Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(405.49 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From DominiGames, creators of the Labyrinths of the World, Dark Romance, and Mystery Tales series, comes an all-new tale of mystery to enjoy!

You and your daughter, Nancy, can't resist the lovely hotel just off the highway, especially after a long day on the open road. But just as the two of you get settled, your peaceful pause is shattered by a witch who abducts Nancy! You must travel to the Twilight World to stop the witch before she takes over your daughter's body. Along the way, you'll meet others who have been doomed by the witch's dark magic. Can you free them all from her spell, or will you become trapped forever in the witch's dark world? Find out in this magical Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Can you vanquish evil forever in the bonus game?
  • Get soundtracks, screensavers, and concept art
  • Check out your achievements and collections
  • An integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1531 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(405.49 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CONNECT WITH YOUR" INNER WITCH" FOR FUN AND SUN AT THE SILVER LAKE RESORT We have a "witchy" surprise from Anno Domini. I LOVE THIS GAME! It is a PUZZLER'S DELIGHT! So many puzzles and so well done, devs! AWESOME! You are now my favorite dev (well- at least for this week) A FABULOUS GAME WHICH I WILL PURCHASE. This game has everything: a great storyline, good movement, great puzzles along with a puzzle-like inventory and puzzle-like HOP scenes. You and your daughter travel to Silver Lake Inn for some "fun and sun." However, it is owned by a clueless proprietor, who somehow failed to realize when he purchased it, it was once owned by a n "appearance challenged" witch an attitude to match. She is obsessed with immortality! (Hopefully at this resort she can partake in a mud bath to improve her looks and attitude. Come to think of - just cover her face in mud - permanently!) From the grave, this witch is eyeing your daughter as the perfect vessel for her to maintain immortality. With your daughter in a coma and the witch hovering over her body, you have some major work ahead of you in trying to save her. That also includes jumping from one dimension to another. And don't expect too much help from the clueless hotel owner with creepy green eyes. HERE ARE THE DETAILS: LEVELS: Casual (The only level with sparkles) , Advanced, Hard Core, Customized and Timed. They all vary in hint and skip times. The Timed mode is a nice addition. GRAPHICS: Beautiful colors. The characters appear realistic with mouth movements PUZZLES: There are more puzzles than HOP scenes. In the demo I encountered: A. Location of stars in a fog B. Triangle Movement puzzles in which moving one part affect the movements of other parts of the puzzle C. Mathematical alignment puzzle so that numbers add up to number in the center D. Two a jigsaw puzzle variations creating a picture through moving tiles E. Another puzzle in which moving one part influences the movement of the other parts. - a Windmill F. Variation of a stacking puzzle with mighty ugly trolls G. Domino puzzle INVENTORY: Inventory is interactive and puzzle-like. HOP SCENES: All are puzzle-like. In the demo I encountered: A. Silhouette B. Locating items highlighted in a story C. Matching like items in HOP scenes which I thought VERY WELL DONE - devs. It was not only matching but also puzzle-like. D. Locating items in a broken mirror. Again- Wow! How innovative! EXTRA GOODIES: Interactive map with areas requiring activity noted . I counted 7 Achievements. Collect 40 cats and unknown amount of rabbits to play mini games. Collect post cards as well. Strategy guide. Collect 5 magical items in a "magic box" for use in the game In the game you collect a "magic sphere" which transports you to other dimensions. You collect three crystals to recharge it. I GIVE THIS GAME 7 BEAUTIFUL GOOD WITCHES TO DEFEAT THE MAJOR UGLY DARK WITCH .
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition I loved this game. Just simple fun. Fun HOS. Games were mostly easy. I liked going from one scene to the same scene but another world
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great game! I always play relaxed and take several days to play. These games are what I do at the end of the day to, relax! I really enjoyed this game. The plot was good and the mini games are different than any other game I've played. Not too hard, but not too easy. If I can do most mini games without skipping, I'm happy. some games, I skip most because they're too hard. What's the point of playing if you have to skip them all?!? There is a map that lets you jump to where you go. This is always important. No map means tons of walking and hoping you got the right room, and if not, going back to other places hoping it's right. I think the bonus game was harder than the main game, but still fun.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is my new favorite!! Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition is the BEST kind of fun! I rarely leave a review but I just had to make an exception for this game! The journey you take in this game is loaded with fun and truly makes you put on your thinking cap! The puzzles were sometimes too easy although not always easy to figure out what to do at first! I always try to figure it out before reading the info about the game. There are 3 collectables which is fun, but the items you collect in the course of the journey and in the HO scenes and figuring out what to do with them was what made the game exceptional! And then the added bonus was to play each scene in brilliant colors and then switching to dark/dreary! I absolutely loved it! And just when I was sad to see it end... it takes right off in the bonus game adding to the end of the story, even though it ended sufficiently without the bonus game also! I can't wait to play the first game in the series and the other games by this developer!
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER!!!! I loved this game from the beginning and when I got a chance to purchase it for 1/2 price I got it! The strategy guide works after I purchased the game.........it totally rocks!
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from watch out here i come!!! you will not keep my daughter!!! you are looking for your daughter who is under a spell from a dark witch that needs her soul to get all her power back. you search for items in the HO scenes and they are well done. you have 4 levels, one being a custom level. you have an interactive map. sequel..possibly.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! This game gives MCF a run for their money! Great storyline, graphics and audio quality coupled with a different and imaginative angle to HOP's. Mini games seemed easy, or perhaps I was just lucky. Ability to play in windowed mode an added bonus! A little short, and limited bonus content, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Next one please ;)
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining Hidden Object Game Fun game. Lots of variety. Very well done. Colorful, interesting, Wish the demo lasted longer.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very different kind of game This game is fun to play. It is not that hard. You go between worlds the present and past worlds. I would recommend this game
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most fun game I have played on this site in a long time Playful and tongue in cheek game. Lots of fun and surprises. Very enjoyable. Different twists on know puzzles make them new again. Lots of good ideas. It looks like the developers had a blast creating this game. Kudos to you devs!
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting A Glimpse of the Twilight World Very well presented storyline of an evil witch/spirit/entity and a mother protecting her daughter. Although similar stories abound of evil seeking youth as the nectar of immortality, Mystery Tales unfolds a story with a twist in that evil has affected people in the real world and gamers venturing into the twilight world to release the entity hold. Numerous challenging puzzles and great visuals await gamers. Collectibles are gathered throughout gameplay are added in the bonus content as well as a bonus play segment. Found the lengthy bonus gameplay surprisingly more challenging as the regular content. Appreciated the vibrant colors, cut scenes, musical score and putting my brain to work. As usual, Mystery Tales will satisfy gaming expectations. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Any-Body Will Do It's been a long road trip for you and your daughter, and the Silver Lake Inn seems like the perfect place to catch some shut eye. This newly remodeled Inn looks so peaceful, but looks can be deceiving, and evil witchcraft is anything but peaceful! You barely have time to kick off your shoes when something or someone attacks your daughter Nancy, rendering her unconscious, what on earth is happening here? The Innkeeper isn't much help either, although he seems genuinely concerned, something about him is "off" so instead of calling for professional help, we're just going to snoop around the Inn's grounds, play a game of toss with the puppy and fix a few thousand broken gadgets until she comes to! Just before the attack on Nancy, she finds a large hat box. This is anything but a normal hat box, this is a Magical Chest which stores magical artifacts. This box can defend it's owner from the negative energy generated by the magical artifacts within. (how'd that work out for Nancy)? Eventually this box will hold several artifacts, but for now there's just one, the Witch's ice bucket which can cool and freeze any liquid instantly. You can access your Dossier within the map, which is basically a journal that keeps track of your notes and clues you find as well as information about devices you come across. Some of the inventory items have plus signs, indicating that further action is required before you can use that item. There are 40 Collectible Cats, Rabbits, and Postcards as well as a ton of Achievements to earn in this Collectors Edition. The Hidden Object Scenes are decent, but nothing to write home about. The HO's are mostly silhouetted shapes that you find in groups, such as astrological symbols, once the group has been found, they automatically get placed where they belong which usually exposes the next group of items you need to find. The Mini Games seem to be on the easy side, such as turning three small triangles until they align with the main triangle (turning one triangle affects others) or clicking on different colored stars in the correct color sequence, following the clue given, Mr. ROY G. BIV. This Collectors Edition has Music Soundtracks, Arts, Achievements, Collectibles, Wallpapers, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter. In my personal opinion, this CE doesn't have enough features to persuade me, I think the Standard Edition will have enough bang for my buck so to speak, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DEFEAT THAT WITCH AT THE SILVER LAKE INN Review of completed Game and Bonus. There is: * Casual, Advance, Hardcore and Custom modes of play; * Voiceovers; * Achievements Room; * Interactive map; * Find 40 cats, 14 rabbits and 16 postcards; * Use the magic box; * Use the magic sphere to travel between parallel worlds. I played on Custom and turned everything off. You can also turn off the Hint and Skip options as well for all those fishes wanting an extra challenge. There is such a lot to do in this game. There are a huge - and I mean phenomenal - amount of mini-games and puzzles to conquer. The graphics are very good - lots of colour and are crisp and clear to see and move around. The sound and music are also good. Music just plays quietly in the background and I didn't really notice it that much. The hidden object games are silhouette, straightforward and interactive. These are easy to do and I enjoyed them. There were such a lot of mini-games and puzzles to do that it made my head spin. Some of these were putting gears in the right place, rearranging statue parts, doing puzzles and that's just the tip of the iceberg. I could go on all day. Most of them were easy to medium but a few made me stop and think which piqued my interest. You also have a magic box and you accumulate certain items as you go which are inserted into the box. These are an ice bucket, a hammer, a candle, a remote control and a watch. You will use these items frequently to help you. There is also a magic sphere which you use to travel between parallel worlds. You collect 3 gems and then travel into another parallel world, find items and undertake tasks and things you need to do and then find another 3 gems there to come back. Finding the 40 cats, 16 rabbits and 16 postcards were pretty easy. They are not really hidden and you just pick them up as you go. When you have found the 40 cats you can play a further mini-game. All up the game and bonus took me about 9 hours to do - ALL THOSE MINI-GAMES AND PUZZLES!!! So if you are up for a fairly lengthy challenge, then this is the game for you. I enjoyed the game and believe family members or friends over the age of say 10-12 can play this. The witch is not scary and most of the mini-games and puzzles can be done without too much hand holding. And there is the Strategy Guide if you need help. Happy playing.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Twilight World Like almost all HOG games this one has great graphics and challenging puzzles. Yeah, some are easier than others but do you really want to get frustrated all the time? However, there were a lot of areas where the items could not be "picked up" and in some cases you actually had to pick up something that was not on the list of hidden items (ie.the list says pen but the item was actually a key). I would say some glitches need to be worked out.but overall it really is a good game.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, simple game... Hi all. I agree, the quality of games has really gone down lately, but I look anyway. This is the 2nd in this series...yes, I have the first. This one doesn't seem to be as much fun, but it's not a bad game. Graphics are clear and nice. Very true nice colors. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo at all and the game fit my large screen. I did not even look at the SG, as this game was quite simple and easy to follow. I either didn't see a journal, or I need new glasses, but couldn't find one. Music was somewhat soothing, with nice sound FX. Voice overs were well done with emotion and and not just someone reading a script, even though I did lose the daughter's voice for a bit. The one thing I didn't like was that you could not click through dialog without skipping it completely. I read faster than they speak and want to move on and not wait for them to catch up. HOPs were fun, silhouettes; riddles and match items is what I found so far. Items were not hard to find. Hint system was quite helpful and did transport to long distance locations, so you save on the constant clicking to back track. However, it did take quite some time to recharge. Very easy puzzles, with nothing new, but I found one that took me a little time to complete, and I had to think ahead to do it. Collectibles I found were 40 cats that are quite easy to spot; magical items that help you within the game; postcards; notes and rabbits. Yep, rabbits. Not sure what that's all about...because it's related to magic probably. Yes, we have magic, mayhem, witches and time travel all rolled up into one game. Careful, things do jump out at you, but they really aren't scary. It is a simple game, fut the story is a little different and I liked it. This is one of those "no brainer," lazy day games that I occasionally like to buy for fun. Even though the demo was short, I still had 52 minutes left at the end, I found that I wanted to continue playing to see what happens. I think this will appeal to most all levels of players and I am going to add it to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from keep your interest I really enjoyed this game. the HOs were interesting and the ability to use them in the game itself was awesome. The game keep your interest to see what was going to happen next and where it was going to lead you. For those who like to play the game with no helps it is a great game. This is actually one I would play over and over. The HO games actually had games inside it which was great.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid 3.5 star game due to the incredibly easy game play enjoyed this game. Varied and fun HOS. The puzzles were difficult for me. I'm not a big fan of puzzles and there were quite a few in this game. Not very HOS heavy though. Colors were great. Voice overs were good, some emotion in there. I couldn't stop staring at the over the top breathing of the hotel owner LOL. Anyway, not as good as the first Mystery Tales, but a nice game. All the collectibles were very easy for me to spot. There were lots of components to the game, where you could travel to another world, find enough gems to fill your magic globe, then return to the "real world". You also get magic items. I only got the ice bucket in the demo. One complaint... the gameplay was very very simplistic. Developers need to realize that maybe one out of every three games , they could release a tough game, one that makes you think. Anyway, I recommend.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DARK AND LIGHT This game has you moving between two worlds; one light and one dark, the dark one controlled by a witch, The witch is looking for a body to contain her spirit and she just happens to pick your daughter for her repository. Just your luck for stopping by an off-the-beaten path hotel that was built on the site of the witch's old home. It appears that the witch has other people under her control, including the hotel owner, so why she is picking on your daughter remains to be seen. The demo gave me a pretty good taste of how the game plays in the two worlds. There is an interactive map, which makes moving around the game smooth, an awesome plus for me when there is a lot of back and forth that occurs in a time travel game. I was unable to access the strategy guide, so cannot comment on its effectiveness. I also did not use the hint button nor did I play the music. The voiceovers were very good and it was nice to be able to hear them without the rest of the sound. Having the two worlds was also a nice relief, keeping the game from being dark and dreary the whole way through. There are cats, rabbits, and postcards to find as well as the usual achievements. The HOS and minigames were multi-layered and varied, which held my attention, but not too hard. The demo seemed to go by quickly and ends with a cliffhanger. The police won't allow you to cross the bridge into the town and the hotel manager has become a demon and thrown you into the water. Why not a 5 star rating? A good, solid game, just nothing to set it apart from many others. I will definitely purchase it as there is a sale in progress this weekend.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid, if not spectacular game Solid game. I prefer the straight-forward games, and this falls into that category. Fairly linear, easy HOS and mini-games, and when you need something to advance, it's fairly close by. Decent story, nice graphics.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game, nothing spectacular but worth purchasing! I won't go into the storyline given BFG have already done this but rather a review of how it ran, level of difficulty and my own personal thoughts. It is rather a big download so was hopeful it would be a good, long challenging game, which it was to some extent. I played, as usual, in custom mode, making it as difficult as I can without compromising the option to "skip" a puzzle if I disliked it, as there are a couple I just cannot be bothered with, especially if there is no RESET button and you haven't had time to "cheat"! However, all puzzles were enjoyable, not too hard, a little similar in genre however, I enjoyed them all without a single "sneak peak"! Hidden objects were enjoyable too given they were all different, thought put into them to make them reasonably enjoyable and challenging, but I would love to see one day a CE game brought out that doesn't have to rely on a single one, rather making the game interesting, challenging and in context with the story without the need to have a hidden object scene. So come on DEV's, what about trying that concept? The game ran smoothly although one hiccup in the bonus content whereby I had to actually reboot as the task manager didn't work, but otherwise, no problems, a little slow at times with screen changes but overall, there were no real problems. But I do wonder how gamers would go with a game like this with an older computer when I have a new and speedy laptop yet experienced some slowness and freezing! Graphics were acceptable and what we would expect these days for cost paid, length was reasonable although the last chapter felt like "we had better hurry up and finish", as it concluded in half the time the other ones did. Bonus content however, was of a reasonable length and enjoyable. Given 8 years of purchasing games, I may now be a little "harsh" with my critiquing given experience and expectations but for those new to the HO/adventure genre, this is definitely worth purchasing and very enjoyable and I have enjoyed each and every purchase. Some a little too short but some have given pleasure over 2 and 3 days so all works out "in the wash'! For those who are either thinking about this game or have trialled it, I do recommend it, worth even playing in HARD MODE if you want to make the game last and be challenged. There are collectibles and these were a breathe of fresh air as they were clearly visible - I dislike having to remember to look for them, not being able to go back and get it if I "forgot", so end up not really caring! What I did enjoy was a recent game that actually showed on the map if you hadn't picked one up ... that was enjoyable and made it worthwhile trying to collect them all. The DEV's are trying hard these days to ensure we find their games worthwhile purchasing and paying extra for, good to see however, my one continuous comment has always been that by doing this, quantity is now being sacrificed. As an experienced adventure player now, I expect more rather than less, more challenges, and at the end of the game, say to myself that was worth every penny spent! I digress ... this is a good game, I recommend it, thoroughly enjoyed it in spite of it freezing at one stage, and hope CE games offered in the future will become more challenging and worth money spent. This game is well on the way to achieving these goals and hopefully, the next instalment will display this. Again, this game is worth purchasing and definitely recommended, especially for those new to this type of game-play.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different than the first one...2nd day and no reviews!!! Not sure about the 4 stars but thought I would give it 3 1/2 but.... The start of the game at first to me was abit confusing, the story was going alittle to fast. You and your daughter decided to stop at this motel after along day traveling. Boy are they in for a surprise!! The motel used to be a witches castle that was demolishes and the motel was built there. There were some antiques the owner found and sold to other people. (Not good) You get to your room and the daughter happens to see a hat style box that someone left and when she opens it things start to happen it holds the souls of people the witch took. (you need to find the photos of these people and place them in the box.) The witch comes and takes the soul of the daughter. You need to rescue her from the witch. She is not the only one that you will need to rescue, you will need to free the other trapped souls in the box. Anyway.....there are 3 collections to find. Rabbits, Cats, and I believe cards. Most of them are easy to spot. HOS are not frustrating or hard on the eyes. The puzzles are nice not too frustrating either which makes it nice to do them. You need to go to other twilight demensions to rescue the other trapped souls (been there done it before). Any how give this game a try its not really too bad. Everybody has their own likings. And there is a sale this weekend which is even better. Just give it a try!
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Day early, Casual 65 min. demo, pretty, easy puzzles so far Witch abducts daughter and Mom (you) have to save the day. Is anyone else tired of this scenario? Could we have a grown-up game like Cadenza or even Castle? 4 modes of play, good jump map with available actions, several collectibles, no morphs. Bought last year's Mystery Tales and enjoyed it so with today's sale I had to get this one. I recommend you try this game.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game for a beginner I enjoyed playing this game but it is not very challenging. I think this would be a great game for someone just starting out or if you are just looking for some fast, easy fun. It does have a good mix of puzzles. Objects to collect that are easy to find. You get the good and evil versions of the scenes. All in all it was a fun play for part of an afternoon.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery Tales - The Normal World (For Me) I played the full demo for this game. It could have been a little longer, it only took me 38 minutes to play, including all the story-line scenes etc. Could also have done with a few more voice-overs, but I was able to get the gist of everything quite quickly. I did play the easy version so hopefully the harder versions are a bit better. Otherwise the overall quality was good. The various HO games were a bit different which was a bit more enjoyable than the plain old 'seek and find' type, gave a bit more variety. I'll be trying this game at one of the harder levels just to see what the difference is. I won't be buying the collectors edition - I don't do a lot of the extra chapters, and except for a couple of the games I don't use the wallpapers or screen savers from them, so there's no point in me having them, but I probably will buy the regular edition when it comes out.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique Puzzles Really liked this game Puzzle were fun and different.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden Object Scenes Saved It... I am getting rather sick of this fantasy genre. All the games are the same plot, same game play like find a paper clip to open a bag the zipper fell off of. Let me tell you I own a lot of things with zippers and they only fall off once in blue moon. Easier than easy puzzles and pink/purple graphics and a helper or some cutesy aspect. But let me say I liked this game a whole lot more than I thought I would when I started playing it. When I started, I thought why did I buy this? Everything was how I described above but this game had amazing hidden object scenes. They were so interactive and none of them were the same kind of list so I liked all that variety. I liked them enough to keep playing to the end of this game which has an ending anyone can guess and then goes into a bonus chapter that is a better ending to the story than the actual main game ending is. But I couldn't get through all of the bonus chapter and the reason for this is the easiness of the puzzles. I am a puzzle LOVER! I love all kinds of puzzles. I do crosswords everyday, sudoku, variety word puzzles, board games, card games etc. I love solving things. There are A LOT of puzzles in this game and initially I was thrilled by this. IF you don't like puzzles you will be bombarded in this game and hate them. At first I loved hitting the puzzles but as I got farther into the game I started skipping them. I NEVER skip puzzles because no matter the difficulty level I just like to do them BUT these were sooooo easy that they became boring. Ones that looked a bit complex I'd move one piece and it would complete itself. That shouldn't happen and I became so bored of them that I didn't want to play them anymore. A lot of them repeat too. There are a bunch of move the items into their proper places which can be really tricky but not these ones. There are a bunch of matching tasks but these are super duper easy. There are also the same old puzzles we always get like the connecting the pipe to get water, doing the same thing with electricity cables, doing the same thing with other magic things. I couldn't keep playing these easy peasy puzzles for another minute so I quit the bonus chapter which wasn't all that riveting anyway. As a CE you have a lot of bling. You have achievements although I didn't see them in the extras or on the main screen but they pop up during the game so maybe its just an in game thing..who knows. You have a lot of collectibles such as rabbits, cats & baseball card things. I was really unimpressed by the extras. Besides achievements & collectibles there is wallpaper, extra art work and a soundtrack. To be honest though, even if this game had more extras, I wouldn't have played them because everything was so easy. I usually go back and try the puzzles if I can't do them...but then again its been a long time since that has happened. My wish for hidden object games are ORIGINAL STORY LINES. I feel like the casual game genre has gotten stale. I love a good mystery/crime show and even though there's lots of those on tv, they find a way to make each one original or at least try. Even hollywood is out of ideas but they are at least trying with sequels and books to movies. Casual game developers just keep churning out the same old junk. I want something fresh, new and fun! I want to be wowed. I want my jaw to drop and to get so immersed in a game that I literally can't tear myself away from the computer. Its been way too long since that has happened. I don't need a game everyday if its going to be junk. I am happy waiting for a great game to be made! I can't be the only one over these tired story lines, puzzles that are beyond easy and the fantasy genre over and over again. At least have some variety!! And some originality! I am to the point where I don't even buy games anymore because whats the point of buying another game that is the same plot, same story, same game mechanics, same hidden object scenes, same puzzles as every other game. What a waste of money buying the same game over and over again. But I digress. IF you like a lot of collectibles, easy peasy puzzles and a story line that has been done a million times then this game is for you! Although I enjoyed this game a lot more than I thought I would, its still NOT a great game and not worth anything better than average rating.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Peaceful Night in a Motel could change your life ..... forever. Based on both the SE and CE demos. The graphics are done very well. The voiceovers .... I had a real problem with ...... running the gamut of an echo in the room to lip syncing NOT matching up with the sound of the voice. Rather tragic in this day and age. Sound fx were somewhat muted. And then, the storyline. A pentagram, a spell ..... and a curse. Could it GET any worse???? There are 4 modes of difficulty: casual, advanced, hardcore and custom. You can choose no tutorial, special features only or a full tutorial. Your map shows your location, open action areas and closed areas. There is also a Magic Box, which can hold up to 5 "magic items" which you can use throughout the game play AND a crystal ball that allows you to travel between the "Twilight World" and "Real Life". I have to say .... Twilight World is kind of ..... creepy. The HOGs (hidden object games) were okay. Very interactive and each one I played in the demo was different .... no 2 alike. THAT made it interesting. CE Bling: The usual bonus chapter, music, art, etc. Very simple fare ... while not overloading the brainwaves with unnecessary items, there are the following: * Collect post cards - don't know how many - but in both the SE and the CE. * Collect cats - 40 - very clear to the eye .... can't miss them. * Collect rabbits - don't know how many .... NOT in every area as far as I could tell ..... and sometimes very difficult to find. Every time I found a post card, a message on a banner referred to a "dossier". What and where is this dossier? Couldn't find it myself and when I tried to click on the word "dossier", the banner would disappear. When I finished the demo, there was an area that said (both the SE and the CE, there were 27 locations, 21 Mini Games, 17 HOGs, 150 zoom zones and 12 characters. If I don't include my character and the girl at the hotel, I found 3 in the demo. I really thought I would go for this game because it seemed like there was a LOT going on in terms of what collectibles there were and what magic items you had at your disposal. After playing the SE demo, I realized all the CE had to offer me was the collectible cats and rabbits. Everything else is in both editions of the game. So, for me, it all comes down to ..... how good is the bonus chapter. I REALLY enjoyed playing. Very entertaining and lots to do and find, but I'm still very much on the fence regarding the purchase of the SE OR the CE. Either way, I think it's a great game to have. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but sloppy Story line is OK. Graphics are clear.. HOS are varied, which is nice. Three different "collectables," which I like. However, life doesn't pass "near," it passes "by," which was not the only time the translation to English was poorly done. And several times there were scenes where you removed something, but when you did something later, the object you had removed was back in the scene for at least a flash. That's just poor programming and lack of quality control. Trying to finish too fast without checking? No game testers outside the development group? I don't know, but it detracts from the overall enjoyment of what was otherwise a decent game. Personally, I'm getting tired of half-finished games like this.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD STORYLINE BUT..... I think the storyline in this game is good. However, I think the game as a whole isn't. The voiceovers were not good and sometimes comical due to the way the mouths' moved. The mini-games were very easy and I played on the most difficult level. Visuals are nice as well as the music. When I looked at the ratings I thought it would be a great game to own, I really have to start playing on the "free" mode first. PS I am stuck in Florida as my flight home to Long Island was cancelled due to the Blizzard. Not so bad actually :) Happy Gaming
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound, Story, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... An Average Game To Pass A Bit Of Time ... Story OK, With A Bonus Chapter That Adds A Bit More To The Ending ... Overall A Very Short Game, But Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2015-01-26
  • y_2019, m_10, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_22350, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Tales: The Twilight World Collector's Edition

A stay at a peaceful hotel turns into a nightmare when a witch from the Twilight World takes your daughter!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.