Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(267.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Return to Europe in a brand new adventure as Dana Knightstone, the best-selling novelist who can see ghosts. When your cousin, famed musician Sebastian Knightstone, starts hearing eerie violin music in his Austrian manor, he asks for your help to investigate. But you're not the only one digging up the ghost's secrets -- and you find yourself falling headlong into danger! Solve challenging puzzles as you trek through snowy Austrian landscapes in search of missing clues. Can you follow the ghost's trail before time runs out?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 409 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(267.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hereditary Ghost Seeing Abilities Dana Knightstone receives a letter from her distant cousin Sebastian Knightstone requesting her help with a dearly departed ghost. Until now Dana believed she was the only family member with the ability to see ghosts, and Sebastian has become too weak to help this ghost who was murdered. Dana must figure out who murdered Elsie, a musician and composer, and find the music she composed and hid just prior to her brutal murder. The Hidden Object Scenes are very interactive, many of them have codes that need to be found in order to open intricate locks and they also have a zoomed in area with more objects hidden within. There are a lot of mini games such as placing 10 different gears onto silhouetted outlines. Every scene is chock full of interactive areas with lots of inventory items to find and use as well as intricate locks to pick and cabinets and drawers to jimmy open. The Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, Concept Art, Cutscenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter. In my opinion this Standard Edition is the better value, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a good music story I really loved this game. I guess because I love music. The graphics and sound were great. I did need to use the hint button alot, but the game was still fun to play. I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I love a good story and this game has one! Good graphics and sound too. I liked the unique HOGS. Puzzles were not hard. I really enjoyed this game. I look forward to more just like it!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this DK novel game I love the Dana Knightstone series and this one was fantastic. Excellent graphics and storyline as always. Gameplay is nice and fast. It has a good amount of adventure in it and is challenging. Purchased the full game without hesitation, and the length and difficulty of it make it worth the money. I always find the CE of DK's are worth purchasing too.
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a story come complete I really liked this ghost story though it's different with real people vs. monsters in other adventures. The graphics are not Boom Zap's highest quality, but it may be the preferred style of this particular team.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reunited Lovers This is my 3rd DK game, as good as ever. It's long on puzzles, short on junk pile HOPs (my preference is more HOPs), but the story is excellent--easy to follow and plausible. The ghosts are friendly and helpful. Villains are bad, but not nasty, and the heroine always wins the day. I love this series.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as the previous ones, but still worthwhile It is a good story, and the visuals are good too. (If too cold for me, gave me the shivers). Still, I do not find it up to the standards of the previous ones. The settings are pretty enough, but not stunningly beautiful, not so much a delightful travelogue. The story relies more on frantic action than on a leisurely pace. I loved the previous two installments, and it makes me sad to see the games go the way of generic adventure games, losing much of their initial charm. Still, it is a good game, still it is a good story, and the HOS have clever vairations, and are quite crisp and clean. The minigames were OK. It is a good game, still.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game... I really like this series as I do most Boomzap games. They are very talented developers and always outweigh my expectations for a great game. They just keep getting better and better. This game has more puzzles than hidden object scenes which I like however they were all very, very easy. None of them took me more than 5 minutes to solve and I was playing on the hardest mode. I would have liked more of a challenge like the other games in this series which is why I gave it 2 stars in that department but overall I did enjoy it playing it. Hidden object scenes are done quite well and are all interactive. The voiceovers are great just like usual with this developer. The inventory box locked. thank you! such a little thing but it makes a big difference! There was no map but since each chapter is a new location, it doesn't require one. I did really like this aspect but had it been a collectors edition and you were collecting things, it would have been a drag not to be able to go back. The story line was kind of weird in this one. I felt like it got rushed near the end. However, it did end satisfactory for me and I did not feel as though I missed crucial parts without a bonus chapter. Overall, this is a very enjoyable game but shorter than previous ones in this series. I clocked in at about 3 hours. Also, the level of challenge is lacking therefore I am taking off 1 star. Very good game though and I think I will probably replay it someday! Kudos!
Date published: 2013-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun, lovely story, has something for everyone BASED ON COMPLETED GAME ON EXPERT LEVEL I really loved playing this game. It has everything I like; a ghost, mystery and adventure. The music is beautiful to listen to as you go. Playing this game is a lot like watching an hour mystery drama. It flows seamlessly from beginning to end with gorgeous graphics, interesting puzzles and creative solutions to situations. I liked how I (the main character) was often getting into harm's way and having to recover from or think my way out of them. The character voice overs are well done and help to make for immersion into their world while the story logically and sequentially traps you into the tragedy. The HOS were unpredictable and fun, but not too hard. All of the games were easily doable which kept the story moving. I didn't need any hints or a map, so I don't know if there were any (oops, sorry.) My only tiny complaint is the comic book character feel to the drawings. I would like them to look more realistic. A HUGE plus with this game is that, with the exception of ONE item (and nope not telling you which it is ;) there is virtually NO backtracking. All of the objects are found in close proximity to where they are used. Kudos to the devs for that!!! I also like the way the game is divided into chapters with titles. I thought that was cool. The only reason I'm not giving this a 5 is because it's a bit too easy. Other than that, it's really wonderful. Bottom line; loads of fun, lovely story, logical progression, doable games and HOS, enjoyable story line which wraps up nicely. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this mystery format (played the CE in advanced mode) I liked this game. This "mystery novel" format was new to me, and it was interesting to see that genre translated to a game. Still, things seemed just a little odd, until the pub scene. What was on the TV made me laugh, and finally "get" it. I loved the music. The mini-games were really fun; most were not terribly difficult to solve, but they were really creative, and there were several types I'd never seen before. For me, there was just the right number of HOS - too many and I get a little squirmy. What I really liked were the hints -- they were very explicit, spelling out exactly what to look for, in a specific location. Since I try to use hints only as a last resort, I really value this. Because I like to wander around in the , think about what's going on, and use hints only as a last resorted, this game lasted 10 hours for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. However,it didn't give me that "this game is so totally amazingly cool," with accompanying little adrenalin rush, that for me is the difference between four and five stars. However, I really did thoroughly enjoy this game.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Way to pass a few hours These games are simplistic and easy to do. But they are a good way to pass a couple of hours. There is little effort or thought involved when playing these and for me, that can be a good thing. I always have a couple of games on the go and if one is especially taxing, then I like to have a game like this to play. I don't want to put the reader off. The storyline is lovely and the graphics are great but it is predictable. You always instinctively know what to do next but as I said earlier, not necessarily a bad thing. I would recommend this game but not if you want to stretch your mind.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Somebody Listened Too Well GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES I think the developers have listened too well to that very vocal group of hard core gamers for whom everything is too easy. The first two games of this series were light-hearted, pretty, easy romances, and were delightful because of it. Not so Austrian Sonata. It is beautiful, but it is dark in a way the previous games haven’t been. And more dangerous. And more dramatic. MINOR SPOILER ALERT** Even the happily ever after is bitter sweet. **SPOILER FINISHED But above all, this game is much more difficult to play. I found myself skipping too often, and practically relying exclusively on hint to get around. And they even stole the achievements to the CE’s exclusive use. Despite all these problems I still finished the game in just over 3 hours – very short for me, and certainly shorter than most games I play. One important plus about this game, though, - as you’d expect from the name – the music is enchanting and refreshing. All up? I think the developer tried too hard on this one, but it is still a beautiful game.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good story with nice graphics The story is interesting. There are 3 game modes. The graphics are very clear, as are the HOS. The puzzles are on the easy side but interesting. There is a journal but no map; but you don't need one since there are not many locations in each chapter. The music gets boring after some time. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to complete in Advanced mode.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVELY FUN GAME Great adventure game with exciting gameplay, nice mix of puzzle games & HOs. Lovely graphics and excellent VOs. Only downside is length- played full game in advanced mode in under 3 and half hours. Recommend for beginner/intermediate who prefer adventure & minigames. Great break from horror type as it is more detective with a hint of fantasy.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thrilling winter wonderland!! Played already the CE and was curious what the differences are... For those who love to earn achievments I recommend to play the CE!! Here are none.... But this one's still great fun, I promise! There is a lot to do and to explore, unfortunately without a map, but thank god, with a very good hint system, telling you what to do next. We have a good balance of interactive HOS and welldone puzzles, some new and not too challenging. Graphics are sharp and clear! And when I take a look outside the window: this game fits to the current weather: I love that!! Wellmade notebook. - 3 modes to play. Yes! I recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For some of this game I would give it a 3 I was looking forward to playing this game, and after reading the CE reviews, I really wish I would have bought the CE. There aren't any fun things to look for which it sounds like the CE had. BUT my biggest complaint of this game is when I made a decision not to play on the "casual" mode and went for LONGER times to wait to skip a game...some of the games to play were frustrating and I just wanted to skip and couldn't...and with other games I have purchased, if I had made the decision to change the mode of play...I could have...THis game will not allow you to do so. Very frustrating, because I have better things to do than sit and wait for the skip to fill in.....BUT even with all of that said.....I do like this game. I like the conversations, although short, that the character has with people. The HO's have some different kinds in this game and I really enjoyed that. SO, overall I am liking this game. I am on Chapter 5 and I believe someone wrote there are only 6 chapters...Hope that is wrong because that means I am almost done and I only began this today....And I haven't been playing ALL day either...So that will be another disappointment to have with this game...too short. I will wait and see.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A pleasant, relaxing game for a winter's eve This is another lovely Dana Knightstone game with nice graphics, beautiful music, good voiceovers, interactive HOscenes, easy puzzles/minis. The storyline is decent & gameplay is easy. I like the DK Novel games, including this one because they're easy on the eyes artistically, and fill the bill when i'm looking for a game to play for relaxation. There's nothing here that's going to make you jump or cringe, no occult influence, no heart pumping action. You'll occasionally see a benign ghost, of course. You won't need the map you don't have anyway, & the hint button gives clear instruction, eliminating need for a guide or walkthru if you get stuck. This is just a nice easy game that you can play when the brain's on the charger in the evening. It relaxed me when i needed it, so 4 stars for the favor :) Altogether, quite pleasant. Enjoy your gaming, folks.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun! I like this game, but then I like all BoomZap games. I give it 4.5 stars. Map isn't needed because yr not clikin' a thousand times back & forth.. it' not innundated with HOS's #which I like# but when they do appear they're interactive. There was one little thing which nauseated me... the voice-over for the little girl on the train was BAD. She sounded like an adult transvestite with a nasal problem. I do recommend this game. esp. if you like the Awakening series, as its similar.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good enough Although not as good as the excellent 'Death at Fairing Point' this is still a pretty good game. The storyline is okay, you need to solve the mystery of a dead violinist circa 1910. There are great sharp graphics, some wonderful snowy locations and lovely music. Many of the HOS are beautifully drawn and they are fun to do with slight variations. There are many puzzles too which are good, however, they are way too easy to do. Although there are 3 modes of play, the puzzles are still way too easy, that is my only criticism as I prefer solving harder puzzles, it gives you far greater satisfaction.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Logic is used a little more this time. As a lot of us know, real world logic doesn't always apply to these type of games. It kind of does with this one which made it more enjoyable. There was a time or two in which the game got stuck and I had to close it out and come back for it to register my clicks. I don't know if that is related to my computer or what. I remember another issue that frustrated me was in a hidden object scene- one was suppose to find "mascara". The object that it was referring to was "eyeliner".
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game, cool story! Enjoyed this game. Took me and my husband 3.5 hours to play it together. Not super challenging, but the story keeps it going and it's interesting.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Mix of Optical Journeys in Fantastic Locations and Great Gameplay As with the other two games of this series this game combined a great storyline, which although it had many superficial characteristic (more than the other two games) which I normally don't like was intriguing, with a great game play experience based on mind and skill games. It included great aspects of object finding games but was much more than that with certain aspects coming close to a film. What I really liked was that because of this cinematic sense it gave you the ability to really involve in the story and the game.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rather Disappointing Actually I was so impressed with the last Dana Knightstone game ("Death Under Tuscan Skies") that I decided to get all three games that have been released so far after that one. This is the third one in the series, coming after the Tuscan Skies. So I played it first, and I must say that I was really disappointed... The game definitely had many positives. The graphics were beautiful, and the locations really nice. The music was wonderful too, and fit the storyline perfectly. The Hidden Object Puzzles (HOPs) were rather easy, but fun. Most of the non-HOP puzzles were pretty creative and fun, and all fairly easy as well. I was disappointed, however, because the storyline is really not that interesting. There was not much suspense either. If you pay attention to the notes, journal entries, and other clues, you will pretty much figure out the whole plot long before the end of the game. What is probably worse though is that the storyline - the real ghost story - is not even plausible, let alone realistic. But you will probably have to play the game to see what I mean by that. In addition, there are just way too many HOPs and non-HOP puzzles. I am glad that, unlike the Tuscan Skies' standard edition, this one did not have any Achievements. But the excessive number of HOPs and other puzzles were just as distracting from the main game as any Achievements. So, again, it was not a good idea to have so many HOPs and other puzzles. While I was not so thrilled with this game, I would not go so far as to not recommend it. If you don't care much about a good, riveting storyline, and would like to play a game just for the sake of a whole variety of HOPs and other puzzles, you might well love this game. If so, then
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in BoomZap...too easy VERSION Standard Edition full game DEVELOPER BoomZap GENRE Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure Mystery (Supernatural) STORYLINE You return in your role as Dana Knightstone, a novelist who can see ghosts. This time, you travel to Austria to help your ill cousin Sebastian, who can also see ghosts. Sebastian has been experiencing visitations of a ghost named Elise, a violinist like him. Elise asks him to solve her murder and find the original music she wrote, along with her priceless violin. Since he is ill, he asks for your help. The only problem is…someone else is after the violin as well. GAMEPLAY Move from area to area, picking up objects you'll need, solving puzzles, and completing HO scenes which provide you with additional necessary items. Being a huge BoomZap fan, I'm sorry to have to say that the puzzles range from ridiculously easy (match up the halves according to the clues right in front of you) to tedious (untangle the cables). The HO scenes, while beautifully rendered, are child's play. INTERFACE There's no map, but the travel is linear with minimal backtracking since you move from chapter to chapter. Your journal holds the story as it unfolds, as well as clues you'll need to progress. Hints recharge quickly. TECHNICAL No issues. GRAPHICS Instantly recognizable as BoomZap, developer of the Awakening quartet and the new Botanica series. Well-rendered in proportion and perspective, and beautiful use of color. CUTSCENES Appropriate to the story, but neither long nor annoying. MUSIC Quite beautiful, which is apropos given the theme of the game. Haunting violins. SOUND Game and ambient sounds appropriate and tolerable. VOICEOVER The voice of Dana Knightstone, as usual, is quite well done, brimming with personality and determination. Sebastian came off somewhat naive. His butler's voice was a dead ringer for Ahnuld…"I'll be back." SUMMARY If you're a Dana Knightstone fan, I would recommend this game to you, if only to complete your collection. Otherwise, I found it far too easy. Frankly, I'm glad I used a "free game" coupon. It's a shame, really, because the story line was terrific.
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so game 3rd in the Dana Knightstone series. Dana is a novelist/detective who can see ghosts. Storyline is her cousin who is dying needs her help to find some missing music sheets lost by a dead violinist (Elise) who has been haunting him. HOPA (Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure) although more HOS (Hidden Object Scenes) than Puzzles Developers are Boomzap (one of my favourite) Game opens in wide screen (always a bonus) Graphics are clear and sharp Audio clear 3 modes of play (find what is offered for each in settings) You can't change mode of play once started (a little extra some of the Devs have been offering of late] Custom or Systems Cursor, both work smoothly Journal which keeps info for further gameplay, so check regularly Hint and skip button take about 70-80 seconds to fill in Normal mode (too long for this impatient player] Hint tells you exactly what you have to do - don't like this in games, after all you're requesting a hint not a solution. There are voiceovers (which I find strange when the character's mouth doesn't move and they're staring at you, especially the butler, he's really weird] I found the HOS quite fun and varied if a little strange. The first one you had to find so many of certain items, which I liked. HOS are interactive [find this to cut or fix this) I found this quite a strange game....Unlocked a door and there is the butler tied to a chair staring at me, requesting I untie him but do I untie him immediately....no! I have to do a HOS first while the butler is giving me evil eye....weird! Loved the snowy scenes and the cute little animals, just not too sure about the rest. I do recommend this game but with reservations
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyable, but very easy This game would make a good introduction to the HOS genre or a pleasant diversion for experienced players who don't want to have to think too much. The graphics and game play are fine, just not very challenging. The SE was fine, but I wouldn't spring for the CE.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wow was I disappointed in this one! I own the other Dana Knightstone games and thoroughly enjoyed them. This story did not grab me I guess. The story was not as well done as the other games. The game was way to easy, the puzzles ridiculously easy and so I found this game boring. Never had to use a hint once. It took me only 2 and half hours to finish the game and was not worth the money. I would wait for a sale on this one.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better This story isn't explained as well as in the past games. It also dosen't seem as long or as detailed. This game is okay but it could have been a lot better. The music and art are nice but the games could use some improvment too.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dull dull dull dull. skip this one.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't know how this received such good ratings! It was disjointed and irritating! I could not get through the free hour. I do not read her books so maybe you have to be a fan to like this.
Date published: 2013-02-06
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_16704, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel

Can you solve the mystery of the ghostly violinist?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.