Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(244.73 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From Mad Head Games, creators of the acclaimed Cadenza: Music, Betrayal and Death and Nevertales: The Beauty Within, comes another thrilling tale in their Rite of Passage series.

Twenty years ago, a group of children in the town of Greystone were taken by a mysterious fog while playing hide and seek, including your brother. Only you escaped… Your father went looking for your brother and never returned. Now you’ve found evidence that your father has been alive this entire time, still searching for the missing children. But why would he remain silent for so long? And why was he so determined to keep you away from Greystone? You immediately head out to find answers. But are you prepared for what awaits you in the mysterious fog? Find out in this creepy Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 497 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(244.73 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Well Thought Out Adventure Game I usually don't care for adventure games-I dislike all the running around, back & forth, same ol' same ol' & sometimes the "tools" you need for tasks just don't make sense. This one was great: logical, witty, clever as were mini games/puzzles. Not too hard but not too easy: you have to think. Hidden object games were also different & clever. Great graphics, sound, movement. I don't buy many of these but I bought this one & enjoy it a lot.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Hide From This Game! Finished the Standard Edition and, of course, should have purchased the CE. Either way, the game will not disappoint gamers of all ages! Many years ago you and your friends played a game of hide and seek but something went very wrong. A young girl approached you and asked you to read a strange chant out loud! Years later, you venture back to the same town. Storyline unfolds and extends a variety of puzzles, hidden object scenes and other creative puzzles to gamers. Certainly not the most challenging game, however, was quite enjoyable for the child in me who was always a bit leery of hide-a-seek. Enjoy! -Mama Mia
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Freaking Love this game!!! This game grips you from the start. The plot line is new - while you might think you've seen it/heard it before, you are shortly disabused of the notion. Obviously it does have HOS,but these are not just the same old list of things... there are many different variations, keeping the game fresh. As the game is long (yay!) it is very important to keep things fresh. I am into my 6th hour and this is high on my list of favorite games. I have yet to try to rush through it, using hint excessively. (On games I do not like, I will do this to see the ending.) I am playing for one ending... I just might play the game again to see the other one. I cannot recommend it enough!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever! I bought this game after only playing 10 minutes! This is a one of a kind. I won't tell you to spoil the fun, but it's the most fun I've had in a long time with hidden objects. So ingenious! Love it. I have tons of games and this is my new favorite :) I didn't purchase the collector's edition and do regret that. But this is still fabulous!
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! There are already tons of reviews on here, outlining all the important factors of the game, but I will say if you haven't tried it..do it! I found it quite fun & interesting and the HOG scenes & mini games had a nice twist to them which was great! :)
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and polished! Not just the usual seek-and-find game. I've always found the morphing objects in some games a lot of fun ; this game goes one better. They were very clever - artfully done. Gorgeous graphics throughout, and I thought the story had a nice twist. Excellent all the way round. Play and enjoy -- I don't think you'll feel let down.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Liked the way the different HOS' were presented - not just the same-o same-o. The story line was very nice, and using logical thinking I could figure out - for the most part - the various challenges. I'm not real good at some puzzles, these were enjoyable. Only thing - my wolf cub needed a different ending in the story. I kept him very busy during gameplay. Will look for more from these game designers.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is amazing!!! Don't ask me how good it is..just plat it!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ollie ollie ...run well done..bravo. great storyline ..all i can say is i thoroughly enjoyed it. it never bored me or tempted me to hurry it up because of any repetitiveness. a pleasure to play.great graphics,color all good. highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad Apples Can Still Be Sweet! As always, I will start with the length of the game since I search through review looking for that right away. On Expert mode with no hints or skips, I took about 6 hours in the main game. Since I purchased the CE, the bonus chapter was about 30 minutes, also on Expert mode. I enjoyed the extra background the bonus chapter brought along, but the main game wrapped up just fine on its own. However, this is probably the FIRST and ONLY game, I can actually say honestly is worth extra money as a CE for me. Not because of the bonus chapter but because the extras were so much fun. I am 100% not a collectibles or morphing objects person. At all. But this game had awesome little puzzles that opened up after the bonus chapter was completed and actually gave the player incentive to search for the collectibles, instead of just a room full of trophies at the end. There were about 4 fun different things to do in the Extras after the gameplay was over, including a cute little arcade game and alchemy table. I was definitely impressed. And for the first time, I actually recommend investing in a CE, instead of an SE. The storyline of the game bothered me the most…I was not sympathetic at all towards the child we were helping…at all. But the bonus chapter made her grow on me a bit, and the plot line held its own, as far-fetched as it was. I guess bad apples still are worth helping after all! Definitely this game was given a massive amount of thought and creativity, the graphics and cut-scenes were nothing out of the ordinary but the mini-puzzles were quite new and inventive which made up for the story ten-fold. A definite buy for me! Happy gaming, Big Fishies!
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek This game was really a great challenge! The interactive game play in the story line was really awesome! I look forward to seeing more games like this in the near future.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediately Hooked! The story line grabbed my attention from the very beginning. Although there are no collectibles or extra things to find, there are a lot of things to keep you busy in each scene. Many of the inventory items require extra steps which is always fun. I have finished the demo and so far there isn't a lot of running back and forth getting lost through many different scenes. The game comes with: ~Four levels of game play with cute names for Easy, Normal, Hard and Custom ~A Journal which I always miss if I don't have because when I stop its always nice to get caught up on the story again especially if I haven't played for a few days. ~A Map ~Special powers The hidden objects scenes so far are fun with being able to use objects in the scene and also finding hidden objects under other objects to form yet another object. Mini games have not been really challenging but they have been entertaining. All and all a fun game with a lot to do.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good hidden object and adventure game I don't like adventure games, but this I liked very much. You have a sign on you hand that glows bright when you are in the fog. This is a hidden object and adventure game. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game Thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful illustrations and just enough challenge to keep from being frustrated. Nice music
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Home You and your mother moved from Greystone, your brother went missing and your father never came home after he went searching for him, or so you were told! After mother's death you find letters from your father, all current, still searching for your missing brother after all these years. Of course you leave immediately for Graystone, surrounded by a dense fog, and the scar on your hand begins to react, Welcome Home! Memories of that fateful day begin to come flooding back, a strange orphan child appeared one day while you were playing Hide and Seek. She wanted to play as well but asked you to read a poem instead of counting: I count one two three, better hide while I can't see. Four and five and then comes six, my friend has a lot of tricks. After seven, eight then nine, hide or run you'll be mine. A fog falls as I count ten, you can't ever leave again! Just like that poof, everyone is gone except for you! The people you meet will have a dialog option for your answers, one kind and polite, the other sarcastic and to the point. Choose your words wisely there is a Karma meter that changes depending on your answer that will ultimately affect the outcome of the game. (looks like you'll have to play this game twice) You will also discover new powers that your scar can activate such as translating ancient text or melting the weird ice that the fog creates. The Hidden Object Scenes are cleverly called Hide and Seek games, they are interactive list finds but when you find the item listed the item will move out of the way to expose a keypad number for instance that will be used for the final items quest. There are a lot of mini games some simply puzzle pieces like torn pages to reconstruct others are more complex such as adjusting several colored balls on rods until all lights on the rods turn green but when you move one ball others move as well. The Collectors Edition has 43 collectible handprints which will be assembled on a Hide and Seek model and 43 alchemical ingredients that will be used to mix a magic potion. There are soundtracks, imaginings, backgrounds, reels, storybook, cast, achievements, unlimited Hide and Seek games, a built in strategy guide and of course a bonus chapter available as well. Either edition is a sure bet because this is an excellent game that has lot's of entertainment value, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful New Game in the Rite of Passage Series Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek begins when after your mother’s death you are cleaning out her home and make a discovery that suddenly changes the truth about your life. For years you have come to accept the reality that your missing father was dead, and as you go through your mother’s mail you realize that what you had accepted as the truth is not so. In Rite of Passage Hide and Seek you begin a journey to Greystone in search of the father you thought you had lost and an adventure to uncover the hidden secrets of your past. The graphics in Hide and Seek are of excellent quality and have a very crisp appearance rather than that misty quality that we often find in many games. Not only are the graphics terrific, the game has lip-synced voiceovers that are done extremely well. Along with the voiceovers we have a soundtrack that adds to the reality of the game without being overwhelming or intrusive. At one point early in the game the environmental effect so realistic that I felt like reaching for a headscarf. For me the piano musical score in the HOPs was very relaxing and enjoyable to hear as I played through the HOPs. Your journal is very interactive and contains links to your objectives, the map and your achievements. Not only can you access the map through the journal but it can also be accessed by clicking on the map located on the left side of your inventory. The map icon, in turn, will also allow you to access the journal. During the progress of the game you also acquire special abilities that help you out in certain situations. There are no cute fuzzy animal helpers to be found in this game; instead you will need to rely upon your own abilities to make it through. If you are familiar with the two previous Rites of Passage games you know that the HOPs are interactive and quite interesting in the way we find certain items. There are puzzles along the way that are fun with some may seem difficult but just keep trying since they can be solved. In the end, the game has a great mix of HOPs and puzzles that are sure to please a varied group of gamers. Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek is a game with just the right amount of scare factor moments thrown in to keep the gameplay interesting, and more than once I found myself jumping as something unexpected would occur. Overall the game is very entertaining with a story that held my attention from the first scene to the end of the demo and I knew without hesitation that the CE was a definite buy for me. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tag !! You're it !! Mad Head has done it again with its fantastic installment Hide and Seek. Some may recall the previous Rite of Passage game Children of the Forest which for me is absolutely in the top 3 of games issued last year. This game comes close to being its equal however its predecessor still is favored. While the story line is nothing new, how it is presented places a bit of a twist to make it compelling nonetheless. The game is visually stunning with Mad Head terrific graphics. Hidden object scenes are well done and having different types of things to accomplish within a given scene is refreshing. The puzzles are not mind blowing hard but they are interesting. The CE version is preferable to this SE but both games offer lots to do. Players who cannot afford the CE or who wish to avoid wallpaper etc. certainly should find the SE a gem of a game. Hide and Seek gets an enthusiastic thumbs up !!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YEARS LATER AND IT STILL GETS TO YOU SUMMARY: Very well written and thought out story with twists and turns. Smooth and creative gameplay. Lots of fun to find out the mysteries of the now and then. Accumulate karma in talking with people, which will determine the outcome of the game. So you can replay the game and have different results. This is one glorious game to play. IF YOU WANT ADDITIONAL DETAILS: STORY: A mysterious girl asks to play hide 'n seek and asked "it" to recite a chant instead of counting. Everything changed then; only the girl who was "it" left the woods that day. She and her mother move to another town. After the mother dies, the girl finds a postcard from her father and learns that he is still alive. She decides to go to Graystone in search of her dad. Once there, she finds out that people are still going missing whenever the fog appears. She must solve this mystery. GAMEPLAY: A massive dose of creativity in giving you things to do and discovering current and past mysteries. You learn that the scar you received when playing hide 'n seek (so many years ago) has given you special powers. The first one revealed is the ability to melt ice. There is also a karma meter that changes depending on how you converse with people you meet (you have choices of what is said) and the amount of karma affects the outcome of the game. Several types of HOS; plenty to do and see. OTHER STUFF: Graphics are beautiful - sometimes hazy and sometimes very clear. Animation is believable - the fog reminds me of a tornado touching ground. Music is so relaxing and wonderful. Voice overs are very good. You can customize your gameplay, including whether to show your objectives and showing active areas on the map
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got stuck and my time ran out. I just played the free game. The graphics and music are superb, and it was fun. I got to the point where the wolf cub, was the only thing left in my inventory. Then, each scene I would go to, would just say, nothing to do at this time. I just kept going to each scene and it wouldn't advance. I seemed to be going in a circle. Very frustrating. I don't want to buy it if I can't continue with it. I didn't wee where anyone else had this problem.
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One, two, buckle my shoe. I played the SE version on expert, took about 4 hours to complete. You get a journal, an interactive map, and a few extra abilities that add depth to the gameplay. Three different difficulty settings plus custom settings are available. Hide & Seek is a visually appealing game, with bright and crisp graphics even in darker places. The music adds to the atmosphere of urgency and voice-overs were done professionally. In Hide & Seek, you find out that your father, who you believed died years ago, might still be alive and looking for your brother who disappeared when you were young. You return to your childhood home to find your father and maybe solve the mystery of your brother's disappearence as well. The game has a unique and effective way of unravelling the story bit by bit for you and I enjoyed it for the most part. But towards the end the story loses its steam somewhat and I didn't feel they did too good a job of tying up all the loose ends. That being said, it is still a gripping story and above average, I just wished they'd give you a bit more details in the end. The game has a good amount of HOGs that aren't too difficult. Most are interactive and fit into the story nicely. The minigames aren't too challenging, either, but the game is not too easy, at least if you play on expert which I recommend. Everything is logical enough so that you won't get stuck if you think about what to do next. No running around blindly required. The game adds some complexity to the gameplay by giving you a few extra abilities that you can use to solve certain puzzles. Inventory items frequently needed some additional tinkering, too. All in all an excellent game that keeps you interested. Only the ending left me a bit unsatisfied. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cheesy Story IMO, Fun Play If you're looking to zone out with a straightforward HOG, this is one I'd recommend. I downloaded this as it was one of the top games from BF... The graphics were spectacular, though the puzzles were not terribly difficult. Worth the distraction, but prefer more challenge. And I felt the story was incredibly silly, as they often can be.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Started slow, but ended strong!! For me this game started out a little slow, but ended strong. I was sort of struggling trying to get into this game but once I did I loved it!! I liked the "special powers" that you earn through out the game. You also have a "little helper" that you get to name!! There are lots of fun games and puzzles! I really ended up enjoying this game!!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun But Too Short This was probably the shortest game from this developer I have ever played. Glad I got it during a sale...
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this Game There was a lot of effort put into making this interesting and enjoyable game. The game play and storyline are linear, good, and flow very well. The graphics are great. There is a large variety of things to do, and on the hardest level that adds lots of intriguing game play. Even the HOS are good, and that says a lot since I usually don’t like the HOS in most games. My only complaint is that the puzzles were very easy. I had to stretch the grey matter only a couple of times, and even then it was only a slight stretching. It’s too bad that choosing to play on the hardest level can’t somehow make the puzzles harder, as that would elevate this game to awesome.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable gameplay It's a good game. It struck a nice balance. It wasn't so dark as a lot of the games have been recently, but it wasn't a cartoonishly bright experience, either. I enjoyed the gameplay and it was fairly intuitive. There was a good build up and pacing, and the end was just not worthy of that build up. It seemed rather abrupt to me. In fact, for the final cut scene, there was no sound at all, and that definitely ruined the experience. Perhaps the Collector's Edition is less abrupt, but the Standard Edition should be just as enjoyable IMO. I recommend this game, but I feel a bit of reservation doing so, just because of the abruptness of the ending.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game But Too Short I can't believe no one else has mentioned how short this game is (SE). The end came way too soon, but maybe that's because I was enjoying it so much. When I first started I was sure this was going to be a 5 star game for me. But it didn't meet those expectations. It's a beautiful game, with wonderful graphics, good voice overs, some nice puzzles, and HOS's that didn't bore me to death. Most of the music was quite nice, also. But it didn't go on long enough for me, and I found it to be quite easy. I much prefer a challenge. I never had to use a hint and I didn't even use the map. A little more difficulty and a little more length would have boosted this to 5 stars.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I'm Too Old for Hide and Seek! This is posted after completing the entire game. Over all this was a decent game. I found the various games within a game quite entertaining. I played about 4 hours total over two days and that's pretty decent. The graphics were very good. Pretty when called for and eerie when needed. The music was decent and went along with the action. About the only things in this category I didn't care for were the voice overs. Just wasn't natural in the presentation in most cases. The challenge is there. With several different types of hidden object games in the same scene and those being varied from scene to scene made it very interesting. I found the mini games a bit too difficult for my taste and to be quite honest I couldn't figure out what I had to do most of the time. However, that is why they put that skip button on there and I used it frequently. You have a journal, which I didn't use very often and a map on which I lived. It's a good helper. There is a dog you get to use to help you in dark places and digging out for you and along the way you will pick up some powers that will assist you in your quest. The hint and skip buttons recharge rather quickly. I like that in a game. Big Fish does a great job telling you what the story is about, so I'll just give you my impressions.The story is good and easy to follow, with a few exceptions the ending being one of those exceptions. It left me wondering what had happened to all those people. I do believe you will enjoy this game. I did. Try the demo, which really doesn't do the game justice and make up your own mind.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice challange While the story line is nothing new, it is compelling nonetheless. The game has terrific graphics. Hidden object scenes are well done and having different types of things to accomplish within a given scene is refreshing. The puzzles are not super hard but they are interesting. It held my attention with HOG and adventure.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from loveeeeit this is one of my favourite game I love it
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Got Out After 5 Minutes Read all the glowing reviews and felt cheated. I only played for 5 minutes, and only that long because the game would not let my cursor go to skip. Had to wait for menu to show up so I could exit. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-08-30
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_21393, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Hide and Seek

Twenty years ago, the children of Greystone were taken by a mysterious fog - only you escaped. It’s time to find out why...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.