Christmas Stories: Nutcracker
Exclusive

Christmas Stories: Nutcracker

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(308.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A classic Christmas tale tail, with a whole new twist! Help the Nutcracker rescue the princess from the evil Rat King in this memorable hidden-object puzzle adventure game.

You might be too late for the Christmas Ball, but you're just in time for adventure! The Nutcracker needs your help, and there's an army of rats running rampant through the kingdom. Luckily, a few cute little sidekicks have got your back. Uncover the Rat King's evil plot - and find out what created the toothy little monster.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 699 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Fantasy Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Christmas Stories: Nutcracker

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(308.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Christmas Stories: Nutcracker is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am loving this game The perfect game for this time of year. You have the Christmas theme, the game has bad characters like the rats but nothing too scary for kids. I am loving the map feature that lets you click on the room and you are there instead of trying to remember where the room is. So far I have played about half an hour. The games are pretty good. Not that many hidden objects (thank goodness) but the ones that are there have a couple of interactive things you need to find (put the pencil in the pencil sharpener etc. I have a candle (live (?) character) and a kitten to help me get things and the nutcracker helps too. I am so glad I bought this!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive This is the best HOG I've played in a long time. I had pretty low expectations to start because typically these holiday games aren't great, but I was completely sucked in by the intro scene and the gorgeous starting locations, highlighted by a beautifully decorated Christmas tree and a magical atmosphere of wonder. The visuals are definitely the best thing about this game. It successfully blends hand-painted backgrounds with pretty 3D models/objects and animated cut scenes while still retaining a dreamy, magical overall atmosphere. There are fewer hidden object scenes than typical for this genre, but I appreciated it. I don't like playing one scene after the other continuously, so I thought there were a good number in this game and they were spaced apart well. The scenes were beautiful; some of the items require an additional step (e.g. putting two halves of a pair of scissors together) but they were always logical. At first the puzzles seemed on the easy side (although they required some careful thinking), but there were also a couple of unique puzzles that I really appreciated and enjoyed solving. even the puzzles that seem more familiar had enough of a variation on them to make them challenging/interesting. It's rare to find something fresh and creative for puzzles in this genre, so big props to Elephant for that! There is quite a bit of backtracking in the game, but it isn't a problem because there's a map that you can use to jump around. It also shows you locations where you can take an action, which I really appreciated. The adventure (collecting and using inventory items) portion of the game is very good. You find obstacles like locked chests, screwed in grates, etc. in some of the early locations that you can't open until later on in the game when you find the necessary items, so the game has more of a non-linear feel to it, which I like. The real highlight was being able to carry companions around in your inventory who you could call on for specific tasks. The nutcracker fights rats, the candle can light things on fire, and the cat is able to access high places. Each usage of these companions has a nice animated cut scene, and it made me feel like I had some buddies accompanying me on my journey. You see only one person (the doorman) - where did all the guests go? - in the whole game (and a bunch of rats) so it would have felt lonely without the companions. The story is pretty straightforward (save the princess!), but there is a very interesting backstory that melds several fairy tales and children's stories, along with an original twist on things. This back story is told in high quality cut scenes with voice overs and I really enjoyed them. Overall this was a beautiful, well made game that was a delight to play.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Holiday Game If your looking for a fun holiday game to play this is it. The story line is great, the graphics are good and the music is wonderful. Overall, I would have to say this is one of my favorite Hidden Object games to play. I thouroughly enjoyed it and the bonus game is fun too. A must have for those Hidden Object buffs out there! You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is no fruitcake! In the past I've found holiday themed games are usually kinda hokey. This is a 5* game all the way! It has all the bells and whistles of current games. I especially liked the helpers and the helpful, jumpable map. It has super pretty graphics, the gameplay flows nicely with challenging minis. Other devs need to make their games like this one :)
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST i really like before i purchased it i read all the reviews but it,s a shame i didn,t buy the CE still i enjoy the SE
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1000 stars for a nut... Best game for 2012. Do not hesitate to get this game. I was reluctant at first thinking it was a child game but by no means it is for adults too.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the very best. This is a wonderful game. Pure delight + the bonus of the lovely music. It succeeds at every level and has immense charm. It puts some other recent games to shame. If BF could maintain this standard it would be great.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've played in a long time! Excellent graphics and music. Excellent story line without being long and annoying. Good long length. Excellent interactive map. Excellent hint system. Fun puzzles. There's just nothing bad to say about this game. I loved it!
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My All-Time Favourites! This game has it all - gorgeous graphics, fun storyline, a range of challenging puzzles mixed in amongst the HO tasks, and best of all - heaps of gameplay, it goes on and on, and then you still have the bonus game to play! I really feel like I got my money's worth with this one :)
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Christmas Story I bought this game a little while ago but saved it for now and have just finished the main story. I am looking forward to playing the bonus chapter. Game is based on the classic story of The Nutcracker. Beautiful artwork Variety of puzzles, some easy, some tricky, all of them fun. I loved everything about this game, especially the rat king, and thoroughly enjoyed playing it. What a Christmas treat!
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful game!! I loved this game!! It was so much fun. It definitely wasn't just a little child's game (in fact I wouldn't let a child play this; it's a little too violent). I really enjoyed the part with the bad snowman. I laughed my head off. I figured since it was a holiday game it would be fairly short. But it kept me entertained for a few hours. In fact I've played it through twice now. I think that everybody would love this game, even grown men.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have game *I finished CE game playing hardcore* Every aspect of the plot was completely 100% tied up in main game. The bonus was a pure bonus plot (not needed to finish the plot in main game), completely separate from the main plot. Apart from one of your secondary helpers (the cat) none of the other characters in the main game were in the bonus chapter. This is going to be my new Christmas tradition to play this wonderful game every Christmas. From the Tchaikovsky music, to the setting and puzzles being part of story and setting. Everything is nearly perfect apart from the length of main game but we’ll come to that later. This is a game that you can play with your family and of all the games I’ve played all year it’s the one that has the highest fun factor, it’s a joy to play. The nutcracker’s love - a doll has been kidnapped by King rat and his band of followers and you go and help him to find her aided with some truly fun companions along the way. Graphics are stunning and it’s such a beautiful game. I’d say you’d have to be the Grinch that stole Christmas games if you weren’t at least enchanted by the beginning of the game (even if you didn’t like it.) Gameplay mechanics is exactly the same with any other recent elephant game but just in case you forgot – transporter map with hints on all levels, choice of hardness setting which you can change midgame, no hint or skip on hardcore but as usual black bar hints, no random click penalty on HOS and you never repeat them. There is a lockable inventory bar. 12 HOS (hidden object scenes) While the graphics are super sharp elsewhere, it’s like they are 95% sharp in some HOS. They are well defined but it’s like they want to go the road of some other devs and blend some in slightly. There are some tiny items but I did find them all. Some are junk, some are very cluttered. They are all list type (as usual from elephant) and no mini games in them just mildy/medium interactive. 14 PUZZLES There is an info and reset button on them. I knew as this is more a family game that there wouldn’t be any hard puzzles but on a couple they were clever as a couple were unique and took a while for me to figure out the objective. One of the achievements is not to use the hint/info button on puzzles. By doing that I was OK with the hardness of them, mostly easy to medium. They had your usual (which please I’ve had enough of) rotating rings and rotating circles (here it was squares – put your coloured icons on different parts of the board.) They did have some twists on some – gear puzzle and loved the – click on things in area to accomplish a task (cardboard cutout of girl) and the flag puzzle which took me ages to work out the objective. Every aspect of the plot was completely 100% tied up in main game. The bonus was a pure bonus plot (not needed to finish the plot in main game), completely separate from the main plot. Apart from one of your secondary helpers (the cat) none of the other characters in the main game were in the bonus chapter. LENGTH I played the whole game hardcore, and playing for achievements (so no puzzle tips or hints or skips) and I just got over 4hrs on main game. I was smelling the roses, and taking my time. Shortest game from elephant at just over 4hrs but due to this being a SE and the rest is so fun and very good quality I am giving it 5 stars. If interested below is what is in the CE that is NOT in this SE CE extras Achievements Collectables 25 dolls 4 Music 5 video (some cutscenes) 9 concept art Screensaver Cat cave (opens after bonus) but it’s just a viewing cave not interactive I really do recommend the CE but SE is complete. TIME – Main game – Just over 4hrs Loved every minute of it.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a must buy... The graphics are great. The music is good and I like voice over. Has a good storyline. The hint button works good if you need it and the skip button is fast. The HOS are really not hard. The puzzles can be challenging at times. Has a good flow to the game with a little going back and forth. There is a lot of things to find which makes it fun. With the buy one get one free now I'd get the CE one. This was just a fun game to play. One of the best I've played in a long time.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whimsical, Magical, Holiday Fun! Christmas Stories: The Nutcracker Game is another winner from Elephant Games. The story is a hidden-object adventure game that has you playing a detective and helping the Nutcracker reunite with his love, while defeating the evil Rat King. The storyline, graphics and music are superb in this game. The scenes are a combination of Christmas decor, winter outdoors, and the requisite creepy places. The game gives you helpers, that you pick up on the way in the form of the Nutcracker and a cute little cat. The story and music are based on Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker, which is a holiday favorite. There are three modes of gameplay, casual, advanced and hardcore. The hidden object scenes have interactive play, and the games are engaging and fun. There is a map that lets you move from scene to scene without all that tedious backtracking. The overall length and gameplay are very good. I bought the Collector's Edition, which comes with the strategy guide, collectible items to find throughout the game, achievements, the bonus game, wallpapers, music, concept art, and videos. The bonus game is absolutely not necessary to feel like you finished the main game. If you haven't already purchased the Collector's Edition, I recommend you pick up the Standard Edition for sure. I just love this game. I really put me in that holiday mood.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a wonderful game! For me: one of the best this year!!!! This is one of the most gorgeous games this year (for me)!! Kudos to Elephant Games!! Wonderful (wellknown) story/ music, charming characters, clear and very detailed graphics! Very nice HOS, not too cluttered. Some new puzzles/ minigames, few very challenging for me (had to skip 1!!). Three modes to play; I played the 2nd. Detailed, interactive map. Gameplay/ characters reminded me of "Royal Detective: Lord of Statues"! Detailed, interactive map. And I loved those cute assistants, such as the candle (very funny), the cat and the nutcracker, waiting in your inventory for their use. If you're still hesitating and didn't purchase the CE yet (which includes achievments, collectables and an adorable bonus-chapter): Try this one!! You won't regret, I promise!
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas Stories: Nutcracker It's Christmas as a kid all over again, they don't make a game any better than this and even though it's almost May, it made me feel like it was December 24. This is a Christmas tale about Princess Mary, the Rat King wanted her for his own so he sends his army out to kidnap her, but Albert comes to her rescue, bigger and stronger, the Rat Kings only choice was to turn Mary into a porcelain doll and Albert into the famous Nutcracker! The graphics are over the top gorgeous, the Christmas decorations, the glistening snow are warm and cozy, but what really impresses me is the animation of the rat army and King. You are joined right away by Albert the nutcracker who will now be your right hand man when it comes to battling the rat army and anything else he may be able to defeat with his sword I don't think he actually cracks any nuts) You will also rescue a walking, talking, candle which comes in handy when you need something lit and of course Fred. Fred is a cat who somehow managed to get shackled, but his father was know for his rat chasing skills so he will be happy to assist any way possible. This is one of those games which have a ton of things to do in each scene, although you may not have the inventory item yet, you won't need to look too hard to find an active task area in any scene. The hidden object scenes are unique. First you have to do a puzzle such as using arrows to turn rings, when you turn one ring, others turn as well. When you complete the puzzle, you are rewarded with an HOS, which are interactive list finds. There are several different kinds of puzzles and mini games such as tile swapping and rotating, but one of my favorite mini games was the catapult game. You have to put different weights onto the catapult so the ball would hit red buttons strategically placed on the castle to detonate the bomb which would clear the path for the next red button. This is a game I haven't ever seen before. Whether you opt for the Collectors Edition or the Standard Edition, you are in for a huge treat any day of the year, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wondrous and magical game for the holidays! VERSION Standard Edition full game DEVELOPER Elephant Games GENRE Hidden Object-Puzzle-Adventure Christmas Fantasy STORYLINE You're off to the Christmas Ball, but first you must help Albert rescue his love Mary from the evil Rat King. There's just one fairy tale hitch: the Rat King has turned Albert into the Nutcracker, and Mary into a doll. Fortunately, you'll have not only Albert's help, but the help of others you'll rescue along the way. But I won't spoil the fun for you! GAMEPLAY This is more an adventure game with puzzles and HO scenes along the way. The puzzles (or mini-games) range from the familiar but difficult to some that are unique. The HO scenes fit naturally into the environment rather than being strangely placed random junk piles. Sparkles indicate both areas of interaction and HO scenes. The HO scenes are of medium difficulty; I used only a couple hints. INTERFACE You have a transporter map which is beautifully done. Small candlesticks are rendered in each area. A lighted candle shows you where you are. Golden candlesticks show areas with stuff to do, while pewter ones show inactive areas. When you hover over a candlestick, a small picture of the area pops up. TECHNICAL No issues. GRAPHICS Breathtaking, both still and animated. Gorgeous colors and textures which evoked both cold and wintry as well as holiday cheer. CUTSCENES Rendered in a flashback style, with the Nutcracker narrating, the cutscenes mainly fill you in on the backstory. MUSIC Lovely, as they are selections from Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite. SOUND Not only appropriate, but standout from the usual game sounds. Ambient sounds were excellent as well. VOICEOVER Quite well done, voiceovers were mainly the Nutcracker's narrations. SUMMARY Elephant Games has really stepped up on this one. I definitely recommend this game. It was a joy to play, both relaxing and challenging.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST OVERALL GAME EVER! I still recommend this game even though the holiday season is soooo over! The story kept me enthralled(and yes, I am a grown woman)to the end! The voiceovers were perfect! The graphics and cutscenes to die for! The music, well what can you say, it is The Nutcracker! They pulled out all the stops for this game! I generally play the *dark* games but, after reading the reviews I figured I would try out the demo. I fell in love! The characters had their own personalities and the "helpers" in the task list added even more cuteness too the game. The HOS were good. Clear and most easy to see without being too easy to find. The puzzles were doable. I am not a puzzle person but, I think I only skipped 1 or 2, which for me is good. I have an extensive collection of games and have played many more demos. In fact it is getting hard to find new ones that interest me. I have been a BF member for 2 yrs and have used the site off and on for a lot more yrs. This is my first review. I finished the SE about 3 weeks ago and finally decided that I had to put in a review. The game is that good. All I can say is just try the demo. I don't usually go for the "cutesy" stuff but, this does not go overboard and even though I knew the story, still couldn't wait to get to each new chapter! The length is good for a SE and can't imagine what I may have missed on the CE. This game is a must buy!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected good fun I bought this game because of the Christmas theme. Didn't get to it until after the holidays. I expected something sugary and silly. What I got was a very good game, with a story only loosely based on the Nutcracker story from the ballet. Lots of interesting puzzles. Plot twists that the ballet story never imagined. Nice graphics, good interactive map and characters, and just plain fun play. Because of the good map, I hardly needed hints except in the HOS. I played in the easiest mode and there were a few too many suggestions, but it didn't take away from the game. (I like my games to move along, so that they feel as if I'm reading a novel.) The only quibble I have is that the developers could have incorporated more of Tchaikovsky's music into the game. The snippets of the ballet music were sparse and repetitive. It would have made a richer experience to use more. Overall, though this is a small issue.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas Stories: Nutcracker one of the best games, challenging but not frustrating
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Christmas Stories: The Nutcracker challenging, entertaining, beautiful colors and scenes
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super game what a relief to have no witches, devils and potions. we need more grown up games like this and Escape from the museum for example. Not all your gamers are teenagers!
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked this game I liked it. Lots of stuff to do and a map to get around. The hint was actually a hint. Had to use my brain a bit. The only thing I didn't like was that I thought it was too short. But that could be because I liked it so much and wanted to play more.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite game of the Year I absolutely love this Game,a real challenge.I was really cross when it ended.It is quite delightful with the extra challenge of collecting dolls as you go.Did not get them all first time so had a good excuse to do it all again.Which is rare for me. Some of the mini games are a real challenge and made a nice change from the dark gloomy type Games. Lots of choice in Options and lasted just long enough Loved it and full marks from me. All ages could give this a go,my grandson is now trying it in casual mode and loving it.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the nutcracker was really great Great story, flowed along really well. It was a great story to play.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mad Fun! LOVED IT! For a long time, I had been a HUGE fan of HOG; however, I quickly got tired of them. I hadn't played one in about a year or so, but decided after reading some of the rave reviews this game got, I decided to give it a try, and I'M SO GLAD I DID! I renewed my joy of doing HOGS. Why, you might ask. The storyline and graphics were professionally and wonderfully done. The scenes kept me riveted. Usually I "skip" them, but not with this game. Of course the music is to go without saying. Classic! I always loved the "Nutcracker Suite." The game play was fantastic. There weren't too many hidden object scenes for my taste and there are many more puzzles vs hog scene (I like that a lot). The hog scenes that were there were quit easy. The puzzles were not too hard, yet just challenging enough for me. If you like a great storyline, graphics, a good HOG to puzzle ratio, and entertainment, I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Gift for CHristmas Beautiful Breathtaking Graphics, original tune from the Nutcracker Suit and wonderful game mechanics in this magical HOPA that everyone of all ages can enjoy. If you did'nt go for the CE version (which incidently I highly recommend you reconsider), then do not pass this gem up. You have three game modes, a map that follows your progress and your trusted companions that help you with your mission that include the Nutcracker himself, a cute cat and a candle. Gameplay comes with some challenges not to mention the HO scenes that are slightly interactive and wonderful mini-games that are unique in design. Definitely a game that made my list of top 10 for 2012. Who can resist the Nutcracker, an all time favorite during the Holidays.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have A Cracking Good Christmas BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS I loved this game from the opening few seconds! I do not participate in Christmas, but I love all those wonderful decorations, great food, and lovely music. So this game is a real treat for me. And the developers have outdone themselves with possibly their best ever production. It does, however, load slowly. Worth the wait. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Absolutely love the graphics in this game, uninterrupted beauty and light and colour. Everything is clear and detailed, items are perfectly easy to see, just well hidden. The animation was good too, but it was a bit of a surprise how little animation there was in the HOPs. There are also a lot of cut scenes, and these are expertly done. THE single best thing, and the best of any game I have played EVER is the music. Largely culled from Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, it is the perfect mood setter for Christmas. The ambiance is good, though I could have done with more of it. The voiceovers are very nicely done, and used just the right amount of the time. WHAT’S HAPPENING You have been invited to the palace for the Christmas Ball, but you arrive late. The other guests have gone, but you still can go get your presents. Turns out your gift is actually a Nutcracker, under a curse placed on him by the evil Rat King, and he needs your help. He must rescue his true love Mary who is being held prisoner by the Rat King, who wants her for himself. MAKING PROGRESS The balance of HOPs vs. other puzzles and mini-games is well kept and there is much to do in every location, and you’ll be returning to them time and time again. The interactive jump map is essential for this to and froing dominates the game. Hint gives you a clear instruction for the next action required. HOPs are interactive lists. The puzzles and mini-games seemed to include a lot of new material, but the instructions are sometimes a bit confusing with these. All the games are beautifully crafted and fit the Christmas theme. I found quite a few very challenging. You have a few companions in this game. First there is the Nutcracker himself. He takes on rats when he is not vastly outnumbered. An animated candle (cute and funny) is there waiting to light your fires, and there is the cat. He’s good for getting those hard to reach items. We pick up other companions along the way, but they never stay long. FINAL VERDICT Love, love, love this game! Would have won Game Of The Year in 2012, if it had been released in time for awards. It is a music and arts festival, with a delightfully different story, and sufficient variety in gameplay and difficulty to please most.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why Did I Wait So Long to Play This??? Loved this game! Scenery and graphics were great. Games and hidden objects were clear and achievable. Help rescue two lovers that have been turned into toys by the evil rat king. Highly recommend - have fun!
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite a nifty game! This is a very nice game for this time of year. I was quite happy to continue to play, and play, and play.
Date published: 2012-12-22
  • y_2020, m_4, d_8, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_16762, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Christmas Stories: Nutcracker

A classic Christmas tale tail, with a whole new twist! Help the Nutcracker rescue the princess from the evil Rat King!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.