Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Dire Grove has been plunged into a record-defying cold, and wild animals threaten at every turn! You've been called in to uncover the source of the town's troubles. But you quickly find yourself in the middle of a feud between the local hunters and the mysterious Mistwalkers who live in the woods. Can you prevent an all-out war? Pick your gender and use an innovative deduction mechanic as you try to discover the secret behind Dire Grove's curse!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were outstanding and I like the more challenging puzzles. The hints were excellent. Overall, this is the best MCF yet!" – Georgia, Beta Tester

"MCF has hit it out of the park with this one! I cannot wait for the game to come out!" – Morgan, Beta Tester

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Delve deeper into Dire Grove's secrets in the bonus game!
  • An alternate ending with an exciting twist
  • Collect and display Dire Grove landmarks
  • Bonus collection puzzles that unlock special screensavers
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2109 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 263.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF has delivered again..why am I not surprised Veteran HOPA addicts like myself always look forward with great anticipation the next installment of the incredible Mystery Case Files. In this chapter we take our second foray into Dire Grove. Now let me address the one aspect of the game I found distressing. Going all the way back to Return to Ravenhearst the developer has used live actors in cut scenes. The realism portrayed is an enhancement to the story. I am somewhat dismayed that live actors are not used in Sacred Grove. Is it because Elephant has teamed up with the MCF folks to create this installment? The game doesn't get ruined for me but I am a bit peeved. Now on to the things I like about the game. I am so pleased that ( is this the first time it has occurred in a game ? )the player gets to select the gender of the detective. That the primary protagonist in the great majority of HOGs and HOPAs is female is an annoyance. I realize that there are lots more women playing these games does not mean that us gents should get short shrift. OK, I am now off the soapbox. Dire Grove is again beset with mysterious tragedy. The town is engulfed in a mind numbing deep freeze and attacks from predatory animals. This has forced women and children to abandon their homes leaving the men as the only possible defenders. We learn that a strange group of druids known as Mystwalkers are causing the seemingly endless winter at Dire Grove. As the story develops, a couple of brothers become central to the events enveloping Dire Grove. One becomes deathly ill and the healthy brother essentially sells his soul to the Mystwalkers in order to rescue his sibling. The game player is tasked with finding out just who these mysterious Mystwalkers are in an attempt to save Dire Grove. Of course, obstacles in the form of puzzles get in the way of the detective and he or she ( in deference to the lady gamers ) must solve these enigmas in order to get closer to the truths surrounding Dire Grove and the druids. There are no traditional hidden object segments during the demo portion. There are certainly lots of interactive items gathered and some very clever Rube Goldberg like puzzles such as those first introduced in the initial Madame Fate game. Some of these are devilishly hard and I did skip one during the demo after getting stuck on it. There are if I am correct 84 collectibles, the purpose of which I do not know at this time. If there are morphing objects I ran into none. I also did not find any map but the hint button serves as a jump point. Whether this is among the best MCF's remains to be seen. At first blush it does not compare favorably with RTR, the original Dire Grove and last years Madame Fate. For me all the MCF games have been superior efforts if for no other reason that they have often broken new ground which other game developers have followed suit. I can only hope that my opinion of Sacred Grove remains high after completion of the game.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back MCF! I will be honest the past 2 MCF games have really not been my cup of tea. Maybe not even the past 3, however, this one brings me back to the reason why I love this series. It has a lot of the puzzles, HOS. I really think that the devs paid attention to us on this one and really brought the series back to where it should be! Way to go keep up the good work!
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove, Sacred Grove is a brilliant sequel !!! There's something strange and wonderful about wandering the forest at night during a snowfall. The hiss of the flakes as they accumulate, the crunch of your footsteps as you perambulate, the howl of the wolves that are dogging your every step...On second thought, maybe wandering the woods at night in the midst of a snowstorm isn't a particularly good idea. Especially if the woods are the sacred Celtic area around the tiny town of Dire Grove in Elephant Games' latest addition to the Mystery Case Files adventure hybrid collection, Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove. This sequel brings you back to the chilly burg of Dire Grove, which is once again in the throes of an unseasonal deep freeze along with a severe case of "When Animals Attack". This time around you will actually meet some of the inhabitants of Dire Grove as you work to solve the mystery of what is causing the freak snowstorms and the wild animal problems. Does it have something to do with the Druids, the Mistwalkers, or did the locals manage to do something to trigger the whole thing? Point-and-click your way through the gorgeous winter scenery to solve the mystery with the help of a lot of puzzle solving and hidden object finding. This Unique Adventure is packed with tons of gameplay, eerie music and gorgeous scenery, all of the things we expect from a Mystery Case Files game. While the pristine backgrounds seem to have lost a little of their mystique from the original game with the addition of the hunters, the druids, and the wolves, the gameplay has actually improved tremendously. The one complaint about Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove was the paucity and simplicity of the puzzles. Elephant games has packed the sequel with tons more including the addition of those fabulous multi-layered Rube Goldberg-esque door puzzles that so delighted #or annoyed# fans of the original Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst. A map that not only shows areas of interest but also allows for instant transportation makes for smooth and easy exploration of this deadly little tourist trap. So how does this stand up to the original? The backgrounds and scenery are as gorgeous as ever, and while the story and the characters have moved from intriguing live-action to slightly more cheesy animation, the gameplay more than makes up for it. The hidden object scenes contain multiple little mini-games to keep them fresh, and the more complex puzzles keep the gameplay engaging. And as is expected with any Mystery Case Files game there are multiple little side quests like finding the hidden puzzle pieces or collecting miniatures of the town buildings. In addition to five different modes of gameplay, including a dastardly timed mode that can only be unlocked after the first playthrough, there is an exciting new feature that allows the player to choose the gender of their mystery case files detective, ensuring that everyone can enjoy the experience of playing. Lush and exciting, chilly and mysterious, Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove shows once again why the Mystery Case Files games are the leaders in the field. Once again prepare to be chilled to the bone! "The woods are lovely, dark and deep, but I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep."
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revisit Dire Grove and lift the curse! What a treat to give thanks for! The Mystery Case Files keep getting better and better. You are again the Master Detective called upon to solve a mystery by revisiting Dire Grove. You arrive to find the temperature is 30 below and wild animals are attacking the town. The only people left are the hunters, led by Samuel, who have captured a druid called a Mistwalker, whom they blame for the problems in the town. It is up to you to figure it out and return the town to normal. The game is fantastic, with one extra touch after another. You get to decide if you are a male or femaie, plus select one of 5 game modes, including a "Master Detective" timed mode only available after you complete the original game! No custom mode, however, but you can adjust the brightness. The lips move in the voice-overs, and I even jumped when two wolves surprised me when I was focused on saving one of the hunters! Your suitcase even has stickers from all the places you've been - namely, the other MCF games! Ther are 8 model buildings to collect that are easy to spot but they morph. There are 84 puzzle pieces to find and assemble in 5 jigsaw puzzles. There are several achievements -- all time/hint/skip based except for one "secret achievement." You have a jump map with activites marked in casual mode. Besides a bonus game, you can play again with an Alternate Ending! After finding 5 key pieces of evidence, you get to see the Investigation Board, which helps you tie the evidence together and decide the town is cursed. The HOPs are all multi-level and fun. The best part are the "Rube Goldberg-like" mini-games that have you pushing levers and connecting circuits or building paths on large device to get to the reward item at the end. Luckily, they include puzzle clues so you don't have to skip when you get stuck! Can't wait to buy it! Try it and see.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely "Top Drawer" fabulous game! Based on playing demo all the way through, (and was bummed when it ended). I really was lured right into this frozen world, between the gorgeous art, the mysterious & creepy storyline, the realistic voice-overs, music and ambient sounds. I loved the first Dire Grove, and this is a wonderful sequel! Thanks to the devs for taking extra time to make this a great game; you guys ROCK! I won't go into great detail, as several other reviews have more than competently handled those, however, I will add a few comments here: Contrary to what someone said, there IS a map, a jump map that looks like a briefcase, on the lower left-hand side of the screen. And I loved the 3-D "tiny-town" quality of it, as well as the little colored flags showing locations of tasks, plus whether they had been completed or not. There are also a few morphing objects, little buildings (the ones I found anyway), but they are elusive and don't always show up the first time you enter a scene; sometimes you have have to revisit a scene after you have completed another task, and only then do they show up. Liked the fact that you can choose your detective's gender. I also liked the Investigative Journal (top right side, slides out), because as you solve puzzles, find objects, etc, pieces of information in various forms, get added to your Journal, and when you get enough pieces, you can click the "Deduction" button, and the various sections sort of interact in a section called, "What Happened in Dire Grove?", and the various story-lines start to come together. There are Dictaphone messages, torn pages from Samuel's Journal, weather forecasts, strange animal sightings & behavior....and let's not forget about the Druids, the mysterious Mystwalkers (Mistwalkers? sp?; short-term memory is TOO short, lol; I usually take notes, but forgot this one). Puzzles, mini-games, etc. were all quite interesting and fun, some much more challenging than others, but all interesting. Loved the game-within-the-game aspects, the layering of mini-games inside other games. There are Collections (various birds is one), Achievements, and an alternate story ending (can't wait to see this!), and lots of other goodies. (read the other reviews for more details) The only disappointment, from my viewpoint, is that they haven't used live actors in the cut scenes, which was always a fun part of many of the other MCF games, and the first Dire Grove game (however, that's not enough for me to deduct any points). Great job, devs; all the things I love in these games and nothing I don't...(well, except for the lack of live actors in the cut scenes, but hey)....I was hooked from the beginning, and can't wait to play more! A definite buy for me!
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Puzzles This has puzzles more similar to Return to Ravenhearst than Key to Ravenhearst. I had a great time with this game. The bonus game was lengthy and I didn't want it to end. Loved it.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't Deserve Negative Reviews I was unsure about buying this game due to the mixed reviews but took the gamble. I have finished playing it ... well, almost, as have an "alternate ending" to enjoy to finish off. Dire Grove quite simply is the backdrop to Dire Grove, Sacred Grove and what a good storyline it is and an "old friend" pops up at the end ... I could certainly "feel" how cold it was too ... reaching for something warmer to put on and it is a hot Summer over here. I thoroughly enjoyed this game because .... : of the beautiful detailed artwork; the wonderful music; the intriguing storline and colourful characters; top notch atmosphere and one of my favourites is the mini games that took me at least half an hour to complete ... only did 2 or 3 completely on my own ... great fun. Just to finish my opinion of this game ... it definitely deserves a higher rating and I can't understand the negative reviews ... will anticipate the next MCF game!
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF With A Different Mood I don't often buy Collector's Editions, but I did here because I liked the idea of unlocking an alternate ending AND I have enjoyed every MCF game. The Collectors Edition Extras: The bonus gameplay took me about 45 minutes to get through--I would call this an average time. I spent another 30 minutes of play doing the alternate ending, I consider this good value. I wouldn't want less than 60 minutes extra play (since buying a CE costs another game). The extra things to find helped make it worth it for me too. Collecting houses for a quaint Dire Grove model and puzzle pieces that become jigsaws (which unlocked screensavers) made for a nice addition and added to the value of the CE. Level of Challenge: (5 out of 5) There is a puzzle-solving mini-game here that I've only found with MCF and I was delighted to find them here. They first appeared in MCF Madame Fate's Carnival and I have hungered for them ever since. Dire Grove, Sacred Grove is full of them and every time one of them was revealed, I would do a little dance in my chair and work on the puzzle--pulling ribbons, lighting up bulbs, melting icicles, corking stakes... I love these puzzles with their abstract logic. The HO mini-games are more dynamic too, and getting away from the straightforward "list of things". Moving through the game, items that you carry also need pieces to attach to them to make them work. A torch that needs batteries, an axe-head that needs a handle and so forth. These are not so much a puzzle as how to figure out where to get them. You can find this type of thing in other games, also. I don't know if I'm getting the hang of the puzzles, but I found this game playable without hints. I play on normal difficulty (if it gets rid of the sparkles otherwise I will play on hard). I found the puzzles quickly beatable. At no point did I get so frustrated with the complexity that I had to exit out and come back with a fresh mind. I would put myself as above-average puzzle solver, but not an expert. As it stands, doing the puzzles challenged me a little but not a lot. I prefer playing games at this level because I want to relax, not be annoyed. It was the perfect level of difficulty for me. Storyline: (4 out of 5) The storyline is what gives this MCF a different mood. It doesn't have the heightened tension of the other games which might earmark it by some players as "worse" when it's just different. The storyline is more spiritual than horror. There are no "what's behind that door" moments. The relationships between characters is pronounced and interesting. The dialogue is better than a lot of games but still needs attention to remove that stilted feel in conversation. It doesn't flow in many places or lacks subtlety. As an example of stilted conversation: Why would someone give the detective an allen key and say: "This might unlock a secret hiding place in Dire Grove." Who says things like that? I understand that clues have to be given, but I would prefer to read/hear "This tool might be useful for you." It's more realistic and let's face it, the player will assume the tool unlocks a secret hiding place in Dire Grove, the character does not have to say it. In this game you can choose your MCF detective as having a female or male voice. Being a woman, I chose female. Words were crisp and clear but the emotion was off, like she didn't have an understanding of what tone to read the line in. When the actor should've sounded upset or tense, she sounded joyful or bouyant; it disconnects the player from the game. Visual/Sound Quality: The artwork is as gorgeous as ever. The score sets the mood perfectly. As soon as I picked up a particular item that would send me to a confrontation, the music changed to match. MCF fans should enjoy this game as long as they are prepared for a different mood and storyline. Note: This storyline is still connected to all the other games, but isn't apparent until the player gets closer to the end.
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's dire in the grove! Another excellent game to play. The graphics are lovely, the colors rich and vibrant. The sounds are good and make a nice background to the scenes. There are maps with "jump to" locations to save going back and forth. This is also excellent when, like I had to do, leave the game for days at a time only to try to remember where I was when I returned. These jumps and "task" to do keep the play much simpler. Now, what is not simple are the mini games. It took me a few to figure them out. It takes awhile to decipher what they are wanting you to do and in what order. They are certainly challenging! They have collectable pieces (missed 2 somewhere) and morphing objects. I love morphing objects! There are several hidden object games as well. We are again a master detective trying to solve another case. It is a thought provoking game, with a good amount of play time. I have enjoyed the MCFs immensely, and this is no different. You will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return to Dire Grove After solving the mystery in Dire Grove and rescuing the students who went missing there, you as the Master Detective, returns for a new mystery. This time involves ancient rituals, forest folks, hunters, a family torn by tragedy and Dire Grove once again snowed in. The puzzles are challenging and the HOGs are quite enjoyable. My only gripe is that MCF can't seem to get enough of an old nemesis (won't name names here in case it might spoil the ending). Can't our Master Detective face a new enemy? Anyway, MCF, what can I say? I LOVE IT!!
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always good to come home to Dire Grove. I look forward to the MCF series of games and have yet, to be disappointed with the game play, puzzles, sound, or story line. As other reviewers have mentioned, I'm waiting for the next installment of Ravenhearst (or something like 13 Skulls??). This is a small thing, but it was nice to see for once screws that actually unscrewed counter-clockwise.....are screws manufactured different over seas?? It seems many games unscrew clockwise..... Very small observation! Keep the MCF series alive and coming.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Excellent MCF Game ... Great Graphics, Sounds, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... How Long Have We Waited For This Next Installment ? ... And The Waiting Starts Again ... I'll Be Here Waiting ... The Bonus Chapter Was A Great Addition And Well Worth Having ... Plus The Alternate Ending Adds More Icing On The Cake ...
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Sequel, MCF Has Done It Again Having played Dire Grove on iPad when it first came out (and not having the best experience on that format) I was a little skeptical of this game initially. However, my curiosity at how the story would have continued on from the first game led me to play this game and I loved it - I even went a re-bought the Dire Grove for my laptop, which was a much more enjoyable experience. It starts out with you, the choose-your-gender detective, who has been called back to Dire Grove, as strange happenings have been occurring; the weather has become so bad that men, women and children have had to leave their homes to ensure their survival. At Dire Grove, you find yourself stuck between supporting the hunters or the Mystwalkers, whilst trying to find out what has happened to cause such a disaster. It was a very fun game to play, the HOP weren't as repetitive as some games can be, and the mini games were fun as well. The graphics are top-standard; the colours mix well but aren't too bright, and the characters and scenes have all been created to work in high definition, which really adds to the element of the game. The storyline is a fun and interesting one - I found myself enjoying the 'solving questions as you progressed' element a lot of fun to do. The only downside I would say this game has is that it does get a little back-and-forth towards the end of the game. Sometimes you do find new items as you re-use the same route, but most of the time it's just trying to get from a to b without anything else. Overall, a very fun game to play and an excellent addition to Mystery Case Files' already fantastic creation of game - well worth buying.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game! This is based on almost finished CE. I really loved this game (can't you tell?) I've played the other Mystery Case File games and liked them also. Several people commented this was not like the others. I say "different can be good." Loved the action/reaction puzzles. Finding puzzle pieces and using them instead of just finding objects that have no use - great! It's a pretty long game and has an alternate ending of which I am now playing. I'd like more of these types of games.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another MCF masterpiece I've always been an avid fan of the MCF series and ever since the first installement of Dire Grove came out, I've secretly hoped that I would get to revisit that creepy hotel and see the Banshee's cavern once again. This was a long time coming, but it was definitely worth the wait. I honestly loved everything about it. The only little thing I would have liked to see was some live action, I quite enjoyed that from Dire Grove, but even so, the graphics are breathtaking, the storyline is right out of celtic legend - downright enchanting - and the puzzles are hard.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, challenging game! Hi all. Here we have the 7th installment in the MCF series. Yes, I have 5 of them. The only one I did not care for and did not buy was Shadow Lake...don't remember why. This one has the same quality as the others all the way around. Very nice active graphics, even down to the "cold breath." Very nicely done. There are some purples, but not over-powering at all. Colors are bright and clear. Game play was excellent, no problems with the demo at all. Excellent voice overs, appropriate for age and gender, with fear, excitement and pain, not just someone reading a script. Very well done. I got so engrossed in the game that I didn't pay attention to the music, except to note that it did move up and down with what was happening at the time. As always, I demo every game on casual mode to get a feel for the game play and this one is excellent. I've been waiting for this one since I beta tested it months ago. HOPs are quite interactive, clean, clear and items are not difficult to find. I found them to be quite fun and somewhat challenging in some areas. The puzzles were very challenging, even though you could use a hint, e.g. do this to make that happen. Within the game, you will find clues to what is happening in the story and why. You must collect these clues in order to go to the "investigation board," where you will get the information you are looking for. Hint is quite helpful, fills quickly and transports you to the next location, if further than around the corner. This is one of my favorite features of any game. I did find that the "skip" button for the puzzles was pretty slow filling. I didn't remember the beta being quite that slow. Collectibles: 84 puzzle pieces. Not sure what happens when you get them, but they are not that hard to spot. There are also 9 morphing buildings to collect. They pop in and out fairly quickly, so pay attention. I was drawn into this game from the beginning and the more I played, the better it got. It's just a very nice game and one that I have to add to my collection. I think this game will appeal to all levels of players. It has enough action and constant movement to keep you interested and wanting more, and finally some challenge. I rarely give 5 stars to any game, but in my opinion, this one deserves them. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FUN AND YET SO CHALLENGING Review based on completed game and bonus. Wow, where do I begin. There is: * Voiceovers; * You can choose to be a Male or Female Detective; * Casual Hunter, Experienced Pathfinder, Hardcore Trapper or Wise Druid modes of play. You can choose Master Detective after you complete the game; * Achievements Room; * Interactive map; * Find 9 landmarks; and * Find 84 puzzle pieces. I played on Hardcore Trapper for the game and bonus and found this to be very challenging. I loved it and found it perfect for expert players. I did try the Wise Druid mode at first but found it too hard as I didn't have a pointer or any written dialect and it became too much as I was just clicking aimlessly around. So I started again on Hardcore Trapper. I enjoyed the storyline. Its easy to follow and I liked interacting with each character. There are lots of twists and turns and a few surprises. The graphics are truly amazing - clear, easy to see and well defined and detailed. Sound and music are great. I must admit that whenever I hear the MCF music I always get goosebumps. The hidden object games are interactive and I really enjoyed them. There are the usual straightforward HOS, silhouette and putting items back. These are not hard to do and don't take long. Now, the mini-games. These are extremely challenging. There are 5 hardcore puzzles in the main game and 1 in the bonus. Each one took me a very long time to do. I managed to conquer 3 but had to resort to the Strategy Guide for the other 3. I got to about 80% completion for these but got stuck and needed help. There are lots of other easier, non-knuckle biting mini-games as well in the game and bonus. If you are an expert player, you will love these, but beginners and maybe intermediates it might be easier to play Casual Hunter or Experienced Pathfinder instead. There are 84 puzzle pieces to find, broken up into 5 jigsaw puzzles. When you have completed each one, you can use them as a screensaver. The 9 landmarks are morphing and very easy to find. I'm not really sure why they were there really as there was no challenge in looking for them. All up the game and bonus took me a good 15 hours to play - mainly because of those brain numbing mini-games but I loved every minute of it. I most definitely recommend this game. You really do get your money's worth and to exercise the old brain cells at the same time. I will definitely be playing this game again.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finished Demo, solid 4.7 Brief notes: contrary to other reviewers comments: there are 9 Morphing objects and a helpful Jump-Map with available "notes". Puzzles difficult/complicated - makes you think. The storyline is different from the fantasy stories we've had recently. I strongly recommend that you try this. I bought the first MCF in 2012 and not one since. I will definitely purchase this one.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved every minute! PLEASE keep those puzzles coming!! Makes all other games of the genre feel like child's play. The more the better!
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing Dire About This Game! Really enjoyed this one. What can I say? Everything was top notch, so I'm not going to go into detail because others have already done that. The only small complaint I have is the female detective's voice. I know she's trying to sound like a detective, but just a little more emotion would prevent the annoying monotone. I skipped through most of the dialogue anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. Maybe the male voice would have been better. This game just kept surprising me with all the unique puzzles and different spins on HOS's. It was nice and long and never boring. A big winner!
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever!! Loved this game! I downloaded the free trial and right away decide to buy it! I had big expectations and MCF exceeded them by having fun interactive puzzles and great story line. I am playing it all over again, finding details I missed the firt time, it is creative, challenging and FUN FUN FUN!!
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In my top 5 I have played all of the MCF games and this is in my top 5 of the best.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making sense!! I am a little addicted to HO games, mostly because I like to be submerged in a beautiful virtual world and be part of it. This game made me really happy: not only the graphics are truly beautiful (you can feel the cold and almost touch the snow). What I most appreciated in this game is that the actions you are asked to perform mostly make sense. In so many HO games you have to look in the most improbable places for the most improbable lock parts and this makes me feel really stupid. In this game however you really collect pieces of evidence that help build up the storyline: so refreshing!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible What a magnificent game! The graphics are beautifully done, the storyline is great, love the puzzles and the HOS and the wonderful music makes it complete. I love all the games they have made ready for the next one!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! What a Game! I have enjoyed every bit of it the graphics, the story, and the challenge. It will certainly be one of those Games I will play again and again!!
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxury art, intriguing plot Thank you for this awesome game! Some players are fundamentally upset that the game does not include live actors. However, in my opinion, being completely drawn, the game looks much more solid, not crushed, it sinks into the soul. Characters are really worked out to every detail. Game pleases from the beginning: parallax menu is really great! Nothing like this in HO games I've ever seen. The plot is exciting, I enjoy the storyline, 'cause it's not obvious. And music is also brilliant. I am particularly pleased with transitions from quiet to the disturbing motives. Really decent work. Thanks to the developers , thanks to Big Fish Games.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to the Grove Once again, our beloved Master Detective is on the case! We find ourselves back in Dire Grove, but we're not saving university students from a vengeful Banshee this time. We're trying to save the town from a curse. I like the map system, which is the same one used in the previous game. Fast travel makes getting around this place so much easier. I also like how you get to choose the gender of the Master Detective in this one. To me, Master Detective will always be a woman. Not going to lie, the challenges are a bit more tricky and this leaves me somewhat ambiguous about the timeline of the games, but I won't spoil anything. Wonderful environments, suspenseful soundtrack, and a overall good experience.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Mystery Case Files always have super games, the colors and graphic's are bright and interesting.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, MCF back to old glory! I only hit onto the MCF series with the initial Dire Grove release, luckily so, as that was the best for a good while (Return to Ravenhurst was also good). The next were soso and then it really went downhill with way too linear storylines, hardly any challenge and only a play on good graphics/video - if I want that I go to the cine. In fact I had tired so of the always same old IHO that I didn't even try new releases of any of those any more. You know, what with around max 4 h playtime, mostly too easy and ever the same puzzles, silly stories, too much walking or too little adventure and one HO after the other = tedious and non-exciting. Somehow I ended up checking out the reviews for this game and got intrigued enough to download the trial. Wow, what can I say. Now, after having finished the game I can only say "more, please". Now here is a decent adventure, great graphics, but not only, a decent enough story and the most brilliant original puzzles. I totally enjoyed it. Also, for once a CE is actually worth it,, which for me only ever means extra game play. All the rest is clutter in my opinion. With this offering not only do we get an extra chapter, thats albeit not quite as good as the main game, but miles better than most others main games in the genre. Then we also get an alternate ending, with a whole further hour of fun playing time. Talk about a happy chappy. Just in case the devs ever read reviews, what I didn't much appreciate was the choice of questions to ask, because it made zero difference and in the end one had to ask them all anyway, so why have choices, that aren't real choices. Also that little spiel with the investigative board and deduction was meaningless as there was no guessing or reasoning involved and to my mind those two aspects should have been incorporated into the flow of the game. But those 2 minor annoyances didn't change the fact that I had a ball playing this. The length was great too and now, that I've finished it and am busy uninstalling, I feel satisfied that I really got my bucks worth and that there is hope for this type of game genre. Again, please more!
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove is BACK! Okay, first, I don't review games often--as in NEVER. This is the first, even though I've been a member for nearly 5 years. But I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Dire Grove series and will be buying this one just like I have all the other Dire Grove MCF games. And I'm not some kid--I'm over 50 and gonna be a grandmother in a few months. But this is my form of relaxation and I really enjoy this series! The only other franchise to come close is the Ravenhearst one. I hope they're listening! These people know how to keep you working a puzzle enough to drive you ALMOST crazy, but not quite, and there's always help if you need it. Quite frankly, with their reputation, I'd buy any Dire Grove game without even trying it--that's how much I love their work! There's great puzzles that aren't rehashes of the same old stuff and the storyline is a bit contrived, but how far can you go with this genre? I love it all the same. Definitely worth waiting for!
Date published: 2014-12-01
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_263
  • loc_en_US, sid_21780, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

A deadly secret lurks in the woods of Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.