Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under the everlasting night of the Dark Forest, protected only by the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman becoming him, believing she has the answers to saving the town. As he goes to investigate, the lighthouse erupts into fire. Was it sabotaged from inside the town or a darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1186 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 203.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED, DESERVES A 10! Just finished the CE and wow! this game has it all. Nearly perfect! Most interesting game I've ever played. Worthy of more than 5 stars.
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a truly magnificent game this is one of the best games ever!! It is different, very classy, the graphics are great, VOs sparing but very well done. All the mini-games seem different to me and interesting, things to collect, brain engaged. The best game ever and even better than Drawn which is in a similar vein. I also thoroughly recommend getting the previous Rites of Passage The perfect show as it is also brilliant. Dont know how I missed that last year.!
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game!!! This game is the perfect example of how a classical HOG can be a reference for the future productions of all devs : a new twist mechanism for HOS, an interactive inventory, a great voice acting, a lot of details, a good music not too repetive... In one word : AWESOME!!! This is IMO the best HO game I ever played!!!
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER GAME WITH A GOLDIE COLLECTOR EDITION What an extra super dooper game! Everything has been said better than me for the quality of music, graphics, story, mini-games, HO and a so valuable CE! You will not regret it. This is a new standard. Thanks BF.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, great story and great bonus chapter This is a very enjoyable and quality game. It has all the best aspects of HOG and adventure games, such as a good navigable map, a variety of HOS styles, most of which have a further step at the end of them, such as putting together items that you collected from behind objects in the scenes. Another thing I liked was that found objects often had to be combined or pieces put together before they could be used. However, the best bit is the bonus chapter. Although the main story is complete in itself, a lot of effort has gone into the bonus chapter. Often I find them to be just an afterthought as an excuse to charge more, but this one has mostly new scenes and is a mini adventure in itself. And another thing I was pleased about was that nowhere in the game, did I have to find a zip puller! (Nearly every game I've played recently I've had to do this and the unoriginality drives me mad.) If you're looking for a really challenging game, this may not be the one for you, as the puzzles were quite simple. The only downside was that I think I downloaded a bit of a glitch with the game, which showed itself when I was too far into the game to want to re-download it and lose my progress. It was a problem with the graphics - they started getting pixelated and it gradually got worse until I'd have to exit and go back into the game about every 15 minutes because it became unplayable.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best ever One of the best games I've played! The mini shows were fun, the puzzles, while not real challenging were interesting, and the hidden objects were sometimes different from the norm. I did like the changing music for the most part. The graphics were also very clear.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STANDING OVATION BRAVO !!!!! This is how games used to be before they started pumping them out like crazy in carbon copies of one and another. This CE is loaded with a huge array of achievements. In fact there were so many that I only managed 40% and I was focused, giving this one great replay value. The art work is visually stunning, the storyline captivating and there are extras at every turn. I loved the mix of mini games and especially loved how a compartment would pop open and the lighthouse would project a little movie to tell more of the story. This would then turn into a mini game. Really inventive. The whole game had awesome details and was really fun. You had collectibles of acorns in the main game and morphing objects in the bonus game which really was a continuation. Really long game so lots for your money. If I could have given this one more that five stars I would have. I would buy the CE version of the next one in a flash. These developers really know how to put out a great package with all the bells and whistles. Don't miss this one and buy the CE it's worth every penny. Loved it.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! What a Game!! Loved it! Hours of fun! So innovative, imaginative! Lovely music! Now my favorite game!! Giggled with delight at times cuz I was enjoying it so much. You have got to play this game and see for yourselves. Great game!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive game On the surface it seems like a well trodden concept: solve a mystery in a troubled town. But the execution is outstanding. There are some very charming puzzles, with a storybook feel. And everything shows how much thought has been put into the game. For example, you can manipulate inventory items and even open up mini games from them. That's something I rarely see. I was going to wait for the standard edition, but playing the demo convinced me otherwise. This is a keeper, and even better than the first Rite of Passage game.
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Review Ever... I felt compelled to write a review for the first time - because this game was so good! Everything about it was just right. Good story and game play that flowed well. Interesting puzzles and nice variations on the HO scenes. Beautiful artwork and pleasant music. Fun little additions - like the helper, collectibles... Just a very well put together game. One of the best I've played. I recommend it!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just perfect! This game is one of the freshest, most creative games to come along in a long time. It is beyond worth the price of a CE, and I'm relishing every moment. To be frank, lately I've found my interest beginning to wane, and I just don't spend very much time playing games anymore. I've gone back to books, TV, gardening, etc, but I just can't stop playing this game! Thank you to the developers and Big Fish for offering something as special as this!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING game im going to make this review short and straight to the point.. it's a beautiful game from start until finish.. there isnt anything i didnt like about it the graphics was well done beautiful and all the above!! if u dont believe me try it out for yourself!!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Thank you to the developers - this is one of my favorite games this year. Graphics are superb and overall this is a quality game. It has it all - a helpful map, puzzles that weren't too difficult but just right, and thoroughly entertaining. I liked that once something got to my inventory it didn't take another 30 minutes of gameplay to use the item - when it takes that long before using the item I have a tendency to forget the purpose. I liked that the inventory items were visible too. Just a great, challenging game. Thanks!
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rite of Passage - Child of the Forest Fantastic! Like a spellbinding book that you can't put down. Intriguing storyline, beautiful graphics, and excellent VO's. HO's and mini-puzzles were diverse and challenging. Much more entertaining than the Perfect Show.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rite of Passage The game was excellant. I enjoyed playing.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! This is by far the best game I've played on here. Anyone who's given this game less than 4 stars has just completely failed to appreciate how much effort and detail has gone into this game! GAMEPLAY/STORY: - Loved the story. Normally the stories are the same and get boring, but this was just lovely and almost sad in places. - Some similar gameplay to the first Rite of Passage, i.e. the little theatre shows that give you parts of the story as you go along. - There were also two references to the first game whilst in one scene which I thought was a nice touch. - I liked that some items you collected could be altered and changed into something else. Makes life a bit more interesting! - As I said before, the attention to detail is brilliant! Just small things like flies crawling across the screen whilst in a dirty location, and if you click on house numbers, it tells you who lives there. Just small things like this show the developers have made an effort to provide an interesting game. MUSIC/VOICE-OVERS: - Music was gorgeous! Normally I turn off the music within 5 minutes of playing a game as it gets annoying but this was beautiful. Lovely piano and orchestral tunes in each scene, quite haunting in places. Loved it. - Voice overs were ok, bit dramatic in places but then it was quite a dramatic story I guess. HOS/PUZZLES: - HOS were fine, a tad on the easy side in places but that didn't bother me too much. Sometimes it spoils the game if you're stuck for ages on HOS. - The HOS also changed from fragmented scenes, to the usual list to collect. And you had the usual interactive items where you have to perform an extra action to get something. - Puzzles were good. Increased in difficulty as well, and you even got BOSS fights at the end. Nice touch! WHAT DO YOU GET?: - Four modes of gameplay including a custom mode - Notebook - Map - Hint/Skips buttons - Lockable inventory bar - 34 acorns to collect, and 11 morphing objects - Large amount of Achievements organised into easy-hard LENGTH: - Length was actually shorter than the first game which I was surprised about. It took me 4hrs 20mins to finish the main game and bonus. The notebook shows you your gameplay time which I like. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Fun, challenging game!! Loved it!!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now THIS is What I'm Talking About! Finally!! I'm so glad I purchased the CE of this game! Developers, you're to be commended for bringing us something different, challenging, & fun! Best game I've played so far (& I believe I've played about 100 of them)! Just started playing this today and I can't wait to get back to it! I actually look forward to the HO scenes instead of just completing them because they're there. This time several new elements have been added that really make them different & fun. Puzzles also have new twists I've never seen before. I won't go into details because other reviewers have already done that. I just wanted to rave about this new game because the developers have really been paying attention to what we've been looking for. I was ready to stop playing for a while because I was tired of the same old games. Now I'm excited about the prospects of new & exciting games. Kudos, developers! Keep them coming!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wowzers I have never felt so compelled to write a review but briefly this is a GREAT game!!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five star game! This game is just perfect! The story is really captivating. At first I thought it would be another boring game when you look for your lost husband in a dark wood. But this is not the average "find your lost relative" game. The story was entertaining and unpredictable from start to finish. Interactive HOS are great and mini games are quite easy but always fun and original. My heart was pounding during the "boss fight" minigames. It may be a bit childish but I love games where you carry a little animal to help you - in this case a hamster. The artwork is beautiful, music is nice and it has voice over in the cut scenes. What I also like is that you can set your own level of difficulty. You can choose from a list of options if you want sparkles, how long will the hint recharge etc. One of the best games I've played!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many unique challenges...loved it! This was fun with enough unique challenges to keep me occupied for hours and yet not so esoteric that I needed to scratch my head and groan "what are they talking about?". Graphics were good, voiceovers were good - I'm even thinking about getting a hamster for a pet. I recommend it (the game not the hamster).
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completed Game AWESOME First of all KUDOS to the boy who sang that beautifully haunting song into the game! Mad Head Games has really raised the bar and I can't imagine why this wouldn't be the game of 2013. Wonderfully long game with custom difficulty option. Besides the bonus game there are Achievements, Gallery which are puzzle posters you put together of the characters and then a little story about them, the soundtrack, wallpapers, and concepts. I didn't find all my acorns so wasn't able to visit "Old Lady" so I don't know what that does. A preview of their next game, "Nevertales, the Beauty Within" which promises "coming soon". Can't be too soon enough because Mad Head Games ROCK !!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!!! I read the reviews before buying the CE version and YES they were so right. This is the best game since 'Siberia' but very different. I usually turn the music off but even that is beautiful. Thanks all the reviewers.This is a WOW game in all aspects.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality similar to Drawn This game is worth having as a CE. Very much like Drawn with excellent visual quality and appeal. I found the music very enjoyable and suited to the scenes. I finished the main game and bonus and didn't manage to get half of the achievements (got all but 1 acorn) and plan to play again. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! ONE OF THE BEST BF GAMES OF THE YEAR! This game was so outstanding. If I could give it 10 stars I would. I can't say enough about this one. You will see for yourself. Excellent!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite game EVER a must have! So great in all areas. I don't know where these devs have been hiding. I see they have a new game in process. I hope the new game is as good or better if that is possible. I tried this based on the other fishies reviews and it is worth every cent. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME!! Very different!! Wow! Just finished this game and I was so impressed! It had alot of really different stuff in it than whats been out lately. I highly recommend you get this one!! I had alot of fun playing it!!
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game So far I have only played the demo, but I absolutely love it, there is so much to do, such as clicking on the house numbers, which I only found by accident. The HO's are just a bit different from most and not too many of them, the mini games are challenging , plus you also have to keep eye out for the acorns! The storyline and graphics are excellent and according to the forum the full game can take about 6 hours, so well worth the outlay - too many games are a disappointment because they don't last very long or are too easy, but this one really hits the mark. A definite buy.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So very refreshing! I am still playing this game and am completely enjoying it! The level of challenge, the interesting stories, the variation of puzzles...all are forming up into a fantastic game!
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absobloominlutly Fabulous What a marvelous game. I cannot find one thing about it that I do not like. The HOS are different and with a variety, lists, sillouettes, pictures and with interactive elements. The mini games are fun, quite easy, but fun. It has everything I look for in a CE these days. Achievements, collectibles (although I keep forgetting to look for the acorns :) and an interactive map. If I could give 10/10 I would. totally 100% recommend.
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2021, m_10, d_25, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_203
  • loc_en_US, sid_18153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.