Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(378.80 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In the dark of night, an elusive figure breaks in to the royal menagerie and steals four magic animals, your childhood companions and dearest friends. It is up to you to save them! Take the journey to discover more about the Dark Minotaur who threatens the magical world. Can you save them in time?

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 649 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(378.80 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my kind of game if you are tired of gore and horror, this is the game for you. who doesn't need a little bit of majic in thier world. ERS you have done it again. I don't usually comment on the games, but would like to encourage BF to put forth more of this type. I play games for relaxation and entertainment, not to be disgusted.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing is what it seems I had a blast playing this game, magnificently done. All of you that have interest in mystery adventure with a little horror should consider playing this game. The good : excellent story keeps your attention from begging to the very end( by finding VHS tapes you reveal part of the story) nice graphics, lots of interesting locations( almost every location has light and dark side, so basically by switching lights on or of you have two different locations in one) challenging puzzles, mostly brainteasers hidden object scenes- 2 types- standard( find listed objects) and one where you have to find right place for displayed objects the bad: no map constantly consulting your journal for codes and similar music is annoying, a bit monotone
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enchanting! Lets rescue some cute magical creatures. I loved the CE but it's a tight $ month so I've been waiting for the SE to arrive. It's a very interesting story to rescue your favorite animals and discover how this involves a minotaur and a couple other nasties. The artwork is beautiful and no dark gloomy scenery. Extra cleaver that these cute magic animals give you some bonus help. I've found 1 of the little guys during the trial hour so I'll be buying this right now to continue the search. Enchanting!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game! This is a fun game, nothing too dark for a change. Lots of puzzles and a few interactive hog scenes. Good story - seems to be a continuation of a previous game (which I can't remember at the moment but it's familiar characters). Nice music - unobtrusive and fitting. Voiceovers, good artwork, smooth gameplay - there was no choppiness in cut scenes and no freezes or hangups. The hint system works nice and there are 3 levels of challenge to choose from, you can turn off the custom cursor and there's a widescreen option. Sound levels for music, ambience and voice. Definite buy for me.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT Graphics are awesome Puzzles and mini games were good and not too hard. I love the hops in this game. When I started playing I just couldn't stop. Anyone that doesn't enjoy this game doesn't know what they're missing. The story line was excellent also.
Date published: 2013-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD GAME LOVED IT I HOPE TO MORE GAMES LIKE THIS
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dark Minotaur Loved it! All i can say is WoW. Love how you can't move on till you finish or gather what you need.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It !! All I can say is don't miss out on this lovely game! Animal lovers will cheer when the Princess finds her friends. The "indepth" reviewers have it covered as to what, where and how. I just want to comment on the beautiful graphics. Rather than the dark and gloomy games, I like these lovely , fairy tale happy ending type game!! Keep them coming!!
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun factor 10 I don't normally review games (my first I think), but this one is exceptional. I loved everything about it ... almost. Great graphics, great sound, good VO's, unusual and fun HO's, mini games are a little easy but good, characters are great. I can't say enough good things about this game. There are no hidden/morphing/collectible items to find, but I don't care so much for them anyway. You do get to find and keep some helpful pets along your journey. The hint will only show you an area to explore within the scene, otherwise it just says go somewhere else. That's fine because most of what you need to do is very nearby. Only downside for me was no map. You really don't miss it but it would be helpful. All of you devs. out there take note .. this is how to make a great game. I buy these games to kill time, relax, and enjoy myself. This hit all the right buttons for me. Long play (didn't time it, sorry) and fun fun fun. This was the SE version. I played in casual mode.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Really enjoyed this game. Great story line, graphics and nice length to the game.
Date published: 2013-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Great game thoroughly enjoyed playing this fabulous game.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game!! Lovely graphics, music NOT annoying. Excellent voice over. Not too much bouncing back and forth. A great story about a princess who has to save her magical pets. This game is a LOT of fun. I didn't even bother with the 1hr trial. Sooooo glad I bought this fantastic all-around game.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing Change Can't recommend this enough! This was a really great game with excellent graphics, music, game play and voiceovers but the best part was the absence dark subject matter. It seems that 90% of games on BF are in the horror genre. With the world being such a dark place these days to begin with, it's nice to enjoy some beauty and magical fantasy for a change.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game I liked this game. The graphics and sound were good. It was a little differcult, but I was able to figure out what to do. I did use the hint button sometimes. I got stuck on the well, but I did get through. I is a fun game to play. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome game i played this on HP game console and love it but it cut out half the game :(
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fun game! Fun, fun game! Loved the puzzles, they were great, different and lots of them! Not gory, clean game for a change. Entertaining fun, clean graphics, good cut scenes. Enjoyed this one!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy it -- offers a lot for the price. I totally enjoyed this game and wanted a little more--maybe the CE version has that extra game play but I do recomment this version of the game a buy, buy, buy. It has puzzles in the hidden object games and the HO are different too. The best feature is that you are not running around and around in circles---there is some logic which you can apply. Some of the HOs are hard to find but makes no difference because the hint is pretty good. I play games and delete them from my data base but this one I really do want to play again because of the great grafics.
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't put this one down! Wow, I have to say, this one really took me by surprise. The reviews were good, but not great, and although I had briefly considered it in the past, it was only a Daily Deal that made me ultimately buy it. But this was actually spectacular! QUICK TIP FOR MORE EXPERT PLAYERS: I often like to play these on the hardest difficulty possible (as long as I have the option to switch back, ideally, haha) BUT in this case I tried going back and forth between the middle and hardest difficulties to see if I was missing much by not having the black bar tips in terms of interesting commentary. As it turns out, I was – there were multiple amusing/sarcastic lines that added to my enjoyment once I realized early on that it was worth it to keep the “tips” on, even if I didn’t want the “tip” part of it. Thus, I recommend the middle level of difficulty because the occasionally funny commentary is worth it. THE GOOD (for me): -Extremely interactive in terms of the storyline. You really feel immersed in the story. I had read some people say that, but it is true for this game more than most I’ve played. And as mentioned, the commentary was generally a lot better than average, and some of the “solutions” themselves in the gameplay were amusing, too. I had a blast. -Lots of puzzles, most of them pretty good! Some of them were medium to hard, which I liked. I pretty much never skip puzzles, and there was one that I struggled with for wayyy longer than I’d like to admit, haha (mainly because that specific puzzle type is harder for my non-linear brain to fathom, apparently, not because it was not-doable.) -The animals. Not too cutesy or anything, but I do love animals and they added some fun to it; I still would’ve given this game 5 stars without them, though, just an FYI. Although, I would’ve liked to know what happened to that one furry sidekick that was working for the other side… maybe that was in the CE, which I now wish I had gotten. And I don’t usually feel that way! THE BAD (for me): -Too many HOS, and the List ones were a bit too tough for my taste. Normally I don’t like very many HOS – and there are certainly games out there with a lot more than this one had – but I wanted to mention this for others in case they really hate HOS rather than not be a big fan of them in anything other than smallish quantities, like me. The fact that I still really enjoyed this game and am giving it 5 stars despite this is saying something. - There were a couple of glitches, one of which required that I skip a puzzle. The other minor glitches/errors did not affect gameplay. COMPARISONS: I hesitated to buy this partly because the reviews compared it to the Awakening series a couple of times, which put me off. Yes, throw stones if you must, but I have to admit that I’m not really a fan of the first couple in the Awakening series (which are the only ones I’ve pushed myself to complete thus far of the 4 that I bought at once during a bundle sale without trying them…*slaps forehead*) To me, this was VERY different than the first 2.5 of the Awakening series because there was more drive to the story. I felt an urgency to continue in Dark Minotaur, in a really good way. It was exciting, like a real adventure. It was bit dark without being too dark, yet full of magic and beauty. My point of all this is that, despite it having more HOS than Awakening, I liked this light-years better because of the storyline and level of challenge (which was higher than the first 2.5 Awakenings), as well as the music, and quirky comments, and music…etc.etc. That’s just me. BOTTOM LINE: You will probably like this if you’re similar to me in prioritizing the adventure aspect and a good storyline, with beautiful graphics too, of course. Even if you have a bit of an aversion to HOS, I think you’ll like this.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME - THERE'S NOTHING DARK ABOUT THIS! An engaging Fairytale storyline - a very relaxing and entertaining game with bright and vivid scenes throughtout. The gameplay is very smooth, with a natural flow. It is challenging but at a level that means any player can complete, after a pause for thought! A great idea to bring the animals into play and younger players will love feeding them. The title may include the Dark Minotaur but rest assured this game is bright and colourful and good value I feel to all BF gamers.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SE game Great colorful graphics. No gloom & dark areas. Some was fairly easy, but other areas I had to use Hint. And since I don't like going from area to area to figure out what to do next - I just use Hint - which lets me know if there is more to do in an area Or if I need to move elsewhere.. Was an enjoyable game.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this!!! I loved this game. It was just plain fun. The Graphics were super and I liked the fact that it's 'Family Orientated' and one I'd feel safe letting the Great Grandkids play 'while being in the room'. The colours were bright and vibrant which just brought the whole Story together and the background noises fit the scenes and were fun. I wish the CE had been out at the time, as I hear it's even better!
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game I loved this game except for the ending. I wish it had been more dramatic than it was other than that it is not very hard and enjoyed it from start to finish
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game!! I really like the Spirit of Mystery series and this game does not let me down. You are on the move from beginning to end and not bored at all. You have to think and remember alot of information but you get the hang of it pretty quick. It is beautiful to look at and the sound is great. The help button is a help if needed. Your little "helpers" are very cute and all they do is give you things when you feed them. Good story line and action. I will play this game over and over. Hope you enjoy it!!
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game! I downloaded the demo, telling myself that I didn't have to buy it. Right. I played the usual 60 minutes demo, got kicked out because my time ran out, bought the game and just continued playing. It was awesome. It's a beautiful game, not too dark as it is so often. The story was nice, not more, but that wasn't really important! The game was very entertaining, so it's a really good choice!
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilling & Beautiful HO Game! Very good game! Good graphics, sound, storyline and more! A beautiful fantasy also...! Love this game :D
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur Help the princess find her magical pets (panda/tortoise/cat/nightingale), which were stolen by the evil witch and her mage. Each pet you rescue and feed will create a useful item. Graphics are beautiful, creatures are mesmerizing, and music is soothing. The interactive HOS and minigames are mildly challenging, but beautifully rendered and fun to play. Items are used soon after acquiring, so there is not excessive backtracking during the adventure. Storyline is captivating with closure at the end of the game.
Date published: 2013-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good hidden object and puzzle The art work was well done. HOS complicated enough to be challenging.
Date published: 2013-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Downloaded demo and played 15 minutes before I bought, had to have it! Glad I did. Good storyline, nice graphics.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute fairy tale! This game is a classic fairytale, good vs. evil. The evil witch Mortis has stolen the princesses magic animals. The kingdom's Royal Hunter Isa is a traitor, and the princess starts out on an adventure to save her magic creatures! There aren't very many HO's in the game and when there are, they are in the same place. This game also has an interactive, find the silloutted object and then use that item to uncover the next object (find a key, open a chest, the chest contains the next object) that have you find the object in one scene, press an arrow that takes you to another scene where you place the object and get another object that goes in the first scene and so forth! The graphics were nice and the voice matched the characters lips flawlessly.There is also a couple of different features in this game, one is an invisibility potion thats allows you to travel unnoticed, the other feature allows some interaction between you and the magic animals you rescue, you must keep them fed, warm, and happy along your journey. If you are looking to relax and enjoy a game of fantasy then you will like this one.
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very recommendable SE version!! Great fun!! Even though there were none of my appreciated collectables and achievements in the CE of this game, I had to purchase it immediately, as I played and loved the first two "Spirits of Mysteries"!! ... We are the princess, (named after the player's name!) and we have to find our 4 magical pets (a red panda, a turtoise, a nightingale and a cat) which were stolen by the evil witch and her mage Isa (which we met already in the last game). As soon as you find one of your stolen pets, they are added to your "mini-menagerie" attached to your inventory. When they are hungry and fed, they will create an useful item for you. Graphics are beautiful drawn and we meet astonishing creatures! There are 3 modes to choose and 7 chapters to play. Game ends conclusively. The bonus-chapter, offered in the CE is an additional story and quite short. Lots of interactive HOS and minigames to play. The whole game isn't very challenging, but so beautiful and fun to play!! I didn't miss a map, as found items are used soon. All in all a very recommendable SE version!
Date published: 2013-01-25
  • y_2020, m_9, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_17185, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

Find out who stole your magic animals, and reveal the secret of the Dark Minotaur.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.