Demon Archive: The Adventure of Derek

Demon Archive: The Adventure of Derek

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(198.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In 18th century France, a detective is called upon to investigate the mysterious death of Count Anthony.

Prepare to experience eerie apparitions and familiar literary allusions based on Marlow’s Dr.Faustus. Follow your instincts and venture through brilliant scenes, mini-games and puzzles. Beware – monsters with unique characteristics hide in unexpected places.

Can you save the town and Countess Mellissa from the Demon?

  • 20 amazing hidden object scenes!
  • Collect beautiful verses from Dr.Faustus
  • Solve puzzles and mini-games
  • Brilliant concept arts
  • Get the Strategy Guide!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1354 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Demon Archive: The Adventure of Derek

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(198.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Demon Archive: The Adventure of Derek is rated 2.1 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Story Wanted, Logic Optional As the detective, you have been called in by the victim's sister, Countess Melissa. According to her, Count Anthony went on a visit and is overdue by a week. The newspaper reports he wanted to write a book, possibly about a secret society he joined. But then the news article is badly written, contradictory, and mixes tenses. The detective first visits the victim's house, starts out for the port, and then, finding a key in the street, inexplicably unlocks and enters a resident's house. A masked character is seen twice, the second time after kidnapping the sister, who, according to the detective, may need to be rescued before she gets in trouble. (IMHO, kidnapping is trouble enough.) The artwork is dark. There are casual and hard for the play-modes. The mini-games are repetitive. The simple HOPs contain incredibly tiny items. The plot is MIA and left no forwarding address. It all comes down to the story here. It becomes a more important element of the game when everything else about the game is average or less than average. Since the story is muddled and confused, the only recommendation I can make is that you try this before having any thought of buying it.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a bad game -- for around 2010 The best of today's hidden object/adventure games are years beyond this one. Either the game itself is old or the software engine on which it is based is old and limited. Only 2 difficulty levels Can't turn off the click penalty in the HO scenes Can't click out of a zoom-in, must use "back" button Hint can't direct you to a different scene/room where there is something you can do now, but can only tell you what needs doing in the current scene/room, even if you don't have the items required to accomplish that task. Very long pauses in some scene changes without even a "loading" bar. I'm spoiled. I like the way the current games work and allow me to choose my options. This one would have been OK about 5 years back, but now? Not so much.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seriously not recommended! Hi all. Wow, what crypt did they pull this one out of? Graphics weren't too bad, but colors really had me put off in the beginning...a lot of pink and purple! Game play was extremely old school, in that I found that I could not leave a scene until all tasks had been completed. Now, that would be okay, if I had all the pieces I needed to complete it...I didn't. Example (not a spoiler): in the office/library, I needed one more book but couldn't find it in that room and needed to complete the puzzle on the wall, but needed one more piece - also could not find it in that room. Maybe I'm blind, but they just weren't there and I could not exit the room. Extremely maddening. Voice overs seemed appropriate for the time, place and character. Music seemed to turn off while in game mode, but would sneak in now and then. Very quiet and very few sound FX. HOPS are extremely simple and items are very easy to spot. I did not care for the need to grab, hold and drag items when I needed to use or place them. The inventory bar does not lock in place and pops up and down every time you find something. Very annoying. You get a verse after each HOP. Now, I have no idea what part this plays in this game, since they don't seem to be a hint to something else and some didn't make sense to me, as far as the game was concerned. Puzzles were simple when you could find one. When a pop up scene is completed, it should either automatically disappear or you should be able to click outside the box to exit...this one, you had to click a back button. Been so long since I had seen one, that it took me a few seconds to find it. For those of you who may be jumpy at times, there is a click penalty of two ghostly hands that jump at you as if they are going to grab your neck...just sayin'. Some items in a scene are extremely small, e.g. accidentally opened a book and "found" scissors. Only reason I knew what they were is because the screen told me what I found. Just looked like a blob on the book, so I clicked on it. Needless to say, after 17 minutes, most of which was in the library, I got out and deleted this game. I'm not even sure a beginner would find this one fun. Just too many things didn't work correctly, or flow at all. There are very few games that I do not recommend for one reason or another, but this is one that I just can't recommend for any level of player. No buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Demons, Derek, and Dark Today is Memorial Day in the USA. For all who served in the armed forces I want to thank you for your service, as well as pass my heartfelt condolences to all who have lost loved ones while serving. Setting: 18th cent. France - except the newspapers are printed in English and the citizens speak with British and American accents. Count Anthony disappeared a week ago after going to see Priest Thomas about writing a book. The Count's 's sister Melissa has asked you, detective Derek, to find him. The artwork is done in a two dimensional style, fairly flat and not too detailed. The palette is very dark, utilizing a lot of dark blues with an occasional brown.The voices are fairly good except that the accents do not fit the setting. The text shows on screen, but instead of "Continue..." it says "Skip" so I suggest not clicking if you want to hear everything. Music consists mostly of a four note sequence repeating over and over. During the demo, there were a few simple picture puzzles to rearrange, and 2-3 other symbol puzzles which, while lacking clear instructions, were likewise very simple to solve. There were 4-5 HOs, some of which required mild interaction but otherwise were very straightforward. The dark palette adds some difficulty, but not much. I am using Windows. Before the game opened, a window popped up where I could set the game's resolution, including a check box for Windowed play. I set the resolution to the maximum (1600 x 1200) and unchecked Windowed and the game played in full screen. This game bears the hallmarks of a new developer. There are numerous misspellings (i.e., scissor and plier) and Melissa is sometimes rendered Merlissa. Also, using an object requires clicking and holding with the mouse. There is a journal but no map, and there is quite a bit of backtracking. There are occult and religious themes explored by the story line. During the demo, a pentagram symbol is shown on the floor alongside a cross with a snake wrapped around it. I found nothing that would compel me to purchase this game. The play is dated, the story is derivative and the quality is deficient.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The BIG SNORE Oh boy...Where does one begin dissing a game. The music was beyond boring..the HO were HIDDEN. Perhaps the story was interesting but my patience wouldn't let me get past the drag-inventory-items. There are so many wonderful games out there and I chose this one. If nothing else this game will have me really appreciating the great games even more. This game is a bust. 2 stars were for the effort of my trying to endure!
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a good game I played this game for about fifteen minutes but couldn't play any more. Very frustrated. This game takes me back about 10 years. Amateurish at best. Story line is not good because there really isn't any. Brother disappears. Game was not vetted very well. There are many, many mistakes and it is hard to follow. Please let whoever is reviewing these games to try a little harder before Okaying them for Big Fish.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time or money Terrible game, doesn't even fit the screen, even the hints leave a lot to be desired, we were very disappointed. If the game was rated on a scale of 1 to 10 we'd have to give it at least a minus 5.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap Hidden Objects. Only played a short was hoping a long time for a worthy SE. Not this time. I hate cheap games and a cut screen to boot. Save your money and your time this game is the pits.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from it is so boring someone else might like it - but it is so boring. I gave it 2 stars because the story lines is bad and the game is borning
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Derek the Detective brings surprises galore A rather strange little game with only a windowed option. The premis - disappearing people in a small town- now , where have we heard that before? You masquerade as Derek, the man with the strange misplaced accent, where you meet a french lady with whom you converse. Apparently, this lady has lost her brother amongst other people who have gone missing. You set out to investigate. Memo : static characters appear when they interact with you but they do have a voiceover. Then you start to notice the most amusing (but probably unintentional) mistakes in the game. Click on the jewellery box in the first scene, it says you need a hook to reach it - ok fair enough... but click again and it says "you need something in your tool" That made me smile. Then you discover a "HINT buttom"!! And a Plier! and a Scissor! and then later on a Snack symbol ( no not Mcdonalds or a candy bar (US) or sweet symbol but a SNAKE symbol!!! Also you are asked to "Put on the key to make something work" It means place the symbols in the correct place! I am sure there must be many more in the game later on but I really don't think I will part with any money to find them! Rather stange progression through the demo... you go back and forth a lot and it is easy to miss some things that you need to do something with or pick up and use elsewhere. The hint doesn't always help - often it shows you what you need to do if you had everything but you missed something along the way and therefore you cannot complete the thing the hint is telling you to do! Descriptions of things vary - quite early on you go to the "middle of the river" but you don't get wet feet. Also you enter a "resident's house" for no apparent reason apart from the fact that you can and it seems this resident has a piano room- no other rooms just a "house" and a "piano room"- How odd! Later you need to break a window- find a rock or a stone, brick maybe? No, you need an AXE!!!! It keeps telling you that Merlissa (the french lady and the missing person's sister) is in danger of being taken but if like me you got to the port without everything to progress out, you saw her being kidnapped way before you get the messages! This seems a dated game both in execution and progression and the translation needs a lot of work to make it a reasonable mystery story.. Towards the end of the demo Derek sails off into the sunset by standing upright in a small dingy - really? and the boat glides away without even raising its sail...... All in all, a big disappointment but it did make me smile; though that was probably unintentional.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from back to the drawing board with this one i was unable to play very far in this game because it is a small screen. not full page. also the inventory is so low even after moving my toolbar out of the way i can only see the top half of the items i have collected. very dark and hard to make out scenes . can't really comment on the story because i couldn't play very long.maybe others will have better luck with this game than i did.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lack of info Game will not give you hints when needed. Only where to go, not how to get it.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really? I lasted about 10 minutes into the demo. This game feels like a student project at game design school. Super talky story line, you pick a screen size and are stuck with it, you can't lock the inventory, and for some reason it's difficult to get back to a previous screen. I don't remember anything about the story because it was such a pain to play.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No full screen The program lacks a full screen environment. It also has very limited Option choices.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Needs An EXTREME Makeover REVIEW BASED ON DEMO VERY "old school". Must click and drag inventory items to the proper place. Does not fill my computer screen. On the largest setting, the sides of the scenes were cut off. On the smallest settings, the inventory was cut off. No character animation when speaking--boxed "conversation" to read. No map. No hint beyond the obvious in the current scene. Inventory "plus" items but no indicator. Had to guess that one belonged with the other and, gratefully, it worked. Standard list HOS with MINIMAL interaction. The puzzles I found were SIMPLE enough to need no instructions, which was good because the instructions were very vague for one of them. No locking inventory. It does have a journal and reading it was the ONLY way to make sense of what was going on. Even still, it was a reach. Anyone with sight issues will need extra help due to the smallness of items to find in the regular scenes. Some of the HOS too. Action response very slow. And, really, I just dislike getting something totally different for the inventory than anything I identified in a HOS. All in all, too much effort for very little payback. This one is just not my cup of tea. For me, not even worth a game coupon. I would suggest you try before you buy.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This year has been feast or famine and today I'm hungry again Demon Archive is an unmitigated disaster. The developer is Twin Cat ( why are the cats very different if they are twins ? )someone new to the genre and hopefully not for long if this is the best they can do. Once again we have an offering that was either made years ago or the developer has a total lack of knowledge as to how to make a good game. The characters are paper doll cutouts with zero movement, on my PC I did not have a full screen option, the HO scenes are total junkpile and in the 15 minutes I lasted before I saved myself from further boredom there was nary a puzzle. The cursor movement was clunky, particularly in picking up inventory items. I usually offer a brief synopsis of the story line in reviews, not in this case. I so want my HOPA colleagues to avoid this trash;therefore I'll offer nothing about the story. As lots of us celebrate Memorial Day, there is nothing at all memorable about a truly awful game.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wish I Had Waited For Reviews Did not like this game at all. I wish I had not spent a free game credit on it. The game is difficult to play--meaning you have no idea where to go or what to do. Hints are useless. You just randomly click hoping to find something to pick up or do.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't think they tried This game has the feel of a middle school game project. Every aspect is *almost* mediocre. I normally don't write review, good or bad, but I couldn't even make it through the trial. Pass.
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Could have been much better. Instead of automatically set for your computer you have to adjust the screen resolution. Even then it doesn't seem to completely match. When I used the hint button in a couple of the HOS, it didn't show anything. I had to wait for the hint button to reload before I could use it again and it still didn't show anything. Also I tried using the hint button in a couple of the other scenes to see what it would do and each time it just took me back to an item which I had already checked out and knew that I needed another item before I could complete the scene. And both of the scenes that had happened in - there was nothing further to do there until I had found the extra item I needed - which was not in that scene. The English language used was very stilted and did not flow. The grammar was not typical English grammar. I had to sit and think about it for a few seconds before I could figure out was it was saying - and English is my first language. I don't know which language this game was first produced in but could you please get a translator who actually knows the language it is being translated in to. The storyline seemed to be one that I would enjoy. If the game had worked better I think I might have purchased this game, but as it stands it's not worth it.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from slow and jerky not logical and hints unhelpful.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is bad I rarely write reviews but this was really bad for me. Items were so small and they were not hidden at all. I just could not wait to get out of this game.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What was this?? I do not play games with no sound control. I hate noise. I put the levers all the way over and still had the sound!!!
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unpleasant Blast from the Past This is one of the most dated games I have played in years; probably so long ago that this type was considered new and fresh! There is no comparison to the gameplay offered today; not even close. The trial was a waste of time and I certainly would not waste money on this.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Ready for Prime Time As a pretty eclectic player of games, I'm sorry to say this is not even close to ready. The dialogue is laughable. The plot is so melodramatic as to be funny. The hidden object scenes have a "pasted on" quality to them and it is easy to spot the objects without reading the list. I just don't think this game is of the quality Big Fish usually markets. Sorry, but it's back to the drawing boards - literally for this game.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from gms run away, run away fast from this game one of the worst I have ever made the mistake to download!!!! absolutely the worst.
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible hidden object game liked nothing about it, will not recommend
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst ever Game I have played It lacks sense, the hint button is worthless. The visual is old, old, old style, very flat. This is one that needed to be left unfound--not even worth BFG free game coupon. This the first time I write such a bad review.
Date published: 2015-05-26
  • y_2021, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_22841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Demon Archive: The Adventure of Derek

Investigate the mysterious death of Count Anthony in 18th century France.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.