Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(403.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

It's been too long since you've seen your best friend Kira, so of course you jumped at the chance to visit after she invites you to scenic Baumholder for the weekend. You've barely arrived and met her new husband Victor when a freak blizzard sets in, ruining a perfect summer day. When a dark tower of ice rises from the city square, ice giants rain down on the streets, freezing everyone and everything in their path. Who is controlling them and what do they want? Work together with Victor to save Kira and survive the deadly cold.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Save those you love in the bonus game!
  • Collect lushly illustrated wallpapers and concept art
  • Gain access to the detailed strategy guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 973 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(403.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK Game I wonder if other reviewers who rated this game so highly actually played the whole game. I did, and while it started out OK, it slowly, but surely, drifted into ridiculousness and boredom. I should have known that it would when the "hero" was introduced as Victor Snow. Give me a break! There are many things out of place for the time and setting, too. The game is well produced, and game play is good. There is an informative jump map, and you can turn the recharge time down to one second if you wish. The main game ends without an end to the story, a very annoying feature. To make matters worse, the bonus chapter picks up where you left off, but continues with a different story - a ridiculous one at that. Very poorly done. This game is yet another one in the continuing saga of poor CE games where minor effort is put in for twice the price. This game would be OK as a SE, but not as a CE.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wanting to like just is not enough I have liked a number of these Mystery of the Ancients games enough to buy the CE. This one is a no buy for me. It was boring. Having giant meteors of ice crash down is not the excitement I am looking for in a game. I want puzzles that are fun to figure out, HO scenes that I delight to find things in. Somehow this one just dragged on. The puzzles were easy, there were rabbits that one had to find and also figurines. The actions that were required were humdrum played in other games. I really wanted to like it and expected to from other reviews, but it just fizzled.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wears out its welcome It is cold and snowy where I live in the Hudson Valley and so somehow this game starts out being a welcome seasonal diversion. And the visual realization is very nice and the sound ok as are the puzzles and games. BUT the story is SO predictable and hackneyed that I tired early and yet kept going and each plot development seemed less imaginative than the one before and then the formula conclusion pushes the envelope a little too far for even someone as compulsive as I am by leading into the bonus story in which I found mysself having absolutely no interest. I think perhaps we should withhold generous grades for these kinds of productions and hold out for better things which lately have been alarmingly few.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yawn... My review is only for the trial because I won't be purchasing the Collector's Edition this time. Get this to unlock that, so you can get this and unlock the other thing to get something else. Who locks up tweezers with an intricate lock? I don't - and when they make me do that in a game, I get tired. The story has been done a lot recently. While the art is pretty well done and the music is OK, there just isn't enough to sink my teeth into here. The H.O. scenes are OK but pretty simple as are the mini-games I ran into. I'll revisit the S.E. when it's released if I have an available coupon...but that's about as far as I'll go with it. Try it for yourself.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This Deadly Cold Is No Mystery Setting: Your best friend Kira has recently gotten married and has invited you to visit her town of Baumholder. The weather reports are warning of an impending summertime blizzard. Just after you arrive, a huge icy tower shoots up in the distance, spewing snowy clouds of destruction and ice men. Oddities: First, Kira's husband, whose name happens to be Victor Snow *ahem*, is listed as 7'-0" tall but, unless Kira is really tall, he's drawn much shorter. Second, it's time-period challenged. Victor's DOB is listed as 1977 on his license, issued in 2006. But there's a 1970's era TV and camera, and the autos date to the 1950's. Also, their house uses old style electrical fuses. Thirdly , they show a manhole cover held down with two Phillips head screws. Lastly, there is a raccoon who is apparently a pet and has his own lockable door. The palette is heavy on the blues, but rather unimaginatively so. Most scenes are saturated with that familiar shade of light blue that we've seen a thousand times before. The quality of the voices was average, and I was not bothered by Kira's voice. However, if she is my best friend I have questions about my own character as she is somewhat of a ditz. Music was of the muzak type. Hidden object scenes were interactive semi-silhouette type. Puzzle solutions were very simple. Transportable map with objectives. There is much hand-holding early on, even with the optional tutorial turned off. As play approached the end of the trial, this tapered off. The problem is that the story is unimaginative as well, just a rehash of of the usual characters. The trial ends with a pseudo surprise that you knew was coming. I found my interest waning by then. Skip lovers: There are the usual three difficulty settings, plus custom. There is one slider which controls both the Hint and Skip recharge, and its configurable anywhere from 1 to 90 seconds. Extras and pseudo extras: Six collectible character figures, 20 achievements (including pseudo ones) and 25 collectible hares. Why hares? Not sure. These were mostly well hidden. Strategy guide, bonus level, other stuff. The collectible hares were the most appealing feature. However, I found it lacking in just about every other area so, if I ever decide to buy, I'll choose the tortoise over the hare and wait for the SE. Two and 1/2 melting ice men who should come in from the Deadly Cold
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of luke warm This isn't a bad game, just not a CE. Fun factor was OK, but not challenging. Graphics and sound was quite well done, challenge level is on the week side, and storyline is not new but not boring. I thin this game in the SE version will work fine on a cold day with nothing better to do, I most likely will purchase the SE, when it becomes available. Maybe will try it with a different level of difficulty to see if it is more entertaining. I do recommend, just not in this version so will not indicate as recommended.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not the best i usually finish the free hour on games but this just didn't hold my interest. things seemed disjointed. some objects u use you would never guess that is what they would be used for. these games should make better since . I may buy when its standard but definitely not a CE just not good enough for that price
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Huge Letdown What a horrid addition to an otherwise brilliant series of games. Do we really need to have our gameplay interrupted every three mouse clicks by annoying character interaction, or an animation of ice crawling on every single thing we touch? We get it, it’s frozen! After the pure genius that was Mystery of the Ancients: Three Guardians, this game is a disheartening letdown. If the completionist in you simply must own this title, do yourself a favor and wait for a sale. A major sale.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough game play time; hardly any hidden objects The game is fun, but you spend more time trying to figure out where to find objects for missions than playing actual hidden object games/boards. There are two games and once you've finished each story line the game is over. There is three to four days, max, of game time and you've finished all levels and there's nothing else for you to do. I don't think it's worth the money.
Date published: 2015-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from EVEN BEGINNERS DESERVE BETTER THAN THIS Before I go any further, please notice that the link to the game forum has been moved since BFG changed their "look". Its in the upper right hand corner of each game page and is now called "Get game tips". SO MUCH INFO that you will not find in the reviews section to be found there! I cannot speak about the complete game. I only played the demo and that was enough for me! I just laughed out loud when Totty_Tara used the word "drivel", because she was SO right on! Ridiculous drivel. We find needed items in the MOST ridiculous places. A buried screwdriver beside a doll who will not let go of a fan until you put her hair in a pigtail. A car jack holding up a TV stand that's missing a leg. It seems like the Devs created a world, then dropped in boxes and piles of stuff where you find the items you need to open other boxes, bags, windows, etc. Some of the character animation was so comical! I laughed every time I saw an ice giant lumbering around on his toes. Victor Snow was proportional when he was standing still but whenever he confronted a giant he looked like a different person! A muscle-bound rectangle with barely any articulation. Simple puzzles and HOGs, same-story-different-day, forgettable music, didn't need the strategy guide, hardly any thinking required--sometimes to the point of the game performing some actions for you. The most entertaining part was locating the hares. Not fun and definitely not CE worthy, IMO. How do you recommend a game when the best you can say about it is "maybe it would be good if you didn't have anything else to do"? I can't.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Who likes a good story? If you like an imaginative and logical story-line then don't go near this one! Admittedly I only played the demo but I really couldnt contemplate actually spending money on this drivel! I got the impression the developers thought they had some interesting puzzles (they didn't!) and threw together a story with about 5 seconds thought! I've always hated games that make little sense - how many times have we seen people in these games hide their spare front door key in a box located 5 streets away? - and this steps over that line in almost every way! The graphics and animations are second-rate, the voices are decidedly stereo-typed and I finished the demo in no time at all! Overall one of the worst HOGs in quite a while, sad to say! I would only recommend it for a beginner and even then I would be worried that it might put them off for life! Enjoy! lol
Date published: 2015-02-06
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_22390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

Ice giants are attacking citizens as a deadly blizzard arrives.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.