Surface: Reel Life Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Surface: Reel Life Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(452.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games’ genre-pushing Surface series continues... this time, in Reel Life!

Your sister and her daughter, Jane, were enjoying a screening of an old movie, when one of the actors literally stepped off the screen! Now Jane is missing, and the building is crawling with strange plants and animals from the movie. You solve all the puzzles in your way and rush to the theater to find a way into the world of the film to save your niece. But once you do… you realize that the mystery - and the danger - is much deeper than you could have imagined. Can you escape before your adventure becomes a tragedy? Find out in Surface: Reel Life, a thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Release Andrew Light from Cinecity in the bonus game.
  • Collect flowers to visit the secret room for extra prizes.
  • Win awards for your greatest achievements.
  • Use the available Strategy Guide.
  • Soundtracks, screen savers, wallpapers, and concept art.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1267 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Reel Life Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(452.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Surface: Reel Life Collector's Edition is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LET THE ADVENTURE BEGIN! A REEL GOOD GAME! FROM THE SCREEN COMES A MAD MAN AND REAL LIFE JUNGLE! EXCITING AND FUN! THIS IS THE MUST HAVE SURFACE GAME.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from UNREEL!!!! Review based on completed game in casual mode, the only way I play. :-D ANIMATION - Excellent. Characters very realistic. VOS - Excellent, even for player. IHOS - Fairly clear with small to larger objects. HINT - Fast charge. Gives clues and directions. MISCLICK PENALTY - None. JOURNAL - Contains story, notes, photos and map which does transport. INVENTORY - Locks in place. Items used quickly in other areas. Works with task bar. PUZZLES/MINI-GAMES - This part of the game is usually not my thing though I do enjoy some of them and even managed to solve a few. Moderate skip. BONUS CHAPTER - More back tracking so I did not finish it. Definitely a good game. Give it a try.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from four stars Surface: another world was a 5 star game!!! I bought the CE of this game because I loved the another world so much. It was a bit on the simple side, the characters did not move like they once did and the bonus chapter was waste of a credit. I took my time with game and tried to find every flower around but came up short so I couldn't watch the 3rd preview in the bonus room. bummer. 2014
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME WITH A COOL STORY LINE I liked this game. The story line was good, there have been a few cinema based games but this was a bit different. There were some great mini games different than ones I have played so often. There are flowers to collect and I found all but 3 sooo frustrating. :) I think it is worth the buy but you may want to play the hour free to see if it's something you will enjoy. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Saga Continues? i surveyed this game and played the full demo which was the same amount of time and story. pros nice clear graphics hint system is great vo's very nice art work was nicely done wonderful cut scenes achievements interactive map music is alright...i rarely listen to the music i usually turn it way down in options. cons cannot think of any except it is not totally a 5 star rating the graphics while well done are not exceptional. i hardly every give out 5 stars so this is the best rating i pretty much ever give out...i really give it a 4.5 :) personal thoughts i loved it better than the (hmmm thinking 2nd or 3rd one) ik there is one i was not that impressed with cannot remember which one...may have to replay them to remember lol all in all this is a very nicely done continuation i do hope this is helpful i notice so many with like or dislike but no reasons...oops i hope this does not stop this from being published ;)
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trival but fun This is the easiest game in the series. I have completed the main game + bonus chapter under 3 hours in hard mode. The gameplay is very trivial featuring excellent graphics and sound fx. The storyline is somewhat artificial and boring to certain extend. It does not develop as fast as you want it to develop so you can pretty much predict what it is going to happen at the final scene right from the beginning. I think Reel Life CE had a lot of potential but it does not bring the excitement level that you expect it to bring in all aspects of its gameplay. Its predecessors were so much better fun. Finally, it is completely pointless to collect bonus flowers. 160 flowers to be able to watch 3 short movies is something that pushes you over the cliff as well as "Finish one HOS in more than 10 minutes" award.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Addition to the Series This latest installment of the Surface series is, in my opinion, much better than the last one. Pros: - The story is pretty interesting. - Graphics are sharp. - Three modes of gameplay to choose from. - Achievements - Extra flowers to collect around the world. - Many of the puzzles are interesting or new takes on old puzzles. - Some inventory items require extra steps to use, which is fun. - Many hidden object scenes require you to use inventory items. Cons: - Using the flowers you collect could be more interesting like in previous Surface games. - The achievements are very same old, same old. - Some of the hidden object scenes are a little boring, especially ones with little or no interactivity. Despite this, it's a pretty entertaining game!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from collector's edition fan Good game. Not excellent but enjoyed playing. Elephant games are one of the developers I enjoy. I have completed the main part of the game and found it to be short compared to other CE. Not sure if it is worth the CE price based on the duration of the gameplay. Leaving the bonus game until the next day so I won't feel cheated
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots to do... Hi all. Why is it that there is always a great special on games that I already have! Yep, got the other 4 in this series and liked them all. The graphics are very nice, with excellent clear colors. Game play was good, but seemed a little slow now and then. Not a lot of music, which is okay with me, but not a lot in the way of sound FX either..a rather quiet game compared to most. Voice overs were well done and changed with the action, which makes a game more exciting and interesting. There is a jump map that is useful, but not necessary. The SG is the usual, but I did not find it necessary either, because the hint system is quite helpful, fills very quickly and jumps you right to where you need to be. At that point, all you need the SG for is to see what you need to do in that area. The story is a bit "out there," but it is different and fun. HOPs were clean, clear and items not difficult to find. I liked how you need to use inventory items within the HOP to complete an object/item. There are lots of achievements, as always, and the only collectibles I found so far are the flowers, which are not difficult to find either. A "heads up," there are usually more than one in a scene, so be on the look out for them. This is not an exceptionally difficult or challenging game, but it was fun and kept my interest throughout the demo. I think gamers of all levels would enjoy this one Yes, I find the need to add this one to my ever growing game collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Much Of an Encore! Back by popular demand, don’t miss the continuing saga of the exciting series Surface, returning to us with a brand new episode called Reel Life, starring none other than YOU, directed by Elephant Games and brought to us by BFG. In tonight’s exciting episode, Mary and her daughter Jane attend a screening of Nicolas Skipframe’s classic film, “Jungle Hunt” starring Andrew Light. As the camera begins to roll, suddenly stepping out off the screen is none other than Andrew who grabs Jane and pulls her into the film. Now it is up to you to help your Sister and enter a world where dangerous animals and strange plants try to stop you from discovering the real truth behind the madness that has taken fold. Will you uncover the truth? Will you be able to save Jane? Tune into the game to find out and don’t forget to pick up your pop-corn and soda before you begin. Well I would like to say that I was completely overthrown by the game, but unfortunately I was not. I much prefer the previous episodes of Surface and I found this game a bit slow and cumbersome at times. Although the graphics and animations are excellent as is the stunning artwork and special effects, there just seemed to be something missing. A classic HOPA with standard Hidden object scenes and lots of puzzles to solve; I just wish there was a bit more to the game mechanics as it all seemed so familiar. There are three game modes to choose from, a journal and a jump map. There is a collection of film reels to look at, flowers to collect and a list of achievements to earn; that really is about it! What I did love immensely about Reel Life were the mini-games, very well conceptualized and some were challenging to solve. Hidden object scenes were very basic, a list of items to find with only one interactive object. A good memory is required as a lot of backtracking takes place throughout the game so a pen and paper by your side may be of some help. To be honest, I really didn’t feel the excitement and thrill that I did with the first two installments of Surface. The only things that separate this game from a standard version game are collectables and a list of trophies to earn. There is apparently a secret room where the flowers provide you with extra film footages to view. However the bonus section seems to be important as it offers you the opportunity to release Andrew from Cinecity which I think is clever of the developers to add on. Therefore I do think this may be the only incentive that compels me to buy this game as a CE version, not that there is much of a difference in price when sales are available. I must confess that at times, with certain games I enjoy Standard versions more so when there is no Strategy Guide to assist you; somehow games get a bit more challenging for me. I expect many will award this five stars but I just feel a certain lack of luster in visuals as well as in game mechanics. If I were to compare this to some of my favorite games that have crossed my way this year, Reel Life does rate a bit lower. Therefore four stars it is!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not great Based on demo played on casual. Wow, what an opening! Grabbed my attention immediately and couldn't wait for my participation to begin. Although a well-used premise - girl kidnapped by her dead husband, a movie star, and taken off into the world behind the cinema screen - this is certainly a different approach and I loved it. Called in to rescue her and her mum, you explore the cinema, fend off the various creatures who have escaped through the screen and discover the way to follow her into the unknown. Graphics are really good and clear, music is atmospheric and appropriate at times, at others, no music, just sound effects of the environment. CE bling: * The usual screen savers, music etc * Achievements to earn (though I do sigh with disappointment when there is one for taking 10+ minutes to complete a HOS :-( ) * 80 flowers to collect which have different values and are used to 'buy' access to the bonus films in a secret room. I only earned enough to see one and it was a movie trailer which begins to give further hints as to what the conflict might be. Shame on devs and testers that they didn't spot the erroneous apostrophe! * Bonus chapter * Map with actions and remains active if there is a flower to collect * Hint shows you where to go and you can jump there. Lots of puzzles of varying difficulty. I skipped the harder ones to make progress in my limited trial time but they should be doable with patience and thought. Only 3 HOSs so far and I was disappointed. One a simple list, one using a single inventory item to solve and a further with two 'special' items. I want more these days. Once the opening was over, I found the gameplay rather simple, items found are used fairly quickly. There are items for which you have to add elements or adapt them, marked with a +. Clicking on movie posters will give back story and this is where the game slowed right down. Don't skip or you will miss some info but slowly focussing in on a picture with no result is frustrating. There are 3 levels of challenge, Casual/Advanced/Hardcore but no Custom (boo!) So, will I buy it? Probably. The story is intriguing enough to make me want to go on. But it could have been better and that is why only 4* from me. Do try it, simply because it is so different!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expected More Good colourful game but I expected more I found it predictable and quite short for a surface game. I feel that this would have slotted into an earlier release slot I think the soaring city and pantheon were more intruiging in saying this it is still a very enjoyable game.
Date published: 2014-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got into it ! Lately I have been so disappointed with all the games I purchased, but I had to try the new Surface as I did all the others in that franchise . I got into it and had a good time, puzzles and HO are a bit too easy though, but it moves along.... Anything fresh and away from the overdrawn games of past few months is a blessing.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised by bad review I loved the game, it held my interest, I played it on a rainy day all in one sitting, it was more than just a HOG it had different puzzles and I would recommend to a beginner or a novice
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This One Should Have Been Buried Beneath the Surface I am a person who doesn’t usually bother writing a review if I don’t care for a game but felt that I wanted to put in my two-cents worth on an incredibly nonsensical game by one of my favorite developers. For this game to be part of the Surface series seems to be quite a stretch of the imagination and a sad departure from the previous games in the series. I can see Surface perhaps because of the two realities the “reel life” as opposed to “reality” but the whole premise of the game was exceptionally odd to me. The story seemed disjointed and just didn’t gel. Although the graphics were very clear and good quality the characters were cartoonish to a fault. The one great thing that Elephant did with this game was add lip-syncing but that, IMHO, was not enough. The music and soundtrack were okay but not really great. It seems that almost everything about the game fell flat. You have all the usual tools with an interactive map thrown in that is very necessary because there is a lot of back and forth in the game. As with most Elephant games, the HOPs were very straightforward HO scenes with very little interaction required to complete the scene. The puzzles were okay but nothing spectacular. Maybe I am having an off day but I found the gameplay confusing and very ho-hum, it just didn’t make a lot of sense. In fact, I was so happy to see the game end that I was ready to do a happy dance. Aside from the inclusion of the strategy guide, there is nothing in my opinion that qualifies this game as being worthy of a CE. We collect the hidden flowers and what do we get but access to a secret room where we can play videos of the game. Sorry Elephant, this is one of the first games that you have presented that I just didn’t care for. Although this version of Surface was a huge disappointment for me, I suggest that you try the demo because it just might be your cup of tea.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WTH ELEPHANT GAMES???!!!! I don't know what is going on with this game, but I am VERY disappointed with this latest installment of the surface game series. Here is everything I found wrong with this game... 1.) The game was WAY to short! 2.) The characters in the game were animated and not real like in past surface games which seemed like their trademark. 3.)The puzzles were extremely easy to solve with no challenge at all. 4.) They need an editor for spelling and grammar mistakes. Honestly it seems to me that they needed to get a new surface game out as quickly as possible, and just released this POC game to us, honestly I feel very cheated by Elephant Games, they usually take more time to create their games, and I have never had a complaint with the company until now, I don't know if they changed ownership or what but this game really sucked in comparison to the others...VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED!! I hope they don't continue with this low quality product, I honestly will stop playing if they don't change back to the great quality they had before!
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to Surface? Surface: Reel Life CE Review based on demo PREFACE… I nearly swooned upon seeing that a new Surface was the TGT, being that Surface is one of my favorite series. On watching the opening scene, all I could think was, "What happened to everything that characterized this series?" ONCE UPON A TIME... Your sister Mary and her daughter Jane go to see a movie starring Jane's late fiancé Andrew Light. (Andrew and his director went missing some years previously and are presumed dead.) As they're watching the movie, Andrew steps out of the screen, grabs Jane, and climbs back into the movie. Mary calls you for help. PLAY THE GAME... In adventure mode, you'll find everything you need a few short steps from where you'll use it, although some items require a bit of work to acquire. HO scenes are all of the list type, with a couple of interactive items that require an object from your inventory. The puzzles are all rehashed and easy. SIGHTSEEING… While there's nothing wrong with the graphics, per se, they are missing the surrealism that usually characterizes this series…and I missed it. Not that the graphics weren't creative, colorful, dimensional, and well done, mind you. Just that they were firmly inside the box. In-game animation was smooth and realistic, but the live actors were sadly missing, replaced by cartoonish simulacrums. SOUND WAVES… The music is quite lovely and moody, definitely downloadable. Voiceovers were just ok. Environmental and game sounds were appropriate. TOOLBOX… The map shows active areas and transports. It's inside the journal, but instantly visible. The journal combines some written material with replayable videos. Inventory bar is lockable. EXTRA, EXTRA… Extras include the bonus adventure, the SG, collectible flowers that unlock a secret room containing more games, performance achievements and awards, and the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds. (Frankly, I'm getting a bit tired of the flowers.) THE LAST WORD… I don't find Reel Life up to the quality of the rest of the Surface series, to be honest. While the storyline is true to the overall theme of the series, that element of the surreal is missing, and the story dragged on slowly. Also, gameplay was really easy. I'm undecided at this point, so my recommendation is to try the demo yourself. In the meantime, if you like the Surface series, you'll like the pachyderm's Mystery Trackers series as well.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok CE that could have been much better... A very silly story line, and not overly long. Without skipping any puzzles, not using hints and playing in advanced mode the game was over in 4 hours (including the bonus chapter). Whilst the bonus chapter wasn't stuffed with HOPs thankfully, it was a bit 'hum drum' and lasted about 35 minutes. Not what I expect for double the price of an SE. There are 3 play modes, collectable flowers (yawn), and well drawn but not very challenging HOPs (these needed you to use some inventory items to complete them). The graphics weren't the greatest, and very fuzzy on my MBP Retina display. The music was ok, and thankfully no furry critters to help you. Excellent hint system. Didn't need to use the SG. My main gripe is that unless you want to play hard core mode with no puzzle skips, the hand holding is excessive in the extreme. Many devs these days give you a 'custom' option, so you can do away with black bar tips if you want to. On seeing a screw, being told you need a 'screwdriver' is an insult to one's intelligence! I usually love games by these devs, and I'm thrilled when I see their name at the beginning of a game, but this didn't live up to expectations. I must rein myself in and stop buying CEs because, with a few exceptions, the extra price isn't really good value for money. Wish I'd waited for the SE on this game, and used a punch.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not the best Review is based on completion of game and bonus play. Had played some of the other Surface games and enjoyed them. Played the demo of this CE and when the hour was up, I really wanted to keep going. From there on, it didn't continue to deliver on its promise. Not bad, just flat. The breakdown: PROS: Storyline was relatively original. Cut scenes weren't overly long and could be skipped. Characters voices weren't annoying. Interactive map. HO scènes well drawn and interactive, with some requiring items from inventory to complete - a nice addition. Music pleasant and appropriate. Some "utility" items in this games were other than expected so it took a bit of creative thinking to figure out what to use where. CONS: The artwork seemed uneven - in some places quite good and in others cartoonish. The mini games were okay but mostly not very challenging (I'm not an expert player). Length of game play too short. It took me less than 3 hours to complete the regular game, and less than an hour for the bonus (I'm by no means an expert so that's very fast for me). So, a pleasant diversion. The lack of challenge and short duration were the biggest drawbacks for me, and the reason I can only offer a 3-star rating. Overall, would recommend but suggesting waiting for a sale.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing game I loved the other games in this series, but this one was maybe one too many. The premise of the story is interesting, but it is poorly told, not really making sense at times. Game play is OK, but there is way too much back-and-forth with the journey being illogical at times. For example, you have a difficult time getting across a chasm, but then you must traverse it many times. Artwork and VOs are good, and there is a good jump map. I don't recommend this game as a CE. Maybe the SE would be OK.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Chapter in a Great Series This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game + bonus content. Every series has its 'slump', and Surface finally found theirs. Here we go: First, the Bonus Content (or Why should I pay double for this game?): The bonus chapter is about an hour long with very few locations and a plot thinner than tissue paper in the rain. The ending, while 'nice', didn't really make sense in terms of what we learned during the game (the whole bonus chapter, really). Strike One. There were collectibles - a ton of hidden flowers (I found a little more than half) which unlocked three 'movie' reels. They could have done a lot more here - where's our room to customize or UI skins from the collectible shop (a la The Noise she Couldn't Make)? Step backward here. Strike Two. The achievements/trophies were all the usual fare: finish a scene in under a minute, go make a sandwich for ten minutes then finish, no hints/skips, etc. Again a step backwards even from the first Surface game, which had an achievement for solving a 'mystery' that wasn't critical to the plot (ie: you could finish the game and not get it). Strike Three. Now for the regular game: THE GOOD: You can replay cutscenes directly from your journal. The hint system was a nice improvement - it showed you the scene where what you needed to do was, and let you jump right there. Functionally, it's exactly the same as a 'directional' hint button, but without the need to traipse all over the game world. Graphics and sound were good, voice acting fairly solid. HOS were neat, orderly (this doesn't mean easy), and used the 'put some items from your inventory into the scene' mechanic. If I have one fault with them, it's that they're all the same, mechanically. THE BAD: The hint button sticks out WAY further than it should, which makes it very easy to accidentally click during HOS (which kills your achievements). The cutscene animation was a little stilted. They ended up in that 'too good for normal graphics' but 'not good enough to look real' range. You're eyes know something is off so the scenes just don't 'feel' right. They've done better before in this series (and plenty better in other ones). The game took me four and half hours, including task-killing and replaying a mini-game several times to get the 'one-minute' achievement (never did). I'm a slow player, so this is a short game. The game+bonus is shorter than what most standard editions take me to play through. THE UGLY: I'd like to say at the story was good, but it wasn't. I understand they're working within the 'Surface' paradigm, but c'mon, Can we please have one game where no one gets kidnapped in the intro/opening scene? BOTTOM LINE: I'm glad I got this on a BOGO weekend. While this game may still be better than most of what's out there, it's not up to the standards Elephant has set - in this series and others. All the parts for a great game were there, they just didn't deliver the goods. If it were longer I might recommend it, but at the length it is it's not up to CE standards. Wait for the SE if you really want to play this one.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too short not anything special to me. it was short and not much of a story. just repeated the same things over and over. disappointed with this surface.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Game, AWFUL Bonus Content! BASED ON DEMO Surface is probably one of my all time favourite game series. I own three of the four released, and the last one was pretty good, so I naturally had high expectations for this one, and I have to say... WOW! The story was great, but the CE Extras were downright awful. I will be waiting for the SE and highly advise you to do the same. The story... really good, pretty new, all round exciting! It starts off with a bang... normal people watching a normal movie. Then it goes off script and the actor steps off the screen and kidnaps your niece! So you must fix the projector, fire it up and go in to the world of “Cinecity”. The story was exciting and had a few good twists. For one, everything you interacted with from the movie (be it characters, animals or plants), vanished once you'd interacted with it! That was just creepy. Other than that, no twists and everything went along as expected. One thing I'm really looking forward to is the story of the villain. The story is starting to be told, and it's really interesting. It's like a murder mystery and a sci-fi story... all rolled in to one! The demo ended on a somewhat low note, but I'm still keen to see how this one pans out. It seems Elephant have taken my advice on the last game. They've really worked on their gameplay. This is one step upwards from their previous games; they're really trying something different from the norm. The inventory-HOS (which I love) have made their return, and Elephant has introduced something new for their games; complex objects. Complex objects are not new anymore (they seem to be appearing in every game these days), but it was a great step forward for Elephant. It goes to show that developers do listen to the reviews. There were quite a few complex objects in the game, with some needing one step to complete and some needing two. Going back to the basics, I did quite enjoy the HOS. They needed inventory items to complete, which made them a lot more enjoyable and slightly more challenging. There was only one type of HOS, which was this one. There were a few HOS in the demo (about three), which indicates to me that the HOS will be evenly spread out. The puzzles were a mix of easy and hard as usual. Some I could solve in a couple of clicks and others required the use of the skip button. This proves to me that Elephant are catering for all puzzlers, no matter what their experience. Great job. Apart from the addition of the complex objects, this is your average HOPA. No animal helpers, no new gameplay, just average HOPA. Even so, I did find the game to be quite challenging. I had to use the hint a lot, mostly because the map was almost useless. Because of this, I would not recommend this game to beginners. The graphics are good as usual. There is a lot of detail there and the character designs are good. Every scene is clear. The artists really are talented. These graphics are really good, and almost look like they're real. The voice-overs are standard I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hard. I played Casual. Differences are sparkles, hint/skip charge times, etc. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a reasonable speed for the difficulty. What disappointed me a little was that the hint changed from being a worded hint to just directing you like a normal hint. The worded hint made things a bit more challenging and that was taken away this time around. Diary- keeps track of events. Map- almost useless. It only tells you where there are active tasks, not where your next task is. This caused me to use a lot of hints. Complex objects- these were objects that required an extra action or two to complete. Complex objects are indicated by a + sign. There were a few of these in the demo and I liked them. CE EXCLUSIVES Built-in Strategy Guide- useful for puzzles. Bonus Chapter- unsure if needed. Most likely not. Collectible flowers- scattered everywhere throughout the game. Didn't care much for them. Secret Room- has 3 bonus films in it that can only be bought by collecting flowers. Achievements Concept Art Music Wallpapers Screensaver I'm very disappointed with the CE Extras. I did not like them one bit. Usually Elephant makes their CE's good, but this is not one. There's absolutely NOTHING in the bonus content that makes this game worth the extra money. I did enjoy the game, but it's only good. It falls well short of being a great game. Most reviewers will rate this 5 stars, but it's ridiculous. This is nowhere near a 5 star game, especially compared to previous games in the Surface series. THIS version of the game (the CE) gets three stars because of the bad bonus content. The SE game will get a four star rating from me. I recommend you play the trial.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Have Been Believable!! Okay, cool, going to a nostalgia movie with your Mum and poof you are grabbed by your (once) real life fiancee into a world that should have been real but isn't!!! I apologize for my cynisysm but this drama went over the top! Crazy monkeys, tigers etc. took so much away from what the story could have been. I mean todays games have so much sophistication and indeed this one had the potential but I became bored after 35 min. of the trial. I also remember this as a Beta trial and even at that I was not thrilled. Believablilty is a big thing today and this to me was not believable. I am reviewing this without making comment on the game itself, and perhaps this is unfair, but sometimes good just isn't good enough. I recently played a game that is 4 years old and the rating was 4...I couldn't give this game a 4?? Wonderful graphics, good sound affects, all the bells & whistles we look for yet to me boring. I didn't even finish the trial. Once I saw the Mother on stage appealing for help to get rid of the tiger I knew I was done. Sorry gamers, this is all about authenticity and this game just fell short!
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Old Stuff Demo Only Wish the devs would crank it up a notch with the gameplay. Granted, I only did the demo, but within 15 minutes I ran into the second same old, same old boring noninteractive junkpile. There are voiceovers, collectibles, and a locking inventory, but this has been done before. The better games out there have been more innovative. No reason on earth not to be able to customize difficulty and why do the black bar comments take all the challenge away? Anyway it looks like the garbage scenes are fairly frequent here. Although just a demo experience, and therefore skewed, it seems that the graphics and gameplay are rather old school. It makes me wonder if this sequel wasn't made awhile ago and just introduced now out of order.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just not sure about this one definitely won't be getting the collectors edition, might give it another try when the it comes out in regular version. I am not big on extras anyway and just couldn't quite get into this one. I have others of this Ceries and generally like them but for some reason this one was was not doing it for me. haited that the hint button kept saying I just used it that was just irritating. at least when it worked it let you jump to the place you need to go so that was good but over all story line was nothing new and just not sure how I feel about it not sure I can recommend it at this point.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing to be real excited about I found the game to be boring and unimaginative. I love the Surface series but this one is a no buy for me. Although not a dud, still it could have been much better.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IT WAS OK!! i KEPT FORGETTING THAT IT WAS A SURFACE GAME AND NOT A FINAL CUT GAME.EVEN KEPT FORGETTING THE FLOWERS AND WAS LOOKING FOR HE CLAPBOARDS.TOO MUCH ALIKE.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Good game. Not excellent but enjoyed playing. The biggest flaw was the level of challenge.. kind of disappointed.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OH Elephant what a disappointment!!! This latest Surface installment wasn't what I expect from this developer. The adventure is short and you get the feeling that the developer was in a hurry to complete the project. The premise of the story is okay, save Jane from Andrew Light/Skip frame (villain) when she is kidnapped in the theater. There is a brief encounter with a Madame Vega, which reminds me of Madame Fate. I love Elephant games but I hope they raise the bar soon. You may want to demo before purchasing this one.....
Date published: 2014-04-20
  • y_2021, m_5, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_20860, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Reel Life Collector's Edition

A famous actor has literally stepped off the screen to kidnap your niece. Now you must find a way into the dangerous and exciting world of the film to save her!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.