Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(473.11 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus mystery where you uncover the origins of the Red Masque!
  • Beautiful wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • An integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 930 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(473.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best in the series!!!! Love it!!! This is so much better than the other in the Dark Tales series. Much more interactive and not just a simple hidden object/mystery game. The hidden object scenes are actually interactive. For example, in one game, to find a series of paintings, you'll have to find one, which in turn will need to interact with another to continue on. Plus, you have a cute side game where you find objects for your interactive kitten to play with, who is in your office. Feel like taking a break, go back in the office an pet the kitten. :)
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Justice? The latest and, in my opinion, greatest addition to this series yet. The lavish graphics, beautiful music, and compelling storyline kept me riveted until the very end. The bonus chapter is so good as to definitely be worth the extra money - I don't want to give any spoilers, but I genuinely cried out in shock. Can't wait to see what ERS has in store for the next Dark Tale!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You be the judge This was a long long game with a twist, you select who is guilty based on the evidence you find. ERS stepped it up a few notches with the colored graphics - really beautiful. The storyline is good There are many many locations The HO'S are varied and interactive Loads of puzzles The music is pretty but a bit tiresome after listening to it for hours The bonus game is fairly short but adds to the overall story I loved the part where you collect items for your kitten This is a first class game that I will play again. I've been choosy about buying CE'S and this was a great CE. GO FOR IT !!!
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Still My Heart, We Have An Office BONUS CONTENT REVIEW + NOTES ON MAIN GAME Yes, it’s true, the kind and charming detective M. DUPIN (and the team at ERS) has, in this our fifth case together, granted us an OFFICE. And the official title of BEST FRIEND (study your office walls). And what would an office be without TROPHIES, AWARDS, AND FRAMED CERTIFICATES. Yup. We have ACHIEVEMENTS! And a KITTEN! The kitten is truly awesome, don’t forget to play with him. And keep an eye out for his COLLECTIBLE TOYS (only a few) throughout the game. Also in our office is our PHOTO ALBUM, containing SHOTS WE TAKE of the game. These are the FIRST TREATS for the COLLECTORS EDITION. There is also of course (big breath): 12 WALLPAPERS, 15 CONCEPT ART SHOTS, 4 MUSICTRACKS, 4 SCREENSAVERS, 9 MOVIES, 30 BEHIND THE SCENES SHOTS, 14 REPLAYABLE HOs, 20 REPLAYABLE MINI-GAMES! Plus, the in-game STRATEGY GUIDE & BONUS CHAPTER. The BONUS CHAPTER This took me roughly 1 HOUR 15 MIN, but I SKIPPED a puzzle or two. It is NOT NEEDED for the MAIN STORY, it is an epilogue offering a peculiar TWIST IN THE TALE. Personally, I found this chapter’s STORY & ENDING CONFUSING. I probably should have paid more attention to names and faces in the main game. It covers NEW AREAS, PUZZLES & HOS almost exclusively, but some of the characters are the same. There are EXTRA KITTEN ITEMS to COLLECT & ACHIEVEMENTS for this chapter alone, but to SEE THEM & THE OFFICE you must START again on the MAIN GAME. If you find yourself just a little bit IN LOVE with DUPIN then the CE BONUS CHAPTER is ESSENTIAL. As for the GAME ITSELF? I won’t go into detail about the MAIN GAME, because if you have found me, you have waded through dozens of reviews already. For me, the STORY automatically makes this a MUST HAVE. It appears that it’s going to be more thought provoking than most. Not only are politics an integral part of the investigation, YOU have to DECIDE who is GUILTY at the end of the game. This is an aspect of the game that MAY be for CE players EXCLUSIVELY, but I don’t think so. GAMEPLAY & PRODUCTION QUALITY is CLASSIC ERS. Hand drawn water colour GRAPHICS, SEVERAL TYPES of HOS. EASY PUZZLES.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed myself. I really enjoyed this game on all the levels. I like to play on casual level. The graphics were great, colorful and clear. It had good atmosphere from the sound effects and the music. It was never dreary or dark or creepy. There were no monsters or skulls. It had a good story line of solving a case. Detective Dupin was good looking and very dapper. All the voice-overs were well done as were the cut scenes. The game was technically well executed. The music graphics, fast hint refresh, a very good strategy guide which I used a lot. It did not have a graphic map, but I didn't get crazy on going back and forth, The story kept my interest. And the bonus chapter furthered the story. Also, there was not an over abundance of HOGs which made me very happy. Also, the HOGs were very clear and the items were large and not overly difficult but enjoyable, which I liked because I just want to get through HOGs. I had some trouble with some of the games, but that's just me, not the fault of the games. All in all, I felt this game was very well executed and enjoyable. Glad I bought the CE. Good product and I would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS gets better with every Poe story I saw a modern day movie adaptation of The Masque of the Red Death back in the early 90s, and this game is far better than that movie. When it comes to stories, no one brings them to life like ERS Games. With every new story they take on, the graphics get more streamlined, and the gameplay gets better. Also, there is more focus on the hidden object part of the game than constantly looking for ways to unlock things. We have a new mystery to solve, our dashing and brilliant companion, Inspector Dauphin, is with us again, and now we are hunting down a vigilante that is taking down corrupt government officials in 19th Century France. The whole of the game has a smoother feel, as the animations are more fluid, and the choppiness that was commonly seen in older ERS games is gone. We have don't really know whom the true villian is in this case. Is it the cloaked figure in red Masque, or the town politicians that are taxing their constituents dry? Murder is murder, but the slower blood-letting of financial drain can be just as macabre, as it brings on a suffering that cannot be taken out quickly, as one would to kill someone with a quick slash of a sword or piercing of a bullet. This is just the latest in a series of games that started with The Black Cat. If this is the direction ERS is taking with Poe's works, then bring them on!
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best In The Series Thank you SO SO much for the Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe series! I have been a fan of Poe since I was a child, and I've passed that love on to my daughter. We've collected all the games so far, so I downloaded The Masque of the Red Death as soon as I saw it available. This latest in the Edgar Allan Poe series is the best yet! I love the scales of justice - so awesome! And I absolutely love the trophy/achievements room! You get to take photos of all the scenes for a scrapbook AND you get achievement certificates and awards for all the previous Dark Tales: EA Poe games you've completed! I don't know if this is exclusive to the CE version. I'm playing the trial version of the CE right now, and I'm on my way to buy it! I already can't wait for the next one! Please pass my gratitude on to the developers because they have done a great job!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trivial but fun This game is fun to play and easy to move forward. It features excellent graphics, pretty good plot and nice bonus chapter! Thanks!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitty Game Player Very fun. Different hidden objects games challenges than others I've played.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red Masque of Death Be a little more specific about how to use the scales to determine guilt. Otherwise I really enjoyed the game to the point where I am playing it twice to see if I can get all the awards that are offered, so far, I think I'm doing it lol.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I love this game! It's challenging, fun, beautiful and the cat is a wonderful distraction and "brain break" - great idea. Challenge yourself with the Hard level! Get this game!
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it better than previous games I actually enjoyed this game more than the other games in the Edgar Allan Poe series. Graphics were excellent. The scenes were not boring. Storyline was very good. A man in a red mask is going around killing the city officials. The towns government does not like this, but the townspeople say the masked man is a hero due to the government executing those who dont pay the new higher tax rate. There were 14 HOS. All were pretty easy, some more difficult than others. Not cluttered. All were done more than once. There were different types of HOS. Some were the list kind, some were where you had to complete several steps to get the main item, some were the ones where you find the object that resembled the silhouette list. There was one scene done twice where you had to find 15 stars the first time, and then find 15 rings the second time. There was also another scene done twice were you had to find "differences" of the same shape between one side of the scene and the other side. There were 20 puzzles (including bonus game). Some were easy, and some were difficult, but not impossible. Some new different puzzles in this game. There was a camera built in the game that you can use to take pictures of different scenes. The pics you can save to computer which is nice so you have even more "wallpapers" to choose from (not just the ones already built in). There was a map that you can use to jump from one scene to another, but you have to access it from your journal. I personally found the map useless because it didnt tell you which areas had something you needed to do, so you did have to still back track. I found it easier to use the hint, it points you in the right direction using arrows. There is a cat you pick up in the game and you get to find cat items (cat scratch board, cat bed, cat toys, etc). You can play with the cat when you visit your office for achievements. The cat was actually very cute as well as the other animals in game (bear, dachsund, etc). At the end of main game, you have to choose who to arrest, either the mayor or the masked man. YOu have to place all 7 globes of guilt in the balance thing. Each globe is from a different scene which you can replay so you know which side of the balance to place it on. I arrested one and then the end scene came up. From what I read in the forums, the end scene can be slightly different depending on which one you decided to arrest. The game was pretty good length. Main game was approx 5 hours. Bonus chapter was about 1.5 hours. There is a lot of bonus content: wallpapers, HOS replay, puzzle replay, concept art, music you can save, screensavers, etc. Worth the money.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dark tales: edgar allan Poe's the masque of the red death fun,, plenty of help if/when needed, instructions clear. highly recommend it. my age enjoy it, preteens can play it also.
Date published: 2013-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BOUGHT AS SOON AS IT CAME OUT!!! I knew this would be a buy for me without even looking at reviews or playing the demo!!!...I love poe games i own all of them n they just keep getting better n better!! Great job devs!! The only complaint i have is i would have liked to have a map to transport!!...
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Masque of the Red Death This is a great game. It has it all...good length, awesome visuals, intriguing storyline, and a good flow! This is one of the best out of this series!
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOTALLY AWESOME AND THEN,..huh???? This was an absolutely awesome game!!! It was fun, adventurous without a whole lot of HOS, so if you want alot of HOS this isn't the game for you. The HOS's that were in the game were spledid, clear and not easy but also not at all difficult. Alot of beautiful, puzzles that weren't extremely mind bending but somewhat challenging and different than the same ol' same ol puzzles. The detail and the graphics were excellent, up to date with multiple places to go and with a lot to do. There were so many different places to visit and within those were even more beautiful scenes. This is not a hand holding game but it does have an effective hint button and the skip button does charge fairly quick. I was very impressed with this game and what it had to offer and is probably one of the best games I have played. BUT,...I was a little disappointed with the Bonus game. It used alot of the same scenery that was in the initial game. It still had great detail, graphics, story line and challenge. What bothered me was that the story flows and keeps your interest and then all of a sudden,...it's over,..!! This happened in both the game and the bonus game. I found it to be to abrupt of an ending for such a great game!! I do believe that this is a keeper for all times. 5 STARS Margaret
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from at last they added some good storyline i was so tired of same scenario in almost every latest hidden object game , but at last they added some good..great storyline. Catching storyline, intresting and interactive characters, nice visuals, and awesome little surprise in the begining of the game which gave me much joy .
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! So much fun with this one! Excellent graphics, many different and beautiful locations to explore, charming atmosphere, good soundtrack, captivating storyline for a really challenging adventure! Very interesting and varied HOS, simple but original and funny puzzles, journal, map, achievements to get and the sweet little cat waiting for us in the office! The whole game took me more then 5 hours to complete, with bonus chapter, all in new areas, not really necessary but interesting and adding a new end to the story..An amazing game i recommend to everybody!
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Edgar Allan Poe games! It is really nice to play a great game that doesn't include ghosts, witches, spirits, or other mystical stuff. Good fun, great scenery. Keep it up, ERS.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS You Did It Again! I just completed playing Dark Tales:Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death - CE edition. This will definitely be one of my favorite games. ERS studio always does a terrific job. The graphics are excellent and there is always enough challenge to keep me interested. I highly recommend this game. Several interesting additions that I particularly loved was the kitten (you have to find things belonging to this adorable kitten) and part of the bonus package is a slide show of the workshop. The staff at ERS certainly look like they are enjoying their jobs. I hope it is true. My compliments to them all. I have many of their games and they never disappoint me.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales Edgar Allen Poe just brilliant what abrilliant game this is, the graphics the sound quality the voice over's, I have to say that all of these series have been great, the Ho's are great, the best puzzle I have found to be the onein the bonus chapter where you have to open the gate by adjusting the weights for the knight to cross, just brilliant well done yet again for this series.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Epic Adventure! I've been collecting all of the titles in this series and this is my new favorite. I love this series because I'm an Edgar Allan Poe fan and my hope is that new fans will be created from being introduced through these games. I enjoy a game with a good balance of HOS and puzzles. The ration here was 14/20. I also appreciate a CE with lots of EXTRA STUFF. This title definitely didn't disappoint. There are even pictures of the development team!! How cool is that? The Scales of Justice was a nice original touch. I enjoyed the "you decide" element of that. The sphere of guilt items cracked me up. That's going to be a new family insider joke now. There is also a "Private Office" feature with a pet kitten that collects toys, an Achievement Collection on the shelves and a photo album of the pictures that you're able to take with the camera provided. Another winner guys! Bravo!
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the game First time review here. I play 100% hidden object games; really enjoyed this game. Fun and interesting, the mini-games are challenging but not ridiculous; I play Advanced or Hard mode and seldom skip.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS ARE UPPING THEIR GAME Review based on completed game (inc. bonus chapter) This was the first game by ERS in a while where it held my interest long enough to actually finish. As always, in these Edgar Allan Poe adaptations, you accompany the Dishy Dupin on the trail of yet another murderous foe. This time it's a villain knows as "The Red Masque", who is bumping off the town officials. But all is not as it seems...... The music is recognisably ERS, but not quite as "samey" as all the games that came before it - phew! The scenery is instantly recognisable as their artwork. Puzzles are not terrifically difficult - some were very easy, while others took a little more patience and thought. Hidden Object scenes were well spaced out, and were either list-style (with a few interactive items) or the type where you find one item, use it to get another, and so on. At the end of the main game you have a decision to make, and it made me stop, review my "evidence" and have a think about who the real villain here was. It was a nice touch. The bonus game didn't take a long time, but explored new areas, which I always like. And I got to see Dupin minus some of his shirt, too. I think I added about 15 minutes on to my playing time just by having a good look :) The 'extras' are the usual fare - concept art, screensavers etc., plus you can replay the HOGs and puzzles. Oh, and there's also something called "Workshop", which takes you to 30 pictures of the ERS team hard at work - or not, as the case was sometimes by the looks of it!!! My only gripe was the cat (and I'm a cat person - I have 3). I just didn't see the *point*, to be honest, beyond the "look at the cutesy cat we've got to play with outwith the game!" factor. I hope this isn't going to be a recurring theme (another recent offering had a pet dog area) because the game itself should be able to stand on its own merit without that sort of schmaltz added in. Overall, I hope ERS can continue to develop games that are less 'cookie cutter' and more innovative and original. For a long time one game felt just like another, so this is a good step forward. I enjoyed this game and recommend it!
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appreciative of the time and effort I really enjoyed the game. It was simply visually beautiful - the developers really captured the ambiance of every scene. The music matched as well, and so when I was standing in the pouring rain, I felt like I wanted to be in my office with the kitt by the roaring fire. Excellent job. The game had many little nuances like that that made it a full experience. I played the whole game and the bonus content and at the end of it all, I sat back and said "wow. Now that was a good game!" There were many acheivements, many things to collect, details to pay attention to, and it was quite twisty. I liked being able to decide who dunnit, thought that was a nice touch. I didn't expect the bonus content to be what it was - which was a very plausible continuation of the story and brought it to a satisfying close for me. It had new areas to visit and, while it was equally as stunning graphically as the main game, I did have a minor disappointment with it. As a disclaimer, I'll say that I have been having some minor compy issues, so this could very well be a problem of my very own and not the devs, however, I found the bonus game to be a bit lacking in some details that were in the main game. Example: when you go to pour water, you usually get the lifting of the pitcher, the pouring water sound, see the container fill up and then then message "you found a container of water". (I love that by the way - heh! :o) I just poured the thing, I didn't just find it! :o) In this bonus game, you expect all that detail and instead a full thing of water just pops up. Or whatever the action that you were doing. It felt a little undone and incomplete - not like it was just thrown on the end (as with some others), but like ....maybe some spots were just missed and they put the game out anyway? Well, it's a rather small matter in the face of the entire game, and like I said, it could've just been my persnickety computer. The extras were plentiful, and I always enjoy a peek behind the scenes. I like being able to put faces to the work. Causes me to appreciate it much more. I liked that you could go back and play the HOGs and puzzles again. It's good that all games are different/have different extras/achievements/etc - each developer has their own flair and style and that's what makes them good (and what causes me to buy their games!). I wouldn't want every game if they were all the same.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the game! I have played all "Dark Tales" games and this one was the absolutely the best. Love ERS graphics and music . I enjoyed it from start to end. Don´t miss it!
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fantastic game from ERS! What a great game!! Everything about this game is just awesome. Starting from incredible graphic , wonderful music and very good voice coverage . The story line is very interesting and HOS are very well drawn , without any unnecessary clogging up. I loved the fact that i could take a photo of all of the scenes , because you can choose after any of those as your desktop background . There is also a very cute kitten that you can play with during the game . All in all - another win from ERS games! Loved it!! And i definitely recommend it!!!
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fun I enjoyed this game and as is typical of Ers Studios it is well made. If you have played and enjoyed the other Dark Tales: Poe games then I don't think you will be disappointed. In the extras you can replay all the HOGs and Mini Games which is a good bonus. It was also interesting to be able to have a look around the photos of the Ers studios in the bonus content. The only problem I found with this game is that Hint button sticks a bit far out into the game and I accidentally clicked it several times.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Edgar Allen Poe addition! I so enjoy this series and this game didn't disappoint. The game play is fun, a little challenging but not too difficult. The music is in the background and not irritating. The graphics aren't the best but the kitten was cute! Speaking of which my favorite part was the trophy room. I didn't notice until I was done that I had received plaques for playing the previous games. Nice touch!
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Masque of Red Death Spent the entire day on this one, great game! Challenging! Loved it.
Date published: 2013-04-27
  • y_2018, m_2, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_18044, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.