Strangestone

Strangestone

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(478.81 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

While researching your family archives, you discover that you’ve inherited a mansion! Now you and your brother are meeting your real estate agent there for an appraisal. However, something’s not right about this old house. Soon you will discover that inheritance never comes easy in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game! Can you survive the night and uncover your ancestor’s secret?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 503 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Strangestone

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(478.81 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Strangestone is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would be wonderful game It would be a wonderful game, at least I think so from what I played. but things in the hidden object parts are just tiny. Example of weights for a scale or a bullet for a gun are kind of real sized for the size of the picture. That is just too tiny for me to find. The game play was smooth and looked like it would be great.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from STRANGE I wasn't prepared for anything spectacular in this game. and then the intro finished and the spooky gates of the profile page showed up and I thought maybe I was wrong, this could be decent. It was just okay for me, it wasn't a waste of time, but I don't want to buy it either. There are 2 modes: casual and expert the only difference is the time that the hint and skip buttons recharge. That brings me to the hint button, or lack thereof, you are on your own on that one. No stratagy guide, no map. There are a lot of HO's just about in every room slightly interactive, that brings me to another part of the game. I always try to use all features in the game to give my review and I selected to use the feature that shows you how to play the game. It's a good thing I know how to play because it only told me a couple of things to do, then I was on my own. The story itself was the same, brother and sister inheiret a mansion, they get there and a crazed lunatic nabs one of them. manical machines that need repaired etc, The puzzles were the usual turn the pipes to connect. Everything was typical and you pretty much know what everything will be used for.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strangestone??? Well, it started out pretty good, but I didn't like the hint button. Hands & arrows just don't get it. The graphics were real good, as was the music. I never heard of the creators, but that doesn't make for a bad game. I can make my way around without too much trouble, but once in awhile I'd like a little more help from the hint button. I will not be buying this game.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strangestone is a strange and well (ho-hum) Game Well fellow fishies, I can't wait to start this review - not! Guess What? You and your Brother (Tom# have inherited a wonderfully dilapidated mansion. If I really had a mansion for all the ones I have inherited in Gameland, I'ld have one strange Park Avenue in Weird Man's land!! You and your brother go to your mansion and Tom is immediately cold cocked, leaving you to do the searching around -alone, of course! You are given 4 volume controls and 2 game play modes. I could barely hear the music, could be my age-Ha! Cutscenes have live snaps of people that don't have any real movement. It's like edited stills. You do have a helpful task list and map. Also, a journal to keep important clues in, some of which are illegible. Everything seems rather dark and small. In the HOS games the words in the word list are sometimes larger than then objects themselves. Also they are pretty darn cluttered. The hint button is somewhat handy but slow filling. The mini games are small#really?# and usual. So far this is turning into an appropriate rainy day filler#which guess what? Your sound effects is rain!!- that I would only get as a daily or weekly special, promotional special or with a promo code. But if you have the $ to throw around- go for it !O.K., what am I forgetting? Oh yes, there are no off the chain special effects or graphics and of course the mansion is falling apart and I have spent most my game play thus far trying to maneuver my way around- alone, of course and for what I do not know yet. So, inn conclusion, it is totally up to you to see if you would like to join me in the groping around your inherited mansion. Have Fun!!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a Buy!!!!!! Demo review only! Graphics a bit blurry but playable. Some items in the HOS's I found to be hard to see and mini-games pretty easy. There are 6 chapters and according to the write-up on BF page, there are achievements but not found any. Played casual and hint button is slow and too much handholding. Not much backtracking as the way is blocked when you have finished one section. Some people might like it but I can't recommend this game. Sorry!!
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game This game's story was very weak and typical. The HOs were played twice. Some objects were small or blurry, hard for me to find and I played on a 17" screen. The items found in the main scenes were also quite small, I relied on the cursor a lot and was stuck a few times because I had overlooked things. The hint system doesn't help much but there is a walkthru. The map tells you where things need to be done... sometimes, lol, but doesn't transport. There are only 5 or 6 locations active at a time, though, so easy enough to walk there and not hard to remember what you needed to do. Some puzzles were quite easy; others a bit more involved. I didn't care for the game because of the lack of a story and the hardness of finding items in the HOs.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why Did I Buy This Game??????????? I'm not sure when I purchased this game or even why because I really hate it. It's very dark and gloomy and the HOS are just huge junk piles where everything is the same color. It has one puzzles after another with clues which aren't clear. After skipping my sixth puzzle I closed the game and deleted it. I will never play it again. Please play the entire demo and read some reviews to make a better decision than I did.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me. Couldn't follow it. The hints didn't help. No fun.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TIRESOME Review based on two hours of casual gameplay. Live Actor - Only saw one VOS - For the one live actor only, not for player. Must read a great deal of dialogue. IHOS - Usual fare of small to large objects, junk piles, grayish. A great deal of items to find outside of IHOS in every location so scene must be scanned carefully. Misclick Penalty - None Puzzles/Mini-Games - Varied levels of difficulty and some unusual. Fast skip. Hint - Fast charge. Works outside of IHOS giving clues and directions. Shows handprints and directional arrows. Pick one. :-D Map - Does not transport. Shows player's location only. Task list attached. New tasks added as you progress through game. Inventory - Items used quickly in other areas. Each scene, to me, appeared as grayish junk piles in addition to the IHOS. I grew weary of running from one location to another. I couldn't make up my mind whether to follow the handprints or the arrows. :-D This game was not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't Waste Your Time or Credits This review is based on the completed game. I wanted to like this, kept waiting for the story to pick up,but it never did. Slow action, weak story line and an ending that .....well let's just say it was a disappointment to say the least !
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not very good This does look like a beginners effort, as another reviewer said. Given that, it could have been a lot better even for a first effort. The HO items are sometimes not visible although the print of the list is enormous. The graphics are dark and fuzzy and the whole game's actions are not smooth. You kind of jerk from one scene to another. The story is not well told and it looks as if you will be trapped in the rotten house the whole time, so I think it will get to be quite tedious in short order. The sound effects are good enough but the voice over is terrible...sounds like someone reading a bed time story. The mini games were trying as the logic was totally missing and the instructions were bad...perhaps English is not the first language of the devs. You also have to click around a lot in each scene for things you might not know you need...I've always hated that; it messes up the story. After a while, I started to wish longingly for the end of the demo. I think they need to go back to the drawing board.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I don't like these games which tell me what to do all the time. It looked like a good game in the beginning. Maybe it is a good game but not for me. I don't like being told what to do next at every step. I want to play by my own and get help only when I really need it and ask for it. In this game you are told what you have to do even in the HOS. There is no pleasure in playing such a game, the game plays by itself anyway and you are not required. Another thing, the software cursor is very small. Is it so difficult to distinguish different difficulty levels so that each player can choose the one suitable to his/her skill level? Many games do that. I don't buy this game.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More of the same Dull-to-average hidden object and puzzle game. As usual, the search is focused on an old, dark, falling-to-pieces house that the player character has a connection with but knows very little about; as usual, you have to explore this falling-to-pieces house at night. The storyline is thin and rather rushed, as if the designers were in a hurry to get to the game portion. As happens all too often in such games, the art is cursed with a muddy palette and too much shadowing; the music and voices are all right but, again, are nothing special. As for gameplay, the hints counter isn't very fast; it's not the most sluggish I've ever seen, but it is on the slow side. The hidden objects can be VERY small if you have to pick up them up and place them in or on a specific object. And there's no way to magnify the objects or to increase brightness in HO scenes. It's not a horrible game. it just isn't especially good. Bottom line--if you really, really love this sort of game, it might be for you. But if you're looking for something special to spend your money on, save it for something that IS special. Believe me, this isn't it.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just in case your sleeping pills run out... :( .... play this game! Wow, what a boring morning!!!! On the german BF site they offered us "Secrets of the Titanic 1912-2012) and I nearly felt asleep and now this one.... zzzzzzz Graphics were OK: a mixture of drawn and real settings. Real actors. 2 modes to choose from. In the options you may adjust master-, music-, effects- and environment volume. And you are able to choose the appearance: fullscreen or windowed (who wants to play in a windowed mode?), cursortype, fit to screen (y/n) and high quality (y/n). A lot of messed up interactive hidden object scenes. Some items are really hard to find; Be sure to wear your glasses! And some non challenging minigames. We have a journal together with a tasklist. I can't tell you anything about the promised achievements, as I couldn't even finish the demo... sorry:(
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Game Ever Worst game I have ever played. Hints are useless, puzzles very difficult and hidden objects small and hard to find. Don't recommend it unless you like to be frustrated
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deceiving I think that the 'no turn back' structure brings down all the fun. There are sparkles even in advanced mode.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Guys? Come back when you have learned & built a real game. This game looks good & sounds good, but, plays awful. You're brother is unconcious outside in the rain and you go play inside where it's dry. The visuals in the HOS are not the best. Finishing a knife set requires you to find the knives (ok# click on them #ok# and watch as they turn transparent and slide down the outside of the knife block. Tacky. The hints (when used for 'which way do I go?') show you all the ways you can go, not the way you should go. Not helpful. It seems as if this is a game built by newbies with lots to learn. I played 26 minutes got almost nowhere & uninstalled.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst game in a long time After watching the opening scene, I had high hopes for this game, but the genius ended there. Opening scene was crisp, clear and hinted at an interesting game to come. Game play begins in front of a locked mansion door. There you will encounter your first HO game. This first one was difficult not because the items were cleverly hidden but because they were very small and the overall scene was muddled and indistinct. After getting into mansion, you encounter a mixture of finding needed objects in the environs and in additional HO scenes which were no better than the first. There are also mini games that were uninspired (a book case where you had to put books numbered 1 through 12 in order simply by switching their places). I know many gamers turn off ambient music but this game has none so you have no choice in the matter. The hint button charges rather quickly which is a plus in a game that relies on small size and blurriness of essential items to increase the difficulty of the game.
Date published: 2013-02-27
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_17530, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Strangestone

Spend the night in an abandoned mansion. Can you survive to uncover the terrible secret about your ancestor?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.