Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk
Exclusive

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(170.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

These are no ordinary beans! As a recently graduated investigator from the Grimm Brothers Institute, you must use all your wits - and your magic - to survive. Ascend the beanstalk to battle the mighty rampaging giant and protect the world from destruction. Find your way through the flower world, moon world, and more with the help from the elemental guardians, protectors of their realms. Revel in both full-scene hidden object quests as well as gorgeous conventional hidden object scenes. Defeat the giant in his castle to claim your reward and save the planet!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.1
  • Hard Drive: 683 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(170.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun HOP game, but format a little different Loved the artwork for this game, but the format is definitely different (but not impossible) from usual HOP games. In this game you scour the scene for possible interactions (magnifying glass pops up) and parts of objects to find pop up at the bottom, go out of scene and look for items here or elsewhere. This takes some getting used to and will probably annoy some. Puzzles are easy. Voiceovers are good. Hint & skip are allowed even on hardcore mode. This game is good for beginners to the HOP genre and pretty straightforward in other regards.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The last giant has been freed from his prison in the clouds and Jack has been kidnapped. Will the Brothers Grimm be able to save him? Earth was nearly destroyed by giants that roamed the land but the Guardians fought them to preserve Earth and killed all but one giant who was banished to the clouds where he was imprisoned and under the watchful eye of one Guardian. But the smallest thing can change things and a mysterious man gave magic beans to a young boy. You are the newest graduate of the Grimm Brothers Institute having just been awarded your deploma by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. You are told that Wilhelm had a vision of a magic bean that would bring chaos and destruction to the Earth when a mysterious man appears and destroys your cart and the bridge. The brothers decide to follow the mysterious man in their balloon and you have been tasked with finding those beans and protecting them or a link will be made between Earth and the clouds that can destroy the Earth. In town, you see a boy, Jack, running after the mysterious man who gets away from him so Jack stops to talk to you. He tells you that the man has been causing all kinds of trouble and that he traded their cow for some beans that were suppose to be magic but they were duds. You ask him for the beans and he tells you that they are in his house but his mother has locked him out until he gets the cow back. You help him break into the house and he gives you two of the three beans and doesn't know where the third bean is as his mother threw it out the window. Unable to find the third bean, it begins to grow and becomes a giant beanstalk that stretches to the clouds. Jack is kidnapped by the mysterious man and reduced in size and trapped in a jar so you have no recourse except to climb the beanstalk to find him. At the top you find the crossroads of the stalk and meet the Guardian of the Path who tells you that the giant has been released. You ask about Jack and he tells you that he could have landed in any of the worlds accessible from the crossroads so you will have to work your way through them to reach the clouds and the giant's realm. You soon discover that the mysterious man was once a Guardian who betrayed them and wants to resurrect the giants using Jack. You have to find this traitor, free Jack and stop the resurrection and kill the last giant. A fairytale game using the Brothers Grimm story of Jack and the Beanstalk as its base, it weaves an interesting tale of betrayal, thirst for power, and triumph of good over evil. I think the game is geared more to a beginner level as it reminds me of the old story books that parents would read with their children that had hidden objects in the picture and you helped the children find. Unfortunately, many of the objects in these scenes were not as recognizable as in the story books as they were usually parts of a larger object. It was still fun to find them and then complete a puzzle using them. Inventory puzzles and minigames were directly related to hidden object scenes as you would discover a puzzle which would then present a list of items to be found that are ten used to solve the puzzle. You often would have multiple puzzles open at a time with several lists of items to find and not all items would be in the same scene. Those that could be found in the scene were highlighted while those not in the scene were greyed out. There are a few standard hidden object scenes as well that were well done. There is a jump map that is very helpful with the backtracking involved. Graphics were fairytale bright and colorful with nicely designed characters and good voice acting fitting the characters. I actually enjoyed the relaxed and different gameplay from what is normally presented and many will find a nice few hours of diversion.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice touch Graphics are decent and the storyline keeps your attention. Its a little different type of HOS but fun nonetheless and it has a map to jump from one scene to another which is a definite plus for me
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked this game. This game was enjoyable to play. It seemed short, but the graphics were beautiful.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good one from Big Fish I'm really getting to be a fan of this type of game from BigFish. Although the gameplay is very similar, the stories are interesting and the mini games can be challenging at times.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enchanting! Don't let the few bad reviews stop you from at least trying the demo of this game. I bought it after playing the first Fairy Tales Mystery (which I loved). This game is a bit different, but different is.... enchanting. From its humble beginnings in a modest cottage to a castle high in the clouds, this game is pure magic as scene after gorgeous scene unfolds. At one time I felt as though I was in an untold tale of Tolkien, as the otherworldly music and beautiful scenery brought to mind the wonderful elvish world of Lothlorien. I didn't want to move on, but I did and landed in new worlds full of their own wonders with special music to set the mood. Play it with your headphones on; you'll be glad you did. The gameplay was unique- a different twist on FROGs. I am not a fan of fragmented objects, but this was not bad at all, especially the way it was incorporated into the gameplay. There was only a tiny hiccup in the end, which I eventually figured out and hopefully left a helpful comment for future fishies in the forum in case they also got stuck. My only complaint? It was short, like its sister game, and I finished them both in one day. However, that could also be due to the fact that I couldn't stop playing (I have a sprained ankle from snow skiing and this is awesome for convalescence!). Hence the 4 star instead of 5 star rating. But I would rather have an amazing short game than a long and tedious one. Today, I fell under the enchantment of Fairy Tale Mysteries and am waiting spellbound for the next installment in the series!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good SE game! This is a good SE game, which I bought with a punch code credit. It has good voiceovers, and a nice look, and you collect inventory items in a number of different ways at the same time. I thought it would be too cute, and was surprised that I liked it more as the demo progressed. Good choice for a credit, particularly on a Monday!
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful Slightly different from other hidden objects games, which is refreshing. Beautiful bright graphics. Games a bit easy
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fine. As has been said before, the game basically holds your hand throughout, and is exceptionally short (and my standards on this are not very high). It's fun enough, though. I like that you construct objects to further gameplay, though it is a bit confusing, since an object will light up to signify that it is in the room even if you have to complete other puzzles before finding it (lock icon only appeared occasionally) and sometimes if you're only the correct set of rooms. If you can't figure out what to do with an extra credit, go for it--if you're paying for it, don't bother.
Date published: 2014-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Graphics Great graphics but too much skipping around to find objects for each challenge. Must find each part to put object together. Not many regular HOS
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Fun! It's A Good Game... IF You Can Look Past The Length BASED ON COMPLETED STANDARD EDITION GAME I wasn't a fan of the first Fairy Tale Mysteries, so my expectations were low, but this game was good! It was something new and was very, very fun. I loved it from beginning to end. So why, oh why, is this only getting a three star rating from me? One word: LENGTH. Let's be honest here, the story really isn't that great. Some games are gameplay driven, others story driven, and this one is DEFINITELY about the gameplay. The story was lacking in all areas. It wasn't really that exciting at all. It was just a side-thing for me, I was way more focused on the gameplay itself. The story rarely got exciting. The one exciting thing in the story for me was the revelation of the villain. It was a good twist. The villain was someone I wasn't really expecting. Other than that, the story went exactly as I thought it would. This is your typical fairy-tale story, based off of Jack and The Beanstalk. I thought the developers did a good job on reinventing the tale and came up with some ideas that I wouldn't have thought of, but that's about as far as the positives go for me. Overall, a pretty weak story. The game does end conclusively, but I have a big complaint: THE LENGTH. Normally, I don't really care about the length of the game, but this is an exception. I've heard of short games, but this is absolutely ridiculous. The game was 2 hours tops. I felt I was in the middle of the game when it finished. I couldn't believe it. I seriously couldn't believe the game was ending. Usually, I can tell when a game's about to end, but here I had no idea whatsoever. It's really pathetic to have a game that short. It almost makes me wish I hadn't wasted my money. I think what contributed to the game's short length was that the story was very rushed. I mean, no sooner had you discovered who the villain was than you were defeating them... get my drift? The gameplay, on the other hand, is really good. It was what first attracted me to this game. It's so different and unique, and it's really fun. Gogii have put a lot of effort in to the gameplay and I applaud them for it. So, what makes this game different, you ask? Well, HOS lovers rejoice, because EVERY SCENE is a HOS! There's heaps of items to find. The game is set out in tasks- you have to find a whole bunch of stuff to make up an inventory item, and the object isn't on your list of things to find until you actually NEED it. The tasks tell you what objects are in what scene too. If you're in a scene where an item you need can be found, the item will get brighter on the task bar, if not, it will stay dark. I really liked this in the game, it made it a lot more fun and bearable. What I also liked is that the objects weren't easy to find- a lot of them were VERY HARD. Sometimes you had to place an inventory item to get a part of another one. A great job to Gogii for making the game challenging. Despite every scene virtually being a HOS, we did still have our normal HOS. In each HOS, you would find something as part of your task. The HOS were good. I really enjoyed playing them. They were basically just the standard junkpile with a few extra-step objects. There aren't a lot of HOS in the game, but that's because of the gameplay style. Still, was happy with the amount of HOS in the game. The puzzles were also good, granted they were quite easy. I was able to solve the majority of them, if not all. The puzzles have good instructions, so I knew what to do straight away. Even though they were easy, the puzzles were very, very fun. I loved playing them. There were a good amount of puzzles in the game. The HOS: Puzzles ratio is good. There's an even amount of each. Other than the jazzed up gameplay, this is your average HOPA. It has a custom difficulty plus two others (Casual/Advanced), and the custom difficulty has some good settings. There's no fancy new features, no plus objects, or animal helpers of any kind. It has all the gameplay of a new HOPA, but all the features of a standard one. The graphics are good. They've got some good detail there, the character designs are drawn well, but I still believe that Gogii could have done much better. One issue I have is that in some areas, the graphics were too bright. This was a little distracting and sometimes, when I used the hint, it was too hard to see where the hint was directing me and I'd have to see it again. Perhaps Gogii should have focused on making the scenes a little less bright and colourful and a little more detailed. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Custom. The differences are the usual. Custom lets you set the game the way you want. I was happy with the Casual settings, so I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a reasonable rate for the difficulty I selected. The hint is helpful outside HOS. Diary- keeps track of events. Good for remembering story details. Map- interactive and quite helpful. Lets you know where active tasks are. WHAT DO I MISS OUT ON IF I BUY THE SE? Bonus Chapter- not needed. Built-in Strategy Guide Collectible eggs Concept Art Wallpapers Music Replay Movies WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Definitely the SE. Absolutely no doubt. This game has next to no CE Extras. The SE game was fine for me. So, overall, it was an extremely fun game, but it was very, very short. Should I recommend this? I don't know. The game was very enjoyable... well, if you can look past the game length, give it a go. I definitely say download the trial. ON THE GAME LENGTH Very, very short. A heck of a lot shorter than any other HOPA I've played. I don't time my gameplay, but I estimate 2 hours on Casual. 2.5 hours tops. Every other game I've played has been 3 hours at least, but this was WAY shorter than that. If you want a rough estimate, let's say I had completely finished the third chapter by the time the demo ended. There are 7 chapters.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Props For The Unique Game Style! Everything about this adventure is unusual. First of all the story is a twisted version of Jack and the Beanstalk, and you are sent to investigate the beans and dispel the magic surrounding them. When you zoom into one of the areas you will find that several pictures are added to your inventory and you must search several areas in order to find those items and use that item to solve the dilemma in the scene. There are several actions to solve in each scene and a lot of back and forthing to do. There aren't too many HOS but they are slightly interactive such as finding a corkscrew and removing a cork. There are a lot of mini games such as choosing a picture tile that matches a riddle or placing ingredients in a specific order according to a recipe written in vague references. The SE is the better value but in my opinion the unusual style of the game takes away from and confuses the story line. I can't quite put my finger on why, but I just wasn't thrilled over this game BUT I have to give props to the developers for thinking outside the box on this one.
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too too little time to finish Tried the demo and purchased the game. It is a lot of fun, good hints and guides, but it took so little time to complete, I was so disappointed in the game. If I would have known it took this little time to complete, I would never have purchased it. That is why the 3 stars, and I really wanted to give it one, but it didn't seem fair since I had so much fun doing the game. I think you should be warned about the length of a game before you spend your hard earned money on it.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Simple fun This review is based on the one hour trial. The story is based on the traditional tale. The scenery is pretty and sound is good. I consider myself to be a beginner to intermediate player of HOG's. I have been playing them for years, but I like to play on the casual mode (and occassionally on intermediate if available) because I don't like to get stuck. This game moved very logically to me and the mini games were overly easy. I liked that I didn't have to skip any, though I would prefer a little more challenge. This is a good beginner game.
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FROGS, FROGS and More FROGS Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk is a new twist on the classic Jack and The Beanstalk fairy tale. Jack was given the magic beans in trade for his family’s cow but that is only the beginning of the story. The world is in grave danger because the imprisoned giant is about to be released, and when that happens major devastation and chaos will occur. As a recent graduate of the Grimm Academy, it is your task to make sure that the giant remains in his cloud prison. The graphics are a mixed bag of ultra-crisp and foggy or grainy. In spite of the misty or grainy appearance of some scenes, overall the game is quite colorful and beautiful. There are voiceovers that are quite nice but I was a bit thrown off that Jack’s voice is obviously much older than the young boy he appears to be in the game. We have a diary but I hardly used it. What I did find more helpful was the interactive map that indicates where there are tasks to be completed. Where I had difficulty with the game is that it is a FROG adventure (admittedly not my favorite type of game) and it required a lot of back and forth to find the items that I would need to complete an objective. Even though the game is a FROG adventure, we do find some traditional interactive list type HOS. The puzzles in the game were very easy and the most challenging part of the puzzles was finding the items needed to complete them. By the time the game ended I was quite frankly worn out and tired of the FROG concept. It seemed like every single item I needed during the adventure was a FROG. I couldn’t simply pick up a shovel but needed to wander through the scene or sometimes several scenes to find its components. I know many gamers will love The Beanstalk simply because they have been waiting for a good FROG adventure to come their way, and now they have one to enjoy. As always, I recommend you try the demo to see if you will like the game
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The game was OK Not really challenging and VERY short
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tedious This game is/was on sale but I didn't even want it then. The graphics are simple so maybe it's for younger players. But the puzzles were confusing. I would see things that were obvious to click on but nothing would happen. I had to click on one object to get clues to click on other objects. I also had to figure out that clicking on the hint button only worked sometimes. Other times i had to click on the object i wanted to find to get the hint as to where it was. It got really boring and tedious in a very short time.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me I thought the storyline was awful and most hidden objects too easy to find. It was just a discombobbled game that didn't make sense and wasn't fun.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Naysayers are Right Demo Review Only: The CE came out a short time ago & got some pretty bad reviews so I didn't even bother playing the demo. Now today the SE came out & I reviewed the CE reviews again & decided to play the game myself & see if all of the bad reviews were warranted. Within less than 2 min I could wholeheartedly agree with them. The game is AWFUL & the devs need to return to the drawing board immediately. If I were a dev I would be embarrassed to have my name associated with this dreck!! Please read the CE reviews & you will understand just how HIDEOUS this game is & if you want to throw caution to the wind you can play the demo yourself...ewwwwww
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This one's going in the trash As I just told my husband, I'm glad I got this one for free. It is difficult to figure out what you're supposed to do in the different scenes. I've become so frustrated after a couple hours play that I'm dumping it in the trash. The colors are lovely, the drawings like a beautiful story book, the music is good. But it just isn't any fun to play. Buh-bye, game!
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fairy Tale Mysteries - The Beanstalk One of the most tedious games I've played
Date published: 2014-11-22
  • y_2021, m_1, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_19986, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

Defeat the giant to save the world from destruction!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.