Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(186.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

There's a terrible secret hidden deep within Lockwood Manor. Uncover the truth in order to save your best friend, and yourself, in this thrilling hidden object adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 452 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(186.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta get this one. If you like these kinds of games, get this one. Not too difficult but interesting all the same. I enjoyed playing this.
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! It's definitely one of the best HOG I've ever played recently. Nice story line and fantastic visual quality.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this game is fun I hope you like this too. Sincerly Byron.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What's with all the released demons? This is a nice game, with good flow, and great visuals. The problem is the storyline... I am getting a bit bored with the plot of a demon about to be released, and how to get him confined again... But once you get over the plot, it is a great game.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD SOLID GAME This game had a good storyline that held together throughout the game. The hint button helps direct you from location to location, if you get lost. There is a lot of back and forth, going back to some of the same locations over and over, something I ordinarily hate. But this wasn't too bad, as it didn't have all that many locations and with the hint button and the items in the inventory, most of the time it was pretty easy to follow if you have a decent memory. Lots of HOS, which is nice for a game that is sold as a HOG. I had to skip some of the puzzles, mostly because I get frustrated and hate to spend a lot of time on them. I want to get back to the game. Also, there are certain types of puzzles that I am simply not good at. I played the casual mode. The ending left you hanging, which probably is addressed in the CE.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super fun! I like this type of story line. I especially loved the puzzles. They were so challenging, it made playing the game last longer. I would love to have had an option of playing the puzzles after the game ended. But, over all so much fun! Thank you!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demonic Possession - Scary Premise But Good Game This game was very well put together, which is to be expected from the folks at Mariaglorum. The artwork is superb and the score is hauntingly beautiful. The mini-games and hidden object puzzles were just challenging enough not to be frustrating. Best of all, the story was engaging and made sense. There were just a bit too many hidden object scenes, that tended to slow the story line and feel monotonous, else I would have judged Lockwood Manor a 5-star game. However, I still recommend it and had fun while playing it.
Date published: 2012-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty good game play i played the trial and for $2.99 I get it. No voice over and the graphics are ok. The HOS are not hard and finding items are quite easy. Pretty easy game so far. Not the greatest but still fun to play.
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable I enjoyed this game. It is pretty straightforward. No fancy gimmicks. The HOS are light and objects are large enough to see. Always a plus for me. The mini-games are interesting but not too difficult. The storyline is pretty simple. You must put the demon back in the bottle. It is a nice long game and I took my time as it was fun to just let the game follow it's course. Not a lot of interaction with characters. I think even younger players would enjoy this game. Worth the money.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very atmospheric This offering from Maria Glorum has a more than usual demonic theme with dark graphics to suit the storyline & a wonderful melodic piano score that is one of the best I have heard in a game. The cut scenes seem rather blurry but the artwork in the game itself is excellent & the atmosphere is very creepy & foreboding. There are very few voiceovers & the dialogue was not clickable; however there is not a lot of it. There are two modes of play; casual with a 30 second hint recharge & glints & sparkles, advanced with 60 second recharge & sparkles for the H0 scenes only. The misclick penalty only seemed to come into play during the advanced mode. It filled the widescreen on my monitor. I found the cursor to be a little clunky in places & there is no map but as there do not seem to be a great many areas this is not a problem. I loved playing this game, good hidden object scenes & challenging puzzles.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On-Target Game! Beautiful, eerie and well choreographed! The musical score is beautiful, and unlike many other games, the repetition didn't grate on my nerves - I left it playing! I like hidden object games, but not when they're thrown in without reason or purpose. THIS game did NOT do that. You came to a hidden object scene when it was needed - to earn you a key piece to move forward in the game. The game has a logical set up for game play. By that, I mean you don't find something in the first few minutes of the game, then hold it inventory until the end of the game, and most things you need to move the game forward come to you in the order you need them. (not all of them, but 98%) There are many subsets of things you need to acquire in order to acquire another thing, which is the thing you need to open the door/box/etc. All in all, it's a thoughtfully woven game, full of clues and objects that lead you along the play line at a good pace. Lots of playtime from this game!
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly good HO This game had very good graphics, good sound effects. No voice overs which I actually missed. The music was unobtrusive, and when I did notice it , it seemed to fit the mood of the game. The storyline wasn't bad but did not really play a major role in the game, it seems to be secondary to the play. Not a lot of cutscenes but the ones it has are very well done. The HOs were good, clear and crisp. The puzzles were average and all doable. There was no map, but it was not really necessary as play was fairly linear. There are 2 modes, casual and advanced. The advanced does not show sparkles except for the HOs, but the hint button is always available. Overall this is a fairly good game. Was a good length. An enjoyable play.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review on Demo Only--Interesting Storyline Appreciate the fact that a review cannot be totally accurate on demo play. Game moved a bit slow for me. Nothing extraordinary and is a straighforward HOG with finding objects to complete a simple enough puzzle to progress. Don't know length of game and have not read any comments of such in the reviews..may purchase during bonus weekend..may not. Now, Sherlock Holmes The Hound of the Baskervilles is a definite purchase! Just passing that along as I love when Gamers suggest their favorites!
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good intermediate game Interesting story; medium to long game. Variety of puzzles, none too hard. Overall game is challenging without being too hard; good graphics and music.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great graphics, cool plot twist As far as creepiness goes, I think demons beat ghosts and the creep factor is definitely there in this game, especially because it shows up to menace you regularly and you really feel its presence. The story takes a cool twist in the middle (even though it was predictable) and adds a new urgency to the game. The art does a great job of evoking a creepy atmosphere and the hidden object scenes look great too. There was a nice variety of puzzles and they were fun to play, but not too challenging (much like other games in this genre). I thought the best part of the game was the way it felt like you were always in danger--first from John and then from the demon. I liked that feeling of being in danger and being hunted.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Eerie and Scary Great hidden object game with an interesting story line. Mini puzzles were moderately hard, hidden object scenes ranged from moderate to moderately hard, but they were a lot of fun. Graphics were well done, the soundtrack had its moments but sometimes seemed a little too lighthearted for the subject matter. All in all, a very well done game.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This game falls in what I call the regular hidden object category, just one that you play, looks good, have good graphics but not a game that will leave long lasting memories.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lockwood Manor....good overall game! Trust me at the 2.99 value...u can't beat it...a sure buy!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has the sordid past of dark magic practiced at Lockwood Manor reemerged? How is your boyfriend involved? In 1866, Lockwood Manor was used by demon worshipers that summoned demons and locked them into stone statues to control them. The authorities arrested the Lockwoods for their involvement and the manor has remained abandoned since then. Your friend, Jennifer, went to Lockwood Manor to look for her boyfriend, John, and his brother, Matthew, who went there to discover information about their father, a Lockwood descendant, who disappeared twenty years ago. Now they are missing and, when you were unable to contact Jennifer, you decided to go there and look for all three of them. On your arrival, you discover Jennifer chained in the basement by John. Has John turned to dark magic and is using Jennifer for some ritual? And where is Matthew? John attacks you and renders you unconscious and locks you in a dungeon. When you come to, you find a page from Matthew's diary detailing how he had become worried about John and his obsession with their father's disappearance and demon summoning. Other pages revealed his anger with John and Jennifer as she had been his girlfriend at one time. What other dark family secrets will you uncover? The graphics were on par with most games released in 2011 and fit the story setting with pleasant music that did not overshadow or become too dramatic as sometimes is seen in these games. Cutscenes were presented well but there were some noticeable pauses while they loaded. There was no voice acting and conversations between characters was minimal with most of the story presented through papers and Matthew's diary pages found during your investigation. Apparently most of what the writers wanted you to know was presented in the first half of the game as fewer and fewer papers and disary pages were found in the latter half as if the story was not totally fleshed out. Maybe the CE went in more detail. There is a journal to record the story as it unfolds but no map available. The game is presented in segments with only a few locations presented at a time with multiple areas of interest so getting lost was not an issue but keeping track of where an object was needed could be helpful in returning to that location after the object was found. Inventory was never overly full and most items were used quickly. The hidden object scenes were all list type with no interactive objects and most were easily identified but many were small. Graphics were clear and presented well. Puzzles ranged from fairly easy to medium challenge with an occasional harder one thrown in, usually involving trial and error, but all were usually able to be completed before becoming annoying. Although nothing out of the ordinary, this one should keep you entertained for a few hours.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun but only moderately challenging MOTA-LM is a fairly fun game to play. Not too challenging or difficult but enough so that it will keep you interested. On the positive side, it has a variety of puzzles of varying degrees of difficulty in addition to the HOGs which are challenging but not overly so. It only has two modes, casual and advanced and the advanced mode is approximate to the ‘intermediate mode’ in other games. There is a fair degree of scene to scene interaction although certain segments are closed out after going through them never to be returned to again. One of the more challenging aspects of the game on a few occasions is determining what action is needed next since at times, it is not obvious to any degree and some degree of search is needed to determine what action to take. On the negative side, there is no map to refer to and the scenes are not individually named making it a little more difficult to track paths and progress. There is a little dialog along with the story but it is non-verbal and can only be read from the screen. The story line is reasonable although the ending is quick once the end is reached. All-in-all, fun to play, just not very challenging.
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love Triangle Wakens The Demon Within GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES Story: Looking for your missing friend Jennifer, you go to Lockwood Manor – home of the notorious Lockwood family, who have been accused of practising black magic and summoning demons for generations. You must uncover the ancient secrets of Lockwood Manor to save the lives of you and your friends. Developer: Mariaglorum Release Date: Dec 2011 Extras: None In the year since this game was released, we have seen an unbelievable blossoming of all aspects of the artistry of game development. Which leaves this one feeling a bit dated. (A year ago, this would have rated 4 stars from me). So though graphics are fine they are not thrilling, the scenes are largely inanimate, there’s no interactivity in the HOs, and little in the way of cutscenes. Also no voiceovers, and no map. The game is easy to play, with more than the average number of HOs, and generally easy puzzles. Not a stunning game, none of the bells and whistles, but I have played it several times and still enjoy it. I think part of its appeal is the logical progression of the gameplay, the clarity of the HOs, and the uncomplicated puzzles. It’s a game for a lazy afternoon. Good no frills entertainment.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Entry-Level Hidden Object Adventure If, like me, you enjoy hidden object games, it's a safe bet you won't mind Lockwood Manor, although it does suffer from a case of false advertising as you spend way more time wandering the expansive grounds than the manor itself. I don't think it does anything particularly well or in a novel way, but it's good enough to merit an enjoyable afternoon or two. The story is something that's been covered before. Head down to the nearest spooky manor and rescue the damsel in distress. A couple of big negatives in the production would be the lack of voice acting and the rather simplistic story line. This could have been a better story had they fleshed it out a bit more. The graphics are average. Cutscenes are well done, and there are a few "scary" moments, although you're basically dealing with the world's slowest demon. Hidden object scenes are plentiful and you likely won't need to spend too many hints on them. I did like that using a hint out of an HO scene would point you in the direction of where to go next, although to be honest it's very linear. Lots of "here's an axe, oh good, there's a tree in the next scene" type of scenarios that won't have you trying too hard. The puzzles are a primer on everything usually found in a game of this ilk. Piece together the puzzle, paint the picture, sliding puzzles: you get the drift. They were challenging enough, but none need to be skipped really. Length was okay with me but could have been better. I assume that's why someone would go for the CE instead, but I don't think the game looks or sounds good enough to merit that. I'm not often annoyed by background music, but I was with this game. The gameplay was fine and overall I'd say it's excellent for anyone looking to start out with hidden object games, but nothing to crow about if you've played a bunch. Hopefully they try a mite harder with the inevitable sequel. There are two difficulty settings, but expert is not that challenging.
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so... This game is not one that I would recommend to those who have been playing for a while. The story started out interesting, but quickly became transparent and predictable which in turn made the game drag out because you knew what was going to happen and just going through the motions. Yawn. I will say that the HO scenes were not cluttered, but the objects in them were very nicey camouflaged so that it still offered some challenge.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They Just Go Overboard! FANFOREVER had it right when she said, in her review, that she likes hidden object games, but that sometimes the developers "go overboard" with these HOGS and obscure the game. She's partially correct. So, so many HOGS RUIN the game. Here was a beautifully created game with a very good plot, and MARIAGLORUM, a Russian studio, ruined it with HOG after HOG after HOG. I can't emphasize enough, for the sake of any game developer that might read this review, that YOU MUST CUT DOWN ON THE HOGS and concentrate more on the PLOT! PLEASE, PLEASE DO THIS FOR US GAMERS! Even the HOG fans find this kind of game a bit much to take! I recommend this game with reservations.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lockwood Manor Locks Up I enjoyed this game until the mouse pointer and screen shots started to jerk. Changing from scene to another is slow. Maybe its my unit, doubt it though.
Date published: 2012-01-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not even a good 'same old' HOPA - bit below average *all my reviews are based on completion of the game* If you are looking for a typical HOPA heavy on the HOS, nothing new and love dark stories then you will like this. It does have quite a few puzzles as well, mostly on the easy side with just a couple of medium/ hard ones. Nothing about the game really interested me or excited me, everything seemed so mechanical from location of areas, to puzzles and HOS. Too much monochromatic scenery with obvious paths to follow even the story wasn’t that interesting but demon possession wouldn’t be my favourite plotline anyway! The plot is demon possession and a love triangle and the plot is semi-finished but doesn’t resolve one aspect of the plot which I guess the bonus in the CE will do. I finished it in 4hrs and the ending was a bit abrupt without explaining everything. I did find the beginning the most interesting part in the game but quickly realised it was ‘same old.’I play so many HOPAs and this is the perfect example of how one game blends into another and you have to check what game you’re playing as you could be playing one of many as it’s so formulaic nothing is captivating, neither the graphics, different puzzles, HOS, setting or gameplay. The graphics are mostly dark but not crystal clear, if you do dark do sharper graphics. There were two settings on the hardest there are sparkles on HOS scenes. 26 HOS Most had to be played twice some nearly back to back. Some items were well defined others not. All were completely non interactive list, very cluttered type. There was a random click penalty on the hardest setting. I found many to be so blended or tiny, or so hard to find. And for my taste there were too many for even enjoyment of a ‘same old’ game. 22 PUZZLES Puzzles had auto tips on them none original most very well known, but a couple of nice ones. Mostly very quick or very easy with a couple of medium hardness. I know a lot of people like ‘same old’ like it’s a comfy pair of slippers and they know what they will be getting – so if you are like that then do try it out especially if you like a lot of HOS.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very average review based on trial, i thought this was going to be a fairly decent game, how disappointing, the sound track and graphics could have been better. Too many HOS, if you like a lot of HOS then this is the game for you, There just wasn't enough in this to hold my attention or interest. It became very predictable,
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hidden object game Even after loading the new version,this game kept freezing. Most of the hidden object games freeze so I am very disappointed with these games.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I only made it halfway through the trial before I found myself wondering how much longer until it was over. Then I decided life is too short to play a boring trial and quit. The HOGs were simplistic, typical puzzles with nothing unique about them. Although, perhaps the series improves in later versions? The music doesn't seem to fit the darker story line and there are no voice-overs. Make sure you like to read because there is a lot of it: Dialogue, notes, letters, etc. There are no little gears turning to show you that you need a tool for a specific area. Just a close-up after you click on the magnifying glass. The whole thing just seemed as if it was put together in a hurry. I'll be passing on this one. Not my cup of tea, but perhaps it is yours. I recommend trying the trial version first to make sure it meets your expectations.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from boring i don't know why many like this game.. I find it boring...
Date published: 2012-06-10
  • y_2020, m_8, d_2, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_12370, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor

There's a terrible secret hidden deep within Lockwood Manor!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.