Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby
Exclusive

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(304.70 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your worst fears came true the night your father never arrived home. Someone killed him during his latest investigation. As you sort through his remaining possessions you discover his diary recording his last moments - and a strange amulet that sends you hurtling back through time to the day before his murder. Time is running out as you race to not only prevent his murder but also to catch the mastermind behind it all.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 631 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(304.70 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long fun game This game is really fun and can be somewhat difficult at times. It was a good long game for an SE (the CE must be VERY long) I totally enjoyed this game!
Date published: 2013-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Clever! Loved this One! Where are all the 5 star reviews? I almost decided not to buy this one but so glad I did based on two reviews that mentioned this being a challenge and an excellent game. I'm not disappointed. But let me warn you -- you need to turn the annoying music completely off. It almost ruined the game for me. With the music off I could set my own mood. I play on "expert", I love a challenge AND a game that lets me play for several hours. If you're truly wanting a challenge (playing on "expert" or "hardcore") this one had me stumped a few times. I refused to cave, however, and I figured everything out myself, but IT WAS A CHALLENGE. Really loved this one!
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gem of a game! I don't say this often but this game has everything I have been looking for. Good storyline, Good graphics, and finally a game that has different and challenging puzzles. BUY AT ONCE!!!!
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, charming game! This game is a charming Pinocchio story in a way. I think it is the devs best so far. HOS are easy, so not on the unnerving side, where so many are. You are kept interested till the end. For me the SE was enough, but I think the game has CE quality.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I was drawn in from the get go, loved the story line, somewhat different than other family adventures. Going back in time with the aid of a family heirloom to try and stop your cop father from being shot is a very unique plot with twists and turns that keep you riveted. Well acted voice overs, wonderful graphics, and music adding suspense where appropriate. HO scenes were a nice change and while mini games were not all new they still added fun to the game play. A very smooth flow yet kept you on the edge. Does she save her dad or doesn't she? Not much I didn't like with this one except that there wasn't much more in the CE to warrant my vote, so the SE is for me!
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I'm so glad it finally was released as an SE. Since the CE version has no bells and whistles at all I chose to wait for this one. It was well worth it. So much to do, so many locations. There is definitely a lot of back and forth but in a good way.Game stays interesting all the way. Sometimes you carry a lot of objects around so to remind me I opened up the inventory a lot. Graphics are just beautiful. I'm getting to really like Boolat games. You have a good map that shows active locations and the journal keeps track. HOS are fun as well with a little twist. Not too many, just the right amount for me. Story is great, I never got bored. Length seems very good and that means a lot to me, I'm not quite done yet but I have played for hours already.... and then again i usually take my time. The graphics are so nice I need to look at everything. I very much recommend giving this a try.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Your detective father is killed chasing a murderer but you get a chance to save him by going back in time to find the murderer and prevent his death Being the daughter of a police detective leaves you in a constant fear that someday a knock on the door could turn out to be the shocking news that he has been killed in the line of duty. You have even had nightmares about this and the most recent involved his latest case with him chasing a murderer, Thomas Gray, into a theater where Gray shoots and kills him. After waking from your dream, a police van pulls up in front of your house and a solemn policeman knocks at the door and informs you that your father has been killed and gives you a box containing his belongings. Devastated and crying, you open the box and find among the articles a diary. It contained some notes and pictures about his latest case, the murder of Lady Diana Campbell, the owner of the Blood Ruby. Also in the diary was a family heirloom medallion that your father always carried with him and as your tears fall on to the medallion, it reacts by glowing and you are suddenly teleported into the past to a room in the house of the murder victim but one month before your father is killed. Lady Campbell appears at the door of the room and is startled by your presence wanting to know who you are and why you are in her house. She remarks that you must be after her Blood Ruby and shuts and locks the door telling you that she is calling the police. As you search for a way out of the room, you see a small shadowy figure appear behind her silhouette on the frosted glass door and stab her in the back. When you are able to open the door, you see the body of Lady Campbell just as someone rushes you and knocks you unconscious. When you revive, your father is there wanting to know what you are doing here so you tell him about his being killed and the medallion sending you back in time and that you witnessed the murder and that maybe this was a chance to help him and prevent his being killed. He decides to call for backup and leaves to return to the station as the phone line has been cut and, as you prepare to leave, you see a small cloaked figure meet with a larger figure calling him "master" and giving him the ruby. The larger figure then shoots the smaller figure and leaves but, when you are able to search the scene, you only find blue paint and no blood or body. You have to find and save your father, find out the connection between Lady Campbell and Thomas Gray and who is this young boy that was shot and why is there no blood or body? I liked this game as it had good game progression with enjoyable inventory puzzles and minigames that fit the scenes and hidden object scenes with objects visible but still challenging. They included interactive lists and silhouettes that are used in the scene to unlock or change parts of the scene resulting in receiving multiple objects. The graphics were good, clear and detailed with good animations and voice acting. the music was ok. There is a journal with task tab and a jump map with action areas indicated. Backtracking is minimal as the locations are broken into sections that become locked once completed. I liked the story twists with an interesting ending even though it was quick. This one is worth a few hours of diversion.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this I replayed this game and realized that I enjoyed it more than I had when it first came out. It was very good. I do wish the artists spent as much time on the details of the characters as the environment which was so rich in comparison. This game seemed longer than most with such varied scenes that I thought at times I was playing a CE.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend?! Ok, diamonds have nothing to do with this game, but I got you to read this, right? I just finished the game. It took the average time to play (in Casual Mode), about 3 hours. This game doesn't have a lot of bells & whistles, but I was always wanting to see what was next. I rarely needed the hint button, but when I did, it recharged in a good amount of time. I would strongly suggest you use the MAP on this one. You do a lot of jumping around, so if you don't want to spend a lot of time ('walk down 3 times) the map is your best bet. The mini games for the most part were good. There were a couple of them that made me fumble & skip, but most were quite fun. Graphics are decent, & the music, sound & voice overs were pleasant as well. This is a great game that's just enough of a challenge to keep your interest, & I'd definitely say Buy It!
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD CREEPY FACTOR Review based on completed game in casual mode. Animation/VOS - Good. Characters realistically drawn. VO for player occasionally. IHOS - Hate to sound like a broken record in these reviews but the usual fare of light to darker scenes, small to larger objects. You get the picture. :-D Lists but two to three items are silhouettes to be used to find other objects. Misclick Penalty - None Inventory - Locks in place. Many items stored. Hint - Slow charge. Gives clues and directions but I found it faster to use the jump map. Journal - Contains story, photos, clues, info and items found and map. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Very inventive. Did manage to solve a few. You will visit each location a number of times so a good pair of shoes is in order. When you click on the hint button, it will state "I must keep moving" and move you will. :-D The underwater scene was a refreshing change. So reel this one in and enjoy.
Date published: 2014-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from red ruby's the best I really enjoyed this game, played casual, so completely intriguing! The best hidden object game I've played in a long while!! Kept me entertained for hours, I hated for it to end. Thanks to the artist and technicians.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun! It was fun, but not 5 star material. The mini games were verse enough and the HOS were nicely done. I played in Expert mode. 2013
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great game This one made a very good SE game. Too bad they didn't include any morphing, collectibles or achievements or they would have sold way more CE's and had good reviews. I say that because the game is beautiful with good use of color and had a pretty good storyline as well. You have to go back in time to try and prevent the murder of your police officer father. It all takes place in a lovely European looking town. It was a decent length and had a bit of everything. Drama, mystery, underwater scenes, tons of good puzzles and some interesting HO scenes. In each one you had to find three objects and use them to complete the scene. Several times in this one my inventory was loaded. I really like that. Much better than I need a hammer.. oh here's a hammer... yawn. Here, there were plenty of inventory objects and you often had to think where and how to use them. Really liked this one. Maybe next time out they will add in some collectibles and achievements to increase the fun factor but this did make quite a good standard edition.
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very attractive Hidden object and puzzle game I liked every thing about Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby...almost, What disappointed me was that each element of the game fell short of being enough. The game was short. I finished it in one evening and had very little difficulty with he mini games. Perhaps if I had not done so may hidden object games this would have been a better fit.
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Change of Pace I bought this game without even trying the demo. I just liked it from the description and the other reviews. Been burnt doing that, but not this time. This was one of the more fun games I have played in a while. The graphics and sound were excellent. The music went right along with the story and accentuate the action. Voice overs were well done. The designers can take pride in this one. The Hidden Object Scenes were not very difficult at all. I used the hint once and that was to see how long it was going to take it to recharge. (Forgot to time it... but it didn't seem very long I was so wrapped up in the game). Now the mini games,those were a different story. I did have trouble with them, but perhaps it is my lack of patience than difficulty. I just don't care for mini games. There is an interactive map that is wonderful in getting around, so getting lost is not a problem. The task is a good help too. The story line is well followed even though I did feel like I was going from reality to a fairy tale and back again. It went from dark to light and back, but so far as easy to follow, it certainly was. I think you will like it. Lots of fun, searching, roaming around, challenging puzzles, and a cute story, you can't help but like it.
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it! This game has everything I look for, hand drawn scenery, not a lot of dialog list HOs [ I love em] a little interactive [enough 4 me] and the best puzzles I've seen in a while. the game is easy to follow takes the logical route most games for me are play and delete, yes even many collector eds too , but I think I'll keep this one for awhile. for me it's not about the challenge anymore [frankly it's just a lack of time] I want more of the relaxing and enjoyable aspects. for not being an ers or elly game I'm impressed!
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best in a Awhile I like it ,it was different and to get to open doors they had all the keys you needed just had to find the one for that door. easy to maneuver.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad at all This game, as a SE, is a much better buy than the CE was. The CE did not offer anything worthy of being called a CE. The visuals are very nice. Cutscenes are well done, but a bit too frequent for my taste. HOS are interactive. Well done. Puzzles are fairly easy, but I enjoyed them. The story is well done and interesting. A nice long game with a good story that keeps you moving. Jump map is helpful. I recommend.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A wonderful game! Okay - it's not a Mystery Case Files game, but it's no dud, either. To begin with, there are options for difficulty. The music is fine, but I always turn it down, so make up your own mind. The story is good - your father has passed away and you end up going to save him. I don't want to give the entire story away. The graphics are lovely, well done and clear. The voice-overs are good, clear and sensible. The hidden object scenes are of the list variety, but you also need to find a few items by silhouette that are used within the scene. Unlike many standard editions, there is a jump map that indicates where you are, where levels are completed, and where active quests are - it's very helpful, as is the hint button if you get a little stuck. I only found myself stuck a couple of times and the hint button set me right back in the right direction. If there wasn't a jump map, the back and forth would be ridiculous, but the map makes it so fast and easy. As for length, I played the game from start to finish in just under 4 hours, but I did skip a couple of puzzles - they puzzles were fine, for the most part, but I ran across a couple that are always difficult for me, but the skip button fills quickly on the casual setting, as does the hint button. I used a PCC code for the game, but would have purchased it if I hadn't had one. I was bemoaning not being able to get the collector's edition when it came out, but I'm very happy with the standard edition of the game. I don't think much was lost that really pertains to gameplay. Having a free wallpaper doesn't have anything to do with gameplay. Try the game for yourself - I think you'll be pleasantly surprised - the game moves along well and I really enjoyed it. I think you will, too.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game and decent length I liked the graphics a lot on this one. HOS were on the easy side and a bit interactive. Puzzles were different and one of them took quite a while, a variation on the sliding tiles game. Can't speak to the music or voice overs since I'm hearing impaired. Decent length as well. I got out of the house with 3 minutes to go. Based on the walkthrough, that's the 26% mark, so roughly 4 hours of game play for me. I'd buy it.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Travel Back In Time To Save Your Father! You have worried about your father all night, then his fellow police brethren arrive on your doorstep with the dreaded news. They hand you his personal belongings, among them a family heirloom watch, you begin to cry. You are suddenly whisked into the past when your tears fall onto the watch, only to witness a murder! The heirloom has been protecting your family for centuries and now you must save your father from the curse of the blood ruby! Whomever is in possession of the blood ruby becomes paranoid and greedy, and you find yourself in a house full of elaborate locking devices and of course parts are missing. The HOS are list finds and you will also need to locate a few items that are shown as outlined pictures. After finding those items you use the items interactively such as using the shovel in the dirt pile to uncover a hidden object. In my opinion the hidden objects were way too easy. There weren't any new puzzles, but they were still fun to work out. I liked the puzzle where you had to separate gems into groups of three on a grid with a limited number of vertical and horizontal bars. Clear graphics and an interesting storyline along with plenty of puzzles to work out make this a solid entertaining adventure game, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A New HO Style In A Good Game BASED ON DEMO The thing that stands out most about this game is its HOPs. Not that it is a HO game, mind you, it is definitely a HO Puzzle Adventure (HOPA), but the new style gives the game an interesting twist. The HOP is the familiar interactive list, but the list is quite long and you won’t see some items until you’ve cleared enough of the list. As well, there are 2 or 3 silhouettes to be found, and these will be needed to interact within the scene in order to find other items on the list. It sounds a bit awkward, but it is fun to play. The other gameplay is good too. The puzzles are not all original, but a number of them are, and others are stylish adaptations of some familiar ones. The adventure action is fairly linear, I had little use for the directional hint and interactive jump map, but they’re always nice to have. Inventory includes items which can be combined. There is a task list as well. There are the usual black bar thought/hints, but they are not so obvious in the help they offer, and the sparkles even on the easiest level are not overwhelming. The story is a nice change, being a little different from the usual ‘rescue relative’. The relative is your Dad, a cop killed in the line of duty, and the amulet you find takes you back to only two hours before his death, which is the timeframe you have for changing the events that lead to his death. I really like this story, and can’t remember many others that use time travel this way. The graphics are good without being in danger of being spectacular. But they are bright and colourful, ‘cheery with the occasional eerie’, which also describes the music. Voices are quite well done. The HO scenes are clear and precise, and objects are easily found. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I chose to wait for the SE of this one, and I’m still convinced, looking at it, that I made the right choice. An excellent example of a SE game.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT QUITE A 5 STAR Even though the story was extremely interesting and unique, the game just didn't excite me as much as I had hoped. The voice overs were done rather nicely, especially the main character; the HOS were detailed and large enough that you weren't pixel hunting; the puzzles were moderately challenging; the gameplay was pretty straightforward; and the visuals were beautifully done. The cutscenes were well done - but perhaps it was their frequency that was the undoing. It seemed you were playing just fine when you got another (usually very short) cutscene. It made the gameplay feel a little choppy. Whatever the reason, it is still has good production values and was well thought out and conceived. Since the CE doesn't have quite enough to compel its purchase, the SE seems the way to go. Overall, this game just doesn't feel like a 5-star to me (a 5-star to me is purchase within the next day or two).
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok game if you like dialogs Game is ok if you are into lots of story and dialogs. Graphics are good. Story is good.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring.... Not sure where all the good ratings came from but I found this game outrageously slow and boring. Voice-overs, animations were very stilted. A lot of the scenes were very dark which made searching around difficult. Story and gameplay were awkward. A lot of dialog. Not a smooth flowing game. I gave it 2 stars because I don't like the word "hate", otherwise it would have been a 1 star. Transporter map was good, but the hint and skip recharged very slowly and it appeared if you touched them when they were recharging they started all over. Did not have a custom setting so you were stuck tapping your fingers waiting for the skip. HOS were standard HOS...nothing unique and the two puzzles I ran across were tedious. Couldn't even complete the demo on this one....Yawn.
Date published: 2015-09-16
  • y_2019, m_5, d_18, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_19679, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Cases: The Blood Ruby

Your father was murdered while he was investigating a crime. Travel back through time to save him!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.