Myths of the World: Black Rose Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Myths of the World: Black Rose Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(400.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Eipix Entertainment, the studio that brought you the Final Cut and Myths of the World series, comes another exciting myth to discover!

Vampire hunting is a full-time job, and your latest lead has brought you and your partner to Louisiana. Hop aboard a Mississippi River cruise, and get to work! You must investigate the riverboat passengers to expose a vampire who's carrying an ancient artifact that could spell disaster in the wrong hands. Just be wary of who you trust... Even a seemingly normal person might be under the spell of the cunning vampire, luring you into a trap. Uncover the clues and unmask the true villain in this heart-pounding Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to save Eastmire from a new threat!
  • Get soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • See behind-the-scenes images that inspired the game art!
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 917 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Myths of the World: Black Rose Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(400.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Myths of the World: Black Rose Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good addition to the series This review is based upon the 90 minute trial version only but saying that I feel I get a full flavour of the game overall. Like others in the series the story is based on a myth, but also like others in the series you know that the myth is just make believe but because the quality of the story and the way the dialogue and situations are portrayed then you are left wondering is there such a thing (I know it is make-believe honest). This was an apt game to bring out at this time of the year given the fact that we are a week before Hallowe’en and it was well executed, even one of the bonus objects to find was a pumpkin, so obviously all tied in. The story as mentioned was excellent even in the first 90 minute you could see that the story was going to develop into something that I wanted to play (and would play) and unlike others I have played recently would get my money’s worth when I purchased the game. The gameplay was excellent and as with others in the series even on the ‘hard’ setting the HO scenes were never too taxing and were more engaging rather than tedious, this added to the overall game-play in that it meant that you were not detracted or frustrated thus not wanting to continue with the game. Also on some of the HO games as well there were 2nd and 3rd layers to them, not just finding ‘junk’ but find 5 of something and solving riddles, I think this has improved on previous games in this series. The other way in which I think this series has improved is by the quality of the Mini-games, if you play a lot of HO games then some would seem familiar but it is the context that they are played in and the way they are joined together that makes it unique. For the trial version the HO games were not too difficult but I imagine they may have got more difficult during the full game. As the game was intuitive I didn’t feel I had to play the game by ‘following the map’ by this I mean look at the map find the next area to solve, solve it then move on, this may possibly have come later but as it hadn’t done in any previous in this series then I don’t see any reason why it would in this one. This to me marks it down as a good game as it means that the game is logical and intuitive thus the player knows exactly where they need to go to drive the story on. As well as HO and Mini-games there was the ‘game-world’ to manipulate as well, this was also intuitive in the fact that you have to use your ‘vampire-hunter’ ‘weapons’ to further the game, won’t give too much to say, but needless this adds an extra dimension to an already brilliant game. The only two slight negatives I found were that sometimes the dialogue or written text was not grammatically correct or sometimes even spelt correctly (and I’m not meaning that it was spelt US English rather than British English, have to take it as a given that normally text will be US English), I suppose this is because it is programmed by Mainland European country, normally this does not bother me but because the rest of the game is excellent, then these little things you pick up on. The only other slight negative, though this was not really a problem for me, was that there was no ‘supplement game’ for the HO games, some games now have an alternative game to the HO game this could be a jigsaw style, Mahjong or a ‘bust a move style game, though have earlier in the review stated that the HO’s were not really that difficult for me as I say it didn’t detract from the gameplay. I played the game on the ‘hard’ setting and whilst there were ‘hints’ available I think I only needed to use once as I get confused by a ‘lost in translation’ (US – British English) ‘next step’, on the harder setting the ‘reset’ time between each hint was around 3 minutes, the wait time was not that bad though as because the storyline and game-play is so good I felt you only needed occasional prompts to help drive the story. As you can probably gather I didn’t like the game so would not recommend it (sarcasm there for all you who don’t understand it ? ) If you have never played any in the series before, then unlike other ‘series’ HO games such as the Puppetshow series, or the ‘Haunted Hall’ series where characters follow through from one episode to the next characters don’t in this series of games and it is just the fact that they are ‘Myth’ games by the same programmer that is the connection between one game and the next.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quest For Blood Garlic powder, check. Wooden Stakes, check. Silver bullets...oops wrong monster. Vampire Hunters don your vampire kits and climb aboard Louisiana's Mississippi River Cruise in search of Benjamin Brooks. Our dynamic duo vamp hunters find this wicked fast blood sucker, nestled within his cozy coffin, his fingers tightly clutching a vial filled with pure light. The first thing I thought was that Ben was afraid of the dark but it turns out that this vial was vital to his survival and he warned the brave hunters, " I don't want to hurt you, give me the vial and I'll let you go!" The Vial of pure light is in your hand now, what does it do, and why is this light so important to a night dwelling predator like Benjamin Brooks? Yet another thrilling, heart pounding, Myths Around The World adventure crammed full of achievements for using the map to travel quickly or finding several items quickly in a HO. There are 10 collectible pumpkins that turn into Jack-O-Lanterns and 43 collectible roses, black roses of course. Don't forget your Vampire Hunting Kit and the Vial of Light, which can be used against unnatural phenomena that the vampires use such as magical for. After completing a short game of clicking the symbols in the correct order, your light vial will dispel the barrier. The Hidden Object Scenes are a hodgepodge mixture of pure entertainment, and don't forget to search for the morphing objects in each scene. Most scenes are lengthy requiring several steps such as finding several symbols that will uncover a duster to to sweep away cobwebs on the first list and a hammer to break the glass on the second list of items. There is an alternate bubble shoot game to play if you're not a HOS fan. The mini games were awesome! I loved the game with several puzzles that required you to put on your thinking cap, first turning several discs to complete a picture, then untangling chains, turning several tile's until the symbols matched on all sides of the tiles, then matching up symbols by following attached wires. You will get gears for each of those puzzles which goes into a mechanical spider and you will need to place the gears in a specific order to allow the gears to move the mechanical spider. This Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, Pictures, Music, replayable Puzzles and HOP's, Movies, the Making Of, Bubble Shoot, Morphs, Collectibles, Screensavers, Concept Art, Souvenir box, Achievements, a Bonus Chapter, and a built in Strategy Guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game for Halloween Just in time for Halloween we have a new Myths of the World – Black Rose that is a ghoulish tale of vampires. I will be the first to admit that I don’t care much for games about vampires but every once in a while I have run into a good game that proves me wrong. When I first saw Black Rose I didn’t have much interest but as I played the game and encountered some wonderful HOPs and puzzles, I was hooked. For those of you who play a lot of HOPA games you already know that EIPIX is one of the top developers in the genre and their graphics are hard to beat. In Black Rose we have those wonderful, albeit sometimes dark, crisp and colorful graphics. Coupled with the excellent lip-synced voiceovers and soundtrack we have a game that is sure to please many of you out there in BFG game land. The tools in the game consist of an integrated map, a Vampire Hunters Guide and a Vial of Light that we acquire shortly into the game. It looks like some of the game developers seem to have heard you shout, loud and clear, that you are tired of the cute and furry pet helpers or helpers in general because I don't see one lurking around in Black Rose. What I love about this developer are the great interactive various types of HOPs and for some reason, IMHO, they seem better than ever in Black Rose. At some point I generally groan when I encounter too many interactive HOPs but EIPIX knows how to do them just right since many of them contain puzzles as well as the items to find. I really enjoy the puzzles I have encountered which seem to be multi-tiered and contain a bit more challenge that has been present in recent games. As of late, puzzles have been laughably easy and almost mindless in their presentation but finally I can put my brain to work. The game is loaded with extras and, IMHO, worthy of being labeled as a CE. Throughout the game we will find morphing objects and two different types of collectibles and not all of them easy to find. Among the extras we will find a bubble-shooter game, puzzles, souvenir box, HOPs, the bonus game, strategy guide, pictures, movies and something I like – the making of section. All in all we have a game that deserves the CE label. As I mentioned earlier, vampire themed games are not ones I usually enjoy but this is one of the few that I think is very good. I found that when the demo ended I wanted to continue playing and have not been disappointed that I purchased the CE version. In fact, I had to tear myself away from the game to write this review so that I could get back to playing. I know that I have several hours of fun and challenge ahead with Black Rose. However, as always, I recommend that you try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy as much as I do. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun!!. This is a fun game right from the start. It has a lot of different puzzles and challenges. The story line was different and I had to buy the game as soon as I finished the demo.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Year! They had me at the first HOS. I love vampire stories and this didn't disappoint. It has Custom settings and repeat HOSs in the Bonus Content plus Bonus Chapter - a must have! I set in on Easy, and it still took a bit to get the hang of the program. The puzzles were different and the graphics the best. I'm buying this after 20 minutes of play and look forward to many hours of enjoyment! This will satisfy the Beginner to the Advanced. I own all in this series and this is the very best. Hats off to my pick for Best of the Year!
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Halloween Game I liked the game. Has morphing objects, plus collectibles, is a little different. Nice job! At first I thought I wouldn't like it, but as I got into it, I liked that it is a bit different, some new things here. One problem, I had to skip the game were you need to spin the discs and make the symbols match. I even used the guide and the top two left squares don't match the guide, but do complete the puzzle. HHHMMM Over all a fun game with lots to do and all of the CE bling including a mystery achievement. HHHMMM Not too difficult, but makes you think. Some new twists on old puzzles. Definite buy for me!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relaxed and fun game The storyline, although not a new one, but had some interesting twists and not so many gaping holes. Gameplay is logical, easy flowing, but quite packed. Beautiful graphics, interesting locations and helpful map. For the first time was able to collected all roses and pumpkins and even morphing objects in HOGs. No repeated HOGs and no cute animals who help you. A minor annoyance - the riddles in HOGs, although you can always switch to bubble shooting and back. I recommend this game for those who prefer relaxed and nicely flowing games rather than challenging and uphill battles.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eipix is once again at the top of its game !! I find lots of the vampire games to be run of the mill and rather boring. Not this one thanks to the folks at Eipix. This group always seem to know how to grab a player's attention and keep it throughout the game. In this edition of the wonderful Myths of the World series, I got grabbed in the opening cut scene. Our objective as a vampire hunter is to find and vanquish a notorious blood drinker named Benjamin. The early part of the game introduces us to Simon ( a fellow hunter ). We are on a steamboat wherein we need to locate the vampire's room and do him in. While on the boat we acquire tools and potions necessary to the task. We get these items by completing HO segments and solving puzzles. Up to their usual high standard, Eipix HO scenes require a bit of thought and the puzzles are complex enough to also make the game player use some brain cells. None though are so difficult as to use skips which are available if needed. Once we locate Benjamin, he of course escapes, otherwise the game ends rather abruptly. The player and Simon follow him to a swamp in which other actions on the game player's part continue the quest. We meet another vamp, a sultry woman who tries to woo us to her side but we know better than to trust her. The demo ends with the player in a town in which Simon, who has obviously been bitten, turns on the hunter by shooting him/her with an arrow. I doubt the wound is fatal !! There are collectible black roses, morphing objects, and pumpkins to gather. As I have stated in other reviews, ultimately for me the story line must deliver in the same way a book must to keep my attention. Lots of games offer good to great HO scenes and puzzles but if the story is lame, why go on? With thousands of games in BFG's repertoire, it's the story in the great games that compel the player to continue playing. The Myths series is another saga that keeps me coming back for more. The best developers generally keep our attention with excellent series such as the Awakenings, Dark Parables, Mystery Case Files, and lots more. For Halloween fans, Black Rose should be a sure fire hit. I recommend this fine game without reservation.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I have played in a long time. The HOP were different and multi-layered. I loved the graphics and the story line. It kept me interest all the way through the bonus story. If you enjoy a solid story line and challenging HOPs then this game is for you.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT VAMPIRE GAME! based on demo ... this is a buy for me ... the gameplay is smooth and the MINI games are FABULOUS! ... lots to find and the game keeps moving ... i especially like the fact that there is music throughout the game ... i am really unhappy with SILENCE ... so this is another great game from one of my FAVORITE devs ... HAPPY HALLOWEEN EIPIX! ...
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some puzzles are too easy, don't let that fool you This is a stupendous game. I am not into storylines, but even that was delightful. The vampire theme is well executed. There are lots of puzzles within puzzles. The Hidden Obj scenes are interactive. There are roses and pumpkins to find...perfect to play on Halloween. There was a gate that one had to go through about five or six puzzles to get through and they were some a bit hard and others easy, but in the main very intriguing. There was not a lot of running around, it seemed that what one needed to progress was within a few scenes forward or back, and while I like to have to remember all the pieces and go back and forth, for those of you who do not like that, this will be a relief. The game trial ends on a cliff hanger and I hope the rest of the game will not disappoint because the developers really set themselves a high bar with this beginning.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vampires vs the vampire hunter! What a great way to spend your weekend -- hunting vampires! From the opening upside down bat for sound, to Rose getting bit, you are immersed in the world of vampires and hunter. You and your fellow vampire hunter Simon are looking for Benjamin Brooks, turned into a vampire by his beloved Rose. You are on the Hope Steamboat Hotel but after opening Benjamin's casket, you track him to the town of Eastmire, which seems to be under the control of Rose, now called Black Rose. You have so many tools to help you. Besides your teleporting map, you have your Vampire Hunter's Manual that helps you remove curses, and the Vial of Light, which collects wisps of light and removes fog left by vampires. There are 14 morphing items embedded in the HOPs, and 43 collectible roses, both of which have glowing icons to remind you to look for them. There are four modes of play -- Fledgling, Ascendant, Elder, and Custom. The achievements are all time and skill related. Each HOS is different -- either a list, a silhouette that "suggests" the item, or find the missing pieces. You can play a bubble shooter instead. The mini-games are multi-tiered. To open the gate you have to solve 4 puzzles to get the gears, then create a path, then match runes -- all fun and not too difficult. In fact, I didn't skip one puzzle during the demo and I played for 80 minutes! The CE bling includes a souvenir box, a making of video, and a roses puzzle, in addition to the bonus game, bubble shooter and normal bling. And just when you rescue Simon, he turns against you, shoots you, and Benjamin is about to bite you -- the demo ends! What a treat! Even if you don't like vampires, you will probably like this game! Try it and see.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Oh god. I love this game and i love effects, really great... I love vampires and this game is my favorite.. and great game for halloween..
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great addition to the series! I have enjoyed all the Myths of the World games, and this one is no exception. Based on the demo, this is a CE that is worth the price, as it has lots of achievements, two types of collectables (regular and morphing), games and puzzles to play after, and an extended list of the regular CE bonuses. I also like being able to customize the difficulty. The game itself is about the myth of vampires. It has, in places, a nice eeriness to it, and a good level of challenge. The HO scenes are standouts, with multiple levels and ways of finding objects. The puzzles are very good as well. The only issue I had was that I was not crazy about the voices at first, but I soon got used to them!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was so good i like it because vampires .the story is your a vamp hunter someone needs your help so you go to a town called eastmine in the boat that your on you find a vampire and you try to follow him but something happens, you end up somewhere .you end up in eastmine in your way you find black rose .the hole story was so good i did .
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAKE A BITE OUT OF A VAMPIRE TAKEOVER IN THE "BIG EASY" Having been a dead for some time, the "vampire" craze has resurrected at BF just in time for Halloween and Day of the Dead. You and your cohort Simon become vampire hunters in New Orleans in this mildly blood curdling game. Armed with your bag of vampire fighting equipment, you amble through the bayous and backwater Cajun country of Louisiana to locate a vampire who tries to "stake" out a claim to new territory. Are you up to taking a bite out of bloody vampire crime? LEVELS: There are 3 levels plus the ability to CUSTOMIZE the game. GRAPHICS: The graphics are decent but not as realistic as some of their other games. HOP SCENES/INVENTORY/PUZZLES: This game demonstrates the creative and innovative genius of this dev. The HOP scenes are puzzle-like with "mini scenes" within a larger scenes. There are searches for specific items, parts of items, and items defined through cryptic clues. There are the "formula" HOP scenes in a story book setting as well. You have the alternative to play a bubble game in lieu of the HOP scenes. The inventory is interactive. The puzzles are unique and there are mini puzzles within the puzzle sequences. The constant "switching-it-up" within the HOP scenes and puzzles gives the game movement. EXTRA GOODIES: There is a fully interactive MAP indicating spots requiring action given as you begin the game. You collect LARGE "black" roses. LOL. You receive a "vial of light" and spell book which help you in the game SOUND OF/AND "MUZAC" - It does not distract from the game and provides an element of suspense. PACE: The storyline is excellent and keeps you engaged in the game. COMMENTS: I JUST LOVE THIS DEV'S GAMES. To me, this is NOT THEIR best game, but it is a far better game than some on this site. I RATE THIS GAME 6 VAMPIRES OUT OF 5 VAMPIRES FOR A CE. THE EXTRA BLOOD SUCKER IS THE TRICK OR TREATER "DYING" FOR YOU TO INVITE THEM IN FOR A HALLOWEEN TREAT - YOU! GOOD JOB DEVS!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What fun and just in time for Halloween! Perhaps the best hidden object fun I've experienced.....unique. Now, if someone would please tell me where the morphing objects are, I would be thrilled. They are supposedly in the HO searches BUT....I sure haven't seen any!
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smiling Pumpkin Fun This game is so great it should get an award. The flow, the characters, the music, collectables, critter action and HO's. So well put together it drew you in and kept you busy. Defiantly a must buy.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epix did it again Another awesome game from Epix. And a great addition to the Myths of the World series. The graphics were nice. The sound and music flowed with the game. Voice overs were spot on. So this is all I can say, it is wort your time to play and buy this game.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best! I play a lot of HOP's and have come to expect a very high level of graphics, story lines and interactive play. This game has it all including games I have not seen before. Rather than tell you the story line I thought I would just focus on the quality. It is by far one of the best, right up there with Elephant games. Big Fish if you continue to provide such high quality games then Im going to be a very happy gamer! Enjoy.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE HALLOWEEN PLAY GAME OF THE YEAR! DRACULA IS COLD BLOODED HE LEAVES THE MARK OF THE DEVIL ! WOW AWESOME GAME! A EARLY HAPPY HALLOWEEN TREAT FOR ME! I have been waiting for an awesome game like this from BF all year long! This woman waiting is for her husband to come home she made a pie for him how sweet! I want some too looks GOOD! Makes me want to bake one myself lol! Well EVIL Dracula sneaks in on her preparing the table and takes a bite out of her instead of that mouthwatering pie lol! The graphics is so beautiful and sharp, the riverboat and the entire game is so breathtaking! The hidden objects is easy not hard to find and the story is not boring! I love scary games this time of year. Dracula is evil and he shows no mercy you have to stop him! BTW.......Make sure all your doors and windows are locked while watching this game! DRACULA is STILL lurking out there for his NEXT VICTIM..... like a DARK SHADOW! DON'T LET HIM CATCH YOU ALONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... An All Round Great Game That Seems To Be In Tune With Recent Variations On The HOG's To Make Them A Bit More Interesting ... Enjoyed The Whole Adventure, And The Bonus Chapter Was OK Too ... Great Value On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WINNER.!!!! Unique HO'S. Nothing seen before. See for yourself That is it. May be the shortest review so far.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a real nice game Great game. Long enough. excellent graphics, musical is good. Puzzle a bit easy but make the play relax. CE worth it.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game!Loved every second of it! At first i thought that it was going to be just another vampire game but i was pleasantly surprised by this game.It has a good storyline,amazing graphics and so on.I strongly recommend it!
Date published: 2015-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Eipix entry Another Myths of the World game by Eipix. Cool and unique setting as you hunt vampires in New Orleans. The graphics are nice . I personally prefer if you fight the vampires alone rather than have a partner, who seems to do nothing but order you around while you do all the work.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from And the Oscar goes to: Black Rose, Myths of the World Wow what a fantastic game. The graphics and characters are top notch. Set the mood with music and voice overs and you are in vampire heaven. I love the mini games and HOG moments. Everyone who plays will be absorbed and truly entertained.
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid storyline, lots of content--it was worth the CE I'm coming to this game late, but based off another frequent reviewer's glowing praise, I went ahead and splurged for the CE. The storyline is a little cliche, but there were a few nice twists in there, and the characters were all extremely well-handled. This is theoretically a love story, but aside for a scant few tender moments, it's a story about the darker side of love--jealousy, obsession, revenge. It was pretty interesting to play after so many creepy Twilight-inspired ridiculously fluffy vampire sagas, and I appreciated a return to, in that sense, vampire tradition. My one knock against the game is the visuals and sound. Sound-wise: The video and voiceovers were pretty well-executed, but the music was "trying too hard"--it was obviously supposed to set a spooky atmosphere, but it was more than I felt the game really warranted, with some annoying high wailing notes that made me seriously consider turning it off. Visually: Again, the video cutscenes were well done, but there were some hits to gameplay that left me a little cold. Number one was the navigation--the art wasn't tremendously defined, which I think is a stylistic choice they went for, but the problem was that it was really difficult to tell in some scenes where all of your active locations were supposed to be, especially within the bonus content. One reviewer said it was "hint-button dependent," which sounded weird and complain-y before I played it but after having done so I can see EXACTLY what they mean. I spent a lot of game-time backtracking because I had an item in my inventory I had no idea what to do with--come to find out I've missed some dank corner with a couple key items and, oh yes, the place to put that odd inventory piece. This wasn't once or twice, but several times over. (There were also just a couple notable leaps in logic--that signpost wasn't sturdy enough to crack open the flimsy boat shed door, but it could stop a RUNNING water mill?? Okay then....) Still, overall it was a pretty decent game. There's lots to do in terms of collectibles--one thing you'll want to watch out for is that the "Black Roses" you are hunting down aren't exclusively one per scene, which I didn't realize until I clicked on a piece with a 'hidden' rose by accident very late in the game. (You also need to carve the pumpkins, which I didn't figure out until the BONUS CONTENT. Bummer.) Still, despite a few flaws I would recommend this game to others--might be one that's worth picking up on a bargain, should you have the opportunity.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars...Lots of variety, immersive story, original puzzles Myths of the World: Black Rose Review based on completed game + bonus adventure + extras PREFACE… Myths of the World hasn't been a series I've enjoyed, for some reason. And the vampire mythos isn't usually a story in which I'm interested. But Black Rose managed to engage me with a combination of good storytelling, immersive atmosphere, and varied gameplay. ONCE UPON A TIME... You and your partner are vampire hunters aboard a steamboat on the Mississippi River. You're tracking a vampire in possession of an artifact said to have great power. Unbeknownst to you, said vampire is on a quest of his own and, before you know it, you're in the cursed town of Eastmire, where the population is in thrall to Black Rose. Here's a mystery you can sink your teeth into. PLAY THE GAME... The different kinds of things to do guarantees you won't get bored. HO scenes come in such a staggering variety that I don't think I could list them all. Some include riddles, both verbal and visual, that'll stretch your brain. There are lots of original puzzles here, and they range in difficulty from "you'll need some time" to "whoa, this is tough." SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are darker, but it's not difficult to see things. Eerie blues and greens, and visceral reds and purples highlight the scenery, where the proportions are just that slightest bit off, giving you a feeling of unease. Details are crisp and items are easily identifiable. The characters are lifelike and lip synch within the trademark Eipix inset conversation boxes. Animation is exception, and includes a looped animation for every item you acquire. SOUND WAVES… The music is very appropriate to the game theme, including moody piano, atmospheric strings, period harpsichord, and wordless operatic voices. Voiceovers are professional and environmental sounds are realistic. TOOLBOX… The map indicates active areas and transports. The vampire guide teaches you how to remove curses (after you solve a pattern recognition puzzle). The vial of life removes fog (once you solve a sequence puzzle). An icon indicates whether you've found the collectible in the scene (whether black rose or morphing object). EXTRA, EXTRA… The bonus adventure finds you back in Eastmire facing another vampiric adversary. Collectibles include black roses, morphing objects within the HO scenes, jack-o-lanterns, and souvenirs. You can replay puzzles, mini-games, HO scenes, and bubble popper. Other extras include a making of video which is rather humorous, the SG, performance achievements (and dubious non-achievements for slackers), and the developer's portfolio. THE LAST WORD… I definitely recommend Black Rose. My only complaints are that the puzzle instructions could have been clearer, and there were still a lot of shaped objects (medallions, badges, brooches, etc.) needed to unlock similarly-shaped recesses. This convention is getting old and it's been done to the death. Other notable games by Eipix include Off the Record: Linden Shades, and the Amaranthine Voyage series.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Typical It has wonderful visual and sound! Great storyline, but, it is pretty typical story and excitement as others. I was hoping for a little more excitement and scariness to it. Hope they improve on that next time.
Date published: 2014-12-04
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_21874, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Myths of the World: Black Rose Collector's Edition

Track down a vampire hiding on a Mississippi riverboat cruise.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.