Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(473.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus mystery where you uncover the origins of the Red Masque!
  • Beautiful wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • An integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 930 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(473.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dark Tales yet! I've already loved all the previous Dark Tales games (Rue Morgue, Black Cat, Premature Burial, Gold Bug) so I leaped at this one the moment I saw it available. I admit at the time I'm writing this, I haven't finished the game just yet but I had to pause and write a great review for this newest installment! You will not be disappointed! For one, it plays much the same (but with longer, more detailed cutscenes this time around!) as previous games, but the best part is that HO scenes seem to be a little clearer now AND there's an entire achievement room for you to collect awards and prizes for. You also get to take photos of the various scenes in the game and the best part, in my opinion, is the adorable addition of getting to find and keep a pet cat, who plays with various items you can find throughout the game. It's long, beautiful, and just as fun as you would expect from a Dark Tales game, or just from ERS in general! You're getting a lot of bang for your buck in this one with all the extra fun things to do too, so I highly recommend this purchase!
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRAVO Excellent game! Really enjoyed this game. Good for you, Game Makers. Keep this type of coming for us. Highly recommend this game. Challenging but not so difficult as to be frustrating. The game is very addictive.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series ... Great Graphics, Sound & Story Line ... And Very In Keeping With The Series ... Main Game Duration Nice & Long With Plenty To See & Do ... One Game I Really Didn't Mind Paying Full Price For Due To The Game Quality ... But The CE Extras Should Have Been A Lot Longer ...
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mysteries are my favs Strong storyline, mixed minigames are actually fun, some even fairly easy for a lazy person like me. Hint button worked well as a directional source, so seldom had to exit into strategy guide. The extras included getting a cute kitten and bringing it all kinds of toys, etc (for the animal lovers). Not too many cut scenes or dialog. I liked the extra trophy lines, and the recipe for bread was pretty creative.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Dark Tales is a great series! This installment doesn't disappoint. Specifically the story line. The devs hold the story all the way thru which keeps the game interesting and enjoyable. There is a few new elements in this game compared to the others. minis are just right challenge level artwork to good . seems Daupin has gotten a bit older. This game is a lot of fun.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Success! This will be short and to-the-point. I bought the CE, so that's what this review is based on. -Clean, straightforward interface that doesn't crowd the screen -Mouse pointer can be a bit particular at times, meaning it wants you to click on an exact tiny spot on an item before you can select or pick it up. This is not a frequent problem, but just wanted to mention it. -Great graphics, true to the preceding games, so it looks and sounds familiar -Soundtrack is nice, mysterious and haunting, but doesn't distract you from the game -HOS are just challenging enough, with objects clearly defined that you need to look for, and those you either have to construct or take a couple extra steps to obtain -You have a private office where you can see your achievements, photos you've taken, and play with your kitty (you'll see <grin>). Nice break from the gameplay and you can see the achievements you can earn before you really dive into the game -Storyline keeps you hooked but doesn't dominate your game play. Some may think this a problem, but it allows you to explore at your leisure without missing anything you need to know about the story and what to do next Overall, take your time with it and enjoy the effort was put into its creation.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUCH BETTER THAN THE LAST ONE Based on Whole Game I did have to use the SG (which I found had some errors) ex. lion cub listed as a tiger---hello tigers have stripes! Plus some of the instructions were out of order for example you had to do something else first in order to get the counterweight (from the fountain) which was very frustrating. This did make the game tougher than the others. Guys if you're going to include an SG please make sure it is correct!!! Good things graphics voice overs very good interactive map (beam me up scotty# storyline very good achievements kitty you get and items you collect for her HOS different types, list and shadow outlines can have 2 different endings you make judgments who is guilty Not so good on map no listing of things to do in areas, only pictures of where you want to go #otherwise too much back and forth# HOS shadow outlines, are too small/unclear making it difficult to define items you are looking for #you'll need light and a magnifying glass# movies a bit grainy and D's voice and face is completely different in the movies than in the rest of the game---consistency guys!!!! I found this game to be a lot tougher than the others #some of which was due to the errors in the SG), but I finally finished and did enjoy the time and am very happy with it so I will recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it! Have only played the demo and can't add anything to the excellent reviews so far. Just to say I loved it, especially the SOOO cute cat (couldn't resist stroking it every so often) and will definitely be buying when next game credit comes through.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who's the REAL villain here? This is the fifth game made from a Poe story, and it is quite satisfying with several new nuances. It does not seem to be quite as hard as previous games (perhaps I need to up my difficulty level from casual!) as I have not had to Skip a puzzle nor use the hint button much. I recommend the CE's of these games not so much for the strategy guide, but because the bonus levels fill in and advance the original story. You are after a villain called the Red Masque, who is preying on the rich and the mayor's buddies. But the poor people consider him a hero and hate the mayor and the council, who seemed to have taxed them out of existence almost. So you get to help several of the poor, and receive a "Sphere of Guilt" afterwards that you place on Scales of Justice to help determine if the mayor or the Masque is the truly guilty. Of course there is a map and a diary and even a camera that you can take pictures with. You have your own office where your cat lives and plays with the cat toys you discover. There are 14 awards you can achieve, and the mini-games are not too hard. The HOS are well-lit and include both interactive lists and the more challenging silhouette types as well. A definite buy, for many hours of fun.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HELPING DECTIVE DUPIN ONCE AGAIN! In my opinion this is one of the best Dark Tales yet with so much going on you just can't help but enjoy playing! The Mayor of the town is not well liked by the townsfolk because he is unfairly taxing people, leaving the folks hungry and their town in shambles. Somebody in a red mask has killed the Mayor and all of the Mayors council members, and it is now up to you and Mr. Dupin to find the murderer and decide who the guilty parties actually are. That's right, you get to decide. You will collect evidence against both the Mayor and the man in the red mask and use that evidence on your scale of justice to decide who is guilty. You can also change your mind and move the evidence to one side or the other. You will find cute and helpful animals during your quest, the first one is a kitten that you place in your office, you can visit him, play with him and find things for him during your investigation. The graphics are clear and the cutscenes well done. You will earn achievements or trophies that you keep in your office as well. Another feature is a camera that you can use on any of the scenes in the game and the photos are kept in an album that again you can look through in your office, kinda cool. The mini games are mostly easy such as following a bread recipe to bake a loaf of bread (you get a trophy for this as well) or playing a game of which cup is the marble under. One of the games was to set 3 separate clocks to the same time and for me that was a frusterating puzzle. There aren't a lot of HOS but they are interactive and a mixture of classic list finds to finding the item in the scene that matches the silloutted shape on the list. A great game to play after the long wait. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Familiar Friend I own all the other Poe games and really like this genre. This time you're weighing who is the true villain, the Mayor and cohorts or the Red Masque. I used the Hint feature once and it took me right to the object I was overlooking. Instructions are clear, beautiful graphics, great voice overs, challenging but not a frustrating game with a compelling mystery storyline. It was a true pleasure visiting with our familiar friend Detective Dupin. Try it for yourself to see if you're interested but after playing the demo this is a definite buy for me. Well done Devs and Big Fish!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So sad!!! I was so so into the game, when time ran out. I wanted to purchase at once, sorry to say budget you know. But it will be first, on my list when possible. I loved what I played so far. Can't wait to purchase. Thanks Big Fish.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales 5. Dupin is back! I'm very happy to see this game here now. The devs were very fast. The fourth Dark Tales came out in 2013 and now, two or three months later Monsieur Dupin is back! The storyline is great. There are some parts from the Edgar Allan Poe story in it, but there are different parts too. Like in all the other Dark Tales games. The game can be played in widescreen too. That's great for many players. The music is lovely. It really reminds me of beautiful landscapes and little cafes in France. A beautiful soundtrack. The sounds are good done, like in every Ers game too. There are good voiceovers and nice drawn charakters in the game. The graphics are good. Very beautiful. There are wonderful gardens and dark castle streets. So here the devs did a good mix again. The graphics are detailed too. The only thing that's not perfect in the game (for me) is, that the game is very easy to play. But the puzzles are mostly challenging and sometimes a little easier. In this game there are various types of hidden object scenes. I really like them. That's why I rate level of challenge with good. As an extra the player has his own office where you can play with your little kitty and look at your trophys. You can earn the trophys while playing the game. And you can take a photo from every scene and save the photos as pictures on your PC. That's a great idea from the devs too. So the whole game is nice done again and worth the money. Like in every Ers game there are parts for beginner players and parts for more advanced players. The atmosphere in this game is especially good done and so it's defenitly a five star game for me!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "What is Justice?" ERS is back with another installment of the Edgar Allan Poe games and packs quite a punch! You are called to help Detective Dupin on a case where city officials are being murdered by a mysterious man wearing a red mask. What makes this game different from the previous ones is the fact that you weigh the evidence and decide who is the guilty one-the mayor and his unfair treatment of the citizens of this small French town, or the mysterious man in the red mask who is murdering city officials. Along the way you will meet people who will give you information that will help you decide. The Ho scenes are well done and interactive and the mini games very in degree of difficulty. You can earn awards for different things and find toys for the adorable kitten that you pick up. This game was well done and had a great twist on the previous ones. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Instant Buy For Me. Excellent Game! I’ve been waiting for this one since playing the beta and knew right away that this was an instant purchase. Of course I feel that way about every game that comes from the excellent team at ERS. Never have I been disappointed with one of their games. The Masque of the Red Death begins as our beloved Inspector Dupin is called in to solve a mystery and prevent the death of the town’s mayor by someone who has been killing off his advisors. As with the other Dark Tales games this one is very loosely based on an Edgar Allen Poe classic. If you are a fan of Poe, you won’t find too much in common with the original story. That being said, I always am entertained by the stories in games that come from this developer. The ERS team has a way of holding my interest while providing hours of entertainment in each tale that they spin for my enjoyment. For those of you who may have had issues in the past with the widescreen presentation in ERS games, I am happy to say that this now seems to be resolved. I know the screen presentation makes a big difference to many gamers so a big thumbs up to ERS on finally resolving this issue. The game runs very well on my Windows8 laptop and I experienced no technical issues. IMHO, ERS has listened to the comments from BFG members and is clearly on the right path towards making their CE games the TRUE CE value they should be. Masque of the Red Death is loaded with extras. Not only do we have the standards but we can replay the puzzles and HO scenes. There are many achievements to be earned throughout the game – I think I counted fourteen. A nice touch is the camera that not only adds photos to our map but that can be saved to an album for use as wallpapers. There is a journal or diary that contains notes and important information that we gather as we move through the game, and you will find your jumpable map located on one of the diary's tabs. When I was exploring “my office” I came across a wall that has certificates with my name – all kudos from Dupin for assisting him with his other Dark Tales cases. How cool is that!! And, what would an ERS game be without the loveable animals that are always present in their games? In this case we have a cute little kitten who we will supply with items that we find throughout the game. In Masque of the Red Death the graphics are the usual colorful art scenes that we have come to expect from ERS. The voice-overs and audio are excellent. Of course the music is pretty much the same as in all the ERS games. I guess it is their “branding” and you either love it or hate it. Sometimes it can be annoying and it is the one thing I would change in their games. The HO scenes have some interactive items and some are the silhouette type. What I really like in ERS hidden object scenes is that it is not overly difficult to find most items since they are drawn so well that they truly look like the item we are trying to find. Most of the puzzles that I have encountered are fairly standard and not overly challenging. I love puzzles in a game but I also like them to be solvable and not frustrating – so this game is just right for me. If you love this developer as much as I do, I recommend that you just go for it and buy the CE. If not, try the demo and hopefully find something you like.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent - Another Amazing Adventure from the Pages of Poe! This game is great! Intriguing story with outstanding visuals and sound. Are you ready to join Dupin once again as he searches for a masked stranger? Will the quest for justice be served with his capture or will he be revealed as an avenger and hero? Is the unpopular Mayor a villain or a victim? Play and find out! In true ERS style, the graphics and artwork are clear and colourful, with that somewhat washed out look that is so characteristic. The music, a combination of accordion, piano and strings, seems appropriately French and suits each moment. I found the characters and voices realistic and appealing. Finally, we have lip sync that has been done to perfection! The cutscenes and animation are superb and blend seamlessly into the gameplay. Much to my delight, I am pleased to see animals in a game such as this. The kitten in the opening scene captured my heart. Here you are amidst murder and mystery, and you take the time to feed a hungry kitten and then adopt him. As time passes, you obtain items for him for him to use and play with by a roaring fire in your warm and comfortable office. We encounter a bear who helps to shake an apple from a tree, and then there’s a dachshund whose purpose I have not yet discovered. Other reviewers have given the details of this great HOPA. I just want to add that it has everything I need for a well-crafted game and a fabulous CE! Can't wait to find out how it all turns out. Based on my enjoyment of the demo, this game is definitely on my purchase list. Very highly recommended!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner! I am so surprised that there is another Dark Tales after Gold Bug was released not too long ago. I love this series and also love the fact that the Help is actually a Help instead of just in the HO games. This is a beautiful game and I usually don't buy the CE version, but just couldn't wait. I have only played the Demo but know I am going to absolutely love this game. Yes, story is similar to others, but who cares, as that is the way it is in all things just like TV shows. Again, can not tell you how much I love this series and so glad they now give you more tools; except for the map; it does not show you objectives as you only have jumping option. OK, going to load the rest of the game and have an unproductive day as I will be playing on the computer. One more thing, and I have complained about this before...why does BF give bundle specials on these new games in a series? If they are good, you probably already have the other games in the series so it does not do us loyal users any benefit at all. Come on BF, give us something we can actually use!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yipee!! Another Dark Tale!! To have another Dupin mystery to solve so soon after the last one is great. These are not the most difficult games but they are fun and interesting. The hidden object games are inter-active with little things to do or find inside the games. You even get to bake some bread!! There are many things in the scenes that need to be found so look all over. You are able to pick up little animal helpers along the way to do a few chores for you which is fun. The story line is good and the sounds is good. The game is drawn in the usual way where everything is slightly fuzzy but at the same time it is easy to see all the objects. There is a lot to remember about where to go and where you have been. The map is interactive and the help button is good. There are some new added twists to the game like "Scales of Justice" and photos to take and look at and other little things to help you find the guilty person. It makes the bottom of your screen a little crowded and takes awhile to figure out what you really want to use and look at on a regular basis. I always enjoy these games and they are great to play over and over as you will find things you did not see before. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good ERS game I have played all the dark tales and this one is also good. Seems like ERS is putting out lots of games lately and I have notice that they are getting to be the same. Saying that it is still good game. Graphics and voice over is good along with the music. They seem to be getting less of a challenge for me. Maybe I'm betting better. Just seems like you need less help. The HOS are good and they are also changing into interactive ones now. Hint button works good. Good game and worth the money. They just had all there games for half price, too bad is quite yesterday.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT Poe game Because I have the other Edgar Allen Poe games, I bought this one right away. I've been playing about two hours and really want to keep moving along. There are three modes of play: Casual, Advanced, and Hardcore. I'm using the casual mode. The Strategy Guide is readily available so you do not have to go to the menu to access it. You have a Journal that containes notes and a map. You will have a camera icon at the bottom of each scene and it is important to take a photo whenever you enter a new location. The scene will be added to your map which will transport you directly to locations. There are many achievements to earn. At the start of the game, you will visit the detectives office. You will need to click all around this scene to become familiar with awards you can receive. It also has a section on the wall, that will mention your name and reference to other Poe games you have played. The hint button, in the casual mode, works well, and will use an arrow to show you where to go next, The HO's are colorful and interactive. Type of HO is varied, which is nice. I did not find it difficult to locate items but I have a large screen. I don't think you will have difficulty finding items. The games, thus far, have not been difficult to play but are fun.They can be skipped. You will, also, be using a scale, on occasion, to weigh things. It will help you at the end of the game to determine who is the REAL villan. There are a lot of voice overs which are will done. They are skipable. However, when playing for the first time you might want to take the time to listen/read. It carries the story line forward in addition to informaing you of items you will need. There is some movement back and forth between scenes; but, so far, items are used rather quickly. I liked the features this Poe game had that were not included in the other ones. Hope this review is helpful. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like a winner Have played all "Dark Tales". This one had me interested from the start. Graphics/cutscenes are superb. Hidden object scenes are creative. The story line is very interesting. You have to work out who the real villain is the man in the red mask or the town mayor. After playing the demo I knew I had to buy it. You won't be disappointed I wasn't.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YES: This time Detective Dupin convinced me to buy the Collector’s Edition!!! :) Find out the truth, who is more guilty: The mayor of the town or the red-masked man who is murdering city officials… Graphics are as expected from ERS: drawn very clear and detailed! Marvellous cutscenes with very good voice-overs. As always 3 modes to choose from, 6 chapters plus bonus chapter, direction giving hint, a very useful journal with an interactive map (allowing you to jump), you may lock the inventory, so that it won’t disappear at the bottom. SG doesn’t follow your progress. And we have a camera next to the inventory. Now: Try not to use the hint-button in HOS and minigames. Take pictures of every scene! And collect all 5 hidden items for your cat!! YES: And that is new in this series: We are able to earn 11 achievements!!!! And I love that! We have our own private office, decorated with our achievements and a place for our cudy cat. Lots of HOS (list) and those (wellknown ERS-) silhouette-HOS, where you must find one item, before getting another and so on, until 1 last item remains for your inventory. Minigames are good to manage. Yes, this time, a Dark Tales Collector’s Edition is a „must have“ for me!!!! :)
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IF IT'S ERS, YOU KNOW IT'S GOT TO BE GOOD NOT SO GOOD First, the artwork (especially of Dupin) doesn't seem to be up to par with prior games of the series. Second, the bottom of the screen is too crowded - on my 27 inch screen, there is over an inch of unused space on each side - makes the inventory tray rather small in comparison. VERY GOOD Production values are what you'd expect from ERS - an interactive map, artistic graphics, diary, interesting story (true to Poe), logical game play, various achievements and well-detailed interactive uncrowded HOS. You can take pictures with your camera as often as you want and they will be saved to a book in your office. A delight to play. I love all the Edgar Allan Poe games.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable game enjoyed the game but was disappointed with the map,it did not help at all i had to use the hint most of the time . the puzzles were good very challenging .
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The the story is different from Poe's story but is interesting nonetheless. The story of the bonus chapter is actually pretty good. Dupin resembles the detective from the Haunted Hotel series and is just as useless, being Captain Obvious and giving zero insight on anything. The graphics are okay, nothing special. Overall a decent entry in ERS Poe series.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good For an ERS game... I used to LOVE ERS games but I have found them to be quite dull lately especially many sequels down the line. Even good series need to end people BUT I actually really liked this game which surprised me. I found it easy and was able to do all the mini games with no problem. The hidden object scenes were mostly the interactive scene we usually see but there were a couple different ones thrown in. The graphics are the usual pretty fare that ERS is known for. There are 7 chapters and then the bonus. The main game ends satisfactorily and there is no need for the bonus chapter. The ending is a choose your own and it would be interesting to know if that changes the bonus game based on what you pick or how it changes the game overall. You have a scale that you can measure how guilty you feel each party is. Its not mandatory you do this however. I kept forgetting to go do it and finished the game without it til the end because in the final scene you need to put all the marbles in the scale to determine who is to blame but other than that, no real reason to use it. As far as ERS games go, I actually enjoyed the story line but then I still like this series, well not gold bug but I digress. There isn't really a helper in this game, thank you. There are animals you pick up like a bear to shake down a tree but nothing you keep the entire game. There were a few times I had to consult the strategy guide but that was because the solution to where I was stuck, was not something you'd ever think to do. It made no sense and those moments were not my favorite. However as a CE, this game is lacking. There is a cat room and you stumble upon toys throughout the game but they aren't really collectibles because its mandatory you pick them up. You can go into this cat room and play with your cat. NO THANK YOU! It had nothing to do with the game so its a bit out of place. There are no collectibles, no achievements but you have the who cares assortment of wallpapers, screen savers, music score (if you have any other ERS game, you already have this music there as its repeated), hidden object scenes/puzzles you can replay and the bonus game. You can also take pictures and there is a pull down tab on the top of the screen. I am not sure why you would want to take them. I opted out of this feature. I personally was not a fan of the bonus game. I didn't understand what it had to do with the main game and I did not finish it. Thats why I wonder if choosing who you believe the bad guy is, is a good idea. I think the game wants you to go a certain way and I went the other so the bonus made no sense. Inane things to do. So here is my recommendation. Buy the standard edition. You will get a good game with an actual conclusion. Its good to see that ERS no longer continues the conclusion into the bonus chapter as I always felt that was cheap. The extras don't warrant the extra price so I don't recommend the CE but I do the SE. Cheers.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They're baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack! One of my favourites is back and it didn't disappoint! Very cool adventure this time with travelling, puzzles, potions and more detective work! Hurrah!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots to do! I enjoyed this game but golly there was a lot to do. I got tired of trying to remember to take a picture of each and every scene. I do always talk to all the characters so that wasn't hard to remember. All in all, it was a fun game.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but not sure if Collector's Edition was worth it. Fun game with lots of different levels of games (from easy to challenging). The story line isn't fabulous, but there was enough going on to keep my interest. My only issue is the extras you get with the Collector's Edition. I buy the CE with every game, and most offer more than what was offered here. So, in short, I recommend the game overall, but not the Collector's Edition in particular. The regular edition should be enough.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Detective to rival Holmes! This is the latest in the series of Poe's tales. This storyline in my opinion is the strongest one that there has been. The plot is of justice, but it is corruption v 'the people' and you have to decide with 'scales of justice' who you think is in the right. Even though this is 'just a game' it asks important moral questions about ourselves and what we think of as right and wrong (sorry to get deep I know it is only a game, but it really did make me think). The game itself is on par with others in the series, the puzzles are good and well thought out, some are trickier than others and I have had to resort the strategy guide a couple of times as it didn't always seem logical. Overall though there was logic to the flow of the game and the storyline was I felt excellent. The graphics and sound/music were of equal standard to others of this series (which I have always felt to be high). One slight negative I would have (though this is the case for most games by this producer, is that you can flick through the different game modes, thus you are not 'tied' as it were to that game level if things get tricky, this to me kind of defeats the purpose of choosing a level and sticking with it. Overall I would defiantly recommend this game, whether or not you are new to this series or have had others in the series you can't go far wrong. This is based on the CE edition which I got on offer, so I can't comment on any major differences between this and the SE version.
Date published: 2013-06-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_18044, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.