Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak
Exclusive

Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(288.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the secrets of a picturesque mountain resort in Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak! The town of Aurora Peak was a wonderful place when you were growing up – the locals were friendly, and the mountain was peaceful and inviting. Things have changed since you were kid. When you come back to town years later, you see that an ominous cloud hangs over the mountain, and plants and animals in the area have started to… change. It seems to be natural phenomenon connected to some strange local crystals. But the devious plot you start to uncover could endanger the entire world! Discover the truth behind Aurora Peak’s deadly secret in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 755 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(288.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game.!!! I remember this game. Must have the CE. Hint button to slow. Other wise no complaints.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Liked It - Nice and Relaxing - Review Of Completed Game STORY: You take on the role of a geologist and you get a call from your brother Alan to join him to investigate some of the odd mutated plants and animals along with some mysterious crystals at your grandfather's resort - Aurora Peak. CHAPTERS: 7 There is Widescreen (at least for me) There is Voice-over. 3 PLAY MODES: Easy, Medium, Hard. In Easy mode, the Hint button takes 60 seconds to recharge. In Medium mode, the Hint button takes 3 minutes to recharge. Skip is the same for charge up. Hint is also helpful outside of HOS as I tried it out during my demo time before I actually started playing the game. In Hard mode, sparkles and hints are disabled, and you cannot skip puzzles. There are black bar tips however. BOX: There is also a box at the bottom that will give you the stories of the different characters as you encounter them. MAP: This is transporter and shows where you are, where there is things to do and also shows areas with ? marks that haven't been discovered yet. HOS: A very nice variety here: Word list, silhouette, place items back into the scene and they are very interactive here. I thought these were really well done here. PUZZLES: I really didn't come across anything new: Rotate rings, get the bear out of the maze, making potions, etc. OVERALL IMPRESSION: I have played and purchased the CE. I thought this was a good game. The graphics for me were nicely done. I also liked the characters and voice overs though characters mouths don't move. I do think the story could of been more suspenseful. The main game here did come to a satisfactory conclusion and while I did enjoy the bonus chapter I didn't feel it was needed to complete the main game. I also wish all developers would do a custom mode and let the game player decide if they want sparkles, black bar tips, hint/skip fast charge up or have them disabled. Shouldn't see black bar tips and/or sparkles on the harder mode. Just give me a hint and skip and I'll decide if I need to use them or not. GAME LENGTH: The main game here for me was about 4 hours. May be more/less for you. Overall 4 stars from me. Thanks Big Fish and Developer for a good game here. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself. CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide 20 achievements 20 morphing objects Wallpapers Gallery of Concept Art and Music Mini-games (6HOS & 15 puzzles)
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game BASED ON DEMO ONLY: The game is slightly glitchy, but restarting it solved the problem, so I was able to continue. I will report that in the technical thread. The artwork is gorgeous. There is wide screen. Music is unobtrusive. The map is interactive. The HOS and puzzles don't seem to be stupendously difficult. The inventory bar can be locked open. Game play so far has been fairly linear. One thing I do NOT like is that while the hints work in and out of the HOS, when using hints outside of the HOS, you still have to wait for the refill. Most games do not require any refill time for hints outside of the HOS. A couple of things I noted that seemed a little silly: (1# You are told by the resort manager that you will find the scientist in the garden on the other side of the gate. So why couldn't you just open the gate or use a key that the manager would give you? Instead, you have a solution that you use on the gate in such a way that it is torn down by vines. #2) Why is the scientist so helpless? You would think she would know what has made the bear so angry and how to repair her own machine -- both of which are perfectly obvious to you and tasks that you perform while she stands helplessly by. If I'd been writing the script, I'd have given her some injury that prevented her from performing those tasks. Oh, well... just a couple of small irritations. Most games have them. I will get this one.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Visually Delightful! BASED ON COMPLETED CE GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS When I first reviewed the CE demo, I was bowled over by this game’s beauty and ingenuity. Having now completed the main game, I am less enthusiastic. The game is still beautiful, but the treatment of the story is superficial, the puzzles are pretty standard, and the game seemed awfully short, although I can’t give you a time. There just didn’t seem to be much substance to this one. SIGHTS & SOUNDS I do still love the scenery in this game more than anything else. It’s not that these are the best graphics around, they’re not. But they depict an overgrown jungle of such vibrancy and life, by including so much colour and animation in each scene, that it’s hard not to just sit and stare. The music is likewise superb, and the background noises are worth listening to on their own. WHAT’S HAPPENING Our brother has returned to our grandfather’s resort in Aurora Peak after many years’ absence. But he finds the place changed in drastic and inexplicable ways. He thinks the changes have to do with the eruption of strange crystals in the area, and asks you, the geologist in the family, to come and investigate. In a nice twist on the usual, our helicopter is downed by a strange force (instead of the usual car). Then your brother disappears, and there is a scientist behaving mysteriously. MAKING PROGRESS Another plus with this game is the variety of HO scenes. There are interactive lists, multiples, silhouettes, misplaced items, and find-and-use (progressive) silhouettes. The puzzles were all pretty easy, some original, some familiar. The map is interactive jump map, you also have an objective list. Hint outside HOs is directional and quick to refill. But the gameplay is pretty obvious and I didn’t need it much. FAMOUS LAST WORDS So. Beautiful game, but superficial in its story and perhaps a bit too easy in its gameplay. Not that I don’t think it’s a good game, it’s just not a great game.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFULLY DONE Gorgeous graphics and skillfully-told storyline. Stuff starts happening right away and you find yourself in a mystery. Lots to do. Pleasant music and nicely-done voices. Did I say gorgeous graphics and locations and wonderful animations - especially liked the changing birds and flowers. Good ratio of HOS and puzzles. HOS are standard; wide variety of puzzles, not too difficult. Very good production values. An entertaining play.
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed to be good I followed the fairly good reviews and played the demo which seemed to be OK. However, the game was somewhat boring. I should have know when I chose casual and the hint/skip button would be set at 60 minutes that this was probably going to be a finger-tapper game. A LOT of puzzles which were difficult and very TEDIOUS! Good grief and with a slooooow skip. A lot of snoozing here. There were also A LOT of HOS which for the most part were OK, but some items were small and they were not real clear. All of this made for a looooong and boring game. I was glad when it finally came to and end. A good transporter map, which was needed since you went all over for items. I give this game a 3- out of 5. Gamers who LOVE tedious, challenging puzzles and A LOT of them will love this. Glad I got this at a discount and didn't pay full fee.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak The story was okay. The problem for me was the hint button. It did not give directional hints, (where to go next) and even when it offered no help, you still had to wait for it to recharge. I had to go to the walkthrough numerous times. For me this took away from enjoying the game.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great at first...then goes downhill I used to be such a huge fan of VAST games but not so much anymore. Curse of the Opera, one of their very first releases had such an amazing story line and it tied in with the asylum one that followed. I remember being blown away with the story telling. This story however was not very interesting and the tasks were mundane and boring. I had no interest to go back to it and so it took me almost 3 weeks to play it. It starts out great and with some weird discoveries as the title states but as it progresses the story gets dumber and dumber until you have this non-climatic ending and I found myself even siding with the supposed "bad guy" because despite the tremors, I liked her idea! lol There are interactive hidden object scenes and some pretty simple puzzles. There are 3 levels of difficulty but even though the hardest says no glints or sparkles, the items IN the hidden objects start to sparkle if you take awhile to find the items. Some of the items I had to really look for and I like that BUT then it would glint for whatever reason. I expected expert to include NO sparkles like NOT anywhere for it to be an expert level. You can change difficulties in the options menu as well. This game felt quite short although it took me forever to play. Thats really where the plot fell apart too. The fun game I started out with started making no sense, back and forth for no reason kind of thing and then the "bad guy" was responsible and it seemed like this person had a great idea even if it was executed wrong, I loved the idea! So I felt like the whole story made no sense and the people I was with and saved were really the evil ones. And then there is no final outcome. I guess its on its own in terms of standard games as it does have an ending of sorts but its not satisfying and I assume there will be a sequel based on the ending but then again VAST might be one of those developers that finishes the real ending in the bonus chapter...Im not sure... So my advice is, play the demo and totally love it and then leave it at that because the plot goes nowhere, the game gets repetitive and had I really been walking around in this, my dogs would be barking from all the back and forth. Although once you are done with a location, you are done with it for good but all the "busy work" made this game tedious and the great idea I thought it was telling at first just slipped into a mediocre, bland game. Wherever the writers are who did Curse of the Opera and its follow up Asylum needs to get back to this company pronto and start whipping up some interesting plot lines!
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too many BUGS! It may just be my system, but I don't have ANY problems with ANY other games. This one siezed up about three times and I had to shut down to make it move again. Then the HINT button quit working for awhile. If it had worked better, I would have liked it a lot better.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyable but not original, 2 small glitches BASED ON COMPLETED GAME PLAY ON HARD MODE This game is fun for an afternoon. It's nothing new story-wise, the graphics are so-so and the music is adequate. The HOS had some of what I call "shadow" scenes where you have the outline of an object and have to find what it is. I'm not crazy about shadow scenes, but they were pretty easy. There was nothing "wow!" about this game, but nothing bad about it either. I would say it's suitable for a beginner because I was able to breeze through it without hints. There is a jump map, always a good thing. I do have to point out that both the flint for the fire and the boards for the ladder were invisible ONCE THEY WERE ADDED to my inventory. The were still there, just invisible. In order to use them, I had to click on them and estimate where they were on the screen because I couldn't see them. I didn't find this glitch enough to make me dislike the game, but thought I'd tell you all how to get around the problem. Bottom line, it's a fun game, but no masterpiece.
Date published: 2013-08-15
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_19125, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Strange Discoveries: Aurora Peak

You've arrived in the peaceful resort town of Aurora Peak to investigate some mysterious local crystals. But the devious plot you uncover there could endanger the entire world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.