Botanica: Into the Unknown

Botanica: Into the Unknown

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(428.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You are Dr. Ellie Wright, a botanist stranded on a strange planet called Botanica. Full of curious creatures and exotic landscapes, Botanica is like nothing you've ever seen! Test your wits as you navigate through lush forests, steampunk villages, and more. But danger lurks at every corner; make both friends and enemies as you try to outsmart the cunning Queen Kassandra. Can you survive Botanica and find your way back home?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 604 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Botanica: Into the Unknown

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(428.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Botanica: Into the Unknown is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whimisical different setting, quality all the way - good length I can’t say the plot is 100% tied up in this SE and the bonus in the CE wasn’t vital to the story. Although the bonus plot didn’t follow any main characters from the main story and followed a minor character there was a vital part of the background of the plot, actually the lynchpin of the whole story that happened in the bonus. But when you finish the SE you aren’t left hanging and that part is tied up ready for the next game in the sequel/series which is why I am recommending it. So they may incorporate the very short part of the bonus plot into the opening scene of the next game or they may just keep this part of the plot for bonus play, either way if they do that SE players won’t feel like they are missing anything. I’m only going into so much detail as I hope the next game they either leave it completely out or tell you what happened. Boomzap just gets better, this it seems will be their next series. I have never really been a fan of hand drawn graphics although boomzap does it very well. Here I’m glad to see that they have sharpened their pencils and brought some colour to the graphics. This makes a huge difference in HOS as they are sharp and easily recognisable what an item should and nothing is faded or washed out looking like some other DEVs do. I loved the story a botanist your father finds portals to other worlds and you go and try and find him. It gives the plot originality as it does concentrate on plants and the HOS as well as puzzles are actually part of the game! Let’s get the two negative things for me out of the way, there is no transporter map and they do what they’ve done in the past and made this game a sequel, there is no finish. I don’t like sequels. Again boomzap makes all new chapters and you don’t ever go backwards and revisit old areas. I lOVE when that happens and it also cuts down on the time of backtracking so it’s not bad at all! Don’t select ‘hard’ which is the hardest of 3 choices of gameplay unless you are very confident as you can’t change once you start (and I do wish you could). You don’t get skip or hint buttons and you don’t get info button on puzzles but you do get some black bar tips on them. There is a journal with a to do list, a non interactive map and some fun ‘encyclopaedia’ on other world plants. You also get a botanical kit (when "i" appears you can do a puzzle in it) If you love puzzles, not so much the HOS or just want HOS variety boomzap is your DEV. 16 HOS – Hidden object scenes (to see what I count as a HOS see below) I never say this but where do I start in saying why I loved them? No junkpile and only one very cluttered scene. This not only makes them lovely to look at but also I always find non junkpile way harder. Graphics, really clear and sharp, no tiny items. Even though there was no random click penalty on hard (thanks!) I didn’t use it as I wanted to take my time on them, that’s a first! They also never repeated them – so rare but again shows they are not lazy. All but one list HOS were the highest interaction you can have. 9 list Find items from a narrative 2 (love this) 2 pictures of item you have to find in scene Reverse (put item back in scene) Find x amount Coloured pics at bottom and you find and colour it in the drawing Numbers may be out by a couple but I do try my best 41 PUZZLES (due to not having skip button it was hard to count – roughly) If you do back out of them they will reset (did this once). Thankfully boomzap has listened and actually made more hard puzzles as so many games they give us so many puzzles but are so very easy. Overall it was a great variety mostly about medium. I felt the objectives in all of them were clearer than in the last awakening game. It was the perfect hardness for me – hard enough as to not be bored by them but easy enough to be relaxing although a lot of them took me a while (perfect). A lot of them were standard fare but I liked how they were done, a couple were unique. Graphics were lovely and sharp and clear. I did find this game way easier than the last awakening, as it was clearer where to go thus the 4/5 out of hardness rating. Official in game time – Main game 5hrs 30 min (hard mode, no skipping, no hints)
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a Suprise Around Every Turn many reviews have come before this. because of them i purchased this game. i am pleasantly suprised! every time i click on something, expecting that i need another piece to open the door, for example, i don't! instead there is a puzzle! i was suprised by this so many times that when a mundane thing did happen (i had to sharpen a tool) i thought it wasn't becoming to this game at all. i figure i'm more than halfway thru and it only happened once. yes, the scenery is beautiful and i enjoy it very much!
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Breathtakingly Beautiful Game I bought and played the CE version so I cannot comment too much on the SE. I say this though, Botanica has made my top 10 favorite game for 2012. Visually the game is stunning, the graphics and sounds are brilliant and I loved the storyline. Our young heroine enters a portal to an alternate universe and finds herself on a planet called Botanica. With the help of some friends, she tries to find her way back home. SOmething like Wizard of OZ meets up with Narnia. Game features and game mechanics included collectables and achievements with unique HO scenes and great adventure and mini-games to solve. I congradulate the developers for having developed a game that has that WOW factor that we all expect. Great length and there is replay value which makes buying the CE edition worth every penny. In Botanica, you need to take your time to stop and smell the roses and take in the scenery. Seeing it here today has now made me want to go back and play it again, well done BFG.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love this game! My review is based on the trial. This game is an adventure hog and has mini games. The story is there was a scientist that believed there was alien plant life living on earth. That scientist passed away and his daughter (a botanist) ends up being sucked through a plant portal and trapped in a world called Botanica. Over time there have been several other people who ended up stranded in Botanica as well. You play the Botanist who has to figure out how to get back to earth with the help of another stranded scientist named Ian. The world they end up trapped in is absolutely beautiful. While exploring, you get to ride giant lizards and dragonflies. All while trying to avoid an evil Queen and her soldiers who are looking to capture you.This game reminds me a lot of the old 80's movie Neverending Story. During the hidden object scenes finding many of the objects requires you to do multiple tasks for each object. ex: youre told to find a burning leaf. there is a hammer in the room in 2 pieces, you have to put the hammer back together, break a glass beaker, then place a piece of the broken glass in front of a hole in the wall so that the sun catches the leaf on fire. During the adventure scenes there is a lot of back and forth to different areas. You really have to remember where you saw certain items before because youre most likely going to have to come back to them at some point. I know a lot of people dont like all of the back and forth, I do though. There is also quite a bit of dialogue in the game, but you do have the option to skip all of the dialogue or just that particular conversation. There are 3 different levels of play: easy mode: direct hints, guided help, & quick hint recharge. Normal mode: vague hints, guided help. Difficult mode: no hints, no mini game skip button, no guided help. Using the hint button in easy mode recharges quickly and tells you exactly where to look for things or what to do. During the adventure scenes you have to pan the screen with your mouse and look for your cursor to turn into a magnifying glass (to search that area) or a hand (to pick up objects). Overall, this game was very well made, and the storyline is so different from the games we've been seeing on BFG lately, its a very welcomed change for me. Definitely a game worth purchasing.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great adventure game loved this game great fantasy story line excellent graphics just the right level of seek and find and puzzles. Will play it again
Date published: 2013-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful departure and quality game. Okay, the story line has been done before - Missing Father, Mysterious Portals, Unknown Lands. BUT this one is presented with enough new flesh on those typical bones to make the story interesting as are the characters who are more developed than usual. That aside what we have here, besides engaging story, is terrific and fresh gameplay. Highly interactive Hidden Object scenes are just the tip of the iceberg followed by lots of unique and clever puzzles. True, I did not find any of them terribly challenging but all made me think before I could solve and several were entirely new to me, which considering I play nearly every IHOG offered is impressive. The graphics were very pretty, such a nice change from ruined towns and abandoned hospitals, and the music was WONDERFUL! The music and environments I found very reminiscent of a certain blockbuster movie involving blue people on a jungle planet... ;) Really a pleasant place to spend several hours. The character painting was a little unpolished and no support of HD monitors, however, hence it not quite reaching the 5 stars. At the end of the game I regretted not buying the CE because I was sad this journey was over. Fabulous game, highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun, unique gameplay, good value This review is based on the one hour collectors version demo and the entire regular game. Played for the first time on Easy level. I loved this game. Beautiful graphics and sound, great characters and story line and some truly unique features and puzzles! I very rarely buy collectors additions . I have maybe bought 2 in the last 4 years or so but if you have the extra money, get the collectors version. I may one day purchase it even though I already own the game! If you live in the UK, games are taxed at a higher rate and it does discourage me from buying some games, and in this case, the FAR better collectors version. This is a good adventure game. A few HOG scenes, but challenging and fun. Almost all of the puzzles were things I had never seen before, or dramatically different and improved versions of standard puzzles. Voice-overs were good, realistic and well done. You could read and accelerate the cut scenes or skip them, but there would never be a need to in this game. I almost never listen to the music with games, but I had it on low volume and enjoyed it. The only very minor complaint that I had was that a small number of the puzzles gave you no real idea of what they wanted you to do, and even on easy level the hints were non-existent. Maybe they were just so simple that I was over thinking? This game has good replay value, and I am sure the collectors version has great replay value. Give this game a try!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This is a great game. I couldn't stop playing it. Cant wait for a sequel.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relaxing and fun game! :) This game was sooo fun! It was challenging but not too challenging to be relaxing :) I never got frustrated. I really want a sequel!! There are voice overs through out which is always awesome :)
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely beautiful and worthwhile This is an amazingly beautiful game! The best graphics and colors I have seen lately. Only sorry I didn't get the collector's edition to have the strategy guide but hints are plentiful, challenge is very good and I have no complaints whatsoever. Would have given everything excellent but I am spoiled by the interactive maps recent games have supplied and wish the regular edition of this had one.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Relaxing Game Enjoyed all segments of this game. The 'critters' were very interesting and the story, HOG's and mini games were fun. The graphics were beautiful. Hope we don't have to wait too long for Botanica II.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best A really good game in terms of concept, game play, music and art. One of the better ones in this genre, right up there with Mushroom Age--which sets the standard for cleverness...
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly beautiful! Unique story! Challenging Puzzles! The graphics were absolutely gorgeous! I felt I was in paradise. The story was different because you play as a botanist and have a portal lab, which was a great concept. Some of the puzzles where challenging in basic mode. I loved all the different, unique creatures that helped Ellie travel along her journey to find the spores. I found not having all the bells and whistles of the CE made the game really challenging and enjoyable. I had to take my time and find the objects. Some of the puzzles instructions made it a bit tricky to figure out what the puzzle was about, that's when the hint came in handy, which recharged quickly. All in all I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunningly Beautiful and Wonderfully fun game I played this months ago and found myself on Boomzap's website tonight to see if there will be a 3rd one coming out. Sadly, they have no plans for a sequel at this time. I thoroughly enjoyed playing both of the Botanica games and recommend them both. The story is engaging and the characters remind me of people I know - very realistic. My favorite part was the lush beauty of the game (mostly forest environment). Oh well, I can always play them again and again. They were quite fun for me.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable adventure Beautiful crisp graphics, storyline kept my interest, good puzzles and good length. I enjoyed playing this game.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous graphics,not stressful, but challenging Adventure Game This is my all time favorite! I get tired of the scary story lines and sometimes want something different. This is a challenging mystery that keeps you engaged -it's tricky but not super hard, which is nice sometimes. This game makes you think without stressing you too much.Did I say the scenery is like a fantasy movie! PLEASE make more like this one!!!????
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where is the Sequel? Loved the game; hopefully a sequel will be available soon!
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alternate Planes of Existence This game has fantastic graphics, an interesting plot line, and three possible levels of play. In the easy one the hint fills in very quickly and guides you exactly to what your next step is if you get lost. The game keeps you wondering about the queen and her intentions, and hoping that the main character will find her father and lead all the good guys home safely.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE the Creativity of this game >>>> If you're interested --- thoughts on the CE below <<<< But here is what I thought of the game --- Four stars for doing something different with the story! It stands out from the rest with it's plot. Although I didn't exactly find it very exciting --- Yes, some conflicting feelings about this game --- Don't get me wrong, It is a nice story, and family friendly. Just wasn't exactly my cup of tea. But I had fun playing something different for a change. Instead of playing the investigator or the family member of a missing person, you're a botanist who stumbled into a very strange, but beautiful world. You meet interesting people and animals on your quest to make it back home. I very much enjoyed the creativity and thoughtful design that went into not only the nice scenery, but also the fun and unique plants and animals in this story. I loved it! As far as gameplay goes you can expect well done graphics, and a game that is much more adventure --- lots of mini-games --- than HO from Boomzap. And I can't tell you exactly how long it took me to play, but I definitely didn't feel shortchanged. I'm let down with anything less than 5 hours. Although easy to do, I didn't zip through this game. And I'm not accounting for the bonus chapter from the CE. It was a pretty easy game, but entertaining nonetheless. Again, family friendly. It's a very good game for when you just wanna kick back and relax for a quiet afternoon. Just the right amount of challenge for the average player wanting a break from the kidnap victim and hair-pulling puzzles. About the CE I bought --- with some regret --- and played the CE. So some thoughts on that. If you're like me you're wondering if you're gonna miss anything with the SE. In my opinion --- NO --- I didn't actually bother to finish the bonus chapter in the CE. I got bored. I don't know if it would have tied in to the main game eventually, but what I did play seemed like an odd choice for a bonus chapter. And unless you must have the SG --- not necessary for this game in my opinion --- or are big on wallpapers, concept art, etc. I recommend the SE. It's what I wish I had waited and done. Try out the trial. It is a beautiful and relaxing trip into a different world. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Botanica Graphics are amazing and the variety of puzzle challenges make the game interesting.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game Great game. I really like the mix of little games. It's not always the same thing and it's nice!
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A sweet game Really beautiful graphics....colourful scenes with not a ghost or ghoul in sight...lol. Not too many HOS and the ones there were, were interactive and fun to do. The puzzles were not overly difficult and the storyline took you to where you needed to go next so not taxing on the lil grey cells. This game for me was a nice change from the ones I usually play, a lovely relaxed pace and pretty to look at....sometimes thats all you want!
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful scenery, easy challenges I enjoyed this game, although it had a familiar storyline (evil queen, friend turns out to be villain, etc.) and mini-games that were way too easy to solve. However, I played through some of the most imaginative and beautiful levels I've ever seen, and that is why I love this style of fantasy game. I'm also glad that the authors indicated a sequel is forthcoming. Now, if they beef up the challenges a little more, the next game should rate 5 stars.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You need to prevent the flower blossom portal from falling into the wrong hands or earth will be invaded I loved going camping with my scientist father, "Crazy Dr. Wright," as a child as he would tell me stories of strange and wonderful places that he said really existed. I remember his last words he spoke to me as he departed on an expedition twenty years ago, "Expect the unexpected!" and was devastated when I heard the news that an earthquake had destroyed his camp and his body was never found. The stories inspired me to pursue the study of Botany and to make a name for myself by exploring exotic places seeking out new plant species. While in a cave in Oceania, I made a discovery of a large, as yet, undiscovered plant. While taking a sample, the plant began to react and a blossom opened up revealing what appeared to be a portal to another place. Intrigued, I touched it and felt lightheaded and disappeared from my world only to reappear on a cliffside in a wonderous new world of lush vegetation and strange animals. If I had known it was a one-way portal with no return, I may have thought twice about touching it. Looking around the area, I found a note written by someone named Ian Garrett who apparently fell through a portal winding up here and is looking for a way home. The strange thing about the note is that it was written on my father's university stationery. Had my father survived the earthquake only to fall through a portal bringing him here all those years ago? And who is Ian? Did he know my father? In the distance I saw a large lizard and decided to keep my distance until I know if it is friendly. Sampling the fauna with my botanist kit, I discover some leaves that apparently are the favorite food for the giant lizard so I decided to entice the giant lizard with some to see what happens. Surprisingly, the lizard reacts favorably and even allowed me to climb on his back and ride him as he climbs the cliff where I found a cabin on the plateau. In the cabin I found a paper referring to the land of Botanica, apparently the name of this wonderous world, and a wanted poster for Ian Garrett issued by Queen Kassandra, the ruler of this land who wants all newcomers captured and brought to her. I am a newcomer so I need to hide from the Queen and find Ian to learn what is going on. Maybe there is a way to get home and Ian may be able to help. What is the Queen's interest in newcomers? Graphics present a wonderous, colorful fantasy world with some unique and interesting locations with animals, plants and flowers to explore. Along the way you meet several characters that provide information and assistance - for a price of course - you do something for them and they do something for you. Voice acting is pretty good and, even with static characters, the cutscenes are good. Music was easy to listen to but not memorable. There is a journal for the story and clues, a task list, an Encycopedia Botanica that details plants and creatures you find, and a map that was all but useless as it was not a jump map nor did it indicate areas of interest so be sure to keep notes of where items are needed as there is a fair amount of backtracking. Additionally, you have a Botanist Kit that allows you to carry out experiments (minigames) on various substances and plant found. I found the use of it to be sparse feeling like adding it it was an afterthought. Maybe if it was used more it may have felt like it belonged. Inventory puzzles and minigames were varied and well designed to fit in the story and were fairly easy. there is a skip button for the minigames. When you do finally get to a hidden object scene deep in chapter one, it was not like many I have seen before. You are presented with a story that names various objects in the story and you have to find the object that corresponds to that word. Other hidden object scenes had you finding pieces of items in one scene and then using them in another scene. Another had you find details in a picture and color them correctly. There are the usual interactive list types also. With six chapters to play through it has a nice length with a less then traditional ending. This one will entertain for few hours of diversion if you like fantasies.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on Demo This game was different, and a nice change of pace from the creepy/spooky games that usually are found. It wasn't exactly my cup of tea storyline wise, but I thought that the demo did a good job of showing the visuals, play style, and where the story appeared to be going. I also played the sequel demo, which wrapped up this game for me in the beginning, so I don't really have much need to buy this. I'd recommend it for those who love Botany, or a change from creepy/spooky games.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful and fun adventure game but.... This game is beautiful and whimsical but it is easy and short and I don't like the ending. I suppose it was left up in the air to pave the way for a sequel but it is not satisfying to me when a game ends without finishing the story. It was short so it could have gone on a while longer and finished the story. How long before Botanica 2 so I can find out what happened???? Who knows. So I am disappointed in the game as a whole. I can recommend the game if you get it on sale with the reservations noted above,
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game! This was a wonderful game!! I played expert level. As others have said, the graphics are diverse and VERY beautiful. Any game worth four stars should have graphics like this. Nice story and a great variety of challenging puzzles, some of which I have not seen before! HO scenes required many manipulations other than just spotting the object, which I also liked. The only reason I did not give this game 5 stars is that I felt for 5 stars it needed to be longer. It is of average length. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game with nice graphics! It's an interesting game with nice graphics; I like all the colours! There are 3 game modes. The HOS are clear. The puzzles are sometimes challenging. There is a map, but you can't jump to a location. The gamelength is also good. It took me about 3 1/2 hours to finish.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good - but could have been much better I played the trial of the CE version of this game. I thought the storyline was pretty cool and liked the way the story was going, so I bought the SE when it came out. Much of it was very good - the visuals were beautiful and the basic idea at the core of the plot is truly interesting. You play a botanist who is the daughter of a botanist - and, you guessed it - father disappeared in mysterious circumstances. While sleuthing in the area where he disappeared, you get thrown into another world. Along with the usual journal and hint guide, you have a botanist's tool kit when you will supposedly conduct experiments on the plant life you encounter. So, positives: the alternate world is beautifully drawn, the lighting is gorgeous, and the different areas within the world all have a special appeal. The puzzles are challenging but not overwhelming (I think I checked the walkthrough 1 or 2 times.) Negatives: the first I would have to say was that botanist's tool kit. For such an unusual feature, I think they used it maybe 3 times? It should have been a much bigger part of the puzzles; it was woefully underused. Also, this is obviously going to be part of a series, and I can appreciate that, but the game ended with me thinking, "Wuh?" Way too soon and way too abruptly. So, mixed feelings about this one - I'm recommending it for it's beautiful art work and somewhat unique storyline.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great hiden objects just loved the colour in game,so bright.
Date published: 2012-12-02
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_16580, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Botanica: Into the Unknown

Use your botany skills to survive the strange new planet of Botanica. Can you find your way back to Earth in this thrilling Hidden Object adventure?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.