Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines

Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(248.01 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Committed: The Mystery at Shady Pines finds you strapped to a bed inside of an abandoned hospital! Escape from Shady Pines and save the other patients! Explore the mysterious hospital and stop the psychotic doctor before it’s too late in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Navigate terrifying twists and survive special surprises as you solve challenging minigames and uncover the truth in Committed: The Mystery at Shady Pines!

  • Stop a psychotic doctor
  • Spooky hospital to explore
  • Escape from Shady Pines!
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 271 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(248.01 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game I have a soft spot for games that are set in aslyum hospitals. If they are well done, there's just something spooky about them. This is a HO/adventure game. The visuals are excellent as is the storyline. The mini-games are skippable and the skip button loads quickly if you get frustrated with a mini-game. I give it 10/10.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really, really good Great storyline: a woman wakes up from a coma after 3 years and finds she has no memory and is in an asylum. She has to regain her memory but also help other patients. Great characters and VOS. HOS clear, some very well hidden. The map was great to show you where you were and where to go next. The tapes were helpful, too. Puzzles were good, mostly hard. Very realistic even down to the muzak in the elevators. At the end, I actually felt a little anxiety for her escape! I was like, hurry up, hurry up.Not scary or eerie, but definitely absorbingly interesting. 4 hours casual.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real Cool Game I had bought this game some time ago and hadn't had time to play it until this weekend. It was a GREAT game! It's length was just right for a weekend, has challenging games, and even the whole premise of the game was different and refreshing. I play a lot of RPG, Horror and complex games and this one, while not quite as challenging as my other games, gave me a run for my money! Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Committed to Great Gameplay I thoroughly enjoyed this game! At a little over four hours it was longer than a movie and shorter than a book, but for me it had elements of both. Although it is not a pretty game, the graphics are appropriate to the story and very clear. I found the hidden object scenes a lttle more challenging than other games I have played. Many items are only partially exposed instead of being out in the open. There are hints available for the hidden object scenes, and a help and a skip button for the rest of the puzzles. A journal keeps track of the story. In addition, a map highlights areas where actions can be taken. But, there is no hand holding here! You have to figure things out on your own. Where this game really shines is in the story. The voice overs and characters get you involved and there are enough twists and turns to keep it fresh and interesting. Game on!.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Exciting and Heart Racing Mystery This game was well put together. The story itself plays out like a well written book in which you'll find yourself playing non stop as you race to solve the mystery in the asylum. Of course there have been many games with asylum settings but this one has a brilliant and mysterious storyline that will keep you glued to your computer. When I finally finished I had that satisfied feeling of a realistic adventure. Would love to see more mystery's in future games.
Date published: 2011-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy Asylum! This game really impressed me because of the story. The story was creepy and mysterious, with a daring hint of love and betrayal. I think this game was really fun, and all u guys out there who love this game, thanks for supporting! Try this game cause it's awesome!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game The hidden objects are great. You had to run all over to find things. Clear pictures.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great game game moved right along, no long waits between scenes, overall enjoyed it very much.
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from challenge I`m glad that er not so many HO are. It`s more adventure! It`s possible to play without walkthrough because their is a map where you can see where you are and hints. Great game!
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like reading a good book! Worth buying! I started and finished this game in one sitting and felt like I had just finished reading a good book. I seriously enjoyed this one. Thank You!.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some of the best hidden object games have to be in an asylum, don't they? I have a thing for the hidden object games that have to do with mental hospitals. I think they seem to be the most amusing. I got wrapped into this in a trial and ending up spending my nights playing this story and watching it unfold. I'm very picky about hidden object games, so if I get one, then obviously to me it was pretty good. It was challenging enough for me to get stuck a couple times, but I was able to dance through the story without any major irritations. It wasn't the scariest or a really deep storyline, but it kept me entertained for a couple nights.
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The story and the 'atmosphere' save the day for this game Review based on completed game in "regular" difficulty. This is a mystery story where you wake up from a comatose state, not remembering who you are and how long you've been in that "establishment". The suspense relies on the fact that there is no staff to help/guide you, so you're left to your own devices to figure out what happened to you and how to "get out". The graphics use mainly greens, browns and greys... so the scenes are somewhat creepy; at the very start, it looks like this is going to be an adventure-only game, but it has HO scenes (lists) and mini-games. I liked how the story developed and the somewhat grainy graphics. There are a couple of things I didn't like: 1) the objects to find in the HO scenes are often fairly obstructed, making it harder than needed to spot them; 2) the mini-games are often interesting, but there is 1 type which represents brain waves on some oscilloscopes that you adjust with dials; it returns multiple times during the game with increasing difficulty; I didn't like the "style" and actually skipped the last one. It took me almost 4 hours to complete the game (I only used "skip" once and didn't use any hint in the HO) and got immersed in the story and atmosphere by playing the whole thing in 2 sittings. It is not a fast-paced and cheerful game; try it for about 20-30 minutes to get a flavor of what the game offers. I played it using Windows 10 without any issue.
Date published: 2019-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, I enjoyed playing this game. Positives: Great graphics and voiceovers. Skip and hint fill quickly. Interesting story. Lots to do. Map is helpful in figuring out where to go and where active locations are. Journal is helpful if you forget a clue. HOS hints don't swirl around insanely like in some games, and they locate objects clearly by encircling them. A few of the puzzles are very unique. I have a thing about puzzles... I don't play them. The "mind mapping" puzzle sequences aren't skippable, but I found them to be interesting and fun. Neutral: I didn't listen to the tape recordings, but I never do. HOS are not interactive. That might be a negative for some. Negatives: You can't use the map to jump to a location. Finding some of the objects in the HOS is quite difficult without using hints.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Older Game Holds Up Well With Its Intriguing Storyline Just finished playing this very old game but I liked it very much. Yes, the graphics are dated but the artwork is beautiful and what saves the game is the mysterious storyline which is very well done. There is no animation of characters yet locations get skewed when you solve puzzles later in the game that reveal information about the imprisoned people. The map is not transportive but does reveal active areas. Music is appropriately moody. The only thing annoying was the frequent elevator hopping from floor to floor to get to the farthest areas and then having to go back again. This will appeal more to those who like the adventuring aspect of gaming. I liked it.
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great older game! It's not too often you find an older game that's good. One of my biggest beef is that a lot of older games have the darn tapping penalty... many games I simply didn't buy because of this. This game however, having it, recovers very very quick, so it's acceptable. You can adjust the brightness, another plus. Doesn't span to fit entire screen, and as I updated to windows ten,I have to look into this correction yet. Now, unto the Plus side of this game! It's an eerie hospital where you need to solve the mystery. Great story, and the voices are perfect! I don't listen to many voices on games, as most are just corny.. not this one! Can't jump on map, but I am enjoying the discovery.... Puzzles aren't very complicated, but not boring. Graphics are like most older games, but not bad. Most will like this lil gem!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery at Shady Pines I really like this game! It is different and I couldn't stop playing it!!!! Another one like this?????
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solid game The gameplay flows fluidly from one scene to the next, you do not spend too much time with object before knowing what to do with them. There are only hints for HOS but the map lets you know where you should go, which mean that you do not waste time backtracking. The HOS are quite decent, and the storyline is gripping. Too bad that the other patients get blown up...
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines A 32 year old patient wakes up strapped to a bed in what seems to be an abandoned Mental Hospital. Her chart reveals little other than the fact that she has been in a coma for over three years with no hope of recovering, she is only known as patient number 100! Your first task is to find a way out of the locked room and escape from this asylum, problem is that there is a psychotic doctor calling the shots, and other patients that need help escaping as well.The graphics on this game are grainy and greenish on purpose, it really sets the stage for creepy, psychotic, unorthodox abandonment. There is a map that shows locations that have a mini game or HOS but cannon transport you there, you must old school click and walk, and there is a lot of back and forthing which can be a huge turnoff for some gamers. There is no hint system in the game itself, only available in the hidden object scenes. The hidden object scenes can be difficult because of the grainy dark graphics and some of the items are partially hidden behind other items. There are mini games where you try to enter the other patients minds through a monitor by adjusting the wavelengths in yellow with the wavelengths in green by turning dials. When the wavelengths turn blue you enter their minds dreamworld and solve the riddle of why they are there. You receive audio tapes throughout the game which tells you the story of Shady Pines and the patients, a little at a time. If you are a fan of the demented, abandoned asylums then this is the game for you, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly nice little game This was a daily special priced at just 2.99 so I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed playing it. It's a little different, as there is no hint button for the game itself. You have a journal and a straight map which doesn't allow you to jump. You do however have a hint button for the HOS. The game starts when a lady wakes up in an institution, but has no idea how she got there. From there she has to discover for herself why she's there, and the mystery of why strange things are happening. An excellent storyline that will keep you playing to find out what happens next.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Different, Unusual Story Storyline: It wasn't actually 100% clear. It was built off of a good premise but it doesn't really go into too much depth. Just enough to let you know there was something going on but not exactly what and and how it pertained to the main character because of the other characters. You wake up from a coma of three years in some shady place that you do not recognize.trying to make head or tails of your situation. You end up chasing this doctor around this "asylum" trying to find answers. Graphics: Like someone else said not clear but wasn't sure whether that was supposed to be because of the story. Sound: Can't comment, had it off because I play late at night and I don't like to disturb my husband sleeping. Gameplay: I played it within 5 hours on Expert, but it can easily be beaten in less time.(I tend to get distracted because of my kids) The puzzles weren't all that challenging and there wasn't a variety. For example, with each patient you encounter you have to adjust the yellow wavelengths on their monitors to match the green wavelengths by adjusting the dials until they match, they will turn blue, then you can turn the handle to enter a dream state and solve puzzles pertaining to that character. Then you get an audiotape that gives you a bit more insight into what is going on. You do have to travel back and forth between scenes to obtain items that you will need for the room you are in but they do not become available until you encounter that room. Such as I had to visit the garage at least three times I believe. I didn't know I needed an axe. Well first I had to get a key from another room that required that I get a hammer from yet another room to break this key out of a compartment, then later I had to go back to the garage to use the key to get the axe, then later I had to go back to the garage yet again to get an oil can to lubricate a door handle, etc... Kind of tedious in some ways.Why couldn't I have just gathered all the items in one go and then use them when I got to that area later? The HOS weren't always clear. Most objects were hidden pretty well behind other objects. You might have the handle of some shears peeking out behind a tire and not even realize that they were shears until you decided to click just because you thought what the heck and got them out of sheer luck. In another scene there was a foggy window of a car that was supposed to be the rear windshield with objects decorating it. I couldn't find a compass and of course it was behind a teddy bear in the foggy window! There was at least on object from each scene like that. But it wasn't overly frustrating, just kind of made you go, oooookay.... It's not a bad game but I like the Haunted Halls games better. But by no means pass this one up. It has a happy ending. And it passes the night away in a relaxing way.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea and creepy enough ! Well, it was redone in FACES in a more creepy way and modern way, but this is really good and very creepy. I wish we had more like this !
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great HO game!! i played the regular difficulty and i skipped most puzzles because i am not good at them and got done in 4 hrs 43 min. some of the HO scenes were crowded but the game was also kind of dark and dreary but not more so than others like this. skip charged really fast and the hint button recharge a little slower it seemed to me. you wake up in a hospital bed and don't remember how you got there or who you are. you get out of your room and see a little girl and you try to rescue her and chase her and a doctor over 3 levels. it has a map but it isn't interactive so there is back and forth. there is a journal that hold clues and if you use it you should always have the answer you need. i enjoyed the game. it does take some thinking to get through it. the hint does not tell you where to go and sometimes you have to guess. the "sparkly" area are hard to see sometimes. i passed over a few without realizing it. i had to go to the walkthrough a few times because of this.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo only but That was enough for a buy especially at sale price. The puzzles were different and interesting and definitely challenging. The HOG were harder than usual and what I really kinda liked was that things were just buried so only a little part showed. I liked that I had to be alert to that aspect, so like real life when one is hunting for lost stuff. I also liked that things were not placed so they could not be seen, only that one had to be alert to seeing a part of a distinct shape like shoelace part of a boot. I did not get into it enough to tell whether the story was going to be a turn on, but I play more for the puzzles and the recall of where stuff was. I think it is a good mental exercise actually.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from look like a good game to me I played it for 15 min and bought it. Was only $2.99 so what could I lose. The HOS were easy and the game had a good flow to it. Has voice over and the graphics are good.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's all in the execution The game starts out with a premise I've seen before: your character wakes up in a bed in a derelict hospital with no memory of how she got there. However, the interesting story, atmospheric graphics and sound effects, entertaining plot element where you enter the minds of other patients and creepy imagery all combine for an experience that lifts the game above its cliched beginning. The graphics did a great job of conveying the dinginess of the hospital and there is a scene near the beginning that was wonderfully creepy (don't want to spoil it). You find audio tapes throughout the game that slowly reveal the story of the hospital and what happened to its patients (and to you). Occasionally over the PA you hear some propaganda about what a great place Shady Pines is that adds to the menacing atmosphere. I got to the part where you have to enter the first patient's mind and considered this a five star game at the time. But then towards the end of the game, I thought that it lost a bit of steam, and the reveal of your true identity wasn't that satisfying. Not because I had already guessed it, but because there was a glaring loophole in the plot that was never explained. There is a map that highlights locations where there are hidden object scenes, puzzles, items, etc. which I always appreciate in HOGs. There are quite a lot of hidden object scenes; these are junk pile style, and while the graphics seemed a little grainy, I didn't mind as much because it fit in with the "decor" of the decaying hospital. The puzzles, while fairly easy (i.e. average for a HOG), are generally well-integrated with the story. In order to enter patients' minds, you have a machine that displays their brain waves and you have to adjust the wavelength, amplitude, frequency and phase of another wave on the screen to match it. Once in their minds (some pretty spooky locations!) you solve a riddle that is related to their circumstances to finish a puzzle. Despite the story running out of steam a little towards the end, this is still a high quality, atmospheric game that's well worth playing.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Really enjoyed this game, just over 3 hours of play, great storyline but a bit too much back and forth for my liking and the HOS were a little grainy with the items being quite difficult to find and very small sometimes. Doesn't have a hint system in place (only in hos) but the map gives enough hints on where to go next if you feel stuck. Quite enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An interesting mystery The story really kept me going through this one, but I have to say first off that the answers you receive aren't very satisfying. However, the voice acting and the audio tapes are top-notch and really worth listening to, and despite the lack of detail given to the plot, it really is a tragedy of touching proportions. The HOS were fine, and most of the game was interesting, but I couldn't do the ECG puzzles by any stretch of the imagination, mostly because I don't feel sufficient instructions were given. There was a lot of running around that I found unnecessary, especially since the lifts take time to move, but the map shows exactly where you need to go in every case, which I thought was a great step forward over some other games I've played. It's also not as creepy as some other games set in asylums (e.g. Green Hills) so that may be a bonus for some. Essentially, it only loses one star because it made me care about the characters then didn't provide a satisfying resolution. Definitely check it out!
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable This game has all the makeup of an awesome game though is missing something. There are a lot of rooms to get into though not as many challenges as I'd expect for the size of the map. There is a map that indicates where things are if you want help which I found handy with the map being so big. It would have been nice if you were to help the other patients escape and when transported into another realm, had more to do there. Some of the puzzles were a little easy.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shady Pines, Ma! I was so excited to play this given the excellent reviews...but then I played it and was sorely disappointed. Even by 2011 standards, this game wasn't too great. The atmosphere wasn't so much creepy as it was dingy and depressing. The hidden object scenes gave me eye strain and even though you can skip the puzzles, I didn't even realize it until almost the end (it's the little heartbeat deal in the upper left corner). I did think the story line was really compelling, which was about the only thing that kept me dragging myself through this game. I also liked playing solitaire on the computer and some of the puzzles were fun.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too much fun I finished the game. A few points that may help you decide whether to buy it. Playing the demo will not help with most of these. The setting is grim, gritty and dirty. Creepy. I found that enhanced the story, but sometimes it creeped me out too much and I had to quit the game for a while. The story is OK. I had the sound turned off. The HOS are all trash piles, but mostly solvable. I couldn't solve a lot of the mini-games, but that's me, not the games. I think they were mostly easy unless you're me. There are NO HINTS for the game play itself and that is problem. Not much intuitive about what's next. The map has some (but not all) hints to what to do, but it's not interactive. I counted 19 clicks on one retrieval mission, and 14 EACH way to get one item on another. There are also 2 very slow elevators that get used a lot and cycle through their whole process on every use. UGH! The game said I played 6:46 when I finished, but I bet at least a third of that was traipsing around to get stuff and riding on elevators. No recommendation here, even though the story is good.
Date published: 2014-02-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_12417, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Committed: Mystery at Shady Pines

Escape from Shady Pines and save the other patients! Explore the mysterious hospital and stop the psychotic doctor!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.