Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween

Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(639.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Meet Lemuel Barnabas. He is not the protagonist of our story, but just look at him, he's scrappy and funny, talks to himself, likes music and long walks behind the bar. In a word, he is quite mad, but as mad as he is, he's the one you come to for help. Help? What happened? You didn't hear?

Apparently there is this thing called Halloween. I know, I know, it sounds stupid. But there's candy involved! Now I have your attention.

The city of Dern is ostracized from the Halloween community. Everyone around you seems to know something about it, but you're a boy, nobody is going to tell you. In this step away from the classic hidden object game, take things into your own hands and find out whatever happened to Halloween in Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween!

  • Adventure and casual mode
  • Challenging puzzles and mini-games
  • Ludicrous comments and imaginative characters

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 757 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(639.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 54.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved all about this game! This is the best SE I've played in years. It had two play modes (I played the more difficult one). The graphics were excellent, the storyline very funny and loved the music. Rarely do I read all the chit chat, but did with this game as it was cleverly written. Quite challenging, although hint mostly told you what to do next. A jump map included but didn't always tell you what to do next. The HOPs were excellent, and not too many of them. So hoping there's a sequel (ending hinted there might be). If all games were of this calibre I'd be a happy bunny!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put on your thinking caps This game is a tough one. You have to pay attention to what you read and see. It's a long game. Well worth your money. You can collect little candies along the way to buy halloween decor for your backyard. optional... You have a journal, make sure you read it!!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't want this one to end! I absolutely LOVE this game! I have been playing BF games for over 10 years now and I don't think I have ever had so much fun and been so challenged. I really haven't bought many games recently because they just seem to be all alike, and I have been hoping and wishing for something different. I wanted to have that wonderful experience that I had when I played Return to Ravenhurst and The Tiny Bang Story for the first time. I think the graphics are wonderful, the music is just fine, and, yes, the story is bizarre, but that works with this quirky little gem. I had to resort to YouTube several times because I played on expert mode (regretted that just a tad at times# but it has been well worth it. I am so glad I didn't let this one get by. I have a newer computer---not pricey, but I made sure it could handle gaming---so I didn't have any of the problems mentioned in several other reviews. I can see why those fishes were not thrilled, but if you don't foresee having slowdowns and you like puzzles and humor and are dying for something different #do you feel like you have played most new games a few times before??) please give this a try. I am on Chapter 5 and just don't want this game to end! I hope these devs are feverishly working on their next offering.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOLY BATS!!!!! I have never looked to the walkthrough so much in one game. Knowing what to do next is easy, doing it is altogether different. VERY tough game. If you are in the mood to take on a challenge this is the game for you!
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the most difficult games I have every played. I don't know if I saved Halloween, but I did enjoy this game. You really have to think outside of the box. You get a map about an hour into the adventure, which is good because you need it and the hint button. You play Van Hallows a little boy who is trying to save Halloween but is frightened by what going on around him in the land of Dern. I liked the characters too. Ms. Cringeworth, the bar tender, his wife, the ghost girl, and the pumpkin kids. It seems there are 6 chapters to this game in some versions. Youtube has the entire walkthrough including chapter 6. I didn't get to complete the game because of the challenge in the house at the very end of the adventure. I still loved it and recommend it.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game This game was different, beautiful, difficult and cute. What do you want more?
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique Adventure Game This is a true adventure game. It has been a long time since I found a game which made me think like a "detective" and really figure out what to do next. The story line and "punny" dialogue hold my interest and often make me laugh out loud. And I enjoy the cartoony illustrations and the voice acting The game has jump map and, at least at the casual level, a skip button for the puzzles. Please note: this is really not a hidden object game. Hidden object scenes exist only on the casual level. This is almost pure adventure.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! If you have a brain and want to use it, this is the game!
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish i could give this 10 stars! This game was so fun! It was so different then the same old adventure games. There are so many different aspects to this game. It is very long and well worth the journey. The inventory alone was entertaining from things you put together, open, or things that you clicked and they popped up. There were different things to do in each chapter. There is just so much to do and I loved it. I love originality and this was definitely different!
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating Game that Makes You Think This can be a difficult game in comparison to many of the baby-easy games on this site, but I am glad tho play it because it taxes my brain. It is hilarious and fun.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different, difficult, fun and witty! I think many of the previous reviewers have already described the gameplay...However, I couldn't help myself, I just had to add my congratulations. What a truly witty and fun game, that really makes you think outside the box. I have never been moved to write an actual review, despite the fact that I've played almost every hidden object/adventure game that's come through Big Fish over the past several years. I must say, in a world of what seems like "the same old thing" again, (really can we take a break from all the faeires, dragons and the kidnapped children, please?) it is truly refreshing to come across a game that is so different, difficult, fun and witty. For me, this is A MUST BUY, and I will play every Halloween. Bravo to everyone at Two Desperados. I hope we see more from you soon!
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object adventure puzzle Lovely game. Quite different, difficult sometimes but very refreshing to have something new and exciting. Been playing for 2 days straight and think i,m getting near end. Be sad to finish this game. There is a walkthrough on You Tube which i will be looking at for my final chapter, very hard.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game I've played many scores of these games. They're all good and beautiful. It takes something special, however, to be out of the mold, and this one has it. A quirky sense of humor and wisdom in broken English, challenging yet relevant puzzles, a wry outlook on life, a non-clichéd story line, and a deity called the Great Octopus set this game apart from the main sequence. If you want a break from the princess/supernatural/bodice ripper/detective schtick, try this one.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Squash Me Oh what fun it is to pull hair out and have fun. I have never been able to rise to expert level and expert gamers should be in love with this one. I Like It! So fun, so frustrating, so cool and very witty. Big adventure and just like they warn you; You better have your thinking cap on. So many times I wanted to give up but the game had its cute little grip on me so now I must own it. I don't know what kind of pumpkin face to make at this one. scary, happy, confused, frustrated. lol It took almost an hour to find my first HO and boy was there a lot to figure out everywhere. Graphics were great, puzzles were very good. This game should be up for game of the year. I hate all tutorials and gritted my teeth having to use it the whole way. Never knew being so frustrated could be so much fun. Evil grimace insert here. The maker is a genius and I do not know weather to hug them or throw a pumpkin at them. Thank goodness they supply me with candy. Never did figure out what to do with the back yard except maybe to decorate it once I bought stuff with my candy. That in itself was a Trick or Treat. This game should be tippy top for game of the year runner up.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haven't had this mush fun playing a game ever! I really can't explain what it is about this game that is so entertaining, except that it keeps you wanting to find out what happens next in such an amusing way that it is almost like being in an interactive cartoon movie. The game play itself is a puzzle at times, not the mechanics of it, that is point and click, of course, but the 'What the heck do I do now that I have this stapler?!' part. Just when you think you wish you had that CE Strategy Guide, you look down at your inventory and think 'Oh! What if I try using this thing here...doesn't make much sense, but hey this is a crazy, funny, off beat Halloween game, why not?'. And it works! :) There are little, teeny, tiny pieces of candy to find in each scene which you use to by backyard Halloween decorations. I am still on Chapter 3 and am having a blast. It really is an amazingly well thought out game that keeps the player completely hooked throughout. I just had to comment on this game even though I have never submitted a review of any game I have played from BFG. I've been blown away by this game and hope my other favorite developers take some cues from Two Desperados. A game that is not predictable and keeps you entertained this long without end is a true find now days when quite a few games recently have been over too quickly and leave nothing but a 'Hmmm, well that was a wasted couple of hours...even though I meant to waste at least two hours...it could have been more fun.' feeling behind.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite Surprised I was not sure about this game, so I tried the demo first, found out I loved it, and went and bought it as soon as the demo ended. The story is a little odd, not a lot of hidden objects, a lot of thinking is involved and I mean a lot. There is a walk through though on You Tube which helps when u just can't figure some thing out.. If you are sitting on the fence about this one, try the demo, it will end before u expect it, and u will be wanting more..
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NOT An Easy Game! I wasn't thrilled with this game at first, no map, weird and somewhat confusing story, with little bitty pieces of candy to collect, not to mention the fact that this game is somewhat difficult to figure out. So I put on my thinking cap and donned a pair of glasses and the next thing I knew I was engrossed in the game! The story itself seems odd, something to the effect that Halloween was an ominous day that children feared, not because of ghosts and goblins, but this was a day when children were destined to suffer hard labor. This story is about a curious and somewhat defiant little boy who has "borrowed" his father's special Halloween book and consequently has absorbed it's magical energy. Because he has been enchanted by dad's book, he is able to hear and understand a wise owl named Who, who will confuse anyone who listens to his anecdotes as he tries to explain just what this enchanted book means, IF you can hear Who! After searching the house quietly so as not to alert dad that you aren't in bed, you will come across a Gizbelt. A new tab will then appear next to the inventory tab and this is where all of the giztruments will be stored, these are the tools you will use throughout the adventure and you must use your two inventories interchangeably. As I mentioned before, you will find several different candy pieces scattered about, and trust me the candy is so small that many pieces are unrecognizable so click on anything that might be candy. This candy can be used as currency at the local commodities shop to purchase Halloween decorations, skeletons, ravens, jack o lanterns and even grave markers, each item has a different price tag of 3-4 different candy types. Once you have found enough candy to make a purchase, you can use the tab to enter the Van Hallows' backyard which is pretty spooky to begin with. You will select the tab on the left of the screen labeled items, and then choose the purchased decorations and place them where they belong as indicated by their matching silhouetted shape and voila! There are also achievements to earn as well as an achievement icon next to the hint button to visit the trophy room. I did get a bit confused about the hint button, you could use the hint button without needing to recharge for directional guidance but actual hints are limited because if you click on hidden bats, the hint icon will display an extra hint number, however I was able to use the hint several times even without any extra numbers shown. There are mini games and puzzles, but I never ran across any hidden object scenes during my one hour demo. I'm not positive that they don't exists, perhaps I just didn't progress fast enough to get to them. Most of the mini games were the sliding tiles with one empty space or aligning tiles to complete a picture. Much of the games logistics defies logic but it really is a fun game, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SECRETS ABOUND IN THE UNDEVELOPED BACKYARD OF YOUR MIND FORCING YOUTO THINK "OUT OF THE TOY BOX." What an awesome mind bending game! This is a definite purchase for "moi." This game will probably not appeal to everyone on this site but it has subtle humor, wonderful puzzles, and cryptic messages forcing you to think way, way "out of the toy box Your mind needs to enter the magical realm of your home to discover Halloween. A boy is a protagonist; however, this is definitely an "adult game." You really need to take your time "savoring" this game. Not only are you on a Halloween quest looking for candy, solving awesome puzzles, and investigating your environment and trying to spruce it up for Halloween, you also have tongue-in-cheek humor throughout. I love the wine case with "Marilyn Merlot" and "Pinot Che." I achieved "Wine Connoisseur." And as with fine wine, you must savor all the hidden messages and subtle humor. You are a little boy who seems terrified of his father, who is looking for the Halloween book. You have this book but are hiding it from him. Trying to understand your environment - you are on a quest. You live in a world full of secrets and magical illusions of your environment. LEVELS: There are three levels of play with the hardest level not providing any hints or skips. HOP SCENES, INVENTORY, PUZZLES: This game is puzzle heavy and HOP lite. The whole game is really a puzzle containing cryptic clues you must decipher to continue in the game. You have two inventories - the interactive inventory and the "GIZBELT." I SO WANT THAT TOOL BELT FOR ALL THE GIZMOS I COLLECT. So cool! The puzzles I encountered were sliders. The HOP scenes do not have lists. You need to ascertain what you need to find in areas such as a trash bin or pile of leaves. EXTRA GOODIES: You collect candy to purchase Halloween items for your backyard. You can also attain achievements. It seems you may get a map. However, when I finished the demo - I did not have the pieces to complete the map in the boy's room.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd hardest game I've ever played.....and strangely addictive Every once in a while a game comes out that is a really tough nut to crack. Evil Pumpkin is nothing but a brainbuster. The only game I own that I consider harder is the diabolically hard HO game called The Magician" Handbook: Blacklore which was issued a few years ago. Should anyone be interested in self torture, Blacklore has some of the smallest items ever in a hidden object game, some seriously difficult puzzles. It's a hair puller for sure that can only be taken in small doses. Back to this game, there is no hand holding. The story line is somewhat irreverent and I generally appreciate that aspect. There are various forms of HO scenes although not too many of them in the demo and I have only completed the demo. There is a jump map which is not found in the first hour. Some puzzles are hard, the first is a slider and I hate sliders so after a long wait, it was skipped. There is lots of traipsing around from room to room. Essentially Lost Halloween is an adventure game. The player gets to collect 6 different candies ( they are well hidden in plain sight ). These confections can be used to buy Halloween related items as a side line to the game. We get so many easy HOGs, HOPAs, and other forms of games that some get really old really fast. For those of us who relish a challenge Evil Pumpkin definitely stimulates the gray matter. This game is one that can be enjoyed at any time of the year and not just during Halloween. I certainly will acquire it using a free game code. Anybody wanting more pablum, stay away. Anybody seeking mental stimulation in a game, here it is. One last caveat: this is no game for beginners.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your ordinary HOG This is a great game. I have been playing it for 2 days. Someone stated that there is no jump map but there is you just don't get it right off, you have to find all the pieces . I'll have to say it is the hardest game i have played. Give it a try you WILL be surprised.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yep, I had to think...and think...and think some more! My first review...typically a "lurker" of reviews! This game is soooo different. If you want to put your thinking cap on, this is the game for you. Fair warning: it's long, too. The opening scenes take some figuring out, but once you get the hang of the game play - a wild & wacky world opens up. The storyline is fantastic! There are all sorts of puns and goofy references to odd subjects. Even some of the less than perfect translations to English resulted in me guffawing at them. Options for play are casual and adventure mode. You get hidden objects in casual, classic point and click in adventure. Huge variety of puzzles, some of which made me want to chew all my fingernails off. (I'm no "expert"...so if I can solve them, you can too.) Unlike games with the persistent and cloying "cute animal" assistant, various characters (and animals) do pop up to help out. A cat with a deep and debonaire voice was my favorite. There are achievements plus candy pieces all throughout the game that can be used as payment for cool stuff to decorate a Halloween yard. Perfect game for this time of year!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Funny! Light-hearted and doesn't take itself too seriously! Funny dialog. Funny premise. Bought it just because it was Hallowe'en themed, not expecting much. This is not trying to be Dark Realms or League of Light. It is thoroughly enjoyable, smart, and with good play/tech. And unexpectedly laugh out loud! Grab it! Hope these guys do more!
Date published: 2014-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Evil Pumpkin This game is absolutely unique and charming. It is also challenging, forcing one to think out of the box. I don't remember the last time I laughed (and groaned) so much in one game. Once I left the house grounds I found the gameplay a bit easier, thank goodness. I noticed none of those 'oh here is the broken ladder that is in all the other games' moments playing Evil Pumpkin. Totally refreshing. The only BIG drawback was the ending. There are (or should be) 6 chapters to this game. The sixth is skipped, for some reason. Therefore the storyline is unexplained and there is absolutely no closure. BIGFISH PLEASE FIX THIS!! And give us more games like Evil Pumpkin!!
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Epic" Challenge This game definitely has it's challenges. Hours of hard work and a lot of thinking…thinking…thinking. Played in "Epic Adventure" mode with absolutely no help at all from hints, glints, maps, and no walkthrough available. I have to say, this game, by far, was the hardest game played in my library. Epic Adventure had one HOP. Graphics were bright and colorful. Music was not repetitious. Main character was quirky, but tolerable. I would have given this game 5 stars, however, all the hours that I put into collecting candy, and when the game was over, I was unable to go back to the shop and buy merchandise after the final scene. Also, the ending was abrupt with little explanation to who a certain character was. Great game. I'll probably go back and play it again (in Epic :) ). As much as you want to give up in the first hour of the game, try not to...only if you like a good challenge. ;)
Date published: 2014-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging and Unique "Evil Pumpkin" is a unique game that challenges the player. I never play games on the lowest setting but this one, I do. Casual is still pretty darn hard. Casual setting gives hidden object games and puzzles...intermediate gives NO hidden object games, and less hints...hard must be near impossible. There is a lot of pixel clicking but this is a Halloween treat that surprises. Give it a shot, it is humorous and somewhat addictive.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween Charming and very original and different. You have to figure things out yourself, find tiny candies and bats. It's different and I like that.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting & Unique Game But...... Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween was an interesting game but.. very confusing. I liked its quirkiness, humorous characters and strange places to visit. Some fun and innovative puzzles. Definitely had me scratching my head. Game played fairly well but lacked direction, a lot of direction! One puzzle was just plain absurd. Sorting personal items between a priest and a young woman. Somewhat ambiguous as some items could go anywhere and became a gruesome guessing game. You could spend a lot to time deciding and then not have it right and have to start again. The rhymes and verses made no sense and did not have much to do with anything to aid you through the game. The main character a young boy constantly alluded to his journal but there wasn’t very much there to help. You collected candy to buy items to decorate the yard. They are very, very small and in dark corners and under things. Almost impossible to see but they are there. Be on the lookout for black bats in the scenes as these increase your amount of hints. You are definitely going to need them all. I finished it but not without a ton of help from the game forum and a visit on-line to look at a video or two in order to move forward. Not my favorite but maybe I will play again to see if I could do better at figuring it all out.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Real Odd Ball ... Graphics & Sound OK With Some Real Weird Voice Bits ... The Game Is An All Round Odd Ball That Keeps Dragging On & On ... I Almost Bailed Out Before The Game Finished ... Some Item Usage Is Also Very Bizarre, Almost Akin To Some Of The Early PC Adventure Games ... Think Weird & You'll Get Through It Quicker ...
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not worth downloading I did not like it at all, it is more for a child then an adult. Usually it asked if you want the help, not throw it in your face. I usually skip the help section, but it would not let you skip it.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed-[Halloween Candy] Bag: this won't appeal to everyone I decided not to buy after trial but there's lots good here, not the least of which is a Halloween-themed game that is neither too childish for adults nor too gruesome for young people. Perhaps if i had understood the dev's logic for task order better, I would have enjoyed it more. This is a game for adventure story fans only: if you are the kind of person who likes more tasks to complete than HOG scenes you might like this one, but if you get annoyed by large inventories full of items or long to-do lists, you may get totally aggravated about 20 minutes into the first section. As you try to unwrap (no pun intended) the mystery of Halloween in your town, and what your father is doing, you also are collecting candies in various scenes to buy Halloween swag and decorations for your achievements page. On Casual Mode, the sparkles are too plentiful (I started going in and out of rooms randomly bc everything sparkled!) but one saving grace: the help button refreshes at a very quick pace, and lights the way all the way until you found what you need. Music and background sounds were fine, and the deeply saturated colors are nice--it trends a bit towards cartoony, but in a way that I think is appropriate for this game. I prefer adventure games & FROGs over HOGs, and I'm a big fan of all things Halloween, so I *really wanted* to like it. Devs had lots of clever details in and around the scenes (you pick up achievements by clicking in the most unexpected places). However, became exasperated towards the end of my trial time for having to ask the help each step of the way, and for the pixel-hunting clickfest that is required to advance to the next task. HOGs were pretty but standard fare (I have a minor quibble on dev's labeling of items, like calling what looks like twine a "ball of yarn", but you'll have no problem finding items) and puzzles were very easy overall (I personally like a good hard head-scratcher, but lots of people skip puzzles anyway, so this may not matter to you) The elements of this game that made me choose not to buy it: -No jump map (that drives me personally crazy with adventure games). It is possible that you can build one eventually, but you don't have one when you start -Vague directions on how to accomplish your task list in your journal -Holding such a large amount of items in your inventory at once, without knowing what to use when -Super-annoying voice-overs. The voices were awful and didn't seem to match the character, but it was utterly gratuitous for this story anyway. I will continue to be on the look-out for other games by this developer, since there was a lot of potential here, but there are much better Adventure/HOG games out there now.
Date published: 2014-10-14
  • y_2019, m_5, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_21927, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Evil Pumpkin: The Lost Halloween

Seek the help of Lemuel Barnabas and unravel the mystery of what happened to Halloween in this ludicrous and imaginative hidden object adventure.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.