Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(255.21 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You've been cordially invited to attend the performance of Thurman the Magnificent, one of the world's greatest illusionists. His entire career rests on the success of this trick, and Thurman is worried someone may be sabotaging it. He wants you to watch for anyone suspicious at the premiere. Will his performance bring down the house, or will his toughest rival top his act with something even more spectacular? The Master of Flames will soon learn that when you play with fire, you get burned.

  • Over 50 morphing items to find
  • Backstory of Addington and Thurman in the bonus chapter
  • Lots of Wallpapers, Concept Art and Achievements
  • Bonus Pyramid Solitaire game

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 652 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(255.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game with nice bonus chapter Others do a great job of detailing most of this game, but when considering the extra price of a CE, I always want to know about the bonus chapter. I don't care much about all the extras, but I don't want to miss out on a chunk of the story. This bonus chapter is about 90 minutes long and takes place when the two magicians were still boys, learning their trade. You help them complete a task by playing both boys in turn.
Date published: 2021-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game (Based on completed game & bonus) Nice 'rainy day' game. Not too challenging, which is just what's needed sometimes, but I had to use my thinking cap with some of the puzzles (I like to try to figure them out without reading the directions first ... weird, huh?). Best aspect, for me, was that this game has lots of HO scenes! I love reviews that say "too many HO scenes", because then I know that I'll enjoy the game. Kudos to devs for the twist of playing as two characters, at the end. More thinking cap material :-) I hope there are more in this series.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game. The story line and graphics were good. The games plays quickly and the mini games easy. The map guides you to the areas that had tasks to do, but not to the specific locations. I found this a bit of a pain as its a big game and there are a lot of tasks. The bonus game was all new scenes and story line.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice game actually No, as others have said, it doesn't have the bells and whistles of newer games. What it does have is an interesting storyline which requires thought..therein lies the challenge and the beauty of the game. I thoroughly enjoyed it and the bonus game had an extra element which I loved.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who is the best magician? And who is still alive? Unlike the last few magician stories released, this one doesn't have a lot of magic tricks. You are a detective summoned to Galder's Bluff, England's "most magical city", by Joseph Thurman to "guard" him while he attempts to amaze and astound with a famous fire trick. Unfortunately, what IS amazing - but not surprising - is that Thurman burns up and disappears during his trick, leaving his rival magician Robert Additngton as the greatest magician in the world. So the theater owner asks you to investigate, and of course you oblige. You have a teleport map to help you, plus the hint button takes you step by step to the area you need to search next - you don't have to keep clicking on it. The HOPs so far have been lists, or find the item and return it to where it belongs. You can also exchange the HOP for a pyramid solitaire game, which you can reshuffle until you win - kind of fun if you don't often play solitaire. There ae 37 morphing crystal balls, but you can't see your collection. There are 15 achievements - also crystal balls - that you can see. And there are 6 different types of solitaire games. The gamis is not hard, but I did use the hint button a bit when I was stuck. Not sure if this is a CE, but it is fun. Try it and see.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Master Of Flames Perhaps Thurman the Magnificent Master of Flames should have stuck with the disappearing act, or pulled a bunny out of a hat, because he really hasn't mastered the flame. Galdor's Bluff will never be the same now, best known for it's rivals between two young apprentices, Joseph Thurman and Roger Addington, who were trained by the Master of all time, Charles Galdor. Thurman's suspicions might be true, detective, perhaps someone is trying to sabotage the Master of Flames! Although this game isn't receiving rave reviews, it really isn't all that bad. It is an extremely short demo, it is an extremely easy game, there are a ton of Hidden Object Scenes, but it's not a horrible game. The story is interesting (yes, there have been a slew of illusionist games as of late) the graphics are decent, not fantastic, but the games mechanics are flawless, with no noticeable glitches. I love Morphing Objects, but this game made a grave mistake with this feature, because the 37 (more available within bonus game) Morphing Crystal Balls are all round, all you have to do is search for the one and only round object in the scene. The Hidden Object Scenes are mostly list finds with just a few items requiring interactions, but there are also scenes where you find the items and replace them where they belong in the scene. Usually I stick with the HOP, but in this case I opted for the alternate game of Solitaire for two reasons. The HOP's are basic and the items can all be found instantly, and the Solitaire game is very unique. The object of the solitaire game is to select two cards from the pyramid and/or the deck, so that the total sum of the two cards equal 13. Kings are worth 13, therefor they can be removed by themselves, Queens are worth 12, Jacks 11, Ace 1, all other cards are face value. The Mini Games are variations of the classics, such as memorizing the patterns of flashing lights and repeating or turning discs to complete a picture. This Collectors Edition has Concept Art, Wallpapers, Achievements, Morphing Crystal Balls, Solitaire Games (several variations available) a Bonus Chapter and a built in Strategy Guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MAGICIAN'S 'BURNING' WORST NIGHTMARE REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue) * Casual, Expert, Hardcore and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * 15 Achievements; * Journal; * Find 37 morphing objects. I found the graphics to be very good - everywhere is clear to see with good colour. Sound is good. There wasn't really any music in the game - it was mostly quiet. The hidden object games were easy. These were mostly straightforward and putting items back in their right place. They didn't take long to do and there were no teeny tiny or indecipherable objects to find. Each one took me about 2 minutes to do. Alternatively you could play Pyramid Solitaire. I did give one a try which seemed relatively straightforward. There were a huge range of mini-games which I enjoyed. Some of these were untangling vines, rearranging disks back to their proper place, making a recipe for a potion; arranging papers to match the symbol; restoring stained glass shards; find differences on a flag; arranging crystal balls in chronological order; balancing weights; repairing statutes and arranging labels. Finding the morphing objects was very easy. They morphed quite fast and were easy to spot. I did these as I entered each scene so that I remembered to grab them. You get an achievement if you get them all. It is possible to get most of the achievements. These had the usual ones of solving HOS and mini-games in under a minute, playing pyramid solitaire, watching all the video scenes, etc. All up the game and bonus took me about 5 hours. So overall I enjoyed the game and liked the characters. I did customarise it to make it as hard as I could, but I still found it too easy. The flow of the game was good and I did most tasks as I went along, so there wasn't too much back-tracking. There is plenty to and you won't get bored. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magic and mayhem...nice combination Hi all. I believe this is the 3rd in this series...I only have one, but liked it. As always, I demo in the casual mode to get the feel of a game and then replay later. Since so many others review the story, I usually only do the game play. The graphics in this one didn't seem as "new" as other games we have played recently, but they were clear. In the beginning, there seemed to be a lot of blue and pink colors, but that cleared up fairly quickly and the colors were very nice. Game play was very good. No problems during the demo, did not find any lag time between scenes, which is quite maddening at times. Animation was well done. Music and sound FX are nice and appropriate for the magic and mayhem we find in this game. I do like the voice overs, appropriate for age and gender. Of course, I do like a good accent. I especially like that you can click through the dialog, since I seem to read faster than they speak, and you don't miss any of the story line. HOPs are very clean and simple. Items were not difficult to find and you could switch to a card game, which I did not care for. HOPs were standard word lists and the "find me and put me where I belong," which was fun. Puzzles are quite simple. The jump map was a bit bulky, but useful. SG only shows 2 chapters, so hard to tell how long this game may be. Hint system fills at a fairly nice rate, less than 30 seconds, and I really like how it doesn't just point you in the right direction, it actually keeps going until you get to your hint destination...well done. Remember, I am on casual mode. The only collectibles I found are morphing crystal balls. These are quite large and not hard to spot. In fact, I found a number of them before they morphed! This game needed a little something extra in this department to give it some challenge, but fell short a bit. This game was not especially difficult or challenging, but it did have an interesting story line. As others have said, I am not sure this one is CE worthy, but I like it well enough to put it in my puddle and wait for a good special and then add it to my collection. I think this will appeal to all levels, but more for beginners or intermediate players, unless you just want to play a nice easy, non-brain taxing game for a change. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff CE Great game but too dark in many places.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects & Voice Bits ... An Enjoyable Game With A Great Story & Plenty To Do ... The Bonus Chapter Is A Prequel Of The Younger Years Of Our Two Magicians ... Not Entirely Necessary, But Worth Having To Play If You Get Your CE On A Special Deal
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pull a Rabbit Out of the Hat I'll start by saying this is a good solid four star game. There are four levels of game play, including custom. The HOPs are varied - I like the one where you found items to re-place correctly - and not repeatedly visited. The mini-games were mostly OK. The music is barely tolerable, the VO were good, and the animation was passable (or laughable, depending on your recent experiences). The artwork is well drawn and colored. There is the usual CE bling. There are morphing objects to collect, one of my favorite game elements. You are a detective called in when one of two rivals is about to perform his latest magic trick and is worried about possible sabotage. You arrive at the theater in time to see that his worries were justified. You start your investigation with the tragic ending to his magic trick. The end of the demo was no surprise to me, but you need to check it out yourself. If I hadn't seen it coming, I'd have gone for five stars. (When you finish this demo, you'll know what I mean.) There is a lack of logic in some of the story - The police took your carriage to get some of the theater patrons home, so you are "stuck there." And then you hike across town to see the rival magician. Huh. But the storyline is different - a plus - and most of the game-play flows smoothly. There are no cutesy elements so far - another plus. I plan on relaxing with this game as my weekend treat!
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NO BURNING DESIRE TO WATCH THIS MAGIC SHOW- THIS GAME SHOULD BE PART OF A VANISHING ACT In the continuing saga of a magician's feud, the Gunners try to catch your heart of fire with a new magic trick. There is very little magic in this game for me. This game is more puzzle oriented; however they are very easy; the HOP scenes are all the same - junk piles lacking innovation and creativity. The inventory is NOT puzzle-like nor interactive. This game is rather like sitting through a very boring magic show. It an average CE with no extra magic tricks to make it spectacular. HERE ARE THE DETAILS: You play a detective called in by Joseph Thurman, Master of Fire, who is afraid someone is out to sabotage his newest magic trick, his magnum opus. There has been a long running rivalry between him and Roger Addington, going back to their apprentice days under Charles Galdor, a master magician and founder of the town. Catching on fire and disappearing in a blaze of glory, Joseph Thurman seemingly "burns up" right in front of you and you must find out what happened. Is he really dead or is it all an illusion? And how does his rival, Roger Addington figure into this "sleight of hand" maneuvering of these magicians? LEVELS: Four - Casual, (Sparkles) Expert Hardcore Customized. All vary in amount of times for hints and skips Hints and skips vary in length according to the level of difficulty. There were no times given for the amount of time for the hints or skips GRAPHICS: Cartoon-like with mouth movement (which to me seemed to be out of sync with the characters) Very colorful with intense colors t red, yellow, orange, green throughout. INVENTORY: Not puzzle-like nor interactive. HOP SCENE: Somewhat puzzle-like basically all the same and repetitive, After playing, they became boring. In some scenes, you can play Pyramid solitaire in lieu of the HOP scenes. In the demo I encountered: A. 3 - Junk piles which are theme based and have some interaction. B. Supermarket locating food items - HOW BORING! No magic here. You must place the items into the correct bins before releasing it from the list. I do that every day shopping for food. . PUZZLES: Variations of those we have encountered in the past and very easy: In the demo I encountered: A. Open a crate with a cube which has symbols matching grooves in crate B. Removal of a series of ropes by choosing the topmost one first to have it disappear C. Name plate puzzle to enter Addington's residence. D. Tile ring puzzle which must be placed in correct order to create a picture E. Pattern puzzle in which you must flip light switches in accordance to an observed pattern F. Wow - "I'm no chemist" - but actually I AM (CE) and I got to create a "white milky liquid" with three colored liquids. Well at least you have to measure the amounts - that is rather scientific! LOL I knew my four-1/2 year degree would come in handy! And guess what? After that you get to create a teleportation device with the milky colored liquid and a machine powered by a coal generated "fireplace." LOL EXTRA GOODIES: Lacking many we have come to expect in a CE. A. Strategy Guide B. Map is provided as you play the game and I have no idea why. No puzzle is required - just lying there So why not just provide at the beginning of the game C. 15 Achievements D. 37 morphing crystal balls EXTRA COMMENTS: I will NOT purchase this game. It is a decent game, but not "decent" enough for me to purchase at the CE price. I may purchase as an SE, but even that is doubtful for me. It just doesn't interest me. However, there are some who will probably love this game and if you do - go disappear into a room and play it! I guess I have been spoiled by all the "extras" provided by other devs. HAVING A HEART OF COAL - I RATE THIS GAME 3 PIECES OF COAL OUT OF 5 PIECES OF COAL. OTHER GAMES INTHE SERIES: BTW - DEVS - YOU MIGHT WANT TO HAVE THIS SERIES VANISH. SMALL TOWN TERRORS: LIVINGSTON SMALL TOWN TERRORS: PILGRIM'S HOOK
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lot's of hidden objects!!!! I love lot of hidden objects this game gave me many. The last games from ER game not good their visual just horrible. They will be off my game list. Still looking for the pro's all the time.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice enough "little" game Nice graphics, fairly good story line. Objects in the HOS are clear, and most are easily found. Most puzzles/mini games are good without being boring or too tough. Music not bad, voice-overs pretty decent. Short. I finished the main game in about 2.5 hours. Not great. Hated the map: it takes you to areas, not specific rooms. Very annoying. At least it did have "things to do here" indicators. Hint system not my favorite. In most games, if there's nothing to do in a scene, hint will point you out of that scene toward a place where there is something to do/get, and you don't use up a hint and have to wait for a recharge. This game (easy/casual) keeps leading you to the next thing to do/get, and you have to wait for the recharge. I don't like that. And at least once it kept leading me to something I couldn't do because I didn't have all the pieces yet. I'm not sorry I got it at half off member's price, but I would never want to pay full price for it. Overall: not impressed.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun, But Far Too Basic BASED ON DEMO I thought the last game from this developer (Lost Legends: Weeping Woman) was one of the most fun games of 2014, and I was hoping this one would achieve that same result. While this wasn't as good as Weeping Woman, I thought it was still enjoyable for the demo. I am on the fence with the story. I honestly don't know if I like or dislike it. The opening wasn't very intriguing, but following on from that, there was a nice twist which got me in to the story. However, from there, I found the story to be slowly progressing with minimal twists. For the most part I found the story quite boring, with the only thing keeping me going, being the suspense, which was done well to a point. I liked how the character had a shady area of suspicion around him. It was probably the best part of the story. The demo ended with a nice twist, which I thought was well executed, and also unexpected. But those twists were the highlight of an otherwise pretty boring story. I thought it could have been executed a whole lot better than it did. I did, however, like the character interaction, Each character had their own personality and they were enjoyable to listen to. But overall, it was a pretty underdone story and it really could have done with some tweaking. The gameplay was pretty basic and had limited fun potential. That being said, I enjoyed the HOS. Even though they were basic in nature, I enjoyed them, especially since they were a break from the overly interactive nightmares some games have. I especially liked how there was more than one variety: there was the standard junkpile as well as replace the item scenes. I did find the scenes to be easy, but it was of no concern to me. I liked the quantity: all up there were 4 HOS in the demo and they were evenly spaced out. The puzzles were nice too, although I enjoyed the HOS more. I found the puzzles, for the most part, to be quite fun. However, some were confusing, with unclear instructions. In terms of challenge, I found the puzzles to be quite easy and only skipped the one (the confusing one). This made the puzzles more fun for me, but this will probably annoy the experts. Like the HOS, quantity is good. There are 5 in the demo. I have mixed feelings about the adventure component. It was there, but I could definitely tell this game was more HOS/Puzzle driven, and unfortunately, the adventure component suffered as a result. The thing that jumped right at me was its basic nature. There are absolutely no extra features whatsoever, meaning the game plays like one from 2012. There was no innovation, or creativity, or anything of the like, which isn't even close to acceptable for 2015. Even worse, there was a LOT of backtracking. I would have to go back maybe three or four locations to get one item, then return to the location I was originally in! I'm glad I don't have to do all that walking in real life! As a result of the simplicity, the challenge suffered, also. I found this game to be way too easy, and because the storyline wasn't great either, I found myself getting bored as the demo wore on. I'm glad the demo ended when it did, otherwise I might not have played on. The biggest problem was definitely the lack of innovation and this is something the developer NEEDS to work on. Next time, add a feature! + objects, helper... anything! PLEASE! I The one thing this game did really well on was the basic features. I liked how there was a journal- it was great for keeping track of events- and there were 4 difficulty levels, including custom. Even though there were no sparkles anywhere (not even on HOS), there were still map indicators on advanced mode, which annoyed me. I know that if I'm playing advanced mode, I'm WELL past the need for map indicators, and developers need to respect that. It made an already easy game even easier and decreased my enjoyment factor significantly. The graphics were actually quite good and, really, were the only modern thing about the game. They were drawn with great detail and fantastic clarity, with awesome colours to match. I also liked the realism of the character designs, and how there was lip-synch. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. There are still indicators on advanced, which annoyed me. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. I liked how the hint's helpfulness changed with difficulties. Diary- It was great for keeping track of events Map- The map was helpful, and certainly saved a lot of time with backtracking. However, I would have preferred indicators off. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions Achievements Morphing Objects (37)- one in every scene Play Solitaire- Actually quite fun. You have to match pairs that add up to 13. Wallpapers Concept Art WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that the SE is the way to go. Like the gameplay, the Bonus Content is only the bare essentials. There is nothing worth the extra cash. MY PROGRESS There are 2 chapters in the demo, which I finished in 34 minutes. :) While this was enjoyable, there really is no excuse for presenting 2012 gameplay in 2015. The developers really need to pick up their game (no pun intended) because sooner rather than later, they're just going to fall behind. I would definitely say this is a great place for beginners to start out. This earns three stars from me.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty nice, but... I own the previous two games in the series and I love them, but unfortunately not so much on this one.. The game is rather dark to see, but instead of being dark and black, it's purplish dark. I see purple everywhere. I like the theme magician, but interaction with character is minimal. The game play and puzzles are easy, and I don't even use the strategy guide except for checking where I am in the game. There is morphing crystal game objects to collect but they are very easy to spot. The hidden objects is the usual simple find objects and click on them. I like that it is easy but I am sorry to say that I will skip this game.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars: They were bluffing about the "terror" part. Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff CE Review based on completed game + bonus chapter PREFACE… When a series is entitled Small Town Terrors, you expect a horror game. The first two games achieved this: Livingston with its constant suspense (I need a health pack!) and Pilgrim's Hook with its Cthulhu-esque beastie. Galdor's Bluff, I'm afraid, was not at all horrifying, frightening, or creepy, and is not a worthy entry into this series. If you can ignore that, it's a pretty good game. ONCE UPON A TIME... Thurman the Magnificent, a world-famous illusionist, has invited you, an experienced and respected detective, to attend his performance because he suspects that his rival magician, Addington, may sabotage him. As you watch, Thurman's trick somehow backfires and he is engulfed in flames. Now, you must discern whether his death was merely an accident...or murder. And you must discover the legacy of Galdor's Bluff. PLAY THE GAME... Travel around Galdor's Bluff, Thurman's mansion, and Addington's estate, finding pieces of the enigma. HO scenes are of two types: the familiar interactive list, and something entirely new. Within the scene, find and put items back where they belong. You may play solitaire instead, if you wish. Puzzles include a maze where you must rearrange the four quadrants while you're solving it, various versions of the jigsaw, all lights on, remove the one on top, and others with which we're familiar, both simple and complex. SIGHTSEEING… Beautifully detailed graphics evoke a small town with a secret. Colors abound, mostly jewel tones. Overall, the graphics are realistic yet artistic. Animation is smooth, and NPCs are drawn and do lip synch. SOUND WAVES… I missed hearing the music, even though I had the volume up. And it wasn't available to download. Voiceovers were extremely professional with spot on British accents. Environmental sounds were rich and layered. TOOLBOX… The map was less than useless. Let me explain. Although it did show you your location and where actions were available, it only showed general locations. For example, it might show that you had actions available in Addington's estate, but it did not tell you in which of the many rooms you should look. There was a completely unnecessary journal. No special tools or cute helpers. EXTRA, EXTRA… In the bonus chapter, you flash back to Thurman's and Addington's final exam from Galdor's school of enchantment, and must help them pass the test. Each of the boys has a special tool, and you can alternate playing the two. Other extras include the SG, performance achievements, collectible morphing crystal balls (with no reward for finding them all except an achievement), and the developer's portfolio (which only includes wallpapers and concept art). THE LAST WORD… Unless you burn to play the bonus chapter, and are addicted to morphing crystal balls, I recommend waiting for the SE. Honestly, the first two games in this series were better (although they were completely different from each other). However, Galdor's Bluff is a fairly easy game with decent eye candy and a good story for a rainy day.
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's a bluff I'd rather not take When an addition to some series is introduced, the new game evokes either good or bad feeling among game players based on their recollection and opinion of the series in general. Seeing a new Dark Parable for instance gladdens me. This third installment of Small Town Terrors did nothing to my memory. It's probably due to Gunnar Games instilling nothing of an emotional nature in me. I had no recall at all of its prior games. Taken on its own merit, Galdor's Bluff brings nothing new to the table. In the story line 2 magicians, both tutored by the master Galdor, are rivals always seeking ways to top each others achievements in prestidigitation. Been there , done that oh so many times in magician based games. One of these men ( Thurman ) calls himself the Master of Flame. Unfortunately he sort of overcooks himself in a demonstration leaving nothing but a pile of ashes where he stood. The theater owner informs us that the other magician named Addington can provide insight into what Thurman was trying to accomplish. Then in some bizarre hindsight, she asks if we can extinguish the raging fire on her stage. One would think the blaze be her foremost thought. Of course we the player needs to squelch the fire. Have you noticed that fires never spread in HOPA games and that they all can be doused with a mere bucket of water. We then get to meet Addington who vouches to help if we can gain admittance into his home. This is done through a somewhat interesting but not overwhelming puzzle. We have standard HO segments with a bit of interaction and routine puzzles none of which grabbed my attention. After concocting a white liquid by combining certain elements we pour them into a large funnel, see Addington again who tells us Thurman is alive, Nothing I could not have seen myself. This game is so run of the mill that I could not recommend it to anyone but people who are totally new to playing these games. Anybody in that group reading this might see this as interesting. For we veterans of HOPA, it's a case of deja vu all over again.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short of a Demo I am unsure of this adventure as the demo was far too short and could not get an idea of the quality. The graphics are nice in their muted tones, characters were well done with continuous speech, and interactive map worked well. The HOs were quite easy and mostly list format and puzzles were few and easily completed. Since I feel this will be a very short game, I will wait for the SE version to come out. Besides, the strategy guide was very annoying as every time you closed it, it went back to the index and you had to reopen the chapter and go thru all the pages again to get to where you left off. Not difficult enough for a guide anyway, but what a waste of money to buy such an annoying accessory. Recommend you wait for SE unless you're new or desperate. :)
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basic! I did like the storyline concept...Thurman the Magnificent and The Master of the Flames. Good graphics, the HOG are pretty basic. Morphing items are fun to locate. This game has nothing new in the Hidden Object type of game. Straightforward and basic!
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could've Been Better I am a fan of this series. The graphics are good--at least a few years ago they were. It seems as if the quallity hasn't advanced with the times. The writing was stiff & awkward. The games weren't challenging and the HO's were ho-hum. It wasn't bad, everything was just "OK". I couldn't even finish the demo because I knew it was not CE-worthy and I wouldn't be buying it. I decided I would wait for the SE version and use a free coupon for it. I still like the series, just not enough to dish out $$ for it. This would be a good game for beginners.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Somehow I went from detective to HOS professional Based on the demo only. I enjoyed the opening sequence of the game. Looked like a good mystery to solve. Soon, however, that all disappeared like a bad magic trick and turned into finding feverfew for someone who fell off their horse, and completing way too many HOS and a few simplistic puzzles. This game was so easy and so linear, a child could play it. Regardless of this, the story got lost somewhere. The graphics and voiceovers were great. I love games with good story lines that pull you in and you cannot wait to see what happens next. This demo was short and I could not give a rat's tail what happened next by the end of the demo. My main gripe here is the shortness of the game as noted by other reviewers and lack of anything except morphing crystal balls (which were extremely easy to spot). The blurb by BF says over 50 morphing objects, whereas players who have completed the game claim there are far less. It takes much more than this to put out a game and call it a CE. I'd assume this is a 2 hour game, plus whatever the bonus chapter holds. That's unacceptable to me. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ANOTHER TIME WASTER. NO RABBITS IN THESE MAGICIAINS' HATS As often reading the reivews I can see how each is fair to the player's experience and expectations. But I wanted more than a time killer. I played the whole game and assumed from the beginning more or less the conclusion of the story. However the story is developed in a very lame and mailed in sort of way and I still don't quite see what the illusionists were competing for whether it was world domination or just some specific magic work, and frankly I did not and do not care. The absence of 'magic' in this game is not just a function of the plot but also of the undistinguished graphics and atmospherics. I think the time is past when we ought cut slack to shoddy work like this which it seems to me ,if accepted as normal, bids fair to ruin the genre of hidden object puzzle adventuring. So my minimal grade and non recommendation.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from lots of hogs zero story. the game started out with a who done it but never really had anything else to say. the entire game was hogs one after the other, if it was not for the pyramid card game u played instead of hogs i never would have finished this game.no story at all. very boring. i do not recommend this game
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not CE worthy, MAP IS AWFUL Why have a map if you have to use a Hint ??? As on old, forgetful cartographer, I need and appreciate a good map. This one is worthless. As far as CE worthy, you collect 37 morphing crystal balls. Whoopty do! Try it if you want but it's not worth even 1/2 price.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No new tricks There is no magic in this game. I love English accents, but I grew irritated by them in this game. The game is predictable and no fun. The card game is baby - easy. I got easily bored here. Not a buy for me.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth your money Having never written a review, I guess I am not the best to do so now. If you enjoy oblique references, than this is the game for you. I prefer games that challenge but are true to the game.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Based on Sound I Ran Away Well detective, you are off to solve another puzzling mystery and this time you travel to the town of Galdor’s Bluff in England. You have received an invitation from master magician Joseph Thurman to attend his ultimate magic show that he predicts will finally put an end to his ongoing friendly rivalry with the town’s other renowned magician Roger Addington. Unfortunately, it turns out that this will also be his final show and now you must solve the mystery of what has gone wrong. Small Town Terrors Galdors Bluff might be a wonderful game as it has very good graphics, lip-synced voiceovers that are passable and in some cases very good. What I found most annoying and distracting is the sound that occurred every time I clicked on an active area in the game. After the first 15 minutes of the demo it was too much. I love playing a game with the sound and to disable it would take a lot away from the game. I fiddled with all of the sound options and could not make that noise go away. In the end, although the game has many wonderful aspects, I said enough is enough. I have no idea why a developer thinks they need any kind of noise whatsoever when we click on an active area. I am aware that I have opened the area and it certainly doesn’t need to be accompanied by any sound. Too much for me and I quit. Based on the sound effects this game is a no purchase for me. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2015-03-07
  • y_2021, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_22510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Small Town Terrors: Galdor's Bluff Collector's Edition

You're cordially invited to attend the world's greatest magic show! Thurman the Magnificent will give a performance no one will forget!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.