Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(339.03 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

ERS Game Studios presents another thrilling installment of the best-selling Dark Tales series!

A scream in the night... a brutal crime... a mysterious figure with eyes red as blood... You and your partner, Dupin, have been called in to solve the murder of a young woman in a seaside town. She was found hanging from a tree, killed by a wound delivered straight to her heart. The details of the killing are strange, and suggest a very personal motivation for the killer. But who would perpetrate such a horrible and unusual crime... and why? Get to the heart of the mystery in this thrilling Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 480 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(339.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Apologies to Poe This is a dreary addition to the Dark Tales series Please bring an umbrella, a towel, and a good book. I'm not sure what has confused me more: the sub-juvenial level of this game or lack of decent directions for mini-games. There is a murder. The victim was hit in the heart; she was hung up in a tree. We investigate with Dupin once again. Good stuff: Music was OK and expected game elements were present. Bad Stuff: HOPs were pedestrian although varied, mini-games and puzzles would have bored the grandkids in their simplicity, and the game-play and story-line are stilted at best. I am not an Edgar Allen Poe fan so I approached the story-line from a fresh perspective that left me asking, "What story-line?" We really don't receive much information in the demo except there has been a murder and we are to investigate. And we do - in the most boring, banal, and basic ways possible My humble apologies to Edgar Allen Poe for what seems a sorry addition to the Dark Tales series.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not their best one The game itself is short. You're done before you know it. The story was off for some reason. I don't think the story came together enough. Didn't really understand it. I have loved the other Edgar Allan Poe games, but not this one.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHAT HAVE THEY DONE TO OUR DAPPER DETECTIVE? The Tell-Tale Heart begins with a gruesome scene as a young woman is murdered and strung up to a nearby tree. The renowned Detective Dupin has been called to the town of Gurtos to investigate the murder and has asked you to accompany him as he works to solve the case. IMHO, you should stay home and let Dupin go this one alone! The game offer four modes of gameplay: Casual, Hard, Advanced, and Custom. If you select the Custom mode both the hint and puzzle skip times can be set in a range of 5 – 200 seconds. You can also uncheck various other settings to customize the gameplay. I love the graphics created by Bunny Team, and I doubt anyone else creates such realistic hand-drawn characters. Our gorgeous Detective Dupin almost seems dowdy and aged. What on earth have they done to the once dapper detective. There is an interactive map that is present at the beginning of the game and we do have a valise that we pack with some tools that are used early in the game. One of them is a special magnifying glass that is often used in HOP scenes and quickly became boring. Since this is a HOPA game we do have HOPS and the first one is a matching story type where we must find pairs of the highlighted words in the story. The HOPS are subtly woven into the story and appear sometimes as mini scenes. The puzzles do not seem overly difficult although they are tricky and one gate puzzle takes a bit of time to fiddle with in order to successfully complete it. I gave this game a glowing review when the CE version was released but it didn’t take long (and I mean that literally) before I was bored to tears and the game was over without the story ever coming together. Unfortunately, this game was not what I thought it would be and I regret that I even took the time to play the game. It is sad to see what has happened to the Dark Tales series. Perhaps the Bunny Team should trash this series and come up with some refreshing new ideas. Try the demo if you want but I certainly don’t recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short and Rushed I've loved every other game in this series and so I bought it without trying it first and regretted it. This game just seems like it was rushed for release. When it finished I was honestly scratching my head thinking, "really is that it?" The puzzles were pretty repetitive and nowhere near as challenging as previous games.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from awkward game I have all the Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe series and have enjoyed playing them all, but I found this one very awkward and confusing gameplay. Almost like it was quickly put together without much thought...sort of "Its Friday night and I want to get out of here" kind. HOS were fine, but I skipped almost all the puzzles. Not much of a puzzle player. The game offered a Custom setting so you could set the hint and skip to refresh quickly. Transporter map was good, but took a little getting used to. Color, voice-overs, animations were very good, but the storyline was confusing. The ending was abrupt and awful and I totally didn't understand it. Who was the real killer? Good grief. How sad this game was compared to the rest. I purchased it on a special but would have been very upset if I had paid full price. Maybe the CE explained things better. Also, it was kind of a short one.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If it only had an ending... About 4/5 of the game aren't really bad, though some of the puzzles are of the "guess the color I'm thinking of" sort. But the abrupt unexpected end leaves you with a very dry mouth. It smells of an angry managing director shouting "Why, not ready yet??? Close it down quickly for we're way behind schedule!" And haste makes waste :-(
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poe's Rolling Over In His Grave I have enjoyed the heck out of the Dark Tales series, and considering that Tell-Tale Heart is likely one of the best known Poe stories out there, I expected this adaptation to be as good as some of the other games they've converted. As others have stated here, that sadly isn't the case. The game is incredibly short and very sudden. After piecing together clues and forensics for the first half, you're thrust into a myriad of dream and action sequences that seem culled from another game entirely. As for the challenges, they are about what you'd expect. Nothing too hard and some very simple indeed. Hidden object scenes have a bit of complexity to them, which is welcome, but not enough to save the rest of this game. Sound and graphics are fine, as you've likely come to expect here. Bit more blood and guts, but that didn't bother me and worked with the gruesome nature of the story. Very disappointing. Time to move on to something else as they've clearly exhausted Poe's canon.
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pray this is the Last of These This is posted after playing the entire game. I really wasn't going to post about this game, because it was so bad, I honestly didn't think I could find anything good to say about it. It was not fun in the least and I just wasted my money. I own most all of these Dark Tales games, and this one has hit the bottom of the barrel. Not only is it not well produced it is very short. I should have guessed it was going to be by the length of the demo. So sad that a good series like this has hit such a low. The graphics were well done. Colors were acceptable and the sound was well done too including the voice overs. The music was the same as in all the other games so no surprise there. Now that I have the good stuff out of the way on to the rest of the review. The hidden objects were okay, but several I couldn't figure out what to look for. They are varied and unusual which was a plus, but not well thought out. The mini games were.. outlandish to say the least. Little or no instructions and what there were did not give me an inkling as to what to do. So far as tools you have an interactive map which will transport you and kind of show you where there are things to do. I'm not a big fan of mini games to begin with, but I do want a fighting chance at least. You have several ways to play. I chose custom so I could set the skip and hint at their fastest speed, which I would recommend to anyone playing. The story ... well what there was of it... was not well done. I enjoyed the previous stories, but this one was lacking from the very beginning all the way to the conclusion. Nothing seemed to tie together. It just ends.. period. I have grown to expect more from this developer over the years, but if this is the sign of things to come, there are problems ahead. I do not recommend this game for any level of play.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fun while it lasted I love the demo so much. Bought the game, and it was fun, while it lasted. When it ended, I was shocked when it ended. What????? What just happened?? I was in the middle of a game, and it just ended??? This game wasn't worth the $3.50 I spent on it.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed from Basingstoke I like this series, having all the games thus far. I'm very glad I didn't get the CE for this edition or part with real money - punchcard freebie. I would have been more than disappointed if I'd actually paid for the game. Whilst it has the look and feel of previous Poe HOGs, I agree with other reviewers: it's way too short, coming suddenly and inexplicably to an end. It started really well. Unfortunately, it never got going and then ended badly. It could have been so much better. This is one to avoid even if you love the other games in the series.It's substandard when compared to its predecesors in both storyline and challenge. Even as a punchcard freebie, I feel that its been a sorry waste of valuable credit!.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from so so This game had so much potential. It lacks in the storyline, and doesn't make sense. Sudden ending, again with no sense.
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What the? Good story line, minigames only ok, HO only ok as well. I was excited to play at the beginning, game looked really good. Didn't hold to that promise though, and then it just ended. I wish I could unbuy it!
Date published: 2019-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hello and Goodbye at the same time! So short: Where is the other half of the game? :( I have bought all of the Dark Tales Games and loved them, yet this one was so short, I thought their was a mistake until I read all the others. I truly believe they should give a refund for this one....The shortest ever and sooooo upset and disappointed! Note: I bought all the other Dark Tales after this one came out yet haven't played yet, so hopefully they are not so short also? If anybody wants to message me, please let me know. Thanks
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Quit in the Middle Wow, from a group that usually does a good job, this was awful. The first part seemed to live up to their previous games, so you wouldn't know from the demo. But the ending - the story topped in mid-stride and moved to the last on minute of the end. Obviously someone ran out of ideas or they lost the story line or just gave up. Terrible. I'm not likely to buy from this group again.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointing..............Very I love this series. It is one of the first that I started with when I first started these games and I have always enjoyed myself very much. So much so, that I hold off on playing so that I have something to go to during slow times. With that said...........this one is awful. The story line is pathetic. There is no rhyme or reason to it. There is a killing, here are some suspects. There should have been a whole game set of 'exclude the possibilities one by one'. Boom, there is the length that we are looking for. But no, here he is first off the bat. There is no reason behind why he does it, no suspense to it at all. The game just ends after a stupid, and yes it was a stupid fight. I'm still not sure who did what at the end. Except....**spoiler alert** it is foreshadowed at the beginning. I would love to see the last five minutes again, just to know what was coming and try to understand it. But I am not going to go through 2 hours of pain for it. Yes, 2 hours, how is that an acceptable length? The games and HOGs are either very basic or way out of line. They were either too easy, or very silly. Maybe mine were just glitchy. The game feels like an unfinished project that had to be a hurried release to meet a contract. Such a shame for this series. Now I don't know about using the next ones that I have stored up. Very disappointing. I cannot unrecommend :) this game highly enough, stay away! This is the 2nd game that I have been so disappointed with. (Grim Facade, different series) Have the game designers given up? Or run out of ideas?
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A quick note to answer the question, "Buy the CE or buy the SE?" Because I found this game's first big HOP too aggravating to continue, I write only to advise whether to buy the CE or the SE, that being what I want to know when both are out and I have bought neither. As I recall, all the CE bells and whistles were there. As it says at the BFG site: --Collect cards hidden throughout the game and unlock a bonus puzzle --Earn achievements and replay your favorite mini-games and HOPs --Extras including: art, music, wallpapers, and screensavers So if you like the game, the CE might be worth it to you. Try it, you might like it even though I didn't.
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a disillusion I was a great fan of all Poe games.... but this Poe game is really boring what a disappointment
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Well... I love HO games. I have quite a few, including every MCF game, plus another Dark Tales games and some Dark Parables. But I absolutely didn't like this game. Some of the Activities that you were to do came out of nowhere with little explanation as to what was expected of you. And I was surprised by the rather abrupt ending, I had honestly expected a bit more to the game. This is definitely my least favorite HO game...well, ever.
Date published: 2019-09-03
  • y_2021, m_10, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_24045, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Tell-Tale Heart

A scream in the night... a brutal crime... a mysterious figure with eyes red as blood. Can you get to the heart of this shocking murder?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.