartoonish drawings & wooden people we usually see. HOGS are silhouettes (which I personally love) & are interactive. MIni games are fun & not terribly tedious/boring as they can be with some games. Hint system is quick & the map shows you where the next action is needed. The last couple of BF game offerings have been a real upgrade/cut above the rest. Unfortunately, my euphoria has been dashed. Yesterday/today's offerings have been Match-3/Time Management games which I truly loath & never play!
Date published: 2014-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Twisted Old Gangsters I bought this game thinking it featured the mafia - but it doesn't. The mafia is missing. I found the different angle exciting and fun. Graphics and old style feel make it fun. Pros: Graphics, music, characters, good storyline (surreal without being simple). Intuitive clues, varied locations. Map is a life saver, and games are easy to medium. HOS are interactive and fun. Story has some plot twists that keep you moving forward. Cons: The blue/white/grey filter over every scene dulls the art a bit. There is a lot of back and forth between screens. Ending not exactly abrupt but quick. So it wasn't the mafia story I wanted - but I loved the story I got.
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hey...you...yea you.. enjoyed this game it was okay suggest the demo for trying before buying. i must have fallen asleep somewhere because [or i have memory problems] i don't remember the explanation of why the children drew the butterflies before abduction? hummm. maybe play again ...interesting yet tedious with all the hogs silhouettes every time i clicked to the next hog i was disappointed it was the same type.bored me with that...all in all okay game.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Less fun that anticipated Turned out to be more tedious than fun; a little too much pixel hunting for relevant items. The puzzles veered wildly in terms of difficulty, with many seemingly defined by complete randomness. Another nitpick: A few too many obvious anachronisms for something set in the '20s. (The children's clothing is one glaring example.)
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wasted opportunity Challenging, but poory told story.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was very much looking forward to a game with such good reviews. I played it to the very end, although I didn't like it. For me this game has no soul, no atmosphere. It is all about technical things. No charme, no mystery at all. It's like someone sat at his/her desk and thinking about how to summarize all of today's game know how and deliver it in this game. This was soooo boring. Not a single inspiring, likeable, humorous or scary moment, whatsoever. I would rate 2 stars because the games technical issues are all fine (graphics, sound etc.).
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NYM: Mafia It was random hit and miss! A lack of logic in tying various aspects together. Spent most of the time on the hints button. AM fed up to my teeth fillings with locked doors, missing handles, dials, knobs or shadow objects; this became quite relentless as the game progressed. First review here and first strong negative after many years.
Date published: 2014-08-09
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_21116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia

Discover a story of mysterious kidnappings of both children and mafiosi.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.