Magic Gate: Faces of Darkness

Magic Gate: Faces of Darkness

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(359.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The main character, together with his fiancée, takes up residence in their new home. While unpacking their belongings, his fiancée stumbles upon a magical mirror that takes her to another world. Without hesitation, the hero goes after his fiancé and enters the magical world of Elyrium where he sees his fiancée being kidnapped by dark ghostly spirits.

Venture into a magical world and experience the struggle of good versus evil. Fight for your love and return to your world!

  • Explore a magical world
  • Face the evil that lies beyond your world!
  • Face dangerous traps and enemies

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1128 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Magic Gate: Faces of Darkness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(359.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Magic Gate: Faces of Darkness is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable For a standard edition game it was above average. The artwork was clear and the music was soothing. The HOG were fun and not extremely hard. The game was rather enjoyable and relaxing to play with just enough challenge to keep you thinking. Try before you buy but I think you will agree that it is a nice game to play
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very entertaining Whereas there are a lot of games promising much in the beginning and then getting only worse, this game takes it the other way round.. when it starts one thinks "oh no, not again such a story" - and one feels as if one has played it already, but when it unfolds, it is a very pretty, entertaining and thoughtful made game. I do love the graphics very much, the music is great, i love the sound when you found an item in the HO-scene, i do like the cowboy-like person, who accompanies the hero, i love the story, which is not as usual as one might guess from experience with games like that.. and i do like the cute little ideas of mushrooms serving as a paint-plate etc. - it is really a very entertaining and good game - indeed:-)
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautifully Drawn and Relaxing HOPA Beautifully drawn game and, yes, there's a story! Was a relief not running room to room wondering what ridiculous object goes in what more ridiculous apparatus. So on and so on until game ends! Is a fairy tale style, straight forward game and unique items are expected. Through the looking glass, there's always a different world on the other side. Well done by Pivot Developers! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sleeper - Love These! Quite an old-school game, but beautifully done. And, for once, a male POV. Hurrah! Nice graphics, unobtrusive music, perhaps a little repetitive, a bit epic. More dialogue than I liked but it's believable and so is the voice acting. Occasional language errors in the HOS cost it a star - nothing more frustrating than searching for the wrong thing! Very nice SE.
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects & Voice Bits ... Not An Overly Stunning Game, With A Fair Bit Of Back-Tracking (The Jump Map Works Well) ... But Very Enjoyable to Play ... Some Of The Voice Bits Drag On For A While, But You Can Skip Them ... The Music Was A Bit Droll, So I Turned It Down ... Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fair SE This game was fairly good. Dialog was a bit Corney but the characters were good. Beautiful scenes and nice HO's, Plenty to do, good jump map, easy puzzles. Very well done. Story line was good. will go on my to buy list.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not spectacular but enjoyable This was a relaxing game set in a fantasy environment with colorful scenery that was quite creative. One moved forward at an easy going pace. For a standard edition game it was quite good, above average really. The story line was basic and straightforward: hero boy must rescue kidnapped girlfriend and save her from being forced to marry the evil one who wants to rule the kingdom. The artwork was crisp and the decors were varied The music was tranquil and soothing, almost too much so. The HO's were good, fun to do, not to hard but hard enough. The puzzles were fairly easy ... instructions were clear. The characters were a bit stiff and cartoon-ish as were their dialogs. There were a number of vocabulary errors throughout the game that were almost fun to try to figure out. Nevertheless, it would be better if these were avoided by competent proofreading before release of the game. Although the game was not very sophisticated it was quite enjoyable and relaxing to play with just enough challenge to keep you thinking. I bought this game with a coupon code and don' regret having done so !
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple, lazy day game... Hi all. Today we have an SE that is simple, but a bit different for some reason. At first glance, it seemed like an old school type of game and I was even waiting for a "click" penalty to show up...didn't. Graphics aren't too bad for this game, fairly clear and colors are bright and clean. Game play was good, no problems at all during the demo. Story seemed a little choppy and you really don't know quite what's going on or why until the end of the demo, which didn't make the story flow very well. That was odd to me, as there was no real purpose to what I was doing or why until then. Voice overs aren't bad, but very few of them. Sound FX are nice and music is rather soothing to listen to as well. There is a jump map, fortunately, as you will do a lot of running around and back-tracking on this one. Grab an extra pair of tennis shoes, because you will definitely need them. The map is almost too small and inconspicuous sitting next to the journal. Hint system worked well, but I did not care for the "flying paper airplane." That was a bit too much, just show me what I need. HOPs were a little bit of a junk pile, so you had to really look around for some items. Also did not care for the sound when you found an item, nor did I particularly care for the whirling vortex that sucked up the item when you did find it...too distracting. I don't remember finding a puzzle as such, or if I did, it wasn't anything special or challenging. I found this to be a very simple, no brainer type of game, which I do like on occasion, with no real challenge anywhere. I'm sure this will appeal to the beginners and anyone like me who has a PCC that I need to use or lose...besides, this is one of those "no brainer" days for me so I can use a quiet, non-taxing kind of game today. Yep, going to get it. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in game and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Magical World Of Elyrium Nathaniel and his fiancee, Gloria have just moved into their first home together. Gloria couldn't be more excited with the trove of treasures the previous owners left behind, except for the creepy antique mirror in the corner of the room. Her suspicions prove her right when the mirror seems to come to life, as it grabs her and yanks her through the mirror portal. Nathaniel may be in disbelief, but her certainly doesn't hesitate to enter the mirror portal, and enter another world....the magical world of Elyrium! This game won't qualify for game of the year, but it does qualify for a game with solid entertainment. The graphics aren't the best, but it doesn't hamper the game mechanics in the least bit, besides that, you will be too engrossed in the story to notice. The Hidden object Scenes are very well done, although some of the items are tiny, they are still identifiable, and there are plenty of interactive list finds to satisfy any HOS fan. The Mini games were uncomplicated, but fun. My favorite game was guiding a ship through a winding river, avoiding cyclones, rocks, sharks and giant octopus. If your ship doesn't avoid these obstacles you must start the course all over. Most of the tasks are logical, and there are plenty of activities to do in each scene. Although it wasn't a new task, I loved the talking old man in the door who asks you to solve three riddles before allowing you to enter the house, this really is an enjoyable game, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this game... and it's a standard version from the get go Pilot Games is a new developer using Magic Gate its initial offering to the HOPA world of games. From the start one of the more pleasing aspects is that we get a rare game in which the proposed savior of the day is MALE!!. Nathaniel and his new bride have entered into their first home. It doesn't take long before the woman, Olivia, is abducted by a ghoulish specter and taken through the mirror. Nate is able to follow her since the mirror is a portal to an alien world. He must perform certain tasks such as making a flute for a satyr, feeding a cat, formulating a growth potion etc. He does so via hidden object segments and puzzles typical to the genre. Some of the puzzles are clever although we have seen them all before. I likes one where a ship needs navigating through hazards such as whirlpools, reefs, avoiding deadly sea creatures. The game has its flaws. One is retrieving lockpicks from a " chicken " that is actually a crow. There are a few more similar typos. Either quality control is lacking or the developer does not use English as a first language. I really liked the way the hidden object scenes are handled with some items cleverly hidden in plain sight. I used up all of the demo time which went by rather fast since I became so engrossed by the game. Faces of Darkness is nothing new in its story telling and the typos and other goofs prevent me from calling this a 5 star effort. It is good enough to warrant an SE purchase or to use a free game code.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Game Firstly,this game has all the elements I like: a beautiful princess has fled her world with an evil mage hot on her heels. The mage has captured her kingdom and imprisoned her father. His evil has literally destroyed her world. And, to add insult to injury, he is forcing her to marry him. The princess flees her kingdom and enters a new world through a magic mirror. She falls for young man who becomes her hero and champion. And so, they must fight for their very existence. The graphics in this game are beautiful and engaging. The various worlds to which you travel are scenic and dangerous. The villain is evil. The HOS are very well done. I am an intermediate player, so some of the interactive puzzles were different and challenging. But the hint button, if you need it, charges quickly. But, after a while, I got tired of the back and forth. I would find one part of an object that needed fixing and then I'd have to go back upstairs or to another world to fix that object. It became tedious, like giving me the round-around. However, even though it was tedious for me, it's still a good game. I'd actually like to give it three and a half stars but, this board doesn't give half stars.
Date published: 2015-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some of the solutions seem completely random Overall I'm glad I got it free. Graphics are beautiful, game play is for the most part what you expect from a Hidden Object game. Though some of the puzzles/solutions seemed more random that normal, so they were often frustrating. They felt less like problem solving and more like search/click everywhere and hope to find the magic spot or item use. The voice acting and dialog was painful so I often skipped forward. The main character sounded more like he'd lost his sock than his fiancee.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the time Game was just okay HOPs were easy, puzzles okay waiting for hint to refill was annoying. Trying to find the mirror shards was annoying not knowing what rooms had the shards in was tough I was at the end and decided to quit playing. Not worth the money and time!
Date published: 2015-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Little More Magic, Please? Setting: you are Nathaniel. You and your fiancee Gloria are moving into an older home. Gloria is upstairs when you hear a noise and run up - only to watch her disappear through a portal in an old mirror. Compounding the problem, the mirror is first locked and then shattered. We don't know a lot about Gloria, but judging by her appearance alone, she definitely seems worth saving. What to do? Well calling the police probably won't help, but a call to the game police might be in order. The dashing Nathaniel is unable to rip tape from a box or clear away cobwebs with his hands. The artists evidently do not play golf either as they've drawn his golf bag containing both left-handed and right-handed clubs. The artistic style of the mirror world is very colorful, whimsical and fairy tale-looking. The "being" that sweeps in to take Gloria away arrives in a floating chariot with pink-jeweled wheels. There is a canoe made of leaves and branches. Butterflies are fluttering everywhere. There's even the obligatory hungry kitty to feed. There are three difficulty settings, Easy (no penalties), Advanced (no highlights), and Hard (no hints). However, I played on Advanced and the HO scenes were highlighted. During the trial you are required to make a potion. I had no idea why, or what the ingredients were supposed to be. The way I discovered was by clicking randomly around the scenes and reading the on-screen notes. Depending on where you click, different notes appear. There is also an included journal but it is not very helpful. The HO scenes are very straightforward - there were only 3 during the trial. There were even fewer puzzles, one consisted of guiding a ship through troubled waters. Most activity can be described as completing tasks, i.e., make a flute, fix a ladder, answer a few riddles. This game is likely to appeal to players who like to take their time and explore - in other words adventure players. It doesn't appear to be a bad game if you like the style and overlook the logical inconsistencies. It does have that fairy tale feel. And Gloria's pretty easy on the eyes too.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is this Throw Back Thursday? Years ago, I might have rated this one higher, but in today's standards, this is just an OK game. Story, graphics, and challenge were all OK, but even though old-school, this one does have lip moving voiceovers and an interactive map, which were a plus. HOs are list form, but items were well hidden, and there were some find fragments searches in certain areas, also, there were few puzzles. A beginner would find this game to be interesting and challenging, and that's who I would recommend this game to, but not the seasoned player. Never heard of this developer before, but they have a ways to go in order to compete with the current reliable developers out there.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got snookered by the good reviews....twice... Found this for $2.99 and needed one more on the last day of the month to keep from losing all my credits. Bought without demo because of all the star reviews. Apparently I had downloaded this game before and dumped it before finishing the demo. Slooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww gameplay. I really tried this time to work my way through. Even on the "easy" option, the hint and skip refreshed slowly, or just may have seemed that way because the game was so boring. One of those "pick up something here, now go all the way back and place it" games...arrrrrgh. Good thing it had a good transporter map. Voice-over for the main character was horrible..sounded like he was bored to death (maybe he had tried to play the game)! Finally could not take it anymore and shut it down about the time they entered the cave. I would have given it a 1 star, but I don't like the word "hate". Graphics and animations were pale on some scenes and vibrant on others. Very awkward game....Very. Don't waste your money...even at $2.99.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Much Saccharine! Okay, I'm not usually swayed by storylines and dialogue, but this is just too sticky sweet. The opening with the phrase "my beloved wife" should have tipped me off. Too bad because the game looked kind of cute. The music is nice and the alternate world is pretty. However, the cloying and annoying dialogue is just too distracting. This is a no buy for me - even with a free game code.
Date published: 2015-03-03
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_22567, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Magic Gate: Faces of Darkness

Venture into a magical world and experience the struggle of good versus evil!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.