Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1536 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(510.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 232.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I for one thought it was good I know it has been a while since this game has been out. I have a lot of BF games and just got around to finishing this one. I like Shadow Lake. I like the new twist on an old favorite. I will more than likely play it again. The only bad thing I can say is that there was a lack of mini games. The one thing that had to be done over and over was to put a block puzzle together while it floated in Lea's head. Those were just annoying. Other than that I thought the story, graphics, and sound were great. It went at a good pace for me. It was worth the buy. I think give it a try.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was impressed This is by far the best graphics mystery case files has ever had. Hidden Object scenes were clear, movement was fluid, and transitions were really smooth. I don't know why I have read so many bad reviews of this game. Shadow lake had the most coherent story line of all the games, the map made it quick and easy to move throughout the game, and very few times did I get stuck just to find out later I had to make some ridiculous connection from something at the beginning of the game. I really enjoyed playing this game. I think it is their best job yet.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Dire Grove but most enjoyable This is my first review although I have played many a Big Fish Game but felt that I needed to put forward my view to this game as I very nearly didn't buy it due to the reviews it has received and then only bought it due to a sale. Please bear in mind I'm not a great lover of a HO packed games and prefer very few with more puzzles and adventure and I really enjoyed this game. I enjoyed the storyline and graphics and thought the puzzles and hidden drawings were different and sometimes quite challenging. Shadow Lake may not be in quite the same league as Dire Grove or Ravenhurst but definitely worth trialing if you are like me and do not like being bombarded with HOs. As with both the previous mentioned games I am looking forward to replaying this one again.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this game After reading some of the reviews on this game, I almost didn't get it. But I'm keeping my faith in the MCF games, and although this one isn't my favorite, I thought it was a lot of fun. I'm really not understanding why so many people didn't like this game. Ya, Lea Thompson was a little corny, but it's a game, not a serious movie, and to me she seemed to have a lot fun with the character. I also don't understand how some people got lost on the plot either. It most certainly was not a complicated one, but the game kept you moving forward by completing the HOS and finding the images, which I thought was more fun than just the standard HOS. In fact, I get a little tired of those games and I'm always looking for something different to play. I was only going to give this game 4 stars, because I thought the game was a little short, but I'm going to give it 5 because so many other people gave it a 1. I still can’t wait for the next MCF!
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from allisgirl I thought this game was going to be bad considering the poor ratings but was very pleasantly surprised ! It was fun, unique and challenging !
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure why more people don't like this game! While I didn't care about listening to the psychic the whole time, the mini games were challenging enough to be fun and of course the videos were entertaining. Plus, the spooky ghost stuff kept is creepy and interesting. I totally loved this game and thought it was great.
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game in Every Way! This is one of the best BF games ever and we have played more than 100! This one rates right up there with 13th Skull for top 2. Can't understand why it got only an average of 3 stars -should be five plus!
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patience is a virtue I am not really understanding the poor reviews of this game. It is different, thank God, because I was really getting bored with the same old stuff. This game is a rare gem of thinking outside the box. True, it does not hold your hand, but even my hubby, who always plays on casual mode and basicly wants a game to be laid out for him, (not that he is stupid by any means, he uses games for his brain to go into casual mode) finally got the hang of what the designers wanted and enjoyed the game. I say play the free trial, give it a chance, and dont give up just because the game doesn't tell you where every little item is. Oh yeah, warning, it is creepy. Mostly when you least expect it.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this Game! I really don't know what these bad reviews are all about. How can you go wrong with Marty McFly's mom? I thought the story line was really fun and spooky. There were a few moments during the game that actually scared me! The puzzles were hard but not too hard that you couldn't figure it out after a few tries. Overall, very original for an awesome hidden object game. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty cool game! I am an MCF fan, and even though this game was a bit different than the normal MCF, I enjoyed it. It was pretty straight forward, but the actors and the graphics got my attention. The map functioned well, even though you had to trek a lot. (I kept forgetting to take the ladder) I also thought the HOS were thoughtful because you had to explore more than one room to find things.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Go By Bad Reviews I am sorry that I waited so long to play this game based on bad reviews. I love Mystery Case Files games and this was no exception. Loved the story line.
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bad reviews are wrong! It took me several months to purchase this game as many of the reveiws were unfavorable. BUT, when I played the game, I found that it was fantastic. The format is different from the other MCF games, but not in a bad way. I believe people don't like this game as it is harder than the other MCF games, I played in expert mode and found it to be very challenging. The only part of the game I found to be annoying is the ladder, you have to remember to carry it back and forth with you between scenes. The graphics were very good, the acting was good - boy was I happy when the ghost hunter host was knocked out. I was scared many times and the game was really creepy. If you like a challenge and liked being scared, play this game!
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of completed game I'm glad I didn't listen to the negative reviews. Usually I agree with the reviews on games that get posted here but a lot of reviews for this one are way off. I played this one through and really had a good time. I hate to think I might have missed it. The story was interesting and the acting was spot on. If you've ever watched shows like Ghost Adventures, you'll know what I mean. This one is getting a bad reputation that it doesn't deserve. Try it out for yourself. If you like the demo, you'll love the whole game. The ending in the standard edition is quite satisfactory.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed at all the Negative Reviews! This Game is Brilliant! After sorting through all of the negative reviews, I really was expecting something absolutely terrible. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that this game is actually 110% fantastic. It's obvious from the start that A LOT of hard work went into producing this game and it shows. Down to the tiniest detail, the developers did a superb job from start to finish. I find myself with not one single complaint, which is a miracle in itself. I always find at least one thing I dislike, but with this latest release of MCF, I have nothing but rave reviews. I'm not sure what the fish in the pond were expecting, but this game exceeded my expectations. After all of the cookie-cutter I-HOGS that we've been subjected to, where I have trouble telling many of these games apart anymore, I would think we would all be jumping up and down about this game. This game is an absolutely refreshing change of pace. It is mostly an Adventure game; and perhaps it was the expectations of many within the pond that this latest Case Files release would be yet another IHOG with morphing objects. And perhaps when those initial expectations were not met, many found themselves disappointed, which is unfortunate because as far as games go, this is exactly what Dr. Felix ordered. Big Fish Studios is always pushing the boundaries of the current trends to open us up to something new, and every new release of the Mystery Case Files series has done just that: set the bar of excellence high so that we get bigger and better offers all around to keep the gaming community happy. This game does just that-sets the bar higher. As I said, it's heavy on the Adventure aspect, which for those players that enjoy Adventure games will find themselves immediately comfortable in the genre. There are also creative hidden object scenes that require the player explore a bit. It's beyond an interactive hidden object scene; it's an entire area or building that you search for these objects, physically moving around from room to room to find them. I enjoyed this far more than searching around one 'still-scene'. In addition to that, you have 'psychic' drawings of certain areas/objects that you need to look around for and place on top of the area depicted in order to 'charge' them with spiritual energy. I enjoy these, as it makes for a more comprehensive and varied gaming experience. I have to be observant while playing, which creates additional challenges. The graphics are WELL above par; they are the most realistic looking graphics so far that rival the high-quality graphics found in console gaming. I am blown away by the clarity. All of the audio (environment, effects, ambient, music) are very well done and also add to the realism this game presents. The live actors are very professional and do a fantastic job. Cut-scenes are movie quality; beautiful on my wide-screen laptop. I also enjoyed the unique concept of having to piece together a moving scene-(like a puzzle)-in order to trigger the actual cut-scene or 'vision'. This is a puzzle that I have never come across before in any other game and I've played most all of the Adventure and IHOG games offered. Each time, the challenge and complexity of these 'moving scene puzzles' increases, but never to the point of being frustrating. As far as game mechanics-no complaints. Easy to navigate with a transporter map, easy controls, and I experienced absolutely ZERO lag-time, or long lapses between scenes. Everything flowed nicely without interruption. As far as the story itself-it's unique, intriguing, and in many places, downright scary. Many areas were like watching a supernatural horror movie. I admit to jumping out of my seat more than a few times when I encountered a 'ghostly entity', mainly due to the high-quality graphics as well as it happening when you least expect it. The length is fantastic. I lost count of how many hours I invested in this game because I was so engaged I completely lost track of time. Let's just say the sun came up before I knew it and it was only then that I realized I hadn't yet slept. Even though I purchased the SE version, as for achievements or morphing objects and any other 'extras' typically offered with a CE version that many complained were lacking-I did not miss them one bit. There is plenty of enjoyment to be had with the game itself that the idea of any extras did not seem remotely necessary, so I must disagree with the many reviewers who were frustrated because these were not offered. Again, Mystery Case Files is cutting-edge gaming, and frankly, we've been there, done that. I wanted new, and that's exactly what this game offers. We wanted new, Big Fish gave us new. We wanted something different, Big Fish gave us something different. We wanted cutting-edge gaming, Big Fish delivered. We wanted better graphics, we got them. We wanted more adventure, and there's plenty in this game to go around. Most of all, we wanted a different and unique STORY, and Big Fish Studios gave us that too. Honestly, what's NOT to love? Big Fish Studios-I'm not sure why the negative reviews. I really am stumped, aghast, befuddled and an assortment of other adjectives. But I wanted to let you know that your latest MCF release IS the best yet and is a game that I will play more than once. It's one of the absolute best games I've played in a LONG time and I hope you continue to bring us new and unique gaming experiences that set the bar high for others looking to produce quality games. I urge everyone to at least give it a try. You may find yourself extremely surprised, like I was, at what a great game it really is. I'm glad I ignored the negative reviews and went for it anyway, or I would have missed out on what is quite possibly, the best game of the year. Congrats Big Fish Studios-you've done it again-another home run.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why? I cannot understand why the comments are so negative.... I enjoed this game very much. Clear graphic, good storyline and a lot of fresh ideas. Very good game!
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly entertaining, offers some improved gameplay After reading several negative reviews of this game, I decided to skip it in favor of other games with better reviews. Later on, learning that my opinion of some games differed wildly from that of other players, I took another look at Shadow Lake and decided to try the demo. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed playing this game! Out of more than 180 games I've purchased from Big Fish Games over the last few years, this is one of only a handful that I played through without stopping. In addition to enjoying the storyline, I liked several features of the game that I hadn't experienced in other games. I'll try to relate some details without providing spoilers. First, the downside. Many of the negative reviews focused on Lea Thompson's performance as a medium. I read somewhere that she based her over-the-top portrayal on her mother's work as an actual medium. I don't know whether that's true, or whether real spiritualists actually behave that way. In any case, I didn't think the actors' performances in this game were as poor as some players reported. If you're irritated, make sure the game's captions are turned on, and then turn off your sound whenever "Cassandra" or other bothersome characters are onscreen. Without their voices or background music, the acting doesn't seem (as) crazy, and your eyes and mind will focus on reading the captions and gathering information, so you won't have to pass up this fun game simply because you dislike the live performances. Gameplay: Although I love the mini-puzzles in many HOPA games, I'm there for the overall story and the hidden objects. Unless a game is just a constant stream of one HOS after another, or it's littered with trash-heap searches for objects (so much dirt!), I enjoy searching. A little anachronism also doesn't bother me; I don't particularly care whether something we have to find (such as a stethoscope) hadn't actually been invented yet when a game is supposed to have taken place. If I worried about issues like that, I'd play history, military, and strategy games instead of hidden object games. I can even tolerate a few inconsistencies and the occasional misspelling or wrong translation, so long as it doesn't happen in every single scene of a game. Shadow Lake has a few of these problems, but not enough to annoy me into quitting the game. One aspect of Shadow Lake's gameplay I particularly enjoyed is traveling via map. Games often make players backtrack all over - many, many clicks - to move from one place to another. Shadow Lake improves that necessary condensing of game territory by letting the player simply click the desired location on the map. Hooray! This mode of travel helped to minimize my impatience to reach a scene or get an object. It would have been nice to be able to see every building in the town as my character strolled by it, but I gladly traded that pleasure for the easier mode of getting to and from necessary locations. One hint (not much of a spoiler) if you're reading this review before trying the game: Once you've found the ladder, remember to put it back into inventory after every use. You'll find it to be a very helpful tool, but it's a bit of a hassle to go back repeatedly, looking for the last place you left it. :) Another favorite new style of puzzle in Shadow Lake is the image-assembly game that takes place in Cassandra's mind. It gets tiresome after the first few instances, but at least the designers vary it from one time to the next. Hint: Be careful not to place parts of the image in a way that creates a hole around a missing block; it causes the puzzle to disintegrate, and you'll have to start over! From reading the forums, I gather that the Collector's Edition of this game doesn't offer much additional gameplay, which is what I really want from a CE (I'm not very interested in wallpapers and such), so I purchased and played the Standard Edition. I definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake Highly recommend this game...heaps of puzzles and objects to find..scarey and spooky music that makes me want to play more and more....hair still sticking up & goosebumps on my arms. Thank you Bigfish:)
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MC One of the best games I have played so far. While most games are "more of the same" this one is original, different and very entertaining. Superb graphics and sound.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why all the Thumbs Down for this Game? I am in the minority as I loved this game and think it is the best MCF yet. It has a lot going for it. The graphics are first class as is the acting much better than other more popular developers. The game play is challenging and I loved the story. The puzzles are different from any game I have played and if I have a complaint it is that some of the objects were very small and hard to find.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not The Same Old Thing I was surprised at how low the rating was for this game. I suspect its because players are anticipating a certain style by MCF and are sad when they don't find it. However, MCF has gone through a few massive changes over the years, which is why the series has survived. If it was always the same formulaic thing, it would get boring very quickly. In Shadow Lake, the acting is cheesy and over the top but it's supposed to be and is a good tension breaker. I've always felt the acting throughout the MCF games was dramatic, but there's an extra dose of humour in this that I especially enjoyed. There is a scene where a ghost hunter is about to summon some spirits at the penitentiary - what he does next is hilarious. MCF has always had strong storylines, and this is no exception. I like the use of the map to go back and forth instead of always going FWD FWD FWD and BACK BACK BACK with arrows, and matching illustrations as well as finding objects makes a nice point of difference. I thank those reviewers who wrote a positive review on this game. I had to scroll through a lot to find them, and they were quite descriptive as to why they liked it. I think give it a chance - I wouldn't buy it without playing it, but playing the demo gives you an excellent indication of what you'll get.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent just like all MCF i was shy to try this because of the reviews... so glad i did not listen.. tried it & bought it right away. The game is great and advanced ... one thing i really love and appreciate of the MCF series is that it always strives for excellence and fluid game play ... things change from game to game but they keep it interesting always... i love the fact that the hidden objects can be in several places almost like 13th skull .... this game is great ... relax, dont expect ...& enjoy! thank u BFG!!!! 5 stars
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Under-praised gem! Early reviews wrong maybe?? This game is years old but I picked it up for the "Catch of the Day" sale, and I HAD to write a review. This game is very good, but I didn't buy it when it was first available because the initial reviews were murderous. Seriously, those reviews likely killed all chances of it taking off as fabulously as it may have otherwise. * Cool spooky and realistic atmosphere. * Appropriate and beautiful music. * Detailed story-line that kept my attention. And despite my not being a fan of the main actress used, I quickly got over how "over-acted" her style was and got quite into her quirky vibe and looked forward to every dialogue with her. My only complaint is that it is not challenging at all. But it still comes across like a fun interactive movie experience melded with a game.
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game! I'm surprised at the other reviews. This game is awesome! It's the kind of game one wishes would go on and on. It's got the perfect amount of HOS, mystery adventure, and detective work. In my opinion, MCF outdid themselves with this one. I hope they do another one somewhere near as good.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different from past games but good I was surprised by all the negative reviews. I have over 100 Big Fish games but this is my first review. I felt compelled after all the bad reviews. This is definitely not like previous MCF games but refreshingly different. I have the SE version and as a casual player am very grateful for all the hints and skips that make the game fun with less frustrations. I did not need to rely on a walkthrough and that makes me happy. I really enjoyed the game.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DONT BE FOOLED BY BAD REVIEWS 'shadow lakes' is of similar quality as RTR, EFR, DG, or 13th skull. I expected the worst when I read all the reviews, but there is NO reason for that. I played the latest 7/9 MCF games. it is probably a bit easier and shorter. smaller changes here and there as usual. I do not agree with any of the bad aspects in the negative reviews. I just finished it and it was great fun.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good hidden object game I really enjoyed this game.It's been a long time since something surprised me enough to make me jump.I had a lot of fun with it.Lea was great,I thought she was perfect for the role she played.Good clear graphics and good story line.I'm not going to spoil it for new players by revealing the parts that made me jump,but it was well worth the money.I absolutely love the MCF games. But I did find it to be slow to load and move from place to place.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spoiled Gamers wanting a clone give this game unfair ratings! This is a DIFFERENT style MCF game which does NOT make it a "Bad" Game. If you like cheesy B Horror flicks this game is for you! It has the bad acting and over the top characters. Kinda like the lesser known Bruce Campbell movies LOL! Poor Lea Thompson? HECK NO! It was obvious she was having fun playing her role! Many actors branch out to video games to have a little fun while making a bit of extra cash! This game was FUN and FUNNY with some scares! The environments were creepy. The graphics & sounds were fabulous I LOVE games with Live Actors also Finding the hidden objects was fun in what I can only call unconventional HO scenes. The adventure part of the game was also fun. It was the story that I enjoyed the most. I really wanted to know what happened next! I would give this game a 4.5 only because I didnt like the "cube puzzles" .... so I skipped a few. No biggie ;) I am giving it 5 stars because I really did love it & also to bring the ratings up a little so people try it. I had a blast!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST Game in 2012! I purchased the Collector's Edition. This game es great! The MCF series is the best and I love this game like the others. The graphics are very good and detailed done. There are many creepy places in Bitterford, Maine to explore. There are some scenes in the dark. There you need night vision googles. I really like this scenes. The sounds are great. You can hear the wood cracking under your feet. The music is good to, but there is not much music in the game. The places to explore are very creepy and if you meet a spirit you get a shock everytime. I really love this creepy places. An old school house, a burned down house and some more. The storyline is great! It is creepy too. An old horn is going around and kills everyone that touched it! It's great. I really like Brandon O'Neils and Lea Thompson in the live scenes. They are perfect done! Good job. I had so much fun, while playing the game that I played it again, and again, and again. So I played it 7 times yet and everytime the game got greater and greater. That's why I rate it with 5 stars.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't believe the bad reviews I thought this game was brilliant ! I enjoyed everything about it, and so glad I bought it. It was a great change not to have normal HO scenes and finding the hidden drawings added to the puzzle. I didn't find the talkie bits over long, they were all part of the story telling, and the acting was quite acceptable. The spinning blokes at the end of each chapter were a novel change, a bit frustrating to do with a laptop, but the skip button helped. The story was interesting, a bit common, usual relic /demon causing deaths, but done well. Would love there to be more games like this, don't miss out on this one , its fab !!
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files:Shadow Lake Fun Hidden Object Game!" I love it!
Date published: 2013-01-08
  • y_2020, m_1, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_232
  • loc_en_US, sid_16584, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.