Shiver: The Lily's Requiem Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Shiver: The Lily's Requiem Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(421.67 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Artogon, creators of Shiver: Vanishing Hitchiker, Shiver: Poltergeist, and Shiver: Moonlit Grove, comes another chilling tale!

It’s your first day as head doctor of the Blackwill Hospital, but trouble starts before you even enter the building! A young woman collapses on the street, attacked by someone – or something. As you treat her, you realize she may be connected to your past… and you may be the only one who can save her from the strange illness that also claimed her mother. Only one thing is for certain - they never prepared you for an adventure like this in medical school!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Release Beatrice from the siren’s spell!
  • Collect pearls and use them to buy things for your house
  • Earn achievements and complete the Aquarium Collection
  • Get music, art, and wallpapers
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 944 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: The Lily's Requiem Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(421.67 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Shiver: The Lily's Requiem Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be another.good one.!!! I played the trial of course I ran out of time. It will be a buy very soon. Great another one so soon. That's how I like it. Most of the CE are awesome except for a minor few. Glad to see you are working on giving us good ones now. Hope it continues Big Fish. I'm sure you know many have issues lately.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo My review is based on the demo, i love the shiver collection.. i have everyone and am dl this one now. These games are exciting and have great storys.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from `Really good game despite it not being like the original Shivers series I thought this game was great, although shorter than the other Shiver series. It was NOT dark and gloomy, but colorful, in fact a bit too colorful from what I had hoped for. I really enjoyed the first 2 Shiver series. The dark, gloomy, creepiness about them made me delve right in and enjoy every minute. This game was nothing like that. It belonged with all the other games that are colorful with some evil creature in it. Some of the graphics were cartoonish, again nothing like the original Shivers. But the game was fun, just didn't belong in the "horror" category sadly. The puzzles were a lot of fun as were the HOS. Originality in the HOS especially. There was a map in this one which was nice, unlike the other Shiver games and you can use it to teleport. Way more bonuses in the CE version compared to the other games. Really cool they had an option to buy stuff for your house and get to pick which curtains, tables, flooring etc you want. Like I said I really enjoyed this game but it isn't anything like the original Shiver games which I thoroughly miss and wish they would make more of. Need more "horror" series in HOGs than the repetitive princesses and blah. Definitely worth the money, but like I stated above it isn't as long as the other games. This took me approximately 4 hours to finish including bonus game, give or take, on normal settings.
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ! Really nice game to play. I really Loved it ~ Thank you again Big Fish
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good solid game. This game had an interesting storyline, great graphics and was really long. The CC edition was worth the extra money as it was all new scenes and also quite long.
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loaded Collector's Edition The Shiver series is known for its scares, but this entry is just scary good. You play as a doctor who is investigating some strange goings-on and disappearances in a town you've just arrived at. The game starts with a bang, thrusting you right into the action in sequences that feel very time sensitive and very interactive. I quite liked that touch and felt it distinguished this game from a lot of others out there. There's plenty more to like here. The collector's edition has a ton of achievements to get, more than most games of this nature that I've seen. They range from quite difficult to quite silly, but give you a reason to play again. That's a smart move for a linear game with little replayability. You will also collect pearls to spend on improving your house, a nice touch considering the main storyline I mentioned. The bonus chapter is satisfactory, allowing you to fully eliminate the threat posed to the town..probably. The wallpapers and concept art are the standard fare, and of course you can replay some of the better minigames and all of the HO scenes. Speaking of which, this game is way heavier on the former than the latter. HO scenes are well done and some have the extra distinction of jumbled names for the objects, but the minigames are where this one shined for me. There are simple ones connected to getting some of the objects you will need that can easily be completed in a minute or two, then larger ones like a pinball machine that may take longer depending on your level of patience and dexterity. It's a really good mix with little to no repeats and that's excellent in my view. Graphics and sound are fine but nothing too amazing. Cutscenes are very well done and the voice acting is good. In-game background scenes and regular animations are closer to the average side, and the music doesn't really always match the tone of the current scene. Overall, though, this gets a lot of things right and makes the CE version worthwhile. Really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where does the music come from and why?! Good game and I really enjoyed the puzzles. Art and graphics: good. Sound : good, except the thunder was too loud and repetitive outside, drowning out every other sound. Story: What has happened to the girl? Why is she in a trance-like state? Interesting for a good while, but it did begin to feel a little drawn out towards the end. Aside from the main game, I had a blast spending the black pearls you collect throughout the game in the CE version. I had no idea that refurbishing a room in a computerized world and seeing it gradually transformed would be so much fun! If you'd told me I was going to enjoy that, I would've thought you were kidding me! The bonus game continues the main game.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the storyline I love the fantasy genre so a Siren was fab! The game itself was good but not amazing. Pretty standard HOs and puzzles and nothing too tricky. I wouldn't have bought this as a CE but as it was half price I did. A fun game with a bonus chapter which ties up any loose ends.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good LONG playtime! Of course it isn't "Hitchhiker," the luminous best of this series--but if we'd never seen that one, this would be a 5-star extravaganza! The playtime is LONG--hours and hours of playing. The sirens are extremely creepy-looking; part zombie, part deranged mermaid. The siren dog is just...what crazed mind came up with that thing? The puzzles range from easy to time-intensive, but nothing too difficult. I like decorating my "personal space" in games, and at least the fish does not come along to help me. Although the decorations for its bowl get out of hand...all in all, a very good buy, and the bonus game is fun and also LONG.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from That Hospital Makes Me Shiver! What have they done to my beloved Shiver series? My favorite game in this series is the Vanishing Hitchhiker, but this game pales in comparison. The other games did a phenomenal job of connecting you to the game, you really feel as if you are all alone in an old abandoned town or searching old haunted rooms, and even chasing down werewolves! This game however, feels like you are just playing a game or watching a movie, you definitely feel disconnected. The Lily's Requiem is a decent game, I just wish the devs would stick to the theme of the series, stick to the same creepy graphics, and above all, don't make me collect pet goldfish and redecorate my house, what does that have to do with a suspenseful supernatural thriller named Shiver??? Dr. Robert Thompson has just accepted a position at the Blackwill Hospital, and this hospital is disgusting, which makes me wonder if he checked out the hospital before making his decision! It's not even his first day at work and and he's come across a nearly catatonic woman who has been attacked by something or someone. After a healthy dose of the doctors medicine, he finds out that this was no chance meeting, she had been searching for the good doctor, following him to Blackwill when she found an article in the newspaper. The victim is Beatrice Stanley, daughter of Kat Stanley, Dr. Thompson's former patient, is it possible that both women are victims of the Blackwill curse? As I stated before, this game has a very unnecessary feature, you collect black pearls throughout the game, hidden in zoomed in areas, and the scenes themselves, they are even located within the HO's. You will use these pearls to buy upgrades for your dilapidated house such as wallpaper, flooring, furniture and decorations. Each category will have several options and costs to choose from. Then there's the pet goldfish that you rescue and you can change his name from Felix to whatever floats your fish. Oddly enough, you will also find random aquarium supplies, from decorations to fish food, laying conveniently around the town for you to acquire. Not a bad feature, just a bad choice of features in a serious thriller genre. There are Achievements to earn and some of the inventory items require some type of interaction before you can use that item, such as combining that item with another inventory item. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied from silhouetted shape finds, to interactive list finds (after all these years I'm still partial to the old school list finds) Some of the scenes even have small puzzles or mini games within, and they also contain the collectible black pearls. The Mini Games are pretty good, although they have been done several times before such as using arrows to bend a paperclip in order to push lock tumbler pins to their correct positions with the red line on the pin, matching up to the red line on the lock itself. This Collectors Edition has, Achievements, Collectible Black Pearls, Collectible Aquarium Supplies, Wallpaper, Concept Art, Videos, replayable HOP's and Mini Games, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What have they done to Shiver? It doesn't seem like the same devleloper did this game as the three preceding ones in the series. There is nothing scary here. You are Dr. Robert Thompson, returned to Blackwill Hospital after 17 years -- even though the cursor is a woman's hand with long red fingernails and red bracelets! Your first patient is Beatrice Stanley, the daughter of your last patient Kat Stanley, whom you never did cure. Anyway, Beatrice is lured away by an unknown creature and some haunting music, to the town of Riverwell. The townspeople thought they had walled up the creature and abandoned the town, but I guess it is back. The HOS are a bit cluttered. The mini-puzzles are not too hard -- my favorite was repairing the car, since I know nothing about cars it was good they gave me a manual to follow! What makes this game a bit strange, is the CE Bling. Finding black pearls to fix up my room, and finding decorations for an aquarium do not exactly fit in a game that is called "Shiver". Plus, I keep winning achievements but I can't actually look at them! While the basic game story is OK, there are too many discrepancies to make this a 5-star game.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game The trial does not do the game justice, especially in the puzzle and HOS arena. Some were easy, others more challenging, but I really did enjoy this game. There were interesting twists on older puzzles and the HOS varied from finding 6 of one item, 6 of another to clever interactive, silhouette, matching, and plain old junk piles (thankfully very few of the latter). Scenes not revisited (a real plus in my book). PROS -custom difficulty (but not expansive enough) -decent storyline that was not over the top nor hard to follow -collectible pearls (and items for a fishbowl) these are found in HOS, interactive close-ups, and in overall scenes. (you do not need to find them all cause if you even get half of them, you can decorate the room they've provided). -allows you to play 3 puzzles as part of extras and all HOS -map (didn't need to use it) nearly linear gameplay meaning not much backtracking) -lockable inventory -nice bonus gameplay (not too cluttered with time-eating HOS) -good voiceovers and graphics (drawn characters) ***HELPFUL NOTE ---If an interactive close-up scene stays open with no apparent action possibility, then there is a collectible item you need to find. The cursor will not change over these items. CONS -----prefer a better customized option difficulty This one was bare bones. You couldn't change the hint or skip times or get rid of blackbar tips. -----had difficulty at first with an unresponsive mouse not recognizing objects clicked on, but a reinstall fixed the problem -----not enough interactive "things to do "per scene (I really like being surprised by less obvious places to find things--the more, the better). ----again all the puzzles were not included in the extras ( no reason for that) if a puzzle stumps me during gameplay, I always want to go back later and solve it, or play the fun ones again. ----ridiculous attempt to make the collectible pearls buy decorations for a room. Either do it right or avoid it altogether. (Same advice offered for the half gallon sized fishbowl that they called an aquarium.) IMO I have no use for revisiting the video cut-scenes, looking at concept art, or downloading screensavers or wallpaper. I wonder if other people feel the same way. I am usually rather hard to please, and my reviews reflect that, but I did enjoy this game. Could have been better, but not unhappy I purchased it on a sale weekend.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad game... Hi all. Well, we have the 4th in this series...yes, I have the other 3. There was no real lead into this story, you just sort of were there running. I get where is is going, but it was lacking in a good opening scene. Graphics were very nice and clear. Colors are bright and true. Game play was good, except for one little freeze, but when restarted it worked fine. Game fit my large screen with no problems. Voice overs were nice, age appropriate and showed some emotion depending on what was happening. Not a lot of dialog. Sound FX were few. Music was okay and had a creepy feel to it now and then, but mostly slow and boring. HOPs were silhouettes, straight HOP and some interactive. Scenes were a bit junky to me, but items were not difficult to find. Puzzles were all too familiar. Almost like I had played that exact game...maybe, since it is a sequel. Hint system is helpful, but takes a while to refill and does not transport to other locations. There is quite a lot of back tracking. Very useful jump map, saves on the sore feet. There seemed to be a lot of active areas all at once, so you did jump around a lot. Collectibles are black pearls that you use to buy items for your house, and believe me, it needs upgrading. These are not as easy to find as you think, although some are. I accidentally found some in the HOPs. You also collect fish items to fill your fish tank in your home. These also do not jump off the page at you and vary in size and object, so don't just look for fish. I'm not kicked out about games that require you to "pick" what you want to say. It takes away from the game play for me and breaks my thought process and flow. I know it's silly, but when I'm in a game, I don't want to read through a bunch of dialog and pick what I want to say, so that is a minus for me. This game was not all that challenging or exciting. Over the previous 3, I found that this one was somewhat disappointing. That being said, for some unknown reason, I have the need to play it out and see what happens. Maybe it's because I need to finish fixing up that house. I'm sure this game would appeal to all levels of players and yes, I am going to purchase for my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DOCTOR NEEDED TO SAVE THIS COMATOSE GAME IN YET ANOTHER MEDICALLY THEMED GAME Welcome to yet another episode in the continuing saga of "Days of Our Gaming Lives" in the soapy water of the Pond Hospital presented to you by Art Gone Wild, where bright reds and garish colors never seem to fade - -away! We return to the days of "old school" games in a cartoon-like, boring, lackluster game which lacks all the innovation and creative genius to make it worthy of the coveted CE status. Can this "doctored" up game be "nursed" back to a healthy CE status? Nah - at least not for me. HERE ARE THE DETAILS BASED ON A VERY SHORT DEMO: A creature has resurfaced from the lake and returned to the town of Blackwill. You play Dr. Robert Blackwell, a new resident in town trying to save a comatose girl, Beatrice Stanley. In the past you were her mother's doctor. She becomes comatose and then enters a zombie-like state, leaving the hospital. You realize something is amiss. You must get to the town of Rivendale to get help. However, A wall keeps you from leaving the town, placed there to keep out a fishy female monster - a siren (who can sing a pretty tune) leading people to their death. LEVELS: Casual (glints) Expert (no hints, skips or glints) Customized PUZZLES: To me, the puzzles are very easy. In the demo I encountered the following puzzles: (A) Lock pick with a hairpinB. Matching ampoules (B) Matching keys with shadows (C) . Wrench puzzle adjusting the size for each lug nut (D) Form of Battleship (E) "He man" - Fix the Car puzzles - attaching wires to engine, adding water to the radiator. (F) Variation of moving tile (circles) puzzles (G) Mathematical formulation puzzle to open a lock (H) Matching Interlocking pieces on a tree puzzle HOP SCENES: Somewhat interactive and puzzle-like but not as innovative as from other devs on this site - Junk pile scenes combined with Silhouette GRAPHICS: Old school. Very bright and cartoonish with lots of "red" and fast food colored red hair on the characters. This game does have an "electrifying" experience - our zombie heroine has hair which sticks out looking like she stuck her hand into an electric outlet. MAP: You play a puzzle to receive the map. INVENTORY it is interactive and puzzle-like and to me the best part of this game. It is lockable EXTRA GOODIES: The maternity ward of Pond Hospital has given birth to a school of goldfish - one for every one of you who purchase this game. You will have the pleasure to name him or her and feed them as well. I named my goldfish " Goldy Lox" in honor of last week's game and for the fact I love lox and bagels. A little cream cheese should top him off just fine! Yum! However, if you wish, you can probably become a "homeless vagabond gamer" and forgo sprucing up the house and caring for the fish if you wish and just play the game. Interactive map received after you play a puzzle. Strategy guide. Dialogue options in playing the game. Find items to decorate your house and aquarium. Collect pearls to purchase items for your house, aquarium items, and Easter eggs. I counted 48 Achievements which can be accessed in your "house." COMMENTS: I hate games with gimmicks. Decorating houses and adopting, naming and feeding "big game fish" is annoying to me. To me, it is just added filler. This game is a decent game with some decent puzzles but lacking the creativity and innovation which we have come to expect for CEs on this site. To me this game is not worth the status of a CE. the HOP scenes lack creativity and during the demo, I became bored with the repetitive nature of the HOP scenes. BF has a sale on the games so it would probably be a good addition to Thursday's outstanding game. There are some who will love this game. Enjoy it! This game just does not appeal to me. I RATE THIS GAME 4 GOLDFISH OUT OF 5 GOLDFISH. THIS GAME LOST A GOLDFISH AFTER MY CAT GRABBED FELIX FROM THE FISHBOWL.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mini Games and Puzzles Galore This game is chalk full of mini games and mini puzzles, even some of the inventory items have to be solved before becoming usable. The developers did a good job with the game's minis and their play-ability. Most of the puzzles are ridiculously simple but there are a few that will put you to the test. There's nothing wrong with using the 'skip' option with these handful of hard ones unless you're a chess expert or mathematician or if you simply don't mind spending a long time just hoping to stumble onto the solutions. I wish the story was more enticing however (almost boring). It is however nice in length and the scenes are sharp and colorful and the music fits perfectly. If you like the 'mini' games and puzzles aspect of HOGs you'll enjoy this one.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shivering Good I like this one best so far out of all the Shiver games I own. This goes on my to buy list. Good jump map. Opening scene possibly glitched on me but game, voice overs characters all good. Plenty to do and pretty nice flow to game. Music and ambiance noise good also.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from something new you might find more than one thing new in this game. i loved the change in hidden objects scenes. the puzzles are great but there was 2 puzzles that depend on luck. there is a really nice surprise bonus with the collector's edition, which i think interior designers will love. i loved it too. as always thanks to the team who made this game.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-so I do agree with other reviewers. Artogon had a style that was creepy with a storyline that went along with that feel. Their standards have been set below what I have come to expect. I only played through the free trial and I probably wont be purchasing it. Graphics good and mini games good...I did like the variety, I usually turn off all sounds since it just is more distracting than enhancing. Anyway, I turned to Artogon games because the Vanishing Hitchiker was a great game, but this doesnt come close. Its like a lot of cookie cutter games out there now .It was amusing not at all memorable.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review Of Completed Game... I beta tested this game ages ago and I wrote down "original and new gameplay...cannot wait to play this". Well then it took years for this game to come out after I did the beta. I am not sure what happened to hold them up but I didn't find the game as immersing as the beta. The beta had a lot of choose your own adventure scenes where you got to make the decisions like run left, run right and it was as if you were in 3D but they must have gotten bad reviews on the beta because it is nothing like what I remember. See thing is, I LOVED that beta so much that I saved it and played it over and over again since it took so long for the actual game to be released... So I will start with what I liked. The hidden object scenes were interactive and each one had a bit of a twist. The mini games were the same we always see but some were a bit of a challenge. Kudos there. The graphics were good and so were the voiceovers. The map was great. There was a lock on the inventory box (thankfully) AND lots of collectibles to collect if that is your thing. There is also a custom level for difficulty although even though I put NO GLINTS, they still appeared for hidden objects scenes. Now to what I found not so great. Usually I am a person who likes more adventure than hidden object and if you are that person then you will LOVE this game. I actually wanted there to be MORE hog scenes since they were really fun. There was a lot of back and forth yet the game was very linear. Once you left a chapter, it was rare you had to visit those scenes again. That means you only visit each hidden object scene once which is nice. The hidden object scenes were really creative in the beginning but near the end they became just lists. I did like the sound of the objects being clicked though. I probably would have been okay with not having as many hogs IF the adventure game play had been fun but you pick up a few items, you find them right away and that to me isn't fun. Also, the plot line of this game is a total bore. Its about sirens which has been done wayyy too many times and I can only think of ONE game I actually liked. Also, this series used to be SCARY because of the atmosphere the developers created. The first game, Vanishing Hitchhiker, was sooo creepy so even though I appreciate the effort put into evolving the game, I preferred the vibe from the other games instead. A note about collectibles and the bonus chapter. The collectibles do go into the bonus chapter. I was not a huge fan of the collectibles or the bonus chapter. I actually didn't even finish the bonus chapter because it was putting me to sleep. The collectibles are black pearls and you use them to remodel a room in a house. There is a fishbowl in that room and you also pick up collectibles that are items that automatically go into the fishbowl. It also has you name your fish which I didn't care for. For some games I do like remodeling stuff like Gardenscapes for example but this one had no reason to have an extra like this. I am not sure how many pearls there are to collect but I was able to upgrade my room how I wanted with what I found. The strategy guide shows where they all are but it doesn't say on the map if there are any left in the rooms like some other games. This game was a disappointment for me because I had loved the beta so much and thought the developers were going to blow my mind with the changes. Unfortunately that was not the case and this became just another cookie cutter game with the same plot as many games already released. I liked the creepy old style of this series better because it was spooky but they lost all the charm their other games brought that made them feel fresh and new. I think this is a game you need to try before you buy because I don't know whether to recommend it or not. I think some people will really like this especially newer players who aren't familiar with the other games in this series. But for the seasoned gamer, I am not sure this game has enough wow factor to win them over. Shame too because I was really looking forward to this one...
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This should never have been released as a "SHIVER" game This is one of those games that is suffering from what I call "Shadow Lake Syndrome", that being, if Big Fish had released it under a different name and a different programming house then it may well have done much better. In giving it the label of being a "SHIVER" game this brings with it certain expectations and I can well understand the negative reaction. Lets face it, it will take a long time before the first, and best, Vanishing Hitchhiker is beaten and I wasn't expecting that to happen with Lillie's Requiem. Poltergeist while not reaching the level of Hitchhiker was nevertheless a good try at a Second installment, Moonlit Grove was a bit of a Stinker but still recognizable as being in the "SHIVER" stable. However Lillie's Requiem fails on every level and should not even be in the franchise. Firstly its not Scary at all and discounting the rather good Chase Section at the very beginning, it's more like a Cutesy, Lightweight Dark Parables type game that you would buy for your 8 Year old Daughter....I mean...MERMAIDS for crying out loud!!! Secondly while it could be argued that it IS "Technically Superior" therein lies the problem. The "SHIVER" Franchise made great use of the principle that "Less is More". The Color scheme used here is completely wrong and very much reminds me of the sets on Ernest Goes To Jail with their brightly lit Rainbow Colored Jail Cells and prison guards with their shiny Pink Uniforms! Terrible for this game. Just Terrible! Thirdly the Story line. The SHIVER games were popular because there was a Real Mystery to be solved, and in fact some questions were never answered at all leaving it to the imagination of the player, again the principle of "Less is More" served them very well in this respect. Lillie's Requiem however spells everything out for the player from the outset leaving us with a distinct feeling of "What's the Point"? Fourthly the Atmosphere of a SHIVER game is completely absent here"Shiver without the Shiver". One of the Key points that made them successful was the feeling of isolation and danger that the player was put in that was done to great effect. In THIS installment there are any number of people dotted about for comedy relief who seem completely oblivious to any "Danger" whom you can have nice cheery chats with, play board games and perhaps have a cup of tea. In actual fact this very much reminds me of the interactions in Thirteenth Skull. Again Wrong, Wrong, Wrong! Fifthly the "Special Features"....oh dear, oh dear, of dear is all I can say to that!!! Yep, this involves collecting coins that look more like buckshot to buy decorations for yor Fish Tank and to buy other Lovely Items to decorate your virtual room with!!! Enough said on that I think... This is a VERY difficult game to grade as previously mentioned it could have done much better if BF had released it using a different programming house. In and of itself it's not bad but as a SHIVER game it is just complete Nonsense.
Date published: 2015-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars. Not too many shivers...or extras. Still, a decent, playable game. Wait for the SE. Shiver: The Lily's Requiem CE Review based on completed game + bonus game PREFACE… Shiver is an apt name for a series that retells classic ghost stories in game form. We began with a vanishing hitchhiker, dealt with a poltergeist, learned about werewolves, and now must face down a siren. Overall, it's a solid series, and I can't wait to see what's next. ONCE UPON A TIME... Strange things are happening in the town where you've been hired as a doctor. Upon your arrival, you witness a young woman being attacked by an eldritch creature. When you rush her to the hospital, she insists only you can help her. But before she can explain further, the creature returns and she disappears...and you learn there have been other attacks. PLAY THE GAME... Make your way around the town to uncover the mystery by visiting houses, landmarks, and the library. HO scenes include interactive list, sequential action, multiples, and more. Puzzles abound and are mostly unique (Battleship, As always, there are a multitude of locked doors, boxes, and cabinets requiring keys, codes, and medallions. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are appropriately shivery, with lots of blues and greens and plenty of realism. They're not groundbreaking, but good enough to aid in immersion. Animation is ok, although there's no lip-synching. SOUND WAVES… The music was moody, with flourishes when dramatic moments occurred. Voiceovers were done well, as were environmental sounds. I did think the creatures could have had better sounds when they moved. TOOLBOX… The map transported and indicated areas where actions were available. If there was a journal, I never used it, so it must not have been necessary. No special tools or cute helpers. EXTRA, EXTRA… Collect black pearls to decorate your house (some are in the HOs). Collect aquarium items for the fishbowl. In the bonus game, you must release Beatrice from the spell of the siren. Additionally, you have the SG, performance achievements, and the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds. THE LAST WORD… I recommend waiting for the SE. The bonus adventure wasn't all that long, and the "extras" weren't enough for me. I'm not overwhelmed by collecting items in order to decorate rooms or dress up characters; I think it's just a silly waste of time.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Requiem Borders On Lilies - Literally Setting: You are Dr. Robert Thompson, returning to the town of Blackwill (uh-oh!) after being away for 17 years. There is a legend that a creature once roamed this town causing women to fall into a catatonic state, until the townspeople built a wall to confine it. However, upon your return a young redhead named Beatrice seeks you out. Her mother was Kat(atonic) Stanley, a patient whose case you could never cure. First of all, I get that the title is "The Lily's Requiem," but that does not require a flowery lily border around all the pop-up scenes. I wished they had dropped this idea because I did not find it appealing. In fact, for me it had the opposite effect. But other than that, the visual look of the game was not bad; another game utilizing the full color spectrum with a fantasy-realism style set in a 1940's time period. Voices are well done. There is some scripted interactive conversation between your character and the others. The HO scenes (17) are also interactive types, but fairly standard. There were no twists encountered during the trial. The puzzles were easy: in one you'll face off against another character in a game of Battleship. Some others in the trial were shape recognition - i.e., identifying the shape of ampoules, keys, and reassembling the broken pieces of a jeweled tree. Special features: There are collectible black pearls in plain sight. These are used to buy furnishings for your "house." There are also collectible items used to decorate your aquarium. Neither of these features were appealing to this reviewer because they simply do not interest me, not necessarily because they were poorly done. The play was rather uneven. There is an attempt to "doctor" your actions, but some of the things that are done are just plain strange, like (spoiler) stitching up a paper funnel. There is a transportable map with the feature of indicating actionable areas - this can also be turned off in the Custom settings. Having not played this series since The Vanishing Hitchhiker, I feel no urge to get this game either, especially as a CE. The story is OK if not really new, and the play was just average. I'm content to either pass or wait for the lily to bloom as an SE.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my favorite Some series get better with age. This is not one of them. The graphics are good but the gameplay is so predictable. I found nothing in the storyline to connect with. It was as if the developers forgot the plot and just focused on the formulaic additions of puzzles and HOPS.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Story, Poorly Executed Gameplay BASED ON DEMO This developer was new to me, so I wasn't sure what to expect, and the fact that I wasn't a fan of the series meant I wasn't excited for this game. Unfortunately, this game hasn't made me a fan of either. The story was actually quite good. It had an exciting concept and was done well for the most part. I especially liked the fact that we started the game as the girl rather than the doctor; it made for a more exciting opening. After the opening, the rest of the story remained quite good, with a very exciting twist in the early goings to get me hooked. From there, the story ran in to an issue with me, due to poorly written dialogue to set up tasks. This came in the form of the mechanic, who refused to help us fix the car because “it's my day off”, and then when we tell him a girl's life is at stake, he says he'll help us if we beat him at a game of battleships; and even after we win, he hands us a car repair manual. I'm sorry, but this is ridiculous and unrealistic. If a girl's life really did depend on having a car fixed, ANY mechanic would hurry to help, even if it was his day off. Developers need to understand that stories set in real situations need to have realistic things happen, otherwise it takes away from the story. By the time all that was finished, I had nearly reached the end of the demo. The demo's ending was good, but not shocking, and not really a cliffhanger making me rush to get my card out. I think the developers should have worked on this a little more to get it just right. Overall, a good story, but one that needed a couple of tweaks. As good as the story was, I am put off buying this by some issues with th gameplay. I'll start with the positives first and tell you that the HOS were pretty good, even if there was a severe lack in quantity. The HOS came in two different forms: extra-step junkpile word list and silhouette. Even though the HOS were easy, they were quite fun. I would have liked the silhouette scenes to be the progressive ones though (find one item, use it to get another). As I said, there is a severe lack in quantity of the HOS. There are only 2 in the entire demo I wouldn't have minded if there was a heavy adventure component, but it was the same as most other HOPAS. To have only 2 HOS in the demo is completely unnaceptable, especially when compared to the amount of puzzles. Speaking of puzzles, I really didn't like them at all. Firstly, there were just far too many for my personal taste. There were about 8 in the demo, and they were so close together it was just ridiculous. Secondly, if you're going to have that many puzzles in such a short time, you should at least make them enjoyable, and these puzzles were the antonym of enjoyable. The only one I even remotely enjoyed was the battleships one. The puzzles in this game were too hard for me, and I had to skip every single one. I think the developers should make their puzzles a little easier (and a lot more FUN) for the next game. The adventure component was okay. It was prominent and fun, but quite basic, with a lack of innovation. Because it was basic, it was actually quite easy. This was also due in part to the horrendous difficulty levels. There were three choices: Casual, Expert and Custom. Expert has absolutely no help at all, and the customisation was extremely limited, so it was basically a choice of a fast refilling hint or nothing at all. This was extremely disappointing. I think, for their next game, the developers should consider adding another difficulty level. I also think a lack of innovation and variation in the adventure component had an impact on the fun factor. While the game was a little fun (with the exception of the puzzles), I think some extra features or something a little different would have raised the fun factor tremendously. I think the gameplay represents a missed opportunity for these developers. For their next game, I suggest adding more innovation and not being afraid to experiment. There was only the one additional feature in this game: + objects. Unfortunately, they were not as well executed as I would have liked. In fact, they were quite strange. There were just too many at the one time. In fact, there was a point in the game where I had four inventory items and every single one of them was a plus object. Then, they were all used, bang bang, one right after the other. So I went from having four + objects in my inventory to none in about a minute. Overusing a feature, be it having too many at once or using too much at once, really takes the fun out of it, and I think this is something the developers need to learn for their next game. The graphics, quite honestly, are just brilliant. They are drawn with wonderful detail, very sharp and exceptionally clear. There are nice colours that suit the atmosphere well, and the characters look extremely lifelike. The characters even have lip-synch, so the developers have done an exceptional job. The voice-overs were good for the most part, save for the voice of the nurse. It was a slow, droning bore that almost put me to sleep. I think the part of the nurse was terribly underacted and should have been done a lot better. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Expert and Custom. These are probably the worst difficulty modes I've ever seen. Expert offers no help and customisation is limited. I customied, turning off sparkles and map indicators. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a decent speed for Casual. Hint is helpful outside HOS. Unfortunately, you start the game waiting for the hint to charge. Diary- I loved it. It was good for keeping track of events and also nice to read the character's thoughts. Map- The map is interactive and does its job on Casual. I found it to be quite helpful. + Objects- These were poorly executed. There were too many at once, or they were used all at once. CE EXCLUSIVES Unfortunately, it was really difficult to judge the bonus content as the game wouldn't let me see half of it during the demo. Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions. Achievements Concept Art Wallpapers Replay cutscenes Play Battleships Replay HOS Aquarium- This was basically a shop where you could buy things for a pet fish (which you get to name). There are collectible black pearls which act as currency. They are easy to spot. If they are in a zoom area, the game continues to let you zoom in until you've collected the pearls. That was all I could see during the demo. There were two other things with locks on them. WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? This game only seems to have the basics, so it is really not worth the extra cash. There are no enticing CE Extras to make me even consider buying the CE. I would definitely advise you to wait for the SE. MY PROGRESS I finished the demo in 43 minutes. There were 2 chapters in the demo. This game had the potential to be one of the best games of the year, but was unfortunately let down by terrible puzzles and poor execution of basic components. I did enjoy my demo, but that was as far as I will go with this one. It earns a three star rating from me.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice game - could have been better Simple storyline; not terribly original in concept. Pros: The graphics are pretty good and the audio/sound was quite nice. The game flow was easy and pretty quick - there isn't a lot to do in each location. The hops are interactive but not challenging and the puzzles were ok. Cons: I didn't like that once you picked up an object, the scene remained active, which was confusing b/c you don't know if there is still something for you to do in that area. Also, I don't like games that bother with a map, which is very helpful and a must, but don't bother with location names. As a result, you have to create your own to keep track of where you've been. A bit lazy on the part of the developer. Overall, a good game for beginners new to the HO world.
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What have they done??? Perhaps this game picks up after the trial period. I would certainly hope so. I loved this series... until this game. All the purples and blues in the graphics. The responses by the doctor drove me mad lol. The HOS were giant junk piles. The mini games were ok. Very easy though, even for me, who usually struggles with the puzzles. I needed to pick up an item 3 or 4 times before the cursor grabbed it. This got quite annoying after awhile. I saw nothing to "shiver" about. I did not bother to look at what my collectible pearls could buy nor did I look at the fish tank. I'll give this a retry when the the SE comes out. I must mourn the end of a great series now. :(
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice, but not what I expected from 'Shiver' I have played all 'Shiver' games. I can say this one doesn't meet the standards of the shiver games. I was a little bit disappointed, but still, the game is playable and you'll enjoy it like any other game. I just didn't like the art and the hmm.. story is a bit unfinished for me! Also, I thought the house decoration is for a reason (Like marrying the redhead daughter) but dah, I bought the beautiful expensive furniture for nothing XD It surprised me how after finishing the game, the father and his family didn't care about what happened to the doctor (the playable character) they should have saved him or tried to! The bonus chapter was not needed I think, it didn't add much to the story. Well, if you like shiver games, try it out. if not, I'm not sure if everyone can enjoy this game.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mostly the same old stuff The game is pretty fun, but I no longer buy games that do not have the feature to switch from HOS to another game. The minis are pretty fun and fairly fresh.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do you like puzzles - lots and lots of puzzles? Hey, if you like mini-games, this is the game for you!! This game was excellent in visual quality, the sound was very interesting as well. The challenge of the game as a whole was poor, but the challenge in the mini-games in and of themselves was quite decent (which is why I picked "good" in the challenge rating). There were just so freaking many of them I felt like barely took a breath and there was another one! Some of them were just decently challenging, but others were just downright confusing and instructions and playing simply didn't give sufficient clues. Story was just ok. Didn't really pull me in.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shiver The Lily's Requim Collector's Edition I found this game rather dull. I especially disliked the grabbing hand taking several clicks to grab a hold of anything. The puzzles were boring and the HOGs were okay. Glad it was a free game.
Date published: 2015-02-20
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_22291, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: The Lily's Requiem Collector's Edition

Can you uncover what’s causing the strange symptoms in Blackwill?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.