The House on Usher

The House on Usher

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(195.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The quirky Angie Dee, a rookie real estate agent, has been sent to sell her first home. The property is a split level home on Usher Street. Unfortunately, the property was abandoned by its owners in the 1970s and the agent must find out why before a contract can be signed. Help Angie explore the house, solve puzzles, and clean up bugs and cobwebs to discover the mysterious secret about the property. Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe, The House on Usher is a light-hearted hidden object adventure that will keep you giggling all the way to the climatic ending.

  • Learn about the characters and culture of 1970s suburbia
  • Change difficulty modes to suit your play style
  • Find out what’s haunting this suburban ranch house

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 232 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The House on Usher

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(195.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The House on Usher is rated 2.0 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For Sale: House on Usher - Price: Your Eyesight I felt compelled to review this game because I have been disappointed with the level of challenge lately provided by the average game. To be sure, this game provides a challenge - unfortunately it is to your eyes, not your brain. There is some thought required to decipher the names of some of the objects, but mostly it is reminiscent of artwork of five years ago - drab, blurry and flat. Too bad, because the game itself was interesting and kind of fun once you get into the spirit of it. I could do without the pink and flowery cell phone, but the concept of fixing up a dilapidated house, ceilings collapsing around you, finding unexpected things everywhere, with a demanding boss constantly hassling you and expecting miracles was fairly amusing. With some determination, I managed to find all the cobwebs and bugs in all but one scene during the trial time (yes, I played to the end - do I get a prize for that? ). All the while I felt I was playing something someone found in an old house on Usher and decided to release. Send this one back to the development team to fix up. I'll pass on the House, and keep my eyesight.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TOO HARD! BASED ON DEMO At first, the game gives a good impression. It’s basic, but the graphics are dark but good. The sound effects and music are appropriate. The dialogue is amusing and easily understood (also skippable). But this iHOG, and it really is about the Hidden Object scenes, I never even found a puzzle before I had to give up playing, is just a bit too weird. Pity, it has some nifty ideas. I really like the story for instance. As a new real estate agent, you are given the most tedious assignment! Spruce up this suburban deserted house and find out what drove the previous inhabitants to leave so abruptly that most of their stuff is still here, lying in HOP junk piles *giggle*. And I love the 60s feel of the place (or is it 70s?). I don’t like that we have to drag the inventory item to where it must be used, and that the inventory bar is not lockable. However, I also like finding cobwebs and bugs in every location. We are here, after all, to clean up a deserted house for property inspections! So, in each location, close up shot and window, there is an indication of how many of these creepies there are and how many you’ve found. Although you know how many there are in a location, there is no hint for this element of the game. But even after completing a HOP, you can return to it to find remaining bugs. This is a fun idea. But having to exit using the back arrow, which is in the top left, from everything, HOP scene, locations, everything. That is not a fun idea. It’s just irritating. About the HOPs. They are not only TOO HARD!!!, but weird as well. The graphics are quite dark, and seeing items is difficult. But worse, they are often very small, and very well integrated into the scene. The scenes are ‘busy’, and a small pink gun-like silhouette gets pretty much rendered invisible in a splotch of pink paint. As well, when you find an item, the word on the list is heightened with yellow, until the next item you find, when it will become shaded. Why this is so totally escapes me. I can see no point to it whatsoever. I never did get to a puzzle. Or very far into the game, in the 30 minutes I gave it a shot. It is too hard for me, I admit it. For HOPA (as opposed to iHOG) fans, this game does not have much to offer. It is almost exclusively very hard HOP scenes, and not much of anything else. But it is quirky, and cheeky, and if you are really, really good at HOPs, you might find this an interesting challenge.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from House on Usher Is Stuck In A Time Warp The House on Usher could have been a fantastic game. Its seriously quirky. You play a real estate agent trying to sell a house that is stuck in 70's decor. You have to clean the property up by finding bugs and cobwebs interspersed with hidden object hunts. Whether it was intentional or not, the game irritated me from the get-go. It only has two game level choices, easy or hard. I played on the hard level and it only made me wonder what the easy level was like, as a kid could play the hard level. It forces a tutorial on you that keeps popping up as well as "phone calls" from your broker. You earn extra money if you find all the bugs and cobwebs in scenes, but it gets confusing as they are also in with the hidden objects. There is a counter in the upper left telling you how many items are. A lot of the bugs and webs are very very light colored and very tiny. Also, you have to drag whatever item you want to use, you can't just click on it. You have to manually click on the inventory tab as well. I expect more out of a game than old school at this point in time and this one is lacking.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT A GOOD USE OF YOUR TIME I played the one hour demo and as a result decided not to purchase the game, even with a coupon, All the other reviewers' comments about the items being too small and too hard to see against the background are right on the money. I don't mind a challenge, but there has to be some way to feel you have a chance at finding an object. This game just left me with a feeling of frustration. A challenge is when you have to use a hint and when you see the object you tell yourself that you should have been able to find that. Frustration comes when the hint shows the object and "clicks" it for you and you still have no idea what the object looked like or how you could have been able to find it. There is a map, but it tells you nothing about where you are or where there are things that need to be done. It will transport you from place to place. One reviewer talked about playing an updated version that had some of the "bugs" worked out, but I'm not sure this is it. Although there was a sort of tutorial, there were a lot of things that were not explained. What does it mean when the words on the list turn yellow? Another review answered this one to say it would remain yellow until you clicked on the next object. What possible purpose does this serve? At other times clicking on something produced a question mark. This was also never ecplained. Challenging is good; frustration is not.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring The graphics are too small. Even using the magnifier doesn't help. The game would be ok if the graphics were larger.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Annoying! The game's graphics are horrible. It is really hard to see the items you are looking for and the story was boring. A very annoying game. Couldn't finish the demo.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Modern Day Abandoned House You are a brand new realtor and your boss has given you your first assignment. You need to clean up and increase the price of the house which has a base cost of 25,000. The more you clean, the more you can sell the house for. Good thing you are not afraid of spiders, cobwebs and lots of bugs. Having said that, this little game had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it is very simplistic. You have two levels, easy and hard. You cannot adjust music or sound (it's either on or off#. The map, though, is interactive. Your hint button is a tube of lipstick #which I used more that I have ever before) and it cannot be used when looking for cobwebs and bugs. The colors are pretty, but some scenes are very blurry. The cobwebs and bugs are so small and hard to see that I wanted to hunt up a magnifying glass. By the time I was done with the demo my eyes were blurry. After finishing the hos you needed to find the cobwebs and bugs in that scene. The inventory list of the hos was difficult as the words didn't go away right away, making me wonder if I had actually found the item or not. I actually liked the storyline and what needed to be done, but I can't get past the problems with what I needed to find and how most of the time I found some of what I was looking for just by luck.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It could have been a really fun game, but ..... Sluggish game play, poor graphics, juvenille story line and no real point kind of ruined this game. I used a free game coupon to buy this game and it really wasn't worth it. My only receommendation for this game is that the developers pull it off the market and rework the whole thing to exploit the potential for fun.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of time... Hi all. Well, what can I say about this game today? First of all, no Realtor "cleans" a house! Graphics are very cartoon like and extremely old school. Colors are very dark. Game play was okay, no problems. Music was fun. Voice overs were a little over the top, somewhat cheesy, and there was a lot of voice mail back and forth. The only way I could get rid of the phone was to click on the skip button, no "X" out on that one. There is a map, but it only shows the outline of the home, not rooms. Maybe they show up later in the game. Inventory bar does not lock and there is a click penalty of a darkened screen for a few seconds. You had to find a certain number of cobwebs and bugs in each and every scene and each scene was different. Cobwebs were extremely light and hard to see and the bugs were extremely small and very hard to see. HOPs were quite simple and the cobwebs and bugs were also to be found there as well. Didn't run across any puzzles or games, but only lasted 30 minutes. I got as far as in the house and up the stairs before quitting. Even with my glasses on, I had to squint to see things and it wasn't worth a headache to keep going. I guess I have higher expectations of games than some people, so I don't automatically give a high rating, and I seldom do not recommend a game for one reason or another. That being said, I do not recommend this one to even a beginner, for all the reasons listed above. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice concept - hard to see. Screen shots were way to dark for me. No easy flow through the game.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for me Its to childish, characters are silly, game moves slow. even on hard its not challenging for me.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring on the wrecking ball I could barely stand 5 minutes of this "game." Lots of dialog; some dumb howling in the background, and other annoying sounds. If you click a bit too much, you get a stuck screen for a second or so. Only 2 modes of play:easy and hard. A constant tutorial you can't skip. Keep seeing cell phone messages between yourself (rookie real estate agent) and your boss. All in all, "yuck."
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Headache Inducing!!! Objects were so miniscule that it took all the fun, if any, out of the game. That's not making it challenging just really, really annoying. And I don't know who qc'd this but the only way to get off the phone was to hit the skip button!? By the time I finished the time trial, I truly did have a headache from the eye strain.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from And I Was So Ready To Like This.... I don't need slick and dazzling details to enjoy a game. I saw the size of it and thought just maybe it was something different. It is, just not in the way I hoped. You're a budding real estate agent with an overly optimistic boss who speaks to you via cell phone about the House On Usher - a run down home with a history. It's your job to make it a showplace and sell it for as much as you can - after you clean it up and find out it's secrets. The HOs are quite tedious,unrealistic piles of tiny out of context, not to scale items. The action is somewhat amusing - you talking to yourself and your boss, who is trying to make you believe you can do it, but guys - I was in high school during the 70s. I'm not finding the promised nostalgia. Graphics are dark and cluttered and hunting for bugs and cobwebs is not only monotonous, but frustratingly difficult. All the challenge relies on the microscopic size of the items you're looking for. The mechanics are stiff and clunky. Scenes don't close down when you're done with them and you have to "skip" to exit from conversations. Whatever edge it might have had in being unique is lost in the distraction of navigation. I wish I could tell you to just try it for yourself, and of course you should, but I really can't recommend that you even use a free credit on this one.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unacceptably low graphic and UI quality The theme of the game is, apparently, supposed to be a 1970's flashback one. Unfortunately, the graphics, sound, and UI share this theme. They are clunky and not at all user-friendly. Example, I had to hit the Skip button at the end of every cut scene to get back to the game. The graphics are grainy and the contrast is too high. This problem becomes particularly acute in the hidden object scenes where, after I searched in frustration for an item, the hint button circled an absolutely unrecognizable blur of hot pink and said it was a key. Even compared to many games from years ago this one has unacceptably low graphic quality. The game began with me searching for the volume control but the game seems to have only two sound settings...on and off. In order to have some idea of what is going on I had to listen to an annoying voice-over at a volume much higher than I wanted to hear it. The game continued with an enforced tutorial that I couldn't get rid of complete with annoying sound effects. The HOS, as mentioned above, suffer from the poor graphics that pervade the game. They also have this weird device where the list items turn different colors when you have found them making it tough to know what you've found and what you haven't. They also contain items on the list that I had no way to know what they meant. For example, the list wanted "Famous record label" and the answer was an apple. Not being a child of the 70's I had no idea what they meant. People who are children of the 70's are likely to complain that this game is impossible for their older eyes. I have a fondness for the older style HOP games and am pretty lenient when it comes to judging such a game against current quality standards. I've played/rated many games that are far better than this one although they were introduced years ago. For example, Mystery Case Files Huntsville (2005) is credited as the first HOP game ever made and that game blows this one away in graphics quality and UI. There is just no excuse for the lack of quality here. It's not worth struggling through a game where the developer couldn't be bothered to allow me to adjust the volume or skip the tutorial. This is especially true given the eye-searing graphics and annoying voice-over voices. I had to quit after about 10 minutes of play
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from House on Usher Usher it out. It was just awful, and I quit after about 10 minutes.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hidden objects are way too small it's not fun because the hidden objects are so small and difficult to see. There aren't always hints even on the easy setting so sometimes you're just stuck clicking around until you accidentally get something.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WASTEFUL I could not wait for this demo to get over so I could look at the reviews! As I expected, most felt the same as me. A total waste of time. Big Loser! Do not waste YOUR time!
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not like this game at all!!! It sucked!!! Did not provide enough light. No helpful hints in certain areas, did not really understand what to do once you found objects in an area that was completed. Not a good game at all!!!!
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from awful The graphics in this game are the worst. Couldn't find things you were looking for. Just awful. what else can I say?
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SORRY but if i could give this a ZERO i would ... game has NO OPTIONS, no GAMEPLAY QUALITY and no sophistication ... the graphics are good, but who cares or who can even see them ... couldn't get past the first voiceover ... i have NEVER given a review like this before ... too bad ...
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I REALLY Wanted to Like This One Despite reading some of the Reviews, I thought it was worth a try and downloaded the demo. I agree with the previous Posts stating that the concept is good but there's something lost in the execution. Graphics are truly horrid and it felt like I was playing a game that was just thrown out there with not a lot of thought or detail to the "flow" of the game. I lasted 15 minutes and not a moment longer.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The House On "What Were They Thinking". Did they let a new dev construct this game? If so, don't let them near any game construction again!!! This game is absolutely DREADFUL. The music/sound effects are horrible & the HOS were a mishmash, dark & very hard to make out. After I got into the house & 2 HOS popped up, one after another I called it quits!!! This game has NO redeeming factors!!!
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible game Don't even waste your time on the demo for this dog. This has got to be one of the worst games BFG has offered. There is absolutely nothing good about it.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from really wanted to like this game but got stuck I am stuck at the car. hint just keeps telling me to look under the car but I can't get there. too bad it seems like a good game but obviously needs some kinks worked out. until they are I can't recommend the game.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me The bugs are too small and very hard to find, the cob webs are small and faint, and I was using the easy mode, very furstating! Hint poor, does not point to problem correctly. Dissapointing at best.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a Mess! This is an odd little game right from the beginning. There is no option to enter your player name and, as far as I can determine, the only option (at the beginning) is to select between the hard or easy mode of gameplay. Once we get into the game if we click on the menu button then we do have an option to turn off some of the sound items. It looks like The House on Usher is perhaps one of the very rare games from a US based developer and what a disappointment their effort is to say the least. This team needs to go back to the drawing board and figure out what they need to do to present a really good HOPA game. It is a joke to call this a hidden object game because it is virtually impossible to find most of the items. The artistic rendering of many items is nothing more than a microscopic blob of color, and if we resort to the old click around method, we are penalized after the third click. The music is annoying after about 30 seconds and I couldn’t turn it off soon enough. The graphics are very dark which makes the very itty-bitty, artistically poor items impossible to find. Items are often only a puddle a color on the screen with very little definition. I think a third-grader could most likely design better graphics. What could have been a very quirky and fun little game became a nightmare with the first hidden object scene. The game is so tedious and impossible that I couldn’t wait to uninstall it from my game manager. Sorry folks, this House on Usher is a “no sale” for me. My advice is don’t even waste your time installing this one.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deadful How dreadful, took 14 minutes off the Demo time to decide to uninstall! Don't even waste your time to download this one as you will probably uninstall in less time then it took to install. I don't know where to begin as there was not one thing I liked and play was a little confusing. Also, nothing closed on it's own and you had to click the arrow at the top to close that window, even the constant stupid cell phone text. I was in the mood for more of a silly game for a change, but this is more stupid than silly, unless you enjoy silly stupid.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Game Ever I cant believe that BFG would even offer this horrible game. One star is actually generous. HOGs are terrible. They also want you to "clean" the house, which consists of finding almost invisible cobwebs and bugs. No interaction with objects. Hated it! I wouldn't buy the game nor would I play the full version if it was offered free of charge.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from yawner AS usual, you have to find a way into a house .As usual, the first hidden objects are tossed around the exterior, but this is not a mansion. It is a pokey little house. YOu acquire keys, a bobby pin and a hammer. Once inside the house, you are almost beaned by a falling ceiling. This is where the game lost me. Instead of doing anything, the character calls her boss and looks in the mirror. The asides with the boss are done on a cell phone. Bah.
Date published: 2014-07-14
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_21408, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The House on Usher

Real estate agent Angie Dee must get her first home ready for sale. Explore, solve puzzles and clean cobwebs to unravel the house’s mystery in this amusing adventure.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.