Redemption Cemetery: Bitter Frost
Exclusive

Redemption Cemetery: Bitter Frost

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(478.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your house is warm and ready for Christmas Eve when an unexpected visitor magically appears at your window. Your ancestor, the Owl Spirit, begs your help. You must stop the jealous and vindictive Wenonah, the Spirit of Cold, from destroying your ancestors. If she succeeds in her terrible plan, she'll make sure you'll never be born! A photo album is the key to stopping her, but can a mere mortal handle this ghostly task? Travel through time to save your grandparents from her bitter, icy grasp!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 639 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Redemption Cemetery: Bitter Frost

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(478.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Redemption Cemetery: Bitter Frost is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Talk About a Woman Scorned Based on the Demo. The storyline of this game starts with your ancestor having scorned Wenonah, the Spirit of Cold. Just like you shouldn't fool with Mother Nature, you certainly shouldn't fool with a Spirit that can throw your whole world into a deep freeze. The graphics and visuals are great. Soundtrack and voice overs are very good. Mini puzzles and hidden object games range from relatively easy to moderately difficult. The SE is as equally good as the CE. In fact this seems to be the better buy.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feel The Cold! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS At the end of my review of the CE demo, I had not decided if this game successfully fits in with the Redemption Cemetery theme. Well, end of game, and I am still wondering. I can’t make up my mind whether this a well done tilt at thrusting Red Cem into a more varied and interesting universe, while maintaining its very successful structure, or a total failure to connect with the earlier games. In truth, despite being a 100% sold fan of the Redemption Cemetery series, I never really got into this one. Admittedly, sometimes it takes 2 or 3 playings of these games to really understand them. And this game has all the right ingredients. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Great visuals, both in technique and choice of subject. From the opening scenes, everything in this game is beautiful. (gorgeous ancestor). Cut scenes were excellent, graphics clear, voiceovers very good. Later in the game, some of the characters’ voiceovers are annoying. No attempt at lip synch, which I approve. Music includes some eerie vocals, but can get a bit repetitive. Some excellent ambient sounds. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Well, it’s still like the previous games. In order to save our blood line and remain in existence ourselves we must save 3 ancestors that the Spirit of Cold has targeted. She is jealous of Sheenah, our original Native American foremother, who wed Koturi, the Owl Spirit (he’s the cute one – oh, but human). Each ancestor’s salvation is a vignette in the game, and when all 3 are saved, we will have succeeded. And can get back to the Christmas tree and all those lovely presents! Nearing the end, I noticed some inconsistencies in the story, annoying, but probably only for a pedant like me. There was also an annoying glitch. Neither of these things had a great impact on play, but it’s the first time I can recall ERS making these kinds of mistakes. GAMEPLAY The gameplay has some original parts, but is mostly balanced between 11 HOPs (visited twice) and 18 puzzles. The adventure play is fairly logical but not always intuitive. I used the directional hint much more than I like to. The HOPs are in several forms. The interactive word lists are a bit different. Each item reveals the piece of a puzzle which is done at the end to get the inventory item. List HOPs can also be switched to a Match 3 game. There are a couple of progressive silhouette HOPs and “multiples of”. There is one originally designed replace items HOP as well. Puzzles are not too bad for the most part, but I had to skip a couple near the end. One new puzzle was used to translate between chapters, and it was a tricky but ingenious and intriguing one. One excellent feature – you can choose the casual or hard version of certain puzzles! Great idea! This is on top of the choice between 3 play modes or a custom mode in the options. Another feature is the “grow feather”. This allowed certain inventory items to be increased in size, e.g. scissors into garden shears. Some items could also be combined in inventory. COMBINED IMPACT Frustration - because I could never quite get on top of it and go with the flow, and pleasure - at the beauty, imaginative ideas and interesting gameplay. Even with my reservations, this is a great game, just not my favourite Redemption Cemetery game.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Artwork, Subpar Game I have enjoyed the other Redemption Cemetery games enough that I've played each them more than once, which is rare for me. This one didn't grab me. Like another reviewer, I found it necessary to use too many hints, and the Christmas theme is odd when trying to defeat an ancient Native American spirit. I'm going to pass on this one, in spite of the very beautiful graphics, which really are superb. I'd rate the artwork as a new pinnacle for this developer. Too bad the rest of the game doesn't seem up to par.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't finish the DEMO. Will rate OK, rather than DISLIKE. Just not up to standard. Poor story, uninteresting scenes and flat artwork make this a no-buy for me.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as past Redemption Cemetery games I'll keep this short: based on the demo, this game is mediocre at best. Definitely not as interesting or challenging as past Redemption Cemetery games. While the graphics are quite good, the story line is boring. And everything is decorated for Christmas (when the CE was released), which makes it rather irrelevant now that we're at the end of January. There's nothing new or challenging about any of the puzzles or HOGS -- and there's a clunkiness about the game play. I usually get Redemption Cemetery games as soon as the SE becomes available, but I'm passing on this one.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good story, but ridiculous things to do Other reviewers have stated that they don't like the story because of the time paradox: If you kill your grandfather, you will never be born. Others have disliked the Christmas theme because the SE came out after Christmas. I am ok with both of these. "Back to the Future" is a fun concept! And the way you have to save your ancestors is still in "Redemption Cemetery" fashion, which is fun! But the things you have to do to meet your goals are ridiculous at best. To explain what I mean, I will have to give a couple of spoilers. None of them affects the plot of the story, so it only "spoils" your having to figure out what to do in a couple of spots. For example, you have to go into a tree house (in a bizarre fashion) to get to a rope you can use to slide down to the greenhouse to get into the mansion. Ok. But since there is apparently no way out of the greenhouse except to go back the way you came, how do you slide UP the rope? But that's what you do! The second one I will mention is much worse. You come across an ice wolf, which you tame with magic and it becomes a cute puppy. Ok. But now you have a dripping puppy, which you are supposed to use as a clean source of water to make a snowflake for another item! Huh? Other things include using a small lighter to melt a lot of ice or making an upside down, broken snowman with a bad hat happy by giving it a new hat. Huh? Or having a skeleton release a shovel by putting a ruby in its wrist. Huh? The game is littered with these silly solutions to problems. They are in no way intuitive, though you do get decent help with the hints and the map. But I want to be able to logically work my way through a game, using the hint key sparingly. When the actions you must do make no sense, it is difficult to allow yourself to enjoy the story and the game.
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Corny, confusing, awkward and poorly drawn. I gave up trying to enjoy with this game. The map is terrible, the story is not very interesting. HOPs are poorly drawn and inaccurate. The previous Redemption Cemetery games were better.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too short Game was ok, but way too short. Not very impressed.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bitter. Indeed, Bitter. Games are either driven by the story line that includes HOGs and Mini-games or they are powered by the HOGs and Mini-games which are held loosely together by the story line. On occasion the genius games offer both. Bitterly, this game offers none of the above. The storyline is a mess, frankly. It begins with your ancestor Koturi telling you that you must go back in time to save your (other?) ancestors and "make things right" or else you will never be born. But wait. You are born...you're here. You're the star of the story. There are many cutscenes. A mother and her daughter star in one. They have a fight. It reminded me of Joan Crawford and Christina in Mommy Dearest. Little girl has messed with mommy's things, denies it and is charged with being a LIAR by mommy. At another point in time I'm sure I caught overtones of The Wizard of Oz. You meet the awful Spirit of Cold, Wenonah. She stands in the way of you making things right and saving your ancestors...and, apparently, saving yourself. One little side note: Koturi pronounces Wenonah's name with a German-sounding W...as in Venonah. Wenonah herself pronounces it with a standard W sound. FUN FACTOR: It's definitely not Christmas Eve. VISUAL/SOUND QUALITY: Visual: Spectacular graphics. Like I've rarely seen before. I felt like I was in the middle of Christmas at Joan's house. Brightly lit. Beautiful. Sound: Background music is great. Voice acting Not so great. It's never right on. Koturi, for instance seems bored. Wenonah is very over-dramatic. Other cut-scene characters are just characterizations. Visual and Sound come together in lip synching, or, wait, no they don't because they are not synched. That's more than a little irritating. Hasn't that puzzle been solved by now? LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: HOGs: If they prove too tough for you you can move on to Match 3 play instead. They will not prove too tough for you. They are pedestrian, in fact, and provide no challenge. Mini-Games: I played nothing new, and didn't notice any new twist. I didn't find them particularly challenging. This is the first review where I've been at a total loss to describe what's gone on. As I said at the top, this is just a mess. I think the only reason this game has a Christmas theme is so that it could be originally released as a Collector's Edition at Christmas time. The release of the Special Edition now makes ZERO sense. So IF you have to decide which to get, either the SE or the CE, here's what you get with the CE: 1. Bonus Play 2. The "Who cares assortment" of Wall Papers, Concept Art, Screen Savers, Movies and Music. 3. Replayable Mini-games (18) and HOGs (11). 4. Collectibles (snowflakes, which have some barter value, as you can buy things with them). 5. Achievements (the standard who cares assortment). 6. Strategy Guide. The extra CE items don't matter. You shouldn't buy the CE. You shouldn't buy the SE. You should rent Mommy Dearest, or The Wizard of Oz, or It's A Wonderful Life. Don't buy this game. I'm really sorry I can't be more positive about it. I'm positive about one thing: I'm positive you should skip it.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never got into it I had to quit after one hour, I forced myself to stay with it until I got so irritated I had to stop ! It has nothing to do with the creepy previous redemption cemetery, it is boring, stiff, poor tech, poor drawings, this was a lousy game, thank god it was a credit so I did not pay, if I had had paid $13 for this I would have asked for my money back ! Shame on whoever thought it was good enough for that redemption franchise !
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from same old games Here we go again, another hidden object game when we could have a new time management game. Big fish is known for hidden object games, even thou they not good ones. This game the story line game sucks its boring, and slow
Date published: 2014-01-25
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_20436, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Redemption Cemetery: Bitter Frost

Stop the bitter Spirit of Cold from killing your ancestors!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.