Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(369.73 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

EleFun Games , presents a thrilling new tale in the popular Witches' Legacy series!

How time flies! It seems like only yesterday that Lynn was just a little girl, but now she's all grown up and marrying Edward. You couldn't be happier for your adopted daughter - until you discover that Edward is missing! A mysterious letter promised answers to his past, urging him to return to his birthplace. As a witch hunter, Edward is accustomed to danger... but he may have gotten in over his head this time. You and Lynn rush to follow his trail, unaware that a dark presence is watching you. Can you track down Edward in time? Find out in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Restore Abigail’s human form in the bonus game!
  • Collect puzzle pieces and unlock bonus mini-games
  • Find morphing objects to earn prizes
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1448 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(369.73 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! Witches Legacy is a series of games from the developer EleFun, all dealing with Lynn and here aunt, who had to save her from the witches. Meanwhile Lynn is grown up and about to marry Edward, a witchhunter, whom she met in another installment and learned to love. On the day of the marriage a strange letter makes Edward leave for the orphan home where he grew up. Lynn follows him and thus the next adventure can begin. This is what i like a lot about this developer: the story works! It has tension. You are always curious, what is going to happen next, how to solve the riddles, etc. - The hintbutton recharges quickly and you have the well-known little "Imp" as a helper - this time there are collectibles to pleasure the Imp and also puzzle-parts to collect throughout the game. The HO-scenes are interactive - and are clever and thoughtfully arranged. Never are they “too much”, never do you feel lost, not knowing what to do to get further. As I mentioned in my title, I do love this game and this series Witches Legacy. If you think about it: we follow Lynn now already since she was a little girl - thus her life in fact unfolds over decades to us as we keep on playing the various episodes of the serie. I know of no other serie’s that covers such a long period of time - and what gets me most: every story of these episodes IS interesting and creates tension. What a wonderful craftswork this scenario-writer is delivering to us, with every new installment. Quite a talent to keep a story such fresh!!! I do love the graphics, I do love the little Imp-helper, I do love the story, the story, the story and I love that this developer takes his players serious in a way that I do often miss with other developers. Neither does he neglect story as so many new games do nor does hij overload his game with interactivity, so that you don’t even want to go on playing because of all this glittering nonsense. This developer gives us a game which is as a costly book on a rainy afternoon… qualitiy work at it’s best. Thank you so much, EleFun, I love this game!
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trouble With The In-Laws After you rescued Lynn from Elizabeth the big bad witch she used her powers to help others and fell in love with a young man named Edward only to find out he was working for a group of Witch Hunters who maliciously hunted and killed any witch regardless of their intentions. Edward was hopelessly in love with Lynn and his heart told him that Lynn was a kind and gentle witch who not only deserved to live, but live the rest of her life as his bride. Edward and Lynn are to be married this weekend, but fate just might have other plans because Edward has just learned that his parents are alive and he has an older sister as well! Trouble in paradise has already planted it's sinister seed and big sister Abigail may not be the in-law Lynn would grow to love. That devilish mischievous little half pint Imp will join you once again as you help Lynn find Edward and discover the truth about his adoption from Oldhills Orphanage. Why this Imp doesn't have a name by now perplexes me but you will find 10 collectible items to delight your little helper such as yo-yo's, and spinning tops. There are also 35 morphing objects and 35 hidden puzzle pieces that will unlock mini games too. Some of the inventory items have + sign indicators which will require you to either fix the object or combine the object with another inventory item before using. As with all of the Witch's Legacy games, there are plenty of achievements to earn, including using your Imp to help you, which is redundant if you think about it because you don't have an alternate option but to use his help reaching items beyond your capability lol. The Hidden Object Scenes are very well done, you have to find a broom first to sweep leaves away from the list on one scene, another scene reveals pieces of a meld behind each listed item which assembles the meld in order to make a key for the drawer which contains the final object! You can switch to a game of matching paired items by flipping over cards two at a time, and I honestly forgot to read all of the achievements to find out if playing the alternate game earns an achievement so you may want to see if that's the case. I was a tad bit disappointed with the mini games because unlike the other games in this series, they were way too simple and basic, almost fool proof (as I sometimes feel when playing some of those frustrating ones) The games involve swapping tiles to complete a path from point A to B, or using arrows to turn an inner gold ring and an outer blue ring as you slide alike colored marbles either in or out with a center space to free up space. They aren't bad, just too easy in my opinion. This Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, an Art Gallery, Screensavers, Soundtracks, Achievements, Morphing Objects, Collectible Puzzle pieces, 35 Puzzles, an Imp room, a built in Strategy Guide and of course a Bonus Chapter which certainly makes this edition worth a close look, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE IT I REALLY LIKED THIS . I REMEBER GETING THE OTHER GAMES WITH LYNN AND HOW SHE WENT FROM A CHILD TO AN ADULT...
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will Lynn Save Her Beloved Edward in Time for the Wedding? In Witches’ Legacy The Tie That Binds - the 4th game in this series – Lynn and Edward are about to be married when Edward suddenly goes off on a search related to his family. Lynn suspects it is a trap so we are off and running to save Edward and find the truth about what happened to his family. With our friend Imp in tow, it looks like we may have a sometimes dangerous and rather entertaining time ahead. The graphics follow the same style as in the other Witches’ Legacy games and although very good they are not very crisp. I think that the artwork is generally good with a varied color palette; however, the pink, blue and purple tones have been used too much in recent games is becoming a bit too much. The voiceovers are much like those in the other games in the series but Lynn’s voice seems rather stilted and flat for a young woman who is approaching her wedding day. Although the voiceovers may leave a lot to be desired, the other sound effects in the game are excellent, particularly the thunderstorm at the beginning of the game. You have a diary that keeps track of the story and other information you might need at a later point in the game. Early into the game you will piece together your interactive, transporter type map that shows areas of interest and other information as well. Of course we have our pal Imp to accomplish some tasks that we can't. There are various types of interactive HOPs to be found but most are the list type. If you don’t want to search through junk piles to find objects on the list, you do have an alternative matching puzzle to play. As I have mentioned in other reviews, developers now include puzzles that seem very easy with less challenge to solve. This is a trend to perhaps attract some of those who don’t like puzzles in HOPA games. The CE content does include achievements to be earned, 35 puzzle pieces to collect, and also 35 morphing objects to find. It looks like we also will need to find objects for our cute little Imp scattered throughout the game that can be used to fix up his special abode or keep him entertained. The remainder of the CE content is standard fare with nothing exceptional in the package. Did I like the game? Not sure because the story is becoming old. I think the game is not nearly as exciting as the first game in the series, but that is often the case with series that go on and on and on. For me the game seemed more of the same old thing, however it was still entertaining since I can’t seem to get enough of this type of game. For those who are new to HOPA games I can recommend it as an excellent game, but as always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally !!! Nothing negative to say. Which I do of late. Nice long game it should be for the price. HO'S really glad to see. A winner this time.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOGs I loved the puzzle within the HOGs.It's like an extra treat.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the game Although I wasn't charmed by the graphics and I'm not such a big fan of the series, the game was very fun for me and I just had to finish it no matter what.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Limit the buddy... I'd give this 3.5 stars if I could. A good continuation of the series and its great look encourages the extra 1/2 point. I appreciate having a hardcore level, but I'd rather not have the little buddy do ANYTHING for me except what I instruct him to do. Please, don't have him show me the next task but only help me work when appropriate. Otherwise, good fun.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just plain fun hope there will be more like this
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds & So On ... Although Some Of The Graphics Felt A Bit Dated ... An Enjoyable Game, And Well Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Witches' Legacy IV is a winner in this awesome series!!! Witches' Legacy: The Ties that Bind is the fourth in the series that follows the life of Carrie and her adopted witch daughter Lynn and their constant struggle against the evil witch Elizabeth. Lynn and Edward's wedding has been a long time coming, although considering his willingness to run headlong into such an obvious ambush perhaps...well, maybe he should no longer be dipping a toe in the gene pool, if you know what I mean? Just saying. Oh well, daughter Lynn loves him and would be upset if he died, so it's time to put aside your doubts and get on with the rescuing. This is your standard hidden-object adventure story with everything ramped to eleven, the graphics, the animations, the gameplay, and especially the melodrama. Featuring hidden object scenes that have a variety of different ways to play including lists, silhouettes, categories, and lots of fun little puzzles hidden inside, this latest in the series continues to shine in the gameplay design, offering enough variety of puzzles and mini-games #and the ability to play hidden match-2 if you don't like finding objects in a junk pile# to keep the player occupied for hours. While it serves up gorgeous graphics, cool animations, and hefty point-and-click casual gameplay, the best part of the latest Witches' Legacy is the ooey, gooey, massively over-the-top cheesy storyline. Were Edward and his sister Abigail adopted by separate families from the orphanage? Check. Is Abigail a witch who wants revenge on the witch hunters who killed their parents? Double-check. Does Abigail kidnap her long-lost brother in revenge when it turns out he is a witch hunter? Triple check. Was it the evil witch Elizabeth who adopted Abigail from the orphanage, the same evil witch who has been trying to capture Lynn in three other games for her own nefarious purposes? OH CHECK YEAH! With side-quests of morphing objects, puzzle pieces, and toys for your companion imp to find as well as the standard objects needed for any adventure, Witches' Legacy: The Ties that Bind offers tons of entertainment bang for your buck.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok game If it weren't for my favorite imp I probably wouldn't play this series. Some are getting tired of the imp but there are probably many like me who love him. As a helper he's fun to watch while performing the duty or attempting then waiting for you to give him something to help him. The story was ok.. now go and save your fiance...but inventory items used too quickly for the most part with having little need to use the map. Will probably continue to purchase these games as long as I have my imp.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not too shabby! (based on demo) I enjoyed this game. I like it when there are awards to win so that you have something extra to strive for. The mini games are not too hard. The navigation is user friendly. The only issue I have is there are morphing objects, puzzle pieces and items for the little guy you have to find. One of the scenes told me I still had some to find but I couldn't find them. That can get a little frustrating. But overall I think the graphics are good the story is okay and this one would be worth the buy!
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Solid Game Review is based on completed CE on the Normal level with sounds on medium. This is a good length game which is a mix of adventure & HOS. The audio and visuals were professional and well done and not intruding. The storyline is run of the mill, it is good, but is nothing new. I liked the various skill levels available and especially the custom option. I normally don't like helpers in games, but the Imp helper in this game is humorous and doesn't not help you to often or too much. I found the CE aspects of the game, collecting the puzzle pieces, finding morphing objects a good extra fun aspect of the game. I often find puzzles in games quite difficult or not explained well, but the puzzles in this game were generally well explained and were not too challenging. The HOS were varied in style and there weren't to many or to few of them. I would personally recommend this game to both new and seasoned players, it is not to taxing but is a fun good game.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much on par with the previous one.... If you played the last one then you'll know what to expect with this one. More of the same thing. This time Lynn and Edward are about to get married, when surprise surprise, Edward disappears. I found voice-overs, cut-scenes, and graphics were all nicely done. There were a lot of cut-scenes - started to become a bit annoying. Hidden object games had a bit of variety in them, and were easy. Puzzles were also easy and pretty standard. You had bonus morphing objects to collect, and well as puzzle pieces and stuff for imp. But you didnt actually do anything with them once collected. There were very basic achievements to earn. More progressions through game than actual achievements. Game was an okay length. Storyline flowed well, but wasn't that interesting. Fairly basic and predictable. Bonus chapter followed on from main story, but not essential to it. Gave the story that "and they all lived happily ever after". A pleasant game to play, but will probably be forgotten by tomorrow......
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Imp is back!! Hi all. Well, another addition to the Witches Legacy series. This is number 4 and yes, I already have the other three. The graphics and animation is well done, but again, we have the blues and pinks, which are very tiring on the eyes and certainly not natural. Even at that the other colors were very bright, almost too bright. When will the devs read the reviews? Game play was very good, but the Imp takes too long to get where he needs to go. Yep, he's back and helpful as ever. Gets to places you can't, in order to retrieve items. According to the game, you need to use him 14 times to get these inaccessible items. Music was pretty nice and relaxing. Voice overs are well done, but some dialog was a little silly. Jump map is very helpful and each area is well marked and identified. The pictures are a little small and cannot be enlarged, but you can still see what it is. I like that each location is also marked if there is a morphing object or collectible to find as well. That is quite different. HOPs are fairly clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. They were set up differently and were fun. You can switch to a match 2 game, which I happen to like and it helps keep my brain sharp. Of course, playing these games helps as well. Puzzles were not difficult, but a couple took some time and thought...I especially liked the maze. Hint system is very helpful and fills very quickly, but does not transport. There are a number of collectibles: 35 puzzles pieces that may not be there the first time you visit an area, or under something else; 35 morphing objects that can be almost anywhere; 10 items for the Imp (not sure what these are, but I accidentally found a few). This one is somewhat different with much nicer HOPs and puzzles than the first 3 games. It's been a while since I played the others, but I believe the story is pretty much the same, or close to the others. Story is clear and easy to follow. For some reason, I was drawn to this game and I'm not sure why...even with the colors. I find the need to purchase this one and add it to my ever growing collection. I think this will appeal to all levels of players. By the way, I think we need some good SE games so I can use my credits before they expire! As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yeah little helper is back Love this series. The game was well done. Like have the little imp creature back as a helper. He is the coolest helper a game ever had. Lots to do. Good hint button, Nice jump map. Puzzles were lightly whimsical. HO's were very interactive which was nicely done. Morphing objects and puzzle pieces to collect. Background music was not annoying so big smiles here. This game goes on my to buy list.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The saga continues I enjoyed playing this game. Was glad to see her imp was still there even though I know many of you don't like the little helpers. There is: a jump map collectible puzzle pieces morphs a bonus game along with the usual CE bling Puzzles were easy, and I really liked the variety in the HOS. I will be getting the collectors edition. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same old... I played all of these, in full version, but this one is EXACTLY the same. Literally nothing has changed and I was getting bored. There's not much of a plot, and it's odd Elizabeth is STILL the villain and connected to ALL the plots. I only played the demo and decided not to buy, even though I'm a stickler for finishing all the series. Should have ended with the third one.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game crashes on Windows 7 I have played the other 3 games in this series with no problem and would give all of the 5 stars. When this game started, I loved it. But it consistently crashes with "fatal error" everytime I try to play it. Even installed it on another computer also running Windows 7, same thing, crashes with "fatal error" I don't know if other Windows 7 users have had same problem. So this is a heads up for Windows 7 users.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Impressed You would think that something 'witchy' would be well..more 'witchy'..but no.Yet another game over loaded with things that make no sense to the story line.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from overall a good game although not perfect for me seemed to go on a bit long and with out the hint I would not have known where to go or what to do at all. however all worked out in the end. not sure exactly what I accomplished however, the story line seemed a b it confusing for some reason. over all however it was okay and I will recommend it.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would Have Been Great, If Not for the Lackluster Story BASED ON DEMO Well, I'm going to be honest here and say I was hesitant in trying this game because I really didn't like the series. I hated the first, didn't like the second, didn't even play the third, and now we're up to the fourth. This game has not changed my opinion of the series one bit. It was a decent game gameplay wise, but everything else lacked. The story did not interest me one bit. It had a poor start and just did not pick up at all. The storyline goes that Lynn's fiance, Edward, has “disappeared” in the days before their wedding. I say disappeared in quotation marks, because he left voluntarily after receiving a note. This was where things started to get confusing. Firstly, why would he do that so close to their wedding? Secondly, Lynn says he knew it was a trap. So why did he go? And if she knew about it, why didn't she follow? I did not understand that sequence of events. After another confusing event (Lynn having a medallion for some unexplained reason), we got in to the main part of the demo. From here, the story didn't really improve much. Every supposed twist was just what I was expecting, and there was a little bit more confusing stuff. For about 10 minutes, the game said “oh, they're the villain... wait, no they aren't... actually, they are”. I don't like it when this happens. I don't like games just throwing me around like I'm a basketball. There's a twist and then there's confusion... and that was confusion. The one positive I'll say about the story's content is the backstory was quite impressive. It was the only interesting thing about the game for me. From a technical point, I was quite impressed with the fact that this game followed the story of the original characters. Every main character from the previous games is there, which is a great move. Even the imp returned. The imp was my favourite part of Witch Hunters! Overall, however, a very disappointing story. The gameplay was decent and was really what kept me going to the end of the demo. I liked all of the HOS with the exception of the first one. I felt that brushing leaves away to reveal a HOS was just annoying and a waste of time. Other than that, though, the HOS were quite fun, even though they were easy. The HOS were all junkpile, with the exception of one, which was silhouette. In the next game, I would like to see a bit more variety and challenge in the HOS. Elefun didn't go wrong with the quantity, though. There was a great number of HOS in the demo and they were spaced out evenly. I didn't mind the puzzles, but I didn't exactly love them either. A couple of them were a bit confusing, but the rest were solvable. I would have appreciated better instructions in the Imp puzzle. Despite the confusion and simplicity, I did enjoy attempting the puzzles. Like the HOS, they were spaced out evenly and there were a decent number in the demo. As far as additional gameplay features go, Elefun have done a good job. There are two additional gameplay features: one of these is + objects, which are items you need to interact with to complete. They are marked with a small green circle above the item, which changes to a circle and a + sign when the item can be used. These are becoming a standard feature nowadays, but I liked them because there weren't many there. In some games, there are so many + objects, I just want to flip a table. Good job to the developers for not doing that. The other feature was the Imp, which serves as our helper. You can tell when it can be used by moving your mouse on an item. If a circle with the Imp's face appears, it can be used. Based on the achievement, the Imp is used 14 times in the game. I used it 4 times. This is a great feature and will be used just enough times. I liked how the developers put a little bit of extra work in to the helper, making me dress it in a little raincoat so it didn't have to go out in the rain! Other than that, this is basically just your normal HOPA. The basic gameplay features have been done well. There are 4 modes of difficulty (custom included), a diary (praise the gaming gods!) and an interactive map. The one thing I will comment on is that I didn't like when the game paused just for the Imp to roll out a sheet of paper to tell me what my task was. It was just slow and dreadfully annoying. Challenge wise, I found the game to be quite easy. HOS easy, puzzles easy and easy navigation. This will frustrate expert players. Next time, the developers should work on making harder games. Graphics wise, this game is good. The game has some nice detail, and the scenes are quite clear. The character designs are also lifelike, with real actors used in some cutscenes. The scenes were drawn to suit the game's atmosphere, which I really liked. I have one complaint with the voice-overs. Edward's voice was terribly under-acted and just caused his cutscene to be boring. I could have done a better job of that, and I have not taken a single acting class in my life. Other than that, the voice-overs were good. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Custom lets you set the game the way you like; differences in others are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. Hint is useful outside HOS. Diary- Good for keeping track of events. Map- The map is interactive and quite helpful. In the CE, it will let you know if there is a collectible you have missed. + objects- These are items you need to interact with to complete. There weren't many there, which was nice. Imp- this is your animal helper. Used often. Great feature. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- unsure if needed Built-in Strategy Guide- Useful for puzzles Wallpapers (9)- one has to be unlocked by collecting all puzzle pieces. Collectible puzzle pieces (35) Collectible Imp toys (15?) Achievements- some story based, some gameplay based. Music Screensavers Concept Art WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Definitely go with the SE. Even though the CE has lots of collectibles, the other extras lack excitement. The developers must be commended on the effort, though. Overall, I can't do any better than three stars. This game good gameplay, but a bad story. Certainly not the developer's finest hour, but those who enjoy this series should give it a crack.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SIMPLE GAME TO PLAY ON A RAINY DAY REVIEW FROM COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS A very easy game to play with little challenge, even on the Hard mode. There is: * Casual, Normal, Hard and Custom modes (can change any time); * Diary; * Interactive map; * 12 achievements; * Find 10 items for the imp (in game and bonus); * Find 35 morphing objects (in game and bonus); * Find 35 puzzle pieces (in game and bonus) to activate the wallpaper. The graphics are okay - very colourful and quite cluttered. Sound is good. The music is mainly orchestral and quite haunting and lovely. The hidden object games are slightly interactive silhouette and straightforward which you do twice. These are very easy to do and can be done in under a minute. However, if you don't feel like doing HOS then you play matching pairs instead (yawn). There were a lot of mini-games to play which ranged from very easy to medium. I've seen them all before - nothing new here. There are lots of sliding tiles, puzzles, etc. The 35 morphing objects and puzzles are very easy to see. A hand comes over them anyway just in case you don't see them straight away. The interactive map works well. It also shows that morphing objects and puzzles are in that scene. Once you have found them, then a star with a circle round it appears, so you know you can move on and not worry about having to find them later. The 12 achievements were very easy to accomplish without much effort. All up the game and bonus took me about 5 hours playing on Hard and that was doing others things in between. I'm about to start on "Legacy - The Dark Throne", so hopefully that game will be more challenging. Definitely recommended for beginners or maybe a lazy Sunday afternoon without using too many brain cells.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An upsetting situation made me leave this game an hour in :-( The best part of this game was the story-line. At the very beginning I was drawn in, and was anticipating how the story unfolds and to finally see Lynn and Edward get married. At about the one hour mark however, an upsetting situation made me stop playing. I came across a puppy who had a big raven feather pierced through it's paw with a sad face. I thing this was a bit too cruel dear developers. For once I wished I found the object needed to help the poor animal immediately. I do not like leaving a suffering animal in pain while I take my time looking for inane objects. I love scary games of all kinds with all types of content, but animal cruelty really bothers me. It is completely unnecessary in these games. Another personal peeve of mine was Lynn's voice and manner. This particularly voice actor (to me personally) sounds rude and pushy to her mother. I recognize this as the same exact voice that played Cory in both "Nightmares from the Deep" games. Although those games were wonderful I did not care for her bratty and pushy attitude with her mom there or in this game. I am not a parent myself, but even I cringed a few times with the "tone" Lynn was taking. Finally, the imp was starting to get on my nerves as well. He was constantly pausing the game-play while waving a banner that tells you the objectives and when they were completed. There should be a way to turn it off for those that don't like it. Without these frustrations, this game had great potential and would have me playing until the end.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unengaging story & too much direction The graphics are somewhat foggy in appearance as if they were done in watercolor paint with too much water added. The color palette ranges from washed out pink to washed out lavender with a few hints of steel blue. The voice overs were clear but often sounded stilted. They were occasionally saccharine-sounding in a way that made me grit my teeth. The atmospheric sounds and music were unobtrusive. The storyline is the oh so typical "hapless fiance is kidnapped by evil doers on the eve of the wedding and must be saved" story. Our character is the future mother-in-law and, with her magical daughter's help, she must rescue the fiance. There was nothing in this story that was new or unique in any way. At the start of the game I kept getting tutorial pop-ups even though I kept checking the box to turn them off. Early on you get an ugly little imp helper who sits near your hint bar and unfurls these long scrolls with directions for you whether you want them or not. Occasionally he will leap into the scene when you click on something even though you didn't specifically ask for his help. After he has performed the task an achievement bar pops out congratulating you for using the imp even though he did it on his own and there is, apparently, no other way to complete that particular task without him. It didn't feel very achievement-like. You also get directions about what to do next from the daughter character. Between these two elements I sometimes felt the imp and the daughter were playing the game for me. There are a few HOS and all of them were easy. They are interactive in a very clever and fun way though with well thought out interactions that made sense. I wished there were more of them. The puzzles are present in about the same amount and they are also very easy. Some are so easy I wouldn't even call them puzzles. They were also fun to do for the most part. The adventure component flows smoothly and I rarely felt I couldn't figure out what to do next especially with all the direction I was getting from the imp and the daughter character. The tasks you need to perform are the typical "find oddly shaped medallions to unlock doors," "find something to wipe dirt off a rune stone," and similar fare. One issue I had was that the game does require a decent amount of backtracking and there was a somewhat lengthy load time as I moved between areas. This kind of lag also affected the interactive HOS to some degree as well. The interactions took place in an overly slow motion kind of way. Overall, I wanted to like this game more than I did. It has clever HOS that were fun to do and that's about the best thing I can say for it. The story is too familiar to be very interesting anymore and there was too much guidance from the helper and the daughter character for me to feel engaged in the adventure component much at all. It never rose above mediocrity and occasionally sank to a little annoying. It isn't poor enough for me to think that some people won't like it but I cannot recommend it either.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Ties That Bind" Is An Interesting Choice I was not too fond of the earlier entries in this series except Charleston Curse. I thought the story line in the earlier games did not make too much sense, bordering on silly at times. For Ties, it is not necessary to be familiar with the earlier games. I have to say that I found this entry to be not too bad. The story makes sense but is rather simplistic, at least in the beginning. Your daughter Lynn is a witch, and she's about to marry Edward, a former witch hunter. This being a game, you know something will happen before the wedding and sure enough, Edward is lured away and you and Lynn must pursue him. You have a helper, an imp - the last game opened with the line "Mother, my imp has been acting strange today." Love that line. Fortunately, the imp does not talk and is activated automatically each time he/she is needed. The drawing and cut scenes are good quality as are the voice actors. The opening scene in the home of Lynn and her mother had to be the ugliest example of interior decorating I have ever seen. Fortunately, the game moves to another scene none too soon so your eyes get a break. Hidden object scenes and puzzles were fairly standard, good but not necessarily memorable or difficult. I found it ironic that this game is titled The Ties That Bind, which is from the title of a Christian hymn, and yet this is a game about witches. Now, I don't need to be reminded that, "its only a game, they're not real witches" etc. I am well aware of that. I am simply pointing out the irony there. I do not know, and I sincerely doubt, that there was any intent to send any kind of message by using that title. But the developers should probably be more careful about that. The legacy is improving but I can wait for the SE.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Three and half star I dont like this series but this part is actually quite well. Mainly because story is surprisingly interesting. Graphcis is average but some artwork looks well hauntingly. Imp helper is awkward, game could be more mature without him.The Ties That Bind is not in my top games but still ofers big portion of fun!
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It could have been better I have the previous three of this series and it is getting old. It is the same old same old. The Imp really is getting on my nerves. You give it a yoyo at one point during game play and a rain coat so he is able to perform a task. There was too much dialogue for my taste, but you can speed it up. If they got rid of the Imp and cut back on the dialogue I might have purchased this game as a CE. I will consider using a coupon code when the SE comes out. If the Imp does not bother you and the dialogue overload you will probably like this game.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition Wasn't as good as the first one (which I bought and love.) I wouldn't spend this much money for this one.
Date published: 2014-08-18
  • y_2020, m_9, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_21442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Witches' Legacy: The Ties That Bind Collector's Edition

Lynn’s wedding is interrupted by a ghost from Edward’s past.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.