Northern Tale 4

Northern Tale 4

PC

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(531.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Ragnar's kingdom is in danger again! A huge army of black knights, witches and giants approaches his lands corrupting everything in its path. Ragnar calls his friends to arms and moves out to fight the evil to end this struggle once and for all.

The 4th installment of your favorite resource-management series awaits! Fight evil to restore peace to Ragnar's kingdom!

  • New fascinating locations to explore!
  • Control 3 different characters
  • Fun Time Management gameplay!
  • Utilize special skills and abilities

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1536 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 742 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Northern Tale 4

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(531.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Northern Tale 4 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game I have all the northern games. You can play timed or relaxed. I play them over and over. I wish they would make more of them faster. There are new things to find and different vikings to ask for help.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have Ragnar and his vikings are in need of help in this sequel. New obstacles and goals have been added. By the time that I got to Level 5 I knew I had to own this game. That is when you are underwater and the graphics are really good! I am an ocean lover so the sounds of dolphins in the background along with starfish, crabs and other creatures was enthralling. Of course you can still play timed or untimed and I would suggest untimed to people who are new to these games.You can turn off the sounds if you do not like them and if you get tired of the vikings' patter you can also turn them off.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The hamsters have returned The return of the hamsters, if you liked the first three games of this series, you should like this one too. Very little has changed except that the backgrounds are more detailed now. In sequel games one always fears that the developers will destroy the original concept. Not here. I still play in untimed mode and still consider the game to be great fun. It just tickles me when a window pops up to tell me that I have found the entire hamster family, or whatever. Doesn’t affect the game play, but it reminds me of the previous games. Rollo makes one appearance and most of the old villains at least have cameo roles. There are a few new twists, too. This game is just fun to play.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They've Done It Again! One of my favorite series of all time! There are some new scenes (like an underwater world) but it's still the same great game. You really have to think ahead to get gold on some of these levels, and I love that! Hours of gameplay guaranteed. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good story i agree with other reviewers, the graphics are beautiful and the story line offers different challenges i love tm games and usually buy them if they have an untimed mode. this one does and it allows me to play the game and enjoy the antics of the characters. i particularly liked the druid riding a sting ray in the beneath the sea levels. each level has a challenge that goes beyond just building. ie, you must find a cure for Ragnars curse. lots of fun and very relaxing. who doesn't like being able to control a whole little world?
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun time management game I enjoyed the first 3 games so I am going to buy this game. It carries on the story which is good, have got to level 6 and can,t get gold but I would recommend this game, its fun and challenging.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time management game Another great game from Big Fish
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the 4th Northern Tale and the Best yet !! OMG I was so happy to see that there was a number 4 and I started playing it ....the sounds from the underwater made me smile and I am not done playing it yet. Just bought the full version. So fun and if you don't know the first 3 yet....go ahead and enjoy !!!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great tale I've really enjoyed 1 - 3 in the series and this one doesn't disappoint. Ragnar is older now but still has an adventurous spirit. This game is similar to the other 3 games in the series. Gather resources, build buildings, banish evil nasties, etc. There are also a few differences. Some resources need to be reduced then removed so you can get more resources from a gold heap or a wood heap. There are apple trees to pick food from. Has lovely visuals with the levels going from an underwater area to paths in trees and the like. I enjoy clicking on some of the little critters to see their reaction (the starfish are cute and had me :# ing). I was glad to purchase this game on its release. Though I was a bit concerned about the 513mb download #I'm on prepaid internet). However this game is just as enjoyable as the others with just the right amount of challenge in getting 3 stars on the levels.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from welcome back welcome back,we want more. 10q for everything
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game as always! Well, this just continues the amazing series with this new addition. Since the first game, I've been hooked! Have fun!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite series of games! After Northern Tale 3, I thought for sure that was the end. I am so glad that my favorite group of vikings is back. I love the new additions to this one with some underwater scenes and the hidden objects on certain levels. I highly recommend this game, and really, any of the Northern Tales games.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Northern Tales Always A Success! I love all of the Northern Tales games. I was so excited to see number 4 was out, and I wasn't disappointed! There had better be a number 5! :)
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from northern tales 1 to 4 best group of games ever, northen tales 1 to 4 just keeps getting better, its a game you can keep going back to play
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An incredible, interesting gameplay, beautiful art. Traversed in one breath) Very pleased new, interesting locations - underwater world, a magical forest. and zaponimayuschiesya characters: charming baby dragon, the old Ragnar, Spring ... Beautiful music, art, exciting gamedesign - all in a uniform style that allows you to plunge into the ancient world of the Vikings, to pass an unforgettable adventure with Ragnar and his team) I want to say, thank you for such a quality game) I do not regret the time spent!
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I love everything about this game and this series. I own them all and this installment meets and exceeds my expectations. Has just enough new elements to keep me interested while keeping the game play you come to know and love. Just the right level of challenge. I've only had to look for walkthrough videos a couple of times :-) but can usually get 3 starts in one or two tries. One word from me: Perfect!
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding! I've enjoyed all of the Northern Tale games but "4" is hands down the best "gettin' busy" yet.. unleash the fury! Improved graphics, challenges & length, the narration between levels is a bit redundant & dorky, knowmsayin? but the game play is 1st cabin.. keep 'em comin' boyz!
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Amusing Game I haven't finished game yet because my two 7 yr old grandchildren have been having too much fun making the animals talk!! But this game is awesome.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Northern Tales 4 I've enjoyed the complete Northern Tales series and can't rave enough about each. I'm leaving this review for people that aren't Time Management enthusiast , in hopes of getting you to try the Northern Tales games, because I want to offer you the great fun and enjoyment you might be missing out on by keeping in the Hidden Object & Adventure genre as I usually do. From play, story & characters - you might fall in love with this riveting addictive game. Thanks to the creators of NT Keep the series coming! Excellent work in all areas of these games!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo! Great game! Often, sequels to games are not nearly as good as the original. The Northern Tale saga is truly the exception. This is so appreciated by the game-playing customer. Thank you for a great game!
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best so far This game is the most challenging of the bunch. I finished the other three with three stars with my eyes closed. This one i am lucky to get two on any given level. I put the order of the games, according to game play as #4, #2, #1, and #3 bringing up the rear. I almost didn't try this game because of the lack luster third outing. Glad I did!!!
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent As Always! What a great series! Very addictive. I hope they keep on making more of these.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Graphics are great A very fine game, I like it. The graphics are beautiful, so very very nice. GREAT
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I *love* this game!! I've been playing this game quite a bit and enjoy it very much every time. I still love the first in the series, and while I passed on #2 and #3, this fourth entry makes me think that maybe I should give those two another try. I'm picky. So, I'm extra-impressed by Northern Tale 4. Northern Tale has been one of only a few games that I know I'll like playing every time I start a session, and NT4 draws me in even more than does the often enchanting NT1. Who knew a time-management game could offer so much variety in gameplay, plus seriously impressive graphics and a host of good characters? I love that NT4 has an overall darker atmosphere than the sunny NT1. (I like them both.) At first I didn't care too much for the fantasy-land mushrooms and such, but when I think of it as the pc equivalent of a comic book, I can appreciate all the fine details that go into each and every screen. The artwork, as before, is excellent; even the level-loading screen is cool to look at. The storyline isn't bad for a TM game -- in fact, I find it engaging, and often funny despite major malevolent mayhem. The devs give us humor with characters like Gillman, and in the close-ups of our heroes, and even in the villains. (Shrewish and shrill in her old age, Gesta gave me the giggles. And back to Gillman -- I can totally see this guy on a surfboard, chugging a brew and hanging ten at the same time. There's raw material for a backstory for almost everone, really. I love that!) You know from the start that you're going to beat every bad dude you encounter, but it's still fun. I play in untimed mode since time management is not exactly a strength for me. Still, this game makes me think ahead, and study the screen to consider how best to use my resources. Many of the levels give you quite a few options for strategy. On others, you can run into a dead end pretty quick if you don't plan well. I like the challenge of beating my previous scores, while still being able to take in all the well-done visual details at my slower pace. (BTW, you most definitely *can* queue up tasks for the workers while in untimed mode. As with NT1, I really appreciate that the devs make this possible.) The expanded facts about the Vikings are interesting. I've learned a number of things I hadn't known before, so kudos to those who read up on the factual background and made a good selection of historical tidbits for players. Tech stuff: First, I have to admit that I know next to nothing about computer programming. That said, many, MANY thanks to the programmers for the simple fact that this game never, ever overclocks my CPU. In fact, it doesn't even make the tower fans work harder. To me, that's brilliance, and I'll add that I have no other tech issues: I find the load time comparable to all my other games, no hang-ups, zero error messages (woohoo!), and other stuff I probably wouldn't even be aware of. But this level of functionality is what other similar games should aim for. All in all, I really think this is an outstanding game. Thanks very much to the NT team. I won't even have to think twice about buying the next installment, or first entry in a whole new series, whatever -- will very much look forward to it. :)
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back Ragnar and friends Ragnar and his friends are back but older with new obstacles to overcome. .This one is a lot more challenging then the last three and a must game to have no doubt about it if you are a Northern Tale fan The graphics is better then ever and love the sound quality.In the beginning, they bring you up to date of what happened in the past three games. Which is good, if you don't own them.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Time Management Game! Another great game!! Thanks Bigfish!!
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved The Underwater Scenes! Nothing more fun than a well developed Time Management game, and Northern Tales is bar far one of the best TM series out there. The graphics are very well done, the tutorial does an excellent job explaining the mechanics of the game, and the goals and tasks are clear and uncomplicated. You can choose Normal mode, No Timer and allow multi-click gestures to stack up if you prefer, but be careful multi-clicking, it can veere you away from the tasks that need to be completed. There are 50 levels, 89 awards and each level has 9 pieces of the adventure collection hidden on all levels! The goal is to earn 3 stars per level for a total of 150 stars, you can restart any level if you want to improve the score. Time Management games such as this one require you to clear paths, repair bridges and ladders, collect food and resources such as ore and gold, and you will need to repair and build farms, workshops, and druid tents. Some tasks at hand aren't completed on the first attempt, for instance, in order to build a Viking Ship, you will need to collect resources in a three step process before completion of the ship. You will rescue Foresters, trapped Vikings and remove obstacles such as wolves, malicious scarecrows and even Mantas in the really cool underwater scenes. This is a really fun and very addictive game, if you have never played a TM game, this is a good one to try because the mechanics of the game are easy. Even though the mechanics are uncomplicated, the goals can still be challenging to meet within the specified time. There are bonuses to earn which will help you achieve your goals in time such as: time freeze, extra Viking worker for 20 seconds, faster moving workers, +1 resource and even faster building production (you can reuse multiple times but must recharge after each use). You can also exchange resources with the Merchants at a rate of exchange that is favorable to the Merchant. One feature I love about this game is the tidbits of information given about the facts and fictions of the Vikings, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from when is the fifth addition coming out very enjoyable and challanging
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game This game is very entertaining and I do wish there are more sequels coming soon
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun game love this game ''cant wait for a new one'' wheres northern tale 5?
Date published: 2015-11-27
  • y_2020, m_10, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_21497, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Northern Tale 4

Unravel the web of intrigues against the Vikings and bring peace to their lands!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.