Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

The bestselling Dark Parable series continues with The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide! Follow the clues as they take you to an underwater kingdom in this exciting hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

You've been called to investigate a strange purple tide. And that's when the mermaid shows up...

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I love the Dark Parables games and this one is no exception.  I love the beauty and explosion of color that these games offer. ”  - Kathy, Beta Tester

“I thoroughly enjoyed the trial.  The graphics are beautifully drawn and I can't wait until it becomes available for purchase!!”  - Sid, Beta Tester


This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A variety of hidden-object scenes, including fractured objects!
  • The bonus game unlocks the secrets of Prasino's mad king
  • Achievements
  • Available Strategy Guide
  • Wallpapers and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 862 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful,but not my cup of tea This is a gorgeous game and I tried it because of the many positive reviews...But it is a FROG and I don't do frogs very well,I can't find half of the pieces lol... As far as graphics go,the game is beautiful,the movies are top quality,as are the voices... I recommend this for ppl that like FROGs and players looking for something new...
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from had to agree with all the other comments and by this one a fun game, fortunately a great hint button since knowing where to go was tuff but overall fun and enjoyable and I wanted to by when finished demo so I can finish the full game and see what happens. I definitely recommend this one.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Objects Great game. Lots to do and find including Morphing items. Great graphics too. Own all the rest of the Dark Parables already.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables excellent game, very interesting story and good pictures
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the PurpleTide collector`s Edition Well this game is a good game interesting, fun and a lot to do. As well as all these Dark Parables games are and I don`t ever get bored.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful but .... Greatly enjoyed the art and the scenery. The storyline was acceptable. However i found the puzzles much too repetitive. Over and over, the same puzzles.... it was most annoying ! I ended up skipping them... (which i rarely do) i could only take so much of playing the same games ad nausea. I am not a great fan either of finding scattered pieces. Though, once again, the art work is a delight, it is boring to pick around to find a multitude of assorted components. I also found that some of the pieces were so small that it was eye straining to locate them. It was also rather annoying that some of the hidden objects were almost completely hidden to the point that they were unrecognizable... even with the help of the hints button (which, once again i usually never resort to) it was difficult to identify some of the pieces. I think its a shame ... this game could have been a 5 Star...
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not found of Blue Tea Games, !!!! I don't play any of there games ever. Being with Epic maybe with a few pure hidden object just can't do with out, Just additive as you would say. I played the trial not one. the hidden I love. The game is beautiful I would hate to be disappointed. I don't purchase Blue Tea games for this reason.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! But... I really enjoyed the game, but some of the game play wasn't like the ones before it, maybe because of the change of style. But other than that, it didn't feel like the rest of them, even the ones after had a feel like the others. I'm not sure why it was just this game. It was great none the less, but i just couldnt get into it as well as the other 9. Also it would be nice if more detail about some of the other games were involved.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Blue Tea Games - Hate Repetition Like all Blue Tea games this one is visually beautiful. The music is lovely, the storyline a little warped, the characters a little flat. What bothered me besides the non-morphing objects which used to be a staple with Blue Tea was the repetitive puzzles. The SAME puzzle in different variations throughout the game. The HOP's are always fun with Blue Tea and generally they are much more original with their storyline puzzles and certainly don't normally duplicate the same thing during a game. I purchased the game and it took me the usual about 5.5 hours to finish. Part of the speed was because I was so annoyed with the puzzles by the end chapter that I skipped over a few of them. I like a challenge and enjoy a good story. Blue Tea has generally delivered on all of their Dark Parable stories. This one fell a little flat. I'm still giving it 4 stars because their game quality is far superior to a lot of the developers out there.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one complaint! As always I love this series of games and the developer is a favorite of mine...Lovely visuals and music and a strong storyline. But I do have one complaint that needs to be mentioned. Usually these games last me several days and it is well worth the money to buy the Collector's Edition. But this time it only lasted two days...I feel a bit worried that my money would have been better spent on a different game and yet I did enjoy this one very much. So be warned that while the quality of this game is similar to the previous games...the length is not. And decide accordingly!
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun, long-lasting game but HOPs not my style Loved the collector's edition. Long-lasting and fun game, but I'm not fond of the HOP's with strange parts of objects to find. Redundant skill games, also.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Like everything that makes dark parables, excellent game.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from they're getting better This series of games has definitely shown improvement. I would buy this game if I had an awesome coupon. The interactive games (to open doors) are still a little rough. They've improved the Extra objects you need to find, and cut scenes are shorter but they still don't have an alternative HO option. My only real problem is that there's too much going on visually. Sometimes a bit less is worth a little more.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Graphics Make Up For Storyline The main thing about this game is that it is stunningly beautiful. The storyline is a bit iffy (though you don't figure out immediately what's happening but still). What I liked about it was that it had a ton of scenes and you had to move around constantly and had to really think about what you were going to do and in between, some obstacle always turned up (courtesy of Eipix, no doubt), so the fact that the story is a bit bland, the gameplay and the graphics more than make up for it. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What do U mean by DARK? Bring back the eerie atmosphere! I REALLY miss the eerie and gloomy atmosphere the Dark Parables had before Eipix came into the mix. PLEASE bring it back, the last 2 games (The little mermaid and Queen of Sands) were too bright in graphics. Dark Parables used to be my favorite series, but after playing the 2 latest games I think they have to start a new series because the "Dark Parables" aint DARK anymore; it's a real shame!
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An unwelcome departure I've been binge-playing the whole Dark Parables series, since the Snow Queen got me hooked. This last one, unfortunately, was my least favorite of the bunch. The rest of the series is wonderful. This one was just OK. The basic game mechanics is more-or-less the same as the rest of the series. You play FROGs for put together pretty things, then use them to unlock other pretty things. However, in terms of graphics style, music style, storyline, and overall feel, this is definitely an Eipix game, not a Blue Tea one. Those who like Eipix's style probably won't mind, but I found it to be a downgrade. The storyline, especially, was an irksome departure from the others. A single journal page is the only reference to the fairy tale source material in the entire game. Other than the presence of mermaids, there's no resemblance to the Little Mermaid story, at all. The bonus chapter has no fairy tale elements at all. One thing Eipix did get right was including the option to turn off voiceovers. Please start adding this option, Blue Tea. There's really no reason not to have it. Overall, if taken on its own, this is a solid enough game. When compared to its predecessors, however, it doesn't quite measure up. Sorry, Eipix. Y'all have done good work on other series, but I have to hope your involvement with Dark Parables was a one-time thing. Otherwise, I fear DP may suffer the same fate as MCF, Azada and Hidden Expedition.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's not a bad game, BUT, its not a true Dark Parable I love Dark Parable games. What makes them so good is the story; a twist on a classic, is so tightly and seamlessly woven into the gameplay that you can't separate the two without impacting on the quality of the game. Eiplix (sic# who has taken over the Dark Parable saga is not a bad game developer. One of my favorites. Their attempt to copy the game genre was ok, but fell far short. The Little mermaid is really a royal family cursed to the sea #that's the twist#. To undo the curse certain things must be found #That's the game). What's the problem? The story doesn't drive the game. The story is tangential to the game. At points it makes no sense. You find yourself wondering what does this have to do with anything. And the interaction with the characters is just weird. The writer of the story is either a poor writer or didn't understand how integral the story is to the game play. Again, not a bad effort. But to true fans of the Dark Parable saga, which I am one, this was really disappointing. If I had never played a Dark Parable game, I might become a fan. But I have and this is no Dark Parable game, sorry Eipix. Maybe Bigfish can convince Steven Zheng to return and continue to develop games. If not, then let the Dark Parable games die with the Ballard of Rapunzel or Jack and the Skyward Kingdom. This game does not make the cut. As a HO game, its ok, on that I would say buy it. As a Dark Parable, let this one go.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked it EXCEPT for the Storyline ... The Graphics were excellent, beautifully detailed and colorful, but what's with the Storyline? I was waiting and waiting for something spectacular to happen but nothing did. I didn't the Story get all! What was with all those flying orbs? Ridiculous! What a terrible waste of a great Game that had so much potential but was ruined by a very weak Story that went nowhere.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sort of a let down I've played all of the Dark Parables games up until this point and this one was much weaker than all the rest. The story line was sort of lame and the game seemed really short.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing! I own all the previous Dark Parable games. They are my very favorites. BUT...this new one is a big disappointment. I noticed that the video clips are not as crisp as in the previous ones - I can see pixel squares throughout them. This doesn't happen with the other games on the same computer. Additionally, there are no morphing objects, which I enjoy finding, especially in the BTG games since they don't always pop up the first time you enter a new scene. What really made me sad was the story itself, the interaction between the detective and the other characters. In previous games, as the detective, you were made to feel a part of the story through dialoguing with all the characters. In this new game, I feel like a sideline. It is still a very good game compared to others, but not up to par with BTG's previous games. I was expecting something amazing considering the high caliber of Eipix games. This review is based on the Trial run.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too easy, to fast, not fun I have played the previous Dark Parables and found them fun, some more than others. The fragmented HOGS are pretty although not my favorite. I like the graphics in this series and wish that when a puzzle is finished that there were a pause to enjoy the artwork. Overall too easy and too fast. Some of the puzzles were just tedious rather than challenging-there is a difference and the developers should know that. I don't enjoy collecting things but I did that to make things last a little longer.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed! What happened? First off let me start by saying I've only, so far, played the full demo of this game... now with that being said, just from playing the demo, this is the first time I have EVER not purchased a DP game as soon as the demo is over.. I own them all. Usually I play the demo and then purchase right away. They are at the top of my favorites that I play over and over. This one disappointed me so much. I was excited to get the email letting me know a new DP had been released. The graphics are not up to the DP standard I'm used to. The sounds were ok, and the story line felt a little lacking. The usual FROG scenes are in there, which I enjoy, and am glad that DP touch was left in there. It has some feel of previous DP games but I found myself looking at things wondering what was missing from this usually fascinating game series. The positive side to this review is more than likely I will purchase this game, when it's in a deal, or I've played through the newly released games from my other favorites... I will recommend this game because it isn't the worst I've ever played, and it could take away your boredom for a bit. Here's to hoping Blue Tea dusts themselves off and is back to THEIR usual game making greatness next time around. :)
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Addition To Amazing Series I absolutely love the Dark Parable games. In fact these are the only games I buy without trying the demo. I have come to expect something more from them, being FROGs and visually stunning. They also do an amazing job of taking a fairytale we know and transforming it into something more and different. So naturally I was ridiculously excited when I saw this new edition pop up. But to my dismay I learned that Blue Tea games had outsourced this to Epix. This was by far the most disappointing aspect of the game. While I'm sure they are fine at other games, I expect the high quality and attention to detail in the Dark Parable series that just weren't present here. The minigames were all reiterations of the same 2 or 3 games just slightly changed. I was bored with them by the third or fourth time I had to do the same thing. The additional little elements so often seen in Blue Tea weren't really there (ie being able to click on almost anything and get a interesting comment). The story felt like it was missing something and I had so many more questions about everything. I also just felt like the quality was lower than what I have come to know. The FROG scenes were too busy and full of junk, and lost the visual appeal of earlier iterations. And the bonus chapter, instead of revealing something new that was left out of the plot (like going into a part of the tale that wasn't explored), was just an unnecessary flashback story that I already knew the outcome and motivation behind it. However it did tie in old stories from the series which I do appreciate. The style is just different with the two developers and I do not want that for this series. It is still a good game when compared to others and I think that newcomers to the series will enjoy it, but for those of us that have played these and fallen in love with the music, style, artistry and storylines that Blue Tea games develops, this is just a sad attempt. I really really REALLY hope that Blue Tea takes back it's Dark Parable series because if this is the way that it is going to continue, it will lose me as a die hard fan.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game I'm sad to say that I am a bit disappointed in this installment in the Dark Parables series. It is still a fun game but just not up to the standards of the previous games. I found the colors too bright, and if has lost the beautiful artistic quality it had. The HOS used to be like pieces of fine art coming together, now they are a bit garish and just snap together, not smooth and flowing. I own all of the DP games a really enjoy them, I just hope that Blue Tea goes back to the original graphics and fine art look in their next one. Overall it is still a good game.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BORING & REPETITIVE I have to agree with all the players that left this game 1 to 3 stars. The colors and details of this game are cheerful but there is an complete absence of story line and a bunch of quite repetitive tasks which made no sense either: the end result being that there was no incentive, no valid or reasonable reason to continue after the free trial, no curiosity to find out where this was going as this seemed just a parade of beautiful images without a plot, indeed going nowhere, and I, for one, had lost interest when the trial hour was up. I had solved all that was to solve and none of it made any sense at all, I had no desire to buy it and continue to indulge this senseless charade. I must admit that I am already very tired of all these magical, supernatural and fairylike productions, so far from real life, with stories that, more often than not, make no sense at all, thus too irrealistic to grab one's attention and hold it, too absurd to even care to solve. We NEED games that make sense so we can apply common sense and wit to solve them, that is the purpose of a game, is it not? We want to become a Sherlock Holmes of sorts for a few fun hours, that is what makes a game interesting: sensible clues are important and necessary and seem to be absent from many games this year, games that now have no rhyme nor reason: what makes a game challenging and fun is a serie of clues that actually combine to bring an intelligent solution that will give the player some satisfaction in the end: these off the wall plots prevent us from thinking smart and deducting from clever clues as a detective would. Please allow us to use our intelligence rather than resorting to pot luck in solving plots too ridiculous to hang on to!
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh...not bad, but not great I am a huge fan of the Dark Parables series - I always find them to be well-written, challenging, and I like the twists on the fairy tale stories. However, I felt the story line for this one was not on the same par; there really wasn't any sort of reference to "The Little Mermaid," either the Grimm or Disney versions. Also, one of my favorite parts has always been the hint they give us at the end to what the next game will be, but there wasn't one in this game. Though I wasn't a fan of the story line, the game itself is well-made and visually very nice. The puzzles weren't overly hard and I was able to complete the game in a couple of hours. I appreciate that I could do custom settings, and I liked the bonus game. I also like the "Achievements" and that I was able to play the hidden object games outside of the main game.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide - CE Love other Dark Parables better. HOA with the shadow pieces were not especially fun but boring. I'm tired of the monster/gargoyle characters.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to my Dark Parables?!!! My brows are wrinkled and I'm scratching my head. Uuuuh, what happened? Have they collaborated with Eipix? Why?!!! Remember the old saying "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"? I have every single game in the Dark Parables Series; it's my absolute favorite and an automatic buy for me. But this is the only DP game that has me actually considering not buying it! Don't get me wrong, I love Eipix games but they shouldn't have stepped their toes into this one. The Dark Parables series is Blue Tea all the way! The games have a certain "feel" to them that the Eipix crew was not able to recreate. Eipix games are "lighter" and their input took away from the integrity of the series. DP games are known for dramatic baroque artwork with grainy, yet stunningly beautiful colors and scenery, moody background music, and interlinked tragic story lines filled with love and sorrow and loss - it all comes together to give the DP "feel." The detective is always serious and he never says "Wow!" or asks himself "Where have I seen this fairytale before?" The past stories are treated like a part of the detective's life and they just flow together from one episode to the next. In the DP series you're not supposed to have flat colors, sparkly sounding high-pitched voices and starburst effects. The characters are tragic. It's supposed to be full of action yet melancholy and hopeful at the same time; and you, the detective, are supposed to dispell that and give everyone a fairly happy ending. Aside from the lack of consistency with the other stories in the series in terms of artwork and voiceovers, it suffers from a weak plot. Hopefully that changes as you progress through the story but the demo didn't make me CARE; It was just oooh, the pretty mermaid temple risen from the sea. But so what? The DP games usually grab you by the heartstrings and tug. They make you feel something for the characters one way or another. But I just finished the 90 min demo and I'm still not sure what's going on. The puzzles were ok. Usual fare. But the FROGs, which I usually adore, were lacking. Again, it's not that they did it WRONG, there was just something missing and it didn't come out right. The collectibles were half moons that were just way too easy to spot, and there were no cursed objects. The voice-overs were terrible. The voices they used were just too high-pitched and bubbly. They sounded too happy. There was no clear calamity or misfortune in their lives to make you care what happened to them. The gameplay drags a bit in the beginning then jumps to light speed at Chapter two and feels rushed. Lastly, the parables weren't well done. When you collected a parable piece there was no indication which parable it was and the parables themselves weren't named in the journal. I actually forgot to read them during the demo because the usual parable notice didn't show up on the left side of the screen. So, overall, I don't like this one. BUT if it weren't a Dark Parables then I'd say it's an alright game. It just doesn't live up to the series. I'm still not sure if I'm going to buy it or not - I'd only buy it because it is a DP and I hope that Blue Tea works on their own on the next one and brings the series back the way we love it.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't fix what's not broken! For the die hard Dark Parables fans...this will be a big disappointment. I have all of the DP games & play them in order of their release all the time. With each game, you can see the improvements on the story line, the colors, music, mini-games & the level of difficulty of the FROGs & this one took a large step back. The cut scenes were pixilated & if the intent was to look like we were underwater, then it was poorly done. The colors were pretty good but the mini-games became too repetitive & there was little to tie this back to all of the other games. Also, the sound effects used when pieces of a FROG is found & when the item's put together is an annoying sound!! Please change this back to the way the others have been done. The storyline was ok...but no where near the level of past games. Oh & I can't figure out why Pinocchio ended up in the game...that made absolutely no sense. Also, this game didn't end with a preview of the next game, so while I'm not impressed with this game, I truly hope it's not the last one in this series. My apologies to the other company who worked on this with Blue Tea Games, but I've never heard of you or know your work. Regardless, this game was a disappointment to those of us who are die hard fans of both BTG & the DP series. Come on BTG...shake this one off & come back stronger than ever! Your loyal fans will be waiting!!
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre, compared to other DP, but not too bad! I've always been a fan of Blue Tea, especially the DP series. That's why I bought this game, without playing the trial, despite some lingering doubt about this being a co-developed project Eipix. I might be biased, but I feel that the graphic lacks the "sparkled" quality usually presented in DP (perhaps it's the change of color scheme, or something else I can't place my fingers on). The HO scenes are more organized, and thus finding objects become easier, but some scenes look barren. I appreciate the custom difficulty, but not enough to make up for some other sacrifices of quality. Some of the interest area, where all I need to do is inserting a medallion, get zoomed in. The game loads fast enough, but everytime it does that, my impatience grows. The story line is okay, especially if this is a stand alone story. I appreciate the reappearance of Pinochio, but I'm not quite sure what is the connection between this story and the Frog Prince. There are statues and letters written by the Fog Prince, so I assume one of the princesses was his lover. But what happened to her? I feel as though the mention of Frog Prince s just a filler and a bit forced. I was also quite turned off by the appearance of Felix the fish (Bigfish game mascot). It totally ruined the atmosphere when the detetive says "this statue seems familiar" (the same thing he said when seeing the frog prince statue). Really????? Overall, this is a fun HO game, with better than average quality. However, for a Blue Tea game, and a Dark Parables, it is not quite up to par.
Date published: 2014-11-16
  • y_2022, m_1, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_21981, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

You've been called to investigate a strange purple tide. And that's when the mermaid shows up...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.