Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle
Exclusive

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(475.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

From Eipix, in partnership with Big Fish and the Smithsonian Institution, comes the epic continuation of the Hidden Expedition series! Your old buddy and H.E.L.P. operative Sam calls you in to investigate a strange anomaly at the Smithsonian Castle. You soon learn there's more to this anomaly than meets the eye, and H.E.L.P's reach stretches back to the Smithsonian's historic founding. Unlock the secrets of time travel as you follow the clues into the Smithsonian Castle's Civil War past.

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"Brilliant game! Fun and educational. This will be purchased the second it is offered. I loved everything about it." – Cynthia, Beta Tester

"I was so engrossed in the story line I did not realize how long I was playing. Thoroughly enjoyed it." – Miles, Beta Tester

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 685 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(475.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get to be a time traveler! Thought it was great going back to the founding of the Smithsonian Castle and exploring the civil war history. Visuals and audio are once again top notch as with all the other Hidden Expedition games, and love the fact cards about the places you see and the people you meet. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and educational This is my top favorite game out of the hundreds of games I've played over the past 2 years. I loved the story line, the time travel, the games, and interacting with other characters. It was not to easy but everything flowed well and common sense served you well in this game. I love when things make sense! I love history and I love learning something new, so I really enjoyed getting all the fun and educational information about the Smithsonian castle. I hope they get together and make another game just like this, only this time I would actually love to explorer the inside of the Smithsonian museum.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Peek into Science The story line wasn't too bad - a bit disjointed, but the scenes were interesting. The HOS were a bit disappointing - not enough objects to find! This was good for a quick play. The level of challenge was medium, visual/sound quality good. I always enjoy a game that has some useful information, this one briefly touched on that. Good for a rainy Sunday afternoon! The mini puzzles weren't very difficult, no need for help from the walkthrough except the one puzzle which needs numbers as in a combination lock - quite tricky and the one solution didn't really make sense in line with the other clues. I have played better games, but I enjoyed the experience. I like games to have a satisfying conclusion - this one leaves you feeling that it ends in mid-air. Maybe to keep you hungry for more with a collectors edition?
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was a Solid game My main issue with this game is the story line. It made sense in the beginning then got weird in the middle and came back at the end. I was just disappointed in it since I would have liked for it to be better than hope diamond and it wasn't. I really like HE for the cool locations and this game did not really deliver on that. While it kept the fact cards and had a diverse array of puzzles something kept this game from being awesome.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed seeing things Was a fun game. Nothing ghostly, dark, or evil monsters, etc. I did use Hint more than I prefer - but that may have just been my fault. But it is worth purchasing & playing especially if you get tired of all those evil dark videos. - There is the man who wants control - but nothing bad happens until he passes out at the end. Therefore this is good for all ages.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining! If you are looking for something that supplies little history lessons within the game, this is the game for you. The graphics were great, the scenery was colorful and there were several locations throughout the game. The HOS's were interesting and the Mini games a challenge. Sit back, relax and enjoy.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blast From The Past.....Way Past I researched some fun facts about the Hidden Expedition series recently, because I wanted to find out what H.E.L.P stood for, the P was stumping me. Turns out that this league has had a few name changes over the years. In Hidden Expedition: Titanic, the league went by the name of H.E.A.L, which was the Hidden Expedition Adventure League. In Hidden Expedition: Everest, the league was simply the Hidden Expedition Club, and Hidden Expedition: Devil's Triangle was H.E.A.T which stood for Hidden Expedition Adventure Team. The newer games feature the name H.E.L.P which stands for Hidden Expedition League of Preservation (my guess originally was protection) I guess this is a lot of useless information, but now you know! The Preservation Team Agents (P.T.A) have been called back to the Smithsonian Castle to investigate mysterious power outages. What they discover is a time traveling twisted love story between two different eras, the present day and the Civil War era! Once again, H.E.L.P has equipped us with a communication device that doubles as a fact finding device which tells us various fun facts about people, places and items related to the Smithsonian, as you find the cards throughout the game. They have added a new feature that allows you to scroll up, down, right and left on several of the zoomed in locations. Another new feature that I thought was kinda cool, were the random Kiosks throughout the museum that allowed you to listen to even more Smithsonian information. Some of the inventory items are complex items that require some form of interaction before they are available for use, such as solving a quick mini game or combining that item with another inventory item. The Collectors Edition has 43 Hidden Symbols to collect, one in each location! Some of the Hidden Object games were really good, others were ho hum. Some are silhouetted shapes, some are sketches, most of the sketches represent an item and aren't necessarily exact images. One of the HOS had sketches of two items with a plus sign between them requiring you to find the item that both items combined would represent such as, Ear + Musical Notes would equal headphones. The Collectors Edition has a traditional feature where all of the HOS have a morphing object (16 total morphs), and to remind you to look, there is a morphing object icon to the right of the inventory bar. The mini games were way too easy, but still entertaining, matching top and bottom bar codes, or filling in hollow letters with several different shapes, or aligning all planets horizontally however selecting one planet will affect others at the same time. The Collectors Edition has Movies, Pictures (screensavers & wallpapers) Puzzles, HOP's, Music, a Souvenir Room, Collectibles, Morphing Objects, Achievements, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Way to Spend and Afternoon This is posted after completing the entire game. I have been waiting for this to come out in SE for a while now and I finally got it. Not that there was anything wrong with the CE, I just don't buy them very often. I thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon at the Smithsonian. This is another hit for Eipix and Big Fish. The time just flew and I did play all afternoon, so it's not a short game at all. I love the cards you get that tells the history of the Smithson and the Smithsonian, and being a history buff, I enjoy reading them. Only thing that would make this better would to allow gender change for the player. I get so darn tired of putting on my Saturday night dress to play a game... LOL The graphics and sound are excellent! I still don't understand the use of the pop-up windows for the voice overs, but apparently they do and it doesn't distract too much from the story. Music and effects go along with the story. Can't tell you a lot about the music, because I always turn it down and don't pay much attention to it. The only complaint I have are those antiquated pop-up windows for voice overs. I have to say, if you are a mini game junkie who likes to rack your brains trying to figure them out, you aren't going to care for this. I played most of the mini games, and for me to have the patience to do so, they must be easy. There are several different types of hidden object games that kept it interesting, but mostly, they were rather simple too. Just my style.... hard enough to work at, but not so much that I'm ready to throw the computer out the window. A couple of the mini games the hardest part was not in doing the puzzle, but figuring out what to do. I don't know how long I tried to figure what to do with those blessed bottles and the labels. Felt like a fool when I did figure it out, but just sayin'... You have the hint button which recharges quickly as does the skip button. BIG pluses in my book. The map is almost essential, because you do move around quite a bit. It will tell you where you are and places you have things to do. I really like that feature in my games. The story goes along with the rest of the series. This one involving time travel. Kind of a stretch from the others, but it was a decent story. I was thrown a bit by the references to the Civil War and expected it to be centered around it, but it was that time period. Something I wanted to tell you popped into my head and left just as quickly. Oh well, old age. All I can say is play the demo at least. I was ready to buy it before half of it was finished. I love this series and look forward to the next one.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ANOTHER GOOD TIME TRAVEL ADVENTURE Review based on completed Collectors Edition game. Well, you won't be bored here. There is a huge amount to do and it is a fast well-paced game. There is: * Voiceovers; * Agent, Field Agent, H.E.L.P. Operative and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * H.E.L.P. box - with educational and interesting facts. I decided to play on Custom mode and turned everything off. You can also turn Hint and Skip off as well to make it more challenging. However, you can change your mode at any time. First off, the graphics are absolutely brilliant. The details are crisp and clear and its easy to see everything. Sound is very good. The music is orchestral and adventure style. I didn't turn it down at all throughout the game. The hidden object games are interactive, silhouette and straightforward. These are very easy to do. There are a huge range of mini-games. These are also very easy but I did play them all and enjoyed them. All up the game and bonus took me about 6 hours to play, so a good length. Overall, a really good game to play with lots to do. Its action packed, with likeable characters and a good story line. There really is not much challenge in it though. However, I thought EIPIX did do a terrific job and you can certainly tell that they put a lot of effort into making the game. Well done. So do you get the Collectors Edition or standard version? In the Collectors Edition you get an Achievements Board. You also have to collect 43 time pieces which go into the Souvenir Room. There are also 16 morphing objects in the HOS games to find. If you find them all, then you get an achievement. In the extras, you can replay any mini-games and HOS. There is a small mini-game where you go through each scene to find a souvenir and earn another achievement. Either one you choose, you can't go wrong - this really is a good game. Happy playing.
Date published: 2015-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long and Interesting I do not usually review games here, but have to say I just finished the CE and glad I chose it. Had to use hints a great deal, but still I want to replay this. It is fine even without being the CE, but keep the walkthrough handy! Good long game with many interesting tidbits about the Smithsonian.
Date published: 2015-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Day at the Smithsonion I really liked this game for a lot of reasons. First, as a history buff, this one was right up my alley. While the storyline is a little weak, and predictable, the little historical tidbits more than makeup for that. The graphics, the music, the voice overs, and the endless number of rooms (thanks for the map!), make this game a pleasure to play. I love the Hidden Object levels, which are not the same old, same old. If not for the 2 or 3 levels for each HO, they would be too short and not much of a challenge. The only negative I have to say about this game are the puzzles. Some are just OK, but most are not even doable. Me or lack of good instructions? I'm not sure, but I skipped quite a few in frustration. But all in all this game was very enjoyable.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Games frustrating Some of the game's instructions were difficult to decipher, and two didn't actually work! And I found moving within blocks not very exciting, it's more challenging when we have to think forward or backwards to more than one or two locations. Far too easy to find the clues within only two or three scenes. If the character walks into a 'room' and immediately says, "I need to ...blah blah" it would be nice to know why they would think that. We do eventually find out but with a game set in the Smithsonian one would think the actions would be more logical.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from overall a good game although not perfect for me finished the full game, great hint button which was nice and necessary since no way to know what to do or where to go and basically enjoyed the game but not entirely sure what I accomplished. ended sooner than I expected but will recommend but whish I understood a bit more about what I was trying to do.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short Not very interesting and short.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting, But Middle of the Road This time out, my own review will be short. While Smithsonian Castle's story line was interesting, I just couldn't get into the washed out, hand drawn graphics. And hand drawn hidden objects are even worse in my opinion. There was nothing outstanding, or over the top, with this game. Music, hidden object scenes, puzzles, hint button, etc were all standard fare. I did appreciate the locking inventory, which some developers still leave out. This isn't a bad game, it's just not extraordinary. By all means, go ahead and try it for an hour and see what you think.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Boring Disappointment I stopped the demo after 38 minutes. There are entirely too many puzzles in this game. At every turn there's yet another puzzle, which may please puzzle lovers, but I thought it added greatly to the boredom factor. Of the few HOS I encountered all were the graphic kind, i.e., no word lists. The plot seems to involve people getting sucked into time vortices. This is not much different than getting sucked into a fantasy fairytale land like we had so much of in 2014, just a change in setting, so that was also a big yawn for me. The artwork and voiceovers are adequate but nothing spectacular. The music must be okay, because I didn't notice it. This game isn't awful, but it definitely does not live up to the Hidden Expeditions of the past. The best I can say about it is that there are custom settings for difficulty level, and the inventory bar locks open.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring...Boring...Boring... What can I say. My title says it all. I just finished this game, and the whole game is nothing but finding bas reliefs to put into objects to open up a box or location with but another item to insert in the slot. Over and over, it was so tiresome! A couple of the puzzles were very confusing, with no proper instructions. I am a puzzle lover, and some of the reviews stated that there were tons of puzzles, but when all you have to do is click mindlessly, and the thing magically gets put together or solves itself without any thinking at all, I don't classify this as a puzzle, but a needless exercise and pain in the wrist. It was so boring I could hardly get through it, but I persisted, and couldn't wait to uninstall. The only developer that created the best puzzles in my opinion is Elephant games, and they aren't really coming out with any new winners lately, which is too bad. I sure wish we could get some good arcade and platform games, as I'm really getting tired of the HO games. They are all the same and not much fun.
Date published: 2015-12-16
  • y_2021, m_1, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_22413, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle

The Smithsonian Castle's secrets lie in a Civil War past.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.