Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Brought to you by ERS Game Studios, creators of the best-selling PuppetShow series, comes another Grim Facade to expose!

A mechanical dove taps at your window, bringing you a message straight from legendary inventor Leonardo da Vinci! His hometown of Florence, Italy, has been conquered by a man claiming to be a great mage. He can fly through the air, create balls of flame, and predict disasters... but his real agenda is destroying all works of art and science! A small resistance force of ordinary citizens stands against him. Will they be strong enough to stop him from wiping out all knowledge and creativity? Join the resistance and fight to overthrow the mysterious mage in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Help the mayor restore Florence in the bonus game!
  • Collect coins to purchase useful items
  • Earn achievements and restore da Vinci's stories
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 831 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mage gets Leo I at first thought the came started out kind of odd and wondered if I would even like this game. Wow oh wow what a game. Whimsical, adventuresome, magical, and great story line with great flow once it got rolling. Characters were very good, and puzzles fun and on the easy side. Like their HO's and switching around with more then one type. Like the odd helpers. This game goes to the top of my to buy list.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors graphic's and information on da Vinic Enjoyed this game, it was well done and the graphics are done well as the colors and the buildings. Great game like the others.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hats Off to Leonardo When I played the first game from the Grim Facade Series: Mystery of Venice I enjoyed it very much. Then I bought another game from the series: Hidden Sins and I loved it as well. Then I made up my mind to buy Grim Facade: the Artist and the Pretender and trial played it. Search me if I know why it didn't win my heart. Because right now I am playing the bonus game and enjoying it as much as the game itself. It is not only beautiful, it is educational as well: as we get to know Leonardo's inventions while solving some of the puzzles and see his most famous heritage during the play. The graphics, the colors and HOS are great. I was sorry when I finished it.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lets go to Italy and visit Leonardo da Vinci! I just finished this game and I loved it! It was relatively easy and straight forward which is always a plus for me. Some of the puzzles were a lot more challenging then others, but there's always the skip button. The skip and hint buttons recharge very quickly that is also a bonus. Right from the start you will see that the game tries to recreate the world, mind and ideas of Leonardo da Vinci. You will see some amazing inventions, such as the mechanical dog or bird for example. The latter will actually become our helper and it will even provide us with some interesting ways to solve the puzzles. You will also see some of his famous works of art! Graphics were a strong point in this game. Everything looks really well done and a lot of dedication has been put into the creation of this amazing, intricate, long ago world. Animations are good, and the character design is realistic enough. Overall, Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender successfully manages to deliver a very interesting game world, a lot of fun locations to explore and amazing puzzles and HOGS to play. I loved the historical aspect of this game. Anything to do with history is always a winner with me! I really, really enjoyed playing this game!
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to see Leonardo in a game, even a flawed one. Leonardo Da Vinci is endlessly fascinating and also elusive as a personality which we can trace really only in his paintings and in his science, and now in a hidden object game. The game pushes his genius over the top ,in effect adding the fruits of Einstein's work to his, There is a mysterious lady and there is the saving of the Benois Madonna. What more can one ask from a game developer? well one could ask for a little more interesting game play and villiany that was not of the rule the world type of Fu Manchu absurdity, and a less passive role for Leonardo than he has for the most part of the game but... But if historians leave Leonardo a mystery to contemplate then surely ERS studios is to be commended for making this endlessly fascinating figure present in the HOPA world. Mark them down one star with a sigh for the game's limits.
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound & So On ... A Good Story/Concept ... An All Round Enjoyable Game, But Expected A Little More ... The Bonus Chapter Is OK, But Not Essential ...
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting New Things to Do I like this game because I feel the game makers gave us exactly what we've been asking for, something different. The storyline of Leonardo was a bit boring. Also, some of the games were almost impossible to complete without a penalty and that was a little annoying. That's why I took a star off. Two sections said find the symbols, but you had no idea what the symbols looked like. Furthermore, there were a few things in the hidden object scenes that were confusing like find the "order". Other than that, good graphics and what you'd expect from a Grim Facade game. It was playable but fell just a bit short.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DaVinci Would Be Proud! BASED ON DEMO ERS seems to be releasing games at a very fast rate lately, which always brings about the worry of losing quality. However, my fears have been put to rest with this game. Unlike the stuff we've been seeing lately from this developer, this was a great one! The story was fantastic. It had a great concept and was executed wonderfully. It started with a very exciting opening cutscene, perfect for building suspense. From there, it just got more and more exciting, with twists at the perfect time to keep me interested. I think what I liked about this game was how it was different from every other story I've been seeing these days. I haven't seen a story similar to this in a long time, and I was captivated by it. I especially liked the references to past inventions by Da Vinci, and I quite liked the idea of saving him! Even better, ERS has given us the option to choose what happens! Occasionally in the game, a box will pop up, giving us the choice of what to do next. This just added to the excitement and made me eager to play the game over to see what the other choices would bring- and I hadn't even finished the demo yet! I am still a little nonplussed over the characters. At least one of them had a personality this time. That was Gobbo, the Mage's minion, who is now my favourite character. Even so, the rest of the characters still needed work, and I hope ERS improves on this in the next game. What concerns me is that the complete change in theme from the previous games may drive people away from the series. Previous games were murder mysteries, but that is completely gone here. However, don't be put off, this is a fantastic story! Even though the story is great, the gameplay is really just the normal run-of-the-mill stuff. The HOS were basically the same old; some progressive silhouette, some junkpile. I did enjoy the HOS, but the challenge was all out of whack. It was either too easy or ridiculous. The “ridiculous” I am referring to was the very first HOS in Da Vinci's garden. The Roman Numerals thing was incredibly confusing. First I had to put the paper in the right place, and after I'd done that, came the buttons. This was incredibly confusing- what was I meant to do? I was totally confused here. With the hint of no help (just circling around the buttons) and the Strategy Guide not showing HOS solutions, I was absolutely stuck- something which never happens to me in a game. I had to go to the forums for answers, which almost made me give up on the game then. Developers, this is a prime example of what can happen without HOS solutions. Put them back in the strategy guide so this never happens again! Getting back to the HOS, I found they were in good supply (3 during the demo) and were well spaced out. The HOS also have collectible fans in them, which will recharge your hint automatically. I wasn't really fussed with the puzzles. They were nothing I haven't seen before and quite frankly, were just a bit boring. I was hoping I would see something new, but no. I thought the puzzles were a bit hard, given that I had to skip the majority, which added to my pains. Similar to the HOS, there was a good amount of puzzles (3 during the demo) and they were spaced out well. ERS has really stepped back a bit when it comes to additional features. There are two features here, both of which are rarely used. The shop, one thing which is key in order to make a Grim Facade game a Grim Facade game, has returned once more. There are collectible coins for this, which are then used to buy items from the shop. These items are necessary for completing the game, so there's no skipping this. I only bought one item from the shop during the demo, which is a good sign that it will stick around for the entire game. In the last one, it was gone after 40 minutes. I criticised this heavily, so it will be a case of “watch this space” to see if ERS has taken my criticism on board. I really enjoyed this feature, so I hope it stays. The second feature is animal helpers. There are two in this game, but don't cringe, because they are barely used. The first is a mechanical pigeon that can reach out of reach objects for you. It is used twice, then gone. This is really annoying for me personally. I would have liked to see it stick around. The second animal helper is a mechanical sheep, which you get to name after you collect it from the first HOS. I liked how you could name it, but it was only used a grand total of ONCE throughout the entire demo. This is a real shame and bugs me a little. What's the point of having an animal helper if you barely use it? Sure, it's only the demo. Sure, it's going to be used more as the game goes on, but I expected it to be used at least twice in the demo, and was disappointed to see otherwise. However, I did like the feature of the helpers. I would have just liked to see a little bit more of it. The basic gameplay features have been done quite well by ERS. There are 4 modes of difficulty as well as a map which works quite well, but could have been a tad more helpful. There is no diary, but there is something which is a replacement. It is a little scroll which holds information on the characters you meet, facts about DaVinci and memories, which is basically just replaying cutscenes. This was a good thing to have, but still doesn't beat the diary. I wish the developers would bring the diary back! Overall, the gameplay was good in some areas, but lacking in others. It was good enough to support the wonderful story. The graphics are great. Everything is clear and realistic, with the cutscenes especially looking wonderful. The cutscenes are done in so much detail they almost look real. Kudos to the developers on the quality of their cutscenes- fantastic. The rest of the game is done well- detailed drawings with some nice colours. Also very clear. The one graphics-related issue I have is, again, the absence of lip-synch. I wish so much that the developers would go back to the days where they used it. It made the characters so much more lifelike! Alas, it seems that lip-synch is a thing of the past now... The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Custom lets you set everything your way, from misclick penalty to sparkles and hint/skip charge times. Differences in other three are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- Both recharge at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. Hint works well outside HOS, and there are collectible fans in the HOS for instant recharge. Scroll- This is kind of like a replacement diary. It holds facts about DaVinci, memories and info on the characters. A nice little feature. Map- The map is interactive and helpful in some places, but I think it could have been more helpful. It does display active tasks, but it does not inform you what you need to do next. Personally, I appreciated the extra challenge, but I think, for Casual mode, this isn't good enough. Casual mode is selected by those who want to relax or those who are just starting out. This might lose a few of them, which would be a shame. Shop- I loved this feature and feel it is key in Grim Facade games. Only used once in the demo, which is a good sign. I hope it sticks around, as it adds to the fun factor. Animal Helpers- rarely used, which is a shame. One, a mechanical pigeon, disappears after two uses. The other, a mechanical sheep, is used once in the demo. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- this doesn't show screenshots of HOS, and I think the HOS in this game are a prime example as to why it should. I got stuck in one of the HOS (which is a rarity), and I had to go to the forums for help. I nearly stopped playing this game, which I really didn't want to do. It is time developers realise HOS screenshots are IMPORTANT. They used to be in the guides, so why aren't they now? Achievements Leonardo's Tales- This comes in the form of a book. There are collectibles in the game which you have to find and add to the book, and I'm assuming this tells a story of some kind. Not sure, though, as I did not find all sections of the first page. Sheep's Room- A room for your mechanical sheep. This is basically the same room as the achievments and seems rather pointless. Maybe things will happen if I unlock all achievements? Wallpapers (18) Concept Art (10) Screensavers (8) Music Replay HOS & Puzzles Replay Cutscenes WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? I think ERS are improving on their CE's, but I still recommend the SE. None of the CE Extras appealed to me at all. I think the SE will be a better gaming experience. MY PROGRESS I started again 20 minutes in because I got stuck on the first HOS. I finished the demo with 30 minutes to spare, meaning the entire demo took me about 40 minutes. In that 40 minutes, I had completed 2 chapters. Overall, this was quite a good game, but it was really lacking in originality. I felt it was just another run-of-the-mill game with nothing in the gameplay department to really make it stand out. The reason I am purchasing is because of the fantastic story, but sometimes, that's not enough. I hope, for their next game, ERS takes some time to make the gameplay wonderful. This earns a solid four star rating from me.
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Leonardo da Vinci vs. Censorship A Mage has convinced the citizens of Florence that he is the true Messiah, taking control of the government and ordering all works of art and science destroyed! That's really bad news for a person such as Leonardo da Vinci, can you imagine his artwork as well as inventions way beyond it's time being destroyed, even worse, some inventions could be used as weapons against the citizens if someone with evil intentions uses them. Leonardo's own apprentice Lisa seems to be helping this evil mage, or is she simply trying to gain the trust of the enemy so that she can save the priceless works of art? As with most Grim Facade games, you will need to find fans within the Hidden Object Scenes to use as hints, otherwise they will not be available, with the exception of using the hint icon for directions to the correct location. Some of Leonardo's inventions will join you, a mechanical dove to retrieve items too high to reach, and even a mechanical sheep that can chew through just about any kind of vegetation that obstructs your path, and you get to name him as well. There is a special room called the Sheep's room that will allow you to furnish this room with different items for the sheeps pleasure, but these are simply achievements earned throughout the game. You will also collect items that can be placed into a pop up book called Leonardo's Tales, when all items have been found you will get to read a short tale he has written. There are sections in the game that allow you to choose from two different scenarios as to which answer you choose to give a character you meet such as Lisa, do you want to hide from the mage or confront Lisa about her loyalty? The Hidden Object Scenes are both list finds as well as progressive silhouetted shapes where you find the first item that matches the silhouette shape shown and then use that item back into the scene to expose the next item and so forth, some scenes are repeated twice. There are going to be all kinds of mechanical gadgets to find parts for because of his many inventions and most of the mini games are theme related such as entering the correct code onto the cryptex scroll by using clues shown on a diagram. This Collector's Edition has Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, Movies, Music, Mini Games, HOS, Leonardo's collectible Tales, Achievements also known as the Sheep's Room, a built in Strategy guide and of course a Bonus Chapter. Anyone who is a fan of the great da Vinci will probably enjoy this game although I'm not sure how much of it is fact or fiction, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In this game DaVinci is not so much the genius, .....a conundrum Like so many new games lately there is much to admire and and equal amount to dislike which prevents the game to rise to 5 star status. The story line to me is extremely lame given what we all know about the Renaissance and its outstanding thinkers. Leonardo DaVinci is central to the story line and he has been captured by an evil Mage who's intent is initially to annex all of Florence to his own devises and then all of Italy. He has convinced the majority of the residents that his magic and predictions are to be followed without reproach. Fortunately there is an underground movement of sorts that realizes the Mage is no more than a charlatan never to be believed. That's where we come in. My biggest problem with the story is that Leonardo, one of the greatest minds of all time, is seemingly unable to deal with the Mage on his own. So he needs our help, which of course without it there would be no game. Leonardo has planted clues and items of assistance throughout Florence so that we can save the day. We have a mechanical pigeon that retrieves out of the way items. We have a man made sheep that eats vegetation so that we may acquire things. I named my sheep Merino, get it, Merino. Other than the ridiculous story line the game play is rather good. Some of the hidden object segments involve finding one thing which must be used to get another and use the second item to recover the third, etc. There were only 2 straightforward segments wherein a list of objects was provided. The puzzles had some variations of familiar puzzle themes that veteran HOGgers have seen countless times. One involving placing candles in certain slots and another painting a fake DaVinci were clever. The game is graphically very well done which is typical of ERS games. I am still waiting for this developer to utilize lip movement during cut scenes to make the games a bit more realistic. There is a jump map and we must collect coins along the way to make purchases which will enable us in the quest to defeat the Mage. There is also a cube that can occasionally be entered into to perform a task that will also move the game forward. Overall, this Grim Facade entry is bordering on excellent and I suppose I will purchase it, just not right now. I need to get over my reluctance concerning the story line as it revolves around Leonardo's ineptitude. This is where ERS dropped the ball. DaVinci could have been portrayed as the mental giant he is with the need of us players to assist him in rendering Florence of the evil Mage.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Trial Review - How Disappointing... This could have been a fabulous game and it's really sad that from what I saw in the trial, it doesn't appear to be fabulous at all. What makes it worse is that there were things I really liked about it: - The artwork is just fabulous. Each scene is beautifully done. - The basic premise of the game had such potential. With Leonardo da Vinci and his art and inventions at the core, it seemed full of promise for an amazing adventure. - There were interesting bits that gave the game some fun sideline stuff to do - the store, the secret chamber and the information about da Vinci's work. - I sort of liked the idea of choosing an action, was curious about how the choices would affect the future events. What I did not like about it, however, overshadowed the positive aspects by a long shot: - The storyline which could have been really fabulous was turned into an over the top ridiculous mess. - The voices were simply atrocious! They were so awful they made me laugh. - The dialog, too, was just pitiful. It was corny and ridiculous. I almost felt like I was playing two different games. One by a talented game designer and artist and another by an insane writer with a bunch of his goofy friends reading the corny dialog. Could have been a really great game but they really missed the mark in my opinion.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT CE worthy! Hi all. Well, the 5th edition in this series. Yep, I got the other 4 and really enjoyed them all. Graphics are the usual, nothing special, but nice. Colors for the most part are very clear. Game play was good, no problems. Music was nice and moved with what was happening at the time. Not a lot of sound FX. Voice overs weren't bad, but the Mage's sidekick was extremely annoying and grating on the nerves. In this game, you choose which path you want to take, which may or may not change the outcome of the game. Don't care for this set up, it takes away from the flow of the game play for me. Yes, you have mechanical things everywhere...okay, he was an inventor after all, and a somewhat helpful bird and sheep. HOPs are nothing new or special. You find silhouettes and put them where they belong in order get whatever piece you need to continue the game. The other I found was a straight HOP. Not difficult at all and are repeated multiple times. There are fans in the HOPs that give you more hints. At least that's the only place I saw them. Puzzles are very simple. Hint system is not that helpful, as it says "nothing to do here, or try another location." That's not what I want a hint to do for me. It is also quite slow on the recharge. The jump map is far more useful, which is quite the opposite to most games. It is very plain, but it does show you where something of interest is to be found. SG is the standard. The only collectibles I found are coins that you use to buy items to use within the game. Also collect parts of tales #stories#, but I'm not sure what that has to do with anything yet, because I didn't collect enough to finish one tale to find out. There is no real excitement or challenge to this game. I did not feel that the beta was CE worthy and I certainly haven't changed my mind, as no changes seem to have been made to improve the game. I have been known to change my mind once I give the SE version a shot, but there is nothing in this one that will make me want to purchase the CE, maybe the SE...maybe. As much as I like the other 4 in this series, I just didn't feel that this one had anything that made me want to add it to my collection. I found it disappointing and somewhat boring. I only recommend this one because I think a beginner would find it fun. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may like this one. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Quite! The game page gives you the story. The CE gives you the usual "stuff." And I fell asleep during the demo. I still managed to complete it with with twenty minutes to spare. This does not make me a gifted gamer; it just proves the game is that average. There was a lot of conversation, which really did not add to what was going on in the game. For all his genius, Leonardo was less than smart in this game. (He was being threatened and was so afraid of this "Mage" that he sent a ring to identify the detective when you should arrive. But the guardian of his house is a harmless mechanical lion. When the bad guys do show up, he rushes right out into their trap.) I appreciate the four levels of play and the great interactive map. I liked the art work. The SFX came and went, as did the music. There needs to be some restructuring to make this the game it could have been. As always, see if you like it. I pass.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Town in Trouble ---- Can YOU Help? Ok, I can guess I'll be in the minority with this review. Sigh. But, this IS based on the completion of the demo which did take me the entire 90 minutes. Maybe I was slow on this one. Not a lot of hand-holding here. I liked that - kind of - keep reading please. The storyline is pretty basic and described well on the game description page. Evil Mage takes over Florence, kidnaps Leonardo Di Vinci, wants to destroy all art and science work. You've been hired to help Di Vinci. The graphics are .... sharp Disappointed that there's no lip syncing. Disappointed in the voice overs as well. It sounds like it's the same man who's doing all the male character voices. I could be wrong, but that's MY ear telling me that - lol. There are 4 difficulty modes, including "custom". You find and piece together a map that is transportable and shows what areas are complete (you can go back to them if you need to), where you need to do something (several open areas at one time - I like that). The strategy guide not only takes you through the demo, but also shows where the collectibles are. There's a "book" that has pages for "stories", "characters" and "notes" but not too much happens in there. There's a book of Di Vinci's tales. It's a "pop-up" book and when you find the collectibles and add to the correct places in the book, when the page is complete you get part of a story. Pretty cool. You collect coins in the game to purchase things you need in a store located in the game. The HOGs are varied and extremely interactive. So far, I've come across silhouettes (2) and list items (1) (the list was difficult to read and some of the items were difficult to find). It looked like you could play a game/puzzle instead but I didn't so can't comment on that - sorry. The mini games. Oh, those mini games. Most that I encountered took time, patience and perseverance. Oh, did I mention time? Yeah, some took quite a bit of time and to get back into the lack of game play and hear more talking, I skipped some of them. Too bad, the mini games were the most interesting part of the "game". Yes. haters, there are animal helpers. A mechanical bird to get things in high places - you eventually lose him. A sheep that also helps. I (stress the "I") LIKE animal helpers myself. Thank you very much. CE Bling: Disappointing as well? The usual wallpapers, music, replayable games, etc. A "sheep's room" and "Tales" (well, I think we know what THAT is). The collectibles go in the pop-up book during game play. Does that make it CE or will that be in the SE as well? The game description alludes to a bonus game where you help repair Florence. Honestly, I just don't know. It all seems pretty weak to me. There's a LOT of conversation that goes on. I don't particularly care for that. I mean, logical conversation pertaining to the game makes perfect sense. But here? Between that (or is more than 2 actually considered "among"?), all the notes, the pieces of stories and more, it just seems like the game drags on and on and on with lots of talking and no real game play. I'm sorry if there isn't the usual influx of humor in this review. The game actually makes me feel....snarky. I never thought a game could affect my mood so much. I mean ...like...a LOT. It's boring. A mess of too much going on .... stories within stories within stories within stories and not a game among it all. It's everybody having something to say with an occasional HOG and mini game thrown in. It's sad and depressing. This just isn't going to be a purchase for me for all the reasons stated above. I do hope this encourages you to at least try the demo. Purchasing a game is always a personal choice. Not because of "peer pressure" or because everybody's doing it. Enjoy.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A very Grim facade indeed I have played all the other Grim Facade games so I was eager to experience this one. However, it just did not jell with me at all. The graphics were lovely, as they are in all ERS Games, but the story was somehow unbelievable; it did not make sense. The characters were puppet like and sort of frozen in their roles. There was no excitement or fluency of story line as I have come to expect from ERS.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not good but good graphics I'm sorry but this is not good. About 5 years ago ERS were at the top of the gaming world for this genre but they have not moved with the times. As everyone must surely know, the majority of people who play these games are NOT children. THerefore we all know lots about Leonardo and there should be some true facts in there. The graphics were amazingly good. Voices terrible, Story poor. I abandoned very shortly after about 15 mins which is another tip from a keen gamer that the opening sequence is extremely important. It is the first impression that draws you in or you leave. Please deliver a believable story even if it is in the past or future.
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good game would recommend to others very good game
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Game The storyline was good but the overall quality of the game was disappointing. I would recommend the game though as it was sufficiently interesting to keep me involved
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good length but that's about it ERS has really got to step it up, their games are so old school. There is a bad part where you put the diving suit together; placement is not apparent and doesn't even make sense where it does go and I can't even tell what the items are that I'm placing. Puzzles are ok. If games don't start looking at the top notch games like Dire Grove and other Mystery Case Files and their incredible fun and artistic puzzles they will never evolve. ERS games are such a snore.
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Now We Know You Can Even Make Da Vinci Look Bad An evil Mage has a messiah complex. He is deceiving the people of Florence, Italy with magic and trying to destroy all works of art and science. He has even arrested Leonardo Da Vinci. There is a small number of people who are resisting him, but he is ruthless and cunning. You were summoned by Da Vinci before his arrest to help thwart the Mage. First the good. The drawing is the usual high quality from this developer; very nice, very detailed, easy to look at. There are some decent mini-games. The hidden object scenes are very interactive. There are four levels of difficulty, and all four have an adjustable time slider for Hint and Skip recharges. Now the not-so-good. The main impression I got after playing this was that I was being talked down to. I really like art and science. But the story and characters were so simplistic that what should have been an easy sell was actually something I disliked. I was unable to find very much fun in this game. Yes, it has Leonardo Da Vinci, his inventions, his drawings, etc. But the story is the usual "bad dude wants to rule over all" tripe that has been repeated over and over again. There is nothing that makes this game stand out - and any game featuring Da Vinci should. There is a helper, or rather a couple of them - a mechanical pigeon and sheep. I am ambivalent about them, neither was particularly endearing or annoying. For those interested, there is a bubble shooter option on the hidden object scenes. Your profile name is limited to only eight letters. Also, at the beginning of the game you receive a handwritten message from Leonardo. The writing on the scroll is displayed as center-justified. Maybe I am being too critical, but that is not how people write letters - then or now. What could have been a masterpiece earns only two vitruvian men out of five.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very grim. Presenting genius inventor Leonardo da Vinci as inept and helpless against a conman stretched the limits of credulity. Centering the story line around da Vinci, and not utilizing his inventions, sketches, and artwork as your overwhelming graphic theme and game design was a mortal sin. The possibilities inherent in a da Vinci-themed game are limitless. That those possibilities were ignored makes the two stars I'm giving this game more than generous. I played the demo last night and nothing about it was memorable. Graphics and music were typical of this dev. Gameplay was formulaic, predictable, and easy. Apparently, this dev is still using its playbook from five years ago. It's 2014, guys. Step it up.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor facade Simply saying I hated this game tells nothing as to why. It is not fun and frustrating most of the time. The visual artistry is mediocre at best and there is too much talking dialog. When I have to keep hitting the hint button because I am asking what the heck is going on, it is time to move on.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Grim Facade is Very Grim! What a boring game. The worst ers game I have every played. I want games that take me to another world. This game thinks its clever by rewriting history. Stick to fairytales.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth buying I have a lot of this game series. This is the worse game in a long time that I have played. BORING
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from so glad to see other poor reviews I thought I would love this but just got confused and board and was glad to see others that don't recommend this game. it just Did not' do it for me unfortunately. Boaring, confusing and no idea what I was supposed to do.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of time I wonder why you want to release a game that seems unfinished on so many levels. Why not do it well? The story is ridiculous, not engaging in any aspect, and that destroys the experience for me.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wow, really disliked this one... Based on the demo only... I really disliked this game. Nothing worked, the storyline was about Leonardo Divinchi and a madman stealing his prototypes. The graphics are cartoonlike and colors are faded with no depth. Maybe I disliked it so much because I just came off of playing FRIGHT which by all standards, INCLUDING what you get with the Collectors Edition, (except no screensaver) was perfect. Gameplay and colors, perfect graphics.....ho hum, why can't ALL the games have graphics like Fright??? My library has virtually HUNDREDS of games. I have played games from all different developers. ERS made Redemption Cemetary Series which was great, because the gameplay was so great. But now they need to step up their cartoonlike graphics. I DO like how this developer is one of the only ones that give SCREENSAVERS. Who cares about concept art, but I will actually buy a game for a screensaver.
Date published: 2014-10-20
  • y_2021, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_21706, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Facade: The Artist and The Pretender Collector's Edition

Leonardo da Vinci needs your help! A tyrant has conquered Florence and he is destroying all works of art and science!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.