Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(379.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You and your colleague, Detective Dupin, have accepted an odd case at the ancient House of Usher – to find the twin sister of Roderick, who has vanished without a trace. As you delve deeper into the mystery, the connection between the twin’s malady and the old estate appears even more entwined. Why are townspeople disappearing? What secret is locked in the forbidden library? And can you and Dupin find the answers before more innocent victims are claimed?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to uncover more mysteries
  • Use the available Strategy Guide
  • Earn Achievements
  • Purchase collectible items for your exam room
  • Get wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 682 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Drug Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(379.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long fun game This was a great game for me, the puzzles were not to difficult (also you can adjust the skip time to fit you). Lots of places to explore - loved the animals.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detective Dupin, need I say more? I love all of the Dark Tales series by Edgar Allen Poe! This one is by far the best! I have just refurbished myself on the Edgar Allen Poe classics as a result of this game. I know a lot of people have said it's not Poe, but if you've read his works and experienced them on film then you'll realize it is the same story if only in parts. I really enjoyed this game more than it's predecessors, although I can only review the collector's edition, I'm not sure what the SE may be missing. Graphics are beautiful, games are a bit easy most of the time, which I like. Dupin, beautiful as ever, but somehow turned into a Southern American? I'm just waiting for him to put a pair of spurs on his boots! I relish the English gentleman of previous Dark Tales. Aside from Dupin's voice, I highly recommend the CE since you don't really get the answers you want without the bonus chapter.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play It Best game from ERS. Tricky around the circles, check forum. Loved the hidden games.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Candy Really loved this game. I am a fan of all the Edgar Allen Poe games.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game The HOS in this game were varied, although relatively easy. Since I love to play a game more for the enjoyment out of it rather than the challenge, I like the fact I can change the length of time on the Hint and Skip buttons (after 42 years of working retail sales I've had my fill of challenge--lolol) The storyline itself peaked my interest because I am a fan of Poe.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Poe and his stories ERS did a good job Great game, love the colors and graphic's and I thought it was a great game. I really like ERS games.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Poe Games I love this game, just right for me. I do like to play casual. As a CE not much there, but as to the price I pay, the bonus chapter and it alone is worth it for me. Nice long game. Thank You Devs love it, want more :)).
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Edgar Allan Poe games This one was really great. The HO's mixed it up which I like. Beautifully drawn and great characters. The story drew me in and held me. There was nothing not to like about this game. Must have list and already the fourth game this year that seems a great contender for game of the year.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winning Combination! What a wonderful game. Winning combination: Ers Games, Edgar Allan Poe and Inspector Dubin. I just started the game and I am enthralled. Graffics are just beautiful, HOS's have a wonderful twist in them, and I love all the intricacies of smallest details - like a playful rat observing all I do. There is a map, toolkit, a wonderful inspired story line - what more can I want. Cant wait to get back to the game.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Story, Brilliant Gameplay... What More Could You Want? I was extremely excited when I heard that the new Dark Tales was coming out, so I downloaded without hesitation. I wasn't disappointed! This may be the best Dark Tales yet and is ERS's best in a long time! Normally I'd wait for the SE, but I don't think I can wait that long! The story takes me back to the old ERS: Haunting, creepy and addicting. This story had me hooked from the get go. It was so exciting, I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next. I loved every second of it. The characters in there are really creepy, but so cool at the same time. Especially the Usher Twins, and what's up with the maid? And that creepy doctor? I can't wait to play on, where all these questions will be answered. I think ERS did a really good job of these new characters and a really good job of this story. The demo ends on a really exciting note that just makes you want to play on and on. The only thing that's kind of holding me back from buying right now is the length. I got through 3 chapters in the demo. Most games have 7 chapters. Not looking good... But all the same, I would probably buy the SE just to see how this amazing story pans out. I think the thing I loved most about this game was the gameplay. It was so different and fun, I loved it (and coupled with an amazing story... wow!). The recurring “find the coins” game was awesome. I really enjoyed it, but if used too much, it will become tedious, and it was used quite a bit in the demo. I also liked the photographs. These are little things you pick up that have strange messages on the back of them. You have to use the photograph on the scene it depicts in order to get something useful (this confused me a few times). This was an awesome addition I hope to see in future games. The last specific feature to this game was The Reborn One. This was really cool and I enjoyed using it. It wasn't used much during the demo, which made it all the more fun to use. The HOS were a little different too. It shows the developers actually put a bit of effort in to them. There were 2 or 3 (I can't remember exactly), and each were a different type. The first one gave clues via riddles and this was a great addition. It was really fun and a little challenging to figure them out. The second HOS I saw was a silhouette with a twist. Some things required you to switch between day and night to complete them, and I was really confused for a minute until I figured out what to do. But when I did, I really enjoyed it. ERS have given us the choice of puzzle difficulty once again. We can switch between Casual or Hard depending on our puzzle taste. This is a great for those of us who aren't so good at puzzles or who want an extra challenge. It's great that ERS caters for puzzlers of all skill level. I wouldn't say this is your average HOPA. It has a few new features (which I outlined) as well as all the originals (diary, map, etc.). I don't think I'd recommend this game for beginners, to be honest, because of all the strange new features. The graphics are typical ERS: hand drawn and delightful. The scenes are clear and drawn with detail and the character designs are very well done. The thing I love about ERS is they stick to designs they're good at. They don't try to change something that doesn't need to be changed. These graphics are just as good as they were a few years ago. One issue I have is that the character's lips no longer move. This makes the game slightly more unrealistic Normally, I wouldn't have an issue with voice-overs, but with this game I do. Anyone who has played any of the previous Dark Tales games will have picked up on this. Dupin's voice has changed. I don't know why it has, but I liked the old voice better and this game would have been better off with the old voice. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Custom lets you set the difficulty your way; differences in other three levels are hint/skip times, sparkles, etc. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable rate (40 seconds) for the difficulty I chose. The hint is helpful outside HOS. Diary- keeps note of all important events. Map- The map is interactive and very helpful. Photographs- These are a good addition to the game. I've already explained them. The Reborn One- see explanation in gameplay section of my review. CE EXCLUSIVES Coin Game- used to find coins for upgrades to your lab. I'm assuming this is a CE Extra because of what the coins are used for. Lab- similar to the Office in Dark Tales 5. You can buy stuff to put in there with the coins that you collect. Unsure if this is a necessary part of the game or not, so I'm including it as a CE Exclusive. Built-in Strategy Guide- great for help with puzzles. Achievements Replay cutscenes Replay HOS & Puzzles Music- listen to music of the game Wallpaper Concept Art Screensaver Something called “Story”- I'm intrigued to know what this is, so it's kind of swaying my decision a bit. This is the best game of the year so far, hands down. I can't wait to finish it off. The CE has some nice extras, so I may go for it. Otherwise, I might wait for the SE. After playing this game, I can say without a doubt, the old ERS I knew and loved is BACK!
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If It's Edgar, No Worries!!! Always a quality game, it's a guarantee! There's nothing like an Edgar Allan Poe Mystery to help you wile away the hours on those days when weather isn't inspiring and you just want to sink into a good book or a good suspenseful game and let yourselves go! This is it gamers, wide screen, wonderful graphics, a story line that intrigues and an ability to always add something different & challenging to keep you wanting more! Kudos to ERS!!! I really can't say any more, just try this for yourself and you will see the dynamics of how this game is perfected and how the Devs strive to give us the best of entertainment time & time again! Great job and a must for my library!
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great game. after playing the demo i knew i had to have this one too... i have the other Dark Tales and this is my new favorite..
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made my day oh my, awesome game . have the others in the series. played 15 minutes just to make sure it was supported on my pc or I would have just hit buy. this series with edgar allen poe are some of my favorite games. the graphics and the brightness of this game are a joy to play. there goes my gas money till payday.lol.enjoy this one if your a fan of the series..i can't wait to get into it.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winning Poe Adventure I so love the Dark Tales series and this one does not disappoint. Visual is beautiful, Sound is sharp and not annoying, Challenge Level is perfectly taxing, and Story Line is exciting. If you are a fan of Edgar Allen Poe stories, you will love this one. I keep waiting for Vincent Price to appear. Definitely a CE level game as I feel you will be lost with a SE level version. I can't wait to get back to the adventure. I truly love this one and I seldom give 5 stars. A must have for your game collection.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can you save the Usher twins? Every one of these Poe tales by ERS has a fantastic storyline and intriguing gameplay, and this one is no different. The demo barely gets you started on the story and leaves many things unexplained. You are Detective Dupin's assistant once again, summoned by Dr. Morris who cares for the Usher twins Madeleine and Roderick. The twins are "attached" both mentally and physically, One twin's condition affects the other. And unfortunately, Madeleine has disappeared and the twins' condition is deteriorating. Plus, they are the last remaining heirs to the House of Usher. There are many unique tools in this game. Of course you have a very nice map of the house and the grounds, plus your hint button, but you also discover photos that match up to areas within a scene that provide additional clues. And you eventually unlock the "Reborn One" that has the power to bring stone items to life -- ravens, a flower, a dog, and who knows what else. You also discover that others have disappeared as well. And then there is Estelle, who seems to be the nanny to the twins, but is not very helpful. The first HOS has clues that are riddles. Another is an interactive list. You can switch to puzzle mode and play a unique game that requires you to match three but the items are not linear, but in a triangle. The mini-puzzles vary from easy matching of tiles, to a more difficult train your mouse to travel through a maze collecting keys. Plus, doll houses full of coins keep appearing. The coins are used to purchase scientific collectibles, but for what purpose is not explained in the demo. There are four modes of play, including custom. You can take photographs using your camera that are stored in an achievement photo album. Extras include the normal movies, wallpaper, art, screensavers, music, mini-games, HOS, the story, a bonus game, and the strategy guide. The opening cut scene with someone - perhaps it is Roderick - being buried alive is suitably creepy for a Poe tale. There is so much to do, so many locks to unlock by finding items, so many unexplained story items - the lake turns into a mysterious swamp. I cannot wait to buy this and get answers to all my questions!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, a Great Dark Tales Game – Very Creepy at Times No doubt about it, our wonderful Inspector Dupin has finally made another long-awaited appearance. This time he is off to solve the mystery of the enigmatic Usher twins Madeleine and Roderick whose lives mirror each other in sickness and in health. You have been summoned to the Usher estate by a Dr. Morris who has been the twins’ physician over the years and now that Madeleine has gone missing, he is very concerned for the welfare of Roderick. Your task is to find Madeleine as soon as possible and to solve the mystery of the House of Usher. This is an ERS game so the graphics are very good quality. The voiceovers are quite good but ERS has seemingly taken a step back and has not included lip-synced voiceovers in their past few games. It is sad to see a team that was once at the pinnacle of innovation in game development now take a step backwards. The soundtrack is very much the ERS signature with the music that I liked but what stood out most are the creepy ambient effects in the game. I found myself jumping more than once as I played the demo. You have a diary that contains your notes as well as the photos that you collect. The interactive transporter map that indicates where you have tasks to accomplish and I find it one of the most valuable tools I can have in a game. The first HOP I encountered was one where we locate the items based on description, and then there was a scene where we find a certain number of a specific item. There followed the progressive silhouette and the standard interactive list type HOPs, so I would venture to guess that there is something for everyone as far as the HOPs go in this game. If you get stuck in locating the items, or if you don’t want to bother with the HOPs, you can switch to a type of match 3 game. I encountered only a few puzzles during the demo but one of them was very tricky and difficult to get right so I am hoping that this is indicative of the puzzles for the rest of the game. This installment of the Dark Tales series has some interesting “tools” that you will acquire as you move through the game. Early on you will find photos scattered about and when they are matched with their game locale they will yield an important item for use in the game. You will also find miniature houses that when looked at with a magnifying glass will earn you a reward. Fairly early in the game you will release a very useful helper and no, he/she is not a cute furry little animal. This helper will prove to be very useful given some very stony situations that must be resolved. Among the tools is a camera that is used to take photos of scenes in the game, which are then saved in an album in our office. Since a complete strategy guide is not included in the demo, I’m not sure what we will be able to do with the photos we take but they may only be part of the CE content for the game, which remains to be seen. I would say that given what I have seen of the demo, this is definitely a game that I will want to have in the CE version. I think that there are so many extras included that bring the gameplay to the higher level that I look for in a CE. My overall impression is that this is most likely going to be my favorite of all the Dark Tales games thus far. I am thoroughly enjoying the story and the gameplay so I know that this game is an immediate purchase for me. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Usher Looks Fantastic .... BUT ..... I have every Poe story - and I was going to buy this one without even a test drive. I'm glad I didn't. Very early in the game - just inside the mansion - I needed to zoom in on a tree covered in ravens. The Hint said so, and the SG said so. But I couldn't. So I can't go any further. Bummer. This series is one of the very best out there. What I saw so far was great.All the bells and whistles - plus a few new ones. I really hope this gets fixed soon!!! I'm rating it 5 stars - even with the glitch - because I'm sure it's a great game.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Usher Twins Well it seem the famous Detective Dupin is joining me on this investigation at the Usher House where one of the Usher twins is missing. It seems that the twins have a curse, when one is hurt, the other experiences the same pain. Estelle was the twins mother who died giving birth to the twins, but Marianna has raised them as her own, but somethings odd about her, we're going to have to investigate her further! Things have changed up a bit with this game in the Edgar Allen Poe series, I may be wrong but even Dupins voice seems different. There is now a round circle with your journal, a camera to take a screen shot and store in your album, and a mischievous rat on a pedestal who really does nothing but entertain you. You will earn achievements and when you come across a dollhouse and use a magnifying glass to collect a certain amount of coins which will be used to equip your criminal laboratory. I really liked the hidden object scenes where they would give you a short riddle or description and you had to find that item, the entire HOS was done that way! The mini games are well done, some a bit time consuming such as pushing buttons to match the bottom and middle tiles of different animal bodies and a large button to rotate the head section of the animal, all of the mini games have a casual or hard setting and the HOS have a matching game to switch to as well. Another well done Edgar Allen Poe chilling story, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game... I've enjoyed all the games in this series, and this was no exception. The graphics are superb, the music pleasant and the game play runs smoothly. A big bonus is having a custom game mode. Wish more had this option, as it's us the customer that should choose the way we enjoy playing the games we buy. The 'finding coins in the houses to buy stuff in the shop' got a bit tiresome (and only after I'd played most of the main game and bonus chapter did I discover I didn't need to do that). I loved the HOP. They were beautifully drawn, and quite a mixture of different types of objects and interaction to find. For once the bonus chapter wasn't stuffed full of them, and was a decent length. There is a map, and a decent hint system, so no difficulty knowing what I had to do. Quite a bit of back and forth but could use the map to do this. The puzzles were excellent. Quite innovative for a change, and I enjoyed them and looked forwards to them. Even those that weren't totally new, were done in a way that made them seem that way. They were mainly doable too. Always enjoy games from these Devs. The whole game and bonus chapter took about 4 hours.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dupin is back! I love the Dark Tales series and this one is no disappointment. One of the Usher twins is missing and Dupin (with your help) has to find her before her brother pines away. Got so absorbed in the trial and forgot to make notes so, if I remember rightly: * Usual CE stuff like wallpapers (that I am not bothered about) * Achievements to earn * Coins to collect to get stuff for your lab (This was my only disappointment as finding them is too easy and repetitive) * A little helper that you have to train first There is a jumpable map, pictures to match to scenes which kick in the HOSs (which are quite challenging and of various styles) and your trusty camera, if you do not get too engrossed and forget to use it. Found this more challenging than earlier ones in the series and resorted to hints to move on through the trial, but will try harder when I buy it for myself (which I certainly will!) Can't recommend highly enough! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Game and Dupin is Back! Aahhhh Dupin, quel manifique! How I missed our many adventures and at last, we are together again, this time investigating the mystery of one of my favorite Poe tale: The Fall of the House of Usher. Our case begins with the disappearance of Madeleine, twin sister of Roderick who has simply vanished without a trace. We learn of the strange disease shared by the twins that is rather unsettling and soon discover that there is a link between the illness and the old estate. You also come across a mysterious power that is called the Reborn One that has the ability to bring stone to life and what that has to do with all that is going on is a mystery in itself. More people begin to disappear on your watch and so it is up to you and your colleague, Detective Dupin, find Madeleine and unlock the secret that plagues the House of Usher and all who are connected to it. My favorite detective brought to me by my favorite group of developers who haven’t been around for some time. Again with the similar graphics, visuals, sounds and effects; it seems that time does not deter them from their methods and techniques. Nothing new with the visuals, nothing we haven’t seen from them except perhaps a slight deviation in some features such as no mouth movements, a bit too much with the cartoon imagery. Perhaps it is just me; I seem to remember that their graphics use to be a bit more vibrant. Oh well, the voice-overs are still there as is the music in the background. Main menu offers you three game modes along with customized settings which is much appreciated. Game tools include your inventory bar that can be locked, a journal and a map that will allow for travel which now seems to be a given with most games. You have you SG and on you right side of the screen, there is the bottle with the Reborn One that has the power to being life to stone. One more thing, what’s up with the RAT? It just sits on the left side of my screen and has no function as far as I can tell. Seriously, why would the developers place this nasty looking creature on my screen? Is he a pet? I keep clicking on him and he doesn’t do anything so why put him there? I hate rats! What we have here is an entertaining HOPA game with all the bells and whistles that you can imagine, including collecting coins and visit the shop to buy equipment for your lab. The game is challenging and interesting with a multitude of puzzles to solve and hidden object scenes that come in variation. I came across one with written clues to items, and the standard list of items that involve interaction. Hidden object scenes can also be switched to an interesting Match 3 game which is much harder than the standard M3 games we have played. Adventure game play was interesting and surprisingly challenging and somewhat confusing. As always, you have dark corners to explore and items to find in order to unlock doors and solve puzzles. You and Dupin occasionally exchange quips and you pick up clues and also use your camera to take pictures for your album which also earns you an achievement. During your investigation, you come across these doll houses and with the magnifier, you search for coins that you will need to buy special equipment for your lab. Perhaps some may find these small diversions a bit too distracting and to be honest, some did seem a bit unnecessary like the RAT and the camera. Mini-games were interesting and as customary with these developers, some were even challenging and required some time and effort to solve. What can I say, I love Dupin, I love Poe and I love these developers, and despite the RAT on my screen, I will forgive them for this one discrepancy and immediately set out to purchase the game. Once again a five star game from our five star group and from our five star game site, BFG!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS OUTDID THEMSELVES This is a superb game with outstanding voice overs, crisp graphics, sound and logical but complex nonlinear gameplay, plenty to do and see. Compelling music and cutscenes. HOS are only mildly crowded - I like the clue-driven object finds. There are alternative games to play in lieu of the HOS. Puzzles are many and vary widely in difficulty. This is one Poe book I didn't read - it's mysterious, fascinating and a little scary of what comes next. Visual and sound effects are easily award winners. This may well be the best Edgar Allan Poe game from ERS to date, which says a lot. They outdid themselves.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dupin's at it again! Here comes Peter Cottontail, hopping down the bunny trail and bringing us one fine detective this morning. Thank you ERS and BF. The VO's are awesome! The one thing I love about this series is that ERS makes you feel like you're actually working beside Dupin meaning how the NPC's mention you as his assistant and how it seems Dupin is actually talking to you. This series is always my favorite whether it has the cut animals or not. And as a rule, I never seen a lack in their games. I am an ERS fan through and through. This is one team that takes what their customers want to heart. To them their customers are number one. Story: We are off to the House of Usher to try and find the missing twin sister of Roderick and see why the people are disappearing. We have to work diligently so no more lives are claimed. Graphics: Superb. This team's graphics have always been. They are clear inside and out of H0Gs, and they always make everything look so real. Music: Splendid. It's fits really great with the game. Mini games: Not hard or easy to me. They give just enough challenge to where you are not pulling your hair out. Hint: Works both in and out of the game. H0GS: Didn't have a problem at all seeing the objects as the graphics were done beautifully. And they really are fun. Map. It's a jump map and has indications on the map of what to do next. The best type of maps to have. Again ERS thanks again for this wonderful surprise!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not once of the best... But I'm still loyal to the series... It was a lot of fun, still. But I prefer Black Cat.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DUPIN IS STILL A TOTAL BABE! :-D Review based on completed game in casual mode. Did not play bonus chapter. Animation/VOS - Good but not as much as I would have liked through the entire game. Characters were beautifully drawn. IHOS - Clear with the usual small to larger objects. Repeated scenes. Lists, find x # of same item. Hint - Fast charge for directions but slower charge after finding clues. Map - Does transport but I'm a huge fan of the hint. :-D Journal - Contains story, photos and notes. Collect and place photos to activate scenes. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Assembling and painting items, find parts and sketches. Slow skip charge. Collect gold coins in miniature houses. Great deal of backtracking so get a good pair of shoes. That circular stone puzzle really had me stumped. Glad for the SG and forum tips. Thanks for the help, guys.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Tales I was fascinated by Hound of Baskervilles, played it several times. This one was not as creative, didn't care for stocking the lab. Good enough, but not outstanding like the Hounds game.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very clever activities and a good game but it didn't wow me! ERS' artwork is outstanding; I felt I could walk right into the scenes; good music but I've heard that melody so many times before; good VOS. The HOS were fun to play as there were a variety of things to do--interactive, collect 12 of these or 10 of those. Puzzles were challenging but not difficult at all; and I must say you really get a lot for you money. I just finished the main game and started the bonus game. There were numerous achievements, collecting coins to buy items for the crime shop to determine later who killed whom and how, just play the game, you'll see. You have to remember to collect the coins. And after you've completed the main game, it's there that you will find the bonus game. I liked the reborn one; in the beginning there is a cute, lil mouse who does help you out from time to time; but for the life of me there was a rat stationed by the journal and map area who was pretty much dormant except for his occasional flips, and eating nuts or whatever he was eating--which I found amusing. I kept clicking on him thinking he'd do something; he was there for show. At times I found the gameplay had no rhyme or reason, but all in all it was a pretty good game. I don't think it warrants a 5-star. Good hint button and a strategy guide if you need it. You know, to each his own. You may think it's the best game ever; but I've played better. I do recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intriguing Game! This game is truly incredible. Up until today, I had not heard of the series-- but now I anticipate playing all of them! I think the storyline is fairly great, besides the ending. To be brief, it was just a bit abrupt; no spoilers! The graphics are nothing short of amazing, though I do wish the lips would move while the person was talking. But that's just me, I suppose. :) And don't get me started on the music! Honestly, if it wasn't for an overlook of the extras section I would ask where I could buy the soundtrack. Beautifully done, great job! Overall, I think this is a great game to play if you want something dark and engaging!
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from He's back! gotta love detective Dupin! if you don't know him, you got to try these games, if you do know him then you are as glad to see him as I am. wonderful game, has the eye candy, a must have for me, this is about the only type of graphics I buy, hand drawn rules. not a ton of HOs [varied] good puzzles and mini games, and lots of running around but there's a jump map. coins to collect to buy equipment so you can check blood ,prints and ballistics at the end of the game. The cons- the voice overs were not good! they are now American, and that includes Dupins voice. Mr. Vallejo I was surprised to see your name at the top of the ERS cast, but please put the detective back to prime order, and what is with the lips not moving anymore? ERS is the best with beautiful drawn people whose lips move in sync with the dialogue, correction, was the best, please fix this. I had to take away 1 star for that.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good one from the Dark Tales team I love the Dark Tales series, so I was very excited to know that the series was going to continue. Dupin is one of my favorite characters to journey alongside in any game I've played. These games make Poe palatable to me; I'm not a huge fan of the original stories, but I enjoy them in game form. I won't rehash the plot too deeply, since many other reviewers have already stated what happens. Shortest form, Madeleine Usher is missing, and thanks to her strange bond with her twin brother Roderick, there's a good chance both twins could die if she isn't found quickly, so you and Dupin are on the case. The story is amazing. Absolutely chilling in places, especially when you play the bonus chapter and see just how deep the problem really goes. Full marks to the devs on that one. The puzzles are good as usual; I really liked the fact that we were given an alternative to the hidden object games. Don't want to hunt for the items on your list? Just switch over to a match-three style of puzzle and solve that instead to achieve the desired result. I hope that feature is here to stay! The graphics... honestly, I was disappointed. The scenes and backgrounds were fantastic, and deliciously creepy. But ever since The Premature Burial, the games in the Dark Tales series have featured some basic animation. Nothing overly fancy, but at least the characters turn their heads and move their mouths when they talk. For some reason, House of Usher was a return to the format of the original games, where all the characters were flat and motionless. They're still voiced, and the voices are still done reasonably well, but I hope that future Dark Tales will resume the animated characters that I've enjoyed. I was also kind of disappointed by Dupin this time around. He's normally such a suave, genteel fellow, who has words of praise for his friend/assistant and handles difficult things with grace. In this game, he offers the player character no courtesies whatsoever, not even the usual comment about how glad he is to see you. And he grumbles about his favorite walking stick getting broken - sure, it's a reason to be annoyed, but coming from the guy who remained stoic and patient during a certain event in the bonus chapter of Masque of the Red Death, it just felt really out of character. I'd like the charming and ever so slightly flirtatious Dupin of the previous games to come back, please. I did catch a factual error in the bonus chapter. When a certain character is talking to you near the end of things, he mentions that he thought a particular item would "bring prosperity to my ancestors." The word he should have used is descendants. It's a minor error, but it shook my suspension of disbelief. Having said all that, though, I thought it was a great game. I think Premature Burial remains my favorite in the series, but this is a worthy installment and I'm really glad I treated myself to it. I can't wait to see what they come up with for number seven! Pros: Excellent story, challenging puzzles, lots of extras Cons: Characters no longer animated, Dupin's personality isn't as much fun
Date published: 2014-04-02
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_20707, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

Can you and Detective Dupin uncover the dark secrets of this mysterious estate?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.