Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst

Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(435.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You lived through their side of the story—now live through his!

Return once more to the haunted grounds of Ravenhearst Manor to uncover new details about this poignant saga. What you find could very well be the final chapter of this riveting story—if you escape.

This is an intense psychological thriller that may reveal deep-seated fears. Not for the young or faint of heart. Consider yourself warned.

Please note: This is the biggest and most intense offering from the Big Fish Games Studios to date. If you are not sure if your computer will be able to handle the game, please try it before you buy it!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1245 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Crude Humor
  • Mild Blood
  • Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(435.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 463.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't let the low rating fool you! I really don't understand how this game has such a low rating. It is my favorite game, second only to Return to Ravenhearst. The only thing I don't care for is all the HOS's are morphing objects. I really dislike that, but I'm a fan of the classic seek and find, like Return to Ravenhearst features. I absolutely adore the creepiness of this game! It's dark and wonderful, even more so than RtR. The graphics and sound are beautiful. The storyline is great, as you really get to know Charles Dalimar. The ending could definitely have been much less corny, though. If you are as much of a fan of Ravenhearst for it's dark and eerie aesthetics as I am, then give this one a try! You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disturbing and Exciting Don't get me wrong, this game is certainly not for everyone. It is dark and twisted, and psychologically creepy. However, I enjoyed that there weren't nearly as many hidden objects as the last Ravenhearst game. It was much more challenging, and made you really think about what you had to do next. Difficult, yet I really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game This is one of my all-time favorites, albeit a very, very disturbing one. In one of the portals, listening to the children cry as they are beaten and tortured is absolutely awful. The sounds are so heart-wrenching that I can't imagine anyone ever physically punishing a child. I liked the HO scenes with the morphing objects; the storyline and voiceovers go perfectly together (Charles' childhood explored), and the games are definitely challenging. At the risk of sounding like a really sick individual, I would absolutely recommend this game. Not for the weak nor for those empathetic souls who would run away rather than finish this. Ghoulish may be a way to describe it. I found I just wanted to solve it!
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab! After the disappointing couple of games in this series ('sacred grove:dire grove' really WAS dire!) I have recently reinstalled this game and am just going through it after a break of a couple of years. This is probably my favourite game ever - I love the dark humour and the complexity of the puzzles. I understand it's not for everyone, but it isn't real - the daily news is real. I wish there were more games like this. The mystery case files series has really gone downhill. I own all in the series but keep coming back to this one, return to ravenhearst and dire grove. If anyone out there has played a similar game to this please shout out. This is 5 star all the way : )
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! This game goes to the top of my list for all time favourite games. I could not believe how deep this game was regarding the puzzles, the acting, the clues, the storyline, and the length of time to complete. You really need to have your brain in gear to complete this game as it is at times extremely challening, which i love. About time a game was created that geared more to adults, too many games made for teens and kids, too many games out there that want you to save the kingdom, save the kids, save my cat, they get tedious and boring. Overall: 10 out 10 for this game. More adult games please developers!
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my Favorites It saddens me to see that overall this game is only getting an average of three stars because I think it's one of my favorite games I've ever played. I'm sure the reason some people don't like it is because it is rather intense (hey, they do warn you) but that's what I love about it. Great Psychological thriller (with one of the best villains I've ever seen in an HO/adventure game) with some beautiful scenery and challenging puzzles.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Sensational Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... This Was An Early Purchase That Deserved A Second Play ... I Had Forgotten How Good This Game Is ... And Not For The Feint-Hearted .. It's Also One Of The Harder Games In This Genre, And It's Definitely Worth Keeping Some Hand Written Game Notes As You Proceed; Unless You Have A Photographic Memory ... I Wish I Had Purchased The Collectors Edition ...
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!!! I'm a huge MCFs fan !!! I love them all !!! This is such a great addition to the "family" !!! It's all been gone over in the 4 hundred some odd reviews already submitted,so I'm just gonna say a few things... !st- What a crazy unique story !! I love the insanity of Charles,our nemesis,in order to understand his lunacy we should walk a mile in his shoes...Well we get to go more than a mile,lol !!! Victor is back,albeit not much and what would Ravenhearst be without Emma,Rose and the twins !!! And in my opinion what makes this one so original is the way our ghostly ladies help us out !! We don't get the normal HOSs,we get MOSs !! We have to find morphing objects,not hidden objects !! Well there is 1 HOS and it's in a childrens magazine akin to Highlights !! Which is exactly where I learned to LOVE hidden object hunting !!! A fitting tribute,in my opinion !! As always with MCFs the graphics are outstanding !! As are the voice overs !! The cut scenes are top-notch and of big film studio type !! The music is perfect and fits the game ... I had to use the walk thru a couple of times and had I bought the CE I wouldn't have had to,but alas,I couldn't afford it at the time I bought the game,so rather play than miss it I found the walk thru...and yes it was a great walk thru !!! Not much left to say other than give it a try,play the demo and you'll see,as with all the other MCF games,it's well worth the money or credit,whichever you're using !! Thanks bigfish,this one is my favorite and as always you did a smashing job !! Happy Gaming Everyone !!!!!
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game Amazing game, not for children or those who don't care for dark games. I loved it!
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent but Challenging! Escape from Ravenhearst is hard and challenging! I had to look up a lot of the answers, and even then it took me a year to beat it. Pay attention to the the warning; there are some scary and horrible things. If you like challenges, then this is the game for you! I also like the morphing objects thing. It changes things up and you don't have to look up the names of objects you don't know when you're looking for hidden objects. The chance I get, I'm going to play the first and second Ravenhearst games, and not the demo versions, either. I give it 2 thumbs up!
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The beginning of an epic trilogy which leads to Madame Fate If you are just new to the Ravenhearst collection, then you are beginning at the best place to start. The previous one to this edition - simply titled 'Mystery Case Files: Ravenearst' lacked good graphics in the HOP which made some almost impossible to compete without asking for hints - and there were penalties if you just guessed. But the puzzles on the door locks were awesome! Something others could learn from. But this and the Return to Ravenhearst were gripping - and really scary in places - the idea of depressed victims living in a cave with doll houses and sad lolly stores - seriously creepy. This was also my step into the world of MCF Mystery Case Files which led to Dire Grove, one of my all time faves, and to Madame Fate, and the 13th Skull. It was a heady time of scary characters, fabulous graphics, intriguing story lines and a load of tricky puzzles to solve. And the best of settings.
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME This game was my favorite ever, if you enjoy games with an interesting history beside hidden objects adventures this is for you. Please more like this mcf
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game Enjoyed playing this game!!!!!
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get ready for a heck of a ride!!!!!!!! It's been so long since I wrote a review, but after playing this particular game, I just had to get my two cents in. I'm not going to rehash what other reviewers have posted. I'm just going to tell you why this game may just be for you. Do you like to think? Do you like a challenge? Do you like movies that tackle abnormal psychology? If you answered yes to those questions, then what are you waiting for?! This game IS for you! To be fair, the warning about the game is not without merit. It is intensely psychological and downright creepy. The music and voices all contribute to the overall unsettling and creepy atmosphere. There was even one scene that when I figured out what I had to do, I was squirming in my chair. Yikes! As with any other game, this one is not without a few cons. There is NO map or hint system outside of the HOS. That means you will either tear your hair out from frustration or consult a walkthrough--like I did. Know this: this is no ordinary HOPA game. Even the HOS are not normal. Instead, you are hunting for morphing objects and once you collect them all, the helpful ghosts point you in the direction that will advance you in the game. There is a lot of logic to this game. Absolutely NO hand-holding. It is as if you are playing a game on hardcore mode. Everything you see take note of. Even if you think it has no relevance, I can assure you it does! Once I realized that this game involved a lot of logic and deduction, I grabbed a notebook and pen and started keeping notes so I wouldn't forget anything that might be important. Sometimes even though I took notes, I still had no idea at times how to utilize the information--which is where your skills at deduction and reasoning will be strengthened. You will really have to put on your thinking cap to advance in the game. One thing I was disappointed in was that the puzzles had no instructions, so you really had to fend for yourself--sometimes with trial and error. While I originally thought of that as a negative, I realized that it increased the chances of me replaying the game to hone my inner Sherlock Holmes. Yes...this game has EXCELLENT replay value! I intend to replay it again today today!!! I'm a little sad I didn't get the CE, but I may save that for another day ;). I also intend to purchase its predecessor! If it's as good as this one, I will not be disappointed! Overall, the story, fun factor, the audio and visuals, and definitely the level of challenge all earn a 5 star from this pleased customer!
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shocking, Compelling, Baffling! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS INTENSE!! This game gives new meaning to the word. Telling this story involves looking at some of the uglier sides of life, so this game is right on the edge of decency. And it is a VERY challenging game to play. The feel of it is that of the more heavy duty of adventure and RPG games. Almost everything you need to do you must work out for yourself, and it is rarely a straightforward process. It opens with a news report, that looks totally believable, and segues into a series of increasingly insane flashes on some disturbing construction work. Then the madman reveals his goal – to “make you understand”. Well, nothing good can come from trying to understand Charles Dalimar! SIGHTS & SOUNDS The professionalism in the introduction is carried on throughout the game. Graphics are superb. The sound track is varied, exciting, deadly, restful and silent, depending on where you are in the game. Background and ambient sounds are, frankly, distressing, and for part of the game I had to turn them off. Dalimar is really spooky, face and voice. Integrated from actual video, but suffering from poor reception, he nevertheless seems more real, more dangerous than your surroundings, and that works very well with what’s happening. WHAT’S HAPPENING It’s hard to give an indication of the story without spoiling it. You return to Ravenhearst manor after a series of disappearances in the surrounding area. The house is a burnt out wreck. The lighthouse is barely functional. Seems everything has been destroyed. The ghosts of Emma and the others try to warn you away, but offer to help you when you won’t leave. But their power is limited, whereas Dalimar’s... MAKING PROGRESS Where to start? In keeping with the tradition of the Mystery Case Files series, Escape From Ravenhearst takes some radical departures from the known and accepted. And after years of hand holding from other games, this game gives us almost no help at all. There is no map. There is no hint outside HOP scenes. The journal keeps story info but does not record clues. There are times when there is no information, no logic about where next to look, and you must systematically scour the area for signs of new information. The game geography is complex and strange, and with no map, very hard to navigate. Then there are the HOP scenes. These are not like any others. You are given the number of MORPHING objects in a location and no other information. Included in the scene will be other objects with other roles, and there may well be some that require more than one move. They are far more difficult than you’d imagine, because the entire scenes are in constant motion. I completed only one scene without the use of the hint button. And I usually don't use any hints at all for HOPs. There are also a couple of standard word list HOPs, including one which is a sketch book and cleverly done. There are also plenty of other very challenging puzzles. Most of them were too difficult for me to complete without the help of the walkthrough and/or skip. Even using a code or clue is more difficult than it seems at first glance, because you must interpret the information in unusual ways. FINAL VERDICT However you look at it, this game is not a walk in the park. It is a gruesome and gruelling trek through madness and hate. Yet, it is undeniably, compulsively, involving. Audacious and challenging, it is a MCF ‘tour de force’.
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know why would anyone give it less than 5 it's amazing..and respects your inelegant if you are lazy ..don't want to think and search don't play it. for me it was one of the best.
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inside the mind of Alice Cooper The subject matter is graphic, upsetting, and it should really be given an 18 rating rather than the 12 it has at the moment so please use discretion. Using the free trial won't give the player a true sense of the nasty direction this takes at the half way point so PLEASE take notice of the reviews about this. I won't go into details but I know from my own life experience that this has been very well researched and I had to take time out in the mid stages. However I stuck with it because there was a kind of "relief" in knowing that someone else understands what it is like. However this won't be for everyone so if there is any sensitive issues involving abuse I would advise against this game if it is going to drag up things best left alone. The first half is pretty much a standard HO adventure, and I seriously wondered what people were kicking up such a fuss about. This is devilishly hard, however, and requires some serious thinking as the clues and hints are at a bare minimum - yes this isn't going to be made easy for you but is hugely enjoyable. This all changes instantly with a fall into a cavern and the nasty stuff begins. What follows is a series of "Saw Traps" inside a giant cavern (with models not real people) depicting stages of the Mad Doctors traumatic life and reasons for his insanity. It is TRULY upsetting territory to walk through and I found myself in complete sympathy with him - although the tired old cop out of "I went back in time to set all this up" made me groan with embarrassment. And has been mentioned before the last two Locations were very short indeed and seem to have been wrapped up in a hurry to release the game on time. As I said this won't be for everyone, some will hate it. Some like myself will derive a strange "Comfort" knowing that other people understand. Walk carefully now dear reader.....
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I wonder why people hate this game. I really love this game. Beautiful graphics, so much case to solve, and it is very challenging. I really love Mystery Case Files's games. It's my favorite (well shadow lake too tho)
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Hi all! This is my second review ever (I reviewed Dire Grove in February 2013). I have played Escape From Ravenhearst 3-4 times and I think it is a great game. Some people may think it is inappropriate or disturbing but to each his own. It had a great plot and I loved the idea of seeing the story through the mind of Charles. There was always something to do and rarely ever did I get stuck. The Case File was detailed and entertaining and the different areas of the game were all beautiful and intricate. There weren't a million puzzles and they when there were puzzles they were very varied. Some of them were memory or strategy but there weren't any random luck games. Overall a superb game and my favorite so far. Great length, lots of areas to explore, lots of things to see and do.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE GOLD STANDARD Bought this game back in 2009 and played on casual. Played again 5-2013 on Master Detective. This game and the other MCF Ravenhearst games arte the best.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky, challenging, well put together I was a little apprehensive about this game after reading the reviews, but having just spent the entire weekend glued to my laptop playing this I would like to offer my wholehearted recommendation for this game. Yes, the story is rather disturbing and not suitable for younger audiences or those who don't like horror stories, but I think it fits well with the Ravenhearst series and explains Charles Dalimar's story in a very compelling way. There are scenes of implied violence, torture and abuse, and some gross-out stuff, so be warned of that, but I don't think it's any worse than anything you might see in a young adult video game. The puzzles are considerably more challenging that in previous MCF games, but I think that adds rather than detracts from the awesomeness of this series. The puzzles are bigger and better and really exercise your brain power, and there's a wonderful variety of ingenious puzzles, including a couple that are reminiscent of the coolest ones in Madame Fate & the original Ravenhearst. I admit I resorted to the walkthrough a few times but that was probably due more to laziness than to poor game design. And after being seriously disappointed by the final puzzle in Return to Ravenhearst (although - and perhaps because - I LOVED the rest of that game so much), Escape from Ravenhearst offers a fantastic final puzzle that really effectively uses the game mechanics well. Also, I found the morphing objects weren't as bad as I expected, and I actually liked that there were fewer of those scenes to enable more detective puzzle-solving. (POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT!!!!! And I was surprised and delighted to discover a hidden object puzzle cleverly hidden in the game - very unexpected and wonderful! /endspoiler) All in all, a terrific addition to the MCF series and, I think, a must-buy for Ravenhearst fans.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, dark and moody. Excellent game, dark and moody. The graphics took my desk top to it's limit. [Maybe it is time for a new one? lol]. I became totally involved with the storyline. My first run through took me over 27 hours. [No skips or hints used]. By far my longest, which reflects on the complexity of the puzzles or maybe my dumbness!! I'm still relatively new to this type of game, but of the 20 or so that I've played, this is my favourite so far. I look forward to further adventures in Ravenhearst.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!!!!! More games like this please!!!!! I was a little unsure of whether to get this one or not having read some other reviews, but I was very glad I purchased this one. Thoroughly enjoyed it, I did not find it offensive at all, infact I found it quite amusing, obviously some folk took it too seriously..... Loved the story line and graphics are superb. Having said that, I know I could not have completed it without some hints, and a walk through to guide me. Some of the games were just too baffling for me, but I did enjoy the different take on the morphing hidden objects. I would definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best HOA games I have played in years I am one of those hardcore players that enjoys a challenge and a "dark" feel. Myst was my favorite PC game as a teenager and actually opened up the world of these puzzle-based adventure games to me. I remember loving the challenge of Myst, how I really had to put thought into the obstacles I was faced with and use my brain to solve the puzzles. I play HOA/HOPA games for the PUZZLES, the EXPERIENCE and the ADVENTURE. If I wanted to just play some easy point-and-click hidden object, I'd purchase one of those games that literally are just multiple hidden object scenes over and over again, no adventure involved. But frankly to me, HOS are becoming a bit old and boring. I find that when I come across them now in games, I feel almost disappointed and I try to get through them as quickly as possible. So, with that being said, I get excited when I come across a game that isn't completely littered with them and has much more to offer than the typical HOS. This is one of those games. With every new scene I was more and more drawn-in. Every scene was well thought out and had it's own unique puzzle or purpose. I am also one of those weirdos that really enjoys the creepy, scary, ghost-filled or demonic themed games, and this one was top-notch. Though it had a dark feel to it, it clearly wasn't amateur hour here with transparent figures floating around rooms or shadow monsters jumping out of paintings and such. It was a subtle kind of scary, more psychological horror, as opposed to the old flashing-ghost face in the mirror scare, which I really appreciated. This was a highly developed game with the PERFECT amount of challenge and creepiness. I honestly just loved everything about this game, but I especially loved the challenge. I had to refer to the Walk-through online a couple times, and I've only ever had to do that before maybe twice. I always play on Expert/Advanced mode as I don't like the solution handed to me... otherwise, what's the point of playing a Hidden Object Puzzle ADVENTURE? Besdies the overall challenge of the game, I also really enjoyed the inventory based tasks and mini-games- they were so fun and unique, ie: collecting hairs and pimples off of the "animatronic" mother, turning on the Spanking Machine to collect the tears off of the animatronic child, mixing a chemical to subdue the inmates of the ward... they were all so fun and (again) challenging! I loved how every inventory item based task you needed to complete was essential to the plot progressing, and also allowed you to experience and "live" your captors life- from birth through all the important aspects of his life. That's where you almost start to feel bad for Charles and begin to realize he is just another product of his upbringing and environment. All in all, this is literally in my Top 3 Games I've ever played. It is an acquired taste though, made for people who love challenges and figuring things out, as well as people who enjoy creepy-themed games, that are out of the ordinary.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Great Game! This was a great game! The graphics were fantastic and story line creepy but cool. Some really weird puzzles like the pregnant ladies but how different is that? Liked the morphing object but it did get a little tedious by the end of the game. Only drawback -puzzles had no instructions. Some of them took me a good while just to figure out how to play. The SG was only somewhat helpful. Still, really enjoyed this game! BG, please make more like this.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Experience with Ravenhurst-Loved It! After playing Dire Grove, I needed another game to satisfy my investigative needs, so I tried Escape from Ravenhurst. Indeed, this game is a challenge for both me and my computer. I loved the game and was done in three days which is too quick, but I was addicted to playing this game. Can't wait for another game like this one!
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic Found this game to be very challenging, the sounds and graphics are very good, i have played it on easy, but will play it again on advanced, some of the puzzles really make you think, which i love. all in all a great game, hope you enjoy as much as i did.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Escape from Ravenhearst I really loved this game, at first the morphing was annoying but i quickly got used to it and really liked it afterwards. When it sums it all up the game wouldn't be the same without the morphing. Enjoyed seeing the staff of Bigfish at the end credit's doing bloopers.:) lol Just bought Ravenhearst and next one return to Ravenhearst even though i should've played these first..well enjoy and get ready to grip your seat's lol bye Tainted.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of The Three I enjoyed this third installation of Ravenhearst. This is the first review I have given but wanted you to know I thought this was the best of the three (game one I also thought was excellent.) The warning they gave was appropriate; this game is not for all players, especially children. I found it to be challenging for a computer game, and I would definitely recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game!!!!!!! This is the best game ever! Its sooo fun to play and interesting to find out different things along the way in this awesome game!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-09
  • y_2018, m_11, d_13, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_463
  • loc_en_US, sid_13123, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst

Return once more to the haunted grounds of Ravenhearst Manor to uncover new details about this poignant saga. What you find could very well be the final chapter of this riveting story-if you escape.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.