Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

A mysterious figure in red… Something’s driven everyone away from Linden Shades. No one’s been back since that time of terror when the kids drew startling images of blood-red ghosts, and the police were no help. Your editor’s sure there’s a story hidden in the Shades. Can you get the truth, off the record?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • The bonus game to uncover more secrets
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • The integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 732 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely worth it to get CE It's from the same developers that made the Final Cut series so you get the same awesome quality of game. Love how they use actual people in the cut scenes to help make it a more realistically set game. HO scenes were fairly straight forward, liked how there was an interactive puzzle in each one. CE are sometimes a hit and miss on the bonuses available for them, but this is one where it is worth it to get the CE. You get an extra bonus chapter to play which is set after you've solved the mystery and it gives you some background info on the mystery surrounding Linden Shades. Also it was great being able to see all the cut scenes and listen to the different music clips which suited the locations and HO scenes perfectly. Neat also having photos from the photo shoots for some of the cut scenes and also the little behind the scenes clip. Awesome game.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Just Another Ghost Story BASED ON DEMO This game already has me won over. The STORY is a spooky GHOST story, set in the BROAD DAYLIGHT of a sunny day in the country. While the ATMOSPHERE suffers a little from this departure from cliché, I think it’s worth it just for the variety. And it is a creepy story. BLOOD RED GHOSTS began to appear to the children of an orphanage. The principal believes they are real, but no one else does. The orphanage is closed anyway and you in your role as a REPORTER with OFF THE RECORD are investigating this decades-old case. This is a HO GAME, there are oodles of them everywhere – which is just fine by me! The ADVENTURE component is limited and very simple. Each INVENTORY item is quickly used in an obvious place. There are also very few PUZZLES, and so far they are not difficult. The HOS are the INTERACTIVE LIST TYPE, with some objects requiring further action. Some require the solving of a VERY SIMPLE little puzzle – for example, placing different shaped stones back into a necklace where the background cloth indicates the shape. There are also some MULTIPLES OF items in each HOS, for instance, spur x 5 and apple x4. If you are too slow on finding an item, one will start to glow. HINT points to the area you need to be DIRECTLY, showing a photo you can JUMP into. So does the INTERACTIVE MAP which shows you active objectives, places with things to be done, and your location. You have 3 levels of difficulty, which is probably just as well, because on Regular this game is VERY EASY. The GRAPHICS are CLEAR, PLEASANT & BRIGHT. No problem with dark scenes in the beautiful daylight. They are not, perhaps, spectacular, but they are CE standard. The MUSIC became a bit annoying to me, too many repetitions already. AMBIENT sounds are great. VOICEOVERS were also EXCELLENT. Now for the BELLS & WHISTLES. *deep breath* We have COLLECTIBLES – 37 crayons, 12 letters (of the alphabet), 16 toys, and we must also find tapes with the backstory. ACHIEVEMENTS – 20, including ones related to the collectibles. GALLERY with ART, CONCEPT ART, REPLAYABLE CUT SCENES, MUSIC, MAKING OF. REPLAYABLE HOS & PUZZLES. BONUS GAME WITH NEW HOS STRATEGY GUIDE – which at first I couldn’t find, it’s in the diary I never even thought to open! I’m keen to buy this one, it fits me to a tee – good story, nice graphics, different idea (daylight) and the gameplay is HOS heavy. But that is not going to be the case for most HOPA fans. I think even in the ‘INSANE’ mode, this game will be TOO EASY for EXPERTS, and have too many HOS for the ADVENTURE PLAYERS. So 'OFF THE RECORD' I recommend it to all us AVERAGE players out there looking for a relaxing & entertaining few hours.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Play Not Eerie/Creepy Enough - Review Of Completed Game HOPA (Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure) Story: Your news editor sends you off to Linden Shades to look around a now long ago abandoned orphanage rumored to be haunted by the red hooded boogeyman The editor had once investigated the story but never had a chance to bring it to any conclusion cause he ended up getting assigned a different case. 7 Chapters, 20 achievements, collectibles: 37 crayons, 12 letters of the alphabet, 16 toys along with 7 cassette tapes to be found with the back story that you find/earn throughout the main game. I play all my games running on PC Windows 7 64 bit and this had widescreen for me. Filled my 20 inch monitor just fine. No tech issues. There are live actors in some cut scenes, otherwise voice overs. There are 3 modes of play. Regular, Expert, Insane. I tested out before I started actually playing. The easier two modes have sparkles/black bar tips, hint/skip quick on charge up. The Insane mode is really slow. Hint also helpful outside of HOS on all modes. If you are not in an area where there is something to do a portal box will come up and just click there and it will take you. You can switch between modes at any time during the game. I played on Insane mode and didn't use hints/skips once I actually started playing the game. Journal: This is the typewriter down at the bottom. Click on that and inside you will also find Objectives, Evidence, as well as the Strategy Guide which stays where you last left it. Map: Is transporter and shows where you are on the map for all play modes along with objectives which also pop up on the screen however the 2 harder modes don't show active task indicator at least it didn't for me. HOS: Found by word list and very interactive here and there are quite a few scenes. I didn't find these to be Sanford & Son junkyard. I thought these were very well done. I had no problem here locating anything. I will say the collectibles weren't always so easy to locate as some for me were very well hidden or blended into the scene especially the crayons along with the toys. Puzzles: The usual run of the mill found in many games just to name a few: Get the cats and snails from one side to the other, get the emblem out of the maze, slider puzzle, etc. The challenge varied for me. Usually in most games I at least skip a couple however didn't skip any in this game. My overall impression: This story line itself I had no problem with. I definitely found intriguing. I was immediately drawn in by the graphics, cut scenes, live actors and was all prepared to get an eerie, creepy, suspenseful story about the red hooded boogeyman and an orphanage that was suppose to be haunted as I found this to be very well done but after this point I didn't get this feeling at all from this game.Just wasn't what I expected at all. Oh and no I don't mean doom and gloom. Just no eerie, creepy, suspenseful feel to me. I was on the fence with this one after the demo time but with the sale to get it for $8.99 I thought I would see where this game would end up going and well I just didn't get the eerie/creepy suspenseful feeling from this game I expected to. I think the developer could of worked on this a bit more. Truth be told I had the "who was the boogeyman" figured out well before I reached the half way point in the game. I must say though I did enjoy the game play as this has a lot to offer here. While this is HOS heavy so may not appeal to some however still found a nice balance of puzzles and adventure as there are a lot of places to go and things to do. Also quite a few achievements/collectibles to earn/find along with hours of game play, well at least for me anyway. I did use the map occasionally but not much. The main game does come to a satisfactory conclusion. The bonus chapter is not needed. The bonus chapter has some scenes from the main game along with some new. HOS are also interactive with a good number of puzzles. As for eerie, creepy, suspenseful feeling none to be had by the bonus chapter either. CE extras: Strategy guide, Gallery with art, Concept art Replayable cut scenes, music, making of, and replayable HOS and puzzles. Main game: This was definitely long enough for me. Almost 7 hours no hints/skips used. Bonus chapter: This was just under an hour for me. No hints/skips used. Overall a 4 stars from me. I thought the story could of been worked on a bit more otherwise I would of gave this 5 stars. The hours of game play, achievements/collectibles and getting it for $8.99 instead of $13.99 saved this game otherwise I would of rated it 3 stars at best and waited for the SE. Thanks Big Fish and developer. A good game just needed to work on the story more in my opinion. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do You Believe in the Boogeyman? The story begins as your editor asks you to do him a favor and follow up on one of his old assignments. He requests that you investigate old reports of a bloody-red boogeyman who was terrorizing children at the Linden Shades Orphanage. You return to the now abandoned orphanage to see what you can dig up, and it is not too long before you begin to believe that something was indeed going on at Linden Shades. Can you find out what is behind the mystery of Linden Shades? The game uses live actors for the cut scenes. The graphics are good and consist of a blend of hand drawn and computerized artwork. The soundtrack is okay but the “music” in the HOPs drove me nuts. There is a repetitive piano-key tune that is extremely annoying and creates the impression a timer in the HOPs, even though they are untimed. Eventually, I had to turn the music off to save my sanity. In fact many of the sound effects were just over the top annoying, like the tractor in the barn that would not turn off. Your diary is located on the bottom left of your screen where you see the typewriter. Inside the diary is your strategy guide. Your interactive map is on the lower right next to the inkwell that serves as your hint button. As I progressed through the game I was irritated that the typewriter and inkwell areas took up so much space and intruded into the gameplay area. Many times I accidentally clicked on them because they were in the way. The interactive hidden object scenes are referred to as HOPs in the game since they all include some minor puzzle action. You will find a lot of HOPs in the game but they are well done and the items are not too difficult to find. The puzzles are a lot of fun and probably the best thing about the game (aside from the interesting storyline). The puzzles are not too difficult and some are easy but I really enjoyed the “mechanics.” During the game you need to find bonus items: 12 letters, 16 toys, and 37 crayons. Many times I found them by accident when I was looking for other items so it was a surprise when the dialog box would pop up and let me know I found 1 of something. There are also 20 achievements to be earned, so if you like achievements – here you go. Other extras include replay of HOPs and puzzles. Bonus HOPs are also included along with the bonus game. Aside from those we have the standard extras that I never bother with such as artwork, and music. IMHO, coupled with the achievements, bonus items, and the fact that I can replay the puzzles, this game is well worth the CE price. Overall I liked the game and recommend that you at least try the demo to see if it is a game that you might enjoy as well.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE RED BOOGYMAN This is the story of a haunting in the orphanage, all of the children are being tormented by the same evil entity, the red boogieman! The children are so frightened that they close down the orphanage, abandoning the building for good. It is now up to you to investigate and find evidence that the boogieman does indeed exists. One of the best features of this game are the collectables, lots of different kinds. You will find hidden crayons, toys and letters of the alphabet, and they have done an excellent job of hiding them. There are a lot of HOS, they are interactive and each HOS has a puzzle to interact with such as placing badges in the correct slots. There aren't as many mini games but with collectables as well as achievements to earn you will enjoy playing this game. I didn't like the bright sunny atmosphere because it took away from the spooky scary feel for me, but it's still a well done game.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for an afternoon of fun! I had a great time playing this game. The story, while not a trailblazer, is at least straightforward with understandable reasons for why you're doing what you're doing. The navigation is linear, which I prefer to jumping all over the map. Everything is pretty well explained in the game as well as the diary. The diary itself has some of the best art in the game so don't skip looking at it! But that's not to say that the rest of the art is bad--this is, overall, one of the better-looking titles I've bought from Big Fish. Which brings me to the HO scenes. They were not that difficult, it's true--but some of us like it that way! There were no "junkpiles" and no rotten food (pet peeve of mine). I didn't think there were more HOs than in other games I've played. I'd put the amount as very slightly over average, and because it just takes a few minutes and some effort to solve them (rather than a long period of frustration and squinting), the number of HOs didn't detract from the game. I'm more of a puzzle person. The puzzles here, although fun, weren't very tough. If you play a lot of these kinds of games you might find yourself racing through them--but if you're newer, you might find them just right. Overall, a fun game with great art and a coherent story. Recommended for an afternoon of relaxation!
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid. Great Entertainer. I was a little reluctant to try this game at first, but I’m glad I did! The story showed some great promise during the demo, and while not perfect, this is one I’d definitely consider playing on! First off, the cutscenes in the story use real actors and real footage, not just cartoon animated cheap stuff we’ve seen lately. On the subject of the actual story, it was something that I really enjoyed. The story got better and better as I got through the demo, but the demo ended so quickly that I thought I didn’t get enough. Voice-overs are used sparingly; only in the tapes and intro. The HOS I thought were really good, although I thought there were a few too many of them. I really enjoyed the amount of extra step objects. There were 3 per HOS, with one taking multiple steps to complete. This was a first from what I can recall, and I hope this makes future appearances. I encountered 4 puzzles during the demo, and they were a mix of super easy and more challenging. The first 2 were very, very easy and the other 2 were a little harder. So the puzzles were simple, and would be good for a beginner. The graphics, I have to say, were great. The artwork was done brilliantly, so well that I thought some of it was real. You can clearly tell that the developers have put in a lot of effort to try and please us. I was disappointed with how sparingly the voice-overs were used. There was the intro, chatting to a character, then nothing during the demo except for the tapes. This was a little disappointing for me… FEATURES - 3 modes of play: Casual, Advanced, Insane (I played Casual) - Hint and Skip- fast recharge and the hint is a great help - Interactive Map - Diary to keep track of events. Also holds objectives and tapes. - Collectable tapes to further the investigation - NO strategy guide - Achievements- always adds fun (CE Exclusive) - Bonus Chapter (CE Exclusive) - Replay HOS (Bonus Content) - Bonus HOS (Bonus Content) - Replay Puzzles (Bonus Content) - Bonus Puzzle (Bonus Content) This game was solid and a great time filler. I really enjoyed my demo, but will probably wait for the SE. A solid four for me.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth buying Yes this is a good game. I didn't like it quite as much as the developer's previous Death on the Silver Screen, but it kept my attention. However as I managed to play it on the 'insane' mode I don't think it can be too difficult! As to the game play the story is well set out (see other reviews) and the cut scenes good. It's fairly obviously what you have to do and where you have to use the objects, so you can progress through the various scenes. I thought it was a good length too. The HOS are well done and I liked the idea of having some things to find which involved you having to replace items into or on another item in the scene. The various other hidden collectibles are more of a challenge and the crayons in particular are well concealed. i don't know where I stand on collectibles really as I can happily do without them but it certainly makes you look at a scene very carefully! I did think it was a bit odd that you had to go across a river to get to the other part of the orphanage, but hey, it adds a bit to the game play. One thing, do look at the credits at the end: much the best way to do them and keep people reading! If you do the bonus chapter (not necessary to the plot, but does add something to it), you also get an amusing 'making of' the game which includes the red ghost. Recommended.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old Fashion Fun This game is more like the old HO's, but still had some things to complete in the HO's. the whole game seemed old fashion. I like it and it was very fun. Kept me really busy. I would buy this game. Interactive map. Lots of collectables. I believe I recognize the actors from another grave. I mean game. :)
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would have loved it had it been longer I liked the storyline and the creativity. I liked the real people mixed in with the CGI. Colorful and challenging. I liked the interactive HO screens. Too short for a collector's edition. I would have enjoyed playing it longer.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from warehouse is a collection games every detail, colors, sounds, and characters seem very nice work I was fascinated and
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun and relaxing This is a very nice, relaxing game. Sometimes that is exactly what I want. The graphics and VO's are well done. Gameplay is smooth and integrated well with a good story. There is not a lot of challenge but I did find a couple of the puzzles hard. HOS are clear and quite quick and easy, which I like. There are 3 modes of difficulty to choose from including the option of whether or not to utilize the map and to what degree. I played Casual and had a map that indicates active tasks. So if you want more of a challenge the option is there. The CE offers many achievements and 3 different collectibles: crayons, toys and letters. There is also a bonus chapter. I enjoyed this game. Great if you're looking for fun and relaxing experience.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good demo The game had a good storyline and was very interesting from the start. There were a number of achievements and three different types of objects to find (letters, toys and crayons). The visual was very good, crisp and clear. The map allowed you to jump from place to place and let you know where you had things to do. There were three levels of difficulty which were casual, expert and insane and you can change levels during game. There were a lot of extras. This game has all the challenges that make it a good CE.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Fantastic but enjoyable I played the one hour demo. I found the game game to be relaxing and fun, It is not a hard game, but it is enjoyable. I enjoyed the clarity of the graphics and the voice overs were well done. The music was not so bad either. I doubt if one will need a strategy guide but there is one. The map did not transport me to the next site. Over all I enjoyed the game and will probably buy it, although I am not sure if it is worth the CE price. But if on sale then it would be a good deal.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad Beside the fact that the 1 hour free trial only lasted for 46 minutes, I was enjoying this one, though it was, at times, very formula. The HO's were very good, and the puzzles were OK. I wasn't able to really get into the story. A haunted orphanage just doesn't tickle my funny bone. I must say the graphics and real people, instead of cartoons for the back story, were very nicely done. However, from what I saw this game was not worth $14. I would recommend that you try the 46 minute trial for yourself, to make that decision.
Date published: 2015-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Shade too Easy and too Short Fun, bright and colorful. Story was better than most. The puzzles were easy, l like a few easy puzzles, but all of these were really easy. Lots have said whats good about this game and it is a good game. l found it on the short side, l completed main game under 5 hours. The bonus was 30 minutes. I will play again, someday, and try it on "insane". Overall l enjoyed playing and do recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing, yet simple Played the demo only. on difficult, never had to use a hint or skip. The ho scenes were standard- a list of items, some requiring multiple steps. One thing that was different about this game was that each HOS had a little task where you had to place multiple items - such as in the demo the chocolates in a box or badges on a ribbon. This was a nice change, but they were very simple- no thought- just drag object into matching hole. The ho scenes were kind of junk piles, but at least you could SEE the junk in the piles unlike other games. The story was- as usual- creepy. when uncovering ho scenes a creepy child sound appeared for a split second. I like how you have to keep your eye out for additional items for achievements and collections. The mini games were really simple too- I was about to hit skip on one but it was out of boredom and not out of skill. Now for the amazing part. The cut scenes (or cinematic scenes) were amazing! point blank probably the best I have seen and I have been playing these for years and years. I am pretty sure they are actual movie scenes and not animated. The sound, the colors, the details. fan-tas-tic. I am still not sure why you would put a wet rag over a hot lightbulb. Seems pretty dangerous. Also the screw-driver that is missing the handle is called a chisel and not a screw driver. that confused me because I had a chisel in my inventory. also why would I have to take oil and fill it from a larger container into a smaller one. couldn't I save time and just pour the oil in the original container over the item? Would be curious to see how the rest of the story develops. But am poor. so will have to wait. also cassette tapes ! how funny !!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Orphanage, red ghost, gold, deed!! Fun game all around! I really liked this game. Wasn't very long but there was a lot to do. The HOS were interactive and very clever. The artwork was good, music okay. Real people, good VOS, and fun puzzles. I played the expert mode and the puzzles were pretty easy, some tricky. I think there was a nice variety of things to do in this game. You had crayons, letters, and toys to find and you can tend to forget about these things when you really get into the game. There are achievements you can rack up. After the bonus game you have the extras like more HOS and puzzles to solve. Pretty neat. You get a lot for your money, and take advantage of the deals that Big Fish has to offer. Deal after deal! They're the greatest! Anyway, I gladly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun but simple This is a fast-paced game. You can click and pick up quickly. The hidden object puzzles are very simple, and items are easy to locate. Unfortunately, the graphics aren't of the highest quality. I don't normally pay attention to the music, but in this case, I noticed right off that it didn't match up with the game. If you are new to hidden object games, this is a good fit for you. You won't know what to compare it to. For the experienced gamers, keep looking.. you'll most likely be disappointed.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just ok! The introduction was so amazing and well rendered that I figured the game would follow, I was so excited at the prospect of buying it for sure after such a great start, but then i played the trial, the graphics went downhill quickly, then there were so many hidden objects scenes which I am so tired of, the game became boring quickly and I did not even finish the hour trial! I wanted to know the end of the story but not badly enough to waste further time. I am always put out when the introduction starts with flourish and the game fizzes out after that, I always feel like someone is trying to impress me to suck me in something that will afterwards be mediocre. The introduction was promising, the game just disappointing afterwards and I had to quit. Too many other great games to linger here!
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to love it, but just got bored! The game starts off with a bang, drawing you in and urging you on to find out what happened at the now abandoned farm that was once home to the children of the Linden Shades Orphanage. Was there really a red bogeyman? Is he still there? The achievements, collectibles and extras offered on the menu page also spur you on to get involved. Anticipation starts the ball rolling, but the gameplay fails to deliver any challenge. Good game for those who love HOGs, rather than adventure games, and might be great for beginners, or those who just want to relax and distress. A poignant story that just does not excite. It’s an abandoned farm with a dilapidated and cluttered look appropriate to the storyline. Surprisingly colourful scenery. In spite of the past hauntings and the continuing presence of the bogeyman, the atmosphere is not spooky. The music relaxes to the point of sleepiness, and the lack of animation and cutscenes leave you without any sense of urgency. Usual game features are included. Transporter map, task markers, diary, objectives, tape recorder to play snippets of moments with the kids (nice touch), directional hint and skip button. Hint recharges quickly, for which I was grateful as I couldn't get through the iHOS (lists) fast enough. TOO MANY HOS! Three modes of play labeled regular, expert and insane, with the option to change during play. Given the lack of challenge, I had to smile at the “insane” mode designation. Not CE worthy. Can’t even imagine it as an SE. Definitely a pass for me.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tweak up the mystery While I loved this game I didn't like the story after the demo.It's like the mystery and danger element disappeared in favor of HOS. If they'd make another mystery/crime game like this I'd love to try it but they'd have to increase the drama and danger feel to get me to buy it. The bonus game isn't really important so the SE is preferable.
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old School/New School HOG Off the Record: Linden Shades is a lovely-to-look-at game. The graphics are done with a light hand, refined, and clear. What's new school? Tons of collectibles. And that's about it. Is that enough? No. It isn't. This is primarily an old school game. HOS after HOS. The HOS are very clear, and frankly very easy (which I don't mind), but the wearying pace reminds me of the old days, when you grimly buckled down and did one after the other until you were relieved it was all over. It's not as bad as that, but it recalls that old style. There are some interactive components, but nothing interesting (the few that involve more "work" are almost insultingly easy). As usual, we find our friends the clock, the oil can, the screwdriver, etc. I'm sure Mr. Crowbar is up next. The plot is faintly ludicrous, something about a "red bogeyman" that wouldn't scare Don Knotts. It is a beautiful looking game, and I really loved Final Cut, but I regret buying it. It's just too been-there, done-that for me.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too easy Too predictable I liked this one. would have given it 3.5 stars if I had been able to. For me this was not a five star game. Music was one track throughout and did not change with the locations. The mini games were dead easy.. so easy in fact that I didn't look forward to finding one like I usually do. And I love achievements and collectibles. I won't pay full price for a CE without them but considering that this was a story of about an orphanage, toys might not have been the most well thought out collectible, as it was at times difficult to separate the collectable ones from all the others. The storyline here was predictable and I felt the whole game had been dumbed down so as to appeal to a wider audience. There were many plusses mind you. The use of some real actors, the art work, the fact that the game moved along quickly as things you needed were often only a move or two away and the inclusion of achievements and collectibles always keeps the game interesting. I began playing in advanced but the game still had those little glints that show you where everything is so I had to change it to "insane" in order to not have that kind of help. Even so this one was very easy. I would play the next one by this developer but would ask that they add some kind of challenge or run the risk of just becoming another cookie cutter, easy HOPA that no one remembers. Very simplistic but somewhat enjoyable, rather run of the mill HOPA game IMO. If you are looking for a light, easy game to kill a Sunday afternoon that won't tax your brain and is a little old school then this one is for you.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too short for a CE This could have been a great game...I finished it under 3 hours (including the bonus chapter)...In my opinion, that is what I would expect to get from a regular game, After paying extra for a CE, I would hope to get a few more hours enjoyment out of it. Everything else about it was fine, maybe a little on the easy side but quite enjoyable. Just too short for the money.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Off The Record, I'll Wait for the SE Something haunted the Linden Shades Orphanage years ago, and as a reporter, you are going there to find out what happened. Live actors do the VO's and it is done very well. There are achievements to earn, but they are game related achievements, such as doing HOS without a hint, etc. There are hidden items to find although they don't tell you any of this at the start of the game. I came across hidden toys, hidden letters, and something else? I can't remember. The music was OK but some of the sounds were annoying, such as you must start a tractor, a loud tractor, and even when you're done using the tractor, it keeps running and running until you leave that area. There is a journal, a map (which I'm not sure if it's a jump map or not, you really don't need it during the demo). You also find audio cassettes recorded by the principal of the school telling about this haunting figure in red. Sooo, all that sounds well and good... good graphics, good VOS, storyline good. Then comes the game. It is way too easy. And, yes I realize this is a HOG, but there are way too many HOS. At least for my liking. All the inventory items you find, you use almost immediately. Oh, a screwdriver, and, gasp! here is a screw... voila!!! The puzzles are simplistic. I don't know. I really like the story so far, but the game is almost childish in ease. I think I'll be looking at it again when the SE comes out. For now, I will pass.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to like this game I liked the intro to the game, and then the game went dull quickly. Pros: Good potential story. The audio tapes. Cons: Too many HOS for my taste. The tutorial doesn't mention there are collectibles nor what they might be. Graphics are poor, especially compared to Blue Tea or Elephant Games. Strategy Guide is accessible by clicking into the diary. Inventory objects are difficult to see. I really wanted to like this game but I abandoned it before the free demo was up.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok hidden object game Even in hard mode the game gave clues which spoiled the overall experience because the premise is really quite good.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basic hidden object Good for beginners or younger players, simple puzzles.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe I just needed to concentrate more... As far as game play goes, this one looks beautiful, has several different locations, puzzles are not too hard, and the story is interesting enough - but the extra things to find were a bit distracting and I found my self several times thinking, 'hang on, where am I, how did I get here and why?' - I found that going to some locations seemed a bit pointless and confusing, eg I thought I was in the orphanage, then I went to the orphanage, so what was that other house I was just exploring...?? I don't know, maybe I just need to concentrate more... Purchased on special and no regrets.
Date published: 2015-04-20
  • y_2020, m_8, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_18495, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

Something’s driven everyone away from Linden Shades.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.