9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame
Exclusive

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(353.74 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Festival of Fools is in full swing in Paris when the gargoyles of Notre Dame Cathedral abduct a festivalgoer in plain sight. What was assumed to be a festival stunt turns out to be something much more foul. You are hired by the Paris Police to work the arcane angle of the case in this fantastical reimagining of Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 852 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(353.74 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging but compulsive Couldn't stop playing though I had to resort to hints/interactive map to guide me. Loved my 'little helper'. Highly recomended!
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ah Voila! Fantastique! GAME COMPLETED TWICE Story: The gargoyles of Notre Dame come alive and kidnap a young lady. The Paris Police can’t admit the existence of paranormal events, so you are invited to solve the mystery. Unsurprisingly, the story is somehow connected to your role as the Last Descendant of the Clan of 9. Developer: Play Favorite Games Release Date: Mar 2013 Extras: Guardian Amulet, Interactive Jump Map, Gladriel A little more fanciful, light hearted and easier game than the original “9”, this sequel is a wonderfully put together game that I believe would still offer challenge enough for our ever-demanding adventure brethren. HOPA fans will be pleased to hear that the puzzles aren’t impossible, and are outnumbered by some exceptionally beautiful HOs. Which are heavily interactive and are almost a puzzle mini-game in themselves. As everyone else will tell you, this is a beautiful, and classy game. Excellent graphics, music, voice acting. This is as you’d expect after the first “9”. The jump map is essential, and invariably helpful. I didn’t need the hint button at all, but it is a large and complex game area and I would have lost my way frequently without the map. Gladriel is adorable, but I felt she seemed out of place in this story - just a little too much magic.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice I really enjoyed this game. I hesitated very long before buying because I didn't like too much the first one. But this one was really better. The music is beautiful, the graphics, the HO are nice too. The puzzles are not that easy and I enjoyed. I really like when a lot of puzzle remain to do at the end. It gives the feeling that there is so much to do again. I don't know about the CE version but I had enough for my money with this version.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GARGOYLS COME ALIVE What's not to like about this game. The King ordered a powerful amulet be divided in half because it's magic was to powerful for one man to contain. The King didn't know the amulet wasn't divided equally with one half still in the guardians posession and the other half has now been used to bring the gargoyals to life, kidnapping the mayors daughter! Your task is to quietly investigate this matter that the town believes was part of the festivals activities. The mini games are really fun such as a grid with numbered buttons 1-4 which you must move all buttons to a different slot in the amount of space that button says like two spaces up or 4 spaces over. You will recieve a map with tasks that allows you to travel to that location, three modes of difficulity from casual to hardcore, and a hint system that tells you exactly what to do with no penalties because only the CE has achievements. The graphics are crisp, the developers have paid attention to detail, the cutscenes are HD quality and the story is captivating. Honestly you can skip the demo and just buy this one, it's a keeper.
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! Excellent game, based on a very interesting and original stroyline and setted in the magic Paris.. and you can really have the feeling of! Graphics are fantastic and the sound magic, all fits perfectly with the atmosphere of the "Ville Lumière". The game is intriguing and hooks you from the beginning on, is fluid but makes you also think about where to go on what to do next (that i like!)...there are a lot of beautiful locations to visit, HOG are very funny and puzzles, most on the difficult side, are original and make work the brain. I loved our heping friend Gladriel, very nice and funny! The main game took me more then 5 hours, playing hardcore (no skip or hint button available) and relaxed, reading the story and the dialogues. I played the full version of the CE, with a lot of achievements to get, but the bonus chapter was nothing really worth the double price..., round about 40 minutes of gameplay not so challenging or interesting, a sort of flash back on the beginning of the story of the cathedral...If you don't care much on wallpapers, music & co...i suggest you to purchase this SE, really a 5 stars game you cannot miss!
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Challenging Game Review is on finished Demo - and playing on casual mode : This game caught me from the very start, Challenging puzzles (puzzles that vary in difficulty ) - there is always the Skip/Reset button if you get stuck or you lose your patience. The HOGs are clear - and not too HOS heavy, the quality of graphics are very well done, great storyline, cut-scenes that were well done. music changes with diferent locations. Three levels of difficulty, useful hints, achievements,The crowbar is very useful and it stayed in my tools. Got startled a few times from werewolves,ghosts jumping out at you.This is another BFG Winner ! My decision now is whether to go with the CE or the SE.
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I played the demo of this game in Collector Edition and now I purchased the SE. Great game, full of play and thought provoking intrigue. Beautiful to look at and listen to. Plenty of action, Hidden object games are really good. You get a little "pal" to work with too!! You have to really think and remember all the places and move your cursor around the entire field of play. There are things all over the place. Hint button is really good, will lead you to where you have to go if need be. I am having a blast playing this and hope you will too!! Enjoy!!
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A hidden object game with a bite! Put on your thinking caps, your going to need them with this not so simple hidden object game. If there wasn't a map you might never find your way to where you need to be. Two of the challenges it tried for a while but, I am just not good at that type so I did not skip until I my head was going to pop off in anger. For along time I did not like hidden object games they just seemed way to easy, or perhaps that is not fair to this game type, I mean I was looking for more of a challenge, adventure. Well I can state this has it all. This is a high mid level to high level game.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great graphics and some challenging puzzles I loved this one! The graphics are great! The story is good. There are 3 game modes. There is no journal but an interactive map, very useful since there is a lot of to and fro. Some mini-games are really challenging. The game is not very long, about 2 1/2 hours, but I still recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant game! I've just finished playing this game. What a great experience it was! Abolutely mesmerising. Wonderful artwork and scenery, great VO's and a storyline as good and flowing as a book. Cutscenes are like little movies. This game is coming close to being my standard for HOPA games, I will certainly be comparing lots of other games to it. The puzzles were really neat, made you think but were not impossible. Also the HOS were very clear and interactive, a marvel to play. Your little side-kick Gladriel is very funny, she made me laugh out loud very often! The ending is very satisfactory for me, but I would have liked to know what happened to Gladriel. Hopefully she will be there in the next game of this series, which they kind of promised us at the end. So try it and buy it and have a wonderful time with this game!! (about 5 hours for me)
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now this is a game! Just finished this great game. 2nd of series and its just as good if not better than 1st. Storyline and graphics were awsome. Not to many Hidden Object games but it didnt bother because there was lots of interesting places to visit. Map was great and very helpful. I prefer the standard editions rather than collectors. But if they hadnt come out with the SE I would of definitely purchased CE. Only downfall I encountered was the voices. They had heavy accent and didnt give me enough time to finish reading. Worth every penny.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME I've only spent about four hours so far on this game 1 1/2 on the cash register puzzle alone. This game rocks. The puzzles are different than any I've seen and are VERY challenging. I like it so much, I left to tell you about it. I can't wait to see if there is a prequel or sequel to this, because it's going to be mine. Graphics are great, again, puzzles are different, which I like. No more same ol same ol here
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a gem!! Came by this game by someones recommendation and it is gorgeous and has so many fun, different and challenging puzzles I've never seen before! A must have for puzzle lovers!
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not a bad little game however.....! This was a good little game but did not quite meet my expectations as the other game in this series was much better. The graphics were quite good except for the robotic figures....I am definitely not a fan of them. The music was not intrusive at all and quite fit the scene. However the translation into English in certain parts of the game could have been done a lot better and I did have to use the hint button a lot more than I expected to, Though even that did not help at times so it was more by trial and error that I ended up in the right place for that particular part of the game. Overall though 9 The Dark Side of Notre Dame was much better than some other games I have played
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good game I thought this game was very well done. It has a storyline that takes you through the whole adventure. You are a detective who is brought in to help the French police. Gargoyles in Notre Dame Cathedral have suddenly come alive and are causing havoc. A young lady has been kidnapped. In trying to solve this case, you travel all over Notre Dame and Paris. You slowly find out that an evil being who was once banished has returned and is trying to take control, helped by the gargoyles. Your job is to find all the tools, items, spells, tasks, etc. that will help you get rid of this evil being. I enjoyed trying to figure everything out, especially what to do next. Several times I had to use the hint button though. At first I traveled from place to place to accomplish tasks, but it got to be so repetitious that I finally just started using the map for traveling. That improved the game a lot. I was impressed by the thinking that went into this game and enjoyed playing it. Definitely recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a great game!!!! :) Wow, couldn't stop playing... Breathtaking graphics, wonderful settings, thrilling story, gameplay is very fluently. Loved the well animated characters with their french accent:) 3 modes to choose from, a map, which allows you to "travel", hintsystem is very useful outside the HOS. No journal. Lots of minigames, some are new and some are really challenging.... Not so many HOS (approx. 70 % minigames, 30 % HOS) And what I already liked in the first game of this series: We have this guardian amulet, added to the taskbar, which can reveal secret glyphs... And not to forget our friendly helping hand, a small gargoyle, which helps us to reach things. Main game ends conclusively after +/- 5 hours (in the 2nd mode). Bonus content offered to the Collector’s Edition: Bonus-chapter, strategy guide, wallpapers, soundtrack, concept-art and 32 achievements to earn!! You have a lot to do and to explore and that's a lot of fun!!!!
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredible Game I waited for the normal issue of 9: The Dark Side of Notre Dame to be released before buying it. I was not disappointed, as this is a really great game that keeps your interest and has clever mini games.The artwork is incredibly well done and really captures Paris. I would have given this five stars but *possible spoiler* the way the game just abruptly ends was sloppy and not well thought out. My assumption is that you would be best purchasing the CE version instead of this one for that reason.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect Beautiful graphics, an animated, helpful sidekick, a strong storyline, a help system that really does help and an interactive map. Hidden object scenes were nearly 100% clear and unobstructed. I even left the music on. Unfortunately, many of the cut-scenes were out of sync and the plot left too many loose ends. The ending is abrupt and confusing.
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but.... This game is well-produced, with an interesting story and setting. I don't know if the depiction of the setting is true to reality, but it's fun to see regardless. Game play is good with the exception of too much back-and-forth. To make matters worse, there is a map that shows objectives, but it isn't a jump map. I had problems at times following the map - looks like I ought to go left; oops, wrong. I had to keep going to the map just to figure out where I was - the locations are not identified on the map. The HOS are all IA and fairly easy. The puzzles are the same-old. If you don't mind all the rambling around, I think you will enjoy this game. I did.
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Game The storyline was interesting. The graphics and sound are well done. I really liked the attention to detail for the cathedral, it was stunning. The minigames kept my attention. A bit too much back and forth, but there is a jump map. It is not a game for those who don't like scary images.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just a good game to play This is a pretty good game. The only complaint I have is the hint button. Tells you what to do and not where to go. Yes it has a map to do that but I like to not use a map if possible. Wish MAC would get there games. The graphics are good. Not to many HOS at all. More of an adventure game. Puzzles are good and some are harder than others. But you have seen them in other games. Still a real good game to play. I will get this one free.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Notre Dame I liked the game, and level of challenge.
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Send a Games Gift enjoyable,easy to follow,graphics good
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad game to spend some time with I played a later game in the series called 9: The Ward that I thoroughly enjoyed and was hopeful that this one would be as well done. As for the story, graphics, music, etc. it was good but not as good as The Ward. I guess the creators got better with each new game. The detective mode was in very early stages in this game and no where near as well developed as in The Ward. You are in Paris during the Festival of Fools and the gargoyles of Notre Dame Cathedral suddenly animate and abduct a young lady that apparently is the daughter of the mayor. You are hired by Inspector Charmant of the Paris Police to quietly investigate this matter that the town believes was part of the festivals activities. You are aided with a guardian amulet that can reveal secret magical glyphs and a small gargoyle that helps reach things out of our reach. A well-produced, interesting story and setting with lots of puzzles and HOS. There is a jump map that speeds up moving between the many places you visit. The detective mode was only used a few times to provide a "what happened here" kind of story but was not as well done as in The Ward.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Became bored I played this SE version of the game in Advanced mode, which was reasonably challenging. You get a lot of game play for your money, and the visuals are very well done. The map was a must; otherwise, you spend your time running endlessly back and forth between locations. There were some different twists on some of the mini games, which I enjoyed. What I didn't like was that this game seemed repetitious, and I became bored. Some of that was due to the constant movement from place to place, and some of it was due to the lengthy cut scenes. Additionally, here were instances where you would place an item in the scene, it would be rejected, and you would find out later it was just slightly off the mark in placement and should have been played in that scene. The producers of this game also need an editor, because there were many misspellings in the dialogue and some of the signs in the scenery. (Example: discretely used where discreetly should have been as in "solved the case discreetly".) For some reason, I find that very distracting when playing a game, so I knocked off a star for that alone. There are plenty of 4 and 5 star reviews for this game, so maybe it's just me. That being said, I can't recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring!!! I had hoped it was going to be good, but, between my floating cursor and the cut scenes i found it to be rather tedious and boring. HOS were very easy, graphics were very good, map useful, hint button ok, it just seemed very disjointed most of the time.I did like the fact that the story and setting for the game was different from a lot of games doing the rounds at the moment, but not my favourite game.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was hoping I would enjoy this game!!!! I was really hoping that I would enjoy this game as its set in France and it just seemed as it would be different to other games. Unfortunately with all the back and forth it's a good thing one has a map. Maybe I'm just slow but I needed the map a lot because I couldn't remember where I needed to use the inventory. At the end of the day it turned out to be the usual type of game and the fact that it was set in France, had gargoyles and a hunch back didn't make things more exciting like I hoped.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sacre bleu! I fully expected to like this game, because the first "9" was very good and I've played it several times. This game, however, I found unbearable. Perhaps it was the terrible fake French accents, or the ugly sidekick that made unfunny jokes. There were too many cutscenes, and when I clicked to skip a cutscene, the game lauched directly into another cutscene so I had to skip twice. There was an object clearly lying on the ground. Could you pick it up? No, you had to zoom in to pick it up, again, just useless clicking. For me it got tedious after a while. Nice graphics, and some well- thought-of minigames were pluses.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Help me I'm Lost!!!! I still did not find this game intuitive to play although I found the instructions and the hints to be a bit better than 9: the Dark Side. But this game was still so tedious!!! I played it over several nights and an hour or so at a time. There was so much of solve a puzzle to get a piece of something that will open another puzzle somewhere else to give you a piece of something to open a puzzle somewhere else to give you a hidden object scene and then an item you need that I found myself hopelessly lost several times and confused about which puzzle I saw where that needed completion with the item I found. I loved the scenery, the cathedral especially and the gargoyles were great. Great atmosphere, but bad game play.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Potentially good game spoiled by rubbish storyline and setting I tried both the CE and SE. When I tried the SE I remembered... I know there is a certain suspension of disbelief required to play a fantasy game, but I found this just impossible. Supposedly it takes place in Paris: cue cod-French accents. The style of dress of the missing girl and the car suggest it is some time in the 1960s; Esme seems to be kitted out in an Edwardian number, while the police officers have some sort of 19th century Ruritanian uniforms. That is, if they are police and not gendarmes (or "gandarmes", as it says on one sign.) All this is supposed to be happening at a festival which was never a public one and which was suppressed in the 15th century. In the first two scenes you examine there are so many errors, it really grates. It's all too plain, as you attempt to play through, that the developers have no command of either English or French, nor any understanding of history or legend. I just found it impossible to ignore so much rubbish in order to actually play the game, which possibly would be quite entertaining. I can't recommend it; no doubt there are people that aren't annoyed by such sloppy production who will enjoy it.
Date published: 2013-03-13
  • y_2022, m_7, d_2, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_17650, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

9: The Dark Side Of Notre Dame

Find the festivalgoer abducted by the gargoyles of Notre Dame and uncover the cathedral’s dark past in this reimagining of the Victor Hugo’s classic tale.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.