Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(379.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You and your colleague, Detective Dupin, have accepted an odd case at the ancient House of Usher – to find the twin sister of Roderick, who has vanished without a trace. As you delve deeper into the mystery, the connection between the twin’s malady and the old estate appears even more entwined. Why are townspeople disappearing? What secret is locked in the forbidden library? And can you and Dupin find the answers before more innocent victims are claimed?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to uncover more mysteries
  • Use the available Strategy Guide
  • Earn Achievements
  • Purchase collectible items for your exam room
  • Get wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 682 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Drug Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(379.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dupin's at it again! Here comes Peter Cottontail, hopping down the bunny trail and bringing us one fine detective this morning. Thank you ERS and BF. The VO's are awesome! The one thing I love about this series is that ERS makes you feel like you're actually working beside Dupin meaning how the NPC's mention you as his assistant and how it seems Dupin is actually talking to you. This series is always my favorite whether it has the cut animals or not. And as a rule, I never seen a lack in their games. I am an ERS fan through and through. This is one team that takes what their customers want to heart. To them their customers are number one. Story: We are off to the House of Usher to try and find the missing twin sister of Roderick and see why the people are disappearing. We have to work diligently so no more lives are claimed. Graphics: Superb. This team's graphics have always been. They are clear inside and out of H0Gs, and they always make everything look so real. Music: Splendid. It's fits really great with the game. Mini games: Not hard or easy to me. They give just enough challenge to where you are not pulling your hair out. Hint: Works both in and out of the game. H0GS: Didn't have a problem at all seeing the objects as the graphics were done beautifully. And they really are fun. Map. It's a jump map and has indications on the map of what to do next. The best type of maps to have. Again ERS thanks again for this wonderful surprise!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detective Dupin, need I say more? I love all of the Dark Tales series by Edgar Allen Poe! This one is by far the best! I have just refurbished myself on the Edgar Allen Poe classics as a result of this game. I know a lot of people have said it's not Poe, but if you've read his works and experienced them on film then you'll realize it is the same story if only in parts. I really enjoyed this game more than it's predecessors, although I can only review the collector's edition, I'm not sure what the SE may be missing. Graphics are beautiful, games are a bit easy most of the time, which I like. Dupin, beautiful as ever, but somehow turned into a Southern American? I'm just waiting for him to put a pair of spurs on his boots! I relish the English gentleman of previous Dark Tales. Aside from Dupin's voice, I highly recommend the CE since you don't really get the answers you want without the bonus chapter.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game... I've enjoyed all the games in this series, and this was no exception. The graphics are superb, the music pleasant and the game play runs smoothly. A big bonus is having a custom game mode. Wish more had this option, as it's us the customer that should choose the way we enjoy playing the games we buy. The 'finding coins in the houses to buy stuff in the shop' got a bit tiresome (and only after I'd played most of the main game and bonus chapter did I discover I didn't need to do that). I loved the HOP. They were beautifully drawn, and quite a mixture of different types of objects and interaction to find. For once the bonus chapter wasn't stuffed full of them, and was a decent length. There is a map, and a decent hint system, so no difficulty knowing what I had to do. Quite a bit of back and forth but could use the map to do this. The puzzles were excellent. Quite innovative for a change, and I enjoyed them and looked forwards to them. Even those that weren't totally new, were done in a way that made them seem that way. They were mainly doable too. Always enjoy games from these Devs. The whole game and bonus chapter took about 4 hours.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made my day oh my, awesome game . have the others in the series. played 15 minutes just to make sure it was supported on my pc or I would have just hit buy. this series with edgar allen poe are some of my favorite games. the graphics and the brightness of this game are a joy to play. there goes my gas money till payday.lol.enjoy this one if your a fan of the series..i can't wait to get into it.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I ever looked for in a game I admit, when I play a game I want some challenge, beautiful graphics and sound options. I want customizable hint and skip options, I want sound that doesn't either make you want to slap yourself silly or snore, and this game delivered all those! Not only does it have game play that is not frustrating, it also has an interactive map, reliable game play that really does remember where you left off, and all this runs smooth as a top. Life is frustrating enough, I don't need my games to be as well. There were puzzles, and exploring and mystery! LOVE this game, wish there were more like it!
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Poe Games I love this game, just right for me. I do like to play casual. As a CE not much there, but as to the price I pay, the bonus chapter and it alone is worth it for me. Nice long game. Thank You Devs love it, want more :)).
Date published: 2014-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dupin is back! I love the Dark Tales series and this one is no disappointment. One of the Usher twins is missing and Dupin (with your help) has to find her before her brother pines away. Got so absorbed in the trial and forgot to make notes so, if I remember rightly: * Usual CE stuff like wallpapers (that I am not bothered about) * Achievements to earn * Coins to collect to get stuff for your lab (This was my only disappointment as finding them is too easy and repetitive) * A little helper that you have to train first There is a jumpable map, pictures to match to scenes which kick in the HOSs (which are quite challenging and of various styles) and your trusty camera, if you do not get too engrossed and forget to use it. Found this more challenging than earlier ones in the series and resorted to hints to move on through the trial, but will try harder when I buy it for myself (which I certainly will!) Can't recommend highly enough! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS OUTDID THEMSELVES This is a superb game with outstanding voice overs, crisp graphics, sound and logical but complex nonlinear gameplay, plenty to do and see. Compelling music and cutscenes. HOS are only mildly crowded - I like the clue-driven object finds. There are alternative games to play in lieu of the HOS. Puzzles are many and vary widely in difficulty. This is one Poe book I didn't read - it's mysterious, fascinating and a little scary of what comes next. Visual and sound effects are easily award winners. This may well be the best Edgar Allan Poe game from ERS to date, which says a lot. They outdid themselves.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winning Combination! What a wonderful game. Winning combination: Ers Games, Edgar Allan Poe and Inspector Dubin. I just started the game and I am enthralled. Graffics are just beautiful, HOS's have a wonderful twist in them, and I love all the intricacies of smallest details - like a playful rat observing all I do. There is a map, toolkit, a wonderful inspired story line - what more can I want. Cant wait to get back to the game.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winning Poe Adventure I so love the Dark Tales series and this one does not disappoint. Visual is beautiful, Sound is sharp and not annoying, Challenge Level is perfectly taxing, and Story Line is exciting. If you are a fan of Edgar Allen Poe stories, you will love this one. I keep waiting for Vincent Price to appear. Definitely a CE level game as I feel you will be lost with a SE level version. I can't wait to get back to the adventure. I truly love this one and I seldom give 5 stars. A must have for your game collection.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Usher Looks Fantastic .... BUT ..... I have every Poe story - and I was going to buy this one without even a test drive. I'm glad I didn't. Very early in the game - just inside the mansion - I needed to zoom in on a tree covered in ravens. The Hint said so, and the SG said so. But I couldn't. So I can't go any further. Bummer. This series is one of the very best out there. What I saw so far was great.All the bells and whistles - plus a few new ones. I really hope this gets fixed soon!!! I'm rating it 5 stars - even with the glitch - because I'm sure it's a great game.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Edgar Allan Poe games This one was really great. The HO's mixed it up which I like. Beautifully drawn and great characters. The story drew me in and held me. There was nothing not to like about this game. Must have list and already the fourth game this year that seems a great contender for game of the year.
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great game. after playing the demo i knew i had to have this one too... i have the other Dark Tales and this is my new favorite..
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This series is the BEST! Keep them coming. I solving the mysteries while enjoying every moment. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellant game i really love playing this series of games, they are worth the money.great stories and really challenging games.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from To die for! It has been a very, very long time since I have enjoyed a hidden object game as much as I love this game. Not only do you have two options how to do the HOS, but one of the options is in a riddle (i.e., What has 4 legs and one arm-something like that) and you have to click on the object. It is also a FULL story. You don't have to worry about 1,000 HOS plays before you can move on. Best buy I have made in eons!
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS GAME I have always been a fan of the "Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe" games. I own all of them and have played them more than twice. I was thrilled to see another one made based on the books. The graphics, story line is great of course (who can say EAP's books are bad) and music are all top notch. The voice overs are audibly good even though they don't move their lips. Anyway, mimes do that all of the time. All in all I really do love this game and the whole series. Happy Gaming
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! As usual, another awesome game!! Incredible cozy scenes, amazing graphics and very good story line!
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the fall of the house of usher one of the most delightful games I have played for quite a time. loved rat-a-tat made the game so much more amusing. keep up the good work bunny
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series ... Enjoyable Graphics, Sounds, Voice & Video Bits ... More To Come In This Series I'm Sure, And Look Forward To It ... Wish The Bonus Games Were A Little Longer ... Worth A Deal Or Wait For The SE ...
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long fun game This was a great game for me, the puzzles were not to difficult (also you can adjust the skip time to fit you). Lots of places to explore - loved the animals.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play It Best game from ERS. Tricky around the circles, check forum. Loved the hidden games.
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Candy Really loved this game. I am a fan of all the Edgar Allen Poe games.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Poe and his stories ERS did a good job Great game, love the colors and graphic's and I thought it was a great game. I really like ERS games.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not once of the best... But I'm still loyal to the series... It was a lot of fun, still. But I prefer Black Cat.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DUPIN IS STILL A TOTAL BABE! :-D Review based on completed game in casual mode. Did not play bonus chapter. Animation/VOS - Good but not as much as I would have liked through the entire game. Characters were beautifully drawn. IHOS - Clear with the usual small to larger objects. Repeated scenes. Lists, find x # of same item. Hint - Fast charge for directions but slower charge after finding clues. Map - Does transport but I'm a huge fan of the hint. :-D Journal - Contains story, photos and notes. Collect and place photos to activate scenes. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Assembling and painting items, find parts and sketches. Slow skip charge. Collect gold coins in miniature houses. Great deal of backtracking so get a good pair of shoes. That circular stone puzzle really had me stumped. Glad for the SG and forum tips. Thanks for the help, guys.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very clever activities and a good game but it didn't wow me! ERS' artwork is outstanding; I felt I could walk right into the scenes; good music but I've heard that melody so many times before; good VOS. The HOS were fun to play as there were a variety of things to do--interactive, collect 12 of these or 10 of those. Puzzles were challenging but not difficult at all; and I must say you really get a lot for you money. I just finished the main game and started the bonus game. There were numerous achievements, collecting coins to buy items for the crime shop to determine later who killed whom and how, just play the game, you'll see. You have to remember to collect the coins. And after you've completed the main game, it's there that you will find the bonus game. I liked the reborn one; in the beginning there is a cute, lil mouse who does help you out from time to time; but for the life of me there was a rat stationed by the journal and map area who was pretty much dormant except for his occasional flips, and eating nuts or whatever he was eating--which I found amusing. I kept clicking on him thinking he'd do something; he was there for show. At times I found the gameplay had no rhyme or reason, but all in all it was a pretty good game. I don't think it warrants a 5-star. Good hint button and a strategy guide if you need it. You know, to each his own. You may think it's the best game ever; but I've played better. I do recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good one from the Dark Tales team I love the Dark Tales series, so I was very excited to know that the series was going to continue. Dupin is one of my favorite characters to journey alongside in any game I've played. These games make Poe palatable to me; I'm not a huge fan of the original stories, but I enjoy them in game form. I won't rehash the plot too deeply, since many other reviewers have already stated what happens. Shortest form, Madeleine Usher is missing, and thanks to her strange bond with her twin brother Roderick, there's a good chance both twins could die if she isn't found quickly, so you and Dupin are on the case. The story is amazing. Absolutely chilling in places, especially when you play the bonus chapter and see just how deep the problem really goes. Full marks to the devs on that one. The puzzles are good as usual; I really liked the fact that we were given an alternative to the hidden object games. Don't want to hunt for the items on your list? Just switch over to a match-three style of puzzle and solve that instead to achieve the desired result. I hope that feature is here to stay! The graphics... honestly, I was disappointed. The scenes and backgrounds were fantastic, and deliciously creepy. But ever since The Premature Burial, the games in the Dark Tales series have featured some basic animation. Nothing overly fancy, but at least the characters turn their heads and move their mouths when they talk. For some reason, House of Usher was a return to the format of the original games, where all the characters were flat and motionless. They're still voiced, and the voices are still done reasonably well, but I hope that future Dark Tales will resume the animated characters that I've enjoyed. I was also kind of disappointed by Dupin this time around. He's normally such a suave, genteel fellow, who has words of praise for his friend/assistant and handles difficult things with grace. In this game, he offers the player character no courtesies whatsoever, not even the usual comment about how glad he is to see you. And he grumbles about his favorite walking stick getting broken - sure, it's a reason to be annoyed, but coming from the guy who remained stoic and patient during a certain event in the bonus chapter of Masque of the Red Death, it just felt really out of character. I'd like the charming and ever so slightly flirtatious Dupin of the previous games to come back, please. I did catch a factual error in the bonus chapter. When a certain character is talking to you near the end of things, he mentions that he thought a particular item would "bring prosperity to my ancestors." The word he should have used is descendants. It's a minor error, but it shook my suspension of disbelief. Having said all that, though, I thought it was a great game. I think Premature Burial remains my favorite in the series, but this is a worthy installment and I'm really glad I treated myself to it. I can't wait to see what they come up with for number seven! Pros: Excellent story, challenging puzzles, lots of extras Cons: Characters no longer animated, Dupin's personality isn't as much fun
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from House of Usher Is Definitely A Fixer-Upper You and Detective Dupin have been summoned by Dr. Morris to the House of Usher to investigate the disappearance of Madeleine. Madeleine and her brother Roderick are twins who share a special bond in which they experience each others painful experiences. Dr. Morris had been treating them until Madeleine disappeared. A quick check in my inventory revealed that I’ve played five previous Dark Tales games, all of them either good or very good. The strength of this series has always been the stories. So how does this one measure up? As you would expect, the House is creepy looking and contains all sorts of weird objects, doors and locks. In fact, the exterior of the house bears an eerie resemblance to the house from the movie “Psycho.” The drawing style is consistent with the others in the Dark Tales series, with very saturated colors and a slightly grainy and flat look. Game play is characterized by variety. The hidden object play varies from scene to scene, beginning with a riddle type, then find 12 of something, and so on. Objects are mostly correct for the period. There is a match-3 option not explored by this reviewer. Mini games were not too challenging, but were well animated. Along the way, you also collect a spirit who can bring certain objects to life, and a pet mouse to get to those hard-to-reach places. Voices are not up to the usual high standards. For starters, the developers re-used the same person’s voice for at least three characters. They just tweaked it a little to try to disguise it. I found the voice of Roderick to be the weakest, and his voice did not fit the look of the character either. Options are highly customizable for whichever level you choose to play, including a switch to simply turn off the sparkles. The Collector’s Edition includes a lab that you can purchase equipment for. Coins are found by searching model buildings throughout the game using an x-ray lens. The pseudo-extras include wallpapers (6), concept art (15), screen savers (5), hidden object (17), mini games (17), and movies (14). There are also the usual achievements. Other extras are a strategy guide and bonus chapter. There are no collectible items (other than the coins). Verdict: Unless there is a sale, the SE would seem to be the better value. The game will not “usher” in a new era in gaming, but is still worth playing.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game, well worth 4.5 stars! Well, another addition to the EAP series. Wasn't too sure about this one, since I had problems with the last one, but this seems to be working well. Graphics are very nice, clean and clear. Game play is good. Only "problem" I had was forgetting to use the pictures, which really wasn't a problem, just my memory. Voice overs were well done and you can click through the dialog for those of us who read faster than they speak. What's with the rat that sits in the corner and the camera you don't use? Those have me a bit confused. Maybe they get used later. Really like the HOGs, you have a choice between HOG and match 3. This match 3 is not like any other we have played and is not as easy as you may think. HOGs were a mixture of standard and riddles #which I really like#, and were fun. Items were clear and not difficult to find. SG is the standard, but really wasn't necessary. Hint system is quite helpful and I like that you can adjust to how quickly it refills. Same with the skip button...very nice. Did not care for the set up of the map. Yes, it is a jump map, but you have to go to a main area and then figure out where you go from there, plus the color is monochrome and boring to the eyes. Very disappointed in this map. The only collectibles I see are the coins, which are used to stock the lab. I sort of like this, but it was very simple and no challenge here. There are a lot of achievements in this one as well. The game as a whole is not really challenging, but the story and game play are very good. Yes, the story is a little different from the original, but still pretty good. Maybe I like it because I have been a Poe fan since middle school and the old Vincent Price movies. I don't give 5 stars easily and even though this is a top notch game, I do not feel it is worth 5 stars. I think because there really aren't any extras in the game, other than collecting coins, plus the boring jump map. All that being said, if you are a Poe fan, you will like this game. It is a definite buy for me and a very nice addition to my every growing collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-03-20
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_20707, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher Collector's Edition

Can you and Detective Dupin uncover the dark secrets of this mysterious estate?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.