Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice
Exclusive

Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(526.20 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your grandfather spent his life in search of the Inuits' legend of great treasure and infinite wealth. On his last expedition he travelled to the Arctic but never returned. It's up to you to find your missing grandfather and solve the Inuit mystery in this ice-cold Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure.

  • Travel to the Arctic
  • Find your missing grandfather
  • Solve the Inuit people mystery

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 555 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(526.20 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best This is the first time I've felt moved to write a review. I'm not going into detail but as I soon as I finished the game I started over again and am just on my third go. I was beginning to feel as though I would never feel that wow factor again but with this one I did. Loved the story line, loved the penguin just so sorry that I haven't been able to get all the things for it to play with just two out of three. The visuals were great and it surprised me several times. Thank you
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is better than a lot of CE games It may look boring but this is adventure game with a lot going on you don't need a CE this is better. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a sleeper! Wow..this is better than some of the CEs we've had lately. The opening film of explorers trying to make it to the frozen north is totally excellent! I really liked the story and I watched each segment, which I do not usually do. The graphics are simple, yet strangely appealing...lots of snow and ice and each setting has a lot of nooks and crannies to explore. The game play is good so far (I have only played the demo, so far); the HOs are interactive. The biggest surprise was all of the extras such as morphing objects, relics to find, and coins with which you can buy things for your penguin and his igloo. Very cute! Also, the switch from the HO mode to the jigsaw puzzle mode is really good. Usually, these options are disappointing, but the puzzle was almost as much fun as the HO. There is a map, although I forgot to look at it before my time ran out, so no comment there. The mini games were good and not too frustratingly difficult. Some of them are quite small, which adds a little challenge. All in all, an excellent buy and a lot of fun!
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iT'S COLD IN THE ARCTIC This is a fun-keeps-your-interest-makes you-want-more-kind of game. Most of the reviews written say it all. I liked the graphics, hogs, puzzles, collecting coins to spend in the igloo, morphing bad items & playing. I play the 1st time of any game in casual mode to use the buttons given for a game...These were pretty good. No journal to refer to tho'. I also base my reviews on the trial version. If it keeps my attention to the end of that, I usually buy it. All in all I will get this game.....Good "cool" atmosphere to play in the hot summer.....
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good choice The best thing is that they are realistic animations. Otherwise, image, music, challenge, story and objectives are ok :)
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Maybe It's Because I'm a Canadian & Like the Atmosphere! I don't usually take time out in the middle of a game to review it...this one....I just HAD to. It really does have all the 'bells & whistles' of a CE at a SE price. PLUS an interesting storyline that keeps you going. Yes, you travel to the Arctic....br-r-r-r....to search for your Grandfather and find out what exactly is going on with this seemingly ill-fated expedition. You are given a map....that allows you to 'jump' to locations where there is something to do. A journal that keeps track of everything. Be sure to read it! Along the way, you can collect missing relics, beyond objects, and the MOST fun coins. These coins go into a 'piggy bank' for which you can purchase goodies for your little penguin friend sitting in the igloo patiently waiting for you. If you don't want to do the HOS scenes then you can switch to puzzles. I personally really like this game and HOPE to see more of them coming out. It's fun, fresh and non-stressful. Good work Dev's.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than most CE's This is a very, very nice game. I love these non-CE games!! You are a doctor who has decided to track down your missing grandfather. He went missing on an expedition to the Arctic regions. So, you hop on a boat with others but apparently they have other plans for you because they knock you over the head and throw you down a ravine You do survive though, and thus your journey begins. There is a very nice opening scene explaining what your grandfather's mission was. Graphics were clear and snowy (sort of looked the same as looking out my window). The HOS are a bit crowded but items are easy to find, some are interactive. There is a choice to play a jigsaw puzzle instead which was just fine with me. Actually, I really liked the puzzles. Minigames were different. They took me some time since puzzles are not my forte. Others may find them to be a piece of cake. I don't believe there was music, but there are the ambient sounds of the wind which is a great match for all that snow. There are achievements, coins to collect to buy things for your penguin who lives in an igloo. This penguin does not accompany you on your journey, or didn't in the demo. There are morphing objects and relics to find. This is quite a different and fun game with a whole bunch of extras included for the price of a SE. I have read that it is a short game, however a fantastic short game is better than a horrendous long one. This one shall be a purchase for me. Enjoy :)
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS adventure.... Despite being buried in snow here myself [with a blizzard in full force as well], I checked out "Mystery Expedition: Prisoner of Ice [brrrr!]. I was amazed at the quality and usual features that are only offered in CE's, morphing objects, collect coins, artifacts, etc. This is a very well made first person [perspective] adventure driven H0G with live actor cut scenes. If you enjoy mysteries, adventure, solving things on your own without TOO much spoon feeding and truly unique and creatively developed gaming, check this great game out... I was SO happy that I demo'd.... it offers all the above and more. It's a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Good! I had misgivings when I first looked at this game, not expecting more than a recycled older game. However, It is really quite good! Other than the laughingly bad (non-talented) actors (who must be unpaid relatives of the devs), the game is fun, mysterious, surprising and intriguing. Definitely give it a shot. I will be buying the game maybe even before I finish the free trial.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game did trial. great game, good story. Made it to ship by polar bear I just hope there are no glitches after this point like the past ten games once i buy it
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice game! Very nice game in all aspect!. Quiz? Recognize the ship? It's the Calypso. The Jacques-Yves Cousteau research ship.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How did I miss this gem? It's an SE but has collectibles. We're on a quest to discover the fate of our grandfather, who disappeared on his last expedition to the Arctic in search for the legendary treasure of the Inuit peoples. Unfortunately, forces are working against us, including both people and supernatural creatures. This game is chock full of things to do, including exploring our surroundings, helping (or repelling) people, fixing parts of the ship, finding the missing pages of our grandfather's journal, solving puzzles, and searching HO scenes. The HO scenes are quite good, especially since the objects are actually hidden, something we rarely see in 2018. The puzzles vary from relatively easy to truly challenging. Also, there are collectibles! Along the way, keep your eyes peeled for beyond objects, ancient relics, coins, and more. The coins can be spent at the igloo. The graphics and animation are excellent, realistic in style and with a natural palette. The textures are lovely. And there's a bonus…live actors! I much prefer them over drawn characters. The music accents the gameplay, and voiceovers are decent. Overall, I found this game incredibly immersive. I was drawn into the storyline immediately, and the gameplay was fun. Recommended!
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Watch out for frostbite in this one Your grandfather, Umberto Nobile, was an arctic explorer who was aboard the zeppelin "Italy" when it crashed in a storm and was one of the few suvivors that was saved by Inuit villagers. While recovering in their village, he learned of a legendary treasure hidden in the Arctic somewhere. After being rescued and returned to civilization, he decides that he must find the treasure so he goes back to the Arctic and has not been heard from again. You, Henry Nobile, have been going through his estate and find his journal that details his stay with the Inuit and information about the treasure. You decide you have to find out what happened to your grandfather. You set out on a ship as the ship's doctor following the route of your grandfather's last expedition and as you get close to the Inuit village where your grandfather was cared for after the crash, the ship's engines malfunction and you are dead in the water. Ice closes in and your ship becomes a Prisoner of Ice. The captain and crew start acting weird and leave you in a icy ravine to die. You have to escape and find out what is making the crew act this way. Part of the legend of the treasure involved a spirit called the God of Wishes that takes the souls of those who pray to it for gold so you have to figure out how to defeat it by finding four artifacts and learning how to use them. Graphics were well done with cutscenes that are stored in the journal so they can be replayed. Music was ok, nicely done voiceovers and sounds were appropriate for the scene. Some may not like the constant wind blowing but it was appropriate. The journal functions as always to record the story and clues and there isan interactive map tab attached for fast travel to locations. There were three collectibles I found during the game - 10 relics that were easy to find, 18 beyond objects that morphed and not so easy to find, and coins that apparently can be used to buy things in the store. I am not a fan of stores so don't know what the items are. Some of the coins were obtained by completing small puzzles found in some scenes. Hidden object scenes were of the usual list type with some items interactive. The HOS could be avoided by doing a jigsaw puzzle. I like HOS so did not do any puzzles so have no idea how involved they were. Most of the puzzles were fairly easy and nothing new. There was one puzzle where you had to isolate some viruses by using drops of blood that was a little tricky to get the hand of as the drops had to be formed and dropped without touching the virus within a limited area. Another puzzle involved the three monkeys from see, speak and hear and you have to arrange their arms and hands according to a picture you find. The problem is that the picture shows the arms in a position that the puzzle monkeys are unable to achieve so you have to trial and error the positions. A good basic hidden object adventure game with an ok story and a dramatic explosive ending.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I want more like this! I love a game where I can actually fix things, figure out how to make something work, and keep my penguin happy. This is how games should be (at least for me). Great graphics, great atmosphere and it's fun. Except for leaving the guy in the ice too long. I'd love more like this!
Date published: 2014-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not over the moon crazy about this game but worth exploring! Very good game flow, lots of HOS, numerous puzzles, storyline okay, VOS good! I played the SE version and found it to be too short. I liked the game but wasn't crazy in love with it. There are many achievements to accomplish, coins to collect, artifacts to collect; those were pretty cool! Very good graphics for such dismal scenes and storyline. As always the developers are very clever. Great jump-to map, good hint button. I give it a 3-1/2 to 4-star rating. The game is worth playing. I recommend it.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So good, but just not enough of a great thing This is an excellent game with all the right stuff. The realism of it really appealed to me. Great cut scenes, realistic graphics, good puzzles, HO scenes with objects that make sense... very solid story, simple but very believable, and moves logically. The only supernatural stuff comes at the very end. I can only give it four stars, rather than 5 however, because it seemed a bit short. Just not quite enough of a really great game. Sure hope they do more like this!!
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just a little short This was a pretty good game. Good story line of searching for Grandfather at North Pole. Had good minigames. and lots of HO scenes, I thought they were more challenging than usual. It was kind of short. Graphics were good and music wasn't annoying.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Adventure The game begins like a documentary, then turns into a mission. You have set out to the Arctic to find out what happened to your grandfather, lost on an expedition so many years ago. The sound is great, the narration is very well done. Voiceovers are realistic. The graphics are good, on the ship they are grey and blue and dreary, like a ship of that genre would be. Mini puzzles were okay, nothing special, but fun. The hidden object scenes were great; the were interactive list type with some items deliberately camouflaged. There is a puzzle mode you can switch to instead of the hidden object scene. There are collectible coins you can use to purchase things at the "igloo shop". There is a diary and a map to assist you in gameplay. The game is a lot of fun, with a lot going on. Well worth a SE price.
Date published: 2014-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At last, something different! Welcome to an arctic exploration complete with newsreels and charts. The mode of transportation is a ship soon to be entrapped in the icy arctic. If castles, love stories, cute side kicks and fairies are your style, definitely look elsewhere. Missing also are the spiders, skeletons and ghouls of the usual dark tales. We don't even have a car, plane, train or carriage to crash. How refreshing! And while we still have a grandfather to follow, whether we are to rescue him is not evident at first. We are following the legend he told of a cursed treasure, not all that original in these games, but with the live cut scenes there is a bit more realistic feel than most. Some reviews have criticized the acting, but I felt it was average and better than that in many of the most popular games. (Sadly that is not saying much). The graphics and sound are good although not the very best. As they seem to be going for an old film quality rather than the fantastic wonderland of many games, perhaps this is appropriate. The games take a bit of thought or time without being frustrating, which for me is about the right level of play. The HOAs are hard to see at times but the option to switch to some pretty unusual jigsaw puzzles redeemed this flaw. The jump map is very helpful, the hints more directional than give-a-ways. And as others have said, the extras such as money to find, a pet penguin to outfit, and morphing objects flesh out the game nicely. All in all I appreciate the attempt to create a cold gritty world that is more realistic, based on man's very real greed rather than some demonic fantasy or otherworld plot. My review is based only on the demo so I do not know if it is going to stay that way. But I have definitely put this one on my wish list for a future purchase.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frozen adventure I purchased and played this entire game. It has a lot to do for a SE version game. I had no technical issues everything went smoothly. There is a map, and the hint button works well in and out of the ho scenes. The music is not bad, voice overs are just ok not great. There is not a ton of hand holding but it is fairly logical and easy to figure out. It may be too easy for advanced players but for me it was just right. Try it you may like it.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Cool! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS The opening movie is great. A ‘history’ of the expeditions to the north pole, done in old movie grain, with a very professional narrator. The title graphics are so sharp, man, was I impressed! SIGHTS & SOUNDS Then reality sank in. The graphics thereafter are excellent, the cut-scenes are not. They are heavily pixelated. But the impression was already made, so from the first, it felt like a very classy game. The HOP scenes are clear and bright, not too jumbled, of the pseudo-realism variety. The location graphics change. Some are as sharp as the titles, some are just alright, others are cartoony. The ambient noise, being the Arctic is suitably the dominant sound. Lots of ice breaking and winds that are trying to freeze-dry you. Music, was there music? I honestly can’t remember, and I’d go back to check, but I ran out of time before I realised it! Voiceovers are good, very professional. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Your grandfather was the sole survivor of a doomed expedition to the north pole, and came back obsessed with the legends of Inuit treasure – some god or other that granted your every wish. You fund an expedition to follow in his tracks, and accompany the group as their doctor. This expedition is likewise ill-fated. The engine blows up and leaves you stranded in the ice, in the middle of nowhere. No hope of rescue. But that is not your main problem. The captain and crew decide that Inuit gold sounds good and toss you down a ravine! Somehow, you survive. And find the missing information about the Wish God. In exchange for whatever you want you must give your soul! Now, as you make your way back to the stranded ship, you discover that those who have touched the gold have gone mad. How are you to survive? Well, I ran out of time, so I can’t tell you where this is leading! Lol GAMEPLAY Fairly standard gameplay. Although the HOPs, interactive lists, can be swapped for a very fun jigsaw, each scene has a different pic and a different cut for the pieces. They are tricky icy almost one colour jigsaws. The HOPs do have some smaller items in them, but I don’t think it is too bad. The puzzles are easy enough so far, but a bit time-consuming in a couple of cases. There is a map in the journal, where you take down important info and clues, and it is just a small crowded thing taking up one page. But it gives you your position, the cleared locations, and the important task locations. I don’t think it was a transporter, but I could be wrong on that. Hint is directional, and there are 3 levels of difficulty. There is an amazing amount of bling with this standalone SE, certainly enough to make it worth your while. There are 10 missing relics, 18 beyond (morphing) objects, and an uncountable number of coins to collect. The coins can be used in your igloo to buy toys for your resident penguin. This dude is not with you for the gameplay itself, so no cute companion. There are also achievements which are displayed in your igloo. COMBINED IMPACT I like this game. I’m impressed in the general production standards, even if the graphics seem to have been put together by different artists. For a standalone SE, it is really quite exceptional.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game Although it was not long enough for me, yet it still kept me busy. Good for passing the time
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Prisoners Of Ice A Chilling Story You play an explorer following after your grandfather's failed quest for the treasure of the Inuit "God of Wishes." The time is in the early 20th century when "technological advances," i.e. zeppelins, made exploration of the poles possible. This story takes place in the frigid Arctic regions. Naturally, disaster stikes you too, and you are now marooned on a disabled ship in ice filled waters. The drawing style is fairly realistic, with a particularly accurate rendering of the ship, both inside and out. The other players in the story are done via live actors inserted into the story using "green screen" technology. Voices are fairly well done, but it is obvious the actors lips are not speaking English (voices use a Russian accent#. There is minimalist background music, always there but not intruding. Sound effects were appropriate if also minimalist. Hidden object scenes were well drawn, with one or two objects per scene very well hidden, but the other objects not so much. I noted one misspelling during the trial, the word "Thermometr." Puzzles and mini games were all very easy to solve, they will definitely not give you brain freeze. Solutions for some appear on the screen from your journal when you open the puzzle. Keys turn automatically when you place them in locks. There are coins to collect in your piggy bank. They are used to buy toys for your pet penguin. The penguin does not appear to tie into the story in any way. There are also 10 relics and 18 beyond #morphing) objects to collect. Based on the low number of these and how many I had already collected during the trial, I expect this game to be shorter than most. Except for a few flaws and easy puzzles, this seems to be a decent game with a good story and an immersive atmosphere. I would say Prisoners Of Ice is one captivating game.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a surprise! Almost by passed this little jewel. Glad I decided to give it a try. Even tho' this is SE, it has beyond/morphing objects, coins to collect and use in the "store", and relics to collect. The HOs are a little on the foggy(icy?) side. However the HOs can be swapped for rather unusual shaped jigsaw puzzle pieces. I had so much fun with the jigsaw I may not use the HOs at all in this game. Although, so far this had been on the easy side, this is a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2014-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice SE! Afternoon all. Well, I am very impressed with this game today. Surprisingly good graphics for an SE. We have "real" people rather than animated, although animated lips keep up better with voices than the real thing. Personally, I prefer a good animation over reality. Game play is very good, no problems. There is a very useful jump map, and you will use it a lot, so get your tennis shoes on and go for it. Nice music, but gets a bit annoying after a while. Voice overs are nicely done, but few and far between. This is a fairly quiet game with a few sound FX and a lot of wind #gee, you think "polar" has something to do with that#. Hint system is very helpful and heads you in the right direction, as well as showing you exactly where you need to be to find something. Hint fills about the usual, but maybe a bit slower. I really like the HOGs. They are a little messy and cluttered, but you get items you need to use, and is a mixture of standard HOG and interactive. Items are not difficult to find, but you do have to look for them. I especially like the ability to switch to a jigsaw puzzle, as I am a major jigsaw puzzler. These puzzles have very different and odd shapes, which I really love. Not difficult, but fun. There are a number of collectibles, e.g. morphing objects #not as easy to spot as you think#, lots of coins #for the penguin igloo# and relics #I don't know what these do for you, if anything#. This game is not especially challenging, but it is fun and has a different story line for a change. I believe this will appeal to all levels of players and a definite buy for me today. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game! Finally finished! Developers did a great job with this game. If you are truly a patient HO adventure gamer then this game is for you. Forum help saved me many times. Will play again one day soon without help to test my memory!
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game but I found it rather short After reading one of the reviews here, that why this game is not a CE, I was encouraged to buy it. It does have some deaf periods, which is a shame, but otherwise it is beautifully made. I just think it ended so suddenly and unexpectedly... I played it in bits, not in one go, but I still feel that it was shorter than I would appreciate. Nothing prepared me for the ending after collection of those things (dont want to spoil it) and the final puzzle seemed to be unfinishable. I activated all zones and nothing happened, I did not know what else I was supposed to match. Otherwise this is one of the games I would recommend as an example for graphics.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spooky Fun! Great Music and WOW, Spectacular ending! The Graphics were well done also. The down side for me was way too many Puzzles, the HO scenes were cluttered so items were not easy to find. As for the Morphing Objects - almost impossible to find all of them. The Hint button was Slow, even in easy mode. And what ever happened to Grandpa? I guess the Monster ate him. Apart from that, a thoroughly enjoyable Game!
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable HOG I liked this game a lot, mostly because it featured a culture not seen in most games. Graphics were great, puzzles were just right. Only flaw: the program let me finish the game without collecting all the relics. Other than that, I really liked this game.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice I am completely stuck. I have no red exclamation signs. I have made the potion for the polar bear but unable to give it to him.
Date published: 2014-03-08
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_20604, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Expedition: Prisoners of Ice

Your grandfather disappeared while searching for Inuits' legendary treasure. Travel to the Arctic to find your missing grandfather and solve the Inuit mystery.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.