Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(349.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

How far will you go to save your only daughter's life? Is there a limit? Help Owen Wright rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Lonely Hearts Killer, the mysterious figure who kidnaps and murders people who have suffered a love gone wrong. Unravel the intrigue, put a stop to the whirlwind of crime that has paralyzed this late 19th century British city. Olivia must live! The killer must be brought to justice! Only you can do it!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter with a surprising plot.
  • An integrated strategy guide
  • Downloadable soundtrack, concept art and wallpapers
  • An interview with the developers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1193 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(349.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 160.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! I just finished the trial on this game, and I'm for sure going to buy it! A lot of original ideas and game play, and I'm looking forward to finishing it.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Keeper What graphic's and the animation great hints are fast especcially during the hour play. Fun another good one and good story.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must buy! I've only played the demo so I don't really know too much about the game, but I do know that this is the best game I've ever played! I feel like I'm actually part of it. I will leave a more comprehensive review after I've finished it. Now I must go and pay for it!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!! This is a great game....fun & entertaining!
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game from this series I enjoyed playing this game, it kept me focused all along. Wonderful game.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!!!! I absolutely love this game,the graphics were great,I really enjoyed the storyline
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! I really enjoyed this game and visually it was a real treat. It is suggested that you play with the sound on and I agree. There is a lot of voice over done very well and some wonderful music. The storyline is good and a bit different, focusing on a serial murderer targeting the lovelorn. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2013-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice storyline Lots of HO, storyline easy to follow, diaglogs made sense. Didnt wear out the sneakers going in alot of different directions finding objects. Hints refilled fast, guide helped me out and easy to follow. You have to flip pages to get to the place you are stuck. Over all a game this kept my interest. Highly recommend to people that don't want to get frustrated with what to do next!
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Game! I'm surprised to see this has an overall 4 star rating from members. I've bought more games than I care to admit over the years, and when I find one I truly love, I look for more like it. I wish there were many games like this one. The dark mystery theme is appealing to me, and the characters were interesting. Some scenes weren't appropriate for young persons, and that is the only caution I would give. The scenery is beautiful, with Victorian era buildings, furnishings, clothing. There's fog and rain in some scenes, and intriguing HO sites and graphics. The rain actually sounded like it was really raining outside, whereas some games have rain that sounds so fake. The game playing was smooth in transition from scene to scene. The dialogue between the characters was well done, with some tongue-in-cheek humor people might miss if not paying close attention. I logged in to search for more games like this one. Here's hoping...
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shades of Titanic The game was fun, if one has patience....Loads of dialogue and if you skip any of it you are missing some of the gist of the game. Not since my early gaming days of playing Titanic have I seen a game quite like this. Yea!!! The way the characters moved was realistic and except for the scenes of the interrogations it moved right along. Good playing time, I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GAME EVER!!!!! I am pretty sure I have almost 200 BF games now, and I have to say that this is the best game I have ever played. The storyline is captivating, the graphics are crisp and clean, and the voices are fabulous. This is one game that you cannot play without sound. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the conversations between characters throughout the whole game. In between conversations the music was lovely. I cannot find anything wrong with this game at all.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT...WONDERFUL...TERRIFIC This game is awesome in every way. The music is back in the day Private Eye music. The VO'S very realistic. Characters move around the scenes. This is a well thought out and well put together mystery that is adventure all the way. I would give this more than 5 stars for how clever it is done. There are many cut scenes and these advance the storyline. You can skip if you want to. The map is not interactive. The only negative may be the bonus game. It's not as engrossing as the main story. I tip my hat to the developers on this one. It's a winner all the way !!!!
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic and Fun Game Loved the graphics. I liked how each area completed so you were not wondering all over to try and find objects. Interesting story. Like others said it was like watching a movie. I really enjoyed this game. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hidden object game Absolutely loved this game. Downloading other brink of consciousness...hope it just as fun!
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good hidden object game this was a great game. the story line and voice interactive was excellent. hidden object scenes were great. i would recommend this game
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Game! I don't comment on games too often but do rely on other players comments when deciding to purchase. I absolutely loved this game. It was written differently as you had "living" characters to interact with. I don't remember another game being set up like this. Story line was very good. Multiple characters so you did not know who the "bad guy" was until the end. Overall, I totally recommendthis game with five stars across the board!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent! This is wonderful! This has everything you could want in a game. Yes, it's chatty, but therein lay part of it's charm. The rest is the graphics, sound, HOS, games and storyline. You do have the choice of listening to the conversation or skipping it if you find it tedious. I found that you learn little tidbits of the story if you listen to the characters. Set in what seems to be the late 1800's England, there is a killer on the loose who cuts the hearts out of people who are unlucky in love after he kills them. He then leaves them to be found in very public places. You are the father of missing girl and you are helping the detective on the case find the "Lonely Hearts Killer". Three modes of play. Lots of fine tuning like voice levels, music, environmental sounds, regular sound effects, graininess of the graphics, cursor, widescreen, etc. There is a hint that is of help outside the HOs, a skip for games, a map and a journal. The HOs are very crisply drawn and not dark; they are interactive. The games are different and likewise crisply drawn and fun. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this game. I am always so happy to get this quality of game to play and this is a buy for me. I played the demo and can't wait to play the rest of the game.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like an Old Time Movie This game was so fun. Love the easy going play between characters. I did not think it was going to be a great game, but the review got me interested. Love the hidden way the cats were in the HOS. That was great fun. So many great games this year that I need a top 20 so I can have this on my favorites list.
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT. EXCELLENT HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES This is a very well designed hidden object mystery game that gives you the sense of being in a turn-of-the-century murder mystery in high society england. You get drawn in as characters talk to you, and you respond vocally in the game. You can choose not to engage in conversation beyond the initial needed conversations that progress the game, or you can click on characters and have them converse at length with you, but you don't need to go through the complete conversations in order to advance and play the game. The hidden object scenes are the best I've encountered in a long time. If you love playing hidden object games, you should enjoy this. The scenes are active and entertaining. For example, in a hidden object scene behind one of the locked gates there is the typical mix of objects but there is also a can of paint hanging from a rope. You have to tip the can of paint to make it spill over a ball on the ground to turn the ball red and then collect the red ball. And there is a cat toy, a squeaking rubber mouse, you touch it to make it squeak and four different cats stick their heads out from behind various objects... you have to click on the black cat to collect it.., but the cats duck down again quickly so you have to be ready, and each time you squeeze the cat toy the black cat pops up in a different place. That's just an example of the clever and creative design that went into making the hidden object scenes lots of fun to play in this game. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Sherlock Holmes type of story I surprised myself by enjoying this game immensely and, even with a decided lack of patience, I listened to all of the conversations. If you do not like a good old fashioned Sherlock Holmes detective story - and I'm not a huge fan of detective shows in general myself - with a lot (and I mean, an awful) lot of dialogue, then turn away now. This, however, pulled me in from the start. I very much enjoyed Dorian Gray and this is on a par with that game, even though it plays completely differently. There are references to Dorian Gray, which are explained in interviews with the developers in the 'Extras'. The music is relaxing and different for a change, the voiceovers very well done and I even enjoyed the H0S, some of which have humorous elements to them. Puzzles, I agree, are way too easy. I counted some 13 H0S in the main game and 4 in the bonus; and 17 puzzles main game, 4 in the bonus. I didn't find there to be too much running around. Once you move to a new location, you don't get to go right back to the very beginning. For me a teleportation map was not necessary, therefor, and I hardly looked at the map. Frankly, I'd rather play another game in this vein than the disappointment that was this year's MCF.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy delight I was able to preview this game before it hit the pond and I must say - I love it! Such a beautiful dialogue, intricate scenery, and hint button that works! You will be entralled as you walk through the streets and parks and mansions of this movie like adventure.Go for it!
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exceptional, But 1 Thing I Can Do Without... This is an incredible mystery game with excellent graphics and sounds. The voice overs are amazing, probably the best I've ever heard in a game, music is fitting to the game, same as if you were watching a mystery movie. The difference between this and the first Brink of Consciousness is that the 1st one is a horror story while this one is a true who dunnit mystery. You will encounter people that will speak through dialog bubbles and if you click more than once they will say different things, sometimes helpful some times not. This is set in the Victorian era and the graphics and scenery are beautiful. Interactive H.O. scenes and puzzles are scattered throughout the game. There is a map that shows where you are and where there are things to do. Not too helpful really, not a jump map. At the end of the C.E. there are the usual things, wallpapers, music tracks, concept art (not thrilled with concept art), and one thing I have not seen in a game; an interview with the game developers which was very interesting. Now for the thing I can do without, there were curse words which I really don't see a reason to have in a game. I wish they would not include this unnecessary kind of talk that has nothing to do with the game or the game play, which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. I would not recommend this game to younger players because it is an actual murder mystery in which you come across dead bodies, and also because of the curse words. I personally would replay this game, it really is awesome and I look forward to the next game from these developers, hopefully without the bad language. It seems from the ending of this game there could be a continuance of it.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clever detective game, worth buying! Some players have said that this game has too much talking, but I disagree, it reads like an Agatha Christie novel and the talking involves you further into the mystery. The time period is delightful, the graphics and details good, the story intriguing and you do feel like you are solving a real life English plot, none of this fairy-princess-magical-childish stuff that seems to be the order of the day and gets tiring pretty fast, at least for an adult. A few good HO, I usually am not fond of them but these were fine, clear and clever and not in abundance, and the mini-games fun and unusual and quite enjoyable. I also like the fact that the game had 3 separate chapters, so if you do not play it for a week for example, you have no problem remembering where you are since you have access to only 1 chapter at a time and do not have to go all the way back to refresh your memory. There is back and forth but limited to each chapter therefore not tedious. I loved playing this. It is clever and fun to solve, wish there were more true detective stories, in this vein, more realistic than what we get lately.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Worth It! Brink of Consciousness was an excellent game. Solid puzzles that didn't take too long, beautiful scenery, and excellent voiceovers. As someone with voiceover experience myself, I am often disappointed at the poor voice acting in many games. This one had higher quality actors that voiced their parts well. It always adds to the fun when people take their roles seriously. The only real drawback was that some of the dialogue scenes were too long. Characters rambled on and on without really adding to the story. Other than that, you will enjoy this one a lot. I know I did.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little lighter than expected. If you've a itch to play a Sherlock Homes type of HOM, then Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition is exactly what you are looking for. Set in a late 19th century british town we never learn the name of you follow is the step of Owen Wright to find your missing daughter. You have help from a local inspector, although his underlings are not all that bright. Your daughter, Olivia, is a distraught young woman in the fall of a nasty broken relationship, and she is the perfect target for the Lonely Hearts killer. This dangerous figure preys on those on the outs of of love, and now that Olivia has disappeared, she might be next in line for this monster to take down. While this game has a great plotline, and some clues are rather easy to follow, the background is a muddy nighttime grey just about all the time. The hidden object puzzles are not like this, however, and this kicked the fun factor up a bit. I actually found myself chuckling when I click on a mouse squeaky toy and ten cats popped up, although I only had to find the black one. Cute little diversions kept what might be an otherwise really dark game lighter and more fun that its other game in the franchise, Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome. These games, however do keep me curious to see what the writers will come up with next.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not challenging enough I'm a huge fan of the Dorian Gray game. It's my all-time favorite game is this genre. It has everything this game has as far as graphics/sound quality, storyline, immersive (I think Gray is more so#, but Gray is much more of a challenge than this one was. I played both on expert mode, but with Lonely Hearts, even on expert, I found the game much too easy. That was disappointing because that's a main reason I like to play these types of games - mostly for the puzzles and having to think to solve them. However, this may be a plus for some of you, and if that is the case I definitely recommend this game as everything else is high quality. I was a bit annoyed that you couldn't search the room during the voice-overs like you could with Dorian Gray. If you ever get stuck in this game, it'll be 1 of 2 things #or both): 1) you missed an item/puzzle in a scene somewhere 2) an HOS has been reactivated somewhere and you need to complete it to get a new inventory item. The game space is different for each chapter, and you don't go back to previous places. There aren't so many scenes in each chapter so re-examing places don't take much time. If you're patient and re-explore when you get stuck, you won't need to get any hints at all. Overall, a lovely game for beginner/intermediate. Expert solvers should play it for the storyline.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game But.... I played the CE version and this review is based on the trial. There are 3 difficulty modes: Casual, Normal and Expert. I played the game on Normal. PROS Beautiful graphics Logical Storyline Interesting Puzzles CONS Too much talking! The cut scenes were numerous, and you could not advance through the dialog. There was a skip button, but I didn't want to miss out on any clues. Puzzles could be more difficult. Sparkles - maybe on the Expert level you would not have the sparkle hints...but if you waited more than 5 seconds it sparkled on a clue. I would probably buy this as a SE version on sale.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm conflicted... I absolutely LOVED the first BOC game, so I came to this with high hopes...that initially, seemed doomed to be dashed. This game, while very good, doesn't quite live up to the first BOC. There are FAR too many cut scenes, the accents (even to a non-Brit) can be a bit hard to take, and the dialogue lurches between Victorian and modern-day...However, after watching part of the interviews in the Bonus Content (and I will go back and watch the rest; time is a factor here), I am quite willing to cut the devs a bit of slack and concede that I can't wait to re-play this game, in light of what I now know. Herewith, the pros and cons: Pros 1) Hands down, visually, one of the most beautiful games I've seen. I have a brand-new 24" monitor, and this game fills every square inch with simply gorgeous graphics. I liked the look of the earlier BOC, and the devs only build on that here. The Chinatown scenes, in particular, are simply phenomenal. 2) The music, oddly enough. No, the '40s, film-noir feel doesn't exactly fit the VIctorian England setting, but the music is beautiful, haunting, and one of only two soundtracks that I've ever wanted to listen to outside of the game. (Dire Grove was the other.) 3) The story - and I don't mean to belittle this element by placing it third, but, perhaps significantly, that's where it occurred to me. We have here a murder mystery, unlike the earlier game, where Oscar introduced himself right from the start. It's an intriguing story, if a bit far-fetched, but surely, the first thing we must be willing to do in one of these games is suspend disbelief. The story caught me up and carried me on, and I don't ask more than that. 4) Intriguing puzzles, with a level of difficulty that, for me, was spot on. I don't like puzzles that insult my intelligence; I also don't like puzzles that make me pound my head on the desk. That's a difficult line to walk; these puzzles do it perfectly - and I hadn't seen most, if not all, of them ever before. No Towers of Hanoi here, people. (Not that there's anything wrong with ToH.) 5) HO scenes that were clear and beautiful to look at, with a nice mix of regular and interactive objects. And now to the cons.. 1) Do any of the characters EVER stop talking? There was SO much dialogue here, and you really do need to listen to it, or you'll simply be lost. Some of the accents were "a bit dodgy" LOL, and some of the lines were ...just odd, but when I consider that this is from a dev for whom English is not the first language, much is forgiven. If the idiom ranges from Victorian to dated present-day, at least they get the point across. 2) SO many cutscenes - a carryover from point 1. I think, having watched the interviews, that the main problem here may that the devs were trying to cross genres - going from the self-described "horror story" of Dorian Grey to a murder mystery. I think they need to find a better way to convey the story behind a murder mystery, and, given what I've already seen from these folks, I think they will. I can't wait for their next effort. All in all, a good solid second effort. Like so many encore performances, this doesn't quite live up to the first. However, had it BEEN the first effort from these devs, I think we would all be raving about this game. Even if you don't feel inclined to purchase the CE (although I highly recommend that you do - the bonus isn't NECESSARY to the story, but it is illuminating), do buy the SE, if for no other reason than to bask in the simple beauty of the game. Darn near every scene is going into Jigsaws Galore to enjoyed all on it's own.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well done game you enjoy! Excellent graphics, sound and animation that makes you relax and enjoy the story. Nearly like a movie and at the same time you are an active part in it. My fiance is a senior game developer, so I have seen a lot of good graphics. This game is one of the most well done, no cheating with graphics and storytelling here, no.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A worthy succesor to Dorian Gray Syndrome One good thing right at the start: there are seriously no ghosts. I liked the serial killer and procedural approach. It looks fantastic, puzzles come along in a nice variety. Totally recommendable then? Well, almost. - the story is broken into chapters, which I didn´t really like. - while the developers obviously put a lot of work into the story (which is pretty interesting), there are LONG (skippable) scenes of dialogue in between, which almost gives it a "I´m-watching-a-movie"-kind of feel. Good then, that the voice acting does not mutilate your ears. - Detective Logan must be the most useless cop running around out there. All he did was stand around and let the player do the job. Man, he was getting to me. - they repeated that in bonus chapter, only that now YOU are the detective and there´s another useless cop at your side. Having said that, I enjoyed the bonus chapter almost more than the game itself. It´s long, there´s a bunch of fun puzzles. The end build a nice bridge to the first Brink. All in all, a worthy successor (or maybe prequel) and fun to play.
Date published: 2012-11-25
  • y_2022, m_7, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_16528, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Olivia has been kidnapped by the mysterious Lonely Hearts Killer who murders those suffering from a shattered love. Save her!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.